You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Finance and Public Expenditure Minister Paschal Donohoe Leah Farrell

Don't worry, Paschal has found the money to refund your water charges

Paschal Donohoe has identified an under-spend across all departments of €300 million.

FINANCE AND PUBLIC Expenditure Minister Paschal Donohoe says he has identified a under-spend of €300 million, which ensures there is enough money to refund all water charges.

Over the weekend, Taoiseach Leo Varadkar said the government would begin refunding water charges by the autumn, with the majority to be repaid by the end of the year.

Since then there have been a lot of questions about where the money is coming from, with a number of ministers giving conflicting answers.

It’s estimated it will cost some €170 million to refund water charges to everyone who paid.

Today, Taoiseach Leo Varadkar said water charges refunds will not be paid by a “whip around” of government departments.

This comes after Transport Minister Shane Ross said yesterday that every department will pay their fair share if they have to, sparking fear that some departmental budgets would be cut.

“We won’t be asking departments to make savings. That’s not the case at all,” said Varadkar.

Speaking to the media ahead of his speech at the MacGill Summer School in Glenties, Donegal, Donohoe said all of the plans committed to in Budget 2017 for this year in terms of public services are going to happen.

Under-spend of €300 million

The minister said that, by the end of June, he had identified a under-spend across all government departments put together of approximately €300 million.

“As is the case in any year, potential develops for under-spends against plans that ministerial colleagues were able to deliver within their own departments and this is the case for this year as it has been the case in other years.

“My objective in the second half of the year would be to use those under-spends, to use any gains that we may have in revenue later on in the year to deliver what the Taoiseach outlined over the weekend, which is to make sure that all who have paid their bills received a full refund,” said Donohoe.

However, he pointed out that under-spend figure will change as we move through the year, but the fact that he has already identified an under-spend of €300 million out of approximately €27 billion – €28 billion worth of expenditure “gives me confidence to say that we can maintain the commitments that we have to citizens that came out of Budget 2017 and meet the new commitment that we have in relation to delivering a refund”.

“The refund is different to other pressures that are on me in that it’s a one-off payment and while many of the other things that I have to manage end up being recurring, in other words, if I do them in 2017 people expect them to continue into 2018, 2019 and 2020. That’s not the case with this,” concluded the minister.

Christina Finn reporting from the MacGill Summer School, Glenties, Donegal.

‘It’s time for her to go’: TDs call for Commissioner to step down over Templemore scandal>

Here are the questions on water charges you want answered>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

71 Comments
    Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:21 PM

How convenient, I wonder how much more money is undiscovered in government coffers !

Mute Paul Tao
    Favourite Paul Tao
    Jul 18th 2017, 10:54 PM

@Catherine Mc: It’s not undiscovered money – it’s voted expenditure that has gone unspent (e.g. dole money for people who now have jobs).
    There’s no conspiracy to hide money from you – the country is in debt of over €200,000,000,000.

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Jul 18th 2017, 11:13 PM

@Paul Tao: You mean like this Paul , Leo Varadkar confirms that funds are being taken out of mental health …
    https://www.joe.ie/…/leo-varadkar-confirms-that-funds-are-being-taken-out-of-mental…

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Jul 18th 2017, 11:49 PM

@Paul Tao:
    If you say so

Mute Paul Tao
    Favourite Paul Tao
    Jul 19th 2017, 10:05 AM

@Honeybee: That link (to Joe.ie !) isn’t working..

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:29 PM

It would be most interesting to find out which sections of society suffered on the back of this ‘underspend’ of allocated funds.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:57 AM

@The Risen: i’ll donate my refund to FG, cheers LOL

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:24 PM

What sort of management of our fiances are they at if that sort of money is just casually hanging about.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:46 PM

@mickmc: Trust me, compared to the money fine gaels kinda people are laughing all the way to the bank to these last 6 years, the refund is chicken feed.

Mute jon-boy55
    Favourite jon-boy55
    Jul 18th 2017, 9:57 PM

@mickmc: dont make the mistake of thinking that the government manage OUR finances. They manage THEIR finances, always have and always will

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 18th 2017, 10:27 PM

@mickmc: There’s never any shortage of money when they need it. Unless it’s for public services, or pay rises for ordinary workers.

Mute Paul Tao
    Favourite Paul Tao
    Jul 18th 2017, 10:57 PM

@Dave Doyle: Or in this case – to return to taxpayers… ?

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:58 AM

@The Risen: like always it best to just laugh at you shinners. isolated, alone and irrelevant, will that ever change?

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:43 PM

Oh wow. What a surprise. Who woulda thunk that the main abject defeat for the government would be spun as a senior government minister bringing home the bacon for the unwashed masses.

Do one Paschal. The water warriors and meter fairies are the reason everyones being refunded. Not the latest spin drom your ‘special advisors’

Mute Hurt Stoogie
    Favourite Hurt Stoogie
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:51 PM

@The Risen: ‘water warriors’ – so you’re admitting violence and a fear factor was used to bully and scare. Good shinnerbot

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 18th 2017, 9:08 PM

@Hurt Stoogie: I totally admit that a fear factor played a huge part in the water charges debacle, and refer you to day one when ‘big phil’ hogan threatened to turn old age pensioners water supply down to a trickle to further prove your point.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:59 AM

@The Risen: its best to just laugh at you shinner idiots, is it any wonder you and your ilk have never achieved anything PMSL

Mute Ich bin brendan
    Favourite Ich bin brendan
    Jul 19th 2017, 1:11 AM

@james connolly: James.. do you follow the risen home as well. Your points from his alternative view are pathetic

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jul 18th 2017, 9:02 PM

Jez they are great at finding money that will buy a vote.

Mute roscommonman
    Favourite roscommonman
    Jul 18th 2017, 9:00 PM

We give €650 million a year Govt “aid” to Africa, now that is money that’s really gone down the drain.

Mute Robin Basstard
    Favourite Robin Basstard
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:27 PM

Must have got a few bob off uncle Denis.

Jul 18th 2017, 8:58 PM

€300 million I guess the disadvantage are going to have even less funding….

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:33 PM

Them Diageo shares may must have netted a nice bit of profit

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica

Great, I can put it towards my TV License.

Mute Daryl Walsh
    Favourite Daryl Walsh
    Jul 18th 2017, 9:45 PM

Or in other words, there’s plenty of money in this Country but just not for the little people.

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:23 PM

Leo’s cut back on his stripped socks. Or the mentioning of early election stirs shyte.

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin

How many votes ?

Mute Joe Smith
    Favourite Joe Smith
    Jul 18th 2017, 10:08 PM

What a joke. Here they are telling us all that those who paid will get their money back, and how creative they are in finding the money that Irish Water robbed in the first place, while at the same time, telling anyone that’s selling a house that they need to cough up the monies owed on water charges before they can sell it on, like they told a freind of mine few days back. Irish Water are taking in the water charges money and the Irish Government are paying it back from monies we paid in taxes. Are Irish Water going to pay the government back? The extra admin fees from this farce should also be covered by IW.

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Jul 18th 2017, 9:00 PM

Easy know where it is gonna come from, they have decided not to scrap the USC!

Mute Vincent Sharpe
    Favourite Vincent Sharpe
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:47 PM

Does Paschal sell used cars.

Mute Gerard McConnell
    Favourite Gerard McConnell
    Jul 18th 2017, 9:34 PM

Dob won’t be happy at that, surplus cash in the government coffers and he’s not getting a contract to get his hands on it. What’s the world coming to!

Mute Anastasia
    Favourite Anastasia
    Jul 18th 2017, 9:03 PM

Where did they find the money

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:17 PM

Good man Pascal.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:44 PM

@doorhandler: I think you mean, fair play water warriors.

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:57 PM

@The Risen: Ah do you remember you were saying FF would not back up the promise to end water charges. That’s what happens when you involve yourself in politics. Not what SF done. Take hundred of thousands of tax payers money and run as far away as possible from making decisions.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 18th 2017, 9:17 PM

Water charges are still a thing cupcake x

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    Jul 18th 2017, 9:45 PM

@The Risen: Are they really ??? I haven’t had one since FF put an end to them. Also I’m getting money back. Time for that apology you owe everyone now apple pie x

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 18th 2017, 9:51 PM

@doorhandler: No problem. Soon as you point to where your beloved FF kept their election pledge to abolish Irish Water and end water charges.

Whenever you’re ready….

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    Jul 18th 2017, 9:59 PM

@The Risen: The aul shinners deflection trick. I love it. Your the biggest spoofer on here and you have been caught out again. Maybe another name change on the way……

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 18th 2017, 10:06 PM

@doorhandler:

First of all, it’s ‘you’re’

Second of all…..

http://www.fiannafail.ie/download/An-Ireland-for-all-Fianna-FaCC81il-Manifesto.pdf

Page 9

“We will:
    • abolish Irish water and water charges”

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    Jul 18th 2017, 10:21 PM

@The Risen: Ah do you still think FF won the election. That’s cute. Let me explain. They came second. So they can not implement all their policies. Maybe after the next election if they have a majority they will be able to achieve more. However they have ended water charges using the Influence they have in the Dail. No opposition party have influenced a government as much as M.M. Now poor SF under G.A. won’t go into Westminster won’t go into Stormont and won’t go into government in the Republic. But will take every penny of tax payers money going. What a lovely bunch. Or should I say a stain on this nation.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 18th 2017, 10:30 PM

@doorhandler: May not have won, neither did FG. But both are in coalition together.

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    Jul 18th 2017, 10:35 PM

@Dave Doyle: Ehhh no. FF are the main opposition party. But I have a feeling you don’t understand how this Dail is working.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 18th 2017, 10:51 PM

“Ehhh no. FF are the main opposition party”

LOLOLOLOL!

Doorhandler thinks they’re a FF TD taking to an OAP they’re shaking hands with outside a funeral!!

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 19th 2017, 1:01 AM

@The Risen: SF/IRA fully support water charges in the that cess pit to the north but not in our great republic. how very partitionist of the Shinners LOL

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Jul 18th 2017, 10:05 PM

Who pocket did he pick this time ? Hope it’s out of Big Phil Hogan’s pension

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jul 18th 2017, 11:12 PM

Is that why they want to rise the TV License and the electric bill by 40% in order to pay for it?

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Jul 18th 2017, 11:17 PM

@Alois Irlmaier: Have you a link for the electricity? And the licence fee isn’t going up by that percentage. Pity it’s not down!

Mute Terry O'Callaghan
    Favourite Terry O'Callaghan
    Jul 18th 2017, 9:32 PM

Amazing.. they always find some when needed

Mute Sean Callan
    Favourite Sean Callan
    Jul 18th 2017, 9:51 PM

@ Mary Murphy,,, Must ask the question ??? Where has Michael N stashed the cash???

Mute Liam McGowan
    Favourite Liam McGowan
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:49 PM

UR a genius Paschal…rainy day fund mark 2.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Jul 18th 2017, 11:16 PM

How does it need to be found when it’s just money being handed back that was paid in?

Mute lonie
    Favourite lonie
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:23 PM

Little Finger

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jul 18th 2017, 8:18 PM

Yippee

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Jul 19th 2017, 8:05 AM

Under Bertie’s bed……..??

Mute Sallins Man
    Favourite Sallins Man
    Jul 19th 2017, 12:19 AM

Only shocking

Mute Jonathan Gaffey
    Favourite Jonathan Gaffey
    Jul 19th 2017, 6:37 AM

The water charges is just going to be collected through a different tax to pay for our water. All these water protests and months of fighting was totally pointless in my opinion.

Mute Paul Kersey
    Favourite Paul Kersey
    Jul 19th 2017, 8:18 PM

Maybe the rascal might refund our LPT, after all we paid stamp duty, and been squeezed non stop

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Jul 18th 2017, 11:52 PM

Better get every cent of what I paid refunded. Idiots, they’re even worse now.

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    Jul 19th 2017, 2:09 AM

This complete fool is dangerous. He loves himself and he has little in the way of brains. A grabber who wants to line his pockets before he is found out. He loves seeing himself in the limelight . A dangerous stupid fool.

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Jul 19th 2017, 9:36 AM

@Brendan Keegan: kinda sums up this entire cabinet.