You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Lynn Boylan Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Lynn Boylan: Jobstown protest was completely blown out of proportion

The Sinn Féin MEP is not happy with how the protest was covered by the media.

LYNN BOYLAN HAS said that the water charges protest that took place in Jobstown earlier this month was ‘blown out of proportion’.

Sinn Féin’s MEP for Dublin said she was unhappy with the way the media had covered the demonstration.

Tánasite Joan Burton was trapped in her car for almost three hours by anti-water charge protesters while attending a graduation ceremony on 15 November. Two people were arrested following the incident and Burton made a statement to the gardaí.

Boylan said that she “didn’t like the way Tallaght was portrayed by the media … I do think that they blew it out of proportion completely”.

The footage that was shown of the protest in Jobstown was shown for days on end, it was debated on radio stations, shown on TV, but yet the first protest where 100,000 people marched in Dublin hardly got a mention on the national airways.

100,000 people on the streets of Dublin: women, children, men and not an incident of trouble and that wasn’t covered.

Boylan accused the media of “seeking out” any incident of trouble at the water charge protests and “blowing it out of all proportion”.

As it happened: Tens of thousands protest against water charges

Two arrested over protest that trapped Joan Burton in her car for hours

Paul Murphy: It would have been peaceful to hold Joan Burton for 12 hours

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 141 comments
141 Comments
    Mute David Garland
    Favourite David Garland
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:44 PM

Over in the Ukraine they were throwing Politicians into skips.. In Greece there was actual riots and Government Buildings were attacked. In France if the Government put one foot wrong there is days of mass riots.. In Ireland we sat back and sat back, for years we let the Government hit us with tax after tax because we were told it was for the good of the Country.. Then we seen this shambles of Irish Water and how it was set up to rip us off and pay back bank debt. The people marched and a Government minister was hit by a water balloon and according to our leader unsavory comments were shouted at Women… Then we have Government TD’s comparing the people who dare to protest to terrorists who cut the heads of innocent people.

Mute Derek Mahon
    Favourite Derek Mahon
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:16 PM

Ukraine is currently a war zone, Greece will probably still be in recession in 30 years time and their situation is way worse than ours and in France, they also have some of the highest disruption rates in the world due to industrial action which harms their economy. Why can’t a peaceful protest with the water charge campaign, actually be that. What is wrong with marching in your thousands on the streets and behaving like the decent Irishmen and women you claim to be. Why do you throw bricks? attack our policemen and women? why do you throw water balloons at 65 year old women and trap them in their cars? If you want credibility then go and f*ckin earn some for god’s sake. Start marching and campaigning peacefully and ditch the thugs and cowards who want to have a bit of craic and behave like thugs. Real change comes from peaceful protest, what the water charge campaign has done in the past few weeks has tarnished our people’s reputation.

Mute Original Cynic
    Favourite Original Cynic
    Nov 26th 2014, 6:03 PM

On two marches of 100,000+ people the most “sinister” thing I saw was three Mrs. Browne copycats. Sense of perspective from some people needed here!!

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Nov 26th 2014, 6:21 PM

A person saying that a nationally organised protest movement which has had next to no “flashpoints” or violent elements, lacks credibility to me says that you’re trying to discredit the point being made as a whole.

Sorry but I don’t buy the notion that a few examples of (deplorable) behaviour undermines the message being delivered loudly and clearly.

Mute Derek Mahon
    Favourite Derek Mahon
    Nov 26th 2014, 6:22 PM

That’s what the real water charges campaign is about, peaceful demonstration by the masses, not a few cowards running around hounding down GMC Sierra workers and Gardai or chasing our politicians down the street and hurling abuse and objects at them. The real leaders of the water charges campaign need to stand up and condemn this thuggery which we saw in jobstown and other places. Ditch the clowns like paul murphy and ruth coppinger who justify some of this rotten behaviour and call on others to chase our ministers whilst they stand back and laugh to themselves. Stick to the mass peaceful demonstration, and change will happen, but continue this descent into thuggery and the Anti water charges campaign will flow down the drain. Literally.

Mute Original Cynic
    Favourite Original Cynic
    Nov 26th 2014, 6:34 PM

The acknowledgement that “a few cowards” were involved, then followed by the inflammatory exaggeration of a “descent into thuggery” – perspective!!

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Nov 26th 2014, 6:45 PM

Cynic, you beat me to it.

The actions of a few don’t negate the actions and concerns of the majority.

I’d note that Murphy did condemn the violent element, although I would say that his definition of acceptable and mine diverge somewhere around ring fencing a politician.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Nov 26th 2014, 6:57 PM

I’d have to disagree with you. I dont think there’s any leaders in the water campaign, it’s a grass roots movement, I’ve been on three marchs and stood outside a topaz and I don’t consider myself a member of any group, I’m an individual who is fed up with the rubbish that the government trots out. I don’t take direction from anyone and find that a lot of people feel the same.

Mute Hugh Cavanagh
    Favourite Hugh Cavanagh
    Nov 26th 2014, 7:01 PM

Sean
    The Gardai were spat at and kicked while equipment was stolen from them while they were protecting the Minister who was falsely imprisoned for over two hours and a cheeky young whelp of an MEP says that such behaviour was acceptable.
    Is this what we have to accept from Sinn Fein as a moral and legal norm as they get giddy with opinion polls.
    Over the past few weeks we have seen behaviour from their ilk that match the lowest and most degenerate and unspeakable crimes while they abuse their victims.
    Young people who find the bravery and courage to speak out against their child abuse were taunted and described as liars before the Shinners ran up the white flag.
    Demonstrations against water charges in Coolock and Santry where Sinn Fein walked hand in hand with Dissident Republicans make it self evident that they pose a massive risk to our liberty and personal safety in this country and Lynn Boylan suggest we are exaggerating!

Mute 3monkey
    Favourite 3monkey
    Nov 26th 2014, 7:20 PM

Very well said !

Mute Original Cynic
    Favourite Original Cynic
    Nov 26th 2014, 7:36 PM

“Risk to our liberty” – perspective!!!!

Mute 3monkey
    Favourite 3monkey
    Nov 26th 2014, 7:43 PM

My comment was @ Cupid Stunt

Mute PSOB
    Favourite PSOB
    Nov 26th 2014, 10:06 PM

The time is ripe for revolution.

Mute Paul Circle
    Favourite Paul Circle
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:33 PM

@Derek Mahoney ….. sanctimonious pr**k.

Mute Paul Circle
    Favourite Paul Circle
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:38 PM

@ Derek Mahoney….. you’re starting to sound like a real pain Derek. Would you like the protesters to wear visible id and bow their heads or maybe sign in at a Garda station before joining a protest. Are you one of Endas trolls perhaps ????

Mute Derek Mahon
    Favourite Derek Mahon
    Nov 27th 2014, 12:11 AM

And you sound like a shinnerbot paul, see how this works? I never said they need to wear id, or bow their heads or any of the rest of that sh*te you just spewed. I want protestors who call themselves peaceful to behave just that. Throwing bricks, spitting, trapping people, throwing water balloons, and chasing people, is not and never will be classed as ‘peaceful’. It’s ‘mahon’ by the way.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Nov 27th 2014, 3:53 AM

The only “massive risk to our liberty and personal safety” at the moment is the #Goverment, #Finegael #irishwaster

Mute Larry Mackey
    Favourite Larry Mackey
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:19 PM

100% true
    National media is a joke…. Puppets on a string
    Only report on what they are told to report on
    Roll on 10th Dec
    People power!!!

Mute George Orwell
    Favourite George Orwell
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:21 PM

Name me one media outlet which isn’t a joke? It’s like they are all in competition together to see who can spread the most disinformation and propaganda.

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:22 PM

Genuine question what way should it of being reported.

A-person was trapped in a car
    B-a brick was thrown

??

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:24 PM

The thrown brick was not part of the protest. It was just some lout.

You’ve just proven the point.

Mute Patrick Reynolds
    Favourite Patrick Reynolds
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:26 PM

And the person trapped in the car…..I think it’s you that has just proven the point!

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:27 PM

So that person just cam over to the protest and threw a brick?

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:29 PM

Ronan id quit while you still have a bit of dignity….you have just confirmed Boylan’s point

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:31 PM

Really, you mean I should ignore the facts and pretend everything was all good on the day.

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:32 PM

Now you’ve got it ronan.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:33 PM

Ronan, it was widely reported the next day that the scrote who threw the brick did so because his mate had just been arrested on a warrant, nothing to do with the protest.

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:34 PM

AFAIK, the brick was thrown later that day, after the protest had ended…

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:35 PM

What you are doing is taking into account the only facts that were presented by the media….its exactly the way the media wanted you to perceive the protest

Mute Coddler O Toole
    Favourite Coddler O Toole
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:37 PM

Sittin at a protest behind Joan’s bumper- Wait a minute, where’s me jumper?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8GinTeLFq4&feature=youtu.be

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:38 PM

Shut up you fool .

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:40 PM

The thing ive noticed about defiance or protest of any unjust regime or establishment in Ireland or generally throughout history is that the downtrodden the uneducated as their called by these regimes have to behave in a moral standard that far exceeds the standard of the so called civilised classes that are persecuting them obviously the villification of the downtrodden by establishment regime media means that ordinary folk have to act whiter than white to try and defeat the shite that is making their lives unbearable. So the conclusion is the so called pillars of society can act anyway they like whilst the dregs which is the majority of the populus have to maintain self control at all times even in the face of adversity. So who is the good and who is the bad ? Im down for the underdog because the underdog is the 99% happier 99% happier society world planet the lot..ponder on

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211

@larry. It wasn’t the national media’s reporting I judged that carry on that went on in jobstown, it was actual footage from the people themselves. you see, they were so caught up in their “protest” that they didn’t even stop to think that perhaps others would not see their actions in such a soft light. BTW, The day is gone larry when we only have RTE to depend on for our news. For me wathching those people act that way was a culture shock!

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:52 PM

@ ‘paddy’. Trying to get banned again under your latest fake name kenneth?

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:55 PM

I can smell the panic off you from here paddy….can i tell you a secret…you and your likes are a shinners wet dream…its thanks to people like you the shinners are riding high in the polls while your fascist govt of muppets drop like a lead balloon…good on ya keep it up!!!

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:56 PM

Why can’t we click on your twitter page Paddy? Brand new is it???

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:57 PM

Ah. A new richard rogers account??

Mute Real Democrat
    Favourite Real Democrat
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:18 PM

Right Lynn this is just another typical & a continuation of SF’s attempt to stifle & intimidate the media. This campaign started with Adam’s “joke” about the independent editor at the lavish bash in New York. Rte etc etc have all been targeted since, the way it is if you don’t see things SF’s way your a targeted. ( just watch the SF’s red thumb brigade’s response to this) The hypocrisy of this is that SF where in favour of water charges first & then once again they jumped on the populist bandwagon! While you Lynn were encouraging women to get involved in a protest at Tallaght Garda station about Garda “brutality” you & your party just used this as a smokescreen to deflect against the child abuse & rape allegations. What about our children’s safety Lynn ? Can you organise a protest on same ?

Mute stephen devaney
    Favourite stephen devaney
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:32 PM

Truth hurts Larry

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:32 PM

Paddy AKA Kenneth – How are you , you handsome FG Troll you ????

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Nov 27th 2014, 4:00 AM

If the Gov end the ‘Irishwwater then in return I volunteer in return to be trapped in a luxury car with all my tech gadgets surrounded by gardai for protection and have a brick thrown at me

Nov 26th 2014, 3:31 PM

Was there going to be any other outcome when RTE is the governments mouthpiece?

Mute paddy mulligan
    Favourite paddy mulligan

are the media supposed to support criminals?

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Nov 26th 2014, 6:23 PM

Support criminals no, downplay protesters and focus only on the criminals… Also no.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Nov 27th 2014, 4:36 AM

paddy mulligan Twitter Account suspended .. ic says the blind man .. .

Well they should be democratic and give support all criminals as they do already for #Irishwater #finegael

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin

She’s completely correct of course, and it pales in comparison to the economic and financial violence meted out by the government on communities like jobstown, not to mention the threats and blackmail.

But don’t take Lynns word for it, check out David Norris in the Seanad yesterday bringing some much needed perspective (from 40 mins)

http://oireachtas.heanet.ie/Seanad/Seanad_20141125-16.30.wmv

Mute paddy mulligan
    Favourite paddy mulligan
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:54 PM

nah they are just thugs and undesirables like all shiner types

Mute PSOB
    Favourite PSOB
    Nov 26th 2014, 8:35 PM

@Paddy Sinn Féin has no history of thuggery.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Nov 27th 2014, 4:13 AM

paddy mulligan Twitter Account suspended .. ic says the blind man ..

Mute why?
    Favourite why?
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:50 PM

the media reporting and exaggerating these protests, or “dissident riots” as they’re now known in some circles, don’t have to look too far to see what real anger and rioting looks like.
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/belgium/11214473/Belgium-protesters-clash-with-police-after-austerity-march.html

Yet still they don’t…..are we too nice in this country? Too mannerly? Too soft? We’ve taken more shite than the Belgians, yet we’ve only a water balloon to show for our efforts.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:13 PM

Well Why, if you are happy to rub shoulders with dissident republican gunmen at these protests, and think for one minute that they are worried about Your water costs, best of luck with that.

Mute Gerard McCarthy
    Favourite Gerard McCarthy
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:45 PM

What a statement do u work for rte ?

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:55 PM

The problem is our protesters want to be allowed riot like the Belgians and the French and the Germans but if our police throw one halfwit one the ground the big bold protesters cry and moan like life girls.

Mute Bob Moore
    Favourite Bob Moore
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:23 PM

One water balloon and one brick does not make a riot. The Independents coverage of it was an absolute farce.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South

hahaha get used to it

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh

She is so right, they made it sound like the storming of the Bastille with Joan as Marie Antoinette

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:30 PM

“Let them drink Evian!”

Mute Patrick Reynolds

Marie Antoinette was not in the Bastille when it was stormed

The French have Joan of Arc, Ireland has Joan of Nokia !

Mute paddy mulligan
    Favourite paddy mulligan
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:48 PM

shiners are just upset that their thuggish nature was clear for us all to see, complete idiots the lot of them

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:34 PM

Paddy / Kenneth – your spelling is gone to hell altogether my lovely – Have you not got Tippex in FG yet ????

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:18 PM

She’s not wrong. But then the establishment is running scared and sf are giving them plenty of ammunition.

Mute Fluich It
    Favourite Fluich It

SF representative says ‘blown out of all proportion’…they would know they are the experts at blowing things up, literally and figuratively and out of proportion or not.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South

Fluch…man you are so behind the times…gilmore used to use the same auld shite rhetoric and look where he is now…weather you like it or not the shinners are here to stay…all sorts of shite has been thrown at gerry in the last couple of months but the partys popularity has risen…compare that with the idiots that use the same alud tired rhetoric as you…move on you dinosaur

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth

A bit like Enda. When in trouble repeat 2things.
    1. FF got us here.
    2. When you see the bad man in the beard shout I.R.A. over and over again

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:58 PM

spot on the truth…while all the while sinn fein are growing stronger and stronger….i thought the council and euro elections would ring alarm bells but it didnt

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:02 PM

Given that she is Sinn Fein I guess she would obviously play down violence. Only to be expected.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:11 PM

bit behind the times paul…are you related to eamon gilmore by any chance?

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:14 PM

Given Sinn Feins muted response to child abuse recently, I would say that my statement is very much of our times.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:27 PM

you completely evaded my question…your definitely a gilmore….which one happy or dopey?

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:28 PM

Wheres Endas response to the Tuam mother and baby home? Wheres Endas renumeration for the symphisiotomy survivors? . Id swear ff advisors are advising Enda. Its one omni shambles after another. Face it paul. This government is finished. Its dying and Enda is doomed to failure

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:29 PM

I don’t suffer fools Sean South. Come back with an intelligent question. Or is that asking too much?

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch

Paul Carey – Shouldn’t we be referring to your Governments & The Churches muted response for 75 years of Child Rape and Molestation firstly ???

They say people in glasshouses ……. Etc !!!!!!

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:35 PM

I wasn’t aware that the government are hiding child abusers, unlike Sinn Fein/ IRA.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:50 PM

Paul you have proved my point in spades….the problem is deflection is not working anymore…the people want answers not mudslinging…they are sick and tired of it…your thoughts on the shinners are music to their ears…sling mud but nothing else…pathetic really

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:55 PM

I wasn’t aware you made a point Sean south. But I agree with you on deflection. So going back to the original post why is Boylan trying to deflect from the violence witness in Jobstown?

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:07 PM

yep definately eamo’s child…..i was hoping you were happy but now im sure your dopey…ah well!…bury your head in the sand all you like…look where it got gilmore

Mute Fluich It
    Favourite Fluich It
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:10 PM

Seamus… Did you ever think that maybe it’s not that we are behind the times but that you are too quick to forgive? Btw play the ball not the man.

Mute Fluich It
    Favourite Fluich It
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:10 PM

*sean

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:12 PM

Since you had to resort to some childish name calling I will take it that you lost the argument.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:17 PM

Is there a winner and loser here paul…next you will be counting the green and red thumbs!!! and you call me childish hahahahaha!!!

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:20 PM

I was stating a fact. Name calling is the last resort of the inarticulate.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:23 PM

Fluich apologies if I was personal but Im sick and tired of mudslinging…if the parties opposed to sinn fein put there energies into proper debate…you say play the man and not the ball and I agree…weather you or I like it or not sinn fein are now part of the political landscape…

Mute Fluich It
    Favourite Fluich It
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:23 PM

Sean South…ah why bother

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Nov 26th 2014, 6:36 PM

Sean south,

You mentioned old rhetoric a few times.

Do you believe that everything and everyone in sinn fein are above board and that their history (which to my mind is still patchy in places) is fully accounted for?

I’m not really trying to point out anything other than it seems many people still have big question marks over sinn fein.

If you don’t then that’s fine. But I’d hope that that means you can explain all of the previously unexplained things (with information that’s more persuasive than what we’ve seen so far).

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Nov 26th 2014, 10:26 PM

Speaking of not playing the man (or woman) but focusing on the ball instead..

Do you not agree? Massive protests country wide and yet THIS is what they focus on?
    It does have an air of “this is how we would like to portray the protests”. Let’s not forget that there has been inappropriate behaviour from some gardaí which has not come under the same level of scrutiny outside of social media – where all the videos are.
    This is not new – there has been massively inappropriate behaviour by the gardaí at peaceful protests in the past (Shell to Sea and that video, the May Day protest which made “Supercop” famous etc).

One water balloon and one brick. A woman in her car for a couple of hours. The last water protesters (as in the last time water charges were defeated) kept workers trapped for 9 hours during a protest.

It’s a good thing they don’t live on the continent, take a gander at their protests.. France, Germany, Spain, Greece.. Now those are full scale riots.
    I’d say Joan would be more than “frightened” is she was in the middle of one of them..

It’s the very definition of a spotlight fallacy.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Nov 27th 2014, 1:06 AM

I suppose, relative to the methods employed by some SF members during their 30 years of protest up north, that she has a valid point.
    I mean, there’s violence… And then there is SF violence.

Mute Negativebird
    Favourite Negativebird

Very true.The media has shown us over the last few months how biased they are.Time for change in ireland,get rid of the corrupt TDs in the next election.I feel that the 10th of December will be a massive peaceful protest that I will be apart of.

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:09 PM

I’d compare Joans experience to Ghandi or Mandela imprisonment. I mean the poor woman was wasting away having been kept locked away for so long. I’m supprised she doesn’t have a book hitting the shelves in time for Christmas detailing her terrible experiences.I assume she will be asked to address the UN and be awarded next years Nobel Peace Prize. RTE should still be running this story every night. It should replace The Angelus at six o clock every evening. School children for generations to come should be tought about this brave brave woman.Coins should be minted and notes printed bearing her likeness.This tragic night should never be forgotten and should echo through the annals of Irish history.

The night Joan Burton could not drive her car out of a meeting and was forced to play Angry Birds and make phone calls for two whole hours.

I gotta stop now. I’m tearing up here.

Mute Negativebird
    Favourite Negativebird
    Nov 26th 2014, 7:28 PM

This has to be the best comment of this week so far.Hats off to you! Hahaha fair play fair play.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:24 PM

The media – principally controlled by The Indo Group and its Owners , now control so many Radio Stations too , it has become a joke .

Ironically though , Lynn’s Party climbs even higher in the Polls , each time it starts one its “Let’s put SF away” Campaigns !

The plain people of Ireland have at last awakened and are no longer to be bought through lies and propaganda .

Roll on The 1 0 th D E C E M B E R – The Day of The Gathering & Reawakening of The Citizens of Ireland !

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:36 PM

We should all stop paying our TV licence next.. We are only keeping cronies in over paid jobs….. People power can do this… ..The likes of Dobbo..etc..

Mute Seosamh B
    Favourite Seosamh B

Is she not a bit late coming out with these remarks?? Nearly two weeks since the incident occurred…

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:25 PM

Maybe SF are trying to divert from what allegedly happened in Limerick this week!

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns

Not really – It has taken that long for the Establishment media to run out of lies and phoney hysteria.

Mute Bob Moore
    Favourite Bob Moore

Why what happened in Limerick?

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth

Ah finally Ronan. After being told over and over again…the reason you had to be told over and again was the fact you hat the shinners. .good boy

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Nov 26th 2014, 7:25 PM

Ronan what did happen in limerick. Are you referring to Kenny getting heckled. I would thought that parasite would be used to it at this stage.

Mute Siobhan Meade
    Favourite Siobhan Meade
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:40 PM

Since this story is about media and protests maybe someone can enlighten me the media reports said enda Kenny left the hotel in limerick by the back door which implies to me he left by the back and was gone now enda Kenny said in the dail this morning that he himself heard and saw I repeat heard the nasty vile comments to the women as they left the meeting now this implies he had to come out by the protestors to hear these so who was lying the media or enda i am curious as to which is the case and i am not supporter of any party just curious as i heard reports the other day saying he came out the back and heard him saying he heard the comments himself this morning

Mute Ailís McKernan
    Favourite Ailís McKernan
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:42 PM

You’re dead right, good observation!

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth

I hear joan burton lost an arm in the crisis

Mute Dominic Southwell
    Favourite Dominic Southwell
    Nov 27th 2014, 3:35 AM

I heard it was a leg.

We’ll just have to wait to see what Kenny decides she lost.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey

SF blaming the media again.

Mute Joey Hackman
    Favourite Joey Hackman

From a distance of more than 200Km what I read didn’t change my mind on what I think of the decent people of Tallaght. What I read accurately reflected on what I think of Paul Murphy and his merry men

Mute paddy mulligan
    Favourite paddy mulligan
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:49 PM

middle ireland just labels them all as skum

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:35 PM

Paddy / Kenneth – a spelling error yet again Sonny Boy ???

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:43 PM

Does Joan still talk about this episode ? Has she got counselling for her trauma? These are the questions that she would like answered .

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211

Did you. with a name like that.

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:51 PM

Missyb211

Yes,I’ve had counselling in my life …Are you happy now?

Mute Adam Hurley
    Favourite Adam Hurley

Is the Journal paid to be SFs press office? 3 articles giving SF side of the story in 4 hours even when they’ve happened ages ago. Strange.

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211

I like to think that the journal love the madness the ensues once you antagonise a sf supporter! It’s akin to throwing a sausage to a pack of hungry dogs! WAIT…

Mute paddy mulligan
    Favourite paddy mulligan
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:57 PM

they must be worried about being shot after kim jun jorry recent disgusting remarks

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:58 PM

I really cannot wait to hear from you Adam after the next election. ..

Mute Odran Ó Corcráin
    Favourite Odran Ó Corcráin
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:01 PM

So SF should not be allowed give their side like the protestors in Jobstown and Tallaght? Its called impartiality, something that is sadly lacking in the Irish media.

Besides that, it is a bit rich coming from you Adam, a diehard Labour supporter, a lot of the news on thejournal.ie on Labour look like their own press releases.

Mute Ho Lee Fuk
    Favourite Ho Lee Fuk
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:04 PM

Mr.Hurley

On Hugh’s article earlier on today about some losers and an old man protesting ,not once did you complain about this !

If you give it then take it !

Mute pg
    Favourite pg

Cops would have shot ya in the states …can’t imagine joe Biden being trapped for hours !

Mute paddy mulligan
    Favourite paddy mulligan
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:53 PM

would anyone complain if they were shot? i seriously doubt it

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Nov 26th 2014, 6:39 PM

Yeah and what?

Different country, different access to weapons, different political situation.

It’s not a true comparison.

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:35 PM

If this happened in America ,it would have happened in America. Just saying..

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:53 PM

Another sf handbrake turn. Must be annoying them that they missed a trick with the water protests before realising there was populist potential/ vote harnessing to be had here.
    I’ll be marching on the 10th but hope that sf don’t try to anoint themselves as leaders here.

Mute gerrymiah
    Favourite gerrymiah
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:42 PM

If you put yourself out there no matter what guise you are not going to please all the people all the time. You leave yourself open to public abuse sometimes this abuse over spills and can be very nasty. You only need look at history and you see what happened to John Lennon, John F Kennedy, Mrs Gandhi, Abe Lincoln any many many more. Politics is a very dangerous game and the media have a duty not to inflame public anger. The only option open to us when we are dealing with politicians is to protest and you can see what is happening at the moment they just give us the two fingers. That gets people’s anger up and the result is what happened in Jobstown. Maybe the solution is that we should have elections every three years instead of five because this present lot are adamant that the will stay in power for the five years instead of knowing the mood that’s out there at the moment and go to the country.

Mute paddy mulligan
    Favourite paddy mulligan

these thugs held a woman hostage, SF have form, i suppose they think joan took herself hostage. SF are an utter disgrace

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:13 PM

hahaha good man paddy mulligan

Mute Ho Lee Fuk
    Favourite Ho Lee Fuk
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:01 PM

Mr.Mulligan

Can you please enlighten us all and tell us ‘ what was the ransom that these “thugs” were asking or looking for?’

As your surname is Mulligan ,I will be happy to give you two goes !

Mute Cowboy Ted
    Favourite Cowboy Ted

Lynn,
    Of course we agree with you and totally forgot about the rapists you’re organisation let rape young girls…

The vilification of any woman that has raised the complaint, were they all look for it Mary-Lou?

Your leader allowing a pedophile to run loose after rapping his niece for 6 years

The allegations from two sources that he ordered the murder of an innocent mother ?

The accepting of substantial funding from corrupt business men and organisations in the US, don’t worry you will get them back.

Links to Diesel Laundering… Links to Money Laundering…

The list goes on more… The level corruption SF are involved in would turn Charles Haughey into a saint….

Mute angela harmon
    Favourite angela harmon
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:08 PM

Did anyone see the Facebook article on the irish exemption to domestic water charges in eu rules ? Is this true ??

Mute inproperganda
    Favourite inproperganda
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:14 PM

yes indeed it is, so ‘Irish water’ are and illegal company and also makes Kenny and his cohorts criminals

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:17 PM

And the IRA never murdered anybody – thousands just died from lead and shrapnel poisoning, a naturally occurring phenomenon just like thunder and lightening. It was the media, with the collusion of the British government, that blamed death by natural causes on the IRA, a pacifist organisation dedicated to the promotion of peace and goodwill among mankind in general.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Nov 27th 2014, 4:33 AM

Get off ur FG cross and what is any of what you said got to do with Water Protests. and of course they are the only crowd who murdered. Peace process is here, the past is the past. rightly or wrongly that’s the only way forward

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:37 PM

Allow me some creative licence, Patrick!

Mute Patrick Reynolds
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:10 PM

Stephen, that’s the problem; there is too much creativity with the facts on these comment pages

Mute Drew
    Favourite Drew
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:45 PM

Was she even there??? As far as any article I’ve read it was Paul Murphy leading a bunch of let’s call them ‘protestors’ for the sake of impartially.

If she had first hand experience of what happened and is claiming media reports contractidcted that I’d least consider her statements as having some credibility.

What are you claiming lady, you saw it all from Brussels? Theres a women in Alaska that can see Russia from her house we should introduce you to. You’re both on par with each other.

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:12 PM

Ok Lynn answer this one SF have claimed 700,000 pounds for a research unit in Belfast run by the 2 SF financial controllers and they could not provide and answer to what they have researched can you?

Mute Tom O' Dwyer
    Favourite Tom O' Dwyer

@the journal listen I’m getting a bit sick of this everyday for the past few weeks you guys have at least 2 maybe 3 articles per day about sf. As a direct result of this obvious bias on your part the productivity of several jobs has slipped because their supporters are forced to cone and defend the party. Oh and accuse anyone who disagrees with them of being a fg troll.
    And here you are again the journal 11 days after the incident in jobstown you are still carrying on with your anti sf bias and forcing them to condemn you yet again.
    OH WAIT!! This time it’s a sf member that’s rehashing what happened 11 days ago, so this is ok with sf!! PHEW the journal that was a close one!!!

Mute inproperganda
    Favourite inproperganda
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:08 PM

bedwetters and government lackies throwing their toys out of the pram over a little protest

Mute codered
    Favourite codered
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:06 PM

Jobstown was ridiculous.

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:52 PM

A boycott of rte licence would be a start

Mute Siobhan Meade
    Favourite Siobhan Meade
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:53 PM

Drew maybe you can answer my query above media reports seem to be at odds with what taoiseach said this morning

Mute seamusoconghaile
    Favourite seamusoconghaile
    Nov 27th 2014, 12:57 AM

James Connolly

An Open Letter to Dublin Castle

13 August 1898

Capitalism, or in other words the private ownership by a small minority (your class, my lords) of the land and all other things necessary to the life of the community, is the curse, the terrible sore. The great table of nature is abundantly spread, overflowing with luxuries as well as necessaries of life. Your class are in possession; the other class, now commonly called the proletariat, possess nothing but their own ability to labour, their lifelong occupation is the work of producing. They produce all that exists. Your class then, as the law says, “fraudulently appropriates to your own use” almost all they have produced. You get all the luxuries and the best of necessaries, their share is the refuse; that is, the plainest and coarsest of everything and often not enough of these. Things, my lords, at which, if placed before you, your aristocratic noses would turn up in a manner more eloquent than words. They have never respite or ease from the work of producing and distributing. Your only occupation is gambling with each other on the different stock exchanges to see which of you shall become possessed of a greater share of the results of the workers’ toil. This is capitalism. This is what you so highly extol as the competitive system of modern society. It is truly a competitive system, but working in different directions according as the individual belongs to the possessing or unpossessing class.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Nov 26th 2014, 10:48 PM

Helped along by her shinner friends