You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ireland's most popular emojis have been revealed

Twitter has released a bunch of stars to celebrate World Emoji Day.

IT’S WORLD EMOJI day. Yes, welcome to 2016, when we have a whole day dedicated to emojis.

PastedImage-79200

To honour this important occasion, Twitter released a heap of data about the world’s emoji usage.

What would you expect the most used in Ireland to be?

A snarl? A broken heart? The smiling poo emoji?

Wrong.

Our top three are the thumbs up, the see-no-evil monkey, and the a-ok hand

asv

How do we read into this?

1. We’re agreeable
  2. We find your stupid mistakes and regrets kinda sweet
  3. We are chill

Then there are the most used emojis worldwide, which again, we’re sad to see has no poo emoji included

PastedImage-29476

DailyEdge is on Snapchat! Tap the button below to add!

This is the proper way to eat Maltesers and everyone else is wrong>

This Donegal bartender’s ‘chalkboard of wisdom’ is pure sass>

Written by Nicola Byrne and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2016/07/img2-thejournal-468.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-2882144" class="alignnone" /end]

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

12 Comments
    Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke
    Nov 29th 2016, 3:11 PM

Local publicans weep when they read another fair deal pub opens they riped us off for years and now they moan

Mute john culhane
    Favourite john culhane
    Nov 29th 2016, 2:46 PM

Wahoo. Cheap drink. Drink drink drink!!

Mute Aaron Roche
    Favourite Aaron Roche
    Nov 29th 2016, 3:14 PM

Would they ever feckin’ come on?! I’ve heard about Wetherspoons coming to Waterford since summer last year.

Mute Frederick Burden
    Favourite Frederick Burden
    Nov 29th 2016, 3:15 PM

Former TSB bank building.

Mute Oakwoodservices
    Favourite Oakwoodservices
    Nov 29th 2016, 3:46 PM

Awful food- awful drink- awful service- awful pubs

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Nov 29th 2016, 3:58 PM

Let’s be honest… since when is a pub opening newsworthy. This is just clickbait for pitting different social classes against each other.

Mute gold3n
    Favourite gold3n
    Nov 29th 2016, 2:53 PM

Be hard to beat Bill’s cost of €3.20 a pint in the exchange!

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Nov 29th 2016, 2:59 PM

Depends on what you drink , they don’t sell Guinness / Murphy’s.

Mute gold3n
    Favourite gold3n
    Nov 29th 2016, 3:07 PM

They do in the Exchange pub in Waterford. €3.10 a pint of Guinness.

Mute Bairéid Rísteard
    Favourite Bairéid Rísteard
    Nov 29th 2016, 3:39 PM

In London these places attract the lowest common denominator. Ireland could do without these whetherspoons.

Mute Bairéid Rísteard
    Favourite Bairéid Rísteard
    Nov 29th 2016, 4:23 PM

@Finipops: Personally I’d rather pay a ‘normal’ price to socialise in a well kept pub with a decent atmosphere and character… TBH I’ve never been to the Irish ‘spoons’. But I can tell you that in Engerland, its where you’ll find the chavs, riff raff, Alcos and undesirables in them. Soulless kips so they are.

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Nov 29th 2016, 5:00 PM

Even the skangers will get tired of them soon enough. With no music, TV s or barman to amuse them that only leaves other skangers and not even skangers will put up with other skangers for too long. These places go against the grain anyway.. a bit like a poker machine in an Irish pub. I’ll tell you though they’ll be a godsend for the travelling community because there’s no way head office will allow “discrimination”. Once the inevitable carnage surrounding these places becomes known they’ll be deserted.

Mute Piotrek Król
    Favourite Piotrek Król
    Nov 29th 2016, 5:11 PM

@Bairéid Rísteard:

Never came across that undesirable element in Liverpool, Manchester or Bristol to be honest Rísteard.

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Nov 29th 2016, 6:52 PM

Piotrek, did it occur that you might have been part of the “undesirable element” ? *joking*…

Mute Shaun Mcloughlin
    Favourite Shaun Mcloughlin
    Nov 30th 2016, 8:36 AM

The travelling community has just won a court case against wetherspoons in London against race discrimination . You will have to give up your seat too the knackers now , they can’t get barred lol

Mute TehJurolan
    Favourite TehJurolan
    Nov 29th 2016, 4:07 PM

About 90% of the content of this site is clickbait, that reminds me, where is today’s Trump story.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Nov 29th 2016, 2:53 PM

The food in The Great Wood (Blanchardstown) was great when it opened but it’s gone seriously downhill of late

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Nov 29th 2016, 3:18 PM

@Michael Clinton: A kip of a place

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Nov 29th 2016, 3:41 PM

I had one of the worst meals I’ve had in a long time in the place in Blanch. Place looks well but the food is dirt

Mute Michael Clinton
    Nov 29th 2016, 3:45 PM

It was quite good when it opened but it has really gone downhill . We used to really enjoy visiting .

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Nov 29th 2016, 4:56 PM

They also have 4 pubs in Northern Ireland so they have 9 pubs in Ireland altogether

Mute Declan Hayes
    Favourite Declan Hayes
    Nov 29th 2016, 7:30 PM

The name of the state we live in is Ireland.

Mute Debbie Fahey
    Favourite Debbie Fahey
    Nov 29th 2016, 7:13 PM

John Halligan has threatened to leave government if this goes ahead

Mute Martin Duffy
    Favourite Martin Duffy
    Nov 29th 2016, 4:56 PM

What’s happening with their plans to open in Carlow town?

Mute Brent Weaver
    Favourite Brent Weaver
    Nov 29th 2016, 6:18 PM

What’s C-a-r-l-o-w?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 29th 2016, 5:41 PM

A vile chain of unpleasant pubs. You would be better off without.

Mute DarKel
    Favourite DarKel
    Nov 29th 2016, 7:12 PM

The one in Swords is a soulless kip masquerading as a pub

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Nov 29th 2016, 5:45 PM

What’s the instagram image about?

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Nov 29th 2016, 10:00 PM

Who gives a shite