You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE WORLD HEALTH Organisation (WHO) has called for urgent action to address the emergence of a new and deadly virus, related to the SARs virus.
In a statement issued yesterday, the organisation stressed that the novel coronavirus is distinct from SARs, despite the relation. However, it called for countries to increase their levels of awareness, particularly among health workers.
The virus first emerged in humans last year, with a total of 33 confirmed cases since September, including 18 deaths. More recently, two confirmed cases of human infection were reported in Saudi Arabia, linked to an outbreak in a healthcare facility.
The Saudi government is investigating the outbreak in which 15 people were infected and seven died.
Today WHO said that there are many gaps in its knowledge of the virus, though it does know that the when people get infected, many of them develop severe pneumonia and most of the people infected so far have been older men, often with other medical conditions.
However the organisation said it did not know where the virus lives, how often people might develop mild disease or why it is seeing a pattern of infection in older men.
WHO also said it has not established how people are becoming infected – whether from animals, other people, contaminated surfaces etc. It said different clusters seen in multiple countries “increasingly support the hypothesis that when there is close contact this novel coronavirus can transmit from person-to-person”.
Concern about the spread of the virus
“The greatest global concern, however, is about the potential for this new virus to spread,” WHO said in a statement. “This is partly because the virus has already caused severe disease in multiple countries, although in small numbers, and has persisted in the region since 2012.”
All countries have been called on to increase their level of awareness, especially among staff working in health systems, and to increase their levels of surveillance about the new infection.
“When new cases are found, as is likely, it is critical for countries to report these cases and related information urgently to WHO as required by the International Health Regulations because this is the basis for effective international alertness, preparedness and response,” the organisation said.
It also recommended countries assess their level of readiness if the virus should spread and said WHO is ready to assist them in these tasks.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
The Dublin Bus and Luas workers have given a great lead here. Obedience and compliance is a recipe for exploitation. Workers need to organise and fight to take what is ours.
It’s not “yours” you muppet. And not everyone has the luxury of working for a company than can both lose money and increase pay at the same time and still swan off with a pension at the end of it. Unless of course it’s the taxpayer footing the bill….
John, The working class create all of the real wealth on which humanity depends. Everything from the food in our bellies to the most sophisticated technology is produced by the workers through their labour and ingenuity. It’s ours and we need to organise and fight to take what is ours. And the workers don’t need your approval or permission to do so as Dublin Bus and the Luas workers have clearly demonstrated. Solidarity with all workers struggling to obtain a greater share of the wealth which they have created.
There would be nothing without the working class. Capital will not employ a single person or produce a single item without the expectation of profit. That profit is generated by the workers in the excess value they create over and above their wages.
@Billy Mooney: you deliberately twisted the ‘ours’ to mean labour, when in fact the matter is not the labour per se, but the rate of remuneration for it.
By all means if you’re not happy, withdraw your labour – permanently – and let someone else have the job.
And no, ingenuity is not the preserve of ‘workers’ in your narrow narrative. Employers are actual workers too, and their greatest achievement is the provision of a (paid-for) opportunity for those why seek……..employment.
As for the “wealth” you create, you conveniently ignored my point: if the “wealth” you create is in fact a deficit, then shouldn’t you actually pay something back ?
And the profit that capital eternally seeks to accumulate takes the form of money. And the money is ultimately created on the computer keyboards of the world’s central and commercial banks. We need a better socioeconomic system where economic activity is undertaken to meet human need instead of to obscenely enrich the elite.
@Billy Mooney: I can tell from your comment about me that you have no idea what I do for a living, which makes your comments markedly uninformed, and undermines you further.
@Billy Mooney: you still haven’t answered the question I’ve posed twice now: if the output of your labour is a net loss to the company, the economy & society – then shouldn’t you reimburse it ?
@Billy Mooney: Say Macro Billy!!!! The amount of rubbish you regurgitate is actually quite laughable. You are always the winner for most red thumbs and nuisance every day. Long winded posts that try to make you sound intelligent. Its like your stuck on chapter 3 of left wing populism for Dummies
here we go wally and the aaa leading the irish. Bolshevik revoution . went well in Russia and China. sign me up. sure we can blame the government when it goes wrong
It’s been going wrong since the foundation of the state Con. And they capped it off in 2008 by stealing € 100 + billion from the people and pumping it into the delinquent and corrupt banks. Ireland has always been governed in the interests of capital and at the expense of the working class. And the exploitation will continue until the working class organise and put a stop to it.
@Billy Mooney: I lived, worked and am still suffering for decisions made circa 2008. the slaving paye middle. sure are not FF the most popular party again, we pixies are great crack. sure lets have a ol Bolshevik revolution now. fire on a few tee shirts in da Dail and off we go
That’s funny. Me and my employer work side by side. Should I strike for more since apparently he’s one of the capitalist elite and I’m a working class slave?
copy and paste copy and paste on every article. the working create an output. how do you think any company is funded. privately through owners capital. i.e. what the owner is entitled to after they have paid their staff. they take the risk that if the business does badly they potentially get nothing or go out of business. the employees dont. therefor the employees proportion should always be lower. for public enties its funded by taxpayers and subsidies which still comes from taxpayers where you get your logic is beyond reason. blah blah blah workers join a union come together and blaming the bankers. not all their fault but myopia fools like you can never see the difference or logic in society.
I spoke to a driver yesterday about it. He said “11.25% over 3 yrs? Sure they owe us 6% already that they never gave to us. I can see us on strike next month.” All the papers are claiming a deal has been made. Wrong.
Think your right.. Unions stabbing there members in the back again. 11.25% over 3 yrs. Tho within that 3 years sounds like a fine worded agreement that DB can push any changes on it’s staff it see’s fit, and so called unions representing staff wont be able to do a dicky bird about it. My Fee’s will be getting withdrawn if it turns out i’ve read it right.
Basically red thumbs. The 11.25% would be accepted. The extra’s are a totally different ball game. They will basically give DB the right to change anything they want in the next 3 years. Would you accept. ?
This means that govt services will increase in cost. So the govt will either have to tax more, bring back more austerity, or cut capital and infrastructure spending. Thanks transdev for setting the ” me too” ball rolling.
@cholly appleseed: The attitude is now – if youre in an accident and its not your fault claim for as much as you can get – Its rotten. I know a psychologist who was scripting out symptoms to say in statements for “victims”. Claim culture is ruining the nation.
A van hit me at a junction – there was a small dint – I told him to drive on that it didn’t matter. I was called a fool by people I know for not claiming as much as I could for “whiplash” or whatever.
My Mother in law was knocked into a ditch by a car by an auld one, it was sorted with flowers and a box of roses. If that happened now there’d be claims court cases and millions.
A well publicized scam. Hopefully the government task force shock us all and do something with the insurance companies. I would love to see someone more intelligent than I pull apart the quoting systems and lay it out on paper. E.g penalty points = €100, ages 17-25 = €150, 1 liter engine = €100, and have a price on all factors in a quoting system. So you can build your own quote and plan accordingly. Transparency in short.
The Gardai are not looking or seeking pay rises. They want a reversal of the cuts applied to them. No increases, no extra money, no raises…simply to reverse the cuts that were made to the Garda nearly 10 years ago.
@Reg: When people have more money they spend it and small businesses increase turnover and profit. You should be hoping for a round of pay increases for the masses.
James Odin, not all on the public service gravy train are getting pay rises. I haven’t seen a pay rise since 2008 and then approx. 5% reduction of my salary and a public service pension levy followed which will equate to a wonderful pension equivalent to state contributory pension.
So did banks and lots of other industries but it sounds better to bitch about public sector workers getting everything whilst private sector workers get nothing.
In fact, the electrical contracting industry has agreed on a four-year wage deal which will see pay rates rise by more than 10% between 2017 and 2020. I would say that’s reasonable to be honest.
@The Throwaway: sorry lads: that’s the UK you’ve referred, not Ireland, so irrelevant.
The majority of electricians in this country are self-employed sub-contractors, not employees.
Never the less John most electricians are union members and when most get it all get it. Builders wouldn’t last long if the Sparks walked off site. Which they all were close to doing.
John. That’s NOT UK, that’s Ireland.
In 2009 electricians secured a basic pay rise of 4.9%. There are outstanding issues around that, with strike actions etc. But they nevertheless looked for the pay rise.
@James Odin: Since the taxpayer subvention for DB is minuscule, I don’t think you should worry too much about it. I know we drivers actually pay tax too so in a way, we subsidise our own jobs and the transport service being provided. The real obscene subsidies (billions) seem to be going to the US tech companies who are being subsidised by the fact they pay virtually no tax to the state. The public services are all being underfunded directly because of this fact. Some of you private sector workers seem to have delusions about the value of your jobs.
@Stephen Brady: Electrician pay is linked to other industries it is based on a wide range of other industries from the previous year so yea they got a increase because the previous year those other industries had increased, but we also took a paycut the following year as it is benchmarked & linked to other sectors, this is what should of happened to the Public sector linked to other sectors, as they rise, so would your wages as they decrease & the tax take decrease so would your wages.. but upward only mate..
You should go on strike till you give yourself a pay rise. Don’t be soft and take the first offer, dig your heels in a bit and make yourself feel a bit of pain before you come to some agreement with yourself. If it takes a few weeks of strikes, so be it. Show yourself who is boss. You can’t be exploiting yourself while your boss (you) takes all the cream while you do all the work. Best of luck.
Hang in there with the strike until your business becomes loss making then blame market conditions for the destruction of your own business. Then apply for a top position in a union. Cause now you’re qualified…
We aren’t all so privalaged working in the protected and unionised public service to believe we should be paid more….most of us work in the real world.
Winston. Most employers are coining it up and paying miserable wages to their staff the proof of this is when there’s any mention of a cent increase to their staff you have Ibec mouthing off and all sorts of threats of closing down. At the time of the crash workers lost half of their wages but the cost of living went through the roof with no intervention from our Government . The bus drivers and Gardai are now trying to regain a fraction of what was lost to them in the first place . This is the real world Winston
I think that should be stressed, Gardai are not looking for any pay increases or rises. They are looking for the reversal of cuts that were made on a ‘temporary financial emergency measures’.
If being by being an employer, Alan, you can coin it up, the you should become an employer. Nothing to stop you. I wonder how many AAA members are employers?
Just under a third of employees in Ireland are union members. Specifically within the private sector the proportion of employees is about a quarter (24.9%).
For private sector union members see;
The National Workplace Surveys 2009, Volume 2, The Changing Workplace: A Survey of Employees’ Views and Experiences by Philip J. O’Connel, Helen Russell, Dorothy Watson and Delma Byrne, National Centre for Partnership and Performance, 2010.
A lot of workers have no protection from the greedy private sector employers while the employers have Ibec to protect them . Most staff in low paying jobs are groomed into accepting everything the Boss says this is the reason so many negative comments regarding bus drivers and Gardai are posted here . What I would say to them stop giving out go and join one of the groups
In most private sector jobs you have to earn your pay rise. It is based on 1. How the company performed and 2. How you performed.
Even then there is a forced distribution of how much someone gets. So often you may not get what you deserve.
No private sector companies would award blanket 3% pay rises per year.
This is why the public sector is bloated and inefficient. How about performance based pay awards in the public sector? Bet the Unions wouldn’t allow that!
How would you rate performance based pay on services provided? Because public service isn’t a business, and doesn’t generate income…that’s what sets public service aside from private sector. Do you simply subtract a €1,000 for every person that dies in a Hospital from the Doctor on call? Maybe if the Doc talks to two or more members of the family after the death that they earn €50, maybe an extra €2 for a hug, and an extra €50 for a chair to allow the bereaved to sit and cry for a minute or two before been kicked out, because you know we’ve a business to run here. Or how about the community Garda that simply talks with an old person at their home or in the community hall and allays their fears slightly, or provides a community service because no one else rings or visits them; do we count that as a performance? Maybe €10 for every old person you talk to? Or maybe the nurse that holds you hand and tells you it’ll be ok, maybe we could charge that at €5 per occasion. Maybe we could charge €100 for all non Garda related calls that Gardai go to.
I’d be interested to see just what ‘performance’ you would use.
Good Doctors deserve to be payed more than bad doctors. Good nurses deserve better pay than poor nurses. The best teachers should have higher income. Bus drivers that deliver a better service for customers deserve to see that reflected in their pay at the end of the month.
If you think someone that cares less about their job and their customers should be payed the same as the people that go above and beyond in the line of duty then you epitomise everything that is wrong with the public sector.
Just because something isn’t done with profit as the main objective does not mean it doesn’t matter how customers are treated.
Unions always talk about the race to the bottom with relation to pay. However, it is a two way street and with blanket pay hikes in the public sector it a race to the bottom for poor customer service.
It’s time the blinkers were taking off. It’s time the best and brightest are rewarded for their hard work and those that those who give the PS a bad name get a kick up a backside and realise if they want a pay rise they need to earn it. They need to follow in the footsteps of their performing peers and get out of the job and let someone willing to do a better job in intheir place.
Surely their direct manager knows what they are doing and how they are doing, no?
Thinking that there is a need to hire 100s of “clipboard merchants” to manage performance reviews is another reason for a bloated and inefficient PS.
There are plenty of off the shelf and free to use tools that could help management to first set performance plans, track performance throughout the year and finally complete performance assessment at the end of the year. It’s not hard to do.
That’s all talk. You haven’t given anything concrete just platitude. Of course good workers should go further & get better rewarded than bad workers. That’s why we have promotions & specialisms. Good Doctors & Nurses are able to progress & specialise, similarly Gardai are able to move into specialised areas. Then there’s promotion up the ranks. So on and so on. But your idea of performance related pay doesn’t transfer to the majority of public services. You didn’t give any info as to what you consider performance. You have Gardai that specialise in purely community policing for instance. An awful lot of what they do is not & can’t be quantified by numbers, but if you ask the local community they find the service invaluable. How do performance pay relate visiting an elderly or disabled person that’s stuck in their own home? How do you performance relate pay to a nurse who spent the majority of her shift consoling a family? Rėtárdś in the street can easily say ‘better service should be rewarded’, well no śhït Sherlock; of course they should. But all you’re spouting at the moment is hyperbole. I’d love to see how society would react when they find out the Gardaí get a bonus for every arrest. Because your little Susie or Johnny drinking in the field won’t just be brought home with a stern word by a Garda with some discretion & cop on, they’ll be arrested & in time brought to a court…& all because it’s a performance related pay structure.
Throwaway – you seem to think that performance is just related to how many of x, y and z did the worker do in a given period of time and can they do more.
Your idea of Gardai get a bonus pay per arrest is laughable.
How about a Garda performance pay review based on the following.
1. Customer satisfaction survey for local station. Based on results target areas of improvement year in year
2. 360 peer review of each individual Garda
3. Development plan based on the 360 feedback. I.e. Does to Garda need to improve their communication skills, time management, subject matter knowledge etc.
4. Set goals of completing x amount of training hours per year.
5. Set goals of being out on the beat for x amount of hour per week.
6. Research best practices of policing across the world and help deliver improvements to the Garda locally then nationally based on the research.
@Ted Logan: So what you seem to be saying is that a bus driver should be penalised for being delayed by traffic congestion, luas works etc. This is completely absurd and unrealistic .Maybe such performance monitoring systems work in your job but obviously not in a bus.
Also, if you’re going to mention passengers complaints per driver this is again absurd as drivers get blamed for delays that aren’t their fault but the passenger doesn’t understand this. The only staff member they see is the driver anyway so it must be their fault.
I would hope the company wouldn’t blame the driver for delays beyond their control.
But what can the driver do in those circumstances to turn a negative experience into a positive one? Be a friendly face. Apologise for the delay. It’s what the best drivers would do. And they should be rewarded.
I’ve been on plenty of busses where the driver doesn’t give a fiddlers about the comfort of the passengers. Grumpy from the moment you get on. Accelerating hard, breaking even harder.
I have also been on many busses where the driver was super friendly and made the journey as smooth as possible.
@Ted Logan: Yes, spending my whole day p*ssing in bottles every time I reach the terminus puts a big smile on my face. Twisting to the left constantly to face passengers on a non swivelling seat is really comfortable too. Don’t all customer facing employees have swivelling seats or stand. My employer really cares about me and my comfort all right.
What causes all these strikes in the first place? Answer: Companies constantly are getting multiple pay rises on a regular basis. Sky, Virgin Media and of course VHI are bankers. VHI had 2 cost increases this year. I dont remember any year in the last 20 years that VHI missed a price increase of anything less then 10%. Sky are the same. The Car Insurance Industry seems to ask for increases of up to 100% if they want. They can do so as they wish. No need to strike so the people have to put up with it. Government steps aside and let it all happen. I cant but see the same mistake is happening again that will lead to another bust like in 2008. That is BOOM BUST economics. Remember RIGHT WING governments bring countries down. Voting FF/FG Lab is an expensive hobby. Vote Left for fairness.
@Brendan Mason:
“Companies constantly are getting multiple pay rises”
Are you implying that a Sky dish installer has multiple pay rises and is on 100k ?
100%agree with you Brendan and we have a Government who say they cannot interfere with the private market it’s a lottery for these companies while some of them play scrooge with their workers.
After 8yrs of austerity ..think we can expect a lot more of the same..maybe if we had a government that worked to reduce the high cost of living ..chidcare..housing ..mortgage rates..insurance ..transportation. etc it’d be different ..but we don’t ..we have enda kenny ..
I work in the private sector where each individual gets to negotiate their own pay. Work hard and you reep the rewards. Don’t work hard, and feel the consequences.
@Do the Bort man: That would never work in a company with 3000 employees. It must be a small company you work for. Please describe how a potential bus driver for DB would negotiate their pay at the job interview. It would be a very short and unsuccessful interview, I can tell you that.
Low skilled workers decide they want more money for doing basic work. We get to a ridiculous stage where bus and drivers pick up a bigger pay packet than nurses who are in university for four years, and any non-consultant doctors who have studied for a minimum five years, and I guarantee you they will bite back.
It’s the middle classes that have been put under the most pressure, and with the least benefits tax-wise. Shoulda just skipped the whole 3rd level education thing, and lived off the dole or work of vehement unions who think it’s ok to hold the public to ransom. I suppose I’ll have Billy Mooney to keep me company at the dole office if he can drag himself away from the journal comments section for long enough.
Yes as an old age pensioner who has paid his dues this government and previous have taken our household package our phone and electricity allowence from us they have taken the death grant from us they have increased our prescription charges by 100% they have taken our Medical cards
They have imposed property tax on us they are trying to impose water charges on us. That is my argument for an increase.
@Tony Hartigan: As a young adult looking at the situation i see that your generation, has not put enough money away, to cover your pensions, household rates, were reduced, road tax at £5. the country has borrowed & increases it’s dept to a level were the interest each year is greater than the total debt when a certain Charlie told to you tighten the belt cause the £7 billion total dept was unsustainable but they kept on borrowing to keep taxes low.. Now we are paying the first €1000 in tax just to cover the interest on that dept before we pay for water, road, teachers, nurse’s gaurds & the management quango to create paperwork & waste all the money
If all our super leader class can take over 100k per year in pensions. Surely the rest of us can expect at least half that for working our ass off at all hours of the day and night. Power to the workers.
Its not a deal yet, It has not been accepted there has not been a ballot yet, they were supposed to go in, negotiate a pay deal, that was it. Nothing came of the 6% that was owed. What came out was 9 paragraphs of changes to terms & conditions of employment, with an 11.25% pay rise. Personally, my terms & conditions far out weigh a pay rise. Money is nice but not to the detriment of working conditions. the status quo is better
'Love nonetheless': EU's top diplomat says Trump's 'tough love' on defence better than nothing
39 mins ago
Verdict
Richard Satchwell found guilty of the murder of his wife Tina Satchwell in 2017
20 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 198 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 137 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 178 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 141 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 103 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 104 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 47 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 43 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 161 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 73 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 96 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 102 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 45 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 60 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 30 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 113 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 116 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 85 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 63 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 108 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 91 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say