You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A supporter of ousted Egyptian President Mohammed Morsi passes a fire barricade carrying a gasoline bomb during clashes against security forces in Cairo's Nasr City district. Manu Brabo/AP/Press Association Images

At least 525 dead in Egypt as police storm protests

A State of Emergency has been declared and curfews put in place.

Updated 13.15

EGYPT IS UNDER a tense state of emergency today after security forces stormed the Cairo protest camps supporting ousted Islamist president Mohamed Morsi, in a bloody assault that sparked violence across the country, which officials said claimed at least 525 lives.

The army-backed interim government imposed a month-long nationwide state of emergency, and curfews in Cairo and 13 other provinces after the violence yesterday.

Gory photographs and video images of the Cairo bloodbath dominated social media networks, as world powers called for restraint and condemned the show of force by security forces.

Calls from international leaders have been made this morning for action to ensure the nation is not reduced to a civil war.

French President Francois Hollande issued a statement to warn that “everything must be done to avoid a civil war” in Egypt.

Supporters of Egypt’s ousted President Mohammed Morsi clash with security forces near the largest sit-in by supporters of Morsi in the eastern Nasr City district of Cairo. (Mohammed Abu Zeid/AP/Press Association Images)

However, the Muslim Brotherhood has called for a march in Cairo later today “to protest the death of their relatives”.

At least four churches were attacked, with Christian activists accusing Morsi loyalists of waging “a war of retaliation against Copts in Egypt”.

Hours after tear gas canisters first rained down on tents of protesters in the sprawling Rabaa al-Adawiya camp in eastern Cairo, an AFP correspondent counted at least 124 bodies in makeshift morgues there.

In a field hospital, its floors slippery with blood, doctors struggled to cope with the casualties, leaving the hopeless cases, even if still alive.

The death toll included 43 policemen who died in violence across the country and 202 protesters killed in the Rabaa al-Adawiya protest camp, senior health ministry official Khaled al-Khatib said on Thursday.

Teenage victim

Morsi’s Muslim Brotherhood spoke of 2,200 dead overall and more than 10,000 wounded.

Among those killed in Cairo was 17-year-old Asmaa al-Beltagui, daughter of wanted Muslim Brotherhood leader Mohammed al-Beltagui, a spokesman for Morsi’s movement said.

Britain’s Sky News said a veteran cameraman, Briton Mick Deane, was shot and killed while covering the assaults.

The violence prompted vice president and Nobel laureate Mohamed ElBaradei to resign, saying his conscience was troubled over the loss of life, “particularly as I believe it could have been avoided”.

“It has become too difficult to continue bearing responsibility for decisions I do not agree with and whose consequences I fear,” he said.

(YouTube: AlJazeeraEnglish)

The state of emergency went into effect at 4pm local time yesterday, with daily overnight curfews from 7pm to 6am.

The dramatic descent on the squares shortly after dawn came as a surprise to many. Security officials had originally spoken of gradually dispersing the sit-ins over several days.

Shortly after dawn on Wednesday, witnesses and an AFP correspondent said security forces fired tear gas before surging into Rabaa al-Adawiya, sparking pandemonium among the thousands of protesters who had set up the camp soon after Morsi was ousted in a military coup on 3 July.

Men in gas masks rushed to grab each canister and dunk them in containers of water, as the main stage near the mosque of the camp blared Islamic anthems and protesters chanted “Allahu Akbar” (God is greatest).

Many Morsi supporters were given safe passage out of the camp, some flashing victory signs as they left through a security corridor.

A security official told AFP that hundreds of people were taking advantage of the safe passage offer, but that some diehards had stayed behind to fight on.

A supporters of Egypt’s ousted President Mohammed Morsi shows spent ammunition during clashes with security forces near the largest sit-in by supporters of ousted Islamist President Mohammed Morsi in the eastern Nasr City district of Cairo. (Mohammed Abu Zeid/AP/Press Association Images)

By Wednesday evening, a security official said Rabaa al-Adawiya was “totally under control”, adding: “There are no more clashes”.

In the smaller of the protest camps, at Al-Nahda square in central Cairo, police said they had control of the area after two hours.

Television footage showed flattened tents, as women and children flanked by police and army troops were led out of the square.

Dozens rounded up in the dispersal were shown sitting on the ground, handcuffed and surrounded by security forces.

Authorities later said calm had been restored across the country.

A supporter of ousted Islamist President Mohammed Morsi shoots a gun towards the Egyptian Police at a sit-in at Rabaah al-Adawiya. (Manu Brabo/AP/Press Association Images)

Use of force widely condemned

Europe’s leading powers, along with Iran, Qatar and Turkey, strongly denounced the use of force by the interim government.

The White House said Washington, which provides Egypt with $1.3 billion in annual military aid, “strongly condemns” the violence against the protesters and opposes the imposition of a state of emergency.

Interim prime minister Hazem al-Beblawi praised the police for their “self-restraint” and said the government remained committed to an army-drafted roadmap that calls for elections in 2014.

The Muslim Brotherhood urged Egyptians to take to the streets in their thousands to denounce the “massacre”.

“This is not an attempt to disperse, but a bloody attempt to crush all voices of opposition to the military coup,” Brotherhood spokesman Gehad al-Haddad said on Twitter.

Interior Minister Mohamed Ibrahim said no more protests would be tolerated.

The anger against the Islamist movement was evident as residents of several neighbourhoods clashed with Morsi loyalists.

Clashes also erupted between security forces and Morsi supporters in the northern provinces of Alexandria and Beheira, the canal provinces of Suez and Ismailiya, and the central provinces of Assiut and Menya.

A supporter of ousted Islamist President Mohammed Morsi shoots a slingshot against Egyptian security forces. (Manu Brabo/AP/Press Association Images)

In Alexandria, hundreds of angry Morsi supporters marched through the streets armed with wooden clubs chanting “Morsi is my president”.

An AFP reporter said they set fire to tyres and tore down pictures of army chief Abdel Fattah al-Sisi, who led the coup against Morsi.

It was a dramatic turn of events for the Muslim Brotherhood, who just over a year ago celebrated Morsi’s victory as Egypt’s first elected president.

His turbulent year in power, marred by political turmoil, deadly clashes and a crippling economic crisis, turned many against the Islamist movement, with millions taking to the streets on June 30 to call for his removal.

© AFP, 2013

Related: Irish citizens told to avoid all non-essential travel to Egypt as violence escalates

More: Sky News cameraman killed covering Cairo violence

View 48 comments
48 Comments
    Mute sluazcanal
    Favourite sluazcanal
    Aug 13th 2013, 9:42 PM

That guy really hates working after hours.

Mute Michael Russell
    Favourite Michael Russell
    Aug 13th 2013, 10:42 PM

I’d doubt there’s a decent overtime rate!!

Mute Niall Boylan @ Night
    Favourite Niall Boylan @ Night
    Aug 14th 2013, 2:33 AM

It seemed like a stitch up if you ask me.

Mute Anthony Brady
    Favourite Anthony Brady
    Aug 13th 2013, 9:58 PM

Yep, Ryanairs safety record is unblemished. Hope they win in court. Programme seemed to be on shaky foundations.

Mute Bill
    Favourite Bill
    Aug 13th 2013, 10:13 PM

Ryanair will not go to court nothing to sue here folks

Mute Steve501
    Favourite Steve501
    Aug 13th 2013, 9:53 PM

Very one sided indeed from a British broadcaster who seemed to love mentioning the irish aviation authority alot. Maybe they should do one on easy jet or British airways

Mute fergalreid
    Favourite fergalreid
    Aug 13th 2013, 11:17 PM

I noticed that as well! Low hanging fruit much?

Mute John Quinn
    Favourite John Quinn
    Aug 14th 2013, 12:00 AM

Very good point actually. I noticed watching the “documentary” that when o Leary was showing a comparison with may days issued by other carriers, the only other one audibly mentioned was Aer Lingus, despite the fact that BA, Virgin and other British carriers where listed on the white board he was standing next to. The narrator started speaking again before those airlines could be mentioned. Try to beef up the local business by trashing the major player? Seems like it!

Mute mohamad oconnor
    Favourite mohamad oconnor
    Aug 14th 2013, 9:21 AM

I’m a big fan of ryanair a 29 year safety record is hard to argue with, I’m surprised c4 aired that incredibly one sided show 70% of it was about 3 Madrid flights that were diverted to Valencia where while queuing to land they cut in to there 30 min fuel deserve, I have worked in the aviation industry and there are very strict safety rules and regulations and I’m positive that if you sat any pilot down from any airline they could tell you a few stories that would stop you getting on planes for life. And if all of these pilots are so concerned for safety why take off in the first place,if I get in my car and there is not enough fuel for my journey I either put fuel in or don’t go why would a plane be any different. Also on another note thanks to ryanairs constant battle to reduce costs a d fuel being one if an airlines biggest costs, they are trying to use less fuel in turn less emissions. As I say to anyone who complains about Ryan air if you don’t line it pay the extra and fly with someone else if you want it cheap keep your trap shut and play by the rule’s and we will all have a pleasant flight!!

Mute Derek Cullen
    Favourite Derek Cullen
    Aug 13th 2013, 9:49 PM

Ryanairs legal fees: €0.99 cent.

Taxes and charges €90,000.

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    Aug 13th 2013, 9:43 PM

Very one sided programme. Why were they frightened to allow an unedited interview with Michael o’leary ?

Mute Derek Cullen
    Favourite Derek Cullen
    Aug 13th 2013, 9:57 PM

Because he could basically say whatever he wants, unedited. Ryan air get it their own way too much.

Mute Rehabmeerkat
    Favourite Rehabmeerkat
    Aug 13th 2013, 9:59 PM

Because oleary could ramble on for 40 mins …. How do you include that in a 30min program

Mute Amy gaffney
    Favourite Amy gaffney
    Aug 13th 2013, 10:12 PM

Ryanair said it could be as long or as short as the program wanted

Mute Vincent Power
    Favourite Vincent Power
    Aug 13th 2013, 11:58 PM

The interviewer gets to ask the questions and should be able to control any interview. Channel 4 should have no problem with an unedited interview. It’s far too easy to edit any interview and turn the interview by a complete 180 degrees. Given the way the programme was transmitted I imagine that no sane CEO would agree to an edited interview. I look forward to the legals on this one.

Mute slaney
    Favourite slaney
    Aug 13th 2013, 10:03 PM

I’d rather pay the extra few quid to have the excellent service at aer lingus than to travel with Ryanair , the cabin crew have faces like well slapped arses and are completely rude

Mute Vincent Power
    Favourite Vincent Power
    Aug 14th 2013, 12:09 AM

Ah come on Slaney I have never seen cabin attendants like what you describe on any airline including Ryanair.

Mute Sarah O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sarah O'Sullivan
    Aug 14th 2013, 1:32 AM

I’ve had nothing but poor service from Aer Lingus and great service everytime I fly with Ryanair. Suppose it depends on your own experiences but I’ve never seen a staff member with a slapped ass on any Ryanair flight!

Mute Sarah O'Sullivan
    Aug 14th 2013, 1:43 AM

In fact, a few months ago two members of my family died and my sister was in a critical condition herself. This all happened a day before my family were due to go to Italy. My father rang Aer Lingus to cancel and change flights to a later date if possible, the response? I quote ‘The family circumstances is not our problem and a charge of 600 will be made’. We’ve written 11 complaints about the comments made and received no reply whatsoever. No problem with a fee because that’s understandable but the way they spoke to grieving man was shocking. Paying the extra money for Aer Lingus isn’t always worth it but hey that’s just my own experience.

Mute Lou Brennan
    Favourite Lou Brennan
    Aug 14th 2013, 10:03 AM

That’s because their arses have been well slapped and they’re not too happy about it. Totally understandable.

Mute slaney
    Favourite slaney
    Aug 14th 2013, 10:22 AM

Well my next door neighbour had a very different experience he found out he had cancer and they changed his flight to a later date free of charge if he could prove his illness

Mute Sarah O'Sullivan
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:31 PM

That’s great for him isn’t it? My father emailed Aer Lingus with the medical reports and doctors notes with no reply to any of his emails and if he calls he’s put on hold for up to an hour. Aer Lingus are no better than Ryanair in my eyes of they can’t even respond to their customers!

Mute Amy gaffney
    Favourite Amy gaffney
    Aug 13th 2013, 9:51 PM

It does appear that the program jumped on the populist anti-Ryanair bandwagon and added in a bit of sensationalism. Surely the media would never do such a thing?!? Anyways, I’ve had a few incidents while flying, all of which were with Aerlingus, none with Ryanair, so I’m more biased about them.

Mute Vincent Power
    Favourite Vincent Power
    Aug 14th 2013, 12:02 AM

I must be a very lucky passenger as I’ve never had any difficulty with any airline Ryanair included. Glad to see Amy that there are some people out there who are independent minded enough to like Ryanair.

Mute John king
    Favourite John king
    Aug 13th 2013, 10:14 PM

I usually prefer flying aerlingus over Ryanair even if I pay a bit more. However I don’t think it’s fair to go on a witch hunt against Ryanair.I would say their safety standard are quite high and they do have a very modern fleet. At the end of the day they’re not Turkish airlines or one of the other never-come-back airlines…

Mute Cuddle Flips
    Favourite Cuddle Flips
    Aug 14th 2013, 5:58 AM

How can you describe Tukish Airlines as ‘never-come-back’? Airlines of that nature are prohibited from operating in the EU.

Mute Danny Mike Hennessy
    Favourite Danny Mike Hennessy
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:42 AM

Turkish airlines have been voted no1 airline in europe for the last 3 years! You should fly with them before you dis them.

Mute John king
    Favourite John king
    Aug 14th 2013, 10:45 AM

Since 1990 Turkish airlines have lost 7 planes and 148 lives on plane crashes (902 lives lost since 1959). The latest crash was in 2009 with 9 people dead. So no, I will not board a Turkish airlines plane. And to stay on topic; Ryanair have not lost any lives on their flights so far.

Mute Cuddle Flips
    Favourite Cuddle Flips
    Aug 14th 2013, 12:59 PM

That’s better than Air France or American Airlines for the same time period. Just what is your standard for a safe airline and how did you come to it?

Mute Lloyd Christmas
    Favourite Lloyd Christmas
    Aug 13th 2013, 9:36 PM

I wonder how Pat Kennys getting on

Mute Frank Whelan
    Favourite Frank Whelan
    Aug 13th 2013, 9:59 PM

What’s the craic with Pat…? Have I missed something?

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Aug 13th 2013, 10:56 PM

Why are people putting a space between Ryan and air… is it not just Ryanair? I would actually love to see Ryanair sue them… and win

Mute mohamad oconnor
    Favourite mohamad oconnor
    Aug 14th 2013, 9:24 AM

Auto correct

Mute Leo Keohane
    Favourite Leo Keohane
    Aug 13th 2013, 11:52 PM

There is one irrefutable fact in all of this. Last July, in one day, there were three Mayday calls from Ryanair planes around Valencia airport. Apparently regulations dictate that if remaining fuel reaches a critical level then a Mayday call must be made by the pilot.
    Now a Mayday is a call of last resort – there is a serious problem being experienced by the caller. It’s not a mere breach of some obscure regulation; Mayday is made when there is an imminent danger to the aircraft and the lives of its passengers. There is a lesser emergency call, Pan, which can be made if the problem being experienced is less critical – this was not the call that was made on any of those occasions.
    I have not seen anywhere Ryanair expressing grave concern about these three incidents. That attitude, I would suggest, does not give me the impression of an airline that “is on a par with the safest in Europe”.

Mute Paul D
    Favourite Paul D
    Aug 14th 2013, 12:12 AM

Exactly what I was thinking .

Mute Vincent Power
    Favourite Vincent Power
    Aug 14th 2013, 12:19 AM

Hi Leo just out of curiousity what day was it in July. I couldn’t find it.?

Mute Vincent Power
    Favourite Vincent Power
    Aug 14th 2013, 12:25 AM

Sorry Leo I found it. The fuel carried by all three flights was absolutely correct. Sufficient fuel to alternate plus reserve.

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Aug 14th 2013, 12:29 AM

Agree, people seem to be missing the bigger picture that the problem is pilots feel that they can’t report a safety issue for fear of reprimand….that is very serious…whether you like Ryanair or not is beside the point. Ryanair seem to be shifting the focus in order to confuse the issue.

Mute LaCaz Creole
    Favourite LaCaz Creole
    Aug 14th 2013, 12:31 AM

I have noticed that on here, it’s all about an IRISH airline being slammed rather than concerns over the safety of millions. Bet many of those pro-Ryanair on here right now are the usual Ryanair begrudgers

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Aug 14th 2013, 12:43 AM

Leo how much additional fuel would you like them to carry? The had sufficient amounts to get them to their destination, circle the airport for an hour, fly an additional 350km to Valencia and circle the airport there before calling in the May Day and they still landed with over 30 mins of fuel in the tank.

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Aug 14th 2013, 12:47 AM

LaCaz – it’s nothing to do with defending an Irish company. I’d be of the same opinion if RTE aired a blatantly bullsh!t, one sided program with no factual evidence about a British, American or Spanish company.

Mute Sean Ronayne
    Favourite Sean Ronayne
    Aug 14th 2013, 2:09 AM

Leo, If you actually read the report, you would find that a Pan urgency call was made to Spanish ATC. It was not until closer to the airport that the pilots had to declare a Mayday.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:07 AM

Vincent, from posts on other, related, threads it would seem that the three incidents were down to Spanish ATC keeping the aircraft in holding patterns for far too long. Nothing to do with Ryanair procedures, just the usual trashy broadcaster’s ploy of telling whichever bits of the story suit your purpose.

Mute Loop De Loop
    Favourite Loop De Loop
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:33 PM

Leo, do you realise that 2 of the aircraft circled Madrid for over an hour, the other for just under an hour, before they diverted to Valencia , where they were then instructed to circle in yet another holding pattern. On landing 2 of the aircraft had their full 1/2 hour fuel reserve left. How much fuel do you think these aircraft should carry ? The fuelling procedures and regulations which are followed by all airlines remain unchanged since that night but you can bet your life there will be big changes within Spanish air traffic control. You are right that these where very serious incidents, but totally wrong to assume it was the fault of Ryanair and no, I don’t work for them.

Mute COOM
    Favourite COOM
    Aug 13th 2013, 10:51 PM

I have cancelled all my company flights with Ryanair until this has been sorted. Aer Lingus might be slightly more expensive but you know you are in good hands.

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Aug 14th 2013, 12:00 AM

Are Ryanair and Aer Lingus not pretty much the same now anyway. It’s not like you get a free meal from Aer Lingus for paying the extra money. I find Aer Lingus cabin crew are no better than Ryanairs nor any worse.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:13 AM

COOM, I hope you don’t run your business in the same knee-jerk fashion. No, I am not connected to Ryanair other than as a passenger who has flown many hundreds of times with them over the years; both business and pleasure without any safety concerns.

Mute Joe Traynor
    Favourite Joe Traynor
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:29 AM

What specific Saftey issues have been highlighted? None.
    Disgruntled pilots who are not happy that they have to work up to the 900 hrs per year, some have complained that they have to prepare for a flight outside these hours effectively in their own time, that’s less than 19hr week.
    Aerlingus pilots fly 520 hrs per year or 10hrs per week, the average is closer to 900hrs.
    Ryanair have the newest fleet of Boeing aircraft of any airline in Europe .
    The pilots operate under international and European regulations , I couldn’t care less about Ryanair pilots anonymous survey It didn’t highlight one real incident. I flew on Ryanair yesterday and regularly fly Aerlingus , I prefer Ryanair as they never pander to the awkward customers that can just do what everyone else does. And as for the staff I find them very plesent on both Ryanair and Aerlingus.

Mute Lou Brennan
    Favourite Lou Brennan
    Aug 14th 2013, 10:09 AM

I’ve cancelled my one Ryanair flight home from knock to Luton until I am more reassured that I will not die. I know I’ve got two kids waiting anxiously for me to return but isn’t it better for them to know at least Im alive .

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:39 PM

Lou, Hopeful C4 Despatches will hold off showing the programme about the giant dragon that’s about to eat Luton. Wouldn’t want you to be alarmed. In the case of Ryanair, what exactly would “reassure” you if their perfect safety record doesn’t ? I’m intrigued.

Mute Joe McDermott
    Favourite Joe McDermott
    Aug 14th 2013, 12:02 AM

Channel 4 fail. What a crock of shit that program seems to be.

Mute Shane McGivern
    Favourite Shane McGivern
    Aug 14th 2013, 1:07 AM

The British medias’ attack of Ryanair continues – it’s getting blatantly obvious now that they are on a mission to blacken the Ryanair name as best they can on UK soil.

Fair play to MOL and the IAA for standing up to them. We didn’t see a witch hunt program about BAs diastorous safety record on concord did we?

Mute Marie Duggan
    Favourite Marie Duggan
    Aug 13th 2013, 10:31 PM

If corners are being cut aggressively,then this leaves pilot in a very vunerable position.I now cancel my flight.

Mute Genius
    Favourite Genius
    Aug 13th 2013, 11:40 PM

Are Ryanair staff bombarding this comments site.

Mute Vincent Power
    Favourite Vincent Power
    Aug 14th 2013, 12:12 AM

Marie do you believe everything you hear on telly. ? Having said that I would be far more concerned about air traffic control issues than anything else when it comes to flying. You might be wise to cancel but not because of any issues with Ryanair.

Mute YouAreMagicalSylwia
    Favourite YouAreMagicalSylwia
    Aug 13th 2013, 11:49 PM

Have flower with Ryanair many times and can’t fault them. Sure they might put down the shoe if they are running late but who doesn’t? They preform safety checks on their aircraft twice as often as other airlines to avoid breakdowns which are costly, and as for the comment about them having a face like a slapped arse, I can honestly say on every flight with them the cabin crew have been mighty Craic, and the pilots even joined in over the intercom once or twice!

Mute Mr. Common Sense
    Favourite Mr. Common Sense
    Aug 14th 2013, 2:39 AM

I hope O’Leary sues and wins. This is shoddy journalism.

Mute Ann Mcwilliams
    Favourite Ann Mcwilliams
    Aug 14th 2013, 7:29 AM

Well I think if they went into any airline as deep as they go into Ryanair they would find the same cuts and maybe more . Ryanair was if not the first one of the first to ground all flights when the dust cloud was around , Michael is one of the very few people on the planet whom interviewers like to cut their teeth on but they are left floundering watched one on early morning tv best entertainment I had for a long time .

Mute john smith
    Favourite john smith
    Aug 14th 2013, 6:10 PM

OMG Michael ,about time people new how you have ruined the industry .I know a good few Ryanair pilots they hate you,They all thought Sean Fitzpatrick was brilliant now they have found about you.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:41 PM

John, The boss has to be effective. Being likeable is a big bonus. Ryanair pilots don’t get a bonus. Tough.

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Aug 14th 2013, 11:36 AM

Miaow