You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Casualties of the Great War: Final images of loved ones lost

The ultimate cost of war.

EXACT FIGURES ARE still disputed but the Great War got its name as the fight in Europe became “unusually and comparatively large”, to use a dictionary reference of ‘great’.

About 9 million men died, up to 70,000 of them Irish.

This week marks the 100th anniversary of the beginning of the bloodshed, which dragged on for more than four years and involved countries across the globe.

These images, collected by Press Association Images to mark the centenary, highlight the terrible – and ultimate – cost of the war.

World War One
1 / 18
  • World War One

Civilians and soldiers of the Royal Army Medical Corps distributing refreshments to British wounded in France.Source: PA Archive/Press Association Images
  • World War One

A British casualty being brought down the gangway from a steamer by Indian Army orderlies at Falariyeh, Mesopotamia. The Indian Expeditionary Force, consisting of both British and Indian units, advanced along the Tigris towards Baghdad in Summer 1915.Source: PA
  • World War One

Convalescent British soldiers and their nurses enjoy the gardens at Longleat, Wiltshire, the country seat of the Marquis of Bath, while it was being used as a Relief Hospital during the First World War.Source: PA Archive/Press Association Images
  • World War One

A Japanese soldier attempts in vain to rouse his dead comrade.Source: PA Archive/Press Association Images
  • World War One

Italian troops in a hospital during the First World War.Source: PA Archive/Press Association Images
  • World War One

Wagon loads of German dead being removed in Verdun, France.Source: Topham Picturepoint/Press Association Images
  • World War One

First Battle of Passchendaele. Two guardsmen bringing in a wounded comrade on a stretcher, near Langemarck, October 1917.Source: Topham Picturepoint/Press Association Images
  • World War One

A French Aid Station in 1914. An injured soldier is tended to by French Army medical orderlies. The motorcycle by the wall is a British-made 1914 Rudge Multi.Source: PA Archive/Press Association Images
  • World War One

Burial of Canadian nurses killed in German air raid in an undated photo. (AP Photo)Source: AP/Press Association Images
  • World War One

A trumpet player in a funeral for an American casualty in the Argonne in November 1918.Source: Topham Picturepoint/Press Association Images
  • World War One

Nurses saying goodbye to soldiers leaving a London hospital during the First World War.Source: PA Archive/Press Association Images
  • World War One

An American cemetery near Verdun, France.Source: AP/Press Association Images
  • World War One

Wounded German soldiers captured in a British attack. These men are Baden troops in Morlancourt, near Albert, France in July 1916. (AP Photo)Source: AP/Press Association Images
  • World War One

The Galleries Nationales, a large department store in Brussels, which was taken over as a Red Cross hospital.Source: PA Archive/Press Association Images
  • World War One

The grave of Major Willie Redmond in a convent garden at Locre, Belgium. Source: PA Archive/Press Association Images
  • World War One

Convalescencing soldiers admire a waterfall in the grounds of Longleat House.Source: PA Archive/Press Association Images
  • World War One

Convalescencing soldiers in the grounds of Longleat House, the seat of the Marquis of Bath, which was used as a war relief hospital.Source: PA Archive/Press Association Images
  • World War One

Sir Alfred Pierce Gould KCVO, in charge of the surgical division at the 3rd London General Hospital at Wandsworth on 1 January 1916.Source: PA Archive/Press Association Images

Ever hear of the Irish Jesuit priest who volunteered for WW1 and took these amazing pictures?

Column: ‘Hell is Coming’ – fragments of horror from World War One

Remembering the 1,000 Limerick soldiers who died during World War I

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
    Mute Glen Hoddle
    Favourite Glen Hoddle
    Aug 2nd 2014, 5:41 PM

And still some of us protest against us honouring our brave comrades. …

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 5:44 PM

It’s called democracy get over it .Ireland isn’t a Monarchy because we saw what they are !…Pictures kindly supplied as proof above !

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:09 PM

“our brave comrades”

You must be the last survivor!

See 31 more replies ▾
    Mute Glen Hoddle
    Favourite Glen Hoddle
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:13 PM

You think that the 70,000+ Irishmen who died were wrong – and deserve to be forgotten?

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:17 PM

Dermot Ryan it’s call respect for others that wish to remember there relatives . You obviously miss that lesson in life . There’s no words to describe what a moron you are .

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:20 PM

They don’t deserve to be forgotten, same as if someone died in a traffic accident or a bare knuckle fight for money.

It is a tragedy more than anything, they had one life and they threw it away for nothing. Some had to go for the money, some went out of innocence and thought it would be an adventure.

They and their wives were thrown on the trash heap once they came back. The way the widows were treated in Britain was disgraceful, used up and spat out.

It is with genuine compassion for them that I think poor eejits, they died for nothing.

Mute Glen Hoddle
    Favourite Glen Hoddle
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:33 PM

RyanS. Your last post clearly illustrates your bigotry, ignorance (of facts) – and why you, like the other Ryan (daddy?), are such journal bores.

These brave men fought for the freedom of Europe – and England was the only/easiest entry into the war. When they returned, they (and their families) were treated like traitors.

A reaction similar to yours. 100 years later.

Speaks a bit for your education. Christian Brothers?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:35 PM

if there are no words ..then why did you use the word moron …you’re not very bright Tommy are you .the point above is a general point in the difference in the political set-up then and now …why do you defend the monarchy Tommy ? Are you a British soldier oath bound to the queen – that’s the only reason I can see !
    The political point makes no reference to the dead whatsoever !
    is that hatred in your heart Tommy – step into the light of Jesus Tommy step into the light !

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:51 PM

Dermot Ryan these men have been respected and remember not just in Ireland but around the world for the last 100 yrs . In a hundred yrs time and beyond when your rotten away in hole in the ground long forgotten there will be people from all over this country and others that will be still remembering these men . Relatives will always want to be associated with men that serve in the war and people will always be fascinated by the men that serve in them . Your contribution to this world is nothing and you will be long forgotten . Your not fit to wipe the mud of there boots .

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:51 PM

Glen.

I just don’t have much time for the beer swilling, chest thumping around so much of WW1. The pub history of it being a war for European freedom.

I just don’t entertain your old fashioned rubbish.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:55 PM

Glen…
    ” England was the only/easiest entry into the war. ….. ahhh the pictures above say World War 1 Glen …don’t go quoting history or politics after this because you are really showing how stupid you are !
    Then again Paddy loves making a fool out of the British soldier … your British Army page on Wikipedia suggests that there is an internal British Army memo admitting that the British Army could never win the war and all their training and all their equipment and they up against a few farm boys…
    We had to get rid of ye in 1920 because your stupidity was a threat to our nation Glen – that’s all nothing personal just self -preservation.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:57 PM

Most of them were treated like shi7 when they went back to England, the widows were treated even worse.

Look at the way England treats the cripples fools back from Afghanistan. Thrown out on the scrap heap by society and Govt. So many of them end up putting a hole in their head or off to a tree.

Same eejits that go on about the poppy for 6 weeks before November wouldn’t thrown a half eaten bar at them the following month.

I just can’t entertain them.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:59 PM

Tommy I am just remembering my family that fought and died fighting the British army who had a habit of Tarring and feathering men that were supposed to be their comrades a few years earlier to “fight for European Freedom!”
    the conflict in your mind is the souls of your lost ones telling you that war is wrong is my guess !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:04 PM

Sinead the seemingly accepted figure for the Irish dead from the “great war is just shy of 50,000 …not having ago ..but it seems others on here don’t seem to know that and it’s terrible to be confusing them like !

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:14 PM

Dermot obviously you never inherited the qualities of your relatives that put words into actions to fought for what they believe in . To busy mouthing of crap towards your fellow country men and all the other shite that comes out of your mouth .

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:28 PM

Ah Dermott, even you don’t believe those bully’s are interested in democracy, just rent a mob morons, who just shove their ill researched bigoted views down everyone’s. Throats. Sthop will ya.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:32 PM

They died so you could spew your muck in English , not German, god love you who thinks what you have. , and what they made sure you have, is nothing.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:34 PM

@s Ryan .

Mute John Michael
    Favourite John Michael
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:39 PM

@Dermot. Remember you only live in a democracy because of those soldiers who fought and died in the War. British rule would have been a picnic compared to what the Germans would have done.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:43 PM

“If any question why we died/ Tell them, because our fathers lied.”

Is there even one Historian of renown that believes that Germany intended to occupy Britain or Ireland or France etc.

Even one??

Is there even one German historical reference to such an intent.

No more than they did after the Franco-Prussian conflicts.

Mute John Michael
    Favourite John Michael
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:02 PM

Then why did they go to war then? If they had won then the conquered countries would have adopted the same kind of fascist government that Germany had. Wars are as much about ideologies as they are about territory.

Mute Glen Hoddle
    Favourite Glen Hoddle
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:03 PM

RyanS. Clear testimony to your supreme ignorance.

France WAS occupied.

You uneducated and stupid cretin.

Stop posting – you’ll lower the journal’s high standards of accuracy ….

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:11 PM

After the Franco-Prussian war they were there for about 3-4 yrs, there was no forcing of German culture or norms on to France. The “you’d be speaking German sonny” school of history is best kept to BNP social do’s and Football terraces for the craic.

Speaking of historical illiteracy we have one person saying that Germany was a fascist state at the time.

How can you reason with that?

Mute Rugby DadaiO
    Favourite Rugby DadaiO
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:33 PM

Wrong war but their heroism and the sacrifice their families made should not be forgotten.

Mute Glen Hoddle
    Favourite Glen Hoddle
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:34 PM

No Ryan. The Germans ( who you said were never in France!) were just killing and torturing them.

Please study the history – or are your mental issues holding you back?

With your childish ignorance. And an illogical and abject hatred of anything to do with England – its past and present.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:16 PM

You seem to believe that not conforming to your pub patriotism out look makes me anti-English. Even though countless English people agree with it.

Off to the pub with you.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:23 PM

Gerry ..nowhere have I condoned the actions of the hecklers – nowhere …but I respect their right to protest – that’s all !
    They are there for a reason just as those inside the cemetery were – there are arguments on both sides – those inside have more than enough keyboard warriors to put forward their case and build notions that history proved otherwise and those who heckled represent that later view – to the guys outside the pageantry was just as bad as their heckling …
    Too much divide and conquer about the whole thing for me ….. but I cannot sit back and allow history be re-written from one side and one side only …
    If the hecklers had unfethered access to this site then I would be fighting the case of the fallen of the Great War in just the same way ..
    the truth I find is always in the middle somewhere- just as peace or death is in no-man’s land ….

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:27 PM

John we live in a democracy because of the war of Independence as well – that is the part the hecklers were representing …
    Democracy and republicanism and Fenianism are the anti-thesis of Monarchy in principle – and I don’t forget that the Great War did destroy Monarchy in Germany … which paved way for Hitler who started off by getting voted for in a democratic Germany … History is very complicated – it’s like alphabet soup you can’t just pick one letter out of the pot and declare the soup to be made from one letter

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:33 PM

One point worth noting here is that it was Glen that brought up the subject of the protest the other day ; this an article about history and photographs – it has nothing to do with the commemoration as such the other day ! …hence my opening retort !
    Now peace to all and to all those who have been killed in war all over the world no matter what side they fell for – may they all rest in peace !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:45 PM

Tommy Buddha and Jesus Christ are two of the most famous people in history …they were pacifists – funny that ….anyway have to go – leave you with the last word if you want tommy !

Mute Cóilín O'Toole
    Favourite Cóilín O'Toole
    Aug 2nd 2014, 10:24 PM

@John Michael

“British rule would have been a picnic compared to what the Germans would have done.”

Your ignorance is astonishing.

In 1914 the massive Holocaust that was the Great Famine was still within living memory. The Irish population had halved in the intervening period after 1.5 million deaths due to starvation and disease.

That was a picnic, eh?

Mute John Michael
    Favourite John Michael
    Aug 2nd 2014, 11:09 PM

My ignorance? It wasn’t the British who caused the famine as anyone with some knowledge will tell you. It was the Irish themselves who had made the country dependent on the potato crop. Sure, the British didn’t give much aid but they applied the same policies to their own countrymen. Modern famines will also show that they are near impossible to combat. Under the British we had a say into how the country was run. In Germany the vote was only given to a small amount of people and even that was a facade to ward off criticism of their military dictatorship. As for the fellow who said the war of independence gave us our democracy, that’s not true. Firstly we had the vote already. Secondly, after the war we were still a dominion of Britain. Even today our institutions of state are the same as Britain’s so they couldn’t have been that bad, could they?

Mute John Michael
    Favourite John Michael
    Aug 2nd 2014, 11:13 PM

@Coilin. You also said the famine was in living memory. Whose exactly? It was nearly seventy years previous and people didn’t live as long in those days. I’m sure you can read about it in An Phoblaicht.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 3rd 2014, 3:39 AM

Parents wonder why the streams are bitter, when they themselves have poisoned the fountain.

John Locke

Aug 2nd 2014, 6:06 PM

Dermot, we are not neutral, just look at the help US warplanes and soldiers get st Shannon

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:36 PM

They’re breaking the law Gus … when they are armed ..we are neutral in that all planes from all countries can land – even North KOREAN ONES IF THEY WISH – JUST AS LONG AS THEY ARE NOT ARMED !

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:05 PM

The moral of it, is that no matter how stuck you are for money or adventure, going to fight a battle for someone else’s gain and power is a disaster for you and your family.

All thrown away in a moments madness, desperation and foolishness.

Mute Michael Coyle
    Favourite Michael Coyle
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:22 PM

You forget that it was a different time. Forget the folly of war. Those men and women faught for an ideal (the majority anyway) and believed that their cause was right.
    Your view is too simplistic. They did not simply sign up to sacrifice themselves at the behest of someone who promised them money or adventure. They were coerced into believing that to sign on was the right thing to do and that it was their duty. My grandfather had a good job and was staunchly Republican (he was from Newry) but felt that the cause was right. He was severly wounded and I have a Christmas card from the King and Queen wishing him a speedy recovery (one of millions I presume). Yes, he came back and was subjected to anti-Catholic bigotry and malice but he was still proud of his service and so am I.
    Were he alive today, I am sure he would be bitterly disappointed by those that think his participation was unworthy or treasonous!

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:27 PM

Micheal the best comment of the day .

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:38 PM

The great Tom Barry was a Serjeant in WW1.

I never said they were treasonous but I agree with so many of that generation that they were used up for the benefit and goals of others, certainly not for the pretend of Belgium freedom etc.

They died in a messy, extremely violent war whose only achievement was eventually destroying all who took part.

It apples as much to a soldier from Glasgow or Leeds as it does your relative from Down.

Mute Michael Coyle
    Favourite Michael Coyle
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:28 PM

Thank you Tommy. My grandad would be proud of you!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 5:42 PM

Queue NATO recruiters Wayne and Tommy and Ryan ……..

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:57 PM

I’m a NATO recruiter? Then I’ve been getting screwed with this sickpay malarkey…wheres my pay slip from the military industrial complex?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:34 PM

howya Ryan ..peace brother !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:40 PM

Sue them Ryan …I’ll represent you – we’ll clean them out ! …. only joking dude !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 5:49 PM

Oath of allegiance .British Army

Troops of the Grenadier Guards on guard at Buckingham Palace. Various army regiments supply troops to guard the Royal residences.
    All soldiers must take an oath of allegiance upon joining the Army, a process known as attestation. Those who wish to swear by God use the following words:

“ I, [soldier's name], swear by Almighty God that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, her heirs and successors and that I will as in duty bound honestly and faithfully defend Her Majesty, her heirs and successors in person, crown and dignity against all enemies and will observe and obey all orders of Her Majesty, her heirs and successors and of the generals and officers set over me.[167] ”

Others replace the words “swear by Almighty God” with “solemnly, sincerely and truly declare and affirm”.[168] Under the reign of another monarch, the name of the monarch and all pronouns with gender are replaced appropriately.

Mute Glen Hoddle
    Favourite Glen Hoddle
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:01 PM

Ryan – did you enjoy yourself in Glasnevin, shouting at our President and guests of our country?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:42 PM

Hoddle I haven’t crossed the Shannon in weeks , if you have a problem with the facts above then take it up with Wikipedia …I just copy and pasted dude ..it’s called impartial information …
    I support Independent candidates Hoddle …do you know what that is ;- Independence ?
    Note – to those of you who are interested in deciphering military minds from those of an ordinary citizen – Take note that Hoddle used my surname – this is the default position of officers as the name on uniforms is always the surname …
    That or he knows me and his name is Martin and he lives in Limerick !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:47 PM

“Our Country????”…and you call yourself Glen Hoddle the ENGLISH football manager …
    Recent evidence from the world Cup would suggest that the gods have spoken on the “who invented Football” argument.
    You reveal yourself with your stupidity Glen – you GOOGLY OLDBOY !

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:48 PM

Dermot is that what the oath of legions looks like . After all these yrs iv forgotten . I must dig my out just to make sure you haven’t forgotten anything .

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 9:38 PM

The legions never came to Ireland Tommy – they got a good dose of it in Scotland , built a wall out of fear and that was the end of for them ….withdrawl after that !
    Peace out Tommy – if we meet you will see that it’s not actually that serious at all …..

Mute Glen Hoddle
    Favourite Glen Hoddle
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:37 PM

Ryan x 2. Bigoted lunatics. Sad.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:46 PM

lol.

Just because we are not wholeheartedly agreeing with the BNP friendly version of it all, we must be lunatics. ha!

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:02 PM

Glen did you not know Seanie is a anti Brit hateful bigot. 90 percent of his comments are just that . The hypocrisy of the man is that he went to the uk to get a university education and then he constantly spills hateful comments about the men that serve it . You couldn’t be more of a hypocrite.

Mute Glen Hoddle
    Favourite Glen Hoddle
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:09 PM

Thanks Tommy

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 8:14 PM

I know a lot of English people who think exactly the same way as I do. As do many French and German people etc.

I’m nor preventing your old fashioned and pub patriot take on it. I’m say it is more nuanced than that.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 3rd 2014, 12:21 AM

Glen ; Judge not – lest ye be judged !

Glen will the Duke or yourself indeed join me for a commemoration in any Irish town for Irish men and women who were Tarred and Feathered during our War of Independence ?
    I know they weren’t soldiers in most cases but they were the fallen ?
    I’m not really into commemorating the dead – I believe wholeheartedly in Rest In Peace …but seeing as you feel so attached to the fallen Irish of War then I ma sure you will oblige …I can promise you there won’t be one heckler ..not one – seeing as the hecklers seem to upset you .
    You can pick any town in Ireland – any town Glen !

Mute Cóilín O'Toole
    Favourite Cóilín O'Toole
    Aug 2nd 2014, 10:41 PM

NEWSFLASH!

Irish people really don’t care. Seriously. Nobody cares. It’s a minority interest issue for proto-Unionists who hark after a dead empire..

And yes, I have ancestors who fought in WW1, but they’re dead now.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 3rd 2014, 12:10 AM

May they truly rest in peace Coilin …..

Mute Emmet Walsh
    Favourite Emmet Walsh
    Aug 2nd 2014, 7:58 PM

Anyone notice Özil in the 5th photo on the left?