You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

An Garda Síochána

Public appeal for woman missing from Waterford

Mary Ryan hasn’t been seen since December.

GARDAÍ ARE SEEKING the public’s help in tracing a missing Waterford woman.

Mary Ryan was last seen at Clonard Park, Waterford on 15 December 2018.

The 54-year-old is described as being 5’7″ in height, of slight build and with black hair.

Despite the picture provided of Mary showing her with blonde hair, it is now dyed black, gardaí said.

It is not known what she was wearing when last seen.

Anyone who has seen her or can assist in locating her is urged to contact Waterford Garda Station on 0531 305 300, the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:39 PM

The intern could also possibly help whoever placed the advertisement with their punctuation, as it’s atrocious.

Mute Joe Traynor
    Favourite Joe Traynor
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:24 PM

The school secretary I would think.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:42 PM

I hadn’t heard a word from Teachers about job bridge before this. Typical attitude from the most selfish people in this country. It’s time we elected real leaders, brave enough to sort this crowd our once and for all.

See 40 more replies ▾
    Mute Geraldine Kelly
    Favourite Geraldine Kelly
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:49 PM

Normally the Principal an B.O.M. place the ads.

Mute Goebong
    Favourite Goebong
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:00 PM

Teachers masquerading as politicians have gotten this country into the mess we are in politics is full of them no business experience just self interest with the cushion of a permanent job if they loose their seat. Also teachers lobby way too powerful in Ireland overpaid underworked and pampered

Mute C
    Favourite C
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:03 PM

Not true. The Unions have been vocal on this and adopted a policy against Jobsbridge. Maybe you missed it….

Mute Liam Hennelly
    Favourite Liam Hennelly
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:12 PM

You are a ring piece

Mute eric nelligan
    Favourite eric nelligan
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:14 PM

Goebong, you have it the wrong way around, they are politicians masquerading as teachers. Here is a link to the last Dail and the TDs former professions.

http://www.politicalworld.org/archive/index.php/t-6990.html

The overwhelming majority who listed teaching are career politicians and most also have a family history in politics.

Therefore it is logical to assume that they train to be teachers with the knowledge that they will have good time off to further their political career while they wait for the older family member to retire and coupled with a fall back if it doesn’t work out.

Lets be clear most of the ‘teachers’ on the list are a million miles away from the typical Irish teacher, most of that shower used teaching as a means to an end.

Mute Goebong
    Favourite Goebong
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:26 PM

Eric I stand corrected I never thought of it that way the list does make for scary reading though career politicians

Teachers (including third level):

- Aine Brady
    - Tommy Broughan
    - Ulick Byrne
    - Pat Carey
    - Joe Costello
    - Ciaran Cuffe
    - William Darcy
    - Jimmy Deenihan
    - Noel Dempsey
    - Frank Fahy
    - John Gormley
    - Tony Gregory
    - Mary Hanafin
    - Brian Hayes
    - Michael D Higgins
    - Brendan Howlin
    - Enda Kenny
    - Tony Kileen
    - Michael Kitt
    - Tom Kitt
    - Ciaran Lynch
    - Micheal Martin
    - Tom McEllistrim
    - Dinny McGinley
    - Finian McGrath
    - Joe McHugh
    - Olivia Mitchel
    - Michael Noonan
    - Fergus O’Dowd
    - Batt O’Keeffe
    - John O’Mahony
    - Mary O’Rourke
    - Brian O’Shea
    - Maureen O’Sullivan
    - Jan O’Sullivan
    - Dick Roche
    - Trevor Sargent
    - Roisin Shorthall
    - David Stanton
    - Mary Upton
    - Margaret Conlon

Mute Keith Hand
    Favourite Keith Hand
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:31 PM

Overpaid at 22,000. Underworked by having classes of 30+ kids. Indeed. And every politician is a teacher, aren’t they? All them finance ministers, have they been teachers? Of course not. Don’t let that cloud your agenda though.

Mute Wild Rover
    Favourite Wild Rover
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:47 PM

Don’t forget this a Labour Party initiative . The country is bent people need to open there eyes to this the Unions are taking little sweet heart deals for their members it’s a divide and conquer attitude by the government .

Mute Goebong
    Favourite Goebong
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:47 PM

Yes overpaid and underworked how come you didn’t mention all the paid holidays ??
    Doctors nurses firemen and guards are all strength to the limit with cutback and overworked they don’t get almost half the year off in holidays

Mute Gary.
    Favourite Gary.
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:49 PM

Niall, Rodrigo is a well known troll. (Or whatever his name is.)

Mute Goebong
    Favourite Goebong
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:49 PM

Please excuse my incorrect spelling I know you teachers are trying to enjoy your whole summer off

Mute Goebong
    Favourite Goebong
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:53 PM

Also 22k a year not bad for 195 days work a year

Mute Jakim Berndsen
    Favourite Jakim Berndsen
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:59 PM

Interesting Niall, can’t pass comment on somebody elses job yet you seem more than happy for everybody to slam each and every politician in this country. I’m not saying politicians in this country are faultless, but surely they should be dealt with the same as everybody else in the country?

Now bring on red thumbs for pointing out that people like to be hypocritical, gowan then, journal readers.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:59 PM

Goebong, I assume you’ll be applying to St Pat’s to join this underworked overpaid Utopia as soon as humanly possible.

Mute Keith Hand
    Favourite Keith Hand
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:00 PM

Its not paid holidays. You’re paid for 9 months, which is actually spread out over a year.

Mute Keith Hand
    Favourite Keith Hand
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:01 PM

@Daisy Off course he/she won’t. People pontificate from their moral high ground, but wouldn’t last a week in the supposedly cushy job.

Mute Goebong
    Favourite Goebong
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:02 PM

No I won’t but I do work in the front line of public services and I’m telling you teachers are pampered and full of self importance

Mute Keith Hand
    Favourite Keith Hand
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:05 PM

Back this claim up then.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:07 PM

Goebong, there are different conditions for different professions. Doctors may not get long holidays, but they earn far more money than teachers. Firefighters and guards get to retire on full pension at fifty. Nurses are the only ones who don’t earn a fortune and don’t get long holidays – but they do have flexibility in their working hours teachers don’t have.

Mute Goebong
    Favourite Goebong
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:08 PM

Yes sounds like trade union accounting at its best .. Teachers have it cushy under performing teachers go unchecked for years damaging Children’s education we all know at least one teacher who should have been sacked years ago
    Of course there is some outstanding teachers who go above and beyond

Mute Keith Hand
    Favourite Keith Hand
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:14 PM

Why then do you pick on the one teacher that should have been sacked, and not the outstanding teachers? Every profession has under performers, doesn’t mean the whole profession are overpaid, underworked.

You mention ‘damaging kids education’. That’s exactly what this scheme does! It limits teachers hours, it de-values their job. You can’t have it both ways.

Mute Goebong
    Favourite Goebong
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:18 PM

Your pontificating about the teaching profession backs up everything I said

Mute Roy Mitchell
    Favourite Roy Mitchell
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:21 PM

Yes Goebong because those with all the business experience were so astute when the crash came and slowed the economy down before it imploded then did they?

Mute Keith Dickinson
    Favourite Keith Dickinson
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:25 PM

Why?

Mute Keith Hand
    Favourite Keith Hand
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:25 PM

How am I pontificating? You’re the one with an agenda, which is clearly clouding your views.

Mute Goebong
    Favourite Goebong
    Jul 27th 2013, 7:42 PM

Because we are the same person everybody knows

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Jul 27th 2013, 9:27 PM

Agency nurses have some flexibility in working hours – but do not have any job security.
    HSE nurses have no flexibility in hours unless you count being asked to work 12 hour rosters, with the only flexibility being to trade places with a colleague.
    Compare that with teachers who continually harp on about low pay but keep quiet about the fact it is a part time job.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 10:22 PM

I know that things have changed recently, but traditionally, nurses worked twelve hour shifts for a few days a week, and had good stretches of free time as a result. I know it’s not as easy now.

Teachers don’t complain about low pay, and certainly don’t “harp on about” it.. We complain at having our pay continuously cut while being asked to do more work, which is not unreasonable, given that our paymasters are not taking similar measures themselves.

I suggest you teach for a year and tell me it’s a part time job…

Mute Graham Hunt
    Favourite Graham Hunt
    Jul 27th 2013, 11:00 PM

Your point “family have a history in politics” raises another issue with the political system. People vote because they voted for there father before. Sure the Healy-Rays are still getting a seat……

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Jul 27th 2013, 11:08 PM

Gary. Has it reached the stage that a person becomes a troll when he or she expresses their opinion? As far as I’m concerned the Teachers of Ireland are little more than reality dodging leeches.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 11:26 PM

Who said you aren’t entitled to express an opinion?

The other side of that is that other people are entitled to express their opinions of your opinions.

Just because plenty other people with good qualifications have been forced into these schemes doesn’t mean it’s ok. NOBODY should be forced into them, in fact they shouldn’t be in place in the first place when they offer nothing in the lines of training and have no prospect of a job at the end.

What exactly is the problem you have with the teachers your children have?

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Jul 28th 2013, 12:13 AM

There’s not a week goes by when at least one of my children comes home and tells me that their teacher didn’t show, which invariably means that their class is split up and farmed out here there and everywhere. Curiously enough, Mondays and Fridays seem to be the days when teachers find it most difficult to turn up. As I said in a previous post. Reality dodgers who have never experienced real life.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 28th 2013, 12:19 AM

Goebong, Tony Gregory is actually dead you know.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 28th 2013, 8:27 AM

Teachers have had six and now have three uncertified sick days a year, and a limited number of certified days within a period of two years. If someone is persistently missing time on the same days every week, questions would be asked.

However, you didn’t answer my question. I didn’t ask about absences. I asked how you know what the teachers that teach your children are like. Are you in the classroom observing? Are you keeping track and noticing they are falling behind the curriculum? Have you specific problems with their methodology or treatment of your children?

Specifics, please.

Mute Helen Broderick
    Favourite Helen Broderick
    Jul 28th 2013, 10:21 AM

Oh my goodness….never looked at it like that before!! Thank you Goebong!! Wow!! These are the people running the country? Incredible!!

Mute Joe Simpson
    Favourite Joe Simpson
    Jul 29th 2013, 12:13 AM

The vast majority of current teachers started on 38k and new grads start on 32k(well above grad wages) so I’ll save my pity.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 29th 2013, 7:39 AM

Joe you plucked those figures out of your ample arse anyway

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 29th 2013, 9:42 AM

What has the starting salaries of newly appointed teachers got to do with this discussion, Joe? There are very few jobs out there, so very few newly qualified teachers ever get appointed to full time jobs. Most teachers spend years in limbo, subbing and teaching part time.

This discussion is about newly qualified teachers working for the dole (forget the extra fifty quid, because that will be spend on travel, food, clothes etc)

Mute Edel Gibbons
    Favourite Edel Gibbons
    Jul 29th 2013, 3:40 PM

Have a go ..see how easy it is

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 29th 2013, 4:51 PM

He’s last five minutes, Edel.

Mute Dearbhla Ní Mhordha
    Favourite Dearbhla Ní Mhordha
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:45 PM

I graduated from a teacher training college last year. Yes, I have struggled to get work since then, the job market is extremely competitive and with the government increasing class sizes and cutting funding, it makes it almost impossible. However this scheme is a slap in the face to me, and many like me who went to college, trained for 3 years and got their degree. This scheme in reality could lead to the following ; I decide to take up Job Bridge and proceed to be paid 50 euro with my dole. Meanwhile someone who perhaps graduated in my class, gets a job and is paid normal teaching salary. How is that fair??

Mute Dearbhla Ní Mhordha
    Favourite Dearbhla Ní Mhordha
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:40 PM

I qualified last year actually Joe. I don’t ever intend to be on the dole, have spent the last year getting experience through subbing, not through being insulted with 50 euro.

Mute MrKnow
    Favourite MrKnow
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:52 PM

Don’t listen to that absolute troll, let him go back to what he’s good at….. bending over.

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall

Bankers/politicians coupled with people like joe here is why this country continues to slide down the shitter

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:11 PM

Dearbhla whilst it’s not an ideal situation but what you’re describing applies to everyone in almost every industry! It’s only when it becomes an issue for teachers that there’s outcry because they have powerful unions!

Mute Dearbhla Moore
    Favourite Dearbhla Moore
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:20 PM

Ted I see where you’re coming from.. But why shouldn’ t there be an outcry from all sectors? I think teachers are entitled to their ‘outcry.’ As is any other sector being insulted with the scheme.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:13 PM

No, Dearbhla, it’s not fair. And worse, the teacher in the room next door to you, teaching the same year class, would be getting paid vastly more than you for doing the same job.

Mute Joe Traynor
    Favourite Joe Traynor
    Jul 28th 2013, 12:56 AM

Your the troll mrknow why don’t you post with your real name instead of posting abuse .

Mute Joe Traynor
    Favourite Joe Traynor
    Jul 28th 2013, 1:02 AM

Nial you have your head up your arse maybe that’s why you talk a load of shite.

Mute BadDrivingIreland
    Favourite BadDrivingIreland
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:36 PM

FailBridge.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:27 PM

I see another ad for a teacher on Jobbridge in Kilbonane N.S, Aherla,Co. Cork.
    I’d strongly encourage people who object to this exploitation of teachers to e-mail the two schools concerned, ( e-mail addresses are with the ads), to voice their disapproval. The second ad has spelling and punctuation errors as well as the first one! They obviously need all the help they can get!

Mute John Madden
    Favourite John Madden
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:41 PM

Saw another one in Jobsbridge recently seeking an intern for cleaning buses at the weekend.. Another piss take..

Mute MrKnow
    Favourite MrKnow
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:04 PM

Jobsbridge is the brain child of the troika to get skilled people to work for €3.80 an hour. Some people will spend years on scams like this getting nowhere. The government will try and expand this to unskilled workers doing jobs in fast food places and cleaning jobs, absolute joke. 80k people plus all on ce schemes, tusc and Jobsbridge, the government will have a huge percentage of people working for the new minimum wage… €3.80ph. And the people that are red thumbing comments slamming Jobsbridge are just those exploiting it.

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Favourite Shane McGettrick
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:11 PM

Make no mistake about it, this scheme is open to abuse by any employer with the neck to do it. From highly qualified technical work right to cleaner, deli assistant, shelf stacker, they’ve all been up on the JobBridge site. A complete farce, and typical of our ruling class, partially intentional, partially stupidity.

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:03 PM

Make no mistake about it, job bridge was set up for the sole reason of masking the true unemployment figures in this country. Plain and simple.

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:16 PM

Hit the nail on the head there Niall….massaging the figures and getting people ‘working’ for nothing.

Mute Timothy O Shea
    Favourite Timothy O Shea
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:04 PM

100% agree Niall

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:17 PM

Teacher : Johnny what do you want to be when you grow up?
    Johnny : A Job-bridge intern, just like you Miss.

Mute Keith Hand
    Favourite Keith Hand
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:55 PM

Such a scam. Once you add in your commuting costs and costs of resources etc, the “extra 50″ a week becomes a loss. So basically someone on the dole will be getting more money than a teacher with a class of 30. Scandalous.

Qualified teachers will have already spent 4 months or so of unpaid internship during their degree, so the experience aspect of it is BS.

Add in that the teacher legally will only be allowed work 30 hours a week, does that mean they can slack on planning/correcting because they’re not legally allowed to work more than this?

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:15 PM

They will legally work 30 actual contact hours, but the prep and corrections will be done in their own time, like every teacher. It’s not illegal, and there’s no limit on the amount of hours you spend. So basically they’ll be doing a forty or fifty hour week

Mute Ger Kelly
    Favourite Ger Kelly
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:46 PM

If the probationary requirement was built fully into the teacher training course then newly qualified teachers wouldn’t be even considering partaking in this. Schools actually advertising posts need to consider the lack of value they are applying to the profession of teaching which is suffering as it is by lack of resources, pupil teacher ratio and the cloaked withdrawal of support for special needs. If teachers themselves do not value the profession then what hope is there for it.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:11 PM

Ger, you can only have a probationary period if you have a job. The schools don’t get to decide that they need an extra teacher so they just hire one. They get a specific allocation, and they have to live with that. This is obviously a way round that, albeit a disgraceful one. I agree with you that the principal and BOM of that school have questions to answer, and I hope the rest of the teaching staff will have something to say about it through their union.

Mute Ger Kelly
    Favourite Ger Kelly
    Jul 27th 2013, 7:28 PM

A probationary period is different to a probation in terms of primary school teaching or getting your dip done. There is a probationary period in any contract in teaching even for probated or dipped teachers. Getting your probation done or “dipped” could be completed during college when students are on tp. This is something I propose could be done-it is not being done but if it was it would solve many problems for nqts.

Mute Tríona Barrow
    Favourite Tríona Barrow
    Jul 27th 2013, 7:44 PM

But TP (teaching practice) is part of your course requirements… Dip or probation is required by the Department of Education/Teaching Council, which you won’t be dealing with until you’re qualified.

Mute Ger Kelly
    Favourite Ger Kelly
    Jul 27th 2013, 8:16 PM

Its a personal view that the dip should take place during college. Considering the difficulties and pressure there is on nqts to get it done with no job opportunities and thus being so desperate to get it done they are pushed to consider taking part in jobsbridge.

Mute Carolyn Good
    Favourite Carolyn Good
    Jul 27th 2013, 10:12 PM

Ger, I agree that the dip / probation should be done while in college. I had hoped that the new fourth year would include this. I have never understood how anyone graduating with a teaching degree should need a final “stamp of approval” from the DES. If you’re fit to graduate, you’re fit to teach – surely?! If not, there’s something wrong with our training colleges! Some teachers just out of college are drawn to an internship in order to have enough days to complete the dip.

Mute Shoe lady
    Favourite Shoe lady
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:51 PM

Jobbridge is a joke. Government believes it’s brilliant but the rest of us know better. Exploitation is not work experience.

Jul 27th 2013, 3:28 PM

Government likes it because they can claim they are reducing the unemployed numbers. Terms and conditions of those employed under the jobbridge they don’t give a toss about.

Mute Jim Rushe
    Favourite Jim Rushe
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:41 PM

Lets put all Dail members on Job Bridge so the can acquire the skills necessary to run the country.

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:45 PM

Im afraid the 9 months maximum duration wouldn’t be enough to teach that bunch of slow learners

Mute Sam Brittain
    Favourite Sam Brittain
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:01 PM

Once interviewed for a JobBridge internship as a lab technician at a school in Ballincollig.

It became apparent to me early in the interview that they only wanted a have a fully qualified person work for free. Absolute joke, and I let them know that internships are supposed to be a learning experience. Needless to say, they didn’t hire me.

Mute Coco Fox
    Favourite Coco Fox
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:14 PM

I saw a jobbridge position advertised for a 9 month period, 40 hours a week behind a deli counter in a small village shop. Honestly, how long would it really take the intern to learn how to make sandwiches. Most of these positions are completely exploitative……

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:07 PM

That Job bridge should be called Con bridge its an insult to young teachers who trained hard.No wonder all our educated young people are leaving Ireland to be part of the skype generation.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:58 PM

This particular ad is exploitation at its worst as it offers nothing to the intern. If it gave newly qualified teachers the opportunity to complete their probation then some merit for it could be argued. What it actually does, however, is to ask a fully qualified teacher to work for fifty euro per week. This is shameful.

Mute Stephen McMahon
    Favourite Stephen McMahon
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:54 PM

The irony is so many TD’s are teachers themselves!

Mute Tim Nelligan
    Favourite Tim Nelligan
    Jul 28th 2013, 2:22 AM

@Stephen McMahon, No. They are not. I cleaned toilets in 740Park Ave. to earn my college fees in 1989. Am I a “toilet-cleaner”? Yes; but don’t DEFINE ME, pls.

Jul 27th 2013, 3:14 PM

The race to the bottom continues and nobody says stop.

Mute Ray Bray
    Favourite Ray Bray
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:52 PM

Employers are keeping scheme users after their time has finished, to work off the books, for less money cause they know the person is stuck. Cheating the tax man, getting cheap labour. Only the employers win. It’s a system that should be done way with.

Mute Keith Hand
    Favourite Keith Hand

Always seems to be a few on here that regularly just come on to bash teachers.

Question for them, do you want the best teaching your kids, or a teacher who is limited to legally doing 30 hours a week – i.e no extra curricular activities, no extra time planning/correcting? Add in that any motivation or love for the profession will surely be gone if you’re earning less than a scrounger on the dole.

The same people that are advocating this would be the people to complain if their underpaid, under appreciated teacher wasn’t teaching their kids to an adequate standard.

You can’t have it both ways. If you want quality teachers, then at least respect them enough to pay them more than the bloody dole.

(And yes people have been outraged before over JobBridge, a quick Journal search and read through of comments will show that, especially around the Job Bridge positions in the RTE featured creches etc. But we know that doesn’t fit with some people’s anti-teacher agenda).

Mute Karl O'Flaherty
    Favourite Karl O'Flaherty
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:57 PM

people who have lost their jobs through the gross mismanagement of this country and now find themselves on the dole are not “scroungers” as you call them,please dont tar everyone with the same brush otherwise you are buying into the divide and conquer mentality so shamefully promoted by our joke of a government

Mute Joe Kinnane
    Favourite Joe Kinnane
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:15 PM

I’d rather have somebody with limited interest and time teach my children than someone judgemental and bigoted
    “Scrounger on the dole”

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Keith Hand
    Favourite Keith Hand
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:34 PM

“a scrounger on the dole” – not exactly tarring everyone if I mentioned one person?
    Never said everyone, talking about the few we all know who are happy to sit on their arse all day and NOT look for work.

Mute Keith Hand
    Favourite Keith Hand
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:36 PM

Bigoted? Hilarious. We all know a few scroungers happy to sit by not looking for work on the dole. This isn’t exactly saying everyone is it. And yeah, don’t address any of the other points, just that one. Ok so you rather someone with limited time/interest? I hope you experience this then, and then I assume you won’t complain?

Mute Gary.
    Favourite Gary.
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:00 PM

Well put Keith. I definitely don’t want an unappreciated teacher teaching my kids. An unappreciated teacher = an unmotivated teacher, it’s simple. Same goes of course for all professions.

Mute Keith Hand
    Favourite Keith Hand
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:03 PM

Spot on Gary. And its not just teachers. Its Gards, nurses, doctors, fire men, the lot. If this job ad was for an internship as a nurse or fireman, it would be just as bad.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:19 PM

Keith, the would be job bridge teacher would not be limited to thirty hours a week. That is just time in the classroom. Like all teachers, she or he would have to do extra hours of planning, preparation and correction, because you can’t function as a teacher without it.

The only thing the person shouldn’t do is participate in extra-curricular activities. That IS voluntary. But in a small country school almost impossible to opt out of.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:23 PM

I’m afraid, Gary, if you have kids in school, you DO have an unappreciated teacher teaching them. The government has been on our backs for the past few years, basically telling us that we don’t do anything other than our teaching, and therefore making us stay on the premises for extra hours to have stupid, pointless meetings. They have totally ignored the fact that teachers give countless hours of their own time on extra curricular stuff. So teachers are pretty demotivated at the moment. I see it with my own colleagues, and I know many teachers at primary level too.

Mute Keith Hand
    Favourite Keith Hand
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:30 PM

I know, in reality, no teacher would ever not do more than 30 hours, much much more goes into the week and weekend than 30 hours.

Its just more false advertising, what I’m saying is if a teacher on this scheme, just playing devils advocate, only puts 30 hours in, what happens if they’re under performing. They’re only doing whats asked of them.

The underpaid and under appreciated points still stand. (yes, i know all teachers are in this current climate, but this job only belittles it more).

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:56 PM

I take your point, Keith, but all I want to make clear is that a teacher simply CAN’T underperform in terms of the amount of hours. If you teach for thirty hours a week, you HAVE TO spend several more hours preparing. You can’t just walk into a classroom and say “Ok, lads, what are we going to do today?”
    At primary level, there is huge preparation for young teachers, because they have the same class for the entire day, and have to provide stimulus for them for all this time. For every subject, they have to prepare materials – especially with the younger children. There is at least, at least, ten hours involved in planning and preparation. Follow up and corrections could be less, depending on how they do assessments. Older teachers have built up resources and know how, but when you’re new you have very little, so you have to do everything from scratch.
    So these “thirty hours a week” jobs can’t be done in thirty hours, and that’s the bottom line.

Mute Loop De Loop
    Favourite Loop De Loop
    Jul 27th 2013, 7:02 PM

Jesus would you ever stop whining? You are the reason nobody has the time for teachers anymore. Well paid, pensions, and half the year off yet constantly whinging !!! You’re not doing your colleagues any favours crying like a little girl.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 7:09 PM

You obviously haven’t taken in a word of what I’ve said. There’s no shame in not grasping a thing the first time; I suggest you go back and read it slowly, breaking up the hard words. This is, if you are actually interested in what was said, which I doubt.

Mute Tim Nelligan
    Favourite Tim Nelligan
    Jul 27th 2013, 8:16 PM

@Gráinne, Bravo!

Mute Gary.
    Favourite Gary.
    Jul 27th 2013, 8:47 PM

You are now talking out of your “loop de hoop”. Department of education whole school evaluations are online for all to see. Taking up copies and marking them is a must. If a teacher has 6 classes with on average 25 pupils per class, that equals 150 copies. That’s a lot of correcting. Secondly if you walk into a class unprepared, you would be chewed up and spat out. Preparation is key to classroom management. I did it for a year before taking up a third level post and believe me it was knackering. Unlike lecturing, if you don’t keep a bunch of teenagers engaged, you are screwed.

Mute Audrey Cepeda
    Favourite Audrey Cepeda
    Jul 27th 2013, 8:57 PM

Very well said Keith.

Mute Jeremy Finn
    Favourite Jeremy Finn
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:32 PM

Slavery. Jobbridge is undermining minimum wage and should be scrapped immediately. Government needs its face slapped over this scheme! Too many loopholes.

Mute Paul Brophy
    Favourite Paul Brophy
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:03 PM

Absolute bullshit. This is such crap outta the government. Exploiting.

Mute Peter Gavin
    Favourite Peter Gavin
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:38 PM

I agree the pay is an insult but to say a teacher will get nothing out of it is also ridiculous. Nothing apart from 30 hours a week real class teaching experience that I’d expect would give them an advantage in securing a permanent job in the future. You have to take any chance you can get in a job market like this. Your dream job is unlikely to just land in your lap.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:48 PM

I wish our local school would do this instead of having 6 classes with 33+ pupils & rooms used for storage.

Mute Mike Breen
    Favourite Mike Breen
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:50 PM

You clearly haven’t a bulls notion what you’re on about here Peter. And your point has so many holes in it it could be used as a triton shower head.

Mute eric nelligan
    Favourite eric nelligan
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:38 PM

Peter, primary school student teachers do at least 3 stints of teaching practice where they learn all the skills advertised in the jobsbridge.

Lets be clear, this is not a standard internship where the graduate teachers learn the skills for the first time, the ‘internship’ has been carried out during teaching practice.

This is further proof of exploitation of a vulnerable group people

Mute David Browne
    Favourite David Browne
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:18 PM

” so many holes in it it could be used as a triton shower head.” quote of the week!

Mute wellyd
    Favourite wellyd
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:17 PM

I’m sorry lads but as an unemployed primary school teacher I’d take that job in a heartbeat. I love the job I chose and I’d do anything to have my own class instead of the endless bouncing from school to school subbing. I’d rather take €50 extra a week than have people giving out about me getting almost €200 a day for subbing.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:31 PM

What about the profession you are a member of? You see nothing wrong with it being reduced to slave labour? You’re happy to work for fifty quid a week for fifty hours work?

Sorry, but you’re a disgrace to the name teacher.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jul 27th 2013, 7:22 PM

I find your post disgusting to be honest. I’m okay Jack.

Mute wellyd
    Favourite wellyd
    Jul 27th 2013, 7:42 PM

What about people calling me a sponger for being on the dole when I can’t get work? There’s no winning in this situation. I love teaching and at the way it’s going I won’t get work any other way.

Also saying I’m a disgrace to the word teacher is a bit dramatic. All I want to do is teach. I’d do it for free.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 8:06 PM

I’m sorry if I said you were a disgrace, that was a bit strong. But you are letting your profession down by acting as a yellowpack worker. It’s not better, in my opinion, than passing a picket line.

I understand you love to teach; I love it too, and I’m lucky enough to have a job. But I spent over ten years subbing and doing part time work before I got my permanent job. I literally worked a week here, a week there, a day here, a day there. And I taught night classes, and Spanish students in the summer. I did everything I could to get experience. When I couldn’t find a job, I had to go on the dole. But that wasn’t my fault. I never sold out.

There is work out there. It might not be regular or dependable, but at least you can live with yourself if you have a conscience. Do night classes,Why are you so worried about being called a dole sponger but you don’t seem to be worried about letting your colleagues, your profession and yourself down by selling out to this slave labour scheme.

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Jul 27th 2013, 8:07 PM

Fair enough, your passion for it is pretty manifest, but if people are willing to take peanuts like this then all you’ll do is make it acceptable. Why the hell would you care about any fool’s opinion or refuse subbing work in favour of slave labour? Respect is the gift man gives himself.

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    Jul 27th 2013, 8:52 PM

If you work for nothing you will always have work. I blame the unions who are sitting on their backsides doing nothing and collecting colossal wage packets. SIPTU is asking its members to celebrate the centenary of the Lock Out. The Lock Out occurred because the workers united against exploitation but today’s unions are complicit in the exploitation. How long before every profession in Ireland gets their own Job Scheme employee?

Mute Tim Nelligan
    Favourite Tim Nelligan
    Jul 28th 2013, 7:31 AM

Any time you are willing to work “for FREE”, they will let you.

Mute Peter Gavin
    Favourite Peter Gavin
    Jul 28th 2013, 9:13 AM

Very witty Mike. Gold star from all the teachers for you apparently. Perhaps you’d like to point out all these flaws in my point. While you’re at it maybe you can answer a simple question: if a hiring manager is faced with two candidates for a job who have equal qualifications and the only difference is that one had not worked in the field for several years perhaps and the other has up to date experience – which one do you think they are more likely to hire? Answer me that.

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    Jul 28th 2013, 9:32 AM

In the USA years ago African people got great experience in sugar growing and cotton planting. In Russia the serfs were way ahead of everyone when it came to farming, except for the Irish who were great at carving out a subsistence living. The Scottish and Belfast men were the best shipbuilders in the World. Their reward for their hard work and ingenuity? Starvation, misery, emigration, poor health, watching their children die or worse, having to live the squalid life they had. Get a grip. If anyone should be penalised it should be bankers and politicians but I haven’t seen any Job Bridge ads for their jobs.

Mute Dublinjonny
    Favourite Dublinjonny
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:48 PM

Peter you want interns educating your kids ?

Mute Christian Hughes
    Favourite Christian Hughes
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:32 PM

Uproar because it’s a teacher and yet virtually nothing over all the other €50 per week jobs or all the unpaid ‘internships’ out there. If you do a job you should be paid the minimum wage at least – hint, that’s why it’s called minimum wage.

Mute Seán Kearns
    Favourite Seán Kearns
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:59 PM

Agree with you there about how other internships are exploitative, but the thing I think is getting people’s backs up is that it’s a Government Department that is trying to get this internship going. At the same time as this internship is being posted the same department and the Teaching Council are trying to represent teachers as professionals. Plus, while primary school teachers only teach for ~ 30 hours a week (as the jobsbridge scheme says) but there is a huge amount of behind the scenes work, and this internship essentially disregards that.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:27 PM

Christian, you’re right that there should be uproar for the whole scheme. I think why there’s uproar in this instance is for several reasons. Firstly, it is offering to train someone in something they have already learned and gained experience in whilst in college. Secondly, the thirty hours a week it’s offering is clearly rubbish, as a teacher can’t function without a lot of hours of preparation, planning and correcting.

On those two areas alone, it’s a joke.

Mute Rob Magee
    Favourite Rob Magee
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:40 PM

The latest in a long line of JobBridge abuses. They can pull as many ‘people who done internships who are now working’ stats out of their arses as they like, the programme is a farce.

Mute Bernadette Kearney Moloney
    Favourite Bernadette Kearney Moloney
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:59 PM

This is disgraceful. What will this so called Government come up with next. JobBridge is a joke…..slave labour.

Mute Jo
    Favourite Jo
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:45 PM

jobsbridge is an absolute joke. An intern ship is meant to be about learning skills and being mentored not slave labour. Some of the internships offered seem legit at times but the majority are a joke. Cleaners etc I mean come on? Seriously? And I have to say this latest one is disgusting. A while ago I had to do an internship-not with jobsbridge, with college and I got a local spot to do it for 3 months. There was no mentoring and I soon found out the crowd I was with were just getting me to do all the ground work for them to take the glory. I was learning nothing, was left alone all day every day bar a call every now and then. So I left and next thing I see that same crowd had put an ad on jobsbridge to get some one in in the same ‘role’ as me… Joke!! So long as Jobsbridge is the go to for companies to have free staff there will never be any real training and the dole queues will get longer….Joke.

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:56 PM

I had the dubious honour of discussing jobbridge type schemes with Minister Bruton up in RTE after the scheme was introduced. A very brief conversation as her minder whisked her away as they do. She was praising the scheme and I asked if it was such an excellent scheme why wasn’t it being tried in public sector also? I got a cock and bull answer but 18 months or so later another policy change from Labour it appears.

Mute Ruth Ac
    Favourite Ruth Ac
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:30 PM

Yes, it is already in the public sector. Teaching is actually the public sector and this job is no garanteed at the end of it at all. It all started off with the public sector as they were trying to fill in places where staff were all leaving. I am surprised you didn’t know that before you even asked the minster because he already knows that it is run in the public sector.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:55 PM

Wouldn’t be so “sure” the so called”smart” people are applying…it happens to be an example in the teaching profession bringing this to light but people with all sorts of qualifications and degrees and experience are being insulted with this scheme , I would think the so called smart people would be more likely to take their teaching degrees abroad and earn a decent living abroad , then the inevitable government report comes out in a few years wondering why we paid so much training our people to be teachers etc only for them to use their skills abroad I hope it mentions the alternative for many was 50 euro plus dole money on job bridge and realise they are creating a brain drain with their pathetic handling of the jobs crisis.

Mute Ger Kelly
    Favourite Ger Kelly
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:31 PM

This is not the first time that a teaching job has been put up Aoife. Teaching jobs have been put up for the last year anyway. The primary school teachers union the into had instructed members not to take part in the jobsbridge scheme so it died off for a bit but it seems that the schools advertising are aware that the into will do nothing about it so will carry on regardless.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:24 PM

Surely what the union should do, Ger, is to instruct its members not to work with interns. Harsh, but necessary in the interest of the profession in the long term.

Mute Ger Kelly
    Favourite Ger Kelly
    Jul 27th 2013, 7:38 PM

Unfortunately, this is what is being directed to be done if a school is found to be using jobsbridge but is not being followed through. Having said that it is a very tough position for a teacher to be in working beside someone doing jobsbridge. What are they to do walk out of the school? It is not their fault that the people running the school put the ad out in the first place. I feel the fault is with whomever placed the ad in the first place. I know well the pressure in schools who would definitely benefit from an extra teacher but this is not the way of getting it. Hopefully the one good thing jobsbridge has done is brought to light how desperately schools are in need of help that they are willing to devalue their own profession to get it.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 7:43 PM

It IS a tough position. But standing up for your rights and your profession is not always easy. It’s not the fault of the yellowpack teacher that they have been employed, but members of the union should walk out, yes. It’s simply not acceptable

Unfortunately, the INTO is the most conservative of the teaching unions, and the jobs so far have been advertised for primary.

I’m a member of the TUI, and I can guarantee you there would be World War Three if such a thing happened in our college.

Mute Wolf Pack
    Favourite Wolf Pack
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:55 PM

Plenty of experience to be gained in England as well where there is demand for teachers who will be paid a full and equal wage for the job they do. Not an easy thing to leave home, family, friends etc but i’d rather go and earn the queens pound than stay be insulted by my own government.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:22 PM

The Irish solution to every problem – leave or complain rather than try to change or improve things. Whaatever damage we have via our self esteem etc in this country the same people will thrive when abroad.

Its a complex one.

Jul 27th 2013, 3:48 PM

This government are so out of touch it’s unreal, sooner we get rid of them the better.

Mute Tom Lewis
    Favourite Tom Lewis

Government dept looking for fully qualified law searcher 9 month contract. Another crooked internship slave job

Mute Sonia Condon
    Favourite Sonia Condon
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:06 PM

Disgraceful these programmes dont help anybody get job its just taking advantage of people.

Mute Aoife Ni Riain
    Favourite Aoife Ni Riain
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:18 PM

Why is it only now that a teaching job has gone up on an internship people are outraged???

Mute Shane McGettrick

Ah Aoife, most people who knew what JobBridge was about (massaging live register figures) have been outraged since its inception.

Mute W.j.d.
    Favourite W.j.d.
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:37 PM

Very observation….. Many years ago before I left dear Ireland ….. I was highly qualified in my field and couldn’t get a job… Needless to day I was on social welfare…. I got on a FAS course.. Wanted me for cheap labour…. Have a bit of pride and leave that B.S behind…. A lot of countries out there will respect and pay you for what you have to offer …. I’m afraid Ireland isn’t one of them….

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:01 PM

Aoife, this teaching job shows the nonsense of internships in some cases. First because the teacher already has the skills it claims they will learn during this time, because they have done several stints at teaching practice during their training, and have covered every element listed on the job description.
    Secondly because a thirty hour week actually means a lot longer working hours, as a teacher does at least the same again in preparation and correction. Especially a young teacher who hasn’t built up the experience and the resources. There’s a massive amount of preparation involved at primary level.
    So they want a person who has gone to college for four years or more to work for fifty hours or more for the dole plus fifty euro.

Mute Tim Nelligan
    Favourite Tim Nelligan
    Jul 27th 2013, 7:49 PM

Here is the email I sent to the school in question yesterday when I saw the ad (hat-tip to @paraicgallagher for alerting me to it):

Dear Amelia,
    I am disgusted to see your internship offer to teachers this morning.

I have spent twenty-four years trying to teach my secondary school girls to (among other things) respect themselves and their abilities and to avoid being exploited.

By presenting the children in your care with an intern, you will be teaching them that exploitation is acceptable to you, to whom they look for guidance.

You will be undermining the good and vital work of inculcating in children the importance of standing up for their rights and asserting their self-worth.

By accepting Job Bridge in your school, you will be normalising exploitation in the formative years of the children in your care.

This will be unforgiveable and I urge you to reconsider.

Yours sincerely,
    Tim Nelligan.

The email address for the internship is ameliakeena@yahoo.com , if you are interested in expressing your view to her….. (especially those who think teaching is a “cushy” number.)

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 27th 2013, 9:40 PM

Amelia Keena
    Principal
    Ardnagrath N.S
    Athlone.
    Co. Westmeath is the address. The school is on the east side of Athlone, not the West side as stated in the advertisement. I’m wondering was this a poor attempt to disguise which school is demeaning the teaching profession?
    The particular school seems very anxious to indicate that it has a low teacher- pupil ratio. I’m sure that they can manage without an indentured servant so…

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:36 PM

I rest my case—an excellent example of why the civil service should disbanded, starting with whoever posted this job ad.

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:22 PM

They should apply the same Logic to the new TD Ms Enright. Raoiri Quinn could use the same criteria when he gave a job recently to Mrs Gilmore the wife of his fellow minister. How much is she paid in her new job? Pension?

Mute Jim Hartnett
    Favourite Jim Hartnett
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:13 PM

I really cant wait for the next elections. This scambridge is just another way to lower wages and conditions. Union hacks and beards on huge wages and perks standing back and letting it happen.

How many of these teachers unions have spoken out about retired teachers getting jobs in our schools while new teachers get the dole, or a plane ticket?

Mute W.j.d.
    Favourite W.j.d.
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:58 PM

Come the next general election …. Job bridge is the way to go….. Lets see how many are prepared to serve for 50 euro a week……

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Favourite Snorre Sturleson
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:28 PM

Well lets see what Sheila No Balls and her merry band of INTO officials(bought on €150,000+) in head office do now. Like Siptu and the rest they took the blueshirt shilling and betrayed their members. Trade Unionism is dead and buried!

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 10:07 PM

In fairness, the union officials do what the members want. The INTO members tend to be a conservative bunch – they voted for Haddington Road, instead of sticking with the other teaching unions who have stood up to it.

Mute Tim Nelligan
    Favourite Tim Nelligan
    Jul 28th 2013, 7:14 AM

Sheila the shill? “Yes, Minister”.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 5:50 PM

That’s scandalous. Thirty hours a week my eye. Double that, to include lesson prep, corrections etc. So a fully trained teacher would be working in one classroom for fifty quid a week while in the classroom next door another teacher is doing exactly the same job on full pay.
    Qualified teachers are already trained in all the things the ad claims they will get training in.

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    Jul 27th 2013, 8:20 PM

Put it this way ! Let’s ask Ruairi Quinn to work for the dole +50 euro a week …he is a teacher, or qualified as one ! And would you all stop calling those politicians teachers, none of them ever intended to teach and used the job merely as a stepping stone….they are an insult to the profession, all of them !

Mute Tim Nelligan
    Favourite Tim Nelligan
    Jul 27th 2013, 8:31 PM

@Michael G O’Reilly Your point is a good one; they aren’t “teachers”. A year or two working as one before entering politics doth not a teacher make. However, R Quinn is an architect (not “was”, as AFAIK he still runs his business, but open to correction).

Mute Ger Kelly
    Favourite Ger Kelly
    Jul 27th 2013, 8:39 PM

Ruairi Quinn’s qualifications are Bachelor of Architecture and a Higher Diploma in Ekistics. He is not a teacher. Appointing someone who actually knew something about education would actually indicate that the government intended on progressing it somehow. Go figure…

Mute squid
    Favourite squid
    Jul 27th 2013, 9:32 PM

Teachers have already done their work experience as part of their degree so there is no reason why they should be required to work for nothing. just a couple of things of note

The Irish Times and the Journal do not appear to have contacted, Amelia Keena, the principal of the Ardnagrath school who placed this advertisement. the woman is at the very least entitled to a right of reply.

Secondly, this was not the only teaching position to appear this week, in fact, one school in Newtwopothouse in County Cork which posted an advert for a teacher on jobbridge.ie subsequently removed it. The same school is using jobbridge to find two security guards who will double up as a caretaker and a “traffic warden.”

What I would like to know is, after nearly two years of shop assistants, cleaners, office skivvies being advertised, why is everyone so up-in-arms about teachers being sought. I spoke to a teacher in Mayo recently who had no problem with using JobBridge to find a janitor but not a teacher.

The exclusion of blind people from jobbridge, and the exclusion of all disabled people from JobPlus continues to be ignored by the media. Discrimination against people with a vision impairment who want to do something other than waste what little eyesight they have staring at the four walls. Joan Burton’s philosophy of “special jobs for special people’ belongs in the twentieth century, and even then it wasn’t very welcome.

Mute Darren Holmes
    Favourite Darren Holmes
    Jul 28th 2013, 12:47 AM

Why is this news? Why is a teacher any different from the thousands of fully qualified people working through job-bridge?

Mute Tom Hannon
    Favourite Tom Hannon
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:29 PM

beggars cant be choosers if I needed money I would do anything for it and would take the job, even if its low paid.

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:39 PM

Would you steal for it?

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:41 PM

And while everyone else is whinging about it, smart people are applying…

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:50 PM

Ah yeah, smart enough to a job they’re fully qualified for while getting paid a fraction of the minimum wage. The modern equivalent of building famine roads.

Mute MrKnow
    Favourite MrKnow
    Jul 27th 2013, 3:55 PM

Bet your an employer taking part in this scam. Smart people don’t fall for scams like that

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:07 PM

A few years ago people whinged they couldn’t get a job because employers wanted experience… The fact is, there’s a qualified teacher out there somewhere doing nothing and going nowhere today. Tomorrow, they could be getting much needed experience. Money doesn’t come in to it. So long a its not displacing a job, why not?

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:15 PM

Do you really believe it’s not displacing a job? At the very least it’s denying someone properly paid subbing work, more likely allowing the school to avoid creating a temporary position for 1 academic year. The naivety is astounding.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 27th 2013, 6:33 PM

O’Reilly, they HAVE the experience. Everything the job description claims it will train them in and give them experience in, they have already done. Sure, all experience is worthwhile, and a bit more might give someone the edge, but it’s unfair to exploit vulnerable people

Mute Tim Nelligan
    Favourite Tim Nelligan
    Jul 28th 2013, 2:33 AM

“Much needed…. Money doesn’t come in to it”??? How do *YOU* live, if “money doesn’t come into it”?

Mute Tim Nelligan
    Favourite Tim Nelligan
    Jul 28th 2013, 3:41 AM

Actually, I extend my apologies to you, Sir. I apologise. My ancestors died for NO|THING and you have NOTHING to fear, whatsoever.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Jul 28th 2013, 8:26 AM

Tim, how is the unemployed teacher living now? What is he/she doing all day. You’re missing the point completely. You were prepared to scrub toilets to get to where you needed. If this internship is not displacing a job, what’s the problem. And Tim, less of the hysterics. My ancestors certainly didn’t die for a handout culture…

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Jul 28th 2013, 8:32 AM

The unemployed teacher is doing what I did as an unemployed teacher back in the eighties; working a day here, a day there, a week here, a month there. Night classes, teaching Spanish students in the summer, homework clubs…basically anything they can lay their hands on. It is not regular, but they get paid for the work they do at a reasonable rate.
    When I was unemployed, I signed on during the holidays – I was not part of the hand-out culture, but I had paid my contributions when I was working, and had no problem getting help when I was not.

Mute Sean Hannon
    Favourite Sean Hannon
    Jul 27th 2013, 8:19 PM

Teachers giving out as usual. its the same in so many industries yet all we hear about in the media is teachers/nurses

Mute Ger Kelly
    Favourite Ger Kelly
    Jul 27th 2013, 8:45 PM

God forbid teachers or nurses try to defend their profession! The cheek of them.

Mute Bronagh Butler
    Favourite Bronagh Butler
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:21 PM

Tús is another seemingly less well known “initiative” which basically forces the long term unemployed to work for local services/charities. At least with JobBridge it takes an application; you either take part in Tús or your payment is affected and as far as I know, selection from the department of Social Protection is fairly random.

Mute Darren Holmes
    Favourite Darren Holmes
    Jul 28th 2013, 12:52 AM

Why is this news now? Are teachers any different from the thousands of qualified people already on jobbridge? No. Typical ” sense of Entitlement” attitude from public sector.

Mute adam murphy
    Favourite adam murphy
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:34 PM
    Mute adam murphy
    Favourite adam murphy
    Jul 27th 2013, 4:35 PM
    Mute Michael Doyle
    Favourite Michael Doyle
    Jul 28th 2013, 11:11 AM

U really must have ur head up ur ass there rodrigo!! U must b one of these people who tink teachers have it handy, it’s a great way to get another load of highly qualified people to leave these shores by exploiting them rather than creating employment for them. The government are happy to take the massive fees off them then cut the number of teachers and then to exploit them in this way after they are qualified as the skills they say they will gain they have already gained through collage and teaching practice!! And I’m not a teacher just concerned parent who sees the value of proper education!!

Mute Ruth O' Farrell
    Favourite Ruth O' Farrell
    Jul 28th 2013, 2:04 AM

Heartbreaking really. I’ve been qualified since 2009 and went back to do a Masters in Education, which hasn’t made a difference in landing a teaching contract. I’ve been subbing non stop in many different schools for years and am tempted to apply for a Job Bridge Scheme like this, purely because I know I’ll be in the same place with the same kids everyday. Sad face.

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Jul 27th 2013, 2:58 PM

*Burton* not Bruton

Mute Declan McArdle
    Favourite Declan McArdle
    Jul 27th 2013, 10:54 PM

Welcome to jobbridge, from a qualified engineer who would count himself lucky for an internship.

Mute Tim Nelligan
    Favourite Tim Nelligan
    Jul 28th 2013, 3:23 AM

@O’Reily et al, Go ahead and APPLY for the #slavebridge if you like it so much. Please post your application email here, so we can see how eager you are to find work, not SPONGING off the state, like?

Mute Michael J Barrett
    Favourite Michael J Barrett
    Jul 28th 2013, 2:54 PM

Next thing they ll advertise for NCHDs!

Mute Richard Whelan
    Favourite Richard Whelan
    Jul 28th 2013, 12:21 PM

I agree Job Bridge is also “exploitative and demeaning to most people from on it.
    In a lot of cases the the internee is more qualified than the mentors.

Mute Lisa Cotter
    Favourite Lisa Cotter
    Jul 30th 2013, 2:21 PM

In the tail end of the last recession (1993) my first professional work placement would now be called an internship now. We all had degrees and worked in a national cultural institution, receiving £77 per week on a community work scheme but it was a better option than to work behind a shop counter in London. My two years of archival research experience is still noticed on my CV. The gallery curator gave me a reference for my present teaching position. On the other hand, I understand the annoyance about the casualisation of the teaching profession… Kind regards, Part-time FE teacher

Mute Peter O' Neill
    Favourite Peter O' Neill
    Jul 29th 2013, 10:31 AM

They are not being forced into the role at gun point. If a newly qualified teacher was satisfied with the conditions set, why not let them take the role?

It is the same as every other job on the jobbridge program (Which I took part in). Certainly not perfect, whole concept of slave labor and being taken advantage of, but gives you career experience which is invaluable to have on your resume now and later in life.