You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Kate Korgan/RollingNews.ie

'There will be many, in every part of Irish life, who will miss Marian’s voice': The week in quotes

Here’s what was said and who said what this week.

download (8) Mallow Autograss Mallow Autograss

Years and years of hard work has being put in by many many people over the years to get us to where we are today. And all to be destroyed within hours by toe rags.

A Facebook post by Mallow Autograss – a non-profit motorsport club – after their property was vandalised.

amy-fitz-2

Today I want to appeal to Amy’s friends. They are a little bit older now and probably have children of their own and possibly have information that could lead us to Amy and bring her home. I beg you – please come forward and let’s bring Amy home.

Christopher Fitzpatrick, the father of missing Irish girl Amy Fitzpatrick, appealed for information on the 12th anniversary of her disappearance.

fulham-v-stoke-city-sky-bet-championship-craven-cottage EMPICS Sport EMPICS Sport

James has been subjected to this type of vile abuse throughout his career, and he will be fully supported in the same way as any other individual who receives abuse based on their race, religion or nationality.

The Professional Footballers’ Association has pledged its support to James McClean following the latest bout of sectarian abuse aimed at the Republic of Ireland winger while he was on club duty.

HSE Ireland / YouTube

One of the things that’s kind of kept us going is to heart that he has a young daughter himself. So I do think of her life and how her life is so much better by the fact that her dad isn’t constantly in hospital on dialysis, in and out for tests, and is living a much happier life because of Matilda’s kidneys.

Rebecca Maher appealed for more people to become organ donors, sharing the story of her daughter Matilda.

Guardian News / YouTube

We lose patience many times. It happens to me too.

Pope Francis apologised for slapping the hand of a woman who grabbed his hand on New Year’s Eve.

taoiseach 260_90587407 Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

We’re not going to allow football in Ireland to fail but we need to get it right because I don’t think the taxpayer would like us to take on the debts, liabilities and pension costs that aren’t theirs.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar on whether or not to bail out the FAI.

marian-finucane-rte-radio-presenters-portrait-landscape-headphones Kate Korgan / RollingNews.ie Kate Korgan / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

There will be many, in every part of Irish life, who will miss Marian’s voice.

President Michael D Higgins paid tribute to RTÉ presenter Marian Finucane, who passed away suddenly this week.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

11 Comments
    Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Oct 24th 2012, 4:52 PM

3 Pages? I could have helped Lenihan chop the letter explaining why Ireland needed a bailout down to a single sentence:

“Ireland needs a bailout due to my party putting its own best interests and interests of its friends ahead of our country.”

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 24th 2012, 5:57 PM

Sorry Gavan – still can’t get it :-(

Mute Rory Conway
    Favourite Rory Conway
    Oct 24th 2012, 4:37 PM

The letter is dated 21st Nov. 2010. Anyone recall the date of the interview with Dermot Ahearn and Noel whathisname where they vigorously denied that an Intervention was sought ? Just looking for info.

Mute Conor Farrell
    Favourite Conor Farrell
    Oct 24th 2012, 4:58 PM

Looks like it was in the days before November 15.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1114/okeefeb.html

Mute Yellow Elk
    Favourite Yellow Elk
    Oct 24th 2012, 5:05 PM
    Mute The kop
    Favourite The kop
    Oct 24th 2012, 5:24 PM

The letter is a response to a missive from Jean-Claude Trichet, the president of the ECB at the time, who had written to Lenihan two days previously…… this is the letter we need to see…. what was it that Trichet said to Lenihan…what pressure did EU put on our Government…..

Mute Rory Conway
    Favourite Rory Conway
    Oct 24th 2012, 5:26 PM

Well done on the dates guys. Seems like Nov 12 wins. I was referring to the interview if Ahern and Dempsey. their intrview was , it seems , 9 days before the request. Ought they to known the state of affairs by then. Keep sleuthing and maybe we will get to the end of this point. I feel that they ought to have known 9 days in advance. That is what Cabinet is about. It would be conspiracy theory to say they did not. Next , when did all the appointments to State Boards begin ? Anyone ?

Mute Rory Conway
    Favourite Rory Conway
    Oct 24th 2012, 5:35 PM

Well done The kop. Now it’s down to 7 days after the Ahern/Dempsey. Was that letter you refer to , in response to an earlier letter ? Still just trying to pin down dates. No agenda other than at the time I thout their statements odd. Does not matter if I am right or wrong. Anyone?

Mute The kop
    Favourite The kop
    Oct 24th 2012, 5:52 PM

i think Rory that as you say their statement were a bit odd…. really i think what we need more than anything is to see what letters etc came from EU…..what was it that Jean-Claude Trichet said to Brian Lenihan….while i doubt very much that Dermot Ahearn and others didn’t know the shite was about to hit the fan…maybe though at the time of their interviews us asking for a bailout wasn’t on the table… but whatever it was the EU/Jean-Claude Trichet said to lenihan left us with no choice but take “the Bailout”…. maybe….just maybe we were bounced in to it….to save the EU/Euro from collapse……

Mute Rory Conway
    Favourite Rory Conway
    Oct 24th 2012, 6:07 PM

The Kop. Maybe but is the time frame not indicating to the contrary? It would be of great assistance if the Dept would act responsibly and , having released the Lenihan letter of Nov 21 , would release all relevant correspondence . You and I and the other taxpayers are paying for this “party”. It really seems unreasonable that this I’d like extracting teeth from a shark. I just want to know ,as a fact , not surmise, if we were told the truth and if we were not told the truth , why are we paying pensions to miscreants and why they got golden handshakes. If we were , in fact , told the truth , we have to live with it. We are down to a few days now.

Mute Conor Farrell
    Favourite Conor Farrell
    Oct 24th 2012, 4:42 PM

“THE THREE-PAGE LETTER you see below was written by the late Brian Lenihan…”

Not seeing any letter – can anyone else see it?

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm

It was written in invisible ink, I think.

Mute Robert Parsons
    Favourite Robert Parsons
    Oct 24th 2012, 4:49 PM

nope cant see any letter

Mute Tom Leddy
    Favourite Tom Leddy

Click where it say Brian Lenihan letter released just above the ‘post comment’ button. The letter is there.

Mute Conor Farrell
    Favourite Conor Farrell
    Oct 24th 2012, 4:56 PM

That’s the one-page letter where he formally applied. The three-page letter that this article mentions is the reasoning behind it.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Oct 24th 2012, 5:21 PM

Sorry lads – it accidentally got chopped out when we were fixing a small technical glitch. It’s back in there now.

Mute Conor Farrell
    Favourite Conor Farrell
    Oct 24th 2012, 5:23 PM

Nice one! Thanks Gavan!

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 24th 2012, 5:18 PM

By the expression on Jean-Claude Trichet’s face in the photo he didn’t see the 3 page letter either

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Oct 24th 2012, 5:34 PM

Lenihan was trying to put an overly positive spin on things, just like Kenny these days.

Mute Una Dev
    Favourite Una Dev
    Oct 24th 2012, 6:02 PM

Thank the people who voted them into office.

Mute Una Dev
    Favourite Una Dev

Frog Trichet.

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Oct 24th 2012, 5:15 PM

I must be right thick , I cant find the letter either :-(

Mute stephen cullen
    Favourite stephen cullen
    Oct 24th 2012, 11:35 PM

€56 Billion has gone in to irish banks, MY GOD!!!

Mute Keith Graham
    Favourite Keith Graham
    Oct 24th 2012, 7:00 PM

Interesting to note that in Lenihan’s letter to Trichet (top page 3) that he expected, and with some reason to do so, that there would “be significant and restructuring measures” in respect of the financial sectors. One can imagine, Trichet, having bounced the State this far, taking out the fine gold pen, and striking out that line, and passing it down the line – ” no bondholders to be burned. Which of us will break it to him ? “

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy

Fail.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy

Ah, there it is.

Mute Clive Hand
    Favourite Clive Hand
    Oct 24th 2012, 5:09 PM

@ Gavin – where is the 3 page letter explaining the rational for the decision. Sorry I am clicking on the links I can not find it.

Mute Gavan Reilly
    Favourite Gavan Reilly
    Oct 24th 2012, 5:19 PM

Sorry folks – the letter was originally embedded earlier, but got cut out when we were making a few minor edits. It’s back in there again – it should appear in a little frame close to the bottom of the story.

Mute Clive Hand
    Favourite Clive Hand
    Oct 25th 2012, 5:03 PM

@ Gavin – Thank you very much for getting the letter up there. Well done on your efforts to obtain these letters. Please keep pursuing them until you guys get the rest of them. People of this country deserve to know the truth behind what really happened.

Mute Yoyo
    Favourite Yoyo
    Oct 24th 2012, 4:51 PM

Click on link