You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
OVER HALF OF you believe Enda Kenny has been a better Taoiseach than Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen, according to a new poll.
As he seeks an historic second consecutive term in government for Fine Gael, Kenny is viewed as having done a better job than his two Fianna Fáil predecessors among the majority of adults in Ireland.
Over 1,000 adults were asked: ‘Who was a better Taoiseach?’
They were given a choice of three most recent incumbents: Kenny, his predecessor, Cowen, who served in the office between 2008 and 2011, or Ahern, who served as Taoiseach between 1997 and 2008.
The Fine Gael leader, who has held the office since 2011, is viewed by 55% of people as having been the better Taoiseach, with 31% opting for Ahern and just 14% selecting Cowen.
Bertie Ahern with his successor Brian Cowen in 2009
As he enters the final few weeks of his tenure as head of this Fine Gael-Labour government, Kenny is the clear winner among men and women, in all age groups and in all areas of the country.
Some 58% of people in Dublin think Kenny has been a better Taoiseach compared to just 29% of people who think local boy Ahern was better.
Cowen comes out marginally better than his overall result in Leinster – he was based in Offaly – with nearly a fifth of people, 18%, thinking he was a better Taoiseach while just less than half, 49%, opted for Kenny.
Kenny, a TD in Mayo for over four decades, also performs strongly in Connacht and Ulster with 58% of people thinking he has been the better Taoiseach.
The poll was conducted by Amárach Research on Monday, 11 January. The survey panel comprises more than 1,000 adults who all own a smartphone. More details here.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Exactly what I was going to say but at least the other two could stand up and defend their positions where as our current knob can’t. And trust me they were all knobs!!!!
Kenny is not even the best person in his party to be the leader of his own party.
A complete soulless wet fish, he could’t inspire a carpet!
He happened to be the face on the ball as it bounced back up, more a good luck timing issue for him whilst we were at our lowest ebb.
FG lead by Kenny have done nothing for me or anyone in my socioeconomic position.
As for the other two mammaries, no comment.
Its like comparing which is better, crotch rot, a bad dose of piles or the squirts on a packed dublin bus 8 miles from home.
Edna had just clawed his way to the top of the FG dunghill when the country was sick & tired of the other 2.
That, and all his lies & unfulfilled promises is the reason that he where he is.
Bertie is slippery, Cowen is sloppy, but Kenny is slimy.
Christ on a crutch! the best of a bad bunch – is like being told to pick one form of leprosy over another, I Saw you running around like a kid in a candy store at the FG Ard Dheis on the 9 o`clock news Hugh – I thought you were gonna wet yourself with excitement, Is this the best you can come up with today?
I hope you get a big pat on the back and a goody bag later from your 2nd day at the Ard Dheis, bring clean undies in case there is another cartridge found.
In a perfect vacuum they’d all reach the ground exactly at the same time – which would be nice. But in our air filled atmosphere, drag will separate them…. Kenny would be first to smash in to the ground (giving Mayo an unlikely win at something), Bertie’s anorak would slow him down slightly but the wads of cash in his pockets (won on the horses) won’t cusion his impact. Finally Cowan’s extended frame would cast a large shadow over the ground before the 17 pints of guinness in his gut engulf the other two in a colossal explsosion. Tickets please…
The least worst. If that’s the best this pathetic Taoiseach can hope for, then that shows how much of a failure he is. It’s like being asked which cancer is the least worst. It’s still cancer.
Pete, Brian Cowen and Bertie Ahern left you with an annual defecit of 8billion. You then blamed Enda Kenny for the subsequent cut backs. Its because of people like you that we had Brian and Bertie in the first place. You can’t even tell the difference.
Err Simon, I think if you check back you will find that Enda Kenny cemented 8 bililon deficit and made it all sovereign, In other words he lied through his hole when he said he would burn the bond holders, basically we have a choice of 3 Liars and untrustworthy people to choose from.
Mother most of the prom note to sovereign we are not paying for as yet. We have borrowed maybe 6 or so out of the 30. That pain will be felt when Enda & Noonan are raping the country for their multiple pensions. This was a massive mistake by FG.
You will hear that of the 8bn interest inly 1.8 is banking. This is not an accurate picture.
Pat the some of the distortions are that billions were given to AIB from the NPRF. Certainly the first 8. So as not borrowed money it isn’t included in interest. Or loss of earnings on this money not included. And allowing banks to write off future profits against losses covered by taxpayer.
IiRB qe have yet to start paying for 24 billion of this money. So debt we took on but with big interest payments over the next 40 years.
That’s two examples of manipulating figures. Bank bailout is much more a drain than some woukd have you think.
“Pat the some of the distortions are that billions were given to AIB from the NPRF. ”
“In March 2009, the Government used emergency legislation to give €3.5 billion each to AIB and Bank of Ireland from the fund in exchange for preference shares. The bank recapitalisation project was in full, cash-devouring swing. In 2010, an additional State investment of €3.7 billion was assigned to AIB,”
“Having, to date, returned around €6 billion in cash to the Irish taxpayers for their support and €4.8 billion investment in Bank of Ireland”
BOI has repaid their share, and in time the hope is that AIB will repay it. Do you not think that it was a good thing not to borrow money that we already had in the fund, tp save on interest charges?
Certainly the first 8. So as not borrowed money it isn’t included in interest. Or loss of earnings on this money not included. And allowing banks to write off future profits against losses covered by taxpayer.”
“IiRB qe have yet to start paying for 24 billion of this money. So debt we took on but with big interest payments over the next 40 years.”
IIRB will never repay this money, they are gone lavbeer, but this has been kicked down the road and the hope is that time and inflation (and hopefully continued growth) will reduce this debt and it is still open to whatever government to seek a deal for this.
It is not a great situation, it is a better situation than where we found ourselves in.
Sure we all partied Simon. Problem is that we are all cleaning up but most of us weren’t at the party.
I heard him on radio saying he liquidated Anglo. Selling it as a positive. But as we all know liquidations are about carving uo remaining assets to creditors. But that is not what happened. Its all spin with him. Ireland is no better now than it was 5 years ago from a regulatory perspective.
Pat on my IIRB – I mean to write that we have not starting paying. They.never will of course. They were a vital cog in the euro according to commissioned reports . They never were. But Noonan formally nationalised it when the prom notes were to be challenged in court.
Fully agree lavbeer, no argument from me there – but the Government included them in the guarantee.
The prom note was left from FF and this was where we had a situation that say 3.1 billion a year of real money being destroyed by the CB – that is no longer the case.
The thing that gets me is that we were forced to pay the debts for a bank that in its heyday if we wanted a loan would not have entertained us. I really don’t get that part.
Is Hugh O’Connell actually working for Fine Gael? I presume his job technically precludes him from being a member, but seriously, he’s The Journal’s Stephen Collins!
Why would his job preclude him? There is no legal obligation for this website or its employees to remain impartial or abstain from pro FG propaganda, other than to protect its own interests by trying to appear as if it has some journalistic integrety.
The entertainment value of this website is in its shambolic attempts at presenting FG party political broadcasts in the guise of news articles while completely refusing to acknowledge everyone who points this out.
Lying to people who tell you that they know you are lying to them, pretending you cant hear them calling you out as a liar and then arrogantly continuing to tell the lie? I mean come on; how much more Fine Gael can you get than that!!!
I’m no fan of Enda Kenny at all, and I hate Bertie Ahern, but you could even make an argument about his contribution to the peace process. However, what planet are 14% of people living on that they would vote for the guy who OK’d the bank guarantee which almost destroyed our country? It boggles the mind.
Ahern and Cowen were allowed run riot and were able to destroy the welfare of the lower income earners.
Kenny was told by the Troika what to do. He made no effort to alleviate the hardship on the under privileged but he made sure that the over privileged were protected.
It’s a meaningless comparison. These are all small guys, with small visions and no sense of enlightenment, political hucksters on the make serving the interests of a privileged few at the expense of the many.
Jarlath, the people against Irish Water and direct tax are stealing money from you. You have lost billions in exports, hundreds of millions on fines and your water network is in shit. They are making a fool out of you. Wake up.
That’s a matter of opinion Simon, it’s wrong but you’re entitled to it. What’s a undeniable fact is endo and this government have spent roughly €500m installing useless water meters and the vast majority of the contracts to install them went to his boss DON. That alone is reason to never vote these traitors back into power.
Irish Water is people saying enough is enough. FGs HSE is all it is. Wastage from day 1 lead by a man whose mismanagement left water without investment during his tenure as a county manager.
In fact it is people like you by accepting low standards that has the country in the mess it is. We have 2 political parties with less 150k members between them making bad decisions.
Diarmuid, I am an Engineer that has spent years working on the water networks across Ireland.The people objecting to Irish Water are clueless. Trust me, I’m a patriot and I know what I’m taking about. They are NOT your friends. Wake up.
Enlighten us Simon. Yes there has been underinvestment driven also by mismanagement of funds by coco management.
Do you really believe that a multi billon operation to jnstall meters and run a billing system etc was money well spent? I agree centralising water was the way forward, employing staff centrally etc wasna way forward.
Simon, what has any of that got to do with blowing €500m of taxpayers money on water meters that will be obsolete in a few years having never been used. And the fact most of that went to a well known FG benefactor ?
Well that was easy Ahern is a cute hoor street wise but not an intellectual bone in his body and Cowen was drunk most of the time.
Now Enda was vicious piece of work a liar never kept any of his promises and any could save money by let the Country and its people suffer as he did in my book they are all the same . Kenny did nothing for the Country except make his rich friends richer.
People use your heads and vote for someone who cares for the people and the Country
The three of them are equally useless in their own way. Ahearn simply a crook. Biffo a thick, clueless imbiber of the black stuff and the Mayo Muppet a gombeen Traitor in the sam mould as Petain, not a real leader amoung any of them
I guess it’s like asking, which of them is the fastest over 100 metres. They’re all painfully slow, but Kenny would be fastest, bertie would struggle badly and Cowan would be out of breath after a few steps.
Then none of them would actually run it. Kenny would call the gov jet at huge taxpayers expense, bertie would get chauffeur driven, and Cowan would just get all stubborn and refuse to take part.
Then at the finish line, kenny’d wanna fire someone over not agreeing on the official time, making him look bad, bertie would want a scissors to cut the ribbon and make a speech, and where’s biffo???
Kenny is the worst, he followed the program set down by FF and the troika but made it more bitter. And he cannot debate of the top of his head like the other two could he needs papers in front of him, if he has no script he just goes and pulls out the FF and SF card.
He can’t even speak publicly without prompts never mind debate on the fly. He has the charisma of a wet sponge. He lacks the most basic quality of a leader, to be able to rally the troops.
At least Bertie was a bit of crack. You know a weekend with him would be a laugh.
Enda’s slowly giving the nation brain damage.
Like working on a site in London with a bunch of Mayo men.
Who comes up with these leading questions for polls? None of these men (and Cowen was by far the most capable) will be looked at favourably by history. Ireland has been an abject example of how not to govern a country and we are all paying the price for this with no immediate prospect of any change in course. It’s not just that I’m deeply ashamed of our governments and have been given multiple outrageous reasons for absolutely not trusting their integrity or competence. It’s that this seems to be the best most of us can even imagine. If the Irish don’t get a grip on themselves very soon, there will be no reason to believe they possibly deserve any better.
Kenny is a gowl! Worst puppet ever! Is the Journal a yfg app! Just wondering! Love all these ‘polls’ that no one seems to be asked about! Kenny a good leader? In Germany maybe!
Geraldine,
Kenny is a great leader but you keep calling him things like puppet or muppet or you don’t like his hair or you think he is a dweeb. Why don’t you tell us a little about exports?
Bertie was a showman who played us for fools , Cowen was a clown out of his depth who performed in the Dail bar and Kenny, well Kenny proves that cousins should never marry each other. He sold us out to foreign powers for a pat on the head.
You need to understand the way the world works. All this burn the bond holders is pub talk. For all the tough talk where are the Greeks? They’re fxxxxd and we have a fast growing economy.
Nobody in ireland knows what fg will be like if they get a second term..not even fg themselves as they never got re-elected before..god help us if the last 5 years is anything to go by..people need to vote with care. Im going to chance SF this time as i voted fg last time and it didnt work out for me personally..
He may (in time) go down as one of the best in the history of the state. He’s done a very solid job with a ‘poisoned chalice’. Deserves another term without question
Reading these comments you would find it hard to believe that Enda will still be Taoiseach after the next election, which he most certainly will, because unlike the typical commenter on here most people that vote think he is doing a fine job. If you think he won’t be Taoiseach go to the bookies, there is a lot of money to be made betting on an alternative.
Homelessness worse than ever, false employment figures, non taxing of multinationals and then going to court to fight taking tax from them? health service destroyed and emigration on a massive scale, corruption on a grand scale and Denis O’Brien and Merkel basically telling Kenny what to do because he is a spineless little nobody…yeah he’s doing a fine job….keep taking the tablets pal
Fxxk off yourself Pete, all I’m saying is that its your fault we have a ruined our country because you don’t recognise the difference between someone who destroys our country and someone who improves it. For example you dont recognise that the crisis in health and housing is causef by a lack of money/ exports.
You believe the FG spin so…! Away with ya. We’ll see who believes it this time. I honestly don’t know why Brian Cowen was thrown into the mix at all because he never got a chance to prove himself in the short time he was in office. He was handed a bomb with a very short fuse . He was a very good minister for labour and diffused major rows with unions. He ,rightfully , described the department of health as “Angola” when he was in that department. He was instrumental in the peace process with Albert Reynolds and neither got the recognition they deserved. I don’t think that record would describe a clueless person! Enda is like Casper…rarely seen because FG are terrified to let him loose on his own.
Enda Kenny has saved this country from the brink. I’m absolutely non political but I will give credit where due. It has been painful but the blame lies exclusively with Fianna Fáil who spent 3 terms in office. It’s not complicated.
Enda got lucky. Factors he had absolutely no control over allowed Ireland to recover. Only for Enda to reward the wealthiest and ensure Irish society is at its most unequal since the Victorian British times.
Seriously though. It’s getting ridiculous at this stage. It’s like asking who do you prefer? Enda or Cancer. A stupid poll to commission from the pretend journalists at theJournal. Nice propaganda puff piece before election time so serves its purpose well. Should go ahead and merge the FG logo with your own. Completely biased site.
No contest!croneyism will probably exist all our lifetimes but enda hasn’t a patch on b-b-bertie… get the feeling that maybe enda gives a small shit what happens joe public too!?
Considering the reputation of the men he was up against he could hardly lose the poll, still pretty close though.
Kenny was a failure in opposition and a failure in power. He was elected by default after the financial crisis. Worryingly, he may get elected again because of the lack of viable political opposition in this country.
” Never The Twain Shall Meet”
It makes real good sense that the the seat of Government in Ireland should be totally reconfigured after the next election.
NAMA! Through this Government are giving control of property belonging to the people of Ireland to American big business interest with no connection to Ireland. There is no interest in developing public housing projects for our young people. There is an interest in American big business building massive projects that controls the destiny of the Irish people. It is time we put a stop to this. Denis O’ Brien is Fine Gaels man in Washington who is behind most of this on behalf of Fine Gael. These people do not care a toss about the dignity of the Irish people. Proof of this can be located among the poor in our society. In particular the conditions under which huge numbers of Irish people are homeless existing in worse than third world conditions and situations; that they live from hand to mouth in twenty first century Ireland, is appalling and must be dealt with immediately. All these breaches of faith; broken promises etc. The situation with Irish water and the fire sale of hugely valuable property portfolios by NAMA ( National Assets Management Agency ) is just the tip of the iceberg. Irish people North and South must challenge and deal with this wholesale theft of Property belonging to the people on the Island of Ireland. Let us forget about flags and all of that stuff, and work together to accomplish the repossession of our Island.
Anyone with a smidgen of electoral common sense will get rid of the current crop of ” World Bank ” lackeys from Government. Fine Gael are set on destroying the social fabric of Ireland. In one of the most devastatingly rancorous Dial speeches of recent times,( Mattie Mc Grath ) the independent TD, spelled it out loud and clear to Enda Kenny: ”Under your leadership this Government is destroying the social cohesion of our country; you are the worst leader of the worst Government this country has ever had” He is absolutely correct.He is not however, blameless himself, but that’s another issue. For gods sake Ireland wake up!! Where are the risen people of Ireland?
The 000.1% who control the world have had the metaphorical index finger up the backsides of the Irish people for some time now. It has been like this at least, since Wellington was declared victorious at the battle of Waterloo.
Britain’s next war general was the great grandson of Queen Victoria. Winston Churchill: as an illegitimate child of an illegitimate father, would succeed in getting the founding fathers of Irish politics ” All the main political players” from 1916 right up to the Belfast agreement, to work with the the British and American Illuminate plans for world domination.
This is why the two party political system in Ireland has been so successful, and up until now unassailable. The two parties being Fianna Fail And Fine Gael.
Let us move the perspective to number 10 Downing Street, close to the end of the ( Second World War ) The man of the hour was none other than Winston Churchill.
His secretary was his daughter in law Pamela Digby Churchill, wife of Randolph Churchill.
She produced a child during her time as her father in laws sectary. That child was non other than Bill Clinton, the further President of the USA.Key Illuminati Mover and Shaker; Great friend to all political leaders.
Over thirty years ago, at the height of the Troubles in Northern Ireland, and the founding of the European Union, Clinton was moving around these parts.He sported a beard, Carried a Saxophone. Became a great friend to the Belfast Republican Gerry Adams, and the Derry man Martin Mc Guinness. He has been involved in Irish politics ever since. His Mrs has more than a passing interest in what is happening here, to so call enlist the Irish vote in the US.
Reconnecting with his fathers bloodline’s, Lizzy Windsor and her German consort Philip of Sax Coburg, Winston Churchill’s son would reassert the influence of his fathers blood line in Ireland.Consolidating his fathers plans for Europe. His aims and objectives would be the control of these two prominent Northern Irish Republicans. ” Never the twain shall meet” Bill would work his charm with the rest of the Europe’s political establishment.
So far I’d say he’s done a good job, for the Illegitimate son of an Illegitimate father, the product of one very Illegitimate son of a monarch who delivered 13 Illegitimate children. We’ve been conned folks. Time to wake up people.
Well Jem. Riddle me this’ What were the economic rules that evolved the political game in 1918, when the country was convulsed with the residue of the 1916 revolution?; The only half decent economist around was the last and as it turns out most successful Irish Republican Brotherhood member in the history of Irish Nationalism since the Famine Of 1845. Michal Collins like Michal Noonan was good at sums, Noonan can use a half decent abacus. The best and most respected politician of his day, Arthur Griffith, used the Hungarian Constitution to cobble together a political system that was credible and worked. Pearce Docherty, Gerry Adams and Mary Lou, along with support from up and coming Independence parties, can lead this country just as well if not better than Enda’s boys and girls. Remember Jem, the permanent Government are located within the various branches of the civil service. These people, you might say Jem: Run the country.
The Irish electorate should behave sensibly at election time: Based on how Fine Gael and labour behaved in Government after the election. the rolling over and reneging on all the promises they had made in the run up to the election. Fine Gael had no intention of doing other than continuing with the implementation of all Fianna Fails fiscal programs, they were bound by the bailout terms and the troikas assessment of how and who should be responsible for the pay back terms. We all know who is doing the licking. We all know that NAMA is selling our property at fire sale rates. We all know that our children are no nearer to closure on the illegality of it all. We all know that they will be burdened with the payment of that 64 billion Fianna Fail under Bertie and the builders chalked up during a 14 year period. It was a two party one policy fiasco. The culprits are Fianna Fail and Fine Gael. If we are to have any future for our children, get rid of these two parties.
Your a worst fool if you believe anything these people say, ‘except maybe when they complain about needing a mouth wash, after confessing to each other that they have puked all over the nation. These are feelings people express everyday, regularly over coffee the talk is: Enda is the countries most successful gob shit!!!!. Is it a fact that he is Ireland’s Prime minster?!! Each and every member of the Government is a fraud!! They are all con men and incorrigible liars. If they were not successful politicians; selling political fraud, they’d be successful criminals, whose time in mountjoy jail is pending. As it is there political shenanigans have not registered the worst of them as criminals. But there will come a time in the not to distant future when they will be branded like Charlie; having subscribed to a political system that systemically pillages the nations wealth. Ever since the foundation of the State. For decade after decade Fianna Fail and Fine Gael with the blessings of the Catholic Church have sold the wealth of this country to the highest American bidder. Isn’t this in essence what Mick Wallace is saying ?? He has information of a politically criminal nature that Enda Kenny should act on. Enda of course has given Wallace the deaf ear, and even putting his safety at risk. If Enda was to man up and deal with what Mick Wallace is saying. The political and Constitutional structures upon which Fine Gael And Fianna Fail are based would be undermined and even shredded.
What do you expect from RTE get their hands on and especially Claire Byrne the most biased host on any political programme. The 55% D4 satisfaction is typical west Brit pale voters
Money Diaries: A laboratory specialist on €70K living in Dublin
12 mins ago
evening fix
Here's what happened today: Sunday
14 mins ago
social welfare changes
If you lose your job and have worked for 5 years you'll get up to €450 a week under new rules
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say