You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dáil TV

Greater protections for whistleblowers after penalty points furore

Eamon Gilmore said that legislation is currently being drawn up which will be put before government shortly.

THE SHATTER VERSUS Wallace saga was again the main topic up for discussion at the latest round of Leaders’ Questions in the Dáil.

Both the Fianna Fáil leader Michael Martin and Independent TD Clare Daly questioned the Justice Minister Alan Shatter’s motives for leaking confidential information about Wexford TD Mick Wallace’s encounter with gardaí.

Tanaiste Eamon Gilmore, who was taking Leaders’ Questions today as the Taoiseach is in Brussels facing questions about Ireland’s tax arrangements with multi-national companies, vehemently defended minister for justice.

Martin told the house that Shatter’s “half-hearted apology” to Wallace in the Dáíl “missed the point” and that it was an “abuse of his position”.

The Fianna Fáil leader also questioned Shatter’s revelations that it was the Garda Commisioner Martin Callinan who provided him with the information

“The garda commissioner is entitled to brief the minister of serious issues… but the minister should treat such information with confidence,” added Martin.

Dáil likened to cabaret

When it was deputy Daly’s turn she put it to Gilmore that Shatter treated the “house like cabaret” and was scathing about the comments he made on RTÉ’s Prime Time.

She outlined the “difficult” position that both whistleblowers found themselves in when they tried to bring the penalty points scandal to the attention of relevant authorities. She added that they were “warned off” and “tried to be silenced”.

However, for once in the session, Gilmore agreed with Daly and said more needs to be done to protect them:

“I think it’s been high-time that legislation is introduced that will protect whistleblowers… without fear of their job or without fear of any discrimination,” said Gilmore.

He added that legislation is currently being drawn up which will be put before government shortly.

Read: Shatter: I made comments ‘to defend the integrity of An Garda Síochána’>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

31 Comments
    Mute Brian Rochford
    Favourite Brian Rochford
    May 22nd 2013, 1:28 PM

Boom time or bust I would like to see Shatter run out of office for his behavior.

Mute Boy Russell
    Favourite Boy Russell
    May 22nd 2013, 1:32 PM

I love Claire Daly!

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    May 22nd 2013, 2:19 PM

Larry

The same opinion you have about Claire Daly can eaasily be applied to Shatter, Kenny, Gilmore or any of the Government TD’s we have.

Mute Sarcaholik
    Favourite Sarcaholik
    May 22nd 2013, 2:37 PM

@Birdy. Just plenty of original sin and an inspirational drive to meaningfully stand up for all those left behind in the ether of the neo-liberal, post-apostolic shi£hole that the land of the put upon pixies heads has become!!

May 22nd 2013, 1:28 PM

They get paid for holding the government to account as well murphy 11. Though in fairness I do agree Gilmore is a waste of space.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    May 22nd 2013, 1:47 PM

The two faced little hypocrite. Eamon, how can you possibly condone Alan Shatter’s behaviour? What kind of a man does that make you? Your response only proves that you and your party of liars are prepared to go the full term, no matter what. When will the real Labour Party members stand up, and say Enough is Enough?

Mute Leonard Washington
    Favourite Leonard Washington
    May 22nd 2013, 1:50 PM

I know how we can settle this-
    THUNDERDOME!
    Shatter v Wallace.
    2 men enter, 1 man leaves.

Mute Jonny Rigley
    Favourite Jonny Rigley
    May 22nd 2013, 2:21 PM

@Leonard

Could we not refine your idea to

THUNDERDOME:
    166 Td’s enter, no one leaves

Mute Leonard Washington
    Favourite Leonard Washington
    May 22nd 2013, 2:48 PM

Johnny we could have a pay per view event- 166 man, over the top rope battle royale.
    The 2 men left standing then face each other in-
    THUNDERDOME.
    For the grand title of puppet of the ECB,
    My prediction for 2 men left standing would be Phil “The Hulk” hogan versus Dessie “the intimidator” Ellis.
    2 men enter, one man leaves!

Mute Éamonn Ó'Tíghearnáin
    Favourite Éamonn Ó'Tíghearnáin
    May 22nd 2013, 4:58 PM

How about an enhanced version of “Rock, Paper, Scissors”

It’s called Rock, Paper, Scissors, Lizard, Spock”

Mute murphy 11
    Favourite murphy 11
    May 22nd 2013, 1:24 PM

Would they ever leave this rest and get on what the job they’re paid to do. They might get around to taking about the economy again and maybe come up with a few ideas on how to get us out of the mess we’re in. By the way ideas don’t mean new taxes!

Mute Eileen Dover
    Favourite Eileen Dover
    May 22nd 2013, 4:42 PM

Oh man don’t mention new taxes.

Mute @KevinMullen
    Favourite @KevinMullen
    May 22nd 2013, 1:55 PM

We need something a lot stronger to protect us from gilmore and his bunch of back stabbers

Mute linda o neill
    Favourite linda o neill
    May 22nd 2013, 2:01 PM

I was waiting for Gilmore to blame Fianna Fail for Shatters prime time outburst…ya man the commissioner will walk the plank next week for this and he will have his big fat pension to go with him as well

Mute Itiswhatitis
    Favourite Itiswhatitis
    May 22nd 2013, 3:58 PM

Shatter the cute wh0re making the commissioner take the fall now. Typical FG stuff.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    May 22nd 2013, 2:23 PM

Frank

Hush up or we will have a certin female TD from Mayo seeking to have this page taken down.

Mute Frank Hindsight
    Favourite Frank Hindsight
    May 22nd 2013, 2:12 PM

Red Claire can blow my whistle anytime……the feisty minx!!

Mute Skip Goose
    Favourite Skip Goose
    May 22nd 2013, 2:43 PM

Mick Wallace is that you?

Mute Frank Hindsight
    Favourite Frank Hindsight
    May 22nd 2013, 3:41 PM

Careful now, that could be the plot of Shatter’s next tacky clit-lit novel when he eventually gets the bullet……or just his next de-briefing by Callanan!!

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    May 22nd 2013, 2:51 PM

the cover up continues in the cartel gang , its so clear the truth has no meaning to the members of the cartel , all who took an oath to the country and its people ,shame on you for allowing all the cover ups just look at what is done to the whistle blowers

Mute duisigheire
    Favourite duisigheire
    May 22nd 2013, 1:49 PM

Lol. This country is a jokeshop for whistleblowers

http://whistleblowerirl.blogspot.ie/?m=1

Jonathan sugarman ignored for years, and for a lot more than talking on his phone. @johngilroyteam sen John gilroy twice denied freedom of information to get a copy of letter sent to central bank

Mute Jonathan Sugarman
    Favourite Jonathan Sugarman
    May 22nd 2013, 10:32 PM

Australian state-TV came to Ireland to cover my story as a whistleblower at an IRISH registered, but Italian owned bank. This involved shortages of BILLIONS of Euro. Despite the best efforts of the Irish establishment, I am still around to tell the tale…

Here is the documentary on ABC TV:
    http://www.abc.net.au/foreign/content/2011/s3367080.htm

Here is Ireland’s Village magazine’s cover story:
    http://www.villagemagazine.ie/index.php/2013/04/still-waiting-for-the-truth-from-the-regulator/

Mute Michael Whyte
    Favourite Michael Whyte
    May 22nd 2013, 7:15 PM

I am sick to my back teeth hearing about the mick Wallace saga! Now he is calling for an independent enquiry??? About what this is nonsense especially from a man who should have been pulled out of the Dail in handcuffs for knowledgeable submitting false Vat returns and robbing the Irish people of in excess of 150,000??? Go home Wallace crawl back under the stone you came out from ye thief!.. And get a haircut!

Mute Jonathan Sugarman
    May 22nd 2013, 10:31 PM

http://www.abc.net.au/foreign/content/2011/s3367080.htm

Mute Denzil
    Favourite Denzil
    May 22nd 2013, 9:26 PM

Bunch of wasters on the dail

Mute TrafficBatman
    Favourite TrafficBatman
    May 22nd 2013, 8:22 PM

Wallace should have been given his P45 after the first saga. The penalty points debacle indicates we were only scratching the surface. Some of our government representatives on their comfortable salaries can’t manage decent, professional looking clothes and while they’re at it, a hair cut. It’s a sad reflection on voters that these “lads” were actually democratically elected. Hang your heads in shame people.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    May 22nd 2013, 10:47 PM

@TrafficBatman, yes, sartorial neatness is everything. A haircut will save democratic standards. You have a gift of focusing on what is really crucial.

Mute TrafficBatman
    Favourite TrafficBatman
    May 23rd 2013, 11:40 AM

It should all start with simple respect for the job. Not crucial, but basics are important.

Mute Jonathan Sugarman
    May 22nd 2013, 10:30 PM

Australian state-TV came to Ireland to cover my story as a whistleblower at an IRISH registered, but Italian owned bank. This involved shortages of BILLIONS of Euro. Despite the best efforts of the Irish establishment, I am still around to tell the tale…

Here is Ireland’s Village magazine’s cover story:
    http://www.villagemagazine.ie/index.php/2013/04/still-waiting-for-the-truth-from-the-regulator/

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    May 22nd 2013, 10:44 PM

@ Jonathan Sugarman, my profound respect and admiration.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    May 22nd 2013, 10:43 PM

The message has been clearly delivered to potential political dissidents in Ireland, whether elected or otherwise.

Cause trouble and expect your personal life and conduct to be the subject of close monitoring and scrutiny.

Protection of whistleblowers is unconvincing. Only an foolhardy person would now dare to reveal information. Life will be made a misery for you.

Comply, conform and collaborate.

The HSE has upgraded its confidentiality provisions with employees and consultants.

Silence is golden in Ireland.