You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Patrick McDonnell who played Eoin McLove with Carmel Condon, Ann Clarke, and Linda Lynch at TedFest 2023. Gareth Chaney

Poll: Which Father Ted character is your favourite?

Ah, go on!

THE ANNUAL CELEBRATION of all things Father Ted is kicking off today.

Tedfest is taking place on Inis Mór in the Aran Islands and includes everything from a Lovely Girls competition, a Mrs Doyle Lip Sync Showdown and the Craggy Cup.

Father Ted first aired in 1995 and quickly produced some memorable one liners, with An Post releasing four stamps to commemorate the show in 2020.

So today we’re asking: Which Father Ted character is your favourite?

Poll Results:

Father Dougal McGuire (3388)
Father Ted Crilly (2948)
Mrs Doyle (1236)
Father Jack Hackett (1126)
None of the above (707)
Bishop Brennan (616)
No interest, no opinion (336)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 49 comments
49 Comments
    Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    Oct 4th 2013, 7:48 AM

2 issues I have here

1. Why does it matter that she was black?

2. Why do these police officers shoot to kill and not to incapacitate?

Mute Shane Griffin
    Favourite Shane Griffin
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:17 AM

Why does it matter that her car was black too ?

All this information I might blow a fuse! !

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:21 AM

Alan, have you ever shot a gun? Shooting to incapacitate is a near impossibility especially in a stressful situation. You shoot for the biggest target which is the torso to maximise your chances of hitting the target. That’s standard training in all police forces with firearms issued.

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute Martin O Connell
    Favourite Martin O Connell
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:25 AM

Because it’s real life and not the movies. Every police force shoots to kill.

Mute Sarah Clifford
    Favourite Sarah Clifford
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:44 AM

I have never fired a gun but I assume the cops who did this have been given target practice training

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:45 AM

Jason I have shot a gun, many guns and am quite well trained in their use.

A well trained police force will actively shoot to incapacitate where firearms are deemed neccesary to resolve a situation.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:51 AM

No Sarah,

Theyv’e been given a course in potato peeling Doooh

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:52 AM

@ Alan

A well trained police force will actively shoot to incapacitate where firearms are deemed neccesary to resolve a situation.

Must have been with the IT Police Alan

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:56 AM

Alan, I have absolutely no idea what police forces you are talking about. Most police forces around the world train their officers to aim for centre-mass to maximise the chances of a hit. Shooting at a piece of paper on a range or shooting at a living and breathing target are two completely different things. Extremities are extremely small targets to hit and seriously increase the chances of innocent casualties if aimed at over a centre-mass shot.

Mute Sarah Clifford
    Favourite Sarah Clifford

I guess these guys were out sick on firearms training day

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:58 AM

@ Sarah,

You sure you’re not really a blonde ?

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:04 AM

Forgive me for thinking that the police force in washington dc are one of the worlds most most highly trained

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:05 AM

They are Alan,

She’s dead and no collateral damage

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:12 AM

Alan, all the training in the world won’t matter if a police officer just isn’t skilled with a firearm. You’ll notice that a basic proficiency with firearms is an end requirement with police forces, not match grade marksmanship. They train you so that you can hit a target within 50 feet and not kill some poor bystander in the process, not trick shots like taking a moving persons arm off. Leave that to the actual marksmen (who also go for centre-mass funnily enough).

Mute Ronan Fahy
    Favourite Ronan Fahy
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:25 AM

Why is it that any time some one does something like this putting people in danger and the police end it the only way they can, having tried to block her in and surround her etc, the police are blamed. This woman whatever the medical reasons forfeited her rights as soon as she started mowing secret service and police down, and trying to ram into sensitive buildings, with a one year old baby in the car. There’s only one person at fault here.

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:47 AM

Alan, where on the body can you shoot someone & guarantee that a bullet will incapacitate but not kill? Hitting an arm or leg doesn’t mean you won’t rupture a major artery, or that the bullet won’t be deflected by a bone & travel into the torso. That’s aside from the fact that limbs are small targets & are usually moving about quickly; would it have been acceptable for police to aim for a limb, miss & hit someone else?

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Oct 4th 2013, 10:12 AM

@Ronan – can you show me where in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights it says “but execution without trial is ok if you piss off a police officer”?

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 10:25 AM

@ Emily,

It’s in the interpretation

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Oct 4th 2013, 10:27 AM

Alan,

How do you suggest they incapacitate while she’s in the car? Most of her body is protect by the car itself, upper body and head are the only available targets.

Second have you ever have someone drive at you to knock you down? I’ve had, a joy rider (death rider now) around 20 years ago. Just because I was crossing the road in front of him. If I had a gun then, I wouldn’t have shot to incapacitate – there would have been one dead joy rider! A car is a lethal weapon.

That woman knew the risks the minute she decided to get into that car. She forced this situation and the outcome.

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Oct 4th 2013, 10:32 AM

@Emily Elephant

What about the right of those officers to be able to go home safely to their families tonight?

What about the right of innocent people walking and travelling those same roads?

The joke here is that if they hadn’t shot her and she killed innocent persons, everyone would be on here asking why they “didn’t take her out!”

She’s the one that forced this situation and she the one to blame.

Mute Louise O Neill
    Favourite Louise O Neill
    Oct 4th 2013, 10:44 AM

Alan’s a senior officer with the grammar police. Shoots his mouth off on regular occasions, but no fatalities yet.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Oct 4th 2013, 11:24 AM

The police are entitled to shoot in order to defend the lives of others, including themselves. Any other principle would be stupid.

But it’s far from clear that they actually did. She was lodged in a barrier when they shot her and they apparently had her cornered.

We seem to have come to a situation where any civilian who gets into an altercation and kills someone is subject to the closest scrutiny, e.g. Zimmerman. But if it’s a police officer, then the case is closed before it’s open. Some people are even prepared to say that she “forfeited her rights”. I find this extraordinary.

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:40 PM

It’s extraordinary that you’re already leaning towards calling it an unlawful killing based on a short clip & second-hand accounts of what happened.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:56 PM

@ Sandbag,

Par for the course for emily

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:25 PM

2]
    If you have a suspect car that is driving towards a national monument and will not stop you cannot shoot to incapacitate.Which is a MYTH anyway.Bulletts dont drill nice little holes in you so the hero can clutch manfully at the fleshy part of his arm as any Hollywood film reality .They bludgeon and literally explode in a body or limb,so getting shot in the arm would amount to literally half an arm being removed.The trauma of that alone can kill you.
    When it comes down that a vechicle or person has crossed the three safty zones of your personal or whatever security without heeding a stop,stop orwe will fire,and final warning stop or we will fire with a warning shot across or in front of them.Then you have no other option.

1] Maybe its abit embarrassing for the Liberals out there to see that black people can go just as nutty as supposedly white christian hetrosexual gun owners???
    The last three incidents in the US including this one have been linked to Afro Americans.Not forgetting the DC sniper of a few years ago are all Afro Americans.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:29 PM

Yes they have Sarah.But no police officer is trained to shoot to wound.If you have to use your sidearm its because only deadly force would solve the situation.If it was a situation where less leathl force is needed you could taser,baton or mace the assailant.Which of those four options do you think would have been effective in the situation?

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:09 PM

They are actually rated as one of the worst police depts in the entire USA.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:13 PM

So you can” shoot the balls of a mosquito at 500 paces”? IF you are that well trained you will know how difficult it is to shoot a extremity and should know what damage a bullet will do???
    Another Mall ninja methinks.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Oct 4th 2013, 3:10 PM

Sandbag – I am not leaning to any such thing. The video does not show a slam-dunk case of self defence and it ought to be investigated properly. If the police had no reasonable choice, then they had to shoot her and that is the end of it.

But most people want to jump straight to the conclusion without bothering to investigate the facts, which as you say so far amount to a short clip and second hand accounts. We wouldn’t treat the death of someone at the hands of a civilian so lightly. Why do different rules apply to the police?

Mute Noel O'Neill
    Favourite Noel O'Neill
    Oct 4th 2013, 7:53 AM

They can’t differentiate between normal crime and terrorism anymore. Very sad.

Mute Foxtrot Hotel
    Favourite Foxtrot Hotel
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:34 AM

That’s because the term “terrorism” has been diluted for so long. Terrorism is using violence to change a political landscape. So technically every war is terrorism.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:16 PM

Noel, how can anyone know what’s happening till it’s been determined?

Mute Noel O'Neill
    Favourite Noel O'Neill
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:21 PM

Killing someone before you get to find out what the situation was, is what makes it all the more sad.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:31 PM

Noel, the police don’t always have that chance.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:09 PM

@Declan But they had a chance here they ran her plates and knew she had no Islamic background. Plus plenty of time to disable her car if they had a mind to.
    Badly trained simpletons in uniform is the problem here.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:15 PM

And if it had been a genuine terrorist attack.IE a car loaded with explosives that then blew up what would your excuse be then??No doubt braying about US Govt conspiricies or Yayyying on the terrorists for striking a blow at those” fukin Yanks?”

Mute Colin Frawley
    Favourite Colin Frawley
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:01 PM

@Simon, and if my aunt had balls she’d be my uncle

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:06 PM

Martin, I have a American drivers license and license plates. I don’t think that the authorities can determine I’m a catholic from that info.
    I never told the department of motor vehicles I am a catholic.
    You can make a guess with a name what nationality a person is and religion as well but that’s a guess.
    Timothy mcveigh drove up to a court house and blew that up but he wasn’t Islamic.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:25 PM

And if you had intelligence you could contribute something useful to the discussion.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:59 PM

Declan this woman was shot running from her car see link below, If dangerous driving is now a capital offence in the US, with the execution to be carried out on the spot I’m not surprised you legged it over here to Ireland where our Gardai think before they act in similar situations

http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-250_162-57605915/woman-dead-after-chaotic-capitol-car-chase/

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 3:10 PM

Timothy McVeigh was a known militia man and on a FBI watch list this woman wasn’t .

Mute Patrick Moran
    Favourite Patrick Moran
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:03 AM

Poor child, I’m afraid that’s all I can think of. I hope he/she will remember none of this.

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:12 AM

They seek answers?? Unfortunately the person with all the answers has about 6 bullets in her so will find it hard to speak

Mute Matthew Hyland
    Favourite Matthew Hyland
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:13 AM

Americans live in fear. If in doubt, kill it. Good old fashioned car chases and shoot outs. The Wild West is still alive and well.

Mute sinead byrne
    Favourite sinead byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 7:56 AM

US law enforcers seem to shoot first and ask questions later.. Surely there was another way to apprehend this woman.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:01 AM

Shoot out the tyres, incapacitate the vehicle, cover all angles, await an exit and incapacitate the individual with live rounds to extremities or taser, if faced with resistance.

If the individual is armed and fires on others or if the child’s safety is in danger then the above still applies until the last possible moment.

Shoot to kill should be an absolute last resort.

Mute rotund jocularity
    Favourite rotund jocularity
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:02 AM

Shoot first? Did they not hold fire initially. Saw at least 3 guns drawn, pointed, and not being fired before she sped off.

See 34 more replies ▾
    Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:24 AM

In a crowded city? Saying shoot out the tires and aim for extremities is all nice and good but what happens if you miss (which the chance is extremely high)? You aim for centre mass to maximise your chances of hitting the target so innocent bystanders don’t get hit. Life isn’t a video game or a movie.

Mute Martin O Connell
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:27 AM

How do you know that it wasn’t last resort. We’re you there? I’d doubt it.

Mute jake mansfield
    Favourite jake mansfield

Hard to ask questions when someone is in a sports car trying to run you down but then again you seem to have all the answers!!!

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:46 AM

Hard to shot tires from a moving vehicle lad. You seen the video, police boxed her in with three vehicles and she still got out. The rules of engagement are: if there is a threat to your life, life of a fellow officer or a member of the public deadly force can be used. Just because she didn’t have a gun, doesn’t mean there was no threat. A vehicle barrelling towards me at speed would make me use deadly force. It’s real life.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:47 AM

I was not there but based on footage and news articles this was not a last resort.

A well trained marksman (ae one would expect US police force to be) will have no issues shooting out tyres in a crowded city.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:55 AM

Another well informed and thought out input there Alan

‘A well trained marksman (ae one would expect US police force to be’

‘ Hey guys we’re on crowd control at capital hill today don’t forget to bring the ”Well trained Marksman#

I don;t believe it !

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:59 AM

Alan, you would not expect US police officers to be well trained marksmen at all. They are issued firearms as an emergency tool and nothing more. The job of marksmanship is supposed to be left to SWAT teams who receive the training needed as they have the skills to use firearms properly.

Mute David Harris
    Favourite David Harris

This is the story of a seemingly depressed dental hygienists with her baby in the car who lost the plot in one of the worlds most secure locations and it ended tragically for all parties involved. Curious how two of our commentators are comparing Dick sizes in their weapons and tactics knowledge. Either ye two Walter Mittys are members of Termonfeckin SWAT or you’re watching too much discovery channel. So please lads, leave it out or get a room!

Mute Erich King
    Favourite Erich King

Jesus. Your comments are dying a quicker death today than the woman driving that car.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 10:02 AM

@ David,

Amazing isn’t it. But guess what the police didn’t know that the only danger to the public was from a badly positioned dental implement. What would you’re attitude be if the headline read.’ Dental hygenist flips and runs over 6 Irish children visiting the white house’ Hmmmm ?? thought so

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Oct 4th 2013, 10:35 AM

Ok lets say they shot out the tyres and incapacitate her in the car and then waited. What about the 1 year old? What’s the chances she would decide to kill the baby? Considering that she took the baby with her on this … what ever you want to call it … there’s a very good chance she knew both would probably not survive.

I hate seeing any life taken but the police did hold off shooting until she gave them no other choice.

Mute guardian
    Favourite guardian
    Oct 4th 2013, 11:28 AM

Alan your playing to much GTA shooting tyres of moving vehicle is pretty much one in a million shot.

If managed to get a hit while vehicle is stopped still will not stop vehicle as it has 3 more to run on. Now only that but modern lexus cars low profile tyres with big alloys you could drive in a flat no problems.

You shoot then for largest mass you can not shoot at legs or arms that’s such a bad thinh to try. Odd are wont hit them. Your giving them further time to kill you or public and if you pulled off miracle shot and hit them in leg it aint Hollywood the surge of adrenaline they would not so much feel it and keep coming. You shoot to kill never to injure. Thats the training of every police force. Sorry but you’re completely wrong on this

Mute Michael Jordan
    Favourite Michael Jordan
    Oct 4th 2013, 11:45 AM

Alan. Place yourself in the position of those Police Officers. You have heard on through radio that a black car has tried to ram its way into the White House and then you hear on the radio “Officer Down”. You see said car coming towards you. You have seconds to react. Is it a suicide bomber or just a local lunatic? Get it wrong and if it is a bomber then dozens can die. But shoot the driver and only one person dies and any possible threat is neutralised. What do you do?

Mute David Harris
    Favourite David Harris
    Oct 4th 2013, 11:50 AM

Your logic is flawed Spock. My attitude is simply empathic to this human tragedy and all involved….. The woman, the baby and the officers. I do find our laptop cowboys with their nerf guns and playstations somewhat irritating. Regardless, live long and prosper.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:13 PM

Spot on David US cops are not trained to think just react. Those cops were right beside the car when it was paused all they had to do was shoot out the tyres or smash the windows and grab the wheel. Too many macho Xbox gamers on here advocating a shoot first mentality because that’s what they spend their afternoons doing. Nobody needed to die in this situation if the police were properly trained to protect and serve the people, of which this woman was also member of. She was shot dead while only guilty of dangerous driving.

You are all big kids, get back to your playstation.

Mute Michael Jordan
    Favourite Michael Jordan
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:31 PM

Martin. As I have said if you were in those Officers position and you had seen one of your colleagues been knocked down after the same car had tried to ram its way into the White House grounds. Do you debate with yourself is this just some depressed woman or is she potentially a suicide bomber? Remember this is only weeks after the Nairobi massacre. And you don’t have the luxury of time. You have mere seconds to make your decisions. Do you play it safe and neutralise the suspect or do you try take her alive? If (and you at this time don’t know if she is a suicide bomber or not) you get it wrong and she is a suicide bomber dozens die including you. Play it safe and she dies but nobody else gets hurt.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:47 PM

Michael no decision was made here by the cops, If they had been properly trained to recognize that this woman was not a terrorist no one would have been injured. How many terrorists drive around with their kids in there car. Are you saying the cops are idiots and suspect all dangerous drivers as terrorist these days.

They had already being pursuing her and had ran her plates they knew she was not even a Muslim…please you clutching at straws here.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:58 PM

I counted five guns drawn and 8 shots fired at her as she sped away from the secret service uniformed officers..
    After having 8 shots fired at me, I’d be high-tailing it as well.
    So there is a pursuit of a couple of blocks. The car stops, the door opens and they shoot the woman.
    She should have kept going, I guess. If you do what they tell you to do (stop for the police), they kill you.
    There was a lot of noise about “the police didn’t know there was a baby in the car”, well there were five officers with their hands on the car looking directly in the windows. Five. The whole story doesn’t have the ring of truth, if you know what I mean.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton

So David,

This is not about the rights and wrongs just the sentiment ??

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:05 PM

So Josh Dangerous driving is now a capital offence (to be carried out immediately) in the US is it?
    you support that, These cop knew this woman was not a Muslim, therefore unlikely to be a terrorist threat. They saw her kid as did spectators 10 to 20 feet away. This was manslaughter by inept police.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:37 PM

@ Martin,

‘these cop knew this woman was not a Muslim’ and they knew this because.??

1) She was Black

2) She was driving a Lexus

3) She wasn’t wearing a Burka

4) Because martin thinks so

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:39 PM

Shoot out the tyres..Hollywood movie MYTH! Tyres dont magically deflate when they are shot.
    Incapacitate the vechicle…With what??An RPG7?,A normal car can and is well capable of continuing to be driven with 4 wheels on rims,the oil pan ripped out,no oil and the radiator full of holes for at least three miles at 40kph.Only way to stop it dead is to literally remove the human element.

Shooting at extremities..MYTH!! No police officer is trained to do that.Its centre mass or nothing.
    Not to mind possible civil and criminal lawsuit for permantly injuring innocent perpertrator!
    Waiting around car for person to surrender.Person has a dead man trigger switch and a car packed with explosive.Result ..Massive explosion and large death and injury to law enforcement personel and possible civillians. You can take no chances in a situation like this,and maybe this was this persons plan…Grand death by cop on international media.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:46 PM

Err compared to our lot they ARE ! To continue to be issued your duty sidearm in the US.You have to qualify every month on the range with a score of 80 or better at 15 meters.At least that’s what it was when I was there. Here our lot according to a recent report ,get to the range 3times a year and cant hit a man sized target 50% of the time at 10 meters.
    SWAT teams your proficency with shotgunand handgun has to be consistently over 90% or better.Those BTW are normal duty officers weapons.

Mute Michael Jordan
    Favourite Michael Jordan
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:22 PM

What I am saying Martin is that they had mere seconds to make the decision. Its alright for those sitting safe and comfortable to pass judgement when you have all the facts to hand. Those Officers didn’t. They had to make a split second judgement there and then. They most likey took the decision to fire because they felt that she was an immediate threat to them or others.

Mute Michael Jordan
    Favourite Michael Jordan
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:33 PM

Btw Martin. What does a Terrorist look like? You said if they were trained to recognise this woman was not a Terrorist. Do they all look like Osma bin Ladin

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:33 PM

Martin…You are a waste of valuable oxygen. You obviously have NO training other than Hollywood and know Sweet F All about this But unfortuneatly are entitled to comment,so we will just have to put up with your further idiotic outpourings.
    “If they had been properly trained.,”I’d LOVE to see you say that to me in person or to any brother officers out there from the US or Ireland..!! You are a disgusting example of humanity.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 3:18 PM

Your a scary individual Simon and will no doubt need some treatment in the near future. When you lose an argument you just get angry, my advice is stop watching the action thrillers and get some empathy down the mind and body store,

What would have been the best outcome in this situation . The way it happened or nobody died at all. Both were possible outcomes but you want the women to be killed and you say to me “You are a disgusting example of humanity.”

Man get help and quick before you do harm. That is not normal conversation.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 3:20 PM

@Josh she wasn’t driving a Lexus if you knew anything about this incident you would know she was driving a Toyota but what are facts and details when you can make up your story to defend this crime.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 3:23 PM

Michael ….Childish retorts by macho gun fans . what are the chances????

Mute David Harris
    Favourite David Harris
    Oct 4th 2013, 5:16 PM

No one here is in a position to access what truly happened. Perhaps the woman lost control and crashed into the barrier then in fear and panic decided to flee with fatal consequences. We don’t know. Equally no police officer went to work that morning with the intent of shooting a young mother. Sometimes there is no right or wrong, just misunderstanding and tragedy. No heroes, no villains just a dead young woman, a motherless baby and someone who has to live with pulling the trigger.

Mute Michael Jordan
    Favourite Michael Jordan
    Oct 4th 2013, 5:31 PM

Martin you are the one claiming that Police Officers can be trained to spot the difference between someone with mental health issues and a Terrorist driving a car.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:19 PM

Of course they can be trained to spot the difference. Lesson starts with not shooting every dangerous or drunk driver while using the excuse that derserved to die because they might be a terrorist.

You are advocating the mass murder of innocent people just in case they might be terrorists. Your as paranoid as the Fox news loons.

Mute guardian
    Favourite guardian
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:48 AM

When you use car as lethal weapon it must be stopped. Driver of car used it in this fashion. There is no such thing as shooting out tyres in situation like this. Reaching in car to grab wheel? What a stupidity idiotic thing to do. Thank god that person who suggested that is not police or would be dead before retirement. Can’t take a risk there is not explosives in car either plus fact there are people everywhere there it is tourist spot. Dont stop the driving and someone would die. The police are 100% in the right.

Had it been here maybe the guards would have rammed her off the road when she was at slow speed but the problem with that is that she might be driving fast for quite a while before error is made and she is boxed in and in that time plenty of time for her to hit another person or child.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 7th 2013, 8:03 PM

ah and now you are a psychologist too little boy???Keep your conspirtcy self help bullshit to yourself.
    Ga away and learn somthing about the subject you waffle on about ,as you have no clue about anything related to it.

Mute Daniel
    Favourite Daniel
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:06 AM

Madness, To shoot and kill someone in a car that has been rendered inoperable with a child in it? They are lucky they didn’t kill the toddler, it seems they approached and shot before even accessing what was going on, only after they take away a child’s mother do they find out she had mental health issues, Sad, paranoid people

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton

‘it seems they approached and shot before even accessin’

Have another look at the video Daniel.

In addition , as far as i know, unlike our disabled drivers stickers the yanks don’t have one that says ‘headcase on board’

Mute Daniel
    Favourite Daniel
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:58 AM

So they knew a toddler was on board before firing into the drivers side, ricochet bullet could’ve caused more pain here, last time I checked a car crashing into barriers wasn’t a threat, that’s what the barriers are there for

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:07 AM

@ Daniel,

I could be mistaken but I don’t believe they shot her because she crashed into the barrier.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:20 PM

Josh I think I hear you mother telling you to clean your room. Big Kid ye.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:59 PM

@ Martin,

Magnificent input… as usual

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:15 PM

@Josh I didn’t see you replying to any other of my arguments directed at you. And I have never never seen your name or avatar before let alone rely to you so what do you mean as usual?

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:50 PM

Martin,

You’re arguments are not arguments.

You’re working off sentiment..

Hatred of all things american does blind your logic or alternatively you could have been dropped on your head.

Check my twitter account I contribute regularly

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:34 PM

You show your ignorance the more comments you make, How does pointing out the manslaughter of a dangerous driver make me “hate America” A country I consider to be the last great chance of mankind, I have commented dozens of times on the journal about my admiration of the founders of the US J Adams, Madison, Andrew Jackson. So don’t try that old McCarthyism stuff on me.

My arguments are logical and based on evidence like that fact that the woman was not even in her car “Weapon” when the police shot her dead. Lets face it you have lost this argument by a mile and its your fascination with “Firearms” and macho crap that has you on here defending the indefensible.

Please go comment on the Beano’s forum it would be more your speed.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Oct 4th 2013, 4:33 PM

And what contributions!! On this occasion you are wrong. The sentiments expressed so far as I can see are not anti-Americanism, they are disapproval of over-reaction on the part of law enforcement and perfectly legitimate. I see the machine is in overdrive now on the victim. She will move from being “depressed” ( who says so?) to being a paranoid schitszophrenic with a deep hatred of America in no time at all.

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Oct 4th 2013, 7:42 AM

If she was white and bumped into a barrier they wouldn’t have killed her. What a savage place!

Mute Darlene J Brady
    Favourite Darlene J Brady
    Oct 4th 2013, 7:58 AM

Omg you absolute tool! How do you know the officer that shot her wasn’t black? It’s nothing to do with that. What is desperately sad is that it couldn’t have ended in a better way, where that child’s mother could have been kept alive and given the treatment she clearly needed.

Mute DOO
    Favourite DOO
    Oct 4th 2013, 7:59 AM

Pretty sure you would of been shot indiscriminately

Mute Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Favourite Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke

Totally agree with you Darlene.

Mute Paul Smith
    Favourite Paul Smith
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:37 AM

Could they not have used a stinger to puncture the wheels and stop the car. Shooting at a car with a one year old in it, crazy stuff. No need to shoot anyone dead

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:49 AM

Oh Yeah Paul,

Your’e on Capital Hill not far from the Presidents pad.
    Crazy woman in a lexus. Lets fill out a Risk assessment form and get authorisation from the HSA and the EPA ( cause there could be some environmental discharges from the tyres) to deploy a stinger.
    You’re on stamps today

Mute Tony Slap
    Favourite Tony Slap

Doo, ‘Pretty sure you would of been shot indiscriminately’ – what language you speke?

Mute joe traynor
    Favourite joe traynor

Obviously this woman had some serious emotional issues but to be fair to,the police she made no attempt to surrender and drove at a couple of police that had to jump clear, she could have killed any number of people if she hadn’t been stopped, I wouldn’t want to read that either her child or anoint her persons child was killed in a high speed collision. It’s very sad but the police acted to protect the public.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:07 AM

Paul, doing so requires a lengthy and organised pursuit. The woman crashing kind of removed any chance of that happening so the police took their opportunity to end the situation.

Mute Paul Smith
    Favourite Paul Smith
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:18 AM

One woman and a baby hardly the biggest threat to America

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:23 AM

Paul, I’m sure the man she ran over would tend to disagree with you. Her actions put a lot of lives in danger and could have easily killed a few people had she not have been stopped.

Mute DOO
    Favourite DOO
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:53 PM

Sorry Tony, will not use big words again

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:04 PM

Well I’m sorry anyone who acts like that will get a leathl response in the US Capitol.but I suppose you would expect their crystal balls to tell them that she isnt a potential threat,just a depressed black woman who wants to have a great send off and death by cop????

Mute Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Favourite Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:00 AM

God how sad. This happened to another woman in South Africa – my husband and I met her whilst visiting my parents in Durban. Two weeks later, Leeanne was given chase in her vehicle by police and was shot dead. Five bullets holes were found on the car. The police tried to cover it up. It was blatant murder… The cops in SA are the same as the cops in USA – mad about guns. Bloody Wild West.

Mute guardian
    Favourite guardian
    Oct 4th 2013, 11:32 AM

By insinuating that the Washington incident was racist you make yourself as bad as the worst racists out there by not seeing the facts on camera. Deranged woman with deadly weapon that being the car ramming police and a danger to public refusing to stop and having injured people. Colour not issue here but those who come out with no proof and spout nonsense are as bad as the hardcore racists

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:41 PM

@guardian …More BS, How badly trained are you saying these cops are that they could not shoot out the tyres while the car was hemmed in (there was a least four with guns drawn two each side), One could have thought to smash the window and grab the wheel. Its a car no one died in Dublin when a car was driven at speed down a busy shopping street and Nine people were injured , Garda there arrested the man and prevented him from being beaten ,How many people were injured in this incident….Ans: 1 SS agent. The woman was guilty of dangerous driving and she was shot dead for it.

Perhaps our gardai should be sent over to Washington to train these macho buffoons.

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:52 PM

Martin why don’t you tell us all you know about shooting; specifically the penetration abilities of the various types of handgun ammunition against the various types of tyres that are on the market?

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:57 PM

@Handbag …Is that really the best you can muster for the murder of a dangerous driver. Are you saying she had bullet proof tyres an unbreakable glass. A brave intelligent cop would have smashed the glass pulled out the key or grabbed the wheel. Why are you so determined to defend cops who are not fit for purpose.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:00 PM

@ Martin,

I know you got up late but this is dreamland Sh1t

Mute seamus mcdermott

Oh piss off.

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:04 PM

I’m saying that you haven’t the first clue about the use of firearms & are basing your ideas on what it’s possible to do with them on what you’ve seen on telly. Add that to the massive chip you have on your shoulder with regards to police & you end up talking through your hole in order to back up your pre-conceived conclusion.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:30 PM

@HandBag….If your knowledge of “Firearms” tells you that a bullet cannot penetrate a rubber or Silicon tyre at point blank range you know nothing about the laws of physics .

And as to my your insane assertion about a “Chip on my shoulder about police” I have complemented my Garda force on several comments on this page alone take a look. Logic doesn’t seem to play a part in your conclusions to-day.

In the final analyses Your defending the murder/manslaughter of a dangerous driver and I find that incredible, I imagine you must be an unmarried young guy between the age of 19 to 34 that is either a student or lives with his mother. In few year when you get over your infatuation with “Firearms” you might see that this situation did not have to end with the death of woman guilty of a mere misdemeanour .

Perhaps you should question why you yourself seem to constantly jump to the defence of people in uniform when in this case they are clearly responsible for such tragic ineptitude. You should join the Secret service you seem an ideal candidate ie: capable of seeing things from one perspective only.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:34 PM

@Josh

Magnificent input… as usual.

see what I did there,

Now If you don’t mind you go back to you comics and PlayStation and I’ll go back to ruinning my business.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:52 PM

‘Dreamworks’ ?? Martin

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:19 PM

Something I bet you would know all about reading your posts . …Your gas trying to defend the execution of a dangerous driver who was not even in her car “Weapon” when she was shot.

Mute Neil Crowley
    Favourite Neil Crowley
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:21 AM

It’s only a brief video, but it looks as if she had plenty of opportunity to stop ? She could of killed a number of innocent by standards driving like that, including children.

Mute Lorelei Steve Tracey Cleaning
    Favourite Lorelei Steve Tracey Cleaning
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:19 AM

Who fired at the police? Nobody? Then no danger to lives. Shoot out tyres, engine, bos car in and arrest. Lots of alternatives

Mute Martin O Connell
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:30 AM

Yes that’s the answer fire loads of bullets at a car with a child in it. Sure there’s no way a stray bullet might hit the child.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:30 AM

Judging by your comment I’m going to assume you’ve never fired a gun in your life. Aiming isn’t as simple as point and shoot. Aim for the tires and you will certainly miss which endangers every civilian in the area.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:37 AM

No danger to lives? I think the guy who was run down might disagree with you….

Oct 4th 2013, 12:53 PM

Jason, if that is aimed at me. Spent 17 years shooting weapons as part of job, including in some nasty places. I am fully aware of how difficult it is to shoot out tyres, a police sniper should becahlevto manage it. My point is that there were alternatives. Also did she actually fire at Hyde police?

Oct 4th 2013, 12:56 PM

Mattoid read article again she was shot after she got out of the car so at thevtimevshe was killed there was no threat to life. Earlier yes but oncevtyevthrest is over you stop firing

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:06 PM

Spot on, Martin, ’cause after all, Jesus looks after the little children…

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:00 PM

Were are you going to place the sniper.Just in case somone does decide to drive thru a barricade ,run down a fellow officer and continue to keep going??Also if you HAVE done this sort of work that you claim to have done,you will know how tough it is to disable a car with just side arms or a rifle.Also if you have done any sort of training in the real world, any sniper will disable personel first not a vechicle.

Oct 4th 2013, 3:34 PM

Simon,
    They were a list of possible alternatives.
    Read the article she was shot outside the car. Car was stationary shecwasvoutsidevtherefore no one in danger of being run over. She was no longer a danger to anyone, now if she had started to bring her hands up in a way which may have looked a though there was a weapon different story and if I had been one of the police officers I would have been one of the first to open fire.
    You are correct in that police and military are taught to aim at the largest part of the target.
    Ref my training, not only trained bur a fair bit of live experience served in Northern Ireland, Middle East and Falklands War. Now your experience?

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 4th 2013, 6:08 PM

@Lorelei
    Where does the article say she was out of the car when she was shot??

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 7th 2013, 8:09 PM

Gulf war.But sowhat we canb bgoth say we did this and that online.Its no proof for either of us really is it??
    So she was outside the car,she still didnt obey the instrustions, on the ground no one knows who or what she is despite some claims to the contary,what happens if she is wearing an “Allah T shirt” and decides to go all over Washington DC and take many others with her?? Dont tell me that is not a green light incident after her previous carry on.

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:43 AM

She made the decision to “attack” the, arguably, two most sensitive buildings in the US. She failed to stop when ordered. She failed to stop after running over a uniformed police officer. She failed to stop when boxed in by police cars. The police were justified to shoot to protect themselves and the public.

My question, she was mentally ill, was she being treated adequately?

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:02 PM

@Paul BullSh!t !! The cops over there reach for their gun for the slightest infraction. Unarmed citizens are being mown down on a regular basis, if you like I can return a list of you-tube videos to prove that point.

In 2001 a car drove down henry street nine people were injured the driver like the woman in the US was not armed, and because the garda on the scene are properly trained and do not have side arms no one died.

No one needed to die in this situation, any police man that shoots an unarmed mother dead while in control of a car containing her child needs to be taken off duty before he murders any other people.

Mute Bill
    Favourite Bill

Hard to drive a car if the gyres are shot out a thought for next time idiots

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:28 AM

So tell me, how do you go about shooting out the tires on a moving vehicle? Especially when you have to consider wind direction, your heart rate, your breathing and how hard you pull the trigger plus adjusting for the speed of the car and the direction it is going. Life isn’t a game. Even attempting to aim for the tires puts every civilian in the area at risk because you are guaranteed to miss. Those stray bullets could easily hit an innocent bystander.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:48 AM

Surely these same risks are there shooting at an individual in those circumstances?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:02 AM

Yes Dermot, but at a much reduced level. You see the human body is great at stopping bullets, but not before it usually kills or incapacitates the target first. A human is also a relatively slow and big target compared to a small and fast tire which means your chances of scoring a hit (instead of missing and potentially hitting a civilian) are much higher.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:03 PM

Well, they managed to put more than a few round in her head. They’re good enough to do that, maybe they’re good enough to shoot out a tire four times that size…

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:06 AM

Holy shit! They shot her dead? With a baby in the car? She was just ill!

How on earth could they have thought that was necessary? That poor child is motherless now :(

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:11 AM

Think it through Jane. They don’t have the benefit of hindsight

Mute Ping Pong
    Favourite Ping Pong
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:27 AM

I think that’s her fault. Sounds like a suicide by cops to me.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:27 AM

Or X-ray vision. With a woman who endangered hundreds of lives and already ran a man over you can’t take any risks. Especially with the reports at the time that shots were fired meaning she could have been armed.

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:22 PM

Ok guys, what about the idiot in the truck who rammed the gates of Leinster House last year; was he gunned down by gardaí for his idiocy? No.

What’s the difference in this scenario? Could it be that the US is totally paranoid and gun obsessed?

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:06 PM

He didn’t run over a Garda, then drive at some more of them.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:56 PM

No Jane,it means WE are totally unprepared for a genuine situation if such ever happens here.
    But we Irish are great belivers in “Ah Shure nuthin like that will ever happen here.”
    Its why we have radioactive waste stolen from “secure” compounds,why we have corrupt bankers and politicans,why we have laughable national disaster plans,Becuse “nuthin will ever happen here”
    BTW also note that it wasnt civillian gun owners that did this but the people that all anti gun loons bray are the only people who are supposed to have guns.Namely the police!

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:13 PM

I am absolutely convinced that if an INDEPENDENT investigation was to be carried out into this tragedy, it would find the actions of the police to be completely over-the-top.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 3:01 PM

And this INDEPENDANT investigation will be carried out by who??? The gun haters and police haters of Ireland society? or the “all knowing anti gun experts of Journal.ie society.”?

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 3:02 PM

The Dail is hardly a prime terrorist target now is it??Maybe for some extreme RA headbangers.

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Oct 4th 2013, 3:20 PM

That’s why I said “independent “, Simon. The people who mention would hardly be independent, would they?

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Oct 4th 2013, 3:21 PM

Who *you* mentioned, sorry.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:53 AM

She’d still be alive if their whole country wasn’t obsessed with guns and violence.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan

What a ridiculous statement. Try to do the same in London, Berlin or Moscow and the results would be the same.

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Oct 4th 2013, 11:02 AM

She’d still be alive if she hadn’t run over a policeman, rammed a couple of barriers & taken a chase.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 11:18 AM

Perhaps, but there are countries where the results wouldn’t be the same. The US has put itself in a position to shoot first and ask questions later. Combine that with a constant fear of terrorist attacks and each other, they are extremely trigger happy.
    If this happened in Ireland, it’s highly likely she’d still be alive, providing she survived any crash. I’m not disputing the actions they took, only that they’ve put themselves in a place where those actions aren’t the last resort.

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag

It has happened in Ireland many times; the result has nearly always been Gardaí getting killed or injured as a result of being run over. It also happened in Dublin in 2006 when a nutter rammed several cars with a stolen bus & ended up killing an innocent woman. The Gardaí shot his tyres several times but it didn’t stop him, obviously not as effective a stopping technique as some here think.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:40 AM

“A uniformed secret service officer”
    Doesn’t that kind of defeat the object?

Mute Jordan O'Byrne
    Favourite Jordan O'Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:33 AM

The uniformed secret service are the white house compound police. Plain clothes are security details and undercover etc.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:51 AM

Ok, thanks for enlightening me. I just thought the term ‘secret service’ was a bit of a misnomer when they’re standing there in uniform :-)

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 10:04 AM

@ Mattoid,

Wasted what ?

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Oct 4th 2013, 10:11 AM

They shush people.
    “shush, quiet you” sort of thing.

Mute Michael Jordan
    Favourite Michael Jordan
    Oct 4th 2013, 11:50 AM

Mattoid. The Secret Service work for the Treasury Dept. The majority of their work involves dealing with counterfeiting and financial crimes. The Executive Protection branch is only a very small part of their remit.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:49 PM

Also applies to the US Capitol Hill police dept.Yes! The US Capitol building has its own police dept as well.

Mute Matthew Hyland
    Favourite Matthew Hyland
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:59 AM

There were 3-4 officers with guns drawn standing beside the car when it was stationary.
    With a pistol at 6 feet, you would want to be a complete plank to miss the tyres. Incompetent with a side arm. Thank god they didn’t have automatics or it would have been pot luck for bystanders.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:26 AM

So the new requirements for police officers are X-ray vision now? The woman had already attempted an attack on the government (albeit a pretty terrible one), endangered hundreds of lives and already ran a man over while a toddler was in the back. Shots were fired so how were the police to know that she wasn’t armed? She had already shown that she more than likely wouldn’t care if she injured or killed a police officer by shooting him so they took no chances.

They should be commended for bringing this to an end without any civilian casualties in the process.

Mute Matthew Hyland
    Favourite Matthew Hyland
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:29 AM

…So they shot the fish in the barrel. Outstanding.

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Oct 4th 2013, 7:58 AM

Car bomb ?

Mute Joe Power
    Favourite Joe Power
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:48 AM

Definitely a terrorist attack . This new “black woman with baby” attack method will be hard to foil . I suggest that all black women with young baby’s are sent to Gito bay ,indefinitely and maybe invade Liberia because why not , I am sure they have caves

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 10:07 AM

@ Joe ,

You know what the doctor said. Make sure you take them with food

Mute Alexander Piley
    Favourite Alexander Piley
    Oct 4th 2013, 10:52 AM

Well done America, another motherless child.

Mute Michelle Mc Loughney
    Favourite Michelle Mc Loughney
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:53 AM

Sad outcome. Again, mental illness destroying lives. More resources needed yada yada. I’m sure the cops involved aren’t celebrating the loss of life either. Most would have kids of their own I’d imagine, I’m sure don’t relish the thought of taking a life. A lot of people around the white house, tourists etc a rogue car could potentially cause carnage. Don’t advocate the killing of a mentally ill women with a child in the car, obviously. Seems excessive to me but hindsight is 20/20.

Mute Paul Fitzmaurice
    Favourite Paul Fitzmaurice
    Oct 4th 2013, 11:52 AM

The unarmed driver of the car was “shot several times” after she got out of the car. This is absolutely crazy. If the police force can’t co-ordinate themselves to restrain an unarmed woman without killing her then they aren’t serving their purpose. America is one crazy country.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:03 PM

@ Paul

The unarmed driver of the car was “shot several times”

Unlike yourself the police are psychic. Even the reporter didn’t know it till after she was dead

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:50 PM

Would you say that Paul if she was wearing a bomb vest and blew herself and other to bits??

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:22 PM

She was not a terrorist the police knew this at the time, having done a check on her number plates and identified her from her driving licence while the chase was still going on. So drop possible terrorist angle it carries no water.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:44 PM

OH,didnt know you give your political inclinations and belifs in when you go and apply fror a liscense with the DMV in the US these days???
    Tell me Martin what colour is the sky on the planet you are currently on???

Mute Paul Fitzmaurice
    Favourite Paul Fitzmaurice
    Oct 4th 2013, 3:00 PM

Shoot to kill first, ask questions second? Is that your philosophy? If someone isn’t holding a weapon of any description, it’s safe to assume they are unarmed. My main point was that she was out of the car. How difficult is it for a person who is trained in the use of firearms to shoot someone who is on foot and not kill them? Aiming for the lower limbs might be a good starting point.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 3:27 PM

Simon even the Gardai could find out your religion and political background in a matter of minutes are you saying we are miles ahead of the US in that regard………Please

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 7th 2013, 8:05 PM

Now you have me connvinced Martin thsat you havent one clue what you are on about!! Please stop,you are making a bigger idiot of yourself everytime you post.

Mute Kieran Doyle
    Favourite Kieran Doyle
    Oct 4th 2013, 10:08 AM

So if the Dail is rammed by a farmer because he is upset and takes things too far it is ok to shoot him or in the recent case of the Benny Hill mace assault the mace should be replaced by a Gloch 9 mm? Lethal force is not ok. Over reaction by the secret services or police whoever pulled the trigger. A stray bullet could have hit the child. Insane if you ask me. But then again as the worlds population increases so too does humanity’s insanity.

Mute Ivana Arsenovic
    Favourite Ivana Arsenovic
    Oct 4th 2013, 10:20 AM

Terorism… Obsessed much!! They could shot tires when she wasnt moving. And dont they have radio comunications beetwen them, so they could say: suspect isnt shoting! Very sad!

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Oct 4th 2013, 10:51 AM

Ok have a look at this video where the tyre blow out during a chase. As you can see it didn’t slow down the vehicle initially.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7t4bYhQ2oZE

A flat tyre is not going to stop a car! On top of that the cops didn’t know if she had a bomb on board or not or what she was trying to achieve.

Here was this woman who had already knocked down one officer just to gain access to two of the highest secure buildings in the US.

As I mentioned in another commend I had a joy rider attempt to knock me down years ago. It’s a scary feeling and if you had a car give chase to you, you would bloody well be glad that the police stopped it.

Yes it’s a sad outcome but the officers on the ground only had minutes to try and stop this “attack”. Easy to look back and ask why they didn’t do this, or that.

Mute Cowboy Paddy
    Favourite Cowboy Paddy
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:04 PM

Was stopped by the guards there yesterday with no tax. They could have shot me as I could have had a bomb on board…

Cop yourself on… This woman would not have been shot in most juradictions in the world… This is a US gun culture, hyped up Washington DC and woman finding it hard to cope….

Taking out the tyres slows down the car… The were 6 feet away from a stationary car, stop your carry on… This woman doesn’t fit any kind of terrorist profile or actions… What was the plan your are going to put the baby and the bomb in the car, get lost drive into the treasury building and the make a run on Capitol Hill… This woman was never more of a threat than anyone we see on ‘Cops’ every week

Mute Jordan O'Byrne
    Favourite Jordan O'Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 12:24 PM

Had you just run over two police officers and tried to drive through barricades at two secure government locations?
    I think you need to cop yourself on, this was a tragedy but if you try to kill a police officer the likelyhood is that they will respond with force.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:04 PM

‘This woman doesn’t fit any kind of terrorist profile or actions… ‘

And you know this Paddy because……..?

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:08 PM

Jordan, your description of the incident bears no resemblance to the facts. She didn’t “run over two police officers” and didn’t try to “drive through barricades”. Other than that, I have no problem with your description.

Mute Jordan O'Byrne
    Favourite Jordan O'Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:40 PM

Seamus, this is a qoute directly from the above text. ‘ They did exactly what they were supposed to do. They stopped a suspect from breaching the security perimeter in a vehicle at both locations.’
    So that sounds to me like she tried to breach more than one location in a vehicle?
    I hold my hand up to the other point however, the article mentions she struck one uniformed officer and later mentions two officers were injured. I assumed the other officer was also injured after being struck by the car. I apologise.
    I also still stand by my point that if you behave in this manner with a deadly weapon ( car) in the capitol of a country who are nervous of terrorist attacks, the police will use force to stop you. Im not saying its right, thats just how it is.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:16 PM

so If she was not in a car she should have been shot anyway and ” that’s just how it is” As the car was stopped and she was out of it when she was fatally shot, was she executed legally in your view?

Mute Jordan O'Byrne
    Favourite Jordan O'Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:39 PM

Martin that comment seems a little irrelevant. She was shot because she WAS in a car and using it as a deadly weapon. The above article did not mention anything about her being out of the car so how could I have commented on it?

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:46 PM

And if she had been wearing a bomb vest with a dead mans trigger…Would you proably be gleefully saying “thats how it is!”Muppett.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:32 PM

if if if Simon …….your method is to shoot everyone dead just in case they have a bomb. Why stop a cars why not pedestrians that look suspicious they could also have a “Dead mans trigger” That’s policing is it in your mind ? only in your mind thank feck, and of course the present Day USA plus perhaps Brazil and Nazi Germany.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Oct 4th 2013, 4:19 PM

Suspect me arse. It is obvious that this young women became confused by the barriers erected, hit one, then struck an ‘official car’ and in a panic drove away since she was now in trouble. Complete over-reaction on the part of the authorities. Young black woman dead, tiny child lucky to be alive after a hail of gunfire.

Mute Jillian Milam
    Favourite Jillian Milam
    Oct 4th 2013, 4:32 PM

I have to disagree with you… I’ve been to DC MANY times and there’s no way in hell you can get confused by the barriers… They are clearly marked. And they’re not set up in a fashion where ya just take a wrong turn and oops run into one…

Mute Martin Hodson
    Favourite Martin Hodson
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:30 PM

Sad she died but you can expect that when you make an attempt to ram the gate at the White House, then injure a police officer. You then leave the scene.
    The police have to make judgement calls based on the fast moving scenario and act accordingly. She showed she had the means and desire to hurt or kill people.
    No one knew what was in that car, it could well have been a bomb.
    For those pointing out that they knew she was not Muslim, what has that got to do with anything?
    The Oklahoma City bomber was Timothy Mcvigh, a White right winger.
    terrorists come in all shapes and sizes.
    As for the reporting accuracy, the car involved was not a Lexus but an Infiniti. Might seem like a stupid comment on my part but it is an example of the inaccurate reporting that happens in a fast moving situation like this.

Mute Jillian Milam
    Favourite Jillian Milam
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:39 PM

I’m reading a lot of comments here about the DC police being at fault. I have to disagree (and I’m a gun hating, bleeding heart Liberal)! I’m not sure how many of you are familiar with DC and the amount of people walking the streets on a daily basis. The amount of tourists alone is enough to make your head spin! It has nothing to do with living in fear or shoot first ask questions later… This woman was a threat to EVERYONE in DC yesterday. SHE made the choice to ignore police officers and in ignoring them, SHE sealed her own fate. Had she been allowed to continue driving thru DC I can guarantee there would have been more injuries and fatalities and everyone would blaming the PD for NOT doing anything to stop it. I think the DC police did they’re job yesterday and protected the people. Yes it’s mind-boggling and sad she had a child in the car and I’m thankful that child wasn’t physically hurt. BUT this woman, depression or no, chose her actions. I’m pretty sure the result would be the same in ANY country if someone drove a speeding car into a security barricade, refused to stop, mowed down a police officer, and kept going. I think the DC police were correct in their actions on this one. Just one Yank’s opinion ;)

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:05 PM

So the law in the US now is that if you flee the police, and they imagine you might be bomber, they can kill you.
    Reminds me of that guy shot dead by the special branch in London. His crime was getting off a train.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:51 PM

Seamus The cops knew she was not a terrorist having already run a check on her plates. How can people come on here and defend that. I understand a lot of the guys a zit cover teenagers but no excuse for grown ups to say there was no other option but to kill a woman guilty of just dangerous driving particularly when she was not even in the car when she was shot.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:59 PM

@ Martin,

You make my day

‘ she was not a terrorist having already run a check on her plates. ‘

Where did you dream this one up from. The entire incident took about two minutes. Too much Hawaii 50 i think

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:07 PM

OH I didnt realise you can register your car in the US as a “certified terrorist”.
    Do you pop down to the DMV in your combat gear in a ski mask??Do they ask to see your AK and sucidide vest??
    g!!You havent a clue on this subject…go back to conspircy central and see if you can find a CIA link to this now.”Tard”!

Mute Jordan O'Byrne
    Favourite Jordan O'Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:08 PM

Seamus I presume you are talking about Jean Charles de Menezes? Your description of the incident bears no resemblence to the facts. Other than that I have no problem with your description.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:45 PM

@Simon your a child.

[1]The woman was outside the car in plain site when shot, no vest was visible.
    [2]She had no connections with Islam and the cops knew that at the time,
    [3]She had a child in the back of the car not something Muslim terrorists are know for doing.
    [4]US police are notorious for shooting first and asking questions later.
    [5]The car was stopped long enough for the five armed cops to think fast and disable the car but didn’t.

But you go ahead and defend the manslaughter of a woman with her child guilty only of dangerous driving

Pop your tin foil hat back on there Simon and get some kip because you have lost this argument, accept that and move on.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    Oct 4th 2013, 3:48 PM

Martin,

I apologise, You’re obviously suffering from illness causing delusions. Where have you dredged this tripe up from. None of the above happened except in your head.
    My advice stay away from Capitol Hill at all costs

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 8:45 PM

Josh so you prove my point you think (hope) they would shoot me If I went back to Washington just show what you are like mentally, because I question authority All American citizens are suppose to hold there government to account but not you lemmings.

Thanks. I never spent so much time talking to such ill informed idiots I’m annoyed at myself for getting sucked down to the same level as guys who love using Macho movie terms and talking about guns like they are toys.

Spanners idiots fools

Mute David Platkin
    Favourite David Platkin

The facts are that this woman was using her car as a weapon.

Deadly force is authorized at the White House to protect the president and the people.

If your family was run over by this woman because the police didn’t stop her who would you blame?

End of story.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 4:28 PM

She was out of her car and running away when she was shot by around a dozen officers, therefore no weapon argument hold water.

Manslaughter……End of Story

Mute Keith Conway
    Favourite Keith Conway
    Oct 4th 2013, 7:54 PM

Why not shoot at her tyres or radiator. Easy targets and would disable the car. Simples.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Oct 4th 2013, 2:58 PM

@Martin the idiot
    1] Bomb vests are worn UNDER normal clothing.Did anyone know if she had a trigger switch on her or in the car,or that there was possibly someone in the area with a remote control primed to detonate??

2] How the fuk is anyone going to know here religious affilation or actually care when she is driving like a lunatic in a secure zone and is acting like a deadly threat??

3] You are an EXPERT on Islam and its belifs then and know all about their way of life??

4] Please give some examples of that offensive and diusgusting statement to back up your outright lies.

5]The car was stopped and the threat dealt with by the book in a situation like that and after a no doubt long and detailed plan.Seeing that you have no clue what the threat is,you have to neutralise it,she was acting like a terrorist and it had the hallmarks of a terrorist attack.

No Martin the only tinfoil hat wearer here is you going by your other belifs and rants here,and I dont fight unarmed opponents ,you dont have the knowledge,wit or capability of fighting me.Now back to conspircy central with you ,I’m sure the CIA was involved somewhere for you to find out.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:13 PM

test

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:14 PM

@Simon

You said : ["4] Please give some examples of that offensive and diusgusting statement to back up your outright lies.

Here Simon you Murder fan

Cops killing unarmed men women and grandparents holding their grandchild

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q3JGscEfkFQ
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G63FEamhpA0

examples it took about 3 mins to collect the urls there are thousands

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:17 PM

I am trying to paste 25 you tube URLS but nothing happens

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:32 PM
    Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:33 PM
    Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Oct 4th 2013, 9:34 PM
    Mute Morticia
    Favourite Morticia
    Oct 4th 2013, 1:34 PM

“So the law in the US now is that if you flee the police, and they imagine you might be bomber, they can kill you.”
    Where did you get that from?

Mute Joe Power
    Favourite Joe Power
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:22 AM

If she was while ramming the barrier , it can be justified that she was shot . If she was out of the car and legging it ,that’s murder

Mute Jen
    Favourite Jen
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:25 AM

They didn’t have to kill her. Poor kid xx