You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Wet and humid weather to start the week as Ireland deals with the aftermath of Hurricane Gert

A Status Yellow rainfall warning is in place until 4pm.

IT WILL BE a mild, wet and misty start to the week as Ireland deals with the tail end of Hurricane Gert – which hit the US on the other side of the Atlantic.

Met Éireann has issued a status yellow rainfall warning which came into effect yesterday afternoon for counties across the country and will remain in place until 4pm this evening.

The warning applies to all of Connacht and counties Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Dublin, Kildare, Laois, Longford, Louth, Wicklow, Offaly, Westmeath, Meath, Clare and north Tipperary.

Rainfall accumulations were expected to hit 30 to 50mm, with highest totals in the mountains.

It will be mostly damp and misty across the country this morning, with scattered outbreaks of rain with a risk of local flooding.

As the day progresses, it will become drier a brighter across southern counties and gradually extend northwards – with some sunny spells developing this afternoon and evening.

Top temperatures of 18 to 21 degrees Celsius but up to 23 Celsius is possible in any sunny breaks.

Tonight will be mild, misty and humid, with light rain and drizzle. Minimum temperatures will be no less than 14 or 15 degrees Celsius.

Tomorrow will be cloudy and humid before the weather turns fresher later this week.

Read: Two divers rescued off Dalkey Island

Read: Driving to work today in Dublin? Don’t forget there are new traffic restrictions in place

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

8 Comments
    Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 22nd 2015, 11:49 AM

Rich people talking about corruption. Climate change with all the private jets. Hunger and poverty while paying 40 euro for a whiskey. Billionaires telling people to tighten their belts while flying in private jet and bringing the nannies. Oh the irony.

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Jan 22nd 2015, 12:04 PM

We live in a country that have a government for the rich and only the rich,and that has been the case for decades.Time has come to get rid of these people for good.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Jan 22nd 2015, 12:06 PM

The more we learn of these guys dishing out the rules but not living by them, the more likely there will be mass civil unrest. What’s brewing around todays world is unfortunately unpleasant… And doesn’t bode well for the future. These guys need to watch scrooged or a Christmas carol.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Jan 22nd 2015, 12:06 PM

Or in their case. A Muppets Christmas Carol.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 22nd 2015, 12:54 PM

Enda: ‘Now what colour tie shall I wear today’!

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jan 22nd 2015, 3:31 PM

I brought my nanny on the train to Dublin once. Grandad said he was glad to get rid of her for the day.

Mute Kevin Carroll
    Favourite Kevin Carroll
    Jan 22nd 2015, 11:51 AM

Really wish I could just ignore the nonsense these idiots are spouting but unfortunately they hold the power and the wealth. They make me sick, especially enda the lick arse!

Mute David James Field
    Favourite David James Field
    Jan 22nd 2015, 11:43 AM

Tough luck if I wasn’t invited?.They’re all a bunch of tossers in expensive suits.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 22nd 2015, 11:42 AM

Is bono there?

Mute mikeyC
    Favourite mikeyC
    Jan 22nd 2015, 1:26 PM

Bono not rich enough!!! Enda is there on taxpayers money !!!

Mute Keith Nolan
    Favourite Keith Nolan
    Jan 22nd 2015, 11:54 AM

I thought davos was someone’s gaff in finglas

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jan 22nd 2015, 11:51 AM

Seen the humble pilgrim Archbishop returning from the conference 2 years ago. His cash strapped church could only afford to send him Business class on Swiss air!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 22nd 2015, 11:53 AM

What’s your point Wayne? or are you just ‘bashing the bishop’.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 22nd 2015, 11:58 AM

Strap on

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jan 22nd 2015, 12:09 PM

Norman, his church is unable to pay compensation to it’s victims, and the bishop who lives in a 50 room palace & is one of the largest land and property owners wants the government to take action!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 22nd 2015, 12:20 PM

Wayne his church is able to pay but our government did a deal with them.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jan 22nd 2015, 12:53 PM

Norman check again, they are about a quarter of a billion short on what they owe under that deal!

But obviously that’s ok, with you

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jan 22nd 2015, 12:33 PM

This is mind blowing ignorance on the part of Al Gore.
    He said that the earth’s mantle is “several million degrees” at “2 kilometers or so down”and that the “crust of the earth is hot” too.
    He said that the Arctic ice would have disappeared by 2014.
    His homes use more power than some small nations.
    He is a bloviating self-declared genius who has built up a fortune of over $200 million on the back of his involvement in the climate scam.

Mute LiquidPaddy
    Favourite LiquidPaddy
    Jan 22nd 2015, 11:58 AM

This is like some episode of Dynasty isn’t it? I’m sure many of them need minders/ nannies… to keep them away from, you know, the poor, the old, the people who work… oh, you people! Hey, where’s Mitt?

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Jan 22nd 2015, 1:20 PM

al gone still sprouting his man made global warming crap. how many private jets are there yet its the common person using the shower for too long that does all the damage.
    all the data presented supporting climate change theory leaves out the correlation between it and solar activity.
    however the green market is big business and the right people are making money. if any researcher wants to put out data against man made climate change they will not get funded and ngos/think tanks will go all out to discredit them.
    its a con job. the cultural Marxists love it. look into the matter for yourself.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 22nd 2015, 1:27 PM

too long to read.

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jan 22nd 2015, 2:10 PM

@John Fergus, the fool Gore advises Obama and has made presentations to congress as their adviser and yet will not enter into any debate with scientists who can call his bluff.

Mute Ah Here
    Favourite Ah Here
    Jan 22nd 2015, 4:52 PM

Hi John,

Al Gore may be a hypocrite and a bit of a tool, but ‘man-made global warming’ as you like to call it is not ‘crap’.
    There’s a tonne of peer-reviewed articles online, but NASA is a good place to start: http://climate.nasa.gov/evidence/

Happy reading.

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jan 22nd 2015, 7:26 PM

Remember, when NOAA and NASA declare “hottest years”, just how poor their surface temperature coverage is. Just 6000 stations in the northern hemisphere, none in much of China or northern Russia or the Arabian Peninsula to mention just a few places and far too many of the 6000 are estimated, either because the stations are closed, or have missing months.RSS recently released the satellite measured global temperature for 2014 and found it is not even close to a new record.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jan 22nd 2015, 12:52 PM

I wonder could anyone with 200k attend?

Imagine winning the Euromillions and telling the lads … ‘Here I’m off to Davos for the week to have the craic with Inda and DOBS … Totes!’

Mute Karl O Neill
    Favourite Karl O Neill
    Jan 22nd 2015, 11:44 AM

Jeff must have been schooled by CJ

Mute Will Derbylight
    Favourite Will Derbylight
    Jan 22nd 2015, 12:14 PM

Our green isle is densely populated by us green eyed and immensely jealous moaners….

Mute Jean Martin
    Favourite Jean Martin
    Jan 22nd 2015, 3:15 PM

Is it just the angle of the foto or is our Enda getting a bit of a belly on him? All that rich food and champers……..not everyone is suffering due to the economy…….but 1 in six children in the Republic don’t have enough warm cloths or heat……”let them eat cake”……

Mute Strab Girl
    Favourite Strab Girl
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:01 AM

Im a business grad; trying to work out why a bishop is there? Economies of Scale, probably…