You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Yuri Shebalius

'Do not drink or wash' water warning for parts of Meath following reports of rashes

Local TD Thomas Byrne said that he had received reports of children becoming “very sick” and “getting bad rashes”.

A “DO NOT drink, do not wash” water notice has been announced for parts of Co Meath this evening due to “increased chlorine levels” in the water supply.

Local TD Thomas Byrne said that he had received reports of children becoming “very sick” and “getting bad rashes” as a result of the elevated chlorine levels.

Irish Water has imposed the notice for people in Kilcloon, Moygaddy, Killeany, Kilgraigue, Harristown, Brownstown, Ballynare, Butlerstown, Staffordstown, Brownrath, Blackhall Little, Waynestown, Harlockstown, Ballymacoll in Co Meath.

In a statement on its website, Irish Water said that “customers must not drink the water or wash in the water until further notice”. They added that they expect the issue to be resolved later tonight.

Byrne said that it was his understanding that Irish Water were first notified of the issue on Monday, and said he was “shocked” that they were only taking action now.

“This is a very serious public health issue, that demands urgent attention and explanation.”

It’s as of yet unknown what caused there to be elevated levels of chlorine in the Meath water supply. Irish Water said further updates would be provided throughout the day.

Customers are also advised to draw down the water in their attic tanks to flush out their internal plumbing system.

Fixing the issue involves “flushing the network” so that the high levels of chlorine are removed. Irish Water are working closely with the HSE and Meath County Council to resolve the issue.

Bottled water will be available at Kilcloon Church and Kilcloon School from 2pm today and will remain in place until tomorrow afternoon.

Leaflets advising customers of the do not drink and do not wash notice will be hand-delivered to properties in the impacted area.

Read: Boil water notice that affected 65,000 people lifted for several areas

Read: Galway family left without regular water supply for more than five years

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

57 Comments
    Mute Ciarán McPhillips
    Favourite Ciarán McPhillips
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:24 PM

Shouldn’t be adding chlorine in the first place.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:44 PM

@Ciarán McPhillips: exactly. Does no one else not question why cancer is rampant in Ireland! ( you have a 93% higher chance of getting cancer if your drinking chlorinated water)

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:48 PM

@Colette Kearns:
    Please publish the peer reviewed source for that claim. (YouTube videos do not count)

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:58 PM

@P.J. Nolan: It’s according to the “ US council of Environmental Quality “

Mute Paul Donegan
    Favourite Paul Donegan
    Feb 7th 2018, 6:04 PM

@Colette Kearns: “it’s science” it works 93% of the time everytime

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Feb 7th 2018, 6:17 PM

@Colette Kearns: You might not realise that the figure you’ve quoted relates to one sample who were drinking rural run off water that was chlorinated. The chlorine combined with various fertilizers and decaying organic matter to increase the occurance of rectal cancer.

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Feb 7th 2018, 6:19 PM

@Honeybadger197: * that was then chlorinated

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Feb 7th 2018, 6:26 PM

I love the game of ‘lets pretend’ with regard to the embarrassment called ‘Irish Water’. Its like their contentious extravagant frittering away of upwards of a billion euro never happened.

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Feb 7th 2018, 6:38 PM

@Honeybadger197: from 1978

Mute Grainne Keegan
    Favourite Grainne Keegan
    Feb 7th 2018, 7:20 PM

@Colette Kearns: exactly it is not put in the water systems in other countries.

Mute John's Voyage
    Favourite John's Voyage
    Feb 7th 2018, 7:43 PM

@Colette Kearns: 93%!? While I agree that a huge cause of cancer is the amount of chemicals in the processed food that many CHOOSE to eat. However, where did you get that percentage? If that was the case then nearly everyone drinking it would have cancer and that’s not the case.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 7th 2018, 8:58 PM

@Ciarán McPhillips: Have you seen what it does to the workers in US chicken factories, it makes them ill for life…

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Feb 7th 2018, 9:15 PM

@Alois Irlmaier: ..or the effect it has on Syrian civilians when their dictator president drops barrels of it on them from helicopter

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:19 PM

No doubt the people most vocal about not paying their water charges will be the first to complain. No such thing as a free lunch.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:26 PM

@Ricky Spanish: Well they’ll say they’re paying for it in other ways to be fair.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:29 PM

@Ricky Spanish: The €500,000,000 wasted on meters would have moved our infrastructure issues along in the right direction, no?

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:35 PM

@Ricky Spanish: well if FG weren’t intent on privatising OUR water supply and handing it to their mates, maybe people would have been less vocal.

PS, when are we getting the referendum on this?, im still waiting and voting preferences will not be forthcoming until it happens!

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:40 PM

@Ricky Spanish: Most people didn’t object to paying a bit extra, but they won’t pay for a gang of crooks to have lavis cars, bonuses etc etc etc, our water services would be privatized by now ( which has turned out to be disastrous) if it wasn’t for people power!

Mute Richard Day
    Favourite Richard Day
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:41 PM

@Ricky Spanish: You are Alan Kelly and I claim my 100 e reward

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:42 PM

@Ricky Spanish: The answer you are looking for is in the cheque you received.
    I didn’t waste any money by signing up and getting a refund, and yes I and every other worker pay handsomely already.

Mute Sean Barron
    Favourite Sean Barron
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:49 PM

@Ricky Spanish: eh….it costs to add this to the water.

Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Feb 7th 2018, 6:06 PM

@Ricky Spanish: Now now Ricky we already pay for our water multiple times so do try to keep up to date. So would you please tell your blueshirt buddys and their tax exile benefactor to shove the water charge/scam/bondholder tax where the sun dont shine. Many thanks.

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Feb 7th 2018, 7:24 PM

@Ricky Spanish: So the FG way is to poison people. The linch has been paid for over and over again. It’s still being paid for. Toddle along.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 7th 2018, 9:01 PM

@Ricky Spanish: I saw part of a documentary tonight on RT about Irish Water and how the Troika wanted to privatise it and out government told them not to use that language yet as people would see it… So the Troika wants to privatise all water in the EU…

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Feb 7th 2018, 9:27 PM

@Alois Irlmaier: Shouldn’t RT concentrate on their own experience with privatisation? How all the oligarchs in Russia became billionaires after they got a hold of it’s state assets

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Feb 8th 2018, 12:12 AM

@Ricky Spanish: apologies I’m late getting to your comment ( work gets in the way sometimes). I just wanted to say that you’re a moron. BTW – there’s plenty of free lunches being had in the Dail every day – there really is such a thing as a free lunch Rickeeeeee!

Mute Tony Dowling
    Favourite Tony Dowling
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:42 PM

Well done water protesters. Only country in eu27 without metered water charges. Paying through general taxation equals waste and unservicabilty.

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:44 PM

@Tony Dowling: Incorrect, many Municipalities are remunicipalising their water supplies after disastrous privateering of profit.

Yes, we are currently paying through general taxation.

If that was removed then it would have been feasible to promote paying by use to a PUBLIC water utility but alas FFFGLAB messed it up big time with their buddies.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Feb 7th 2018, 6:24 PM

@Tony Dowling: So do you think it is a deliberate ploy by I.W. to try and teach us a lesson to pay up or else?
    Or do you think it is gross incompetance by I.W. who fully expected to charge people through the nose for a product that they were already paying for and collect bonuses while doing it all before it was privatised?
    Face facts, I.W. was a joke and a scam that FG tried to ram down peoples throats but for once people stood up and said no, enough is enough.

Mute Tony Dowling
    Favourite Tony Dowling
    Feb 7th 2018, 6:28 PM

@Derek Lyster: its a utility starved of cash due to a waste and stupidity of large section if irish public.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Feb 7th 2018, 7:08 PM

@Tony Dowling: obvious Tony from your comments your not too knowledgeable about the waste and quango iw was and or the love of common sense still hasn’t been fully disbanded.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Feb 7th 2018, 7:33 PM

@Tony Dowling: But surely keeping the water under the control of the local authorities and using the additional taxes that were created many years ago to pay for the upgrade of the system could have helped solve alot of the problems? And imagine how far the money that was wasted setting up I.W. would have helped a great deal too?
    I just don’t get why I.W. was set up. Any function they provide could have easily been provided by already existing local authorities and all of the grief caused and money wasted could have been avoided?

Mute Tony Dowling
    Favourite Tony Dowling
    Feb 7th 2018, 8:37 PM

@Derek Lyster: It was set up because it is mire efficient to have a single utility than couple of dozen local authorities. Economies of scale would have saved money in the long run and the pay per use setup would have cut supply requirements in half.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Feb 7th 2018, 9:31 PM

@Tony Dowling: According to the world’s leading expert on water and sanitation provision and internationally renowned environmentalist,Maude Barlow “The Irish system of paying for water and sanitation services through progressive taxation and non domestic user fees is an exemplary model of fair, equitable & sustainable service delivery for the entire world”
    She served as Senior Advisor on water to the 63rd President to the UN General Assembly.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Feb 7th 2018, 11:17 PM

@Tony Dowling: your a hopeless case tony

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Feb 8th 2018, 6:32 AM

@Tony Dowling: Efficient like the HSE?
    Where are the stats to prove that money would be saved in the long run and that requirements would be cut in half? It may well have saved the government money but the public would have been fleeced.
    People need what they need and meters would not change that although it would cut down on waste but education could assist with that.
    Without a doubt I.W. was a complete phuck up by the government who just assumed we would fall into line so i will just stick with the general opinion of I.W. is a complete waste of money and was set up to be sold so our water supply would end up privatised.

Mute Mick Makkinen
    Favourite Mick Makkinen
    Feb 7th 2018, 6:57 PM

Chemical weapon attack against your own customers. Nice job once again Irish Water.

Mute Oiche Fairy
    Favourite Oiche Fairy
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:34 PM

Surprised Navan isn’t on this list – the bleach in the taps here is undrinkable

Mute Sean Barron
    Favourite Sean Barron
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:48 PM

This poison shouldn’t be in our water…FULL STOP!!!!!
    The usual clowns banging on about this is what happens when you don’t pay your water bill.
    Did it not occur that adding the poison is actually costing money!

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Feb 7th 2018, 6:03 PM

@Sean Barron: I quite like that typhoid and cholera are a thing of the past here tbh.

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Feb 7th 2018, 7:29 PM

@Honeybadger197: Last case of typhoid was in 2003. Not due to water quality.

Mute Mairead Hilliard
    Favourite Mairead Hilliard
    Feb 7th 2018, 6:25 PM

Not only are they trying to harm us with added flouride to our drinking water now they are also damaging our health with too much chlorine which makes the kitchen tap water smell like bleach!
    You cannot even make a cup of tea with this disgusting so called drinking water!

Mute Darragh O'Connell
    Favourite Darragh O'Connell
    Feb 7th 2018, 6:29 PM

@Mairead Hilliard: what do you think boiling water does to the low levels of residual chlorine?

Mute michael gallagher
    Favourite michael gallagher
    Feb 7th 2018, 8:16 PM

@Mairead Hilliard: To be fair they have been adding chlorine to the water for a long time. It’s why we don’t get outbreaks of typhoid,cholera etc. anymore. In this instance someone fecked up and added too much. I doubt anyone will be held accountable for it though.

Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay
    Feb 7th 2018, 8:07 PM

And yet fg continue to squander millions of taxpayers money on the scam that is Irish water.
    Even more astonishingly, most of them would likely get re-elected if there was an election tomorrow

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:27 PM

Well now I know why my hands have been smelling of bleach for the last few days!

Mute Rusty Nuts
    Favourite Rusty Nuts
    Feb 7th 2018, 7:33 PM

Fix your leaks or you will be charged, do not waste water or else!!!!
    Leave your taps on and flush out your system because we are a shower of inept gombeens who cannot deliver a service we are highly paid to do.
    Yep, Ireland in a nutshell

Mute kevinhunt101
    Favourite kevinhunt101
    Feb 7th 2018, 5:25 PM

Just drink Fiji, yaaaaaas

Mute wiggy
    Favourite wiggy
    Feb 7th 2018, 8:28 PM

Could it be the farmers pumping there slutty tanks into the rivers , saw one fella doing it last week as I passed through ballyragget in Kilkenny ????

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Feb 7th 2018, 9:25 PM

@wiggy: don’t think there’s much chlorine in shite

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Feb 8th 2018, 2:43 AM

@Jane: Yes, but that does happen, and if the chlorine wasn’t added by mistake, it would have been added to deal with the extra germs dumped in the rivers. At least that’s how I read it. Either that or somebody’s imaginary swimming pools have sprung a leak. We’ll never know.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Feb 8th 2018, 7:05 AM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: probably human error or incompetence Fiona. Although how it went on for as long as it did I can’t understand. I read this morning there’s been a smell of chlorine for 10 days. All treatment plants have high chlorine alarms so how it could go that long is hard to understand.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Feb 7th 2018, 8:10 PM

These clowns at Irish Water spent millions of Taxpayers money on a stupid system the old system I could drink water off the tap now I find I have to filter the water .The person that started this should be in Jail as for FG Leo will probably gain another few points in the polls.

Mute wiggy
    Favourite wiggy
    Feb 7th 2018, 8:30 PM

Slurry tanks

Mute Pseud O'Nym
    Favourite Pseud O'Nym
    Feb 7th 2018, 9:46 PM

@wiggy: I liked slutty tanks more.
    What do farmers put in their slutty tanks BTW? Any farmers want to let us know?

Mute Lukasz Fyda
    Favourite Lukasz Fyda
    Feb 8th 2018, 5:50 PM

No one care about water in water.ie.
    I have leaking around 200 liters per day almost 2 year. I calls to water.ie every week .always the same story- you are o the emergency list.we call you in few days- never nobody call me.I call to them.For what the people have wages.I speaking with menager or supervisor and she prints me call back next day-to-day that was few months ago.I just asking how is the cost filters 200 liters of water.and if for almost 2 years all that water going under my house and garden-how many EUR water.ie wasting.Water is everywhere- THAT COMPANY DON’T CARE ABOUT WATER- beacouse they not pay for that but Government