You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

Will increased Dart frequency make traffic in Dublin worse?

Irish Rail has said better public transport is the only solution to traffic congestion.

INCREASED DART FREQUENCY could lead to more traffic congestion in Dublin, it has been warned.

Irish Rail (Iarnród Éireann) recently announced that Dart services would be increased in frequency from every 15 minutes to every 10 minutes on weekdays, and will start running earlier in the morning.

Dublin councillor Jim O’Callaghan has said the planned increase in frequencies could lead to barrier downtime of over seven hours a day at certain stations.

Barry Kenny of Irish Rail said he doesn’t disagree with the downtime figures being put forward by O’Callaghan, stating: ”There’s no arguing that point – there will be extra downtime.”

He noted that the plan to increase Dart frequencies “will make public transport better”, adding that the frequency of trains reduced in the past and the new proposals will bring schedules back in line with previous ones.

Kenny said roads are “hugely congested as it is” and this issue will only be solved by improving public transport.

Level crossings

O’Callaghan said the increased frequencies are to be welcomed, but level-crossing train barriers need to be modernised before they are implemented.

“It is important to note that the impact on traffic congestion for Dublin southside commuters, particularly around the busy areas of Sydney Parade and Merrion Gates, will be significant.”

9/3/2009 Accidents at Dart Trains RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

The Fianna Fáil councillor said that 160 trains currently pass through Sydney Parade each weekday (about one every seven minutes) and this figure will increase to 225 (approximately one every five minutes).

Recent observations indicate that the level-crossing train barriers come down roughly two minutes before a southbound train passes and up to three minutes before a northbound one. At several points the downtime can be up to five minutes when northbound and southbound trains cross within two minutes of each other. This amounts to approximately six hours daily of barrier downtime between 6am and midnight.

He noted that the proposed changes in frequency times would increase the barrier downtime to about seven-and-a-half hours per day, “effectively closing the road 40% of the time, which will prove dangerous and frustrating for all road users but particularly for emergency vehicles”.

Kenny said similar lengths of barrier downtime will be replicated at other stops along the line.

Train drivers aren’t happy 

Dermot O’Leary, general secretary of the National Bus and Rail Union (NRBU), said increasing the Dart frequency was not agreed with drivers.

4/9/2014 Trains Stations RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

Drivers recently engaged in industrial action over payments related to productivity. Union members are set to be balloted by Monday on a Labour Court recommendation that both sides enter into negotiations on productivity. The motion is likely to pass.

If so, there would be a four-month window to discuss productivity, going well beyond the planned start date for the new proposals. O’Leary said expanding Dart frequency would fall under these discussions, but Kenny disagrees.

He said increasing the frequency of Darts is not a productivity issue as Irish Rail is recruiting new drivers.

‘Pre-election rush’ 

“It appears to me that the government in a pre-election rush have announced 10-minute services without taking heed of several issues, not least barrier downtime,” O’Leary said.

He added that a barrier upgrade is long overdue.

4/9/2014 Trains on the Tracks RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

Kenny said Irish Rail hopes to implement the more frequent Dart timetable by the end of January.

The date for submissions during the public consultation period about a range of upgrades being proposed by Irish Rail, including increased Dart frequency, ended yesterday. The company received over 2,200 submissions.

Read: Your bus, rail and Luas fares are going up today

Read: A Dart every 10 mins? Hold on just a second there, say drivers

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute Fergal Cantwell
    Favourite Fergal Cantwell
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:28 PM

everyday im shufflin’

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Jan 11th 2012, 11:46 AM

“My new Nokia 6510 will be here today, it does texts and everything now”

Mute Fergal Cantwell
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:34 PM

he he he, ive got the golden ticket, jesus a camera, i was just about to click me heels an all, he he

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:04 PM

I just can’t look at him long enough to figure it out. :-(

Mute Fergal Cantwell
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:58 PM

feckin’ botox hash me stuck like thish, ok think angry enda, think angry, doh!!

Mute Blah Blah
    Favourite Blah Blah
    Jan 11th 2012, 2:28 PM

@Fergal Cantwell: Step away from the picture… enough from you already!

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jan 11th 2012, 4:56 PM

Fergal @ Best one yet ! Lol:) :)

Mute Jim Daly
    Favourite Jim Daly
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:10 PM

Who’s your sexy daddy?

Mute Fergal Cantwell
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:27 PM

boom boom, i knew i was the daddy

Mute chicken ball ann
    Favourite chicken ball ann
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:45 PM

Hope Ming got me sorted…..

Mute Fergal Cantwell
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:55 PM

ok, keep calm enda, got to get to the jacks

Mute Ted Power
    Favourite Ted Power
    Jan 11th 2012, 11:51 AM

I bought this lovely new anorak thanks to the first few fools that paid the household charge….it’s all mine mine MINE MWAHAHAHA

Mute Ann Illing
    Favourite Ann Illing
    Jan 11th 2012, 3:15 PM

This anorak has lots of lovely pockets for the brown envelopes. Zips as well to keep them safe………!

Mute Hazel Kearney
    Favourite Hazel Kearney
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:16 PM

Wait til the wife realises i’ve taken the TV remote to work.

Mute Jimmy Riddle
    Favourite Jimmy Riddle
    Jan 11th 2012, 2:32 PM

Now to Tax Confirmation and Communion money

Mute Fergal Cantwell
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:39 PM

chim chimeny, chim, chim cheroo

Mute Fergal Cantwell
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:43 PM

momma told me, there d be days like this

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Favourite Patrick Kennedy
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:16 PM

‘I’ve got the moves like Jagger’

Mute Karl Nicholson
    Favourite Karl Nicholson
    Jan 11th 2012, 11:58 AM

We inherited Ireland’s financial woes from the previous government, just like I inherited this classy anorak from Bertie.

Mute Ronan McManus
    Favourite Ronan McManus
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:07 PM

Doesn’t Mary have a lovely Bottom!!

Mute Abi Dennis
    Favourite Abi Dennis
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:25 PM

ah now he’d be a bit more pc than that and would add “of course they all have lovely bottoms!” ya dont get to be taoiseach unless ur a bit diplomatic ;)

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:50 PM

I’m a cute hoor………I’m a cute hoor……….I’m a cute hoor………I’m a cute hoor……….I’m a cute hoor………I’m a cute hoor……….I’m a cute hoor………I’m a cute hoor……….I’m a cute hoor………I’m a cute hoor……….

Mute Gerard Mooney
    Favourite Gerard Mooney
    Jan 11th 2012, 2:18 PM

“This jacket with built in nipple warmers was the best present EVER”

Mute Eugene O' neill
    Favourite Eugene O' neill
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:14 PM

“Oh crap hope that camera can’t see my german for dummies book”

Mute Brian Donovan
    Favourite Brian Donovan
    Jan 11th 2012, 11:46 AM

Oh get me in there, I’ve missed the sound of Joan Burton’s voice.

Mute Caitriona Reilly
    Favourite Caitriona Reilly
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:52 PM

When I was a teacher, in charge of 30 students I only worked 38 weeks out of the year. Now Im the Taoiseach in charge of 4 million people I only work 30 weeks in the year. Life is great.

Mute Paul Kealy
    Favourite Paul Kealy
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:48 PM

“Huh,huh,huh what Paddy doesn’t know wont hurt Paddy huh,huh,huh”

Mute Paul Kealy
    Favourite Paul Kealy
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:49 PM

“huh,huh,huh what Paddy doesn’t know won’t hurt Paddy huh,huh,huh”

Mute Joe Sinnott
    Favourite Joe Sinnott
    Jan 11th 2012, 11:56 AM

Ha its nearly been a year now since I kicked those wasters out of government.

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Jan 11th 2012, 11:50 AM

I just farted and there are no witnesses.

Mute James O'Connor
    Favourite James O'Connor
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:28 PM

Lads– I’m suffering from Anoraksia Nervosa

Jan 11th 2012, 12:20 PM

Must check with Joan as when I qualify for a Taoiseach’s pension. Can’t be long now.

Mute Stephie Fitz
    Favourite Stephie Fitz

Whooos your sexy taoisigh?

Mute Bark
    Favourite Bark
    Jan 11th 2012, 11:47 AM

sausages

Mute Paul Ryan
    Favourite Paul Ryan
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:27 PM

I hope Eamon isn’t sitting in my chair and wearing my slippers again!!!

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:42 PM

You know me Ted, the lights are on, but there’s nobody home…

Mute Ross Kelly
    Favourite Ross Kelly
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:30 PM

I wonder will they ever bring back Mork and Mindy….that truly was a great programme

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:18 PM

mmmm pensions :-)

Mute Ray Forde
    Favourite Ray Forde
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:06 PM

I like turtles!!!

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin

“The boys will be glad to get their hands on this 4000 page document on what we can blame previous administrations for”.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:03 PM

“Phil Hogan will be glad to get his hands on this list of householders I have in my left hand”

Mute Steven Morrison
    Favourite Steven Morrison
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:31 PM

Shelia is back from maternity leave I feckin love how she does my eggs!!

Mute Bee
    Favourite Bee

Oh a camera… hmm… you’re vulnerable, you’re vulnerable.. you’re fierce – Glad i watched Top Model last night.

Mute Alan Scannell
    Favourite Alan Scannell
    Jan 11th 2012, 2:11 PM

Iv just payed my household tax

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:37 PM

Wehey Angela said i’m good boy!

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:00 PM

“Tee hee hee…..I’ve got a great idea for the journals’ caption competition”

Mute Adam Magari
    Favourite Adam Magari
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:14 PM

‘Glad I don’t have a private sector pension.’

Mute Jim Mackessy
    Favourite Jim Mackessy
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:13 PM

Oh Sh1t a camera-man…. look happy for the people!!

Mute Summoning Dark
    Favourite Summoning Dark
    Jan 11th 2012, 11:48 AM

La la la lalala, la lala la la (smurfs tune)

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:13 PM

I wonder if I could get another go at those e voting machines to fix the euro referendum to pass

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:36 PM

why is the fool using an ancient phone more embarrassment for us

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:50 PM

Because if he was seen walking in with his bright new shiny iPhone 4S we’d all be saying – “look at yon gimp with the expensive smart phone, we’re probably paying his bills too”.
    This way he is telling us that we’re all broke so an ancient nokia is all he can afford, the fact that we’re paying his bill regardless seems to have escaped him

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:04 PM

Yes Dermot. Cos we do like to sweat the small stuff. Less than 2 weeks now to paying the bondholders. But the sheep worry about the price of his feicing phone!!!

Mute Ann Farrelly Kirrane
    Favourite Ann Farrelly Kirrane
    Jan 11th 2012, 11:54 AM

I’m wearing the new tie my Mrs gave me for Christmas:-))

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jan 11th 2012, 3:29 PM

Bertie gave me this anorak for Christmas. Feck all in the pockets except empty envelopes though!

Mute Pat Rick Walsh
    Favourite Pat Rick Walsh
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:57 PM

“Heigh ho, heigh ho, it’s back to work I go”

Mute Alan Conroy
    Favourite Alan Conroy
    Jan 11th 2012, 3:59 PM

Seriously, I cant believe it get €200,000 a year for this!!

Mute Alan Quinn
    Favourite Alan Quinn
    Jan 11th 2012, 4:44 PM

Jaysus! Penny’s does great Jackets!

Mute Dec Rowe
    Favourite Dec Rowe
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:20 PM

It took me 5 point 0 minutes to think of how to fleece the country! Wahahahahaha!

Mute Jay funk
    Favourite Jay funk
    Jan 11th 2012, 11:50 AM

Fracking

Mute Karl Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Karl Fitzpatrick

So how many people am I going to screw over this year.

Mute -Romain Petton
    Favourite -Romain Petton
    Jan 11th 2012, 11:58 AM

Can’t wait for next years anniversary!

Mute William Mcgee
    Favourite William Mcgee
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:06 PM

Im still in the driver seat after screwing the pensioners and passing the buck to the tax man Ha, Ha.

Mute man in the cat
    Favourite man in the cat
    Jan 11th 2012, 3:36 PM

You don’t have to enjoy screwing the general public to work here but it helps!

Mute franco
    Favourite franco
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:37 PM

i wanted an iphone for christmas….

Mute Peter Grant
    Favourite Peter Grant
    Jan 11th 2012, 4:44 PM

I’m glad I got the revenue commissioners to handle this one

Mute Karl Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Karl Fitzpatrick
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:17 PM

So have many people am I going to screw over this term.

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:35 PM

i can do what i like and no one can stop me…foolish people

Mute Ann Illing
    Favourite Ann Illing
    Jan 11th 2012, 3:16 PM

This anorak has lots of lovely zipped pockets for the brown envelopes.

Mute Aranthos Faroth
    Favourite Aranthos Faroth
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:09 PM

After receiving a sizable ‘Political Donation’
    “Oh hoh hoh.. . gonna get me that new boat!”

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 11th 2012, 3:36 PM

Oohh…where’s that spine I wanted to grow?

Mute Kildare
    Favourite Kildare
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:44 PM

Five point caption…..

Mute Tim Dowling
    Favourite Tim Dowling
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:04 PM

Lads, if what I’ve got in this portfolio is as interesting as what I think i just did in the seat of my trousers, the country’s in for another great year, ;D >>shifty eyes<<

Mute Jenny Halley
    Favourite Jenny Halley
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:34 PM

Haa haa going to start the report cards on minsters. brillant

Mute Harry Cleary
    Favourite Harry Cleary
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:52 PM

‘I haven’t read the Mahon Report, I haven’t read the Mahon Report, I haven’t read the Mahon Report, I haven’t read the Mahon Report, HONESTLY lads, I haven’t read the Mahon Report’.

Mute Michael Quinn
    Favourite Michael Quinn
    Jan 11th 2012, 5:05 PM

Wait until those sneaky Frenchies find out we haven’t got two potatoes to rub together…

Mute Eugene O' neill
    Favourite Eugene O' neill
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:46 PM

“I have my own five point plan..going to the dail bar hehehe”

Mute Daniel Curran
    Favourite Daniel Curran
    Jan 11th 2012, 12:29 PM

I’ll show them no nonsence: there’ll be plenty of seach in their T tonight

Mute Brian O' Donoghue
    Favourite Brian O' Donoghue
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:22 PM

Pensions do do be doobee, pensions, do dobee do, pensions, do do do dobee do dobee do dobee do do do do do do do……

Instead of phenomenon? Anybody?

Mute Brian P Crowe
    Favourite Brian P Crowe
    Jan 11th 2012, 4:49 PM

Anglo Irish Bank.. not another Cent.
    i love this job, The people of Ireland are so dumb hee hee.

Mute Sheila G-La Giles-Mullen
    Favourite Sheila G-La Giles-Mullen

“Do they think I’m going to work today, I’m off to lunch with the Troika”

Mute Tracy Braddish
    Favourite Tracy Braddish
    Jan 11th 2012, 1:35 PM

Woohoo.. just rang the revenue and i’m not entitled to tax…..

Mute Liam Quigley
    Favourite Liam Quigley
    Jan 11th 2012, 6:36 PM

Another Rat in an Anorak

Mute Darran O'Connor
    Favourite Darran O'Connor
    Jan 11th 2012, 7:10 PM

Fronting the anti obesity campaign….

Mute Martin Lynch
    Favourite Martin Lynch
    Jan 11th 2012, 3:29 PM

Snooooop dogy dog!

Mute Gina Byrne
    Favourite Gina Byrne
    Jan 11th 2012, 5:25 PM

‘Hey journos, check out my austerity phone – no fancy schmancy iPhone for me’

Mute Jim Sweeney
    Favourite Jim Sweeney
    Jan 11th 2012, 6:52 PM

bloody long drives reek havoc with my bladder. hope the feckin jacks is open.

Mute Inda Kinny
    Favourite Inda Kinny
    Jan 11th 2012, 4:46 PM
    Mute Billy Kennedy
    Favourite Billy Kennedy
    Jan 11th 2012, 6:19 PM

“Waddaya think of the jacket boys?”

Mute Mary McCarthy
    Favourite Mary McCarthy
    Jan 11th 2012, 6:13 PM

Do you like my big rosie cheeks? Do you ? I really would like to look like my friend Bosco11

Mute John Clarke Radio
    Favourite John Clarke Radio
    Jan 11th 2012, 6:29 PM

The return of anorak politics, what next paddy the plasterer