Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Balbriggan Garda Station. Google Streetview

Woman arrested in relation to misappropriation of €1.2 million at Dublin credit union

The 60-year-old woman is being detained at Balbriggan Garda Station.

A WOMAN IN her 60s has been arrested today in relation to the misappropriation of funds worth €1.2 million at a north Dublin credit union.

The woman was arrested on suspicion of offences contrary to the Criminal Justice (Theft and Fraud Offences) Act, 2001.

This arrest represents significant development in a long standing investigation into fraudulent activity in the financial institution, Gardaí said.

The woman is currently being detained at Balbriggan Garda Station under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice act 1984.

Investigations are ongoing.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

25 Comments
    Mute HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Favourite HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Feb 15th 2013, 8:47 PM

That’s right, now hand it over to KPMG.
    Irish Nationwide’s fine auditors.
    So that they can shred all the dodgy paperwork.

Mute Derek Boyle
    Favourite Derek Boyle
    Feb 15th 2013, 8:55 PM

Thats the scary part..they just put KPMG in charge of whats left of Anglo who is currently after Quinn. Talk about a recipe for Disaster. while I don’t have any love for Quinn or the quinn group did not journalist go and ask quinn what he thought of prom night or is he rubbing his hands together Mr Burns style…excellent….

Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte
    Feb 16th 2013, 8:05 AM

The fox is in charge of the hen house. Surely kpmg are being investigated for for possible criminal practice, never mind civil actions for the apparent incompetent manner in which the audited the books, and they have now been given control of, not just the evidence, but decisions to further civil actions.
    We need to look at the possibility of corruption here, incompetence is unbelievable.

Mute sean
    Favourite sean
    Feb 15th 2013, 7:20 PM

I can actually smell the bullshit gloating down my broadband line Michael ,
    Nobody believes a word U say

Mute BcuTCM0P
    Favourite BcuTCM0P
    Feb 15th 2013, 7:23 PM

Even if its true theyll be sorted with another job in a week or two.

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Favourite Richard Rodgers
    Feb 15th 2013, 8:01 PM

Sean
    I presume the “Michael” you were referring to is Mr Noonan and your point is that he is somehow pleased that the CEO of the IBRC is to receive only Statutory redundance levels. What sort of sense is there in that comment ?

Mute cillian32
    Favourite cillian32
    Feb 15th 2013, 7:58 PM

500 grand a year he was on …he won’t go hungry.

Mute rusty9
    Favourite rusty9
    Feb 15th 2013, 10:38 PM

Given that they squandered hundreds of millions of our money, they should be behind bars instead of Paul Begley.

Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte
    Feb 16th 2013, 8:07 AM

With Paul Begley I would think

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Feb 15th 2013, 7:18 PM

Yeh but statutory minimum could half a million p.a. With a hefty pension

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Feb 15th 2013, 7:19 PM

If you believe he gets two weeks pay off then Im daffy duck.

Mute Rory Conway
    Favourite Rory Conway
    Feb 15th 2013, 7:42 PM

Such Bull. I suppose you will be calling for all redundant workers to get the statutory minimumnext

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Feb 15th 2013, 7:49 PM

What are you on about. My point is his statutory minimum will be far higher than you or i.

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Feb 15th 2013, 7:58 PM

Les
    Goodbye and hello Daffy!

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Feb 15th 2013, 8:00 PM

The piece outlines that the statutory amount is capped at €600 per week, meaning his statutory minimum termination payment is €3,600.

As regards his statutory notice period: Aynsley has been working at IBRC since 2008, meaning he is entitled only to two weeks’ notice (or pay in lieu of his notice) of termination. This would work out at around €19,200.

Mute HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Feb 15th 2013, 8:04 PM

Diseased Snake Pit.
    The Decaying, Pestilence Ridden, Stinking, Zombie, Corpse Of Anglo and Irish Nationwide.
    Thanks to our “Fine Governments” This €55 Billion Stink Will Remain With Us For a Half A Century if Not Longer.
    Europuppet Stoogeens!!

Mute Orion
    Favourite Orion
    Feb 15th 2013, 8:06 PM

@ Les

Its capped at 600 per week at 2 weeks per year of service. This is the law. They will not be paid anymore.

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Feb 15th 2013, 8:18 PM

Fully aware what it is Orion. But with such a state this countries in and the fact there’s something New everyday, it wouldn’t surprise ye if they got a massive pay off.

Mute Derek Boyle
    Favourite Derek Boyle
    Feb 15th 2013, 8:31 PM

What the piece fails to mention is that while Noonan is spinning it as these senior managers will get the same as the other staff..2 weeks per year and patting himself on the back the reality is that the 600+ normal workers who were not on stupid salaries over 100k and were promised 4 weeks per year if they stayed until IBRC was wound down are only getting 2 weeks instead of the promised 4 that was agreed. So they will lose out more than any of these managers, while the figures look huge for the managers the publics perception is great stuff no big pay-offs for the fat cats, the reality is no little pay-offs for the innocent everyday staff.

Mute HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Feb 15th 2013, 8:44 PM

Severance pay???
    This €55 Billion Filth Hole should have been allowed to go bust from day 1.
    There are Millions people in our country more deserving of this taxpayer money.

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sean O'Sullivan
    Feb 15th 2013, 9:25 PM

Id say Les you will be hugely dissapointed if they only get the minimum.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Feb 15th 2013, 9:26 PM

That’s what the law says, but what about his contract? We’ve seen all these dodgy contracts before. If he just gets statutory it will be an historic first.

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Feb 15th 2013, 10:10 PM

Surprised yes disappointed no Sean.

Mute Orion
    Favourite Orion
    Feb 16th 2013, 12:47 AM

@censored

It will not be a historic first as you put it. Evertime a company is put into liquidation everday in this country, then all employment contracts are void. There is no room for secret pay-offs or anything like that. The law is there, KPMG are hardly going to break the law at their own cost, are they?

Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte
    Feb 16th 2013, 8:26 AM

Not at their own cost. I would love to see a committee of inspection put in place representing the creditors, to insure a fair winding up is carried out in the interest of the creditors.
    The committee are paid by the creditors, and meet the receiver once a month to review his work and authorise expenditure, as well as having access to all his work

Mute William Ruane
    Favourite William Ruane
    Feb 16th 2013, 9:51 AM

I bet his pension will be tweaked and fortified so that he doesn’t lose out, and with some quickly created add on special input accumulator processes he comes out on top.

Mute Arbitrasure
    Favourite Arbitrasure
    Feb 15th 2013, 8:07 PM

Nice to see The Republic’s Biggest Mistake Ever coming to an abrupt end for the overpaid ‘top dogs’.

Fair play to Aynsley, he’s probably a decent guy and was hired into the moronic set-up.

I question Alan Dukes suitability as Chairman if he couldn’t see from the start that this was a doomed money train for a pointless purpose that could be wrapped up with the stroke of a pen.

Mute Derek Boyle
    Favourite Derek Boyle
    Feb 15th 2013, 8:36 PM

I’m not convinced this was the right move by the goverment, ofc it was a popular move as shown but I can see this causing issues down the line, with court case’s againest some major players like Quinn ect in the works rocking the cradle like this could cause issues in the long run, vital info lost or something overlooked or misplaced. I know its sounds like a conspiracy theroy but time will tell, I could see the whole quinn fiasco blowing up in the goverments faces and guess who will have to repay everything back to quinn if its shown there was negligence in the state’s dealings with Quinn and company.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Feb 15th 2013, 8:59 PM

@ Derek Boyle, excellent point unfortunately. The individual in charge if the entire Quinn and other related litigation declined the offer of staying on as a consultant and immense knowledge is now lost. My primary concern is that this development greatly diminishes the prospect of partial recovery from the Quinns. From a litigation perspective, it was a less than ideal move.

There may be other costs and losses which will swallow up more than the eur 8 billion, not 20 billion saved and that is not to mention the danger of protracted deflationary consequences.

I remain unconvinced that this was a sensible and prudent move. Only time will tell but there are no winnings yet on this to be banked, if you will pardon that expression.

Mute rusty9
    Favourite rusty9
    Feb 15th 2013, 10:43 PM

Good riddance to fat cats. They squandered hundreds of millions of OUR money following QUinn when the legitimacy of the debt has yet to be ruled on. And to think that all of this could have been avoided if the Quinn Proposal which would have saved thousands of jobs and paid the State 2.8billion euros, had not been inappropriately discarded. You could not make this up and its no wonder that Martina Devlin mixes up fact and fiction.

Mute Tom Maguire
    Favourite Tom Maguire
    Feb 15th 2013, 11:39 PM

Peter, IBRC has control of Quinn assets and companies in the UK, Ireland, Poland, Turkey, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Sweden, Cyprus as well as some assets in Ukraine and Russia. In addition they have control of the Quinn Group and own 49% of Liberty Insurance. I am sure even IBRC can get a “partial” recovery with all these assets.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Feb 16th 2013, 12:22 AM

@ Tom, the new legislation is potentially vulnerable to three Constitutional law challenges and one procedural weakness. Add to this the fact that the leader of the recovery group has left. That loses a lot of legacy knowledge. I am partially reassurd that you are so confident and I truly hope that my apprehensions are misplaced. We will see.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Feb 18th 2013, 1:09 AM

i see rusty9 is STILL peddling the bullshit that the quinn proposal was “inappropriately discarded”….the facts admitted by Sean Quinn himself are that he had done wrong in handling funds in the insurance company and had to rightly step down as chairman of quinn insurance as a result….it is inconceivable that the state could then have agreed to allow him re take control , get significant additional funding given to the group and not pay intereest for 8 years on the promise that they could repay the 2bn due – which of course he now claims is not his debt anyway- but he was willing to repay it in FULL…..seriously you have got to stop peddling that nonsense….its just not credible.

Mute Eric De Red
    Favourite Eric De Red
    Feb 15th 2013, 7:29 PM

We know what they are entitled to but what will they get?

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Feb 15th 2013, 8:03 PM

Eric
    They will get what the Minister and the Law permits. Are you suggesting that the administer is lying and will break the Law?

Mute Eric De Red
    Favourite Eric De Red
    Feb 15th 2013, 8:18 PM

You might say that, but I could not possibly comment.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Feb 15th 2013, 9:24 PM

He might make a new law?

Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte
    Feb 16th 2013, 8:14 AM

Kpmg told us , a short few days before the collapse, that’ll was ok in Nationwide, they should never have been appointed.

Mute Eric De Red
    Favourite Eric De Red
    Feb 15th 2013, 7:30 PM

Interesting to see what these people are entitled to. Compare this with failed politicians who lose their seats or resign them. That’s ENTITLED.

Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte
    Feb 16th 2013, 8:15 AM

Good point

Mute Ann Mc Kennedy
    Favourite Ann Mc Kennedy
    Feb 15th 2013, 7:20 PM

yippee dippy doo dah… big swinging meeehaul..! are we sposed to be consoled by that michael noonan??

Mute Ciaran Dillon
    Favourite Ciaran Dillon
    Feb 15th 2013, 7:25 PM

I think you’ll find he was answering a question so I don’t he gave much consideration to your need for consolation…

Mute Ann Mc Kennedy
    Favourite Ann Mc Kennedy
    Feb 15th 2013, 7:29 PM

it was rhetorical on my behalf ciaran

Mute Ron Burgundy
    Favourite Ron Burgundy
    Feb 16th 2013, 10:10 AM

Sounds like there’ll soon be a new highest earning portner in KPMG.

Mute HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Feb 16th 2013, 11:14 AM

I want to see the people who corruptly/criminally ran Anglo and Irish Nationwide in Jail,
    along with Denis Casey and Gillian Bowler from PTSB and all the other Schiesters in PTSB, BOI, AIB, EBS.
    I want to see the bosses from Ulster Bank and all the other foreign banks prosecuted and jailed for their acts of financial terrorism against the Irish People.
    Then this private debt from these private criminal organizations must be written off.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Feb 16th 2013, 9:50 AM

Do yess not believe the minister

Mute Alan Dooley
    Favourite Alan Dooley
    Feb 15th 2013, 9:36 PM

Of course they will

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Feb 16th 2013, 12:01 PM

Am i the only person who believes that the fat cats in Anglo should recieve no payment for been made redundant.It was only a few weeks ago that the chairman defended the high wages of staff in the bank as they were winding down the bank annd were in his words the only group of employees that were making themselves redundant,So why should we the tax payer have to now stump up a redundancy package for people who were earing obscene wages in a bankrupt bank that we paid to rescue and who knew that they were eventually making themself redundant….

Mute Jonny O Brien
    Favourite Jonny O Brien
    Feb 16th 2013, 7:39 PM

Fair enough Michael ….but what will super Mario say ?