You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Met Éireann

Thunderstorms forecast across parts of Leinster and Munster today

The yellow weather warning is in place until 9pm tonight.

THUNDERSTORMS ARE to continue across parts of the the east and the south today, according to forecasters at Met Éireann. 

The unsettled weather conditions have been experienced across large parts of the country north and south in recent days. 

The national forecaster has since updated its weather warnings with a yellow warning remaining in place across parts of Leinster and Munster, while also warning of a flood risk in parts. 

“Thunderstorms with hail expected again today mainly in parts of east Munster and Leinster giving severe downpours in places with some surface flooding,” it said. 

The warning has been in place from 7am this morning and will remain so until 9pm tonight. 

The Road Safety Authority issued advice for motorists during such periods of unsettled weather. 

“[Motorists] are advised to check local traffic and weather conditions before setting out on a journey,” it said. 

It is asking motorists to allow extra distance between vehicles and use dip lights during patches of poor visibility. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Favourite Armin Tamzarian
    Mar 19th 2016, 8:42 AM

It’s all optics – they are delaying until they eventually do join up and they will say it was the last resort and for the good of the country…

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Mar 19th 2016, 5:17 PM

But it is for the good of the country…last resort or not

Mute Len Brennan
    Favourite Len Brennan
    Mar 19th 2016, 7:18 PM

What we would have is a one party state run by profoundly corrupt kleptocrats who have no loyalty whatsoever to the people of this country. Almost time for another rebellion.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Mar 19th 2016, 9:26 PM

Yep rebellion sounds good this country is borning anyway.No crack at all bottom line ff fg are same just to let the numbty supporters know because their a bit slow.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 19th 2016, 9:13 AM

All “stable government” has achieved is the impoverishment of ordinary people and the further enrichment of the already rich. We have had 5yrs of a government of rent boys for corporate greed. We cannot afford another 5yrs of the same. There wont be a square inch of the country left, that doesn’t belong to some vulture fund or other.
    How about 5yrs of unstable government? They would be so sh!t scared of being turfed out again, with less prospect of ever being returned to power, that their corporate buddies would have to take a back seat on the bus..

Mute John Bathe
    Favourite John Bathe
    Mar 19th 2016, 6:04 PM

Agree, stable government = ram legislation through, no debating or democratic process in the Dail. FG and LAB showed their attitude to democracy very clearly.. I understand the Janitor is selling cabinet posts to stay in power.. how much is it for one ? I may be interested…

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Mar 19th 2016, 10:10 AM

FF will be obliterated if putting Kenny back in. Election will not fare well as it is for them back tracking on IW. They will pay the price for this..

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Mar 19th 2016, 4:34 PM

How long will the FF and FG parties (Labour is gone!) continue to threaten the ordinary decent working people of Ireland? These dinosaurs have had their day. The older and more stupid members of the electorate must be educated to see that there are better alternatives to robbing the poor to feed the rich.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Mar 19th 2016, 5:10 PM

Well the electorate made FG and FF the largest parties in the Dáil, so their day is not done. The electorate wants an end to civil war politics in this the 100th Anniversary of the Easter Rising.

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Mar 19th 2016, 11:15 PM

The electorate want rid of Irish water and our water paid by General taxation we have been quite clear about that in how we voted in the election.

FF and FG going into government together and keeping Irish water in its current format makes a complete mockery of the electorate.

If FF do that and upturn on their election promises they may as well urinate on the graves of those who gave their lives in 1916.

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Mar 19th 2016, 8:54 AM

Sure they are more or less the same party anyway so there would be no difference in policy’s

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Mar 19th 2016, 9:24 AM

While that is true, you won’t find them admitting that, even to their own detriment

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap

I don’t think anyone is arsed anymore…

Here’s today’s top tip:

Banging two pistachio nut shells together gives the impression that a very small horse is approaching.

Mute Jackie Fetherston
    Favourite Jackie Fetherston
    Mar 19th 2016, 8:50 AM

Let’s have another election I am sure the people will get it right this time

Mute Brian McDonnell
    Favourite Brian McDonnell
    Mar 19th 2016, 9:53 AM

We all know there are only 2 possible outcomes, either FF and FG do business together, or we go back to the ballot box. All the talk is just for show, for the party members, to make it look like they have explored all other alternatives, when there are no other real alternatives.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Mar 19th 2016, 12:14 PM

Yes Brian with more or less the same election results so where do we go then?

Mute Brian McDonnell
    Favourite Brian McDonnell
    Mar 19th 2016, 3:47 PM

We keep going round in circles like until FF and FG get the message the civil war ended a long time ago and that kind of politics has no place in the 21st century.

Mute Welshhibby
    Favourite Welshhibby
    Mar 19th 2016, 8:36 AM

As some one who’s not Irish I find the time it’s taking to form a government bizarre. The election was weeks ago.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc

Fine Gael would do a deal with the devil himself to cling on to power. The people have regected their mandate and it’s time to respect the people’s wishes. It goes to show how desperate these people are for power when they try to hoodwink the electorate with their new promises. They broke their promises and don’t deserve another chance to inflict any more misery on the most vulnerable people in Irish society.

Mute John O Sullivan
    Favourite John O Sullivan
    Mar 19th 2016, 8:55 AM

Regected. wow

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Mar 19th 2016, 2:28 PM

Mean while people loose their homes and the banksters and vultures rape our country Ireland is officially a shite hole

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Mar 19th 2016, 10:59 AM

Strange no reports that FF have stated that they will go after anyone who has not paid their water charges. Possibly good for the safety of the Journal servers…lol

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Mar 19th 2016, 12:12 PM

A lot of home owners may have voted for FF after they said would get rid of IW . So its a big slap in their face and pockets for anyone who have not paid.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Mar 19th 2016, 12:35 PM

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for securing our water future and water charges demarcates this space, but I’m wondering why it’s gone unnoticed. I think some folk are going around thinking IW is gone. Its demise is well over- exaggerated.

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Mar 19th 2016, 10:23 AM

A party that only is supported by vote 25%, wants to again rule over 100% of the nation.
    Fair and true democracy?
    Will it again be more of the same previous antics?
    Has the FG leopard really sudden changed its spots?

I live in hope but exist also in a country where people are tried being political bullied by an elite few.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 19th 2016, 10:14 AM

They’re the same party really. Two cheeks of the same arse.

Mute tom mason
    Favourite tom mason
    Mar 19th 2016, 10:54 AM

I would say Enda is playing a super game having had successful talks with all TWO TDs in the green party.
    Thats after the THREE TDs in the social democrats stated they won’t form a government with either FG or FF.
    Just to remind you, the magic figure is the minimum of 79, that means the TWO greens will play a major role.
    Let me get off the stage.

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Mar 19th 2016, 11:25 AM

So we elect 158 deputies so that one man\women can control our parliament. No accountability, setup enquires for politicial gain and spend spend spend to get themselves reelected. I am beginning to think the whole banking panto was to favour FF in the election hoping that FF and FG could control both the goverment and opposition. A leader who admits cronyism is allowed to fester in office. It’s only after the election the bankers were released and rings brother appears in court . Only now drumm arrives back to find that it’s taken to long to change him. FF and FG are the same party, curroption in both parties is admired by the clapping seals that run after them. These parties don’t change only the disposable career politicians who profit from fear within the population are removed only to find a cosy seat on a state board, quango or Seanad.

Mute Terry McClatchey
    Favourite Terry McClatchey
    Mar 19th 2016, 9:03 AM

This really is a difficult problem for all potential parties of government. The electorate has made it clear that it does not trust any party to govern alone yet the same electorate has a history of judging very harshly those parties that go into coalition roles that by definition do not allow them to deliver the purity of the manifestos they offered. There is no indication that a new election would deliver a significantly different result. There is no scope for arrogance by any party but someone has to show leadership. The easy option is to sit back and criticise those who are willing to make compromises.

Mute Catherine Hayward
    Favourite Catherine Hayward
    Mar 19th 2016, 10:35 AM

Fine gael and fail only got votes because the people had little choice they really should keep that in mind while enjoying their power play…

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 19th 2016, 12:40 PM

Call GE,now.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 19th 2016, 2:21 PM

Paging GE.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Mar 19th 2016, 12:40 PM

There is no difference between the two.

Mute Len Brennan
    Favourite Len Brennan
    Mar 19th 2016, 7:25 PM

Two faces of the same rotten to the core establishment. Just imagine how screwed everyone who is not in their corrupt clique of oligarchs, friends, relations and cronies would be if FFFG becomes a reality. Pathological liar Martin is already backtracking on his fake election promises. Our children deserve better than these malevolent shite stuffed suits.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 19th 2016, 3:16 PM

Message has been sent,fg out

Mute Catherine Hayward
    Mar 19th 2016, 2:16 PM

And bye the way terry you mentioned the greens laughable all they ever did was introduce new taxes…

Mute Terry McClatchey
    Favourite Terry McClatchey
    Mar 19th 2016, 10:44 AM

Catherine, what do you mean by “the people had little choice”. Lots of parties offered themselves to the electorate and none was much favoured. Some were rejected more comprehensively than others. If you consider SF, SDs, Renua, Greens, AAA and PBP etc as not real choices; what would be?

Mute Catherine Hayward
    Mar 19th 2016, 2:10 PM

Terry got it in one you just mentioned all the reasons we had no choice none of them could make government without one of the two main parties hence on choice…

Mar 19th 2016, 5:00 PM

We badly need some capable politicans in gov in this country, instead of the current tripe we have to put with and find ourselves constantly paying dearly for, because the current bunch simply can’t do their job properly. (meaning all the useless dead wood in FF and FG).

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Mar 19th 2016, 7:00 PM

Who wants stable !!!! We all saw what stability did in the last government no respect for the electorate nor for Democracy.

Mute Alan Hanley
    Favourite Alan Hanley
    Mar 19th 2016, 11:51 AM

‘A strong rainbow minority government’

Ah ffs. Get with the times lads. The country’s moving away from the cozy old duopoly. These boys need to grow up and try to tackle the real issues, most of which have been allowed to fester for years. Nero fiddling while rome burns.

FG-FF. Do your best. Then ask the people for their judgement.

Mar 19th 2016, 8:57 PM

FGs program for gov is simple. They want the minions to pay the water charges to pay back the massive state debt that FF created, while they oversaw this massive mismanagement of the state finances, without much resistance, while they themselves were in opposition. So basically, its “We wanna be in gov if someone else pays for our debt”. Who wouldn’t love that scenario!

Mar 19th 2016, 9:05 PM

And FF are gas. Their policy on IW is they want to get rid of but still want everybody to pay their bills. And they want political reform but i can confidently say they have no intention of changing anything because life is just too good for the irish politician (financially and otherwise) and why should they give up a good thing!

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Mar 19th 2016, 6:10 PM

@Eamon Mac Gowan: That should read two cheeks of the same shitty arse!

Mute Jackie Fetherston
    Favourite Jackie Fetherston
    Mar 20th 2016, 6:43 AM

O I think it’s time for a new election ff fg backtracking already and not even in government hate to think Wath they would do if they form a government together. Ff didn’t take long to backtrack on promise to get rid of Irish water

Mar 19th 2016, 1:20 PM
    Mar 19th 2016, 1:23 PM

And politicians under control of the parties they belong to?

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Mar 20th 2016, 7:13 AM

FF FG who cares we are already doomed and i see Mr Martin has already gone back on his word to do with IW. I suppose its to be expected they are all liars.

Mute €uromancer
    Favourite €uromancer
    Mar 19th 2016, 7:25 PM

‘#KEEPING SCHTUM’ is obviously a typo. There appears to be a superfluous ‘HT’ there, when one considers the calibre of the parties involved.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Mar 19th 2016, 4:22 PM

For a moment, I thought it said, “Conmen sorted by popularity” under the heading, Post a comment!