You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Cardinals hold lit candles during the Easter vigil service. (File photo) AP/Press Association Images

Is 'Vatileaks' back? Machivellian cardinals are plotting against Pope Francis

A letter signed 13 by conservative cardinals accused the church of engineering procedures in favour of liberals.

THE LEAK OF a private letter from rebellious cardinals to Pope Francis has revived a cloak-and-dagger atmosphere at the Vatican, with the spectre of “Vatileaks” and a butler’s betrayal rearing its ugly head.

The letter, delivered by Australian Cardinal George Pell, was allegedly signed by 13 conservative cardinals who accused the pontiff of favouring liberals in a battle over the Church’s approach to gays and to divorced believers.

It was published Monday by Vatican expert Sandro Magister, who is known for his criticisms of Francis’s papacy and who was expelled from the press room in June for breaking an embargo.

In the missive, sent to the pontiff on 5 October, the cardinals described procedures for the three-week global synod on the family as “designed to facilitate predetermined results” on important disputed questions.

“This is a new ‘Vatileaks’. A private letter belonging to the pope. How is it possible that it was published?” asked German cardinal Gerhard Ludwig Muller, calling for those responsible for giving it to Magister to be found.

In 2012, Pope Benedict XVI’s butler engineered a series of leaks that embarrassed the Vatican, revealing as they did fierce infighting in the highest echelons of the Church and allegations of serious fraud in the running of the city.

Vatican Pope Compassionate Church The cardinals are said to be unhappy with the direction the church is taking under Francis. AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

The mystery surrounding the latest leak deepened after four of the cardinals said to have signed the letter denied having done so. Pell admitted he had signed but said there were mistakes in the version published by Magister and that the list of signatures was incorrect.

American Cardinal Donald Wuerl, a member of the synod’s governing council, told The Tablet he had not seen any evidence of manipulation, adding: “I’ve been at synods since 1990 and this is the most open synod I’ve ever been at.”

But others fear the Machivellian overtones of the council could signify a return of “Vatileaks”, which was pinned on the butler, but which religious watchers at the time said was likely fruit of a wider conspiracy.

© AFP - 2015

Read: Vatican dismisses gay priest who came out on eve of meeting regarding homosexual believers >

Read: What do you make of the Pope’s advice to priests on abortion? >

View 33 comments
33 Comments
    Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    May 9th 2013, 9:52 PM

Not a chance. Im not paying for youtube. No way

Mute Seán Kearns
    Favourite Seán Kearns
    May 9th 2013, 10:34 PM

Full live UFC fights? I’d consider it.
    Full live TV? Maybe

Music videos? Nope
    Stupid nonsensical videos? Not a notion.

Mute Conor Ó Ruanaidh
    Favourite Conor Ó Ruanaidh
    May 9th 2013, 10:37 PM

If they charge to watch sports games at a better rate than Sky then sign me up.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    May 9th 2013, 10:54 PM

+1

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    May 9th 2013, 11:55 PM

Does this mean we’ll have to pay to see fail compilations and cats falling off household furniture?

Mute Ian Booth
    Favourite Ian Booth
    May 10th 2013, 2:41 PM

They will never charge for amateur video’s, like cats…etc., this is adding to what’s already there. Adding a Netflix type element to it and attracting more live events to set up a stream there.
    It’s definitely a good move for them IMO.

Mute philip farrelly
    Favourite philip farrelly
    May 9th 2013, 10:05 PM

Am I bothered, not really. Money will be a thing of the past next year. Starting to hoard cheese and beans.

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    May 9th 2013, 10:31 PM

What kind of cheese

Mute philip farrelly
    Favourite philip farrelly
    May 9th 2013, 10:38 PM

Bit of calvita and sheeps cheese. Will stick it up on ewe tube

Mute Kevin Carroll
    Favourite Kevin Carroll
    May 9th 2013, 11:45 PM

I heard the markets for calvita can be quite volatile, best to stick with cheddar I reckon

Mute Pat_Package
    Favourite Pat_Package
    May 12th 2013, 4:50 AM

Toe jam could have value someday

May 9th 2013, 10:02 PM

Well I have no intention of learning how to play the piano or speak Swahili, just like watching funny stuff like dogs having nightmares, so continue as you are thank you

Mute Paddy Murphy
    Favourite Paddy Murphy
    May 9th 2013, 10:22 PM

Its not RIP Youtube, its the beginning. It’s RIP sky and its likes. People will cop on soon that this is the way thats better for watching what you want to watch when you like. Plus interactivity with other viewers. What makes the journal better than other news sites in Ireland? Better reader/commenter interactivity.

Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    May 9th 2013, 10:34 PM

Your dead right, sky and other services are on the way out.

May 9th 2013, 11:33 PM

dead right about the commentary on here, you can learn a lot from people on all sorts of topics and you get some craic out of some comments aswell

Mute Spud Jones
    Favourite Spud Jones
    May 10th 2013, 12:03 AM

Sky and the like will never die out, only it’s customers. Just like RTE analogue, it will have to be ripped from people’s cold dead hands

Mute Brendan Byrne
    Favourite Brendan Byrne
    May 10th 2013, 12:40 AM

I think the only thing Sky has is its sports division which is without questions miles ahead of anything else, hard to envisage as successful a model using and online platform exclusively

May 10th 2013, 1:02 AM

Anybody else miss when Andy Gray used to stare down the camera at you and tell you how easy that chance was, and how he just couldn’t believe that yer man had missed it, and Geoff would just be silent and look enthralled for added effect.. nah me neither

Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle
    May 9th 2013, 9:51 PM

Sick to death of that Lucozade ad so maybe I will pay after all

Mute Byyys
    Favourite Byyys
    May 9th 2013, 10:06 PM

Google… Adblock Plus & for advanced ways of blocking elements use Element Hiding Helper for Adblock Plus.

Mute Frank Higgins
    Favourite Frank Higgins
    May 9th 2013, 10:35 PM

Totally agree with you. I’ve got Adblock for GoogleChrome and it works brilliantly. For anyone interested, I think there’s something similar for Firefox as well

Mute Brendan Byrne
    Favourite Brendan Byrne
    May 10th 2013, 12:42 AM

But then the guilt of not observing those paid for advertisements to allow free access to entertainment, its unbearable….

Mute Ian Waters
    Favourite Ian Waters
    May 9th 2013, 9:58 PM

That’s the end of you tube so!

Mute Piarais Mac An TSaoir
    Favourite Piarais Mac An TSaoir
    May 9th 2013, 10:04 PM

Hardly the end, it just sounds like there will be commercial channels available should you wish to subscribe to them.

Mute Chris Noonan
    Favourite Chris Noonan
    May 9th 2013, 9:54 PM

use add blocker

Mute Jo Murphy
    Favourite Jo Murphy
    May 9th 2013, 10:32 PM

Why are people so offended by the idea of creative people getting paid for their work?

Mute Spud Jones
    Favourite Spud Jones
    May 9th 2013, 11:59 PM

Creative people? Who? The accountants!

Mute Shane Walsh
    Favourite Shane Walsh
    May 9th 2013, 10:21 PM

I’m sick of seeing Beyonce ads on my favourite trance channel lol

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    May 9th 2013, 10:10 PM

Damn.. unavailable here. .. was really getting all worked up about sesame Street

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock

R.i.p. youtube you were good whole it lasted

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    May 9th 2013, 10:21 PM

12 quid a year for unlimited Sesame Street. Signed up, kids love it and have the box set on constant loop so it will be nice to see other episodes

Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay

Do away with the ads, and guarantee videos will stream perfectly and then I wouldn’t mind paying a nominal fee.

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    May 9th 2013, 10:09 PM

R.I.P Youtube

Mute Patricia Mc Carthy
    Favourite Patricia Mc Carthy
    May 10th 2013, 1:05 AM

Youtube has always been far more than “away to showcase amateur homemade videos”, and this isn’t a dig at the writer, as a lot of people don’t know this! Everybody hears of the viral content from YouTube, but there are vloggers (video bloggers) and people, for which YouTube is a job for them. I think it’s kinda funny that a lot of people only see YouTube as a source of viral videos and music but most of its success is credited to the likes of Jenna marbles, Smosh, Philip DeFranco, Shaycarl and Charlieissocoollike there are so many that have put work into YouTube to make it what it is today! It really is becoming a whole new form of entertainment and I welcome the new venture by YouTube as long as they don’t start charging for just watching videos! I would love to see The Journal do an article on vloggers on YouTube because it is a relatively secret part of YouTube!
    Que the thumbs downs!

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    May 10th 2013, 3:14 AM

To help creativity my arse. The truly creative stuff is actually over on Vimeo. There’s some amazing stuff on that that’s light years ahead of what you find on YouTube

Mute xnCfjehO
    Favourite xnCfjehO
    May 9th 2013, 10:46 PM

.. not sure if anyone took the time to click the link, judging by the existing comments, to see that the channels are unavailable to people living in Ireland. Doesn’t concern me, so I’m not even bothered about it. More power to them if they think it’ll bring in some revenue.

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    May 9th 2013, 10:59 PM

Bye Youtube – Hello Daily Motion.

Mute Kat D
    Favourite Kat D
    May 10th 2013, 1:38 AM

OI YOUTUBE….Careful now!!!!! ;)

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    May 10th 2013, 3:11 AM

The day YouTube died

Mute Alan Madden
    Favourite Alan Madden
    May 10th 2013, 1:14 AM

BT sports channel on YouTube soon I wonder? They have rights to a heap of live sports from next season. 1st premiership match of 2013/2014 too.

Mute Theresa Ward
    Favourite Theresa Ward
    May 9th 2013, 10:48 PM

Why don’t they just bill the ISP & “fund creativity” from that, plus the advertising revenue they generate? Be a better business strategy IMHO. We’re already paying the ISP to view anything, they’re already benefitting from royalties of “virals”. Let them businesses do business with each other!

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    May 10th 2013, 12:04 AM

Look up net neutrality. What you suggest would destroy the Internet as we know it.

Mute Theresa Ward
    Favourite Theresa Ward
    May 10th 2013, 12:52 AM

I did and, point taken. Thank you. Guess I’ll just boycott like everyone else then.
    Prob better off considering the amount of ,personal info the web wants to amalgamate about every single being.
    Won”t miss Youtube much either tbh. Off to the hills with me then :)

Mute Theresa Ward
    Favourite Theresa Ward
    May 10th 2013, 1:12 AM

Actually, my original point was fairer – let Youtube & the multitude of ISPs (who all benefit from our custom) battle it out & bargain over royalties/who-gets-the-money.
    I’m a consumer who’s being actively targeted with advertising from which they derive revenue. THEY are making it a consumer issue, by setting charges, when it’s NOT – if they were losing money off every search I, or anyone else, ever made, they’d be gone long go! This question is really about who profits in monetary terms.
    Advertising creates profits, so make advertisers pay. Us plebs already pay for the stuff advertised, and we also already pay for the pleasure of viewing those nasty pop-up ads, so we are properly programmed to buy the right product.
    Clearly I have not even packed, let alone left, for the hills.

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    May 10th 2013, 9:53 AM

You are paying your ISP for the service and infrastructure not for the content. It’s up to the content providers to decide what they want to charge and how they do that – whether by subscriptions, advertising or a bit of both.

Mute Mal
    Favourite Mal
    May 10th 2013, 4:13 PM

I don’t think they’re planning on charging for the 99% of crap that people upload to Youtube, or music videos and the like. They’re allowing TV producers to build their own pay for channels that you can subscribe to directly. I think it’s about time this started happening.
    If I can pay for the exact channels I want, and only those channels instead of the 100 or so crap channels of 8 hour repeats I’ll take it. It’ll be cheaper and there will always be something on I want to watch when I want to watch it!

Mute Simon O'Donnell
    Favourite Simon O'Donnell
    May 10th 2013, 12:33 AM

Watch yer strones

Mute Brendan Byrne
    Favourite Brendan Byrne
    May 10th 2013, 12:43 AM

Will we have to pay for this guy and sh1te in the bucket?

Mute Simon O'Donnell
    Favourite Simon O'Donnell
    May 10th 2013, 7:58 AM

I wanna fight Davey furst

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    May 10th 2013, 10:49 AM

Nice knowing you YouTube.

Mute Mal
    Favourite Mal
    May 10th 2013, 4:08 PM

No adverts and regular content updates????
    I’d happily pay for subscriptions to channels like Nat Geo at those prices! bye bye traditional TV!! Hello targeted content!
    This is an absolute winner if they do it right.

Mute Shane Smyth
    Favourite Shane Smyth
    May 10th 2013, 8:10 AM

I hope the annoying ads wont pop up if you pay!

Mute Gregori Olsen Vamvoukos
    Favourite Gregori Olsen Vamvoukos
    Nov 22nd 2013, 7:57 PM

Great way to open up for something new,, youtube will die like so many other pages before it has done who “tried to be smart” and started taking money for “there” serviceses.

Mute Poetry Port Lairge
    Favourite Poetry Port Lairge
    May 10th 2013, 9:21 AM

So when do we start paying for the Journal? Actually, we should be charged for every app we use on our phone. For every time we access our phone perhaps. What about laptops? Why should they be exempt? What about paying for FB and Twitter? What about our photographs and comments? Why should they be free!

Mute Ian Booth
    Favourite Ian Booth
    May 10th 2013, 2:36 PM

If you pay for Netflix…etc. why not this?