You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ian Cronin via ICP Studios Killarney

This loved-up couple started out as landlord and lodger

They still live in the same house where their relationship began.

FIVE YEARS AGO Fiona Doyle put an ad on Daft to rent out a room in her house, this summer she married her ‘lodger’.

She told TheJournal.ie that she realised she liked Mike about two months after he moved in.

“We went on our first date after living together for about four months.

“In one way it’s very funny – we never had to decide when to take the next step and move in together.”

The couple got married in Killarney in July. Fiona said there were plenty of jokes at the reception about how Mike will never see his deposit again and how Fiona set the house rules from the start.

The pair are still living in the same house where they started out as lodger and landlord.

unnamed-1 daft.ie daft.ie

Kieran Harte from Daft.ie said, “We were over the moon to hear how we played our own little part in Fiona and Mike’s love story and we wish them health, wealth and happiness for years to come!”

Read: 15 nightmare flatmates you definitely don’t want to live with>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
    Mute Amy J
    Favourite Amy J
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:34 PM

And this is on The Journal because…….???

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:42 PM

First thing i thought.

Mute Dungeon Master
    Favourite Dungeon Master
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:48 PM

The Journal is owned by Daft.ie

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:56 PM

Ah Amy, everyone loves a love story!

See my reply above to Teegan. Also if you’re not interested in it, you’ll be glad to know we have tens of other stories on the site today! :)

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Sep 7th 2014, 7:02 PM

I met my missus one friday night locked outta me bin…..where’s my journal artice

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    Sep 7th 2014, 8:30 PM

@Aoife – having other stories is what you’re supposed to do as a news site. Don’t try using it as a justification for wasting your readers’ time with this non-story plug for your sister site. Pathetic.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Sep 7th 2014, 9:39 PM

I’m with Aoife on this one… Bunch of anti-social fools giving out about 1 nice story that was slightly less depressing and real than what we get as a society these days. Bet they sit on their phones, watching the headlines roll in. If ye red- thumbers don’t appreciate this site, then download the sky or bbc app. Now, that would be depressing. I bet ye even have the Facebook app neatly placed beside the iournal app, furiously crossing over, searching for something….

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Sep 7th 2014, 9:47 PM

@MikeMcAllen – are you seriously demanding what you want a free app to broadcast? Why don’t you start your own website, old pal? You can decide what to broadcast. Anything remotely frivolous, which in turn is subjective btw, can be cut. The cherry on the cake is that you decided to read this article and then consciously decided to type a retort with your two clumsy thumbs, robbing you of both dignity and 20 minutes of your precious weekend…

Mute linda o neill
    Favourite linda o neill
    Sep 7th 2014, 9:55 PM

Beats looking at stories about abortion … Gay marriage …and Educate Together schools

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Sep 7th 2014, 11:48 PM

It’s always funny to watch those who complain about articles they don’t think should be on the site – in spite of the fact that they have contributed to the articles popularity and therefore the reason such topics get so much coverage..

It’s almost as if they thought the journal staff did this job for the lulz, er – how do they think staff, servers, developers etc get paid?
    Nothing at all to do with advertising revenue, which is sold based upon page clicks and website traffic..

If you hate the topic so much – don’t contribute to it.. If it doesn’t interest you, no one is forcing you to read it. In fact – if you truly didn’t want to see articles on certain topics, you wouldn’t need to be told this, you’d just ignore them.

Mute Hairy lemon
    Favourite Hairy lemon
    Sep 7th 2014, 11:54 PM

Because she is a serious honey and I, for one, am very grateful!

Mute HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Favourite HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Sep 8th 2014, 11:36 AM

Shoulder to the wheel Mike.
    Get stuck into that negative equity.
    The least she could do is put your name on the mortgage.

Mute Teegan Maguire
    Favourite Teegan Maguire
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:46 PM

Isn’t Daft owned by the same people as The Journal? I suspect some self interest at play here! Hundreds of desperate single people heading onto daft for a new home and a new boyfriend/girlfriend they hope

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:54 PM

Hi there, yep we are connected with Dart indeed – the story was first on Daft.ie and we thought it was lovely so chatted to Fiona and Mike ourselves!

It’s a sweet story but I don’t think anyone can guarantee the same thing will happen to them ;)

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:57 PM

Oops I meant Daft, not DART…

Mute Weddingcar Ie Wexford Limo
    Favourite Weddingcar Ie Wexford Limo
    Sep 7th 2014, 7:42 PM

Oh I see a few people are grumpy today !! A nice feel good story and the Police are called for Daft reasons !

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    Sep 7th 2014, 8:32 PM

It’s not a news story. It’s utterly commonplace and of zero value as news or anything else.

Mute Al coholic
    Favourite Al coholic
    Sep 7th 2014, 9:59 PM

Then why did you read it and feel the need to comment on it??

Mute alandel
    Favourite alandel
    Sep 7th 2014, 7:59 PM

I’m surprised nobody has mentioned just how far this guy is punching above his weight. He’s had a proper result there. Credit where credit is due sir.

Mute Colette Hannon
    Favourite Colette Hannon
    Sep 7th 2014, 9:33 PM

seriously your man is a fine thing

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Sep 8th 2014, 10:34 AM

i’d say his credit wasn’t so bad by the looks of it, between properties maybe.

Mute Paul McMahon
    Favourite Paul McMahon
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:35 PM

Hardly newsworthy!!

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Sep 7th 2014, 7:08 PM

It’s barely even ‘Daily Edge’ worthy. Why shite like this is making it onto my news-feed is beyond me

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Sep 7th 2014, 11:49 PM

Who owns the journal?
    Daft media.
    This is a daft related story – we get them from time to time. What are you gonna do?

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Sep 7th 2014, 7:07 PM

Some people will piss and moan about anything… If you don’t think its newsworthy then don’t read it. The headline was pretty explanatory so why read and then why comment.

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:58 PM

Jesus relax everyone…

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Sep 7th 2014, 7:20 PM

Yeah don’t worry – all the nasty stories will be back.

Mute maria phelan
    Favourite maria phelan
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:45 PM

Same thing happened for me & my now 12yr hubbie. It didn’t make the news then! Slow news day I guess

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:58 PM

Maybe if TheJournal.ie was around 12 years ago, Maria ;)

Mute Ian Tanner
    Favourite Ian Tanner
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:52 PM

How is this news

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:55 PM

Hi Ian! We thought it was a sweet story – also we have a big range of stories on the site, so while this might not be hard news, it’s a nice colour feature.

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    Sep 7th 2014, 8:34 PM

No Aoife, there’s no colour there at all. It’s possibly the dullest, most inane piece I’ve ever read on this site.

Mute heyreilly
    Favourite heyreilly
    Sep 7th 2014, 8:39 PM

It’s not that everyone is commenting here because they’re bitter or don’t like a good love story. This just isn’t out of the ordinary at all. A lot of people know a couple who met this way.

Mute Bevin Reilly
    Favourite Bevin Reilly
    Sep 7th 2014, 10:11 PM

Colette. Interesting that several other people (guys) made similar comments to mine, however, you’re singling me out and resorting to school yard name calling. My comment didn’t insult anyone. Is that how you treat people with opposing opinions in court?

Mute Try me
    Favourite Try me
    Sep 8th 2014, 12:44 AM

Journal does not need colourful sweet story – It’s enough you are here with your sweetie colourful smile ;)

Mute Ross Casey
    Favourite Ross Casey
    Sep 7th 2014, 7:09 PM

It’s a lovely story.

Nice to read in the midst of war stories, shooting and sadness stories.

It’s a Sunday evening, relax.

Mute michaelhenry
    Favourite michaelhenry
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:36 PM

The best to the two of them- a room is empty now that they are sharing a bed- room for a cot or two in the years ahead-

Mute Peter Pan
    Favourite Peter Pan
    Sep 7th 2014, 11:47 PM

She’ll end up nagging him til he goes insane and when he asks her to leave shell throw him out of his own house. Thank god I have a spare room. That’s women for you

Mute Liam Sheahan
    Favourite Liam Sheahan
    Sep 7th 2014, 7:04 PM

Congratulations and best wishes to you both.

Mute William Cashman
    Favourite William Cashman
    Sep 7th 2014, 7:30 PM

If you have a problem with the story don’t bother reading it and if you can’t find anything else on the journal that interests you don’t bother looking it up. It’s not like you have to pay read any of the articles. It’s free so I don’t know why people are so cynical, go out and buy a news paper

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Sep 7th 2014, 7:30 PM

Very hard to please everybody. Maybe all you moaners out there prefer the tragic stories! Hard to understand how you would read the heading, then read the story knowing what it is about, and then moan.

Mute Kim Prylowski
    Favourite Kim Prylowski
    Sep 7th 2014, 6:47 PM

I think they’re saying daft.ie is also “find your future other half”.

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Sep 7th 2014, 8:10 PM

Whiskey tango foxtrot?

Mute Colette Hannon
    Favourite Colette Hannon
    Sep 7th 2014, 9:30 PM

This is a lovely story pity about all the bitter people out there, fair play nice to read some good news for a change and aren’t they one good looking couple, stunning the two of them.

Mute Margaret Martin
    Favourite Margaret Martin
    Sep 7th 2014, 10:02 PM

Lovely couple! I mean it sincerely.May you enjoy a long happy life together.

Mute ÉiRed
    Favourite ÉiRed
    Sep 7th 2014, 7:33 PM

Obviously she should have been renting a room in Israel,where the lodger had just arrived from fighting in Palestine and needed help putting up all his anti-Obama pictures in his room,when true love blossomed over adversity and religious division. Then this story would have a real place on the Journal

Mute Brent Sallinger
    Favourite Brent Sallinger
    Sep 7th 2014, 7:50 PM

A good news story but the moaners will still moan. You’ll never be happy. Ba humbug!!!

Mute Dónal O'Flynn
    Favourite Dónal O'Flynn
    Sep 7th 2014, 7:51 PM

What a nice story. I have no issue around whether it’s “newsworthy” as we’ve established above that it isn’t.

However, I don’t understand why ye don’t run stories advertising Daft in the same way as sponsored stories from outside advertisers like Centra/Eason etc. I don’t think there would be any complaints if it was handled that way.

Mute Caroline aMarie
    Favourite Caroline aMarie
    Sep 7th 2014, 10:11 PM

Wonderful story .Wishing them every happiness.

Mute Fox Trot
    Favourite Fox Trot
    Sep 7th 2014, 9:27 PM

Yawn already, and this is interesting because????

Mute Steven Hillert
    Favourite Steven Hillert
    Sep 8th 2014, 12:31 AM

Good on him he got a lot for his money there. A nice house a cracking looking woman and happily ever after. If only I could find that someone special it’s no fun being on your own in life

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Sep 8th 2014, 12:55 AM

I hope Fiona was a Registered LandLord and made her tax returns & paid any tax due.
    I hope Mike claimed his Rent Allowance ……. Now there’s a Loophole.

Mute bettyswollox69
    Favourite bettyswollox69
    Sep 8th 2014, 5:05 AM

Hi Aoife, thanks for putting this nice story on the agenda today, you’re dead right, never mind the whingers, everyone should enjoy a happy buzz from time to time…

Mute Inntalitarian
    Favourite Inntalitarian
    Sep 7th 2014, 7:00 PM

This is a great idea in fairness

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Sep 7th 2014, 9:44 PM

You would see this type of story in the Sun or Star any day of the week but even though the Journal isn’t a rag, why not here?

Mute Spud
    Favourite Spud
    Sep 8th 2014, 7:23 AM

You can’t please everyone, it seems. Whatever the motivation for the story was, it was a cool, feel good story, which makes a nice change to stories about beheadings or Phil Hogan.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Sep 8th 2014, 5:46 PM

Wow, he is seriously punching above his weight here with this girl.