You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
The men have migrated because of high unemployment, with an estimated 17,000 to 20,000 of the Gegharkunik region’s residents migrating abroad every year to find work.
With up to 8 percent of its of 243,000-strong population leaving every year, the area has Armenia’s highest rate of labour migration.
About 1.1 million people are believed to have left Armenia since 1991.
Some of these men return home every autumn, but some never return, says Abrahamya.
One woman, school principal Heriknaz Khachatrian, a mother of four, told her that when her husband leaves for work: “The whole burden of the household falls on my shoulders, and the worst thing is that you never know whether your husband will return or not.”
In Gegharkunik, a second marriage for a woman is prohibited by an unwritten law, but many of the men have girlfriends or ‘wives’ in Russia.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Alright Fraj.
Scenario 1.
A woman facing a horrible end choose to spare her loved ones the pain of watching her deteriorate to the point of death knowing that there is nothing they can do for her – sparing them that pain and anguish.
This is considered “evil”
Scenario 2.
A woman faced with brain cancer deteriorates to the point where she cannot even go to the toilet alone, places tremendous stress and difficulty on those who love her – and this is considered better?
I can tell you what’s evil, but it’s not this woman’s actions..
Shanti, don’t think I would have a problem looking after a loved one who was ill. Certainly wouldn’t find it a hardship. If we can’t look after our loved ones when they need us most, then what are we?
Nor would I have a problem looking after a loved one, but I wouldn’t want to be the one asking my loved ones to care for me. Two separate things if you catch my drift..
Shanti
I respect your opinion and would expect you to respect those of Vatican officials or anyone who puts forward a considered and value based viewpoint . However that is not what we see on the Journal regardless of the subject and many of the opposing views on a huge range of subjects are dangerously close to either criminality or social pathologies.
Says the man who contributed what exactly?
The catholic organisation inflicted misery and torture on generations of defenceless kids. Then they have the cheek to expect people to listen while they spout sh!te about good and bad!
Let them crawl back into their multi billion euro organisation and we shall await for their next hypocritical statement.
Except there’s no valued or considered viewpoint from the modern day Pharisees. There are men who pray to be seen to pray and have their rewards in full. There’s nothing Christian about the Vatican.
And Condorcanqui – I would respect my loved ones wishes to continue their lives to their natural end – IF that was their choice. If I don’t want to be in a situation where I feel I am imposing upon them, I would hope they would respect my wishes..
Shanti, don’t think I would have a problem looking after a loved one who was ill. Certainly wouldn’t find it a hardship. If we can’t look after our loved ones when they need us most, then what are we?
Yet, you would refuse them the right to choose their own path?
Just answering your scenario where you said a person in deteriorating health would be a source of stress and hardship on their family. Now you say they wouldn’t be.
Regardless of how much you love someone – caring for them full time IS stressful, and I don’t know if you’ve ever paid attention, but those who choose to do it get sweet f.a. support from the state so it DOES cause hardship.
These are stresses and hardships that we willingly take on, but it doesn’t mean that they don’t exist. You can’t be that naive surely?
Ah, a little argument in ad hominem thrown in at the end there! Your second scenario suggested that when a person with brain cancer couldn’t go to the toilet by themselves and became a source of stress to their families the better choice would be to end it, even though you said you would have no problem looking after them! Not mentioning anything about choice here, I think you sent the erroneous message that people should choose to die rather than inflict themselves on their families care.
Bizarre question. I just cut and pasted your earlier comment.
But I think your notion of caring may have more to do with the exercise of power than with real caring which involves absolute empthy with the other person. And if they do not want to live on, then you should respect thier wish and not expect them to succumb to yours
No, I was giving some hypothetical scenarios – ones that she may have considered herself, certainly ones I would consider.
Of course loved ones will willingly take up that mantle, but to EXPECT them to is something I, personally, would consider selfish – but that’s how *I* would feel about it.
By all means, put some more words in my mouth there.. I see you’re familiar with what an ad hominem is, do you know what a straw man is?
The catholic church is terminal!
Such an unsympatic organisation.
They preach that suffering is going to get us a higher place in heaven.
What is that all about?
Nobody goes through life without some sort of suffering whether it is from the loss of a loved one or illness etc.
Git’s never enough for the catholic church!
Perhaps Condorcanqui YOU should re-re-read the thread..
I was referring to the Vatican officials opinions in my reply to Fraj, because they claimed people were just trotting out the same tired rants rather than deal with the issue..
I have expressed my opinions while conversing with you – but the comment you initially responded to was nothing like what you are making it out to be.
I’d just like to say that as a practising Catholic I have to disagree with the Church on this issue, as with many others. However I do accept some of the arguments made by others who disliked the idea of assisted suicide. There was one lady in America who also suffered from the same brain cancer as this woman, but instead of ‘accepting death’ she chose to fight it to the end. Honestly, I’d have to agree that as humans, we should always strive to survive no matter what situation we are in. That said, for the Church to call it ‘wicked’, is horrible and grossly unfair to this woman and her family.
You gave two scenarios. One, the patient takes their life to avoid pain and burden on the family. Two, where the patient doesn’t take their life while their health deteriorates and becomes a stressful burden on the family ends with the question, and this is better? The implication being that it’s not, and that the patient is choosing a lesser path. Surely you would agree with a third scenario, where the person doesn’t take their life and that the family happily take on the stress of caring for them? I have personally been in this third scenario. I found your second scenario was just saying, ‘you should have chosen the first scenario!’
But you did respond to the article which, in the light of the quality of most of the other comments, was refreshing.
Sorry, I meant where did I say I would refuse to let them choose their own path? I know I said what you cut and pasted. It was the jump choosing their own path that mystified me
Wicked. Is he for real? Says the Catholic Church that raped children,am sure many ended their lives because of them. Hypocrites. The phrase “commit” suicide need to be done away with. Catholic cretins.
How dare they ruin this poor woman’s legacy. Evil vile specimens.
Scaring people for generations with mythical places like hell. Hell is on earth for some people. This woman and her family have been through hell.
Preying on the weak,it’s all they’re good for.
Exactly. They certainty do preach suffering will get you a higher place in “heaven” same as Muslims believe they will be met with is it 60 virgins if they strap a bomb around them. No difference at all. Both bat shit crazy religions if you ask me. Nothing like a bit of brainwashing cult behaviour!
“We do not judge the individuals but the act itself is to be condemned,”
Typical Catholic BS! The ‘act’ itself cannot be undertaken without the individual. So, yes. A bunch of old men are condemning a young lady, who terminally ill, chose to end her suffering. If this bunch of clowns were as quick out of the blocks to condemn child rape and abuse down through the ages, then, they might have credibility. They CHOSE to allow the suffering of children to continue, in order to protect their evil institutions. Please don’t give me the ‘there are good priests’ cliche. There is not, if there was any good priests, they would have (a) left the institution or (b) reported what was happening to law enforcement officials.
People are surprised this quasi state came out and condemned a woman who chose to end her suffering. Don’t be surprised, this bunch of slime have been encouraging the suffering and worse of young people for centuries.
Deirdre – fully agree with your comment.
It is not just the Muslims who are promised virgins, the Christian bible too allows the virgins to kept by the men once they have killed all the others:
Numbers 31:17 Now therefore kill every male among the little ones, and kill every woman that hath known man by lying with him.
31:18 But all the women children, that have not known a man by lying with him, keep alive for yourselves.
Eric
And on that basis you must be a fantasist who somehow thinks he is a famous footballer or else you simply haven’t the courage to identify yourself. If the latter is more correct you shouldn’t be heard!
I’m delighted that this brave young lady took the right decision by saying goodbye to her suffering.
And even more so that her family were by her side.
That Vatican official is trolling this now deceased woman . They should now shut up and let those that were ‘closest’ to her grieve. Always sticking their noses in our peoples business.
“Wicked?” Delirium, seizures, double vision, blindness, nausea, pain, urinary and faecal incontinence, muscle contractures, pressure ulcers, vomiting, partial paralysis, PEG feeding, pneumonia, shortness of breath, bed ridden, constipation……..that’s what I call “Wicked” these are things that could have been ahead for this woman and her family. But as a priest or bishop or whatever you are, you deal with the abstract…the notions…the ideology. These things are reality for some terminally ill people. As a nurse I see people’s suffering and pain. This woman made a rational,informed, and sensible decision while she had her faculties intact….good for her. The alternative would not have been pleasant. How dare this self serving organisation judge her or her actions …
Paul, that’s a very narrow view of the subject at hand. Nobody is advocating murder. They are advocating the assisted suicide of a person who is terminally ill. BIG difference.
Funny, a lot of “assisted” suicides the “assistance” is that the person assisting got the drugs. They don’t even have to administer them unless he patient is too I’ll to do it themselves, in which case – surely you could appreciate why they needed help?
Great Shanti,
Your reasoning would have provided a reasonable doubt defence to Harold Shipman.
I don’t expect you could see what that would mean to anybody who uses hypodermic needles.
We can’t trust this government to legislate for parking clamps let alone something as important as this . they specialise in messing things up on a monumental scale
If a law existed that would have enabled a doctor to claim his patient had requested to be put down, how do you think he could have been charged?
I hope that didn’t give you a migraine.
There are any amounts of thing you could do! Clearly it’s not just a case of ‘oh, they told me they wanted to die’! You are most likely going to have a will in which it could be incorporated! A court order! You can get things verified by the Gards!
Do you have some fear that if this is made legal someone you know is going to say to themselves ‘oh finally, here’s my chance to get back at that Paul fella’!
I would chose not to agree with him. Try existing a day in her shoes and then he can talk.
If you ever have seen someone you love dearly crying and in agonising pain and distress from terminal cancer then you would want their pain to end. Its horrific to watch.
The last months must have been so hard for them. I hope she is at peace now. May she rest gently in the arms of God. She deserves it.
Unfortunately, the people who legislate do.
RIP Marie Fleming, a wonderfully brave woman with MS, who fought for the right to die by assisted suicide here in Ireland, but it was denied to her.
Nail on head Al. They delight in condemning women, gays, divorced couples. They’ve names for everybody except their own motley crew of paedophiles and money mad ‘princes’. Pity they don’t take themselves and their bank to Saudi Arabia
Catholicism fetishises suffering and death. Putting yourself through unnecessary pain and a long drawn out decent to dying serves no purpose whatsoever. It won’t get you a more comfortable seat in heaven. If someone makes the decision to end their suffering, or to die before that suffering becomes too much for them, then that it the right thing for them to do, not wicked in the slightest.
To say suicide is wicked is a terrible thing to say . What about the family’s of suicide victims What must they be feeling to hear it described as wicked . These people are devastated enough with out having to here it said in this way . I’m very glad that it will be a mercy full God that will judge us and not that lot
Don’t know if you read the article, Linda, but this has nothing to do with Educate Together. This is about assisted suicide.
You should probably read the article before you comment on stuff!
Gavin – that’s all Finbarr / Linda ever has to say.. They’ve got some serious issues with people of different faiths attending school together and learning about each other..
This is like a modern day troll,and reaffirms my hatred of them. It was actually quite a beautiful death if anything,she got time to say all her goodbyes which most of us will never get. Rip.
I say she made the ultimate sacrifice to stop herself suffering needlessy and rightly so. RIP.I’m sure the man above who is so loving and forgiving will forgive her too
She also made the ultimate sacrifice to spare her family the pain of seeing her deteriorate. Such a brave woman! How dare this man who’s never been married and has no idea of family life make such a statement. Shame on him!
@paddy.Are you for real?That girl was going to die anyway.she chose to do so on her own terms without suffering.If your dog was dying you would have it put down legally without being called a “pet killer”.Dying with dignity is not “glorifying suicide”
When you bring your pet to the vet to be “put to sleep”, your pet has no idea what’s happening. They can’t give consent, you do that for them.
When it’s a terminally ill person they’re painfully aware of what’s happening, and they make the decision for themselves.. And yet there are those who would deny them that dignity and force their own ideals upon them, for reasons best known to those with the control issues and an obsession with prolonging other people’s misery.
It’s because people are different from pets Shanti. We protect human life with our law, we don’t have rules which allow other people to decide when they should kill somebody else.
No Paul, and no one is suggesting that we should. But if someone decides FOR THEMSELVES that they want to die, then they should have that right, even if they don’t have the physical capability of doing it.
For example – if I ever get to a point where I don’t know where or who I am and need to wear an adult diaper – I would rather die. I wouldn’t be able to do it for myself so I would like to be able to know that if it’s in my care plan that it will be done for me.
That’s NOTHING like someone else making the decision for me. If that is what your idea of assisted suicide is then it’s no wonder you have it all wrong.
Shanti, for a hippy, you’ve got an incredible amount of faith.
How the hell do you think that could work? Should we just assume all old and sick people want to die because you feel that way?
I much prefer the courts reasoning.
If you want to get off the bus, stand up and ring the bell. Don’t ask to be pushed.
And ditch the straw man, I clearly said that if someone made that decision FOR THEMSELVES. I even put it in caps lock so you could understand the emphasis but clearly that’s lost on you..
If I make a will, being of sound mind, that says I do not wish to live through a devastating illness like say, alzheimers, then there will be a witnessed, legal document that says so – exactly the same as a DNR order. Which I am legally entitled to have as it stands.
This is the way assisted suicide works with Dignitas. You must be a member, and you must see a doctor, if you’re not a Swiss citizen you must have two meetings with a doctor there to ensure that you are indeed making the decision of your own free will and are capable of making said decision.
The way you describe it you would think the decision was made by someone else – it’s not.
Ailbhe – absolutely spot on, this is just the church determination to control again. They have a fetish for suffering and control, all rather perverse.
Shanti, my old pop used to say arguing with a fool is an exercise in futility… Your points are put across with passion, intelligence and above all respect which is less than I can say for the people that you are arguing with.
‘It’s a beautiful end to a beautiful life’ I’m sure it was the hardest decision she made in her life and not chosen without thought. The church should stay out of it and respect her wishes to die for she was the one living this ordeal! I’ve watched her videos and she doesn’t make reference to the church so don’t see why they need to have an opinion. RIP
How is anyone surprised? Do we suddenly expect pigs not to grunt ? This is what they always say . It’s their position. The problems are who the feck asked him for his opinion in the first place and who the feck wants to take what he says seriously ? . If you are not a devout cathlouc this doesn’t apply.
I wonder what his thoughts on the matter would be if the situation was reversed and he was lying on his death bed in unimaginable pain and suffering and knowing that your family looking at you going through it was almost as painful for them as it was for you!!
If it’s OK to kill others in certain circumstances (e.g. self defence etc.) I don’t see why it can’t be OK to kill yourself in certain circumstances (e.g. to avoid intolerable pain, to preserve your country’s secrets when threatened with torture, etc.) If the Christian martyrs chose death rather than betray their faith, that was arguably a form of suicide, since they could easily have avoided death by renouncing their faith. They chose not to. They chose a form of “suicide by cop,” e.g you put yourself in a position where it’s inevitable that you’re going to be killed. There is no appreciable difference between killing yourself and permitting someone else to kill you. So even within their own theological terms the church’s position doesn’t hold up. Apart from that, I can’t think of any specific condemnation of suicide in the Bible, aside from the blanket “Thou shalt not kill.” (But if that were applied literally, then no killing would be permitted, even in self-defence.)
The ten commandments say “thou shalt not kill” but then God orders the children of Israel to “utterly destroy” several other tribes who get in the way.. There are also several passages stating that people should be stoned to death – so obviously that commandment comes with a caveat.
There have been arguments put forth that the “thou shalt not kill” should actually be “thou shalt not murder”, and as we all know – murder and killing while achieving the same end result (ie a death) are not actually the same thing.
Shanti are you seriously trying to use the bible to make a rational argument against those who believe in it ? Catholics when they turn it on are bat sh*t. They actually believe that at mass a man turns bread and wine into the flesh and blood of a guy who was executed 2014 years ago.This is not a metaphorical thing. They actually believe this and it is a core of their religion.Then they consume this ‘flesh and blood’ in the belief that it will give them eternal life.Again not as a metaphor but an actual belief. It a sex and death obsessed cult.The newer cults of Scientology or even The Branch Davidians have less whacky beliefs than these guys.
I grew up saying all that stuff in mass and reading the words out of the misselette and saying the prayers like a good little Irish boy…
When I finally really read them and realised what they were saying I was like “Woah this is some f**ked up sh*t right here…. What? Really? I’m part of a flock of sheep? We’re eating some dead guy’s body? Water from the rock? Burning bushes? Parting the sea?… Hold on a second, someone’s taking the absolute p*ss here! Good story though”
These are the guys we allow to influence our childrens education.They are a disgusting organisation who have absolutly no moral compass what so ever.As far as I can gather this poor woman was not one of their deluded flock so what the f*ck business do they have condeming her actions ? Are they afraid people might start making their own decisions and put them out of the god business ? They are a heartless cult who should be given no more creedence than a mad mullah issuing a fatwah.
Your right paddy. There must be lines of people just waiting for the first sheep to jump off the cliff. That’s all they needed was a leader. Now they can commit suicide without even having to think about it.
GET A GRIP ON REALITY PADDY.
People who are in that dark place are not that bothered by others actions.
We had a woman in our own fair isle attempt to get the same dignified death for herself and she was rejected on every turn. Marie Fleming was a fantastic articulate woman who knew her own mind and was fully aware her body was failing. I think the state should deal with application on a case by case basis and not hide behind archaic legalisation that is far to influenced by the men in Rome .
Shower of child molesting,self rightous pompous fossils that believe in fairy tales…go and fk off as ye have enough blood on your own hands..cheek of them judging this poor woman.
Fair play to her . She obviously had researched it and knew what would have been ahead of her and she didn’t want to go through it or put her family through it! Brave girl ! Screw the church . Shower of apes!
This case, and the reaction to her death, is nothing short of the glorification of suicide.
It will push many other persons, struggling with their life, to choose suicide. There is no dignity in taking one’s own life.
No,there’s no dignity in having to be fed through a tube,in having someone wipe ur ass,wash and dress you. Measure your urine out put,dose you up on medication and wipe the dribble from ur face,turn you over so you don’t get bed sores,change you sanitary towels n adult diapers,as you watch all this through your eyes,as every last bit of the you that lived those 29 years slips away bit by bit and there’s nothing you can do just watch and suffer and wait to die!!
That lady had every right to choose not to go through that, to leave her life, when it still felt like her life.
Neither you or the Vatican have any right to judge her!
How many suicides or attempted suicides do you think the catholic church are responsible for paddy? The destruction of innocent lives is their strong point and they don’t need terminal illness to do it. Just some paedophiles and corrupt leaders to cover it up.
Yeah, Paddy, this young woman just wasted the whole life she had ahead of her-
Oh wait, no, she didn’t. She had months of pain and suffering left, that were going to place undue stress and anxiety on both herself and her loved ones. Why shouldn’t she be let end her life on her own terms, while she’s still healthy enough to say goodbye to everyone? What’s wrong with someone dying with dignity, if that’s what she really wanted, and she was dying anyway?
Didn’t Jesus give himself up for our sins. He had the chance to stop it but he continued on his path and gave up his own life………..sound a bit like suicide to ME!!!
oh paddy, you do go on a bit with the same old drivel. one good this is that you are a dying breed. I personally think that this woman was very brave and selfless. Perhaps you can learn to love others with different opinions and stop being so bitter.
The glorification of death is never more obvious than when the prospect of euthanasia is close at hand. But of course all those who promote the killing of the pre born, are already fans of death. Might I say those who adulate this act should consider the fragility of those considering self harm tonight. We all have a responsability for other persons.
Only a cynic would say that what is going on here is “glorifying death”.
She made an incredibly difficult decision to save herself a type of pain that none of us could even imagine. She spared her family the horror of seeing a loved one go through that pain. She made the best decision she thought for herself and nothing gives you the right to take that away from her!
Your argument regarding “copycat” suicides is just silly so I won’t even argue against it!!
Fair enough Paddy – hopefully you won’t endure a long, drawn out painful death and ever have to face such a thing. But for those who do – how’s about you butt out of their lives and consider your own?
I’ve had my own fair share of self harm as well as suicide attempts – and the question of someone ending their lives because they had terminal brain cancer is NOT a trigger. But thanks for displaying your faux concern, we all know you don’t really care.
I’m fairly sure I’ve even seen him condemn the new pope for daring to push jesus’ actual message..
Y’know, the selfless, compassionate and all inclusive message.. The one the church has veered away from for so long..
Lol, those who claim to be Catholic giving out about liberalism.. When jesus was the most radical liberal of his time!
If he came back they’d reject the guy..
That poor girl. Suffering is awful, not always the worst thing imaginable though, someone being snatched away unexpected is enough to break your heart.
Suffering is time spent with your loved one showing exactly how much they love them. I understand her thoughts, but I can only imagine that the extra time a person spends here on earth by saying yes to life can only bring appreciation for the time we had together.
I for one think it was brave, this couldnt have been a decision she made lightly. Again the church has to butt in – he’d get a swift “F#ck right off” if he said it to me. Condecending git!
*apologies for the tone above but their holier than thou just boils my blood- F Off its her life not yours
Have you noticed that Christ is always depicted as a white Caucasian male, when in fact if he was from Israel he would have been brown. Do we still believe that we spawned from adam and eve? do we still believe that the priest can forgive your sins when in fact he could have been the biggest sinner in the Parish. Gone are the days where the church was above the law and their flock could be fleeced away before questions were asked of them.
What other atrocities have still to be found out..?
Just shows how out of touch the church is in these matters. Seems to me that they would prefer us all to suffer a long and painful death. Where is your compassion, empathy, etc?
They’re just a bunch of lunatics. Effin religious nutjobs. Their logic is that god loves her…yet…gave a young woman terminal brain cancer and if she doesn’t endure the pain until the end then oh well god hates you now, you’re going to hell. WTF!
Death and religion should not be interconnected! How dare the church capitalise on death and right to die just as they capitalise and oppress, lecture to the living!.
I consider childhood cult indoctrination, manipulation of government assests, priests who prey on children and the catholic church who covers it up more ‘wicked’ then a poor woman trying to end her agonizing terminal pain!
That’s exactly what someone said about that young chap who raised a million for cancer research when he was dying. Guess what? Two weeks after that remark was posted they were holding his funeral service.
This girl may have looked well, but I read an article which described how her headaches were getting progressively worse and she was suffering seizures and nausea and vomiting.
You are a sick uncaring person to come out with a comment like that. I hope you never have to suffer what Brittany did. She made her choice and I hope you respect her decision. It was her choice and no one forced it upon her.
Some of the comments on here- including the Vatican’s themselves- are absolutely disgusting! How dare anyone be so judgemental, and condemn this young woman for taking her own life when she had no other choice! In case any of you condemning her hadn’t noticed, she was dying anyway, and if she’d gone on she would have been in terrible pain, and that wasn’t what she wanted. It wasn’t like a perfectly healthy person just killing themselves for silly reasons! I’m sure she wanted more than anything to live, but only if she was healthy and well- suffering like that isn’t having a life, not a full and happy life anyway! You mightn’t agree with her decision, but it’s her life, not yours! Rest in peace Brittany- you know you did what was best for you!!!
At the end of the day is the opinion of the Catholic Church really important, or how you view the person who decided to make the choice? I personally think that if you truly love that person you will back them with a difficult decision, despite what the clergy say, who also incidentally believe in a book that was written 400 years after the death of Jesus and made up of different stories.
Her life, her body, her decision. She died with dignity on her own terms. Her “act” should be condemned….what about the molestation and abuse (sexual / physical ) of a nation’s generation of young people.
It won’t be so popular when it becomes mandatory,and anyone who does not oblige is classed as a selfish burden on society ,after all there are those who view humans as just another animal ,and we all know what an animal is worth .
So, an organisation of old men, who promote a fairy story, have stolen, murded, mollested and raped their way across two thousand years and the globe think this to be evil….. Who cares what they think anymore, they are irrelevant
I must say, I’m not surprised that my earlier comment was removed, as it was deeply irreverent. I was as extreme in the anty-Vatican stance as paddy was in pro-Vatican.
Defence now Europe's 'number one focus' says Irish officer taking up military role in Brussels
Niall O'Connor
38 mins ago
Division 1A
Cork blitz Galway to reach hurling league final as Tipperary defeat Clare
The 42
1 hr ago
Crumlin
Man (50s) hospitalised after attack by XL Bully dog in Co Dublin
10 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say