You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Visitor books have been banned from several heritage sites in Ireland including Dublin Castle and Kilmainham Gaol. Shutterstock/Brian A Jackson

Data Commission says banning visitor books is a 'disproportionate approach' to data privacy

The books were banned from heritage sites such as Kilmainham Gaol and Dublin Castle.

BANNING VISITOR BOOKS from heritage sites in Ireland was a disproportionate approach to data privacy, according to the Data Protection Commission (DPC). 

Earlier today, it was reported that the Office of Public Works banned heritage sites such as Dublin Castle, Kilmainham Gaol and Muckross House from using visitor books due to data protection concerns. 

The DPC has since stated that this may not be a necessary move. The ban was introduced at the beginning of this year’s tourism season, according to The Irish Times. 

“The DPC advocates a ‘common sense’ and risk-based approach to data protection and it would appear that this practice may be a disproportionate approach to data protection principles,” a spokesperson for the DPC told TheJournal.ie. 

“GDPR only applies to the processing of personal data which form part of a filing system. It is not clear that a visitor book necessarily constitutes a ‘filing system’ as per Article 4 (6) of the GDPR.”

Article 4 (6) of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) states that a filing system is “any structured set of personal data which are accessible according to specific criteria, whether centralised, decentralised or dispersed on a functional or geographical basis”.

Low risk information

There is general consensus in the industry that the move by the OPW was excessive and unnecessary. 

Data protection consultant at Ambit Compliance, Gillian Traynor, told TheJournal.ie that banning visitor books seems like an unnecessary move. 

“The GDPR in no way forbids a visitor book. It is a risk-based framework which demands that organisations apply control measures to risks facing personal data controlled by them,” said Traynor.

She added that the personal data shared in visitor books is “generally very low risk” and other measures could be taken to protect this data by asking visitors not to include their address. 

She also noted that people are not obliged to share any data in visitor books as they are entirely optional to sign. 

“To come within the remit of the law, a paper-based record must be part of a relevant filing system,” Traynor said.

“So it is debatable whether it is a filing system or not. Whether one could find someone’s name in a legible fashion to identify them is not clear,” she added.

Hugh Jones, chief privacy officer at data protection solution company Sytorus, said removing visitor books is a “completely excessive” move.

“Adopting a solution that looks like an overcompensation undermines their credibility,” Jones said.

It would be depriving visitors of an opportunity to express their excitement or gratitude about a place.

He added that unless it is not optional to include a name and address when leaving a comment, there should be no risk of data privacy being breached. 

Clare Copas, founder of MonClare Data Protection Consultancy, said that this move was “a bit drastic”. 

“Instead of banning the visitor books, they could have put signs up to make people aware that by writing their name, they are making this information publicly available,” Copas said. 

“It was a bit drastic. I feel that they don’t have the full grasp of the legislation.”

The Office of Public Works was contacted for comment on this issue but had not responded by the time of publication. 

What is GDPR?

The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) was put in place in May 2018 in EU legislation. It is a set of rules aimed to give EU citizens more control over their personal data.

It requires a higher standard of data protection for EU personal data than was previously in place. Companies that process this data must abide by EU processing standards in order to avoid fines of up to €20 million.  

EU data is no longer permitted to be processed in countries outside of the EU that are not on the list of approved countries. Countries that are allowed include the US, Japan and Israel. 

Under the GDPR, personal data is data that relates to or can identify a living person such as your name, number, bank details and medical history.

This is not the first instance of over-cautiousness concerning GDPR. Last month, it was reported that the GPO had removed all of its public bins due to fears of breaching data privacy law. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

31 Comments
    Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad
    Sep 9th 2022, 11:45 PM

Looks like great craic in fairness

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Sep 9th 2022, 11:46 PM

@Lad: cant wait

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Sep 10th 2022, 7:49 AM

@Lad: I heard the sound was awful.

Mute BadBob
    Favourite BadBob
    Sep 10th 2022, 11:40 AM

@Toon Army: you heard from a third party, or you know

Mute Shane Carroll
    Favourite Shane Carroll
    Sep 10th 2022, 12:15 PM

@Toon Army: I was there in the stands. It was a struggle to hear what he was saying whatever way the sound was set up. Great gig all the same.

Mute frank griffin
    Favourite frank griffin
    Sep 10th 2022, 2:13 PM

@James Gorman: Jezzussss I hate his music

Mute Claire Walsh
    Favourite Claire Walsh
    Sep 10th 2022, 12:46 AM

Best night ever. Voice gone. Feet sore. Brilliant. GARTH FOREVER

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Sep 10th 2022, 12:50 AM

@Claire Walsh: Iam not a Garth fan claire. But ye deffo sound like someone that enjoyed the experience and that’s what its all about.

Mute Garren Bellew
    Favourite Garren Bellew
    Sep 10th 2022, 2:39 AM

In my hometown of Ardee tonight a bunch of local musicians all gave our time up to support the SOSAD charity.
    I hope everyone at the Brooks gig had a good night, but I know that everyone who paid their hard earned cash to support an amazing charity had a brilliant night.
    Support local musicians.

Mute Sean Stevenson
    Favourite Sean Stevenson
    Sep 10th 2022, 2:54 AM

@Garren Bellew: fair play, brilliant to support local over this boomer country crap

Mute Bernard Mc Grath
    Favourite Bernard Mc Grath
    Sep 10th 2022, 1:35 PM

@Sean Stevenson: So as a country we just support local musicians and never have big concerts ?

Mute Garren Bellew
    Favourite Garren Bellew
    Sep 10th 2022, 6:12 PM

@Bernard Mc Grath: that’s what you took from this, is it? Sad little unicorn.

Mute Garren Bellew
    Favourite Garren Bellew
    Sep 10th 2022, 6:14 PM

@Sean Stevenson: thanks Sean. It’s a drop on the ocean. But incredibly worthwhile. I can confirm there were no Garth Brooks fans in the vicinity!

Mute Mick Hyland
    Favourite Mick Hyland
    Sep 10th 2022, 12:17 AM

Something good. Welcome to the best country in the world. Now I’m getting overwhelmed. Good stuff Garth

Mute Brian Byrne
    Favourite Brian Byrne
    Sep 10th 2022, 8:58 AM

@Mick Hyland: The best country in the world ????Have you not been watching the news of late ??

Mute Andy O'B
    Favourite Andy O'B
    Sep 10th 2022, 9:32 AM

@Brian Byrne: ah go away with your negativity. The whole world is a shambles…just let us have this. We are great.

Mute Brian Byrne
    Favourite Brian Byrne
    Sep 10th 2022, 11:56 AM

@Andy O’B: And that’s exactly the attitude that has us where we are …

Mute Paul Owens
    Favourite Paul Owens
    Sep 10th 2022, 10:52 PM

@Mick Hyland: The best country,,your funny Man!

Mute Grainne Kelly
    Favourite Grainne Kelly
    Sep 10th 2022, 1:12 AM

Garth Brookes was fantastic tonight, unfortunately, the organisation at Croke Park was absolutely abysmal. People that queued from 5pm missed his opening. Signs were wrong, ladies toilets needed a walk of fifteen minutes (before the queue for the actual toilets) and another fifteen minutes to get back inside the stadium. With the bottleneck getting in, I’d dread to think what would happen if there was a fire or emergency. The concert was 100% brilliant, the entrances, exits and crowd design was so poor it was scary!

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Sep 10th 2022, 1:19 AM

@Grainne Kelly: No worries it should be sorted by the 5th show. Lol

Mute Geraldine Brady
    Favourite Geraldine Brady
    Sep 10th 2022, 1:24 AM

@Grainne Kelly: don’t agree Grainne. I was there also this evening and didn’t experience any of this. I didn’t queue from 5pm, it was 6pm when we arrived at Croke Park and we were lucky to enter quickly with no issues at all. Staff on-site were very friendly and in my experience this evening were more than happy to help and direct with any questions

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    Sep 10th 2022, 10:11 AM

@Geraldine Brady: you just said you were lucky, which means your experience of getting in was not the norm. And she actually didn’t mention issues with staff being unfriendly or unhelpful so it’s a bit odd that that’s what you focused on. I for one believe Grainne.

Mute Geraldine Brady
    Favourite Geraldine Brady
    Sep 10th 2022, 11:35 AM

@Marie Broomfield: nothing odd about it Marie – we had no issues what so ever last night in getting in, getting out, going to thr bathroom or getting drinks… nada!!

Mute Shane Carroll
    Favourite Shane Carroll
    Sep 10th 2022, 12:19 PM

@Grainne Kelly: we arrived at half 6, strolled in no bother, no queues for drinks and I thought everything was very well laid out and run. I’d say the problem was the amount of people who left it very late to leave the pubs in the city and all tried to get in at the same time.

Mute Susan Comey-Tiernan
    Favourite Susan Comey-Tiernan
    Sep 10th 2022, 5:25 PM

@Grainne Kelly: I didn’t arrived until well after 6pm. Had time to use the ladies, queue for a drink and I still saw him come on stage. Staff were great.

Mute Don Knox
    Favourite Don Knox
    Sep 9th 2022, 11:59 PM

You could probably enjoy tomorrow night in the Brazen Head with the Rye River Band just as much

Mute Dearbhla O Reilly
    Favourite Dearbhla O Reilly
    Sep 10th 2022, 12:32 AM

@Don Knox: they’re still on the go?

Mute Mick Hyland
    Favourite Mick Hyland
    Sep 10th 2022, 1:03 AM

@Don Knox: or Seamus, Barney and Victor in the Hairy Lemon on Sunday night

Mute Robert John
    Favourite Robert John
    Sep 10th 2022, 1:55 AM

@Don Knox: You could also just by-pass this article without passing any comment and …..well …. That’s just it.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Sep 10th 2022, 2:03 AM

@Robert John: maybe just maybe he’s advertising the brazen head? Who knows. I doubt it but you can have done the same ie by- pass said article.

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Sep 10th 2022, 9:20 AM

@Dearbhla O Reilly: Yes, they’re still on the go. But they’ve many line-up changes over the years. A bit like Triggers sweeping brush.
    But great to see in recent years they’ve had an influx of new, young up and coming talent like Don.

Mute Conor Phillips
    Favourite Conor Phillips
    Sep 10th 2022, 8:28 AM

Great article! Congratulations. Perfectly written and you caught the mood just right.

Mute raymond flynn
    Favourite raymond flynn
    Sep 10th 2022, 1:06 AM

Good show, top class entertainment

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Sep 10th 2022, 9:13 AM

Hes wiping those tears with €500 euro notes

Mute MonkeyTarmac
    Favourite MonkeyTarmac
    Sep 10th 2022, 12:36 AM

Brokeback mountain

Mute Miss T
    Favourite Miss T
    Sep 10th 2022, 8:43 AM

As good as it was in 97! Loved every second of it.

Mute Michael Dowling
    Favourite Michael Dowling
    Sep 10th 2022, 8:20 AM

Met him once years ago before he became famous at a wedding in the US. A really nice man back then. Hope he hasn’t changed. He sang a few songs for the wedding.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Sep 10th 2022, 10:44 AM

Brilliant concert from start to finish. If your a fan of his music you won’t be disappointed.

Mute Jim Harrington
    Favourite Jim Harrington
    Sep 10th 2022, 1:27 AM

Hope he was paid enough

Mute Mojo
    Favourite Mojo
    Sep 10th 2022, 4:01 AM

@Jim Harrington: are you being smart,?…

Mute Mark Reilly
    Favourite Mark Reilly
    Sep 10th 2022, 12:37 PM

Made to go by the missus, was dreading it. Was brilliant and only knew about 3 songs. 80 per cent of it is who you are with. Enjoy whoever going today or another day.

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    Sep 10th 2022, 10:17 AM

While I roll my eyes at that headline and his declarations of love for thr Irish, gawd, that was such a well written account. Good job.

Mute Caitríona O'Neill Ashe
    Favourite Caitríona O'Neill Ashe
    Sep 10th 2022, 3:22 AM

Wahoo 5 in a row

Mute Gareth Miskelly
    Favourite Gareth Miskelly
    Sep 10th 2022, 11:50 AM

Not my type of music at all, but I hope everyone enjoyed their night and the rest of the concerts are a roaring success

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Sep 10th 2022, 9:53 AM

Hernia alert

Mute Seamus Quaide
    Favourite Seamus Quaide
    Sep 10th 2022, 3:39 PM

I’m getting very emotional reading this…

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 11th 2022, 9:41 AM

I think his wallet in his jeans pocket was digging in and hurting his back.