You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Irishman joins Wimbledon tennis match after offering advice to players from the stand

The hero the crowd wanted.

WE’RE AT THE business end of Wimbledon right now with Roger Federer and Marin Cilic going head to head in the men’s tomorrow.

But none of those massive matches will provide a comic moment like what happened in a match in the Ladies’ Invitation Doubles – the equivalent of the legends tournament – yesterday.

Kim Clijsters asked her teammate Rennae Stubbs whether she should serve wide or down the middle.

An Irish fan near the front row chimed in with his opinion of “body” – so Clijsters brought him on to the court to see if he could handle it

Wimbledon / YouTube

“You said body? Why don’t you go there!”

doublesmatch2 Wimbledon Wimbledon

As WicklowNews.net discovered, the man in question is Chris Quinn from Greystones.

So Clijsters’ opponents got him out of the stands and gave him a racquet

doublesmatch3 Wimbledon Wimbledon

But there was only one problem: Wimbledon has a strict all-white clothing policy, and poor Chris was sporting a jaunty green tshirt with blue shorts.

So Clijsters got him a spare skirt out of her bag

doublesmatch4 Wimbledon Wimbledon

And with a bit of help, he successfully got it on

doublesmatch5

Clijsters was literally falling on the floor laughing throughout

doublesmatch6

And eventually Chris was ready to go

doublesmatch7 Wimbledon Wimbledon

And actually successfully returned the serve!

doublesmatch8 Wimbledon Wimbledon

Fair play.

The video has been watched over 300,000 times on YouTube since yesterday.

And Chris is making headlines around the world as his antics continue to go viral

doublesmatch Yahoo Yahoo

WicklowNews has a theory that Chris is leaving his mark on Wimbledon in more ways than one:

We are not sure and are open to correction but is Chris the first Wicklow man to play at Wimbledon and if you are wondering, Chris got to keep the skirt.

He got to keep the skirt? That’s good to know.

Great moment.

DailyEdge is on Snapchat! Tap the button below to add!

Written by David Elkin and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2017/07/img2-thejournal-628.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-3498206" class="alignnone" /end]

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

37 Comments
    Mute Dylan McDonald
    Favourite Dylan McDonald
    Jul 15th 2017, 4:17 PM

Ha Classic! Fairplay you can see he loving every second of it. Good to see the lighter side to professional sport

Mute Boyne Sharky
    Favourite Boyne Sharky
    Jul 15th 2017, 5:02 PM

And that’s why people love the Irish. He had a bit of craic, a little self deprecating humour and then tweeted very respectfully thanking everyone involved. Wonderful.

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Jul 15th 2017, 5:42 PM

@Fank Pulman: the RCC is the same the world over.

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Jul 15th 2017, 5:42 PM

@Fank Pulman: Jesus, have a day off Fank.

Mute Boyne Sharky
    Favourite Boyne Sharky
    Jul 15th 2017, 5:51 PM

@Fank Pulman: With respect, what the hell has any of that got to do with a slightly overweight Irish gentleman taking up a world class tennis player on her invitation to practice what he preached.
    He could have politely declined, but he didn’t and when she produced some white clothing he took it in fun. It was a bit of craic, a light hearted interlude in the otherwise serious business of professional tennis. Nothing more. Is that so bad?

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    Jul 15th 2017, 5:52 PM

@Bingobango: Awww…we’re still great craic though. Ignore our many faults, cos the worild loves clowns like us – they’re smirking too, at our €200+ billion National Debt. Not our fault – the EU, UK, Brexit, Trump, UN etc¡¿¡

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    Jul 15th 2017, 5:55 PM

@Boyne Sharky: Stereotype stupid classic m8…yes, bad…/o\

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Jul 15th 2017, 5:58 PM

@Fank Pulman: OK, sorry Fank… no more craic or lighthearted articles anymore. You’ve a hundred and one banker/brexit/government articles on here to champion your cause. Enjoy.

Mute Murf
    Favourite Murf
    Jul 15th 2017, 6:17 PM

@Fank Pulman: Ah Jealousy will get you no where, get a grip you dry balls

Mute Gerry McCarthy
    Favourite Gerry McCarthy
    Jul 15th 2017, 6:27 PM

@Fank Pulman: Christ Fank every country in the world has its own particular problems and believe me we are not as badly off as you are making out! Yes we have our faults but who doesn’t!

Mute Fluich Go Craicean
    Favourite Fluich Go Craicean
    Jul 15th 2017, 7:09 PM

@Fank Pulman: jaysus Frank I’d say you’re such a bore at parties. Can you not keep a conversation light hearted. There’s a time and place for everything

Mute Fluich Go Craicean
    Favourite Fluich Go Craicean
    Jul 15th 2017, 7:12 PM

@Fank Pulman: they might smirk at our national debt, but they are also jealous of our life style. Pubs and restaurants full every weekend, many people taking multiple foreign holidays a year, etc etc.

Mute Darren Tully
    Favourite Darren Tully
    Jul 15th 2017, 9:24 PM

@Fank Pulman: Go to the jax and spend few minutes pullin your little man and I think you’ll find yourself to be less of a misery guts

Mute Boyne Sharky
    Favourite Boyne Sharky
    Jul 15th 2017, 11:03 PM

@Fank Pulman: I guess this illustrates the differences in people. Personally I, like others, can see the humour in it and believe both Mr. Quinn and Kim Clijsters enjoyed the Irish sense of “craic”, it harmed nobody.
    Whereas others go though life failing to enjoy these interludes or see the humour in it, they’re described in various ways often involving their and anus. Smile, enjoy the humour where you find it in life.

Mute Sully
    Favourite Sully
    Jul 16th 2017, 8:29 AM

@Fank Pulman: do you do weddings frank ?

Mute keith thompson
    Favourite keith thompson
    Jul 15th 2017, 4:13 PM

Sure were great crack altogether

Mute bopter
    Favourite bopter
    Jul 15th 2017, 4:30 PM

@keith thompson: Hope our craic makes up for our grammar.

Mute Noreen Waters
    Favourite Noreen Waters
    Jul 15th 2017, 5:33 PM

@Fank Pulman: Only the Irish could pull it off

For the love of God Thompson give it up

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Jul 15th 2017, 5:56 PM

@Fank Pulman: only in Ireland could a moaner take a light hearted news story about a lad returning a serve at Wimbledon in a skirt and manage to some how work paedophile priests and currupt politicians into a response

Mute Duncan
    Favourite Duncan
    Jul 15th 2017, 6:01 PM

@Fank Pulman:

Seriously man you need to get out more !!

Mute keith thompson
    Favourite keith thompson
    Jul 15th 2017, 9:06 PM

@bopter:

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Jul 15th 2017, 4:22 PM

That had me laughing. Good

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Jul 15th 2017, 6:12 PM

That is just brilliant. Fair play to all at Wimbledon.
    We all need to chill once in a while.

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Jul 15th 2017, 4:44 PM

A man for all seasons

Mute Noreen Waters
    Favourite Noreen Waters
    Jul 15th 2017, 5:28 PM

Only the Irish could pull it off

Mute Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Favourite Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Jul 15th 2017, 6:49 PM

Nice to hear something funny on here…

Mute Vera Murphy
    Favourite Vera Murphy
    Jul 15th 2017, 6:22 PM

Priceless

Mute Paul O Riordan
    Favourite Paul O Riordan
    Jul 15th 2017, 5:47 PM

Nice touch man from Wicklow

Mute Gunter Grove
    Favourite Gunter Grove
    Jul 15th 2017, 4:36 PM

Fair balls to him.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Jul 15th 2017, 8:28 PM

Sport sporting Sport.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Jul 15th 2017, 4:50 PM

Not even class 6 player. Class 7 and lower by the looks of it!

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jul 16th 2017, 2:44 AM

Kim falls for Wicklow man. Love 40.

Mute Dermot Fennelly
    Favourite Dermot Fennelly
    Jul 15th 2017, 4:15 PM

New balls please

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jul 15th 2017, 4:33 PM

Crack up .

Mute Time to Wake Up
    Favourite Time to Wake Up
    Jul 16th 2017, 2:35 PM

WHAT A CLOWN! Lol

Mute Trish Loughman
    Favourite Trish Loughman
    Jul 16th 2017, 1:18 PM

Gosh that’s a well made skirt, if it didn’t rip. They deserve a big boost in sales.

Mute Greg White
    Favourite Greg White
    Jul 16th 2017, 10:43 AM

He’s right. It’s all about the body.. vex it or brex it.