You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
UKRAINE’S YULIA TYMOSHENKO is among the visitors who will speak at a European elections event in Ireland this weekend.
It was confirmed today that the opposition leader will join her country’s newly-elected prime minister Arseniy Yatsenyuk and opposition figure Vitali Klitschko at the European People’s Party conference in the capital.
Approximately 2,000 participants from 39 countries will take part in the Dublin congress, which takes place on Thursday and Friday of this week, 6-7 March at the Convention Centre on Dublin’s Spencer Dock.
At the event, which is hosted by EPP member party Fine Gael, the EPP is due to elect its candidate for President of the European Commission.
The role has been held by Jose Manuel Barroso since 2004 and will become vacant this June.
The event will be hosted by the Taoiseach and by EPP President Joseph Daul and the EPP electoral programme is due to be discussed at the congress.
Speakers at the event will include Fine Gael TD Charlie Flanagan (Ireland), Jose Manuel Barroso (President of the European Commission), Angela Merkel (German Chancellor), and Herman Van Rompuy (President of the European Council).
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Very confusing. This woman lost a democratic election against Yanukovych. She was jailed for embezzlement and abuse of power, apparently politically biased charges. Now in a not very democratic way Yanukovych is deposed and other group takes power without elections.
Some media is selling this as good guys (pro EU) versus bad ones (pro Russian). I am getting more confused every day.
Why are they coming here..if they believe Ireland is some beacon of light in the democratic world..they are sadly mistaken. If they can learn any thing from us , it is how not to do certain things.
Eye, that’s a lie, as I’m sure you know. The 2010 presidential election was deemed as a fair and accurate reflection of voter’s intentions by all international agencies observing, including OSCE and PACE. There was no rigging. Yanukovych won and Tymoshenko lost.
She will tell you how good she is and how poor they are, almost everything that she says are empty words, it will be just a bias against the evil Russian, to keep the majority thought so.
While the elections might have been given the stamp of approval ordering live ammunition to be used on protesters is what made Yanukovych loose power, even a democratically elected government looses all legitimacy when it murders protesters.
On another note the new government has in no way attacked russian speakers, the local tartar minority where attacked by crowds of pro-russians for demonstrating in favour of the new government. Seems to be the pro-russians using violence constantly while claiming they are at risk.
Good to see this viewpoint highlighted. She may have been harshly treated, but from what I can gather there was substance to the charges. I find it hard to believe that Tymoshenko, Yatsenyuk and Klitschko will all leave the Ukraine for a conference in the middle of the current crisis however.
I would consider going just see Vitali Klitschko though – best heavyweight of his generation (well, maybe Lewis), speaks 4 languages, holds a Phd, accomplished chess player, noted humanitarian and probably the only Ukrainian leader without baggage
Jo. The parliament of Ukraine voted to impeach Yanokovich. They also voted at the dame time to return to the 2004 constitution that divided power equally between the parliament and the office of the President. In 2011 not long after his election Yanokovich unilaterally changed the constitution to strip most of the parliament’s powers and give them to himself as president thus making parliament nothing more than a rubber stamp for his decisions. With his orders to the Police to shoot protesters still fresh. The protests gave the members of parliament the will to remove him for abuse of his powers. So the vote from the elected representatives of the Ukrainian people was quite legitimate and legal.
Mick they had to have Yanukovitch agreement to restore the old constitution. He agreed the day before they ran him from the country and he never signed the old constitution back into law. So the new constitution is still on effect. You may not like it but hey dems the breaks, it’s still the law. I didn’t like it when our own gov illegally funded a biased leaflet in the childrens referendum. Our courts said yes that was illegal but tough the referendum result still stands. But it doesn’t matter what I think right? The law is the law?
That would be for the Ukrainian Supreme court to decide. And it hasn’t come out and said that Yanokovich’s impeachment was illegal nor that the re-instatement of the 2004 constitution was illegal.
As I have said in a Presidential Democracy a strong Parliament is necessary to counter balance the power of the presidency. And the roll of the Courts is to act as a referee between the two.
I didnt realise fg are a member of this group which includes barroso and merkel. That would explain why edna never stood up to them and does what he is told.
Tymoshenko is a busted flush. She had her chance and feathered her nest as much as she could. Now she is barely stopping short of calling for war with Russia.
No thanks Yulia, the west has absolutely no intention of going to eat for you. You’d be better advised routing out the fascists who now sit at Ukraines cabinet table.
The illegitimate Ukrainian junta puppets are coming here with their mascot Tymoshenko to discuss carving up their country for the debt and death IMF/EU model. They will also try to stir up anti Russian sentiment to back up their illegal coup. We should be careful here. This dispute has nothing to do with us.
You’re right Jeremy.
I’m sure the subject will never come up.
Enda: “so lads how are things in Ukraine”.
Ukrainians: “grand Enda. We had a lot of snow this winter. We want to learn about your 5 point plan”
John. Were those that voted to impeach Yanokovich not also Elected representatives of the Ukrainian people? Should they not have a say in how their country is run? The whole point of having a parliament in a presidential democracy is to off set the power of the President. Otherwise it is no longer democratic but just a dictatorship with one man with unlimited power.
Mick, when there is armed revolt in the streets and the leaders of that revolt sit down with the incumbent and agree he would stay in power until the next election, and then the next day that goes out the window and the president, elected fair and square and still legally in power, is ran from the country in fear of his life, we have a term for it. It’s called a coup d’état. Whether you like Yanukovitch or not it’s still a coup. And no amount if lies and propaganda and snake talk can convince me otherwise.
The fact that a rump parliament towed the line after the fact doesn’t change the nature of the coup.
Actually John when that agreement was put to the whole parliament for ratification it was the decision of all the Elected members to reject the agreement and it was a democratic decision taken by those same Elected members to restore the previous constitution and impeach the President.
John, I enjoy reading your posts they’re always a good read and have good points, don’t waste your time with Mick Jordan he’ll just drag you round in circles, twist your words, be pedantic and basically do anything he can to run you off topic, it would be much better spent debating with people who can make fair points and decent counter arguments, only thing you’ll learn from MIck is how to troll and shill.
The leaked audio from the u.s. ambassador shows America were involved in this coup.Klitschko was deemed “not ready for prime time”.The candid view of European allies was,”f. the e.u.!”…
There was an election scheduled for year so calling Ukraine a dictatorship as I have heard on u.s. TV is absur..
Just imagine that a group of right wing Dutch toppled the government of Holland .Would they be welcomed with open arms to this conference of democrats with open arms??
Now now Bobby Fox.
Just because Uncle Sam spent $5billion in Ukraine “spreading democracy”. Just because they have driven NATO relentlessly to Russia’s doorstep. Just because their neocon Nuland was caught red handed discussing her choice of next Ukrainian government. And just because the choice happened to be “Yats” and “Klits” and that lo and behold the Ukrainian leader was ousted in a violent coup, replaced by, you guessed it, “Yats” and “Klits”. Now please, that in no way makes the US gov in any way responsible for this mess.
Don’t you know all Russians are bad?
It’s the Ruskies wot done it I tells ya!
John. You do realise that that $5 Billion was given to successive Ukrainian governments over a period of 23 years. Ireland has given more than that to African countries over the same period of time.
Perhaps you would be better positioning that question to the high IQ in Fine gael who used the Nazi Salute in past days have you even heard of the Blue shirts
Ah Jeremy your no1 will be either ff or fg chances are same as everyone else, and to paraphrase Leonard nemoy ‘and the cosmic balance continues’ or something to that affect! Or the don’t blame me I voted for klang!
Incredible how the standard EU-bashing now extends to Kiev and Tymoshenko. She won 30% of seats in the election, was jailed for 7yrs on jumped-up political charges, refused adequate medical care and monitored 24/7 by CCTV in her hospital room. Here’s hoping she receives a warm welcome and figures out how to stave off Putin and his 150k strong army.
Yanukovitch won over 50%.
Coup, baby coup.
But hey, he’s a bit like them nasty Russians. Bet he doesn’t even speak English. And he had the audacity to spurn our benevolent advances!
Bloody Russians.
Not like dem lovely Saudi royals.
Who keeps them in power? I don’t remember any elections.
Isn’t it illegal for women to walk around alone there? But hey, who cares, at least they’re not dem sneaky Russians. You know dem Ruskies with, shock horror, their own opinions!
Yanukovych’s Party of the Regions won 34.4% of seats in 2012… many of whom proceeded to disown him on Saturday in a 328/450 parliamentary vote.. even Putin admits he is politically dead.. elections planned for May.. funny looking coup d’état.. Let’s just hope Yanukovych can use his $12bn in wealth to build himself a nice new personal zoo.
Diarmaid, Yanukovitch got 50% (well ok 48.95%) of the vote in the presidential election in 2010. He then left the party of regions as obliged under Ukrainian law. But hey what difference do facts make? Point is he was chased out at the barrel of a gun, without Ukrainian law and due process being followed. But you say a majority in parliament voted him out. Doesn’t matter, parliament exceeded its legal authority.
An example would be parliament here voting to remove a judge. Wouldn’t matter even if the vote was unanimous as under Irish law it ain’t legal.
But anyway I sense you are not a man to be swayed by mere facts.
And yes it was a helluva zoo.
John you mention the Law and Legality. Has the Ukrainian Supreme Court said that the parliamentary vote and impeachment was illegal? Now another question is the invasion of Ukraine a breach of international treaties signed and agreed to by Russia and as such illegal?
The barrel of a gun has generally been facing one-way.. ask the dozens of dead Kiev protesters.. or the non-Russian people of Crimea.. When you turn guns on your own people you lose the argument.. it’s just handy to have a friend like Putin to prop you up, ask Assad.
Mick you’re shooting wides all night tonight. Ukraines constitutional court were dismissed by parliament on feb 24. You think the new judges will rock the boat? With Pravy Sektor outside patrolling the streets? Unlikely.
As for Russia’s actions they are
maintaining that the legitimate president of Ukraine invited them and that they will secure the rights of their citizens come what may. The world will deliver its verdict in time on Russia’s actions. I would point out that Russia is on safer ground than the US was in Iraq, and that thankfully not a single person has died since Russia entered the scene, compared with a million innocent victims of “shock and awe”, that there are openly fascist thugs not just roaming the streets of Kiev terrorising Jews, but sitting at the cabinet table. But look, it doesn’t matter because you believe deep down that the Americans are “better” than the Russians. You believe the world can only be viewed from your perspective, hence you can apply one standard for the Americans and another for the Russians. You approach every debate from this angle believing in your superiority. Therefore my friend, my words are wasted.
John. Thats a bit odd. Considering the Russians invaded on the 27th of Feb and his letter was dated the 1st of March. Do the Russians have Crystal ball? And the supreme court Judges are all existing experienced judges. Do you think they fear such a small group as Right Sector?
You’re right Eamonn. And we would know as we’ve brought freedom to so many places recently. Let me see, how about Iraq? A million people dead, a country in chaos, ethnic division polarised and Iraqis yet dying in their thousands. How about Afghanistan? Dem Tallyban been wiped out yet? No, didn’t think so. Let’s stay another 15 years. How about Egypt? Mubarak is gone. They elected the Muslim brotherhood. Mmmm not sure we liked the look o dem Muslims. Not sure democracy suited them. They didn’t vote the right way.Good news though there was a military coup. And all lived happily ever after. How about Libya? Well things ain’t so great there either. The new gov has no authority. Just one hour ago the main TV channel came under attack by a rabid militia. And the country is a complete failure and war zone. Somalia? Er forget Somalia. How about Mali? The French were bringing freedom there.Well maybe not. But they did secure the Uranium mines and that is the basis of any freedom surely.
Ah freedom, brings a tear to the eye…
John. Do you not live in a free and democratic country? Do you not have to speak your mind on a public forum like this and not fear the knock on the door? Do you not have a choice of what news programs you wish to watch or what papers you want to read? Do you not have the right to travel where and when you wish? Ask someone from Cuba, North Korea, China, Belarus, Burma or Kazakhstan if all the above rights are available to them. And then ask yourself would you like to live without all those rights.
Mick where to start.
Freedom and democracy are under attack all over the west.
Did you vote to be used as collateral for a private banking bailout?
Did you vote in deciding that we would be supervised by foreign unelected entities ie the troika?
I did vote in elections where the gov parties said no more bond payouts.
What happened there?
Governments grab more and more power for themselves using a manufactured and totally unnecessary financial crisis to justify it.
You know that our revenue commissioners can forcibly enter your home without a warrant or any suspicion of you having committed a crime? To evaluate your house for the property tax? If that doesn’t concern you it’s sad. But not surprising, it doesn’t concern most people.
Your attitude is to give your unquestioning allegiance to the authorities of the day.
But that is not what democracy in a republic is about.
“Eternal vigilence is the price of freedom”.
“He who would trade liberty for some temporary freedom deserves neither”
“Trade with all nations, alliance with none”
The founding fathers of the American Republic spoke those words.
Oh how far we have fallen.
So what form of government would you suggest. One where anyone can refuse to pay any taxes they don’t like? We the People of Ireland borrowed more than we could afford. Nobody made us do do it. Yes the banks gave cheap credit but it was our own choice to take it. It was like We were given a credit card with no limit and going on a spending spree without giving any thought that it would have to paid back. And when the bill came due people like you began crying that it was everyone else’s fault that we spent so much.
Well Mick I would say that freedom is severely curtailed when a private cartel controls the money supply, issuing it as debt creating a parasite which sucks the life from its host, the tax paying public. Ever wonder why all governments are in debt? I would start there my friend. But hey on the other hand as you correctly pointed out life is worse in North Korea so we should just stop all this “dangerous talk” and be happy with our lot.
The reason for government debt is government over spending on the things like disability payments for junkies, Unconditional free legal aid etc. Stop paying for pointless stuff and they would save a fortune.
As they say Golden when you need to resort to insults and foul language you have lost the argument. And if that is the case you have lost an awful lot of arguments.
IMF already had a deal in place with Ukraine 15.1bn , until 2011 that is ,then they ask Yanukovich to up the price of all GAS TARIFF’s , a request he refused (probably by order from russia) ties with IMF where cut .
IMF pee’d off .
Now yanukovich is out (via a USA backed coup) , a neo nazi and former banker is in (sound familiar) , backed and endorsed by USA/IMF/EU
Ukraine now one of the poorest countries in europe , with vast resources ,
Fracking contracts worth 20bn (for shell and Chevron ) are all ready to be signed (yanukovich refused to signed them).
IMF vultures are circling ready to pounce , hence they want putin to back off and not interrupt their pillaging .
so , is putin any different to the IMF dictators NO.
ukrainian people are stick between a rock and a hard place .
footnote.
I wonder what the Israelis think of their masters backing a neo-nazi (they very quiet on that one)
holey moley, the Kremlinoids are out in full force with all the usual assortment of Kremlinoid boogeymen:
“nazis”
“CIA plot”
“IMF vultures”
“anti-Rooshan sentiment”
1) Tymoshenko was convicted on trumped up charges in a stalinist show trial under a stalinist code – “exceeding authority”
2) Yanukonvikt was elected, but not democratically – be that as it may, he proceeded to change the constitution, and made all judges in Ukraine beholden to him, so that the judges resembled those from the Planet of the Apes, complete with medallions
3) Yanukonvikt was not elected to be a dictator, which he became by virtue of changing the constitution with the help of the chimps in robes from the Planet of the Apes – Ukraine does not have a bona fide legal system
4) Yanukonvikt spent 2 days packing truck convoys to escape and flee from Ukraine – it was caught on video, but the lunkhead lardbutt illiterate imbecile lummox could not pack his garish palace to take with him; however, he did send his Airbus to United Arab Emirates, which was tracked live on the flight radar web site
5) when he finally made it to Rossiya, Yanukonvikt claimed in a press conference, after he broke a pen, that “Ukraine is – our – strategic partner” – since when does a “legitimate” president pack up as much as he can, flee to Rostov-on-Don, Rossiya, in order to be president of another country?
6) unlike all the thugs rooshan agents that fled Ukraine, Tymoshenko had the guts and courage to stay in Ukraine, despite a clearly unjust stalinist show trial and verdict – and God bless her for her courage and guts – she has more balls than Yanukonvikt, who is Putler’s butt boy
7) people in Ukraine are not anti-Russian – they are anti-dictatorship a la Vlad Dracul Putler, and they are for democracy
That ought to send the Kremlinoids into a head-spinning tizzy for quite a while
What are the chances of Kneecap and other Irish hopefuls winning a Bafta tomorrow night?
Jane Moore
4 hrs ago
UNIFIL
Lebanese president vows to punish those who carried out attack on UN convoy
17 mins ago
Galway
‘A gentle soul’: Hospital review launched as man dies by suicide after presenting to A&E
16 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 148 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 102 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 133 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 103 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 75 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 74 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 36 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 32 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 124 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 72 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 79 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 42 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 24 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 82 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 65 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 48 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 81 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 60 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say