You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/wavebreakmedia

A woman is trying to sue all homosexuals on behalf of God

She filed documents earlier this month.

A NEBRASKA WOMAN is attempting to sue all homosexuals.

Sylvia Ann Driskell (aged 66) has launched a civil rights suit under the 1983 Civil Rights Act at Nebraska District Court, with herself as the plaintiff and ‘homosexuals’ as the defendant.

In the court documents, which were filed at the District Court on 15 May, Driskell describes herself as “Ambassador for Plaintiffs God and his son, Jesus Christ”, saying the defendants are “homosexuals, their given name homosexuals, their alis [sic] gay”.

A sin or not a sin

She says in the documents that as ambassador for God, she wants it to be heard “in the matter of homosexuality is homosexuality a sin or not a sin”.

Driskell says that the defendants say that it is not a sin to be a homosexual, and “they have the right to marry, to be parents, and God doesn’t care that their [sic] homosexuals; because He loves them”.

The documents go on to say that Driskell has “heard the boasting of the defendant, the homosexuals on the world news” and that she contends that homosexuality is a sin, and that “they the homosexuals know it is a sin to live a life of homosexuality”.

Her case is detailed over 29 points across six and a half pages, and ends with a quote from Lamentations 3:22.

No summons was issued for the case.

It’s not known when, or if, Driskell will be appearing in court.

Read: “It’s vile”: Irish metal band’s shock after being linked to anti-gay game>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

98 Comments
    Mute tk0CXKzL
    Favourite tk0CXKzL
    May 6th 2015, 6:30 PM

It’s also not known when or if God will show up as a witness

Mute Conor Buggy
    Favourite Conor Buggy
    May 6th 2015, 6:35 PM

Dont even think a federal subpoena will get that sorted!

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 6th 2015, 6:41 PM

I’d nearly change my name to God (Sorry God ) , move to Nebraska and pretend to be gay just to fight the case ..
    ‘twould be mighty craic altogether …

“But I’m Mr. God and I have no objections !”

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    May 6th 2015, 6:48 PM

He could always send his son

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    May 6th 2015, 7:09 PM

Nebraska has form in court for people invoking the Almighty http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lawsuits_against_God

Seeing as how this woman is apparently Gods “ambassador” all the court has to do is is ask for her credentials assigning her the role and signed by God. The Pope might do at a stretch.

Mute Conor Heffernan
    Favourite Conor Heffernan
    May 6th 2015, 7:37 PM

One would have to cast their suspicions over jesus’s own sexuality I mean 4 books (and it’s gospal) written about the man and at 33 no mention of a girlfriend in any one.. plus he enjoyed the company of 12 men the whole time. A bit suspicious to say the least.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    May 6th 2015, 7:47 PM

There’s actually something like 15 gospels, yet we only use the four!

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    May 6th 2015, 7:54 PM

Lol best of luck with that

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    May 6th 2015, 8:03 PM

Billy Graham’s son changed his name to God last year so he intends to fight gods corner.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    May 6th 2015, 8:05 PM

Careful blasphemy lawyers from the iona institute are monitoring this thread .

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    May 6th 2015, 8:14 PM

I wonder if St Paul ever got a letter back Corinthians.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    May 6th 2015, 9:13 PM

Story says she filed the court documents on “15 May” that’s in the future ?

Mute Ben Fede
    Favourite Ben Fede
    May 6th 2015, 6:37 PM

*hangs American head in shame*

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    May 6th 2015, 6:55 PM

Don’t sweat it man, you don’t have to apologise for idiots. Every nation has them!

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    May 6th 2015, 6:59 PM

Dude…. *Passes whiskey bottle* … Have a swig .

Mute Alfredo Garcia Jr.
    Favourite Alfredo Garcia Jr.
    May 6th 2015, 8:47 PM

Ah Ben, you cannot be held responsible for the stupidity of the large percentage of your nation. Thanks for the sentiment. We don’t hold you accountable for the oxygen eaters, numpties, brain donors and amoebas that unfortunately infest that fantastic land mass.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 6th 2015, 9:48 PM

I balme America for everything – it was George Bush that inspired the Irish to see if we could go one better with Enda …and in fairness to George Bush being as dumb as rocks I think our lad is winning !

Mute Manford Payce
    Favourite Manford Payce
    May 6th 2015, 6:40 PM

I don’t know why these cases are allowed. The woman should be sectioned and taken in to hospital to get the mental health assistance she clearly needs.

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    May 6th 2015, 6:48 PM

Yep, sometimes the law’s an ass.

Mute rory conway
    Favourite rory conway
    May 6th 2015, 6:54 PM

Niall, yes . Sometimes the law is an ass. The law is created by members of the Oirachtas.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward

Rory, not in America..

Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    May 6th 2015, 7:34 PM

It’s allowed because someone is getting paid for it to be allowed……

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat

Filing papers =/= day in court.

The case wouldn’t reach court.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    May 6th 2015, 6:32 PM

God is probably sick of her sh!t.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    May 6th 2015, 6:31 PM

Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha. Heard it all now.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    May 6th 2015, 6:54 PM

Heard a woman on radio today say she is voting no because it’s against her beliefs…no problem there but she than made an ass of herself by going on to say we should all obey the bible…I suppose we will be lining up some women for stone throwing to death and cutting a few hands off then…we could do it in Croke Park. What an idiot

Mute Audrey
    Favourite Audrey
    May 6th 2015, 6:31 PM

You couldn’t make it up

Mute lizzy
    Favourite lizzy
    May 6th 2015, 9:19 PM

Would love to know where people get time to pursue this nonsense !

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    May 7th 2015, 1:00 AM

She took an hour off from designing NO posters.

Mute Anthony Kelly
    Favourite Anthony Kelly
    May 6th 2015, 6:39 PM

Good luck to her proving the existence of the plaintiffs!! I mean one hasn’t been spotted for nearly two thousand years and the other scappered after 7 days leaving the job half done!

Mute Conor Buggy
    Favourite Conor Buggy
    May 6th 2015, 6:36 PM

They better have a big court room!

Mute Keniby Khronicles
    Favourite Keniby Khronicles

I thought comments weren’t allowed on on-going court cases?
    We wouldn’t want to unfairly influence anyone.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    May 6th 2015, 6:56 PM

Counter suit against her for every ‘Act of God’ ever to have happened as she is Gods ‘ambassador’ followed by having Gods ‘ambassador’ expelled.Check and mate.

Mute Nicola Lawless
    Favourite Nicola Lawless
    May 6th 2015, 8:39 PM

Love your thinking. Please get that idea to Nebraska. I would love to see that panning out!

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    May 6th 2015, 8:57 PM

Not my idea. It’s from a film called ‘The Man Who Sued God’.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    May 6th 2015, 6:32 PM

And God loves all his children so she will not get anywhere lol

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    May 6th 2015, 6:42 PM

Are you watching iona institute? That’s how you bother God!

Mute Ryan Kelly
    Favourite Ryan Kelly
    May 6th 2015, 6:30 PM

Lord have mercy on her.

Mute Saul Goodman
    Favourite Saul Goodman
    May 6th 2015, 6:38 PM

cuckoo, cuckoo, cuckoo!!!

Mute Egg Head
    Favourite Egg Head
    May 6th 2015, 7:32 PM

You’d take this case in a heartbeat if she had a downpayment!

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    May 6th 2015, 6:37 PM

Stupid woman Lol

Mute Garáiste Ó Churáinn-Seisean
    Favourite Garáiste Ó Churáinn-Seisean
    May 6th 2015, 7:48 PM

Following a Yes vote in the referendum Breda O Brien , David Quinn , John Waters , Keith Mills and the Catholic Church could try this option . Makes as much sense as the rest of their arguments so far

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    May 6th 2015, 6:52 PM

Hope she wins, there can’t be that many homosexuals in America anyway a dozen or so maybe.

Mute Patrick Murphy
    Favourite Patrick Murphy
    May 6th 2015, 6:44 PM

Hope she doesn’t call the defendants as a witness, could take a while. Clown of a woman.

Mute Trea Lynch
    Favourite Trea Lynch
    May 6th 2015, 7:04 PM

Mad as a badger’s handbag! Although I’ve a feeling Iona institute were itching to let loose with this kind of rhetoric last night on prime time; and probably would have if it wouldn’t have spectacularly backfired. I would pay good money to see David Quinn lose it “a few good men” style!

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee

So, if, and it is only a remote possibility, she wins, does it mean any person can go to Nebraska and sue God if they feel wronged by himself or his Church?

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 6th 2015, 6:42 PM

If I was a lesbian I’d be miffed with the sexism of it all – and she a woman and all !

Mute Red Marauder
    Favourite Red Marauder
    May 6th 2015, 6:44 PM

Lawyer: “Judge, I wish to appeal my client’s case on the basis of newly discovered evidence.”

Judge: “And what is the nature of the new evidence?”

Lawyer: “Judge, I discovered that my client still has not come out of the closet yet.”

Mute Leadog
    Favourite Leadog
    May 6th 2015, 7:32 PM

I wonder will someone sue all heterosexuals on behalf of the devil?

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 6th 2015, 6:34 PM

I wonder what other obscure and totally irrelevant American local news story’s the journal can pull for clickbait?

Mute Paul Debussy
    Favourite Paul Debussy
    May 6th 2015, 6:38 PM

This is a cute story. I enjoyed reading that.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c

Hi Joe! We have an international section, just in case you missed that.
    And while yes, it’s not in an Irish court, it is still a bizarre story that is being reported across the world.

Thanks!

Aoife

Mute Vicko Aguilar
    Favourite Vicko Aguilar
    May 6th 2015, 6:50 PM

Joe! I hope God forgive you

Mute Jack Hackett
    Favourite Jack Hackett
    May 6th 2015, 6:57 PM

For feck sake Aoife why don’t you have your international team of journalists at every court room in the universe so you can catch these stories first?!

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 6th 2015, 7:12 PM

Aoife you guys cynically use these obscure local stories as wedge issues to foster division between religious people and those who hate religion and religious people. This is the second largely irrelevant story today after the random reporting of a chlamydia outbreak in a Texas high school, non-stories chosen as divisive clickbait.

Mute Richard boyle
    Favourite Richard boyle
    May 6th 2015, 7:31 PM

The division already exists , there was a story about an archbishop earlier ..so …

Mute Dublinguy2013
    Favourite Dublinguy2013

Sue the Journal Joe and while you’re at it Sue your God for not giving you a sense of humor.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe

Richard that story is relevant of course but this is a non story that will be thrown out of court selected by the journal in the hope of sparking atheist v religious arguments in the comments section to boost traffic and by virtue of that boost ad revenue. It’s a cynical move to use a non story to foster division and hate between people for financial gain.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 6th 2015, 7:44 PM

@DublinGuy I answer to no god.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch

Joe, google Galton and Ruge’s News Values for the answer to your original question.

Mute Declan Dowling
    Favourite Declan Dowling
    May 6th 2015, 7:55 PM

Lighten up Joe. Even the most discerning current affairs anorak enjoys a side of nutjob now and again.

Mute Bernadette Bolger
    Favourite Bernadette Bolger
    May 6th 2015, 8:40 PM

‘Stories’ Joe.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    May 6th 2015, 9:26 PM

For someone who set up a fake Twitter account just to troll the journal I don’t think you should be complaining “Joe”.

Mute Atticus the Accuser
    Favourite Atticus the Accuser
    May 6th 2015, 7:45 PM

The all powerful God needs a moron like this Woman to deal with homosexuals?
    The software of religion does some crazy things to the human brain.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin

Stupid religitards.

Mute Joe Howard
    Favourite Joe Howard
    May 6th 2015, 8:13 PM

Surely the defence just needs to call God as a witness?

Mute Decky Morgan
    Favourite Decky Morgan
    May 6th 2015, 8:36 PM

Hahaha. I feel that waterford whisperers could have broke this story

Mute Sylvia Connolly
    Favourite Sylvia Connolly
    May 6th 2015, 7:59 PM

I will be following this story with the UTMOST interest….it’s in times of the Irish weather playing hopscotch with us that this is something that I could do with….it’s unbelievable….must ask my American Mormon buddy what he makes if all this…. and I’d you folks would be so kind to tell me when this comes to court…then I’ll tell the boss I’m taking every court day as a holiday and order in the popcorn…. (I really have been SO amused….best article in a long time)…cheers Journal…

Mute Sylvia Connolly
    May 6th 2015, 8:46 PM

My Mormon buddy just spat his tea out in disbelief pushed by amusement

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism

They’ll all be bloody well hung

Mute Niall Mullane
    Favourite Niall Mullane
    May 6th 2015, 7:20 PM

Good luck with that

Mute Kev
    Favourite Kev
    May 6th 2015, 7:10 PM

Careful now!

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne
    May 6th 2015, 7:35 PM

Every fool has their day in court.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    May 6th 2015, 7:00 PM

I can see where that woman is coming from because God didn’t create man to sleep with man.. But in the modern age it is accepted… I myself have a few Gay friends and so I’m not against Gays.

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    May 6th 2015, 7:03 PM

But if God created man…..

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    May 6th 2015, 7:08 PM

Those gay friends of yours are all from Cork ,Denise

Mute Dave Martin
    Favourite Dave Martin

“I have a few gay friends, so I’m not against gays” – best line ever! On par with:
    I’ve nothing against gays, but….
    I’ve nothing against travellers, but….
    I’ve nothing against black people, but…..
    Same old same old.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    May 6th 2015, 7:13 PM

Maybe the God that created God, was a raving homosexual.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    May 6th 2015, 7:15 PM

Denise, he created man, then woman, they had 2 sons, so where did all of the rest of the population come from if incest isn’t allowed in the Bible?

Always wrecks creationists heads!

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    May 6th 2015, 7:34 PM

So it was 2 men that gave birth to those that carried on the Adam line that resulted in the rest of the 100 billion of us. The NO people better change their posters pronto.

Mute Richard boyle
    Favourite Richard boyle
    May 6th 2015, 7:39 PM

I have lots of homophobic friends who are voting YES …
    Right …

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    May 6th 2015, 7:53 PM

God, the sky wizard that populated the earth through incest………twice.

Mute Declan Dowling
    Favourite Declan Dowling
    May 6th 2015, 8:00 PM

And I’ve nothing against God. In fact I used to have a good friend who was one. Then I realised that was just an imaginary friend. Worked out well because when I stopped being friends with him he didn’t say anything. Your gay friends on the other hand most likely will. Unless they are imaginary too!

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    May 6th 2015, 9:18 PM

Denise, how about if they don’t get any sleep? If they stay up all night, playing chess or screwing? Is god OK with that?

Mute Declan Dowling
    Favourite Declan Dowling
    May 6th 2015, 9:31 PM

As for those shrimp-eaters… I have a few shrimp-eating friends but God hates them. Nowadays it is acceptable though.

Leviticus 11:9-12

Mute Declan Dowling
    Favourite Declan Dowling
    May 6th 2015, 9:31 PM

And they probably eat shrimp. God hates shrimp-eaters.

Leviticus : These shall ye eat of all that are in the waters: whatsoever hath fins and scales in the waters, in the seas, and in the rivers, them shall ye eat.

Mute Duirmuid Mac Sean
    Favourite Duirmuid Mac Sean
    May 6th 2015, 9:16 PM

Shit,…..I need to get a lawyer.

Mute Dallan O'Reilly
    Favourite Dallan O'Reilly
    May 6th 2015, 8:07 PM

Judge not least ye be judged……

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    May 6th 2015, 9:26 PM

Sometimes I wonder how humans ever got past believing the world is flat.

Mute Mark O'Halloran
    Favourite Mark O'Halloran
    May 6th 2015, 9:07 PM

Ahh but the same woman filed another lawsuit against God and Mother Nature for making her crazy and old! God will have a busy few days with this lady!

Mute Derek Hughes
    Favourite Derek Hughes
    May 6th 2015, 11:12 PM

Does she have to prove first that God exists?

Mute Evan Ronane
    Favourite Evan Ronane
    May 6th 2015, 11:14 PM

Murica

Mute Sylvia Connolly
    May 6th 2015, 7:59 PM

I will be following this story with the UTMOST interest….it’s in times of the Irish weather playing hopscotch with us that this is something that I could do with….it’s unbelievable….must ask my American Mormon buddy what he makes if all this…. and I’d you folks would be so kind to tell me when this comes to court…then I’ll tell the boss I’m taking every court day as a holiday and order in the popcorn…. (I really have been SO amused….best article in a long time)…cheers Journal…

Mute SCO Electrical
    Favourite SCO Electrical
    May 7th 2015, 12:50 AM
    Mute Miriam Kane
    Favourite Miriam Kane
    May 7th 2015, 12:46 AM

I think she’ll find that from a strictly catholic prospective it’s only a sin if u enjoy it. I think a good defence would be to site an act of good

Mute SCO Electrical
    Favourite SCO Electrical
    May 7th 2015, 12:45 AM

For God sake……

Mute Declan Dowling
    Favourite Declan Dowling
    Jun 25th 2015, 12:35 AM

Why did Adam and Eve have belly buttons?