You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Ezzolo

Wet weekend ahead with plenty of showers forecast among sunny spells

Two rainfall warnings were issued yesterday and it now looks like the rain is set to stay for the coming days.

AFTER HEAVY DOWNPOURS overnight, the weekend isn’t looking much drier with showers and outbreaks of rain forecast for the days ahead.

Following a period of drought that led to Met Éireann issuing warnings for a lack of rain less than 10 days ago, two rainfall warnings were issued yesterday.

It now looks like the rain is set to stay for the coming days.

Met Éireann says it will be mostly cloudy this morning with outbreaks of rain but there will be sunshine for a time before more scattered showers arrive.

Rain will continue in northern counties for much of the day with highest temperatures of 14 to 18 degrees.

Tonight will start off mainly dry but rain will develop along the south coast towards midnight and will spread over much of Munster and Leinster overnight.

The rain is expected to clear tomorrow morning and it will be bright with sunny spells.

But it won’t last for long as showers or longer spells of rain will develop in the afternoon and will spread to all areas in the evening.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

17 Comments
    Mute paul starrs
    Favourite paul starrs
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:39 PM

considering ive skipped through three quarters of that id say laziness!

Mute Owen Brady
    Favourite Owen Brady
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:54 PM

Divided we fall……..urban against rural, public sector against private sector, untrusted union leadership. Nobody in the country has managed to unite the sectors to enable mass protest to take place.

Mute Soneps
    Favourite Soneps
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:00 PM

The protest on OConnell bridge on Wednesday before last was a resounding success.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:08 PM

If you are from the real ira

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:11 PM

Thats intentional.

Mute davidsheridan32
    Favourite davidsheridan32
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:14 PM

The headline asks, why don’t we protest more. The reason, I’m guessing is that anytime there is a protest, the majority of people – especially on here, scoff at them and tell them to get a job. A case of damned if you do and damned if you don’t!

Mute margaret
    Favourite margaret
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:17 PM

Absolutely! And also the fact that we borrow billions to pay the social welfare bill, billions to pay public sector bill and billions to pay public pensions. These are the people who have the time to take to streets but their essential needs are taken care of. Ibother words, they are not hungry enough. The middle, coping classes are too busy keeping their heads above water to take to the streets, they don’t have the time, and their priorities are survival,for which they only look to themselves.

Mute Toirealach
    Favourite Toirealach
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:18 PM

Here’s plenty of good ways to peacefully protest if anyone is interested and looking for ideas.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nonviolent_resistance

Mute Theresa Carter
    Favourite Theresa Carter
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:31 PM
    Matt
    Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:38 PM

They want to save the NHS. But they cannot afford it. £110 billion this year to run it, £130 billion next year. It’s unsustainable. The NHS will be gone in 10 years. Those that can afford to pay will have to.

Mute Solbank Sabadell
    Favourite Solbank Sabadell
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:15 PM

You could get over the not protesting but voting for the austerity treaty was pretty shamefully, I would not be shocked if we are stupid enough to give up democracy a little more by getting rid of sheanad and shamefully speeding up repossessions and poverty by voting for dodgy bankers court. We even accept blatant corruption like joe Costellos wife in Europe unelected and his sister in law given judges job. We have Sean Ryan in high court with no due process blatant misguided corruption. Stupid doesn’t cover it.

Mute Katriona Wallace
    Favourite Katriona Wallace
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:17 PM

I get E3.775/hr for 40 hr week on social welfare, where is the incentive not to work there? I did protest, indeed was one of half a dozen when the IMF marched into town. There were no unfortunate working class or middle willing to fight their corner.
    Give my head peace. The reason why Irish people won’t protest is clearly demonstrated by the content of the comments posted here.

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Sep 29th 2013, 11:37 PM

The people who are taking the brunt are the low paid who can’t take time away from their jovs because they won’t be paid , they are working longer hours and just don’t have the time to go out on the streets. The other sectors in the community are still doing well and maintaining the standard of living they always had !

Mute Alan Grouse
    Favourite Alan Grouse
    Sep 30th 2013, 4:45 AM

Ireland has gone to the dogs.

People who would take a stand would be and are attacked from the sidelines by others who should be marching alongside them! We all know those people.

The government and their families live in another world, they are not concerned with any interests other than their own. History has shown us that this and the previous government are more inclined to follow the orders and wishes of foreign banks, businesses and governments rather than the people who elected them.

The bailouts, repayments of unsecured bonds, the complete and utter BS rhetoric from Kenny telling europe that the irish people ”lived beyond their means”, the attacks on the most vulnerable in society cutting the disability payments, severing funding to vital sectors and services, hijacking the high emigration figure to fool people that the unemployment numbers are going down thanks to their work, the anglo tapes and not one prosecution of any of the leading architects of this mess…. Honestly people have been killed for less.

Ireland is a wonderful country but run but incompetent, corrupt puppets who are nothing more than lapdogs and instead of fighting for the people they are meant to represent, many politicians look to appease and gather praise from those really running the show in europe.

I return to Ireland every year to see family friends and enjoy the wonders of our great country but i will more than likely never return to live there. Too much potential found elsewhere.

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Sep 30th 2013, 9:12 AM

We don’t protest because it requires thinking. We Irish will do almost anything to avoid that. Because someone might ask us why we think what we do. And we don’t know.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:59 PM

We have become a country of mé féinners basically and are easily bought my the mainstream media message and political spin. Simples

Mute Renee Eccles Meighan
    Favourite Renee Eccles Meighan
    Sep 30th 2013, 6:03 PM

its because there is a silence from the media only facebook users n
    knew about it

Mute Shane Brady
    Favourite Shane Brady
    Oct 1st 2013, 2:55 AM

Not only do most Irish people not protest, they heckle, abuse and poke fun at anyone who does.

I was involved in Occupy Dame Street, and I had to spend much of my time fending off charges that I was a lazy, dole scamming crustie (I had a haircut you could set your watch by, and had never drawn welfare), or answering questions as to why we weren’t out in the poor neighbourhoods mobilizing the masses there.

There was quite a bit of solidarity from many members of the public, but the most vocal were malicious, nasty and extremely negative – especially the country folk.

Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:41 PM

God bless Iceland. The people there are an inspiration.

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:59 PM

I was there when they were protesting in Iceland. Ordinary people stayed protesting beating their pots and pans 24 hours a day in the square outside parliament.

I also remember thinking that this would not happen in Ireland. They were furious and seemed to grasp the consequences of what happened so much quicker and better than we did.

Mute Genius
    Favourite Genius
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:42 PM

People didn’t protest because of Stupidity and Comfortable Farmers, Cut grants and EU funding then see what happens.

Mute Ben Reilly
    Favourite Ben Reilly
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:02 PM

I just love Jack O’Connor fighting for the ordinary workers rights on his 128k salary !! Yes lads 2.4 grand a week !!!

Mute Ryan Stewart
    Favourite Ryan Stewart
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:05 PM

Closer to 370k when the perks
    are added on

Mute Theresa Carter
    Favourite Theresa Carter
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:45 PM

get a space on xfactor ads to tell the country. Would it get them off their asses?

Mute Aidan Byrne
    Favourite Aidan Byrne
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:40 PM

He is a horrible man. Can’t stand him.

Mute Renee Eccles Meighan
    Favourite Renee Eccles Meighan
    Sep 30th 2013, 6:07 PM

he no were hjs bread and butter is the sap was part of siptu all my life put don’t like them now

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:16 PM

I went on the march against the banks a few years back and remember people out shopping getting very angry with us because we had occupied the road and they couldn’t cross…that along with car drivers not looking impressed. These people live in their own bubbles and more likely don’t take any interest in the news or politics. Sat at home every night watching soaps and sport…too many ill informed zombies that’s the problem

Mute Ben Reilly
    Favourite Ben Reilly
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:53 PM

I agree Paul, the problem is people with plenty of money don’t see any recession, if you are retired PS worker on a 50k pension with no mortgage – then the recession has virtually no effect on your standard of living in fact, because some of the prices have come down your are Better off !!! Go figure

Mute YouNeek
    Favourite YouNeek
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:54 PM

Like yourself

Mute Larry Roe
    Favourite Larry Roe
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:11 PM

i work ,pay my taxes but will continue to protest as often as i can against the injustice done to the irish people..this is not our debt

Mute YouNeek
    Favourite YouNeek
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:54 PM

Eh but it is

Mute fiona fitzpatrick
    Favourite fiona fitzpatrick
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:06 PM

What about us? The Ballyhea Says no group has been the most consistent protest against the bank debt and resulting consequences and has been joined by groups in ratoath, Tralee, Dublin, west cork, clonmel, nenagh, Kilkenny, Killarney, limerick, Donegal etc etc Media ignores! On top of taking protest to Brussels, we met ECB officials. Did Irish media report? no.We submitted petition to European Parliament. Only the Irish Examiner covered it. Lots of Irish people are protesting and mainstream media ignores-doesn’t mean it isn’t happening

Mute Fintan Yetti Crerand
    Favourite Fintan Yetti Crerand
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:26 PM

Im sure the Icelandic people had jobs 2 and still protested. Also when people say we were all partying during the Celtic tiger thats bullshit used by the d4 contingent to justify their ostentatious and sickening lifestyles at the expense of ordinary irish working class

Mute patjudge
    Favourite patjudge
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:58 PM

fair play to yuod i will post your facbook page,

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:06 PM

Trade unions are totally ineffectual in organizing protest events. It’s overpaid leaders are rightly perceived as being part of the gombeen element that has infected every element of Irish life. The inability to explain and properly account for the €4.4 million SIPTU Slush Fund which was used in a manner that would put the most junket addicted politician to shame has shown this in stark detail. There’s also the perception that a less active approach has been adopted by union management in the hope that the investigation by the Public Accounts Committee (Political Establishment) into the misuse of these funds might be toned down.
    All in all the position of the unions in effectively representing the interests of it’s members & the public has been usurped by the greed of union management.
    Oh, some unions close connection with the Labour Party don’t help a lot either!

Mute Hakuin Murphy
    Favourite Hakuin Murphy
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:45 PM

I was going to make a passionate plea for more direct protest, but X Factor is still on. I’ll get around to it……

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:59 PM

We’ll wait. It’ll be grand.

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Favourite Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:09 PM

That book on the soul of Irish indifference sounds really interesting. Can’t wait to read it. I think the author identified a key Irish trait. On the outside we seem very friendly and emotional but at the end of the day we do just care about number one. We don’t have a strong sense of collective responsibility.

Mute guardian
    Favourite guardian
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:43 PM

Id say it’s more that we see a reality. I mean what good had it done the greeks or Spanish? Egypt was stupid example Muslims protest if you look sideways from Mecca

We got ourselves into this as a society. Yes im talking to you mr selling my house in 06 for 450k when it was 50k punts when you got it. People bleeding people dry. Banks being epically greedy and forcing prices up but 100% mortgages.

WE ALL SCREWED UP and we all have to pay the piper. Sure its unfair as that person who took 450k off you has no mortgage and feeling no pain like you or me. Sure the developers have been left walk. How do you get justice? You vote, better yet spoil vote. If the vast vsdt majority spoiled votes in election its voids it and then you see sweating ;)

But petrol bombs at police fueling extremist and false hope parties like golden dawn in Greece or SF here does not help and only prolongs it. Do you see Germans protesting? No they just get out and work and turn country into the power house it is less then a century are bring decimated.

Mute Tim Higgins
    Favourite Tim Higgins
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:49 PM

Is that you Edna?

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:50 PM

I was never involved in a 440bn bailout to save the Irish elite.

You can shove your we are all to blame up your jacksy.

Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:51 PM

SF an extremist party? And Germans do protest about many issues.their unemployment is the lowest of any European country & their exports are doing well.they are benefitting off everyone else’s misery.the quicker the EUSSR collapses the better for the rest of the countries.even though Germans are doing well many still want their Deutsch mark back.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:55 PM

Guardian, what about those of us who didnt buy or sell property then?

Mute Hakuin Murphy
    Favourite Hakuin Murphy
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:01 PM

We ALL partied….
    Maybe you did. I wasn’t even in the goddam country, and those who will be paying this off weren’t even born.
    Go wear your chains somewhere else Matt Talbot….

Matt
    Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:04 PM

The greeks got a write down on it’s debts. The spanish got a much better deal than the irish. It’s bank debts were not added to it’s national debt.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:05 PM

And what about people who believe in peaceful protest?

Mute Toirealach
    Favourite Toirealach
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:19 PM

Plenty of peaceful protests that worked here

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nonviolent_resistance

Mute Ibhar Mac Suibhne
    Favourite Ibhar Mac Suibhne
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:25 PM

Ah Hakuin Murphy !

Seeing through FG , FF, Labor Recession propaganda.
    Lesson 1:-

Some of us may have partied…but partied their way into private debt !
    All during the septic tiger we had very low levels of public or ‘sovereign’ debt. The Irish Exchequer was rich up to the ball out.
    Bailing out the banks bankrupt the country – now we have massive ‘Public debt’….That’s why there is such massive cut backs and austerity- due to THE BANK BAILOUT…not because individual levels of debt.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:36 PM

Yes but they didn’t guaranteed their banks to 440 beeeeeelion did they?

Mute Andrew Cross
    Favourite Andrew Cross
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:20 PM

i was in Germany during the summer ,points i noted all the supermarkets are closed on sundays ,including aldi ,lidi, most garages are closed ,as sunday is considered a family day ,you are not allowed to work on bank holidays ,so where people get the idea that the germans work 24/7 i dont know ,I DID NOT PARTY during the septic tiger ,no foreign holidays ,or shopping trips to new york ,but we the people are paying for the stupidity and the greed of the few ,bankers ,politicians ,senior civil servants most who have been paid off with big pensions ,,any other country there would be a revolution ,the fighting irish ,ha maybe with drink in them

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:03 PM

Eh, a servile media? A media implicated and intrinsically tied up in property itself for investment didn’t appear on the list? The fact the IT bought Myhome.ie for 50 million, Daft owns the Journal {I think} so the property market is equally if not more important. Crosbie holdings much the same. How odd that would be missing from the above list eh?

Mute Arthur Callaghan
    Favourite Arthur Callaghan
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:22 PM

when the dole gets cut then you see

Mute Frank Lennon
    Favourite Frank Lennon
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:28 PM

Yep. Never ceases to amaze me these days why a majority of people seem to be just sitting on their hands and sucking up every ounce of the extra layers of double and some times treble taxation which this present arrogant administration has thrown at them for the last five years and continues to throw at them. One case in point of double taxation if the LPT (Local Property Tax). An unjust, unfair and immoral tax on Family Homes which takes no account of ability to pay. The forerunner of LPT was the hated and ever upward moving Domestic Rates which an earlier generation saw the back of through relentless political protest. Protest against Domestic Rates was so strong and so sustained that at the point of their eventual abolition not one Political Party nor one Independent TD in Dail Eireann had any fundamental objection to their removal. In the wake of the removal of Domestic Rates VAT Rates were moved up several percentage points to compensate for cessation of revenue from rates. Were VAT rates reduced in tandem with the introduction of LPT? I think not. Hence: DOUBLE TAXATION. LPT was a political choice plain and simple. There were revenue generating alternatives but this administration chose to ignore them in favour of easier targets i.e. middle and lower income families. What was clearly identified as being an unjust, unfair and immoral tax by a previous generation has absolutely no justification for being back on the stature again. There have indeed been protests by various groupings against this financial blood sucking LPT but unfortunately not large enough nor sustained enough to be taken seriously. It won’t be long before yet another double taxation will be heading our way in the form of water charges, a service which you already pay for through existing taxation. I can remember massive protest marches back in the 1980′s; marches which had impact and were noticed. When will the tipping point for this era arrive? When will the sleeping giant of people power awake from its slumber?

Mute Lucy Nevins
    Favourite Lucy Nevins
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:52 PM

Because of work commitments and my kids I just can’t make it to protests! I’ve been to local ones about non closure of A&E but other than that I just can’t make the time to travel to Dublin!

Mute james cullen
    Favourite james cullen
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:58 PM

Why are people not out cos those of us who are lucky to have jobs need them and are working more hours to keep them.

Mute Jonnybannon
    Favourite Jonnybannon
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:50 PM

The irish don’t protest because the only ones suffering through this recession have to work every day and haven’t the time.

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:36 PM

Next election will be interesting.
    That’s the sleeping giant the government is ignoring.

Matt
    Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:49 PM

And my guess is they will vote FF back in. Let’s just wait and see.

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:02 PM

Don’t think so FF, FG, Greens and Labour have destroyed this country.Greed and self interest.
    Politics in this country stinks.

Mute Tigerisinthezoo
    Favourite Tigerisinthezoo
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:12 PM

Be interesting to see what happens. FF seem to be back and are currently holding their support at the same level as FG at around 27%. Sinn Féin will likely poll 20% of the vote and could pick up a lot of transfers. So will FF go into gov with Sinn Féin or into gov with FG where they would be the minority party and if they have learnt anything from recent times the small party in gov doesn’t do too well.
    A FF led gov with Sinn Féin is a real possibility.

Matt
    Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:14 PM

That leaves SF.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:45 PM

There is no “sleeping giant” Damien. Not in this country. The only people who can protest in this country without being savaged by everyone else are the farmers, and to a lesser extent the disabled and the elderly. I am not criticizing these groups, fair play yo them,merely stating a fact. Even on this comment board people continually call for protest and an equal or greater number slag them for doing so. Add to that the absence of any social solidarity, each segment of society having been set against the other, and our masters have won -they have a completely cowed and beaten population. Fear is our enemy, fear of looking foolish, fear of disapproval etc. The Icelanders probably knew they looked stupid but they got their message across to their own shower of shitbags.

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:46 PM

Independents.
    Getting elected to the Dail is like winning the lottery nice to give the cash wind fall to independents they can’t do any worst than what’s there at the moment.

Mute Tigerisinthezoo
    Sep 29th 2013, 11:00 PM

Independents are a waste of time in general. Mick Wallace et al. They will never offer a lot. Most of them are voted in on local issues. I read in the Sunday Times today how FG/Labour senators are up in arms with Enda’s proposal to scrap the Seanad and are threatening to delay all legislation after/if the Seanad is abolished. FG could be killing the retirement home of their existing TDs.

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    Sep 29th 2013, 11:33 PM

Well said have to agree with you doesn’t give us much hope.

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Sep 29th 2013, 11:45 PM

They’ll all be on €3000 a week after the next election so won’t be bothered about winning seats just like the last outgoing Gov !

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    Sep 29th 2013, 11:58 PM

The crowd we have at the moment are doing a great job.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Sep 30th 2013, 5:10 AM

Don’t you realise yet that the election is just part of the bread and circuses routine? Look at what happened last time. Some big change, yeah right!

Mute Gary Curran Himself
    Favourite Gary Curran Himself
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:45 PM

The protest is happening every day silently through the mass emigration of those who already have jobs . That silent revolution is louder than any protest outside Leinster House

Matt
    Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:48 PM

I know 4 people that left Ireland in the last 2 years and they all had a job before they left.

Mute jom eade
    Favourite jom eade
    Sep 30th 2013, 3:19 AM

To many, it isn’t worthwile making a ‘living’ in order to live to work, be taxed to the hilt and have meagre services and ameanities etc for the displeasure!

Mute benny dowling
    Favourite benny dowling
    Sep 30th 2013, 9:00 AM

Silence is exactly what the government requires…out of sight out of mind…

Matt
    Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:44 PM

Lazy. Sadly.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim

Plus I don’t like pepper spray.

Mute Jay Warner
    Favourite Jay Warner
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:18 PM

The Gards are the enforcers for the government and not the protectors of the citizens, which means that, any protest is met with the threat of violence and arrest at the government’s will. That is of course when they are not collecting revenue for the same government in tax checkpoints etc. All so that there is more money to hand over to the Germans like the good little servants that we are. Normal people who have jobs are trying to earn enough money to pay our taxes and bills ave no money left at the end of every week or month for anything else at all. Income tax may not have risen but we are veryng drowned in new taxes and increases on others outstrip our ability to earn enough money to pay them leading to the inexorable road to criminalising the population in general.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:29 PM

I’ll happily pay more tax, to teach you to punctuate your sentences!

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:09 PM

Is it because despite austerity, peoples circumstances are still better than those in Iceland, Greece or Spain. That even in the face of cuts, when compared to other PIG country’s, Irish people fare better. In other words, is it possible, it could be worse…

Mute Ryan Stewart
    Favourite Ryan Stewart
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:15 PM

Who are you trying to fool???

Mute YouNeek
    Favourite YouNeek
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:53 PM

@ Ryan, look at how the Spanish and Greeks are faring, their unemployment rate is twice ours. They don’t have such a generous welfare state supporting the less well off. Iceland has its own central bank and currency so any comparison is nonsense. They could do a lot of their deleveraging externally, we can’t.

Mute Adrian de Cleir
    Favourite Adrian de Cleir
    Sep 29th 2013, 11:19 PM

Couldn’t agree more OReilly, we automatically make it out to be a bad thing that we are all not out protesting.

But for me it seems completely and utterly obvious, the standard of living is still high enough to be simply not too bothered.

And I really can’t see how that can be a bad thing.

Where there is serious poverty in this country, there was during the boom anyway.

Where there are people who have been highly affected, they may not have time, which kind of tells me they still have more important things in their life to worry about. And frankly I think that’s a good thing.

And one last point, we are all in this messy situation together, no matter who caused it, as much as we are tempted to blame blame blame, we have shown a great deal or dignity in not firing petrol bombs at guards.

PS, before you judge me I attended several protests from 2008 to 2011 and this is when I started to form this opinion.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 29th 2013, 11:51 PM

Far too simplistic Adrian.

The answer is very simple. No leader. No one individual for people to rally behind. Every film needs a director. We don’t have one.

Mute Dane Tyghe
    Favourite Dane Tyghe
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:31 PM

Probably one reason is that irish people are great keyboard warrior’s. They will protest and complain online at locations like the journal.ie (often anonymously under a fake profile by the way) but not out on the street. Probably a mixture of embarrassment, apathy and a realisation that not much can be achieved since the troika are in charge.

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:51 PM

Wrecking cities won’t help anyone.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning

I don’t think that is said anywhere in the article, unless I missed it?

Mute Red Army
    Favourite Red Army
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:03 PM

Its been a shit five years but we will come back bigger, better and stronger

Mute RiobairdOMaingain
    Favourite RiobairdOMaingain
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:43 PM

Its simple,pack of whingers who are much happier to whinge and moan and fight amongst themselves than do anything productive.

Mute Tigerisinthezoo
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:26 PM

I think leadership is definitely an issue. No person on the Left has the sort of charisma to attract people and make them question what is happening. We are also coming off a base where everyone was doing pretty well.
    Even if you are not working the dole is still very attractive for many people. The cost of food is also low – a weekly shop in Aldi for €50. You can buy 20 bottles of beer in the same place for the same price. Why would you need to protest?
    I think people are unsure of what cost and burden we should bear? Should we bear the burden of Anglo or the other banks – as afterall they were our own banks.
    I do agree with a point above about the media. Media plays a huge role in initiating these things yet the media were one of the central players in the whole mess. They gorged on property advertising during the boom – a property supplement in the paper every day and a property editor. RTE running shows about buying property abroad.
    I think in Ireland we have never had a true Left in terms of politics. Even the Labour party has never reached out into the countryside and have always relied on transfers to elect people.
    I also don’t think it is cool among young people to discuss politics or their economy. Pop culture and football are the religions.
    I think a lot of people also understand that there is no game in town until we balance our budget and the 5 year plan of cuts prepared people for that. Whether people will be prepared for what follows we will have to see.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:11 AM

@ tigerisinthezoo, anglo and the other banks were NOT ‘our banks ‘ they were privitly run institutions, run for shereholders profits and not for the good of the people, like any other private business they should have been left to go to the wall. the bank debt is NOT THE PEOPLES DEBT it was forced upon the people by incompetent and cowerdly government ministers who are more interested in keeping their cozy relationship with the financial institutions and the european gravy train than serving the people of this country.

Mute Donal Quigley
    Favourite Donal Quigley
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:21 PM

Most of us know blocking trafic achieves nothing more than a trafic jam. Perhaps the public is too smart to bother.

Mute Gerry
    Favourite Gerry
    Sep 29th 2013, 8:54 PM

Yawn..,,,,,

Mute Jazz O'Gorman
    Favourite Jazz O'Gorman
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:34 PM

A big one.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:07 AM

jackasses and two big ones at that ye are

Mute Tom Harpur
    Favourite Tom Harpur
    Sep 29th 2013, 11:44 PM

Personally I think the reason why we the Irish don’t protest more apart from the fact there’s less of us here to protest is because it’s the fear of getting arrested and been vilified in your local newspaper or made look like a tool in court or if you do protest the protest becomes unruly because certain groups and sections of society see it better to be violent rather than bang pots
    Take for example the protesters who protest outside that manky fur shop opp Molly Malones
    1 they regularly get arrested
    2 intimidated by gardai
    3 recording equipment seized
    4 brought to court and fined
    5 stared at and looked down on probably by some reading this now

We all feel strongly about protesting and would like to but in reality from where I live to Dublin in €20 return on bus that €20 is better used paying a bill than protesting and for what

NOTHING WILL EVER CHANGE UNLESS WE CHANGE IT OURSELVES

ITS TIME FOR CHANGE !!!!

Mute W.j.d.
    Favourite W.j.d.
    Sep 29th 2013, 10:39 PM

Lame & limp…. The irish never protested, apart from 1916, which was a complete buck up, they are quiet happy to be led astray or up and down the garden path…. Depending on the hangover….

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Sep 30th 2013, 8:12 AM

1916 uprising was carried out by a comparatively tiny group of people who didn’t have the support of the public and in fact were spat upon by the public after they were captured.

Mute Jazz O'Gorman
    Favourite Jazz O'Gorman
    Sep 29th 2013, 9:33 PM

Why protest more, when you get buckets of money for sitting on your Tod.

Mute Emmett O'Reilly
    Favourite Emmett O'Reilly
    Sep 30th 2013, 2:30 PM

What are you on, man and what’s the colour of the sky, in your world?

Mute Sean Bambi Keeling
    Favourite Sean Bambi Keeling
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:23 AM

I’m certainly not in the 1% bracket but I wishb the 99% people would stop lumping us alltogether, don’t want them Repsenting me

Mute YouNeek
    Favourite YouNeek
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:00 AM

I personally would protest for the right to save for your future and have those savings as secure as possible and to provide for your children’s future

Mute benny dowling
    Favourite benny dowling
    Sep 30th 2013, 8:56 AM

Disillusion with the political system as a whole and a hangover from english colonialism….the prevailing attitude is a shrug of the shoulders followed by what can we do about it

Mute Fergus Mooney
    Favourite Fergus Mooney
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:03 PM

To much fluoride in the water .
    This does wonders for subduing the mass’s and kills the rebelliousness of the person and mind…

Do not comment to this statement unless you have done some research on what I’m talking about.

There is NO need for fluoridation in water It is no good for your teeth either,
    look at the States in the good ole US of A where the majority of peoples are African American,
    The governments also keeps the Blacks down by Fluoride, Pumping drugs into their communities, dividing and conquering the Mass’s,

as I have said earlier, please do not comment on this statement unless you have a working brain !!!

Mute Linda Munnelly
    Favourite Linda Munnelly
    Sep 30th 2013, 2:46 PM

if you all remember,thousands of people lost their jobs only in recent year and are still losing jobs..If you still have a job,well good for you,Your the lucky ones..But remember if things go on the way they are,and nothing is done about it..You could be the next person Queing up for your dole very soon.And not by choice like ye seem to think people on the dole are doing?And getting back about going out protesting .what is going on in this country affects everyone.So everyone should be out standing together against this government.!!

Mute Joseph Wearen
    Favourite Joseph Wearen
    Sep 30th 2013, 3:09 PM

Oh Linda. Oh dearie me. You can see the “big “picture” and it’s implications. Expect to be torn apart by the journalistas for daring to air such a view in public. Ten green thumbs from me. (I plucked that figure out of my ‘arris).

Mute dav O
    Favourite dav O
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:51 PM

PART 2-2

Then there was a global financial crash and the Celtic Tiger was gone. The recession hit everyone (with the exception of the super rich) but as the Celtic Tiger had inflated most people’s livelihoods there was a drop in everyone’s future. People started losing their businesses. This pushed many of the working class people who had moved up to middle class back to working class and it also created an employment vacuum. The amount of jobs available bombed while the number of people looking for work skyrocketed. This pushed many people who had been totally self sufficient to seek financial support from the government. Most of middle class were hit by the recession too but the majority weathered the storm and kept their heads just above water therefore keeping their businesses. Later as the recession eased people started spending again so the middle class business owners started to see people spending. So the middle class don’t hurt as much as the working class do right now. So now the middle class will not protest and as is human nature they are critical of anyone jeopardising the recovery that they are seeing in their businesses. Now we have a situation with regard to protesting where, as many commenters on here have pointed out, you’re damned if you do and you’re damned if you don’t. The super rich elite have us fighting amongst ourselves and as long as this continues our situation will never change.

Mute Emmett O'Reilly
    Sep 30th 2013, 2:26 PM

Ireland is a Conformist society, some of this is due to Catholicism, some due to Colonialism. Protest is seen as immature, supporting the status quo as “grown-up”. We should also acknowledge that we are Conservative and Right-wing in our political views and deeply cynical in our attitudes to the whole concept of movement to a fairer society, which is seen as a pipe-dream. We are anti-intellectual and much of this stems from the fact that we are not really that intelligent, as a people and are not introduced to critical thinking in our schools and colleges. Our blanket dismissal of any critique of the elite as “begrudgery” has always infuriated me and whenever I come up against this attitude, I tend to give up, feeling that a hive mind like that is not susceptible to reason or logic.

Mute Joseph Wearen
    Favourite Joseph Wearen
    Sep 30th 2013, 2:48 PM

Spot on Emmett. We are an anti-intellectual, macho-peasant society with all the trivial baggage and childish concerns associated with that mindset. Dare to stand out from the herd and you are vilified. Starts with the sneering, “would ye look at yer man, who the F&€K does he think he is”? Irish people are a lost cause, easy marks for any shyster who rolls into town in a shiny suit and a neat line in plámás. The banks, the “Troika”, the government etc are only warming up. Austerity hasn’t hit Ireland. Yet. The Irish people are going to be financially massacred in the near future and will march obediently to the abattoir with nothing more than a grumble, all the while tugging their forelocks in deference. As usual.

Mute dav O
    Favourite dav O
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:47 PM

PART 1-2

It’s not just the Irish that won’t protest. It’s becoming to norm to rant and forget. And the internet is playing a big part in this. Am I protesting if I make a page on Facebook? This appears to be the new protest tool of choice but getting frustration across in text form on a digital forum seems to distance the reader from the emotional content while still giving the illusion of having done something. Now don’t get me wrong, I firmly believe social media is a powerful tool in a protesters arsenal but every tool has a specific use and it is up to us to find the best way to use this.

Divide and conquer! This is the simple (yet extremely effective) answer to this articles question. You have to give it to the money men, they played a stormer and have driven a major wedge between the two main social classes that could destabilize there financial stranglehold over us all. Just looking at Ireland, the Celtic Tiger was great. There were jobs and opportunities available to anyone who went out and grabbed them. This allowed a lot of working class people to get ahead of the game a little and slowly move themselves up to middle class. They(we) opened businesses and were helping build a prosperous future. At the same time the middle class were reaping the rewards of having had there businesses previously established. They were good times.

Mute Emmett O'Reilly
    Sep 30th 2013, 2:37 PM

But the Celtic Tiger was truly a Paper one. House prices went further and further out of the reach of people and this was somehow seen as a good thing, as the cost of goods and services rose by the week. The Celtic Tiger was not a good time, it was a self delusional period of mass stupidity and idiocy.

Mute Andrew Cross
    Favourite Andrew Cross
    Sep 30th 2013, 10:48 PM

i sent photos of protest outside banker alan dukes home to the journal and some of its reporters ,you never published them ,,so its a bit rich off you asking people why they dont protest ,,,when you dont give publicity to the protests ,,are you another tame media lapdog for the government ,???

Mute Don Keypunches
    Favourite Don Keypunches
    Sep 30th 2013, 7:09 PM

There are other ways of protesting without having to stand around in the cold and rain, shouting at TD’s that take no notice of you. The most obvious (and Irish) way is to punish them in the next election. But since Irish people are contiously duped into voting for eejit A or eejit B at every election it is utterly pointless what way you vote. One way would be to completely boycott voting. In doing so you deprive “your” local TD of vital votes to keep his cushy seat, actually forcing him to do some work to keep it.

Other ways would be to head on down to his local office and voice your displeasure in person, or better yet bring your friends along and their friends too… oh and your video camera to mark the occasion on youtube.

Or why not do what would annoy him even more, and actually run for his seat yourself, I can think of few things more worrying for a TD than losing his/her seat and therefore getting bumped off the gravy train. Even if you don’t get it, at least you made his job a lot harder and actually made him do something for a change. A boycott on unfair taxes and charges is another way to protest, as are small acts of civil disobedience.

Remember, protesting isn’t all about holding a sign and shouting outside the Dail, it can be simple things that make the Government see you’re not happy with the way things are being run. It us that holds all the power in the country, not some eejit keeping a chair warm in the Dail!

Mute Barry Mac
    Favourite Barry Mac
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:00 PM

If we look back on history the Irish people weren’t supportive of the 1916 rising it was only when they shot the leaders of the rising that woke the sleeping giant …… Protests over Vietnam were ignored by the government until 4 protesters were killed during a protest ………. Something big needs has to happen to wake the people up

Mute Emmett O'Reilly
    Sep 30th 2013, 2:28 PM

Also remember that 1916 occurred in Dublin, the rest of the country was not really involved.

Mute Mahon Slattery
    Favourite Mahon Slattery
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:28 AM

The 1916 rising was planned countrywide, A mix up confined it to Dublin. And many who fought and died in Dublin were from outside the Pale.

Mute Paul Joyce
    Favourite Paul Joyce
    Oct 11th 2013, 11:22 PM

There is another reason, I believe, that has not been mentioned here and is a major factor in why people in Ireland do not properly protest in the streets against the government banks etc. A good friend was visiting from South Africa and made a very interesting observation about our current way of life.
    Men and women have been drummed down and are almost hypnotised into being zombies by two major factors. Families have become obsessed with all the pathetically poor reality TV shows, X factors, soaps etc and are much more interested in staying indoors to watch this rubbish and taking an interest in what’s happening in the country.
    Men in particular are tied up in all sorts of sporting events and that becomes much more important to watch on television than to watch a programme about our economic decline. Families no longer sit together and have meals and proper discussions about how things are going and what things are affecting them as a family. They now sit around the television and never talk about important factors in their lives. Reality for them is now what is happening on the television in all these rubbish programs or sports reports.
    People just do not stop for five minutes and think about what they can do to help themselves, their families and neighbours and our country. Sooner or later we will have to tackle the incompetent idiots who govern our country and run the banks. These two categories of Idiots are now at the very bottom of the social ladder just above paedophiles and murderers but just under the legal profession.
    Time is coming soon when we will have to protest or be walked on – please stop and think.

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Sep 30th 2013, 8:50 PM

Nobody represents the people, the political parties the civil service and the trade unions are all really sitting on the same side of the self interest fence. The business class were right in there with them with a lack of oversight from the relevant state bodies. Now it protect as much as you can and the people outside this grouping can pay for it. Who’s to lead when all our ” leaders” have a their own survival invested in the status Que.