You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Wow Air staff seem like good craic, if their Facebook is anything to go by. WOW air

How long will that €149 fare last and other important questions for 'WOW air'

How much is a cheese sandwich? Where exactly is Baltimore-Washington International Airport? And who is this new ‘Icelandic Michael O’Leary’ chap?

AS YOU MAY have heard, we’ll all soon be able to trot off to Boston for rock bottom prices, thanks to a little-known Icelandic airline.

Wow Air announced its new Dublin – North America routes this morning.

The no-frills airline is offering one-way fares for as little as €149.

The flights — from Dublin to Boston and Washington — will include a stopover in Reykjavik, and will operate only three days a week.

So what can we expect from this ‘Icelandic Ryanair’ when the new service starts, later this year?

How long is the stop-over?

And will we have to pay for a cup of coffee?

Here’s a no-frills guide…

Boston and Washington you say? To main airports, or will I be landing on some godforsaken airstrip in the next state?

It’s to proper airports —  Logan International Airport, and Baltimore Washington International, which is only marginally further from the city compared to Dulles (but very close to Baltimore, if you happen to be on a The Wire-inspired trip to the city).

And this €149 business? Does that include taxes and everything?

Yes. Yes it does. Although ‘restrictions and baggage fees may apply’. So if you’re happy to head to Boston with a small backpack — yes, looks like it could just cost you around 300 quid.

How long will that be offered? Not forever, I imagine? 

You’re right.

“It is definitely an introductory offer,” CEO Skúli Mogensen told us earlier.

However, I can also say that we continuously try to offer and lower our fares for the benefit of our customers. So yes, I think you can see very aggressive pricing coming into the transatlantic markets going forward.

balt In case you were wondering where Baltimore/Washington Airport is. Google Maps Google Maps

Right. So this Icelandic stopover… What’s the deal with that? 

The Reykjavik stop-off is the airline’s secret weapon, as far as Wow Air is concerned. The fact that it’s two short-haul hops rather than one longer journey means they can use smaller, more fuel efficient planes (hence the low fares).

Stop-overs will generally be for two hours outbound, and about 2 hours 20 minutes on the way back, we’re told.

And it’s definitely ‘no frills’ is it? 

It is. If you’re planning to splurge at the Cheesecake Factory (or where-ever) when you get to Boston, you won’t need to put your hand in your pocket. But if you happen to get slightly peckish before Newfoundland hoves into view, here’s a quick price guide:

Ham & cheese baguette: €4.60

Can of soft drink: €1.66

Grasshopper porridge (don’t worry, it’s a brand name): €3.93

Tea or coffee: €2.33

Beer: €4.33

menu Wow Air Wow Air

And while we’re here — who the hell are ‘Wow Air’ anyway? 

Good question. It’s a relatively small, relatively new company, founded in 2011 by Icelandic entrepreneur Skúli Mogensen. The 46-year-old (below) describes himself as an “accidental airline owner” and previously headed-up a mobile software company ‘OZ’ which he sold to Nokia in 2008.

Wow Air Wow Air

When do flights start? How can I find out more? 

All we know so far is that the flights get under way in October. And here’s the airline’s website.

Read: Flights to the US from €149 as WOW Air enters Irish market

Read: Lotto cancelled until tonight after lottery machines go on the blink

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

32 Comments
    Mute Ruth Colbert
    Favourite Ruth Colbert
    Feb 5th 2015, 8:33 PM

Looking at Skúli I can see why it’s called WOW !!!

Mute Vic
    Favourite Vic
    Feb 5th 2015, 9:49 PM

Yes! He’s a very attractive man indeed.

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Feb 5th 2015, 8:52 PM

Heard George Hook discussing this: It’s going to take 12 hours to get to Boston (as compared to 7 direct), you’ll have to pay for your bags (which you don’t direct), and you won’t clear US Immigration till you land in the US.

Oh, and Newstalk couldn’t find return flights for less than €467. Suddenly this “WOW” option doesn’t seem quite as speculator as Iceland is reported to be…

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Feb 5th 2015, 9:06 PM

Does anybody know what a direct return flight to Boston would typically cost with Aer Lingus this far out? Wouldn’t have thought it would be all that much higher…

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Feb 5th 2015, 9:06 PM

(Than €467 I mean)

Mute dowthebow
    Favourite dowthebow
    Feb 5th 2015, 9:15 PM

Can get them for around €600 without any offers, occasionally 199 each way

Mute John Dolan
    Favourite John Dolan
    Feb 5th 2015, 11:45 PM

His choice of wall art doesn’t fill me with confidence about the airline

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Feb 6th 2015, 9:31 AM

He said that flights to Iceland would only be around €59….He didn’t say how much it would cost you to get back out of the God-forsaken place!

Mute Ben Dawkins
    Favourite Ben Dawkins
    Feb 5th 2015, 8:38 PM

Will the pilots be snowmen? Is there free booze? Why do dogs have wet noses?

Mute Darren Turner
    Favourite Darren Turner
    Feb 5th 2015, 9:04 PM

Possibly? Unfortunately Not. They lick them.

Mute twonky kong
    Favourite twonky kong
    Feb 5th 2015, 9:11 PM

In one word ….. Eyjafjallajökull!

Mute Daz Kelly
    Favourite Daz Kelly
    Feb 5th 2015, 8:58 PM

The flights to Iceland seem cheap enough. I always wanted to visit. Has anybody been? Would you recommend it?

Mute Steve Wright
    Favourite Steve Wright
    Feb 5th 2015, 9:28 PM

I went a few years ago from Glasgow. Would definitely recommend it. The blue lagoon was fantastic!
    I wouldn’t be drinking much when there though and plenty warm clothes. :)

Mute Tracey Walker
    Favourite Tracey Walker
    Feb 5th 2015, 9:50 PM

Iceland is so beautiful. Much cheaper than it used to be. The blue lagoon is amazing. Well worth a visit.

Mute Stephen O'Connor
    Favourite Stephen O'Connor
    Feb 5th 2015, 9:20 PM

The flight out might be ok (if it’s cheap) but it will be the the flight back that’s a nightmare-stopping over for somewhere at the equivalent of about 4am or so would be the deal breaker I reckon…….

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Feb 6th 2015, 5:53 AM

Ah but east bound transatlantic flights are always much quicker so maybe it won’t be too bad once the turnaround is factored in!

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    Feb 5th 2015, 8:40 PM

It’s only the US flights that start in October, direct flights to Iceland start before summer, March I think.

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    Feb 5th 2015, 8:41 PM

It’s June actually

Mute Ian Murphy
    Favourite Ian Murphy
    Feb 5th 2015, 10:00 PM

They are very sneaky about Baggage costs for flights to Reykjavik.

A cabin bag is free but only up to 5kg. Otherwise you can pay €14.00 for an extra 7kg. So 12kg in total in one bag.

As 5kg is totally useless so it wil cost you €28.00 extra return. They are not really that cheap

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Feb 5th 2015, 10:57 PM

Just to clarify for all the guessers :
    Dublin_Reykjavik_Boston…….10 hour journey …2 hour stop in Reykjavik..No CBP clearance.
    Dublin_Boston direct 7 hours ( AerLingus ) …CBP cleared at Dublin.

Dublin_Reykjavik_Washington… 12 hour journey… 2 hour stop in Reykjavik….No CBP clearance.
    Dublin Washington direct ( United Airlines ) ….7 hrs 30 mins..CBP cleared at Dublin.

Take your pick …

Mute Wasna Matkaw
    Favourite Wasna Matkaw

I’d rather fly AirAsia, through a thunderstorm.

Mute Byyys
    Favourite Byyys
    Feb 5th 2015, 8:55 PM

Unlike direct flights from Ireland, passengers will not be able to pre-clear US customs as the route is via Iceland.
    if taking this flight…you will need to clear US customs and border control when landing In Boston/Washington

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Feb 5th 2015, 9:51 PM

Pre clearance is not provided on all EI flights from Dublin. My last 2 EI flights have had no pre- clearance and immigration has been done in Boston

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Feb 5th 2015, 10:02 PM

When was this? Both Aer Lingus and Dublin Airport sites state that ALL U.S. bound flights from Dublin, no matter what the airline, pre clear in Dublin. Aer Lingus are currently on an advertising roadshow in Britain pushing Dublin as a transfer point for the US and pre clearance is the big selling point.

I would have asked for an explanation if I was you.

Mute Byyys
    Favourite Byyys
    Feb 5th 2015, 10:41 PM

@Wayne I have flown from Dublin and Shannon airports in the past 2 years, all flights were to Chicago O’Hare International (on different airlines – US airways,united,aerlingus) each time i cleared immigration before boarding the flight. Pre clearance IS provided to all flights from Dublin/Shannon to the USA.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Feb 6th 2015, 5:56 AM

US pre clearance has been guaranteed on ALL Aer Lingus flights since last summer when the facility was expanded and officer hours increased!

However if a flight suffers a delay it can result in having to clear in the US upon arrival!

Mute Liam Whelan
    Favourite Liam Whelan
    Feb 6th 2015, 9:13 AM

There’s 1 flight to Boston, it’s the afternoon flight, those pax NEVER get pre cleared in Dub. The CBP guys are gone home by departure time! I work in the airport so kinda know what I’m talking about here!

Mute Sinead Keogh
    Favourite Sinead Keogh
    Feb 6th 2015, 12:37 PM

howya tony ye big ride ye ! ;)

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Feb 6th 2015, 6:21 PM

Liam.. .AL fly twice daily to Boston from Dub…Might have been a while since you flew DUB/Boston…Apparently all US lights departing DUB get CBP clearance….Not sure about Shannon….???

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Feb 5th 2015, 8:41 PM

I checked the site. Looks like only 2 flights in 2015???

Mute The Dublin Cynic
    Favourite The Dublin Cynic
    Feb 5th 2015, 10:56 PM

Very sceptical about this crowd. Asking for fares before flights have even started.

Mute Wasna Matkaw
    Favourite Wasna Matkaw

I hope they have a set of flight recorders onboard.