You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Varadkar has defended his original comments for a number of days. Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

'This is one I got wrong' - Taoiseach apologises for response to claims about decomposing bodies at Waterford hospital

Leo Varadkar’s apology comes after a number of days of being asked about remarks he made.

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has “apologised unreservedly” for his response to concerns over the mortuary at University Hospital Waterford (UHW).

Varadkar’s apology comes after a number of days of being asked about remarks he made on Tuesday about the claims.

Last week, concerns were raised about dead bodies being left on trolleys in the corridors of the mortuary after a letter signed by four consultant pathologists was made public. 

The letter claimed this was due to “inadequate refrigeration facilities” and said it often led to the decomposing bodies “leaking body fluids on to the floor”.

Asked about the claims while canvassing in Waterford on Tuesday, Varadkar said that he had seen no evidence for the claims.

“I don’t know if the claims were true and certainly those who made them haven’t put forward any evidence to support them,” he said.

The South-South West Hospital Group had said on Monday that it had not received any incident reports in relation to the mortuary and had “no evidence that would substantiate the claims contained in recent correspondence”.

The Taoiseach was asked about this issue on Thursday and again said he “didn’t know where the truth lies”. Then yesterday, Varadkar said there “different accounts” about the incident. 

Varadkar was criticised from a number of quarters for seeming to cast doubt on the claims of the pathologists. 

Now, in a statement this afternoon, Varadkar has apologised “to anyone who feels that I did not treat this issue with the seriousness or sensitivity it deserved”.

“Last week when I was asked about the Waterford mortuary, there were conflicting accounts,” the Taoiseach said in statement this afternoon.

“On the one hand, a letter from four consultants making deeply disturbing claims about conditions in the mortuary and on the other hand, a statement from hospital management saying there was no evidence or supporting complaints to back up the claims.”

I did not want to jump to conclusions or to side with one group of staff against another without knowing facts or before an investigation was carried out. That’s why I said that I did not know if the claims were true or not.

“Over the course of the week, corroborating statements have come to light and complaints have been made that I believe support the views expressed by the four consultants. This is one I got wrong.”

“I want to apologise unreservedly to anyone who feels that I did not treat this issue with the seriousness or sensitivity it deserved.”

As I have said before, my overriding concern is for the dignity of patients in life and in death. It has never been in dispute that the mortuary is sub-standard and needs to be replaced.

“Planning permission has been granted for a new one and I am assured that it will go to tender and construction this year. In the interim, temporary measures are being put in place.”

Last Friday, the South-South West Hospital Group said that a mobile refrigeration unit would be installed at the site and would be available “within one to two weeks”.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

74 Comments
    Mute john
    Favourite john
    May 4th 2019, 5:56 PM

Leo you are wrong about a lot of things

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    May 4th 2019, 6:25 PM

@john: ffg out! Varadkar the lying sociopath fraud out!

Mute Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Favourite Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    May 4th 2019, 6:27 PM

@john: this falls way short of an apology. It implies and we are invited to infer that the problem lies with the general public who were appalled by Mr. Varadkar’s ignorant, insensitive and Ill-informed comments. The consultants had nothing to gain other than to try to establish a basic standard in the hospital. Management on the other hand were protecting their own interests. It is blatantly obvious who was telling the truth. It would appear he is no great loss to the medical profession.

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    May 4th 2019, 8:26 PM

@john: Time to stop giving preferences to FG (and FF) candidates in Local, European, and General Elections

Mute Dow Dubrov
    Favourite Dow Dubrov
    May 4th 2019, 10:03 PM

Anyone know why there are so many anti-FG and to a lesser extent anti-FF commenters on the Journal? Looking at this article, you’d swear they had no support but the polls put consistently put them around 55%

Mute wattsed56
    Favourite wattsed56
    May 4th 2019, 10:12 PM

@Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig: Well said, fully agreed. We have in essence been put on the naughty stool for not interpreting his comments the way he wanted us to, silly us expecting him to accept the consultants truths. What would they know about politics.

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    May 5th 2019, 9:20 AM

@Dow Dubrov: rte is the state propaganda channel. We have to post somewhere to make our voices heard! Ex fg voter , he lied about rewarding workers. Property prices fed getting worse. Ffg out!

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    May 5th 2019, 12:56 PM

@john: “This is one I got wrong”. He’s even trying to deflect from all other wrong decisions he has made in government which is a rather big list. His ministers hide when the pressure becomes too hot too handle. NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

Mute Doubtchya Boy!
    Favourite Doubtchya Boy!
    May 4th 2019, 5:57 PM

Basically he blames people who ‘took him up the wrong way’. It’s not an apology. He’s too narcisisstic to still give a proper one!

Mute Charles McGuire
    Favourite Charles McGuire
    May 4th 2019, 6:51 PM

@Doubtchya Boy!: Exactly!! You are so right!!! It’s a devious way to deflect, if I did something wrong and it made you feel uncomfortable angry etc I then say I am sorry “you” feel that way. Its basically putting the blame on you for feeling that way rather than my actions, this is exactly what leo is doing

Mute Doubtchya Boy!
    Favourite Doubtchya Boy!
    May 4th 2019, 7:12 PM

@Charles McGuire: 100% no doubt this will affect FG in the local and European elections, re-evaluate from what they did wrong. Come the national election its the usual ‘we’re sorry’ we promise it’ll be different next time if you just vote for us again? (Like the battered wife who keeps taking back the absusive husband) inbetween giving Peter Casey enough air time to deflect and divert public hatered..and people will fall for it again…

Mute Mark Edwards
    Favourite Mark Edwards
    May 4th 2019, 6:03 PM

Maybe you should step down rather than apologise?

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    May 4th 2019, 10:00 PM

@Mark Edwards:
    Yeah and pigs might fly !

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    May 4th 2019, 6:07 PM

His minister for Propaganda told him to say this, its still not an Apology.

Mute Tom Shine
    Favourite Tom Shine
    May 4th 2019, 6:02 PM

caught out on his spin

Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn
    May 4th 2019, 6:10 PM

Remember a vote for any FG candidate in the upcoming elections will be a vote for this muppet. He is the leader of a failing government. Show this government that the people deserve better.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    May 4th 2019, 6:01 PM

That’s what happens Leo when you get your information from the newspapers!

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    May 4th 2019, 8:23 PM

@Colette Kearns: In fairness to newspapers Colette it was a newspaper journalist that broke the story.

Mute Thomas O Connor
    Favourite Thomas O Connor
    May 4th 2019, 6:23 PM

Remember when the elections come along..

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    May 4th 2019, 6:49 PM

@Thomas O Connor: starting at the local elections FFG out!

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    May 4th 2019, 5:58 PM

Mr varadkar couldn’t even apologise sincerely, the whole country said you got wrong.

Mute Silence in the City
    Favourite Silence in the City
    May 4th 2019, 6:18 PM

This One? What about dragging terminal ill women thru court to get their Rights after promising they wouldn’t? Tis sad the Taoiseach can’t really be honest about life and death issues

Mute Rathminder
    Favourite Rathminder
    May 4th 2019, 6:11 PM

Am I wrong, but didn’t he add to the original offense by saying that his office was too busy to investigate?

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    May 4th 2019, 6:22 PM

Ffg out! He lied about rewarding the early risers. Housing crisis , health crisis. Eight years in power , a booming economy and many people’s living standards are falling!!!

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    May 4th 2019, 7:18 PM

The wheels are coming off the spin machine.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 4th 2019, 6:18 PM

Nothing but an attempt in a damage limitation exercise. His blatant arrogance got the better of him. As it always does.

Mute gerardfleming
    Favourite gerardfleming
    May 4th 2019, 6:09 PM

Not an apology merely shifting the blame. Pathetic.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    May 4th 2019, 6:51 PM

Only reason for this mealy-mouthed apology is because of the feedback FG candidates on getting on the doorsteps, the voters are sick of Leo’s spin and FGs repeated failures

Mute Mike O Brien
    Favourite Mike O Brien
    May 4th 2019, 8:38 PM

@Stephen Kearon: spot on.

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    May 4th 2019, 8:53 PM

@Stephen Kearon: if only the membership of another party like.. say… Fianna Fáil.. Could do something about it all…. Oh wait… they actually can.. But they don’t.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    May 4th 2019, 7:25 PM

His type dont know how to apologise they always think there right because of who they are

Mute Wade Wilson
    Favourite Wade Wilson
    May 4th 2019, 7:37 PM

The situation was first reported in 2003. It was reported on a few times since then. Leo was Minister of Health previously. Was he clueless and unaware of those reports then or was he just ignoring them?

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    May 4th 2019, 8:58 PM

@Wade Wilson: just ignoring them.. Neo-liberal Thatcherism ideology.. Run services down, more privatisation.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen

Bang of ‘oh crap, I forgot there’s elections in 3 weeks’ off of that. Breathtakingly callous comments.

Mute Caroline Otoole
    Favourite Caroline Otoole
    May 4th 2019, 11:13 PM

@The Risen: spot on, I’ve seen a few ‘Fine Gael don’t call here’ posters in Windows in Waterford City.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    May 4th 2019, 6:47 PM

How much did this rotten government save by sending the smear test to America? One life lost has no price & for the brave woman that have to fight you for compensation & are now suing us.I can bet it’s been a loose loose situation for everyone, but so much much more for the families whom have lost wife’s & mothers! Do us all a favor and resign now! Your position is more suited to a person who cares for our country & it’s people!

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    May 4th 2019, 7:07 PM

Leo venture out of Govt buildings and his Dublin 4 comfort zone of media advisors and well paid spin doctors this week, and was unable to control the news agenda which is much easier in those rarefied surroundings.
    Protesting farmers turning up with cows outside Cork city hall, was not part of the agenda. Even new job announcement and the Cork Limerick motorway,announcement, for about the 4th time did not go as planned. Photo ops with FG election candidates also failed to make an impact.
    Leo`s achilles hell is exposed he`s uncomfortable and gaff prone on the campaign trail meeting `ordinary people`.

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    May 4th 2019, 10:51 PM

@Patrick James Walsh: Nailed it in that contribution FG are anti ordinary people

Mute Declan Bowe
    Favourite Declan Bowe
    May 4th 2019, 6:31 PM

Is Leo saying he has never been wrong only this 1 time?

Mute Paul Ruschitzko
    Favourite Paul Ruschitzko
    May 4th 2019, 7:55 PM

Just resign

Mute Hazel Connolly
    Favourite Hazel Connolly
    May 5th 2019, 4:24 PM

@Paul Ruschitzko: Embarrassement? In the international league of Embarrassing Leaders , Leo wouldn’t even make the top 3O (Western world!). Pity the begrudgers cant get off their areas and vote/b involved in communities instead of farting words…

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    May 4th 2019, 8:38 PM

Plus : ONGOING National emergencies in homelessness, housing and health with no sense of URGENCY to tackle them,no sense of the traumatic distressing effects on ordinary people, families and children despite several Reports and warnings re same!This isn’t acceptable to the public, people matter,their lives matter!

Mute paul clifford
    Favourite paul clifford

Omg hes an embarrassment

Mute Ian Phillip Creaner
    Favourite Ian Phillip Creaner
    May 4th 2019, 6:29 PM

ONE?!!!!!

Mute Chemical Brothers
    Favourite Chemical Brothers
    May 4th 2019, 7:41 PM

Leo has got the #IrishAirCorps chemical exposure scandal VERY wrong too.

Mute Marc Quinn
    Favourite Marc Quinn
    May 4th 2019, 9:26 PM

Get fooked Leo!!!

Mute Dublin Taxi Man
    Favourite Dublin Taxi Man
    May 4th 2019, 8:52 PM

Varadkar also said there was “no evidence” that girls were harmed by the HPV Vaccine.

Mute Damien Barton
    Favourite Damien Barton
    May 5th 2019, 12:55 AM

I wonder is he really sorry do? I really don’t think he is

Mute Kipper O Keeffe
    Favourite Kipper O Keeffe
    May 4th 2019, 7:06 PM

He a fool
    And for elections and canvassing
    All they do now is drop flyers in your letter box
    Don’t want talk to people in case they might give out

Mute Chemical Brothers
    Favourite Chemical Brothers
    May 4th 2019, 8:01 PM

@Kipper O Keeffe: I’d say every FG candidate in locals is sick of Leo and his gaffs. They will pay the price of his arrogance.

Mute Vincent Sharpe
    Favourite Vincent Sharpe
    May 4th 2019, 7:33 PM

Rule Number one= Keep your eyes and ears open and your Mouth Shut.
    Works Wonders.

Mute Una Dunphy
    Favourite Una Dunphy
    May 4th 2019, 6:53 PM
    Mute Robert Clarke
    Favourite Robert Clarke
    May 4th 2019, 11:44 PM

From day 1, he and his crew thought they could spin there way through governing, they done nothing except show there insincerity and contempt for the Irish people, to be a good liar you have to have a good memory, failed at this as well

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    May 4th 2019, 10:49 PM

FG candidates must be getting a lot of grief in D4 and countrywide

Mute Caroline Otoole
    May 4th 2019, 11:10 PM

This proves the Southwest hospital group haven’t a clue what’s going on in Waterford.
    The group should be disbanded, they have made no savings since it’s inception.
    How would you feel if you were one of those consultants?

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    May 4th 2019, 6:22 PM

No offence to families of those deceased but should we not be more concerned about the welfare of the living.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    May 4th 2019, 6:24 PM

@Tony Donoghue: bodies decomposing in the hospital hallways isn’t good for patients

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    May 4th 2019, 6:35 PM

@Tony Donoghue: Well it kinda is offensive, just because it’s not your family today, unfortunately it could be one day! So this disgusting situation must be dealt with in order to avoid that!

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    May 4th 2019, 8:03 PM

@Karen Wellington: its the mortuary, don’t think there are any patients there

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    May 4th 2019, 10:09 PM

@Colette Kearns: Would you take care of a homeless person first or a deceased person?

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    May 4th 2019, 10:27 PM

@Tony Donoghue: That’s a seriously ridiculous remark!

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    May 4th 2019, 11:05 PM

@Colette Kearns: its actually a question rather than a remark

Mute Caroline Otoole
    May 4th 2019, 11:16 PM

@Tony Donoghue: The younger you die the more lightly your are to have a postmortem, so you are probably taking about babies and children here. Waterford had become the regional centre for postmortems without any additional infrastructure.

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    May 4th 2019, 11:55 PM

@Caroline Otoole: I have to disagree. The majority of post mortems are carried out on people who die suddenly, to find out the exact cause. Therefore the majority of post mortems are carried out on the elderly as far less young people die suddenly as they are generally in better health than the elderly

Mute Mike O Brien
    Favourite Mike O Brien
    May 4th 2019, 8:33 PM

As the old saying goes when in a hole stop digging. Leo should think before trying to be a smart ass in future.

Mute Chris Jordan
    Favourite Chris Jordan
    May 4th 2019, 9:15 PM

Just like “not one more red cent to Anglo”. This guy is a disgrace.

Mute Willie Bill Bryan
    Favourite Willie Bill Bryan
    May 4th 2019, 7:15 PM

How interesting

Mute Toffeemac
    Favourite Toffeemac
    May 5th 2019, 1:14 AM

This one?

Mute Lobert Rester
    Favourite Lobert Rester
    May 5th 2019, 9:01 AM

This “1” lol we haven’t the forgotten the 9999999 other ones, your government is shambolic, you are a useless leader and he cult of FG/FF needs to end. Ireland deserves much better.

Mute Lobert Rester
    Favourite Lobert Rester
    May 5th 2019, 8:59 AM

This “

Mute Mr.E
    Favourite Mr.E
    May 5th 2019, 9:34 AM

Can we not rise up as one and enslave these clowns in Dublin and take control of our country and it’s finances.

Mute Hazel Connolly
    Favourite Hazel Connolly
    May 5th 2019, 4:29 PM

@Mr.E: Yes, let’s hope your idea of control is an educated, sympathetic and respectful one…..

Mute Pa Burke
    Favourite Pa Burke
    May 5th 2019, 1:07 PM

Hey Leo
    D’ya know the clock tower?

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    May 5th 2019, 8:30 PM

You and the rest of the idiots in Leinster House have got everything wrong only thing yous get right is how to line your pockets