You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THERE HAVE BEEN calls for Tánaiste Leo Varadkar to make a further statement on the Katherine Zappone controversy and the advice from government that outdoor social events of up to 200 people are permitted under Covid-19 regulations.
Zappone announced yesterday that she will not take up a UN Special Envoy role after it was revealed that the former minister had held a large social event outdoors at Dublin’s Merrion Hotel at which Varadkar attended.
In a statement yesterday evening the government said the Attorney General had advised that such events are legally allowed.
The nomination of Zappone to the position by Minister for Foreign Affairs Simon Coveney had already proved controversial, with Coveney himself admitting that Taoiseach Micheál Martin had not been told about it before the nomination was raised at Cabinet.
Zappone was formerly an independent TD and a minister in the 2016-2020 minority administration headed by Fine Gael.
Varadkar said in a statement that he was “present for about 45 minutes” at the Merrion Hotel event and that he “confirmed in advance directly with her, and with the hotel management on arrival, that the event was compliant with Covid regulations”.
Speaking to reporters this morning, Sinn Féin TD David Cullinane said that Varadkar has more questions to answer.
“The Tánaiste is at the centre of this scandal, he needs to make a statement in my view today, he needs to make a statement as to why he attended the event in the Merrion Hotel, he needs to make a statement as to why we’re now seeing a scrambling by government to retrospectively approve the guidelines or change the guidelines or interpret the guidelines to justify an event that took place,” the Waterford TD said.
It’s very telling that we’re not hearing from any government representative. It’s very telling that nobody from Fine Gael is making themselves available to the media. It’s also very telling that the industry itself, the hospitality industry, were unaware of the fact that up to 200 people are permitted for a social event outdoors in a pub or restaurant or hotel.
The CEO of the Restaurants Association of Ireland has said the industry was not aware that up to 200 people could attend outdoor events, and said the sector was owed an apology.
Adrian Cummins told Newstalk: “There’s a lot of businesses that have turned away a lot of business over the last number of weeks because they did not know, through the Failte Ireland guidelines, that they could have up to 200 people at an outdoor event.”
Hoping to get updated @Failte_Ireland guidelines this afternoon regarding Outdoor Hospitality
It’s important businesses & society understand what is required in terms of rules / limits.
Hospitality businesses have lost huge amount of revenue due to confusion over guidelines
Speaking on RTÉ’s News at One today, Fine Gael TD and Minister of State in the Department of Foreign Affairs Colm Brophy said he would like “clarity” on the guidelines from Fáilte Ireland.
Brophy refused to say that Fáilte Ireland’s guidelines had been incorrect but that regulations have been “changing” frequently.
“What we have is, between the regulations and the guidelines, we have a lack of clarity and that has been acknowledged. So what we’re now going to do is going through the actual guidelines and through the work of Fáilte Ireland, who are meeting I believe today, we will have more clarity,” he said.
Brophy also said that he did not know whether Fáilte Ireland had checked with the Attorney General before issuing its most recent guidelines.
Speaking about the government’s decision yesterday to release a statement quoting Attorney General advice, Green Party TD Neasa Hourigan said it sent out the wrong message.
Hourigan said the Attorney General was “technically correct”, but it was not in the spirit of the public health advice and had sent out the message “that it’s OK for 200 people to get together in a field and have a party”.
“I have to say the thing I’m sorriest about is the intervention of the Attorney General yesterday. I think that was incredibly unhelpful,” Hourigan told Newstalk.
I think the message that has gone out now is that it’s OK for 200 people to get together in a field and have a party.
Social Democrats co-leader Róisín Shortall compared the saga to last year’s ‘Golfgate’ controversy in that it appeared to demonstrate a more lax attitude to the rules among “an elite in Irish society”.
“This grubby little episode suggests there is a prevalent attitude, among an elite in Irish society, that there is one rule for the little people and another for them. It is possible to host an event for scores of political insiders at a swanky hotel, but communions and confirmations are deemed too dangerous to proceed while wedding parties cannot exceed 100 guests – even if they are held outside,” she said.
We now learn that everybody was working from a misplaced understanding of the law. Instead of the numbers for outdoor social gatherings being strictly curtailed, it is actually possible to host an event with up to 200 people. Curiously, this revelation was only made public after the Tánaiste himself attended a private function in a five-star hotel with 50 guests.
Related Reads
Junior Foreign Affairs Minister can't say if UN job offered to Zappone will be filled
The Zappone Saga: How the controversy played out in the past week, and why she had to quit
Katherine Zappone says she will not accept UN envoy role after days of mounting political pressure
Speaking RTÉ’s Today with Claire Byrne programme, Fianna Fáil TD Niall Collins acknowledged that government advice to people “could have been made clearer”.
Another Fianna Fáil representative, Minister of State Mary Butler, told WLR FM that the way the Zappone nomination was handled was “a complete shambles”.
“I’m not questioning, for one moment, the bone fides of Katherine Zappone, though she exercised good judgment by not accepting the position. But to be honest, it’s very, very disappointing what has transpired in the past week,” Mary Butler told Deise Today this morning.
“It’s a complete shambles, I’m not going to try and pretend it isn’t. I can understand why people are so upset.”
Aontú leader Peadar Tóibín TD said the government was essentially trying to tell people that Covid-19 guidelines prohibiting such gatherings “were all a dream”.
“Ireland has entered the twilight zone in relation to what was the law for large social events. It is very clear that everyone from ministers to the hospitality sector to newlyweds to families organising funerals, to families with children for Holy Communion and confirmation that guidelines prohibited organised social events of up to 200 people. The Fáilte Ireland guidelines stated in in black and white,” he said.
Independent TD Michael Collins said that he and the Rural Independents Group were calling on Taoiseach Micheál Martin to “break his silence” over the controversy.
“We are calling on the Taoiseach to come out of hiding and issue a crystal-clear public statement on this entire matter. He must also make himself available to answer questions and address why the Zappone organised party, is receiving such special protection from the current government. He must also address the links between that party and her appointment as special envoy, six days later by the Cabinet, Collins said.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
102 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Geoff Bateman: Anyone who cares about the health of Irish democracy and value for the taxpayers money spent on our elected representatives should listen to the FG Minister on RTE News at One on thursday 5 August. If dodging crucial questions on COVID and other matters were on Olympic Sport we would have many gold medal contenders.
Also aside from the above no mention on The Journal thus far of the Green Party Dublin Bay South by-election candidate running a party in Merrion Cricket Club and sending the invitations out to 3,500 people! This Government is a pure and utter ivory tower omnishambles.
Micheal Martin, an Taoiseach ,angrily dissed FG before last years GE. Now he silently sits by while they walk all over him. Should he not demote Coveney from his cabinet or is Mr Bildeberg the real top dog?
@: Also a bit like our Kerry elected reps keeping deathly silent on the shenanigans.
Comments on the Journal were open and flying when the Berlin bar got themselves in a spot of bother, but then again the owner didn’t have relations that were involved in politics or deep pockets for lawsuits.
Some animals are more equal than others methinks or at least that’s how it comes across.
200 people in a field ? This was not a field this was a city centre hotel with no doubt a full compliment of staff and other guests and business going on and we are to believe that 50 people could be comfortably accommodated (with Covid spacing) in an outdoor setting? Does the hotel have the contact details of every guest for contact tracing purposes? Was their temperature taken as they entered the hotel?
Lots of questions need asking do we have a journalist able to ask these questions without being steered off in another direction by a PR rehearsed script?
Please feel free to add any other questions that need asking
There was no such thing as 200 people permitted to gather outdoors, every event was analysed to restrict numbers to a minimum, it is a deceit to perpetrate this message in light of the Merrion Hotel party but people are wise to what’s afoot , politicians have no shame, at all.
@Honeybee: I’m afraid that’s incorrect..have a look at this from the RTE site on July 7th..
The number allowed at organised outdoor gatherings will rise to a maximum of 100 people for the majority of venues. For venues with a minimum capacity of 5,000, the figure rises further to 200
No very few could allow the 200 figure but most would be able to have 100 people..
I am surprised A Cummings was surprised to be honest as he should have known the rules.
@Paul Kossoff: that’s for the likes of a conference or a concert not for the ordinary Joe soap. This wasn’t a conference it was a party so it was against the guidelines.
The more we as a nation allow Varadkar to treat us with this level of contempt, the more he feels empowered to continue doing so. He’s not even hiding it anymore and we deserve no better at this point tbh. What’s truly incredible though is the way his own party continue to support him despite the havoc he’s wreaking on all of their future election chances. Massive clear out in Irish politics needed urgently.
@Declan Doherty: The disturbing truth is that many FG supporters don’t see it like that at all. They see it as Leo flexing his class privilege which through the Tory and old anglo mindset he is entitled and encouraged to do.
If you disagree and condemn one of “theirs” it must be because you’re jealous of their success / class status / wealth so they rally behind them against the “witch-hunt”.
When you consider Leo’s welfare cheats campaign as social protection minister or his comments about nurses and Christmas holidays as health minister you could argue the success of his entire political career has been on the back of showing contempt to the ordinary people, the FG core voter loves to see it.
Varadkar & Coveney need to be held accountable and taken to task over this saga.
#cronyismisalive&well despite the rhetoric from this government about making changes for the greater good.
A wedding within the Traveller community was recently shut down because it was being held outdoors and this was deemed illegal. The Gardai were present to ensure it didn’t take place due to Covid regulations. Are we now to believe that this was wrong?
Ditto at the start of the Pandemic when people over 70 were led to believe they couldn’t leave their homes. Apparently that was only a guidline until it was challenged. Failte Ireland is now going to be the fall guy for Leo and the Attorney General. The litigation over loss of earnings is about to hit the courts.
Imagine if anyone from SF had organised a party like this. The screaming from all round would be deafening and rightly so. Thundering editorials would fetch up in the Irish Times which is desperate to describe the whole thing as ‘errors’.
@Mim Cotton: I don’t see one comment or any rebuttals to the comments from our usual government apologists. Maybe they realise its gone beyond trying to defend the indefensible. Though, as you say, if it had been a S.F affair they would lambasting here like there was no tomorrow.
@Mim Cotton: well SF got away with breaking every rule
with thier funerals without even an apology until challenge about it. So are they really any different.
@Sean Minihane: Think you may find an apology was given. The problem now is Martin stated move on. Leo blamed Coveney…. Coveney stated Zappone approached him about a job… Coveney than stated it was he who offered her the job. Martin still hadn’t a clue about what was going on. Of course this was all before the Merrion Hotel knees up came to light . The AG came down on varadkars side , but restaurant and Hotel associations would disagree with his version. Time to wheel Eamon Ryan out again , A JESUS the cricket club… back in the box with him. The circus continues.
@Chris Gaffney: At least it was an apology. Unlike the continuous apologies issued by successive Irish governments concerning the genocide of children in Religious/State run homes..The crocodile tears from Kenny, the apology that then turned to cover up. Amazing the fiasco of Zappone, her supporters fail to mention her actions regarding the mother and baby homes reports Hypocrisy at it’s best.
@Brian Dunne: It’s actually good news – for SF. Either he stays there for a couple of years while the dislike for FFG continues to mount, or the government is collapsed by FF (or even the Greens, if Chu and Catherine Martin manage to take over from Ryan) and, either way, SF have a landslide GE win.
Either varadkar and his cronies walk the plank and resign or call general election.how can Fianna gael as a party support it’s leader how can Fianna fail and greens stand by this.its an utter disgrace the way people are told to live by the book meanwhile the golden circles of this country just do whatever they like.disgusting behavior
@Sean Minihane: Funny but the restaurant and Hotels federation would take a different view on the AGs interpretation of the guidelines which the Leo apologists state caused confusion. The guidelines were used to try get Leo off the hook..Brophy in his interview like a dog chasing it’s tail, still when questioned he could not give a clear answer that the AG was correct in his interpretation of the guidelines. Waiting on Martin to break his vow of silence on this matter. The let’s move on bit has come back to haunt him.
@Sean Minihane: you posted 4 hours ago claiming SF ‘ broke every rule in the book’ at last years funeral, even after several fully INDEPENDENT INVESTIGATIONS have statedcthat no rules were broken.
1 hour ago you point to AG’s far from independent opinion, contraditcted by the hospitality industry, as somehow showing nonrukes were broken.
Pure unadulterated hypocracy, just like those you try to defend!!!
@Sean Minihane: it may have been but the problem is they are only updating the current guidelines to show that change tomorrow so as it stands they were they breached the guidelines that were in force at the time of the gathering.
Some perspective please. We’ve without justification just cancelled a festival with 70,000 people in a country that will be fully vaccinated but the media and political benches are getting agitated over guidelines (or lack there of) of 200 people being outdoors. We are so behind the curve in this reopening it’s beyond depressing at this point.
@Toon Army: We are beyond the curve because we have most inept and corr-upt government ever. They have to be called out for the very reason the guidelines can be changed at any time to suit their agenda. They stop the Irish people from going to a concert, a show, a nightclub,a festival even a singer doing a few sets in a pub or restaurant. Yet Varadkar and Zappone can toddle of to a music event in the U.K, hold a party in a hotel. A Green Party member invite all and sundry to a “do” in a cricket club. Where does it end when is it time for the electorate to say enough is enough. If they are not held accountable we’ll get nowhere.
@Toon Army: electric picnic allows children under 12. So not everyone will be vaccinated. We’ve just been camping and 8 of our group tested positive. 4 of them are adults who are fully vaccinated. 70k people could cause a massive outbreak that could have the hospitals on their knees and cause unnecessary deaths.
@Dave McCabe: no Dave, we just don’t like self elected second in command narcissistic dictator types I.e making whatever decision he wants without going trough the proper protocols in a position of power, the sooner FFG are out on they’re backs, the better.
@Sean Marlow: But FG didn’t ‘move the goalposts’, the AG for some completely unfathomable reason felt obliged to stick his nose right into the middle of the mess!
@Dave McCabe: I know an old man, out for a walk, in the first lockdown, he was brought home in a squad car and told he shouldn’t be out. Health GUIDELINES, were being followed by most. This is a shambles and heads, should most definitely roll.
@Dave McCabe: again Dave, what you are failing to realise is that the statement made by the AG is just his reading of that piece of legislation doesn’t make him right. Also keep in mind that this man is making this very public statement on a public servant basis to deflect from a citizens private party, with all the rule changes in the last 72 hours does this mean every citizen in Ireland can hit the AG up for legal advice? I only ask cause he made it very clear that he was commenting on the the actions of zappone and the Merrion, One must ask themselves why he decided to throw his neck on the line for a resident of New York and a Hotel tho.
@Bob Murphy: so why is the AG clarifying the rules on behalf of her, how come he never stepped in before, who asked him to step up? Also these “new guidelines” only came into effect on the 24th but the shindig took place on the 21st. Just drop the shovel pal, it’s embarrassing at this point.
@pat seery: it’s almost unbelievable that all off the hospitality sector were unaware that they were allowed 200 people in an outside gathering until yesterday with all the meetings they have had about a road map to open up.
What was the reason for the party? Birthday, new job?? Or do these people just throw random parties in select hotels for 50 close friends .
Why would you go to a party and stay only 45 minutes? Or less.
Who was paying ?
I was not happy that she she got away with the dodgy travel expenses claim that time, great that she she drove a few extra miles to get on to better roads to help the environment and all that but why should the taxpayer have to pay out when the rules said that home to work distance was less than the distance required for her to be entitled to the higher rate.
I don’t like this government but I was in a large beer garden last week that had over 100 people in it while still complying with regulations. Instead of blindly being outraged check if the Merrion hotel has enough space to host 50 people outside. They have a large garden out the back. All you need for 50 people is 8 tables 2 metres apart. Please stop the hysterical calls for hanging. Rant over
@Bob Murphy: your not allowed a social gathering of more than six, fifty is extracting the urine, also the appointment is the first place was very dictatorish, what with not following the proper protocols n’all but I’m sure you think that’s acceptable behaviour from someone who is supposed to be second in command!!
Trafficking at level of Saudi Arabia and they party with the Satanist who ruined countless lives. Petition handed to Dail about her.HSE hack costing half a billion euros likely foreigners looking for Tusla details.She’s been unconstitutional children’s minister; a cannibal nature introducing mandatory reporting known not to work wasting forty million euros with brain dead workers just going along with her plan.I wish Russia or Israel invaded as Ireland is not a democracy.Why is she even permitted in to Ireland? Looks like Aleister Crowley worship is more than her in government.I doubt she was even elected, planted for a reason.The corruption of the policy she introduced is online.So many lives ruined.
Varadkar and Coveney gone into hiding. The part time Taoiseach has taken a vow of silence. Eamon Ryan being wheeled out to defend the above is now not an option, as his attendance at a Green function is yet to be debated. Instead they now wheel out Colm Brophy and a senator who just dug a deeper hole. The Attorney General backs Varadkar , only problem is Varadkar had to check if the guidelines allowed him to attend the Zappone bash. The same Varadkar who was in talks with the hospitality sector, yet he did not inform them of the guidelines that the Attorney General had to check to get Varadkar off the hook. Sweet Jesus.
There is a shortage of soap and detergent not to mention bleach in Irish Politics at the moment ~~ They all think they are Trumps or worse Borris’es ~~ They need a good Irish kicking !
Water safety boss calls for new measures after teens' deaths in Buncrana
Eimer McAuley
4 hrs ago
New York
Sean ‘Diddy’ Combs was violent but there was no sex trafficking, court told
Updated
6 hrs ago
Road Safety
CCTV from petrol station captured clear images of crash that killed Garda Kevin Flatley
Updated
15 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 187 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 126 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 165 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 129 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 91 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 92 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 44 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 41 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 150 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 69 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 88 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 95 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 40 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 56 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 29 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 107 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 111 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 79 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 60 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 100 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 83 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say