Take our survey • Win a prize
Advertisement

We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

VIDEO: Yes, these people are kayaking down a flooded Cork street

Grand soft day.

Canoeists on the South Mall, Cork. Pic: Paloma Kreischer

FLOODING IN CORK has led to the centre of the city being cut off due to the rising tide.

The high waters have rendered some roads impassable and caused problems for business and home owners, who have been preparing flood defences all day.

For some people, the flooded roads posed no major challenge – they just got out into their kayaks and paddled away.

(Video TheJournal.ie/YouTube)

Read: Flooding has collapsed a road in Kinsale>

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Close
37 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Siobhan O' Neill
    Favourite Siobhan O' Neill
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:16 PM

But shouldn’t Cork float?!

Mute Rubber Head
    Favourite Rubber Head
    Feb 5th 2014, 12:06 AM

Good God way a shower of fools/tools, any excuse to get their “paddling gear” out and the weather is only biblical. Go home

Mute Alan R
    Favourite Alan R
    Feb 5th 2014, 10:43 AM

Yes Rubber Head, everyone should spend their lives hiding underneath their duvets, like you.

Mute Andrea McElroy
    Favourite Andrea McElroy
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:51 PM

was there at around 9.20 after college (had to walk through town to get home). town is only deatroyed, heart goes out to the retailers. could see them trying to get the water out by using buckets… oh and the sandbags were floating around the place!!

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:15 PM

They are in Kayaks and are Kayaking. Not one canoe is evident there.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c

Thanks Niall :) Our kayak-spotting abilities were obviously impaired this evening! Have fixed the piece.

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:18 PM

Much obliged Aoife. Us kayakers are a nicer breed. ;)

Mute Caoimhe Clery
    Favourite Caoimhe Clery
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:15 PM

Funny pic, four guys in canoes and then the other lad just walking down the road.

Mute John Kehoe
    Favourite John Kehoe
    Feb 5th 2014, 12:16 AM

“Talking out of turn? That’s a paddlin’. Lookin’ out the window? That’s a paddlin’. Staring at my sandals? That’s a paddlin’. Paddlin’ the school canoe? Oh, you better believe that’s a paddlin’.”

Mute Thomas O'Brien
    Favourite Thomas O'Brien
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:08 PM

Put a cork in it

Mute Conn Rogers
    Favourite Conn Rogers
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:12 PM

Would poppin’ the cork not make more sense??

Mute Keith DArcy
    Favourite Keith DArcy
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:26 PM

Look at me RTE! I’m kayaking in full Niagara Falls gear in 1′ of water on a Cork street, big feckin deal! Would you not be better off helping people who’s property is flooded in your obviously abundant spare time rather than frolicking about splashing each other with your paddles???

Mute Drew Clarke
    Favourite Drew Clarke
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:34 PM

You mean the country is flooding????

I thought it was international gay day at the journal and nothing else was happening in the country today.

Mute Rubber Head
    Favourite Rubber Head
    Feb 5th 2014, 12:09 AM

Well said Keith, ars*holes

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute silentbob2012
    Favourite silentbob2012
    Feb 5th 2014, 12:23 AM

Give it a rest Keith!

Mute Seweryn Sapinski
    Favourite Seweryn Sapinski
    Feb 5th 2014, 12:43 AM

Doesn’t seems like a joke to me at all. Poor people in the background, trying to save their properties and businesses would rather make me to help them than play in the flood. Lot of Cork videos at youtube, sad to see.

Mute Hippocrateeth
    Favourite Hippocrateeth
    Feb 5th 2014, 2:17 AM

Hop on a bus there down to cork and help so, don’t let the 10 euro bus fair stop you Robin Hood.

Mute A_Mousie
    Favourite A_Mousie
    Feb 5th 2014, 3:13 AM

Seriously Hippocrateeth, that’s your smart comment? You have nothing better to say? Then say nothing at all!!!

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute dominic
    Favourite dominic
    Feb 5th 2014, 7:28 AM

Agreed Seweryn,they are nought but self indulgent Clowns

Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:14 PM

Fair play,but why are they wearing helmets??..it’s not as if there’re heading down the Grand Rapids..

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan

Because if they capsize, they could hurt their heads. They are encapsulated into the crafts. They could very well cause themselves an injury should something go wrong and upside down and unconscious in water isn’t a good place to be.

Mute John Barry Malone
    Favourite John Barry Malone
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:26 PM

They headin for grand parade.. not grand rapids

See 4 more replies ▾
    Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:27 PM

Good point!!

Mute Rubber Head
    Favourite Rubber Head
    Feb 5th 2014, 12:08 AM

Good God another Tool

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sean O'Sullivan
    Feb 5th 2014, 12:26 AM

Sure they are hurling helmets! They’re having a puck around as well boy!

Mute Neil Glennon
    Favourite Neil Glennon
    Feb 5th 2014, 12:55 AM

I was in a Kayak once in the open sea wondering did i really need to wear a helmet.

I lost my balance for a second and Kayak flipped me over and my helmet thumped off the end of mates Kayak, right then i answered my own question. Don’t be a tool always wear headgear and make sure your kids do too.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:13 PM

Always look on the bright side.

Mute Griska
    Favourite Griska
    Feb 5th 2014, 1:08 AM

Thank the little baby Jesus that the flooding didn’t happen last week when the entire rural population of the country were queuing for Garth Brooks tickets.

Mute RonanM123
    Favourite RonanM123
    Feb 5th 2014, 2:44 AM

Hey, we all knew we would pay heavily for the summer we had!

Mute Pj Berry
    Favourite Pj Berry
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:36 PM

Where’s Noah when we need him?

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:14 PM

Paddle your own canoe

Mute Tom Tucker
    Favourite Tom Tucker
    Feb 5th 2014, 7:15 AM

Attention seeking idiots!

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:29 PM

#nekabovewater #corkbuoy #panacanal

Mute alpha_chaarlie
    Favourite alpha_chaarlie
    Feb 4th 2014, 11:23 PM

The same people in a different spot:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OanhnZi-K28

Mute D11 Soldier
    Favourite D11 Soldier
    Feb 5th 2014, 6:04 AM

At least they won’t be stepping is 1 of the several piles if dog gick that’s all over cork!

Mute Andrea McElroy
    Favourite Andrea McElroy
    Feb 5th 2014, 8:32 AM

there was used heroin needles floatin about though. pics were circulating last night.

Mute David best
    Favourite David best
    Feb 5th 2014, 12:28 AM

. V

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.
JournalTv
News in 60 seconds