You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/LightField Studios

Worklife trends of 2019 and what's in store for next year

Here’s how Irish businesses are embracing an evolving workplace.

FROM THE INTRODUCTION of a four day work week to the uptake in remote working options, Irish businesses are adapting to the demands of an evolving workplace.

In the last year, some companies have chosen to adopt new policies to attract talent with unemployment at a level not seen since 2007, while others have come about due to employee expectations. 

For some of these workplace trends, it’s just the beginning of their adoption and 2020 should see them gain a large foothold in Ireland.

Four day work week

After a successful trial, one Galway-based recruitment firm, was among the first in Ireland to adopt the much-discussed four-day work week.

ICE Group launched the shorter working week back in June and Margaret Cox, managing director, told Fora at the time she expected with a more rested and happier workforce for sales to increase by between 10 to 15%.

The company took inspiration from New Zealand-based Perpetua Guardian which trialled a four-day work week last year and released a paper outlining the benefits.

According to industry experts, it’s likely that more Irish companies will adopt the policy next year – with the ball just set in motion this year. 

Remote working

Working from home was once seen as a luxury but it’s quickly becoming the norm, with employees actively seeking out these types of roles. A recent Indeed survey highlighted that 5% of Irish tech roles had no location, potentially signifying a move to flexible working.

Some e-commerce giants like Shopify and Wayfair operate a fully out-of-office work model in Ireland but other indigenous companies are catching onto the trend. Bank of Ireland rolled out flexible working for 10,000 staff members this year, in the hope that it would improve engagement with colleagues and counter stress.

To remedy the problem of the exhausted commuter, Enterprise Ireland is working on a smart working strategy to provide new alternative solutions. 

As part of their scheme, they hope to make more desk spaces available across regional hubs that work like co-working spaces. Not only could they help the worker, but a Vodafone report released in October showed they could generate €312 million for the regions.

Ludgate Hub Office Space Ludgate Hub, Skibbereen

The war for talent

Major tech companies have been upping their game when it comes to attracting talent.

Amid a housing crisis in Ireland, some of the tech companies are offering relocation packages to entice people. Fora reported earlier this year that some of the large multinationals are giving new hires, moving from abroad a few months accommodation up front.

Remote and flexible working options are being provided by companies, with many rolling out attractive parental leave benefits, including Vodafone, Hewlett Packard Enterprise and Diageo. 

There has been a move toward wellness programmes for employees in recent years. With Burnout being recognised as an “occupational phenomenon” in its classification of diseases this year.

When it comes to winning talent, money is as attractive as ever and the salaries of some senior engineers have almost doubled in Dublin since 2013.

Employees expectations have shifted too – thanks to the newer office providers such as Iconic, Huckletree and WeWork.

One prop-tech company told Fora this year, the “‘war for talent’ is becoming the ‘landlords war for tenants’” and the implementation of new technologies helps them differentiate their assets.

commuter Eamonn Farrell Eamonn Farrell

Looking forward 

For 2020 automation seems to be a concern for people as many companies are embracing new technologies to increase their growth capacity, particularly in the manufacturing industry. 

A recent survey by Griffith College showed that 40% of Irish workers are concerned robots would take their jobs

The government is trying to plan around that.  Under its Industry 4.0 strategy it has announced €23 million funding for the Irish Manufacturing Research Centre that is looking at how to lessen the skills gap alongside its research and development of automotive, digitisation and sustainability solutions for industry. 

Moves may be made next year toward the approval of a Gender Pay Gap Information bill that has yet to be passed through the Dáil. The proposed law will require employers to publish salary information.

A recent report by state-backed Balance for Better Business group showed that the percentage of women on the boards of Irish listed companies is 19.1%.

Get our Daily Briefing with the morning’s most important headlines for innovative Irish businesses.

Written by Laura Roddy and posted on Fora.ie

Comments
    Mute fergalreid
    Favourite fergalreid
    Jul 3rd 2014, 12:56 PM

I think the Government should offer him citizenship. Then he could just tour Ireland indefinitely, travelling from county to county… putting right what once went wrong. Like Quantum Leap only with country music.

Mute REA North*s
    Favourite REA North*s
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:00 PM

I’m sure that Tralee would welcome hosting the Garth Brooke concerts – We have been doing it so well for 55 years now with The Roses ?

Mute tk0CXKzL
    Favourite tk0CXKzL
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:29 PM

If he stayed for long enough, he’d hope his next leap would be the leap home!

Mute Pa Jama
    Favourite Pa Jama
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:36 PM

Ah now I’ve got the quantum leap theme stuck in my head!

Mute fergalreid
    Favourite fergalreid
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:39 PM

Oh, I went right off to YouTube to listen to it!

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:46 PM

Or into the nearest hole.

Mute Lashes
    Favourite Lashes
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:01 PM

Just after hearing Lord Mayor christy Burke on liveline… The man is clueless, won’t answer a question. How can these people still be elected?

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:51 PM

That’s shiners for you speak from both sides of there mouth.

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Jul 3rd 2014, 3:00 PM

Yeah Bluemist, because every other political party is made up of angels. Please.

Mute Lashes
    Favourite Lashes
    Jul 3rd 2014, 3:22 PM

In fairness he was torn asunder by the builder working at Croke Park… He kept spluttering “As I explained to your researcher Joe , i have a prior engagement and I have to go!!! …. I’m clueless get me out of here !!!

Mute John Stafford
    Favourite John Stafford
    Jul 3rd 2014, 10:50 PM

Did you just crawl out of a rock…..? The IMF aren’t here you remember that chestnut. You wally

Mute David Beattie
    Favourite David Beattie
    Jul 3rd 2014, 12:58 PM

All 5 should happen. Put simply, the money lost by hotels,shops, resteraunts and pubs, public transport etc is crazy.

Mute Leopold Dedalus
    Favourite Leopold Dedalus
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:17 PM

It’s not money lost if it was never there to begin with. On your logic why don’t we just have 10 concerts? Make even more money with no ramifications whatsoever.

Mute Jack Dexter
    Favourite Jack Dexter
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:18 PM

Your selfish David but then you dont live near Croke park.. get up the yard bleeding culchie

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Tim Horgan
    Favourite Tim Horgan
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:24 PM

160,000 tickets will now have to be refunded. Average cost of a ticket was what? €70? Which means from VAT alone the country would have made over €11million. Factor in the loss from hotels, Pubs, Public transport etc and its probably much much bigger.

Mute Tim Horgan
    Favourite Tim Horgan
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:25 PM

EDIT: Sorry the vat above should be 2 million

Mute Leopold Dedalus
    Favourite Leopold Dedalus

Tim what sort of maths are you using? 160,000 tickets at €70 a pop would be €11,200,000. Are you saying that that’s all VAT?

Mute Neill Walsh
    Favourite Neill Walsh
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:55 PM

Every hotel room in Dublin was booked and obviously now they will all be empty, having turned away countless holiday makers etc. and now with very little time to fill them again. There’s an uncanny amount of money lost in the area alone. So to say you can’t lose what you never had in response to above comment spells an obvious picture of your IQ .

Mute Liam H
    Favourite Liam H

I’d feel sorry for hoteliers if they weren’t absolutely fleecing people to stay over the 5 nights.

€400 for a night in a shite hotel in north inner city Dublin?

Get outta here.

Mute Jack Ripper
    Favourite Jack Ripper
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:04 PM

What about the sanity lost by local residents and intelligent people who don’t listen to such tosh generally.

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg

The hotels would still fill those rooms as it’s in Dublin and there would be demand anyway – it just means they can’t charge triple prices for them

Mute David Beattie
    Favourite David Beattie
    Jul 3rd 2014, 3:17 PM

Its money that WOULD have been made Leopold. That’s the point I’m making.

Mute David Beattie
    Favourite David Beattie
    Jul 3rd 2014, 3:32 PM

Jack. How am I been selfish about making a point about the money that won’t be spent in dublin city now. I am not making money out of it. Do you not believe in people spending money in Dublin (if 160k people spend even €10 each that’s 1.6m to the economy). I won’t throw insults back at you because us Culchies don’t think we are great putting up stupid off topic comments.

Mute David Beattie
    Favourite David Beattie
    Jul 3rd 2014, 3:32 PM

Jack. How am I been selfish about making a point about the money that won’t be spent in dublin city now. I am not making money out of it. Do you not believe in people spending money in Dublin (if 160k people spend even €10 each that’s 1.6m to the economy). I won’t throw insults back at you because us Culchies don’t think we are great putting up stupid off topic comments.

Mute Jack Ripper
    Favourite Jack Ripper
    Jul 3rd 2014, 10:21 PM

It’s being Dave. Not been.

Mute David Beattie
    Favourite David Beattie
    Jul 3rd 2014, 10:36 PM

Apologies jack. My culchie spelling fails me yet again.
    On a serious note though, do you live beside croker. And how bad does it be for concerts for residents.

Mute Jack Ripper
    Favourite Jack Ripper
    Jul 4th 2014, 9:09 AM

No, I just have better taste in music than you.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Jul 5th 2014, 2:22 AM

If all the concert goers were “tourists from all over the world” they wouldn’t be paying any VAT, now would they?

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jul 6th 2014, 7:38 PM

I wonder how many hotel rooms were booked on special pay-up-front deals that are non-refundable ? Probably quite a lot given the demand for rooms. Those rooms are paid for and the hotels and B&Bs are well within their rights not to offer refunds……..any concert cancellations are not their fault. Could be the same situation with flight tickets. People gambled and lost. Only Bondholders and the like are allowed to do that in Ireland. Allegedly.
    There is a simple solution to avoid this in future but it involves common sense, planning and dialogue so I won’t waste my, and your, time outlining it, as those three are never seen in the same room in these parts.

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:05 PM

What % of people in the area want some of the concerts cancelled? I doubt very much that it’s a majority of them. Hell, only a very small minority of them are part of the residents association.. yet they can hold everyone else to ransom. Pathetic whining gee-bags

Mute Steve Tracey
    Favourite Steve Tracey
    Jul 3rd 2014, 5:31 PM

Correct Mart

Mute Michael Walsh
    Favourite Michael Walsh

Now everyone is loosing out. The GAA, the residents, Dublin and especially the fans! Wouldn’t be surprised if he cancelled all the shows

Mute Harry byrne
    Favourite Harry byrne
    Jul 3rd 2014, 12:59 PM

Let’s hope so..He’s utter shite

Mute Zx5vZulB
    Favourite Zx5vZulB

And what’s the alternative? We allow concert promoters and other event organisers to go ahead and book whatever acts in whatever locations at whatever times of day with utter disregard for planning permission? Why stop there, why dont we allow builders to develop wherever they like, I’m going home to extend my house now..

Mute Fergus Flanagan
    Favourite Fergus Flanagan
    Jul 3rd 2014, 4:55 PM

Well you see, buildings are permanent. A concert lasts barely an evening.

Try a better analogy.

Mute Steve Tracey
    Favourite Steve Tracey
    Jul 3rd 2014, 5:30 PM

Ferguson
    What about the build and take down, an open air concert performance may be one day but the surrounding work normally makes it 3

Mute Katie Collins
    Favourite Katie Collins
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:12 PM

I think anyone that had tickets for the two cancelled shows should set up camp outside the stadium (or the residents houses) with a big pa system and play Garth Brooks for the duration ha. I wouldn’t mind I can’t even stand the guy but I really think this is awful for individuals having to organise accommodation/rotas and even the amount of money the city is gonna lose out on. I hope the GAA is going to reimburse these people.

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor

Katie it is sad for those fans affected. I know some of them. But at least now the big promoters and the buying public will pay more attention to the term ‘Subject to license.’ The GAA and promoters knew that by trying push for 5 nights in a row they’d be heading into trouble. They’re ultimately to blame for being so cavalier in such a contentious situation.

Mute Katie Collins
    Favourite Katie Collins
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:35 PM

I have to be honest though ‘subject to licence’is something if never have paid attention to. Least we all know now. I am really disgusted at the organisers and especially the GAA. Surely they knew this was going to happen. But it’s typical isn’t it.

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:34 PM

They knew full well they were chancing their arm. But it paid off for them. They pushed for 5 and got 3. Oldest tactic in the book. Pity two fifths of their customers were exploited and used as a bargaining chip. And Ticketmaster or whoever will pocket all of the interest that accrued on the Mon and Tues tickets over the last 5 months. Nice profit for them.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Jul 3rd 2014, 5:11 PM

Ticketmaster will pocket the handling fee too. They’re under no obligation to return it and they’ve done it multiple times before:

3.1 Purchases from us may be subject to a per Item service charge and a non-refundable per order handling charge.

That’s probably close to 1million euro -VAT

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Jul 3rd 2014, 7:03 PM

I was listening to one if the residents earlier and he’s still not happy.he wants all the concerts canceled.

Mute Jeanette A Mcdonald
    Favourite Jeanette A Mcdonald
    Jul 3rd 2014, 10:03 PM

Really? I’d have thought with all the shit we put up with from politicians not budging on things that we’d be applauding these residents. They are not a minority, there was a huge amount of people from the area lobbying. I feel really sorry for those who can’t now go to the concerts. But I think we as a people don’t get out and lobby enough. Residents have a bloody awful time when concerts go on like this. And the arrogance of the promoters selling tickets for 5 unlicensed concerts is mind blowing when Croke park was already over subscribed is unbelievable.

It’s about time money didn’t win. Every time someone has a legitimate concern they’re told to shut up , suck it up and let the euros roll in.

Mute Ann Marie H
    Favourite Ann Marie H
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:11 PM

The tickets should not have been sold without the license for the gigs being confirmed, this argument has been ongoing since the gigs were announced so its not like its a major surprise

Mute Fergus Flanagan
    Favourite Fergus Flanagan
    Jul 3rd 2014, 4:54 PM

Nearly all gigs market as such.

Mute Doc Benway
    Favourite Doc Benway
    Jul 4th 2014, 10:46 AM

Only here. Why is that?

Mute mark mulvey
    Favourite mark mulvey
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:16 PM

Your letting the country lose out on hundreds of millions in revenue . People coming from all over the world spending money on hotels , food, taxis , beer & they bow down to a few hundred People who’s main argument is anti social behaviour . Don’t make me laugh it’s a garth brooks concert not Swedish house mafia !!!

Mute executioner
    Favourite executioner
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:42 PM

Your opinions are pathetic he is still doing 3 nights so plenty of hotels and local businesses will do well,Croke park is a sports stadium and all residents have no problems with matches been played there ,Concerts are a whole different ball game and Special planning permission is required for it ,The Gaa agreed with the residents to allowing 3 gigs a year not 8 so they have every right to object.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Jul 5th 2014, 2:18 AM

Welcome to Garth’s Celtic Tiger.

Mute Conor Quane
    Favourite Conor Quane
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:39 PM

I’m garthbroken…

Mute Gavin Lawlor
    Favourite Gavin Lawlor
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:18 PM

Build a brook and get over it!

Mute Gavin Lawlor
    Favourite Gavin Lawlor
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:08 PM

There was a lot of dodgy overpriced jobs being done on people’s homes during the celic tiger so this isn’t the first time Irish people have been shafted by a fat cowboy!

Mute Hakuin Murphy
    Favourite Hakuin Murphy
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:37 PM

334 people don’t want to be slightly discomfited so they cause major inconvenience and disruption to 160000 people….nice…..

Mute Jimbo Murphy
    Favourite Jimbo Murphy
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:20 PM

The people being inconvenienced are the residents, your logic is totally backwards.

Mute Hakuin Murphy
    Favourite Hakuin Murphy
    Jul 3rd 2014, 3:39 PM

Yes of course. Everyone loves paying for hotels and flights that are now pointless.
    160000 people are now massively disappointed and in some cases massively out of pocket thanks to this decision
    So is the state through lost taxes, businesses through lost revenues and all for what?
    To placate professional whiners who are already bitching and moaning about how the other three are going to cause them such misery….
    God help them if they had to live in Iraq or Afghanistan…

Mute Jeanette A Mcdonald
    Favourite Jeanette A Mcdonald
    Jul 3rd 2014, 10:08 PM

Rubbish. You clearly don’t know what the surrounding area is like. People, particuarly old people are afraid to leave their houses. It was mis sold, industry thought it could win and tough, they lost. I feel really sorry for those who can’t go. But maybe the promoters will think twice in future.

Mute bren
    Favourite bren
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:41 PM

Did DCC cancel the 2 gigs over concern for locals in the area, or are they making a point about assuming permission will be given?

Mute pZTahAXy
    Favourite pZTahAXy
    Jul 3rd 2014, 8:29 PM

Both those options??

Mute That's a paddlin'
    Favourite That's a paddlin'
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:00 PM

It makes me happy that these ticket holders are now being punished due to their terrble taste in music.

Mute John John Knocka
    Favourite John John Knocka
    Jul 3rd 2014, 4:01 PM

“Lookin’ out the window…That’s a paddlin’,staring at my sandals….That’s a paddlin’….”

Mute mark mulvey
    Favourite mark mulvey

Pull the 5 of the concerts, move them all to the Phoenix park & stick 2 fingers up at the residence who will be complaining next year that the area has no money blaa blaa blaa

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Jul 3rd 2014, 3:45 PM

And what about local residents living near the Phoenix park?

Mute robuachalla
    Favourite robuachalla
    Jul 3rd 2014, 5:23 PM

The residents don’t give a shite about the “money” this is supposed to bring in. Were the Garth Brooks fans going to go around putting euro coins in my letter box or something? What money are you talking about? The money hotels like the Skylon were going to gouge people for? The money Centra were going to get for fags? The money some market stall owner was going to make on cheap cowboy hats?

Yeah, as a resident I’m really going to miss that money. If only we had enough Garth Brooks concerts I could afford to send my children to college.

Mute Steve Tracey
    Favourite Steve Tracey
    Jul 3rd 2014, 5:35 PM

Robuchalla
    The Skylon has announced full refund to all.

Mute Martin Valentine
    Favourite Martin Valentine
    Jul 3rd 2014, 7:07 PM

If you are a resident of the actual half dozen streets that people walk down to get to Croke Park I assume that you’ll be happy enough not to get free “residents” tickets to All Ireland Finals to Sell on Ebay?

Mute Val Tobin Rothwell
    Favourite Val Tobin Rothwell
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:32 PM

The Gaa & Aiken promotions should never have promoted or sold tickets for concerts they didn’t have a license for – plain & simple

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Jul 3rd 2014, 3:43 PM

Almost every concert ticket sold in this country is done so subject to planning permission! Be it Marley Park, the Aviva, Croke Park or any other venue around the country!

Mute Kieran Murphy
    Favourite Kieran Murphy
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:15 PM

Reading all the comments makes me laugh “welcome to Ireland friendliest country in the world” The amount of bitching in these comments sections. If ye don’t like the story don’t read it.

I for one don’t care if he comes or not be good for economy I suppose but if dublin council object why not play in another county.

Mute Vincent Van Gogh
    Favourite Vincent Van Gogh
    Jul 3rd 2014, 5:13 PM

Blasphemer. Another county?! You’re mad.

Mute Paul Creedon
    Favourite Paul Creedon
    Jul 3rd 2014, 5:26 PM

Kieran Murphy – doesn’t one have to read a story first – before one can determine whether one likes it or not.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jul 3rd 2014, 5:58 PM

‘Ear, ‘ear, Vincent.

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Jul 3rd 2014, 12:59 PM

next poll

is the journal correct to have 5 stories on the front page about some dumb concerts?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:09 PM

Good idea, I’ll write that one up now.

(Also, if it helps: articles about the CRC, Leaders’ Questions, Property Tax, Paddy Kenny and a lunch time news round up were all published in the last few minutes if you’re looking for something non-Garth related).

Mute Gareth Walker-Ayers
    Favourite Gareth Walker-Ayers
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:14 PM

Pwned!

Mute Gabbi Johnson
    Favourite Gabbi Johnson
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:20 PM

its about the clicks. They’d sell their grannies for clicks.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:30 PM

Um, no we wouldn’t, but thanks for the random insult. Also, I don’t think there’s much of a buyer’s market for grannies.

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:49 PM

6 articles now!….go for 10 why not?….

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:58 PM

That sounds like a challenge *rolls up sleeves, starts typing*

Mute Jimbo Murphy
    Favourite Jimbo Murphy
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:14 PM

There was a show on last night about granny escorts so there is a niche market to get in on :-)

Mute Gabbi Johnson
    Favourite Gabbi Johnson
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:17 PM

I like those odds Jimbo..

@Christine – in all fairness its about advertising to keep the site going no? – clicks etc like the Daily Mail does… now its a great site with lots of great stuff – but surely now and again you go for the easy clickable articles – ? :) No?!

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:26 PM

No.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:02 PM

What’s he doing now?

Mute Lee Shay
    Favourite Lee Shay
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:14 PM

Too disruptive ??? What about the disruption of people coming into the country. All over the world. Just heard on Joe duffy that a someone’s friend got two weeks off from work and coming from new zealand. For a cancelled gig on tuesday. …. Not the only person coming from abroad…. Its a joke, a national embarrassment to the Irish.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Jul 5th 2014, 2:33 AM

That’s nothing. I heard a friend of someone who worked with my niece read that one of the astronauts in the International Space Station caught an early Soyuz back to earth so he could go to the concert. Cost him $90 million. And he’s not the only person coming from space. Wasn’t that on Joe Duffy?

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg

They had one of the residents on the radio this morning and he sounded a reasonable bloke – just sounds like the GAA don’t care much and the residents have had enough – If you have a stadium in a residential area it’s taking the p1ss to disrupt people’s lives for a week

Mute cnocánanmactíre
    Favourite cnocánanmactíre
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:23 PM

Whinging killjoys

Mute steven hill
    Favourite steven hill
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:10 PM

Yes the council is right. What a fu king liberty on Aiken thinking they could sell tickets for 5 shows they didn’t even have a license for. Well they got caught out. And there out a lot of money what ever way you look at it. Garth Brooke’s party still want there wonga. It’s Amateur hour in Ireland yet again

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:48 PM

They were lucky to get the 3 gigs after using their annual allocation on One Direction.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Jul 3rd 2014, 12:56 PM

Is the journal right to swamp us with silly season ‘news’ that we don’t give a monkey’s about?

Has the chicken crossed that damn road yet or what…please keep us updated.

Mute Jon Gripper McKee
    Favourite Jon Gripper McKee
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:05 PM

It’s the top story on RTE and in the Independent. I think your idea of news is somewhat different to that of the majority of other people.

Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall o' Sullivan

It may be the top story, Jon. But is it the top 7 stories?

Mute Joe Reynolds
    Favourite Joe Reynolds

You tell him Jim McDonald!

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:43 PM

Mckees middle name is Marvin

Mute susanna smyth
    Favourite susanna smyth
    Jul 3rd 2014, 3:02 PM

if the money needs to be refunded and the promoters are sitting on roughly 7 million euro for the weeks and until a decision is made who gets the considerable interest on that amount? Seems like a win win situation for the promoters or will someone challenge this clearly fraudulent selling of tickets and even give the interest to charity

Mute Martin Valentine
    Jul 3rd 2014, 5:38 PM

Time for the GAA to stop pandering to these “local” community groups. The vast majority of whom do not live in the streets immediately surrounding Croke Park (30, 000 residents claim to be effected).

The residents of streets from as far away as Phibsboro have decided that they would be so inconvenienced by people walking past their house, or driving to the centre of our capital city, that they’ve resorted to legal action. Good! From now on the GAA should insist on its legal right to trade in its own premises with out being extored to supply free tickets for “local residents” to sell on Ebay. The GAA should do no more than comply with their legal minimum requirements.

As a GAA member I’m deliggted that several thousand All Ireland Final tickets will be available to GAA members rather provided to unfortuates, who didn’t notice the proximity to one of Europe’s latgest stadiums when they bought their house. I’m also delighted that several hundred thousand euro which would have been handed over to these people will be distributed to local GAA clubs.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Jul 5th 2014, 2:35 AM

Time for the GAA to stop taking the taxpayer’s money as well.

Mute Martin Valentine
    Jul 5th 2014, 9:24 AM

No. GAA members are also tax payers and are as entitled to grant funding as any other group or organisation.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:23 PM

Why dont he have his concerts down the country because its mostly country people who like his music, then he can have a concert every night.

Mute Martin Valentine
    Jul 3rd 2014, 6:53 PM

What are you suggesting? That the city should be preserved for “sophisticated” bohemians like you?

Top marks for probably arrogance.

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:09 PM

We are a joke. We can’t organise anything.

Mute Liz Cashin
    Favourite Liz Cashin
    Jul 3rd 2014, 4:29 PM

I’m not a Gareth brooks fan but this is horrible , it makes us as a nation look like a bunch of knobs who can’t be trusted to attend a concert or all hell will break loose . Seriously what kind of image must the US have of us

Mute Vaidas Kurmauskas
    Favourite Vaidas Kurmauskas
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:27 PM

ohh smiles been wiped from our faces..

Mute Dorothy Kavanagh
    Favourite Dorothy Kavanagh
    Jul 3rd 2014, 4:53 PM

Is it possible for the Government to overrule DCC considering the amount of revenue and reputation that will be lost?

I’d imagine that people flying in would have booked for a few nights to see Dublin and the surrounding area.

A huge embarrassment I’d say if not resolved.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:38 PM

Hitler is alive and well in Ireland. The world must be laughing at us again. I bet his family will be in the corporate box for one of the concerts and to hell with the rest. Another case of the minority bullying the majority.

Mute Kev
    Favourite Kev
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:52 PM

Delighted… People who like him are the lowest form of life

Mute mark mulvey
    Favourite mark mulvey
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:35 PM

Good man Kev , intelligent comment there !

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank

Garth Brooks was questioned about his guitar….

Reporter ………”When was the last time that you got it tuned. ?”

Garth….What do you mean?……….. I only bought it six months ago..

Mute David Linehan
    Favourite David Linehan
    Jul 3rd 2014, 5:50 PM

Hate Garth brook’s music but if your living beside a stadium expect this to come in tow, it’s there long before the residents. Tough luck.

Mute Leo Massey
    Favourite Leo Massey
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:27 PM

Two less days of the bog-fest, culchies shatting on your doorstep and chasing your dog.

Mute Dave Darcy
    Favourite Dave Darcy
    Jul 3rd 2014, 5:07 PM

This decision was made by one man.the councilors voted not to sell the bin collection but we’re over ruled by the co management.he is a law on to himself.All the concerts should have been allowed its generateds millions for the economy. We have to cop on???

Mute Damian McEvoy
    Favourite Damian McEvoy
    Jul 3rd 2014, 5:11 PM

What is totally ridiculous is that the gigs were advertised and sold without even receiving a license. This “subject to license” business is nonsense – apply for the license and get a decision well in advance of the gig actually happening so that it is either confirmed as going ahead or not. I personally wouldn’t cross the road to see GB but 160,000 ticket-holders should not have been disappointed at this late stage.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill

3 nights of Manic Street Preachers for next year. Be grand.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:01 PM

Eoin Keegan has cancelled our enjoyment so what new plan will he come up with for raising the lost revenue? Oh yes taxes taxes taxes. All fun now stopped and it’s work to keep the county councillors in clover and pay for their junkets and expenses!!!!

Mute Peter M Buchanan
    Favourite Peter M Buchanan
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:26 PM

Hotels in the city do not need the business….cop on DCC

Mute mark mulvey
    Favourite mark mulvey
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:34 PM

But the economy does!! FACT

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:23 PM

The permission was for a total of three concerts per year. There were three in May. The GAA and Aiken promotions knew this. The residents knew this. All five concerts should now be cancelled. If two are allowed in excess of the three in May, then the trick will be pulled again quoting precedent. Chancers!!!!!

Mute mark mulvey
    Favourite mark mulvey

Come off it Niall , the residence are looking for a pay off €€€ nothing else . They have no problem with football nearly every week in the summer months plus .It lies dormant for the rest of the year . It’s a minority of people complaining too so move all the nights else where & future concerts & the residence will soon complain that the area has no money

Mute Foreigneachfear
    Favourite Foreigneachfear
    Jul 3rd 2014, 4:31 PM

This I purely the fault of the GAA, they made an agreement and then did what they wanted anyway. I hope it costs them a fortune as thats all the GAA UNDERSTANDS – money.

Mute Robert Callaghan
    Favourite Robert Callaghan
    Jul 3rd 2014, 6:33 PM

With a bit of luck the agreement signed with Aiken will have to be honoured and the GAA get paid for 5 nights and only have to hold 3. Tidy little profit

Mute Vaidas Kurmauskas
    Favourite Vaidas Kurmauskas
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:30 PM

ohh smiles been wiped from all our faces..

Mute RI Twing
    Favourite RI Twing

Is that his REAL name?

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:14 PM

No. Its really Paidi Murphy

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 3rd 2014, 1:48 PM

Chris Gaines

Mute Colm Connolly
    Favourite Colm Connolly
    Jul 3rd 2014, 2:06 PM

his real name is actually tolyal garth brooks

Mute Linda McGee
    Favourite Linda McGee
    Jul 3rd 2014, 8:27 PM

It doesn’t matter who fault it is. The people affected are decent people who where looking forward to seeing his show. They are the only losers here (that and local business, hotels, bars, restaurant, public transport, venders, the staff of croke park who will be down two nights wages and of course Irelands reputation)

Mute Steve Tracey
    Favourite Steve Tracey
    Jul 3rd 2014, 4:03 PM

I’ve said yes, purely due to sympathy with those who have tickets for the two cancelled. GAA and promoters should however be warned
    1stick to the agreement, next time there will be cancellations
    2 don’t start selling tickets until licence is granted

Aiken should be punished in some way for their doing the latter.
    Wonder if Brooks management wiil sue for breach of contract?

Mute Shane Bradley
    Favourite Shane Bradley
    Jul 3rd 2014, 6:05 PM

What to me is astounding… That these concerts were arranged without having secured the licence… It is totally absurd.. As if the only consideration is the money to be made….well done, DCC

Mute Michael Leonard
    Favourite Michael Leonard
    Jul 3rd 2014, 8:36 PM

Why are there so many resident groups? There’s a f#ck load of them.

Mute Paul Fahy
    Favourite Paul Fahy
    Jul 3rd 2014, 5:56 PM

Garth can help me in the bog on the Monday and Tuesday so not all is lost.

Mute Liberté et Egalité
    Favourite Liberté et Egalité
    Jul 3rd 2014, 5:17 PM

Problem was he had no friends in high places.

Mute Leanne McHugh
    Favourite Leanne McHugh
    Jul 3rd 2014, 8:34 PM

It’s all One Directions fault!!!

Mute Seamie Feery
    Favourite Seamie Feery
    Jul 3rd 2014, 11:08 PM

Ticketmaster laughin their asses off either way..400000 handling fees they wont refund if all five concerts cancelled..That works out at over €2.5 million..

Mute Seamie Feery
    Favourite Seamie Feery
    Jul 3rd 2014, 11:02 PM

What happens to the peoples money who have paid inflated prices for hotel rooms on the dates in question.Dont think the greedy hoteliers gonna refund?