Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.
You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.
ALMOST TWO WEEKS after the country went to the polls, the 33rd Dáil sat for the first time today.
TD’s voted to elect a Taoiseach and, as expected, Leo Varadkar, Micheál Martin, Mary Lou McDonald and Eamon Ryan were all rejected by the house.
The Fine Gael leader will travel to Áras an Uachtaráin to tender his resignation but will remain in place, along with the current cabinet, until a new Taoiseach is elected.
McDonald racked up the most votes as several independent and Solidarity-People Before Profit TDs backed the Sinn Féin leader.
Seán Ó Fearghaíl was re-elected as Ceann Comhairle.
Our reporter Rónán Duffy is also down outside Leinster House.
He’s been speaking to Sinn Féin’s new TD for Roscommon-Galway Claire Kerrane.
She said: “I’ve been in here for the past three years working but today is a different capacity. I’m looking forward to it… It’s a great day for everyone.”
Green Party TDs – and husband and wife – Catherine Martin and Francis Noel Duffy have arrived at Leinster House with their three children.
They say they’re going to have to strike a work-life balance.
Newly elected Francis Duffy for the Greens with his wife TD Catherine Martin. They’re going to have to strike a work life balance, he says pic.twitter.com/TLdUgZT13F
Naughten says civil servants must be accountable to Dáil Éireann.
He says that in the case of the HSE, the only method of accountability is the Oireachtas Joint Committee on Health or parliamentary questions that can take weeks.
“Sometimes the very last person to know is the TD whose constituents are directly affected,” he says.
Naughten says that GDPR is being used to avoid answering legitimate questions of TDs.
“It would be an honour to be Ceann Comhairle,” he says, saying it’d be a greater honour to allow TDs to seek answers and provide greater accountability.
Ó Feargháil says he has helped build structures to help members in the drafting of legislation.
Other “absolutely critical” all-party committees on health, on housing and on the Travelling community has seen “us work well for common cause”, he says.
“We have engaged with the youth of this nation on the crucial issue of climate change,” he says.
“I seek your support this afternoon to continue that collegiate approach,” he says.
Thanks Sean! Cónal Thomas here folks taking over from my colleague for the next while.
Before the secret ballots commences, TDs take a minute to chat amongst themselves. There’s Tánaiste Simon Coveney speaking with outgoing Labour Party leader Brendan Howlin.
conalt
conalt
20 Feb 2020
12:43PM
So what happens now?
Well, voting takes place using the PR-STV system, so TDs will mark candidates in order of preference. They will vote in the privacy of specially erected polling booths in the voting lobbies just off the Dáil chamber.
Once all members have cast their votes the ballot will conclude and the Dáil will be suspended so the votes can be counted.
The quota is 50% plus one. Theoretically, if all members vote correctly (no spoiled ballots) then the quota is 80. As soon as a candidate has reached this threshold, they are deemed elected.
Once elected, the successful candidate’s name will be announced at the count centre, near the Seanad chamber.
The Dáil resumes and the election of the new Ceann Comhairle is formally put to the house. If 30 members call for a division then a vote must take place, but if there are fewer than this then the candidate is formally elected.
No other Dáil business may be conducted until a Ceann Comhairle is elected.
Still plenty of milling about going on in the Dáil chamber. The voting is about to get underway.
As TDs continue to cast their ballots, can you name the first ever Ceann Comhairle?
That’s right, it was revolutionary leader Cathal Brugha, who served for only one day, presiding over the house’s symbolic first meeting, before leaving the post to become President of Dáil Eireann.
Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin sums up the people’s wishes – “They want action on housing, they want action on health and to alleviate the pressures people are under and they want to deal with the crisis of our generation, climate change.”
Ó Feargháil received 130 votes with Naughten receiving 28 votes.
The Ceann Comhairle is the chair of the Dáil and is expected to observe strict impartiality and keep order in the house.
Whoever is elected to the role is automatically re-elected to the next Dáil.
Ó Feargháil was Ceann Comhairle of the 32nd Dáil and was the first to be elected by secret ballot in 2016. Previously, the government of the day would simply choose who would take up the role.
He was the first Fianna Fáil Ceann Comhairle to be elected since Seámus Kirk who held the post in the 30th Dáil between 2009 and 2011.
Down at Leinster House, TD Richard Boyd Barrett has said that Solidarity-People Before Profit will vote for Mary Lou McDonald for Taoiseach.
“Our view is that there was a political earthquake that happened in this election and that earthquake demanded that there was a break in the cycle of Fianna Fail and Fine Gael rule,” he said.
“We think the only way to give effect to that clear demand of people is to establish a left minority government and the only realistic way of doing that would involve supporting Mary Lou McDonald as Taoiseach and ruling out any deals with Fianna Fail or Fine Gael to form a government.
“On that basis we are going to vote for Mary Lou McDonald as Taoiseach, but we want to make it clear we are not giving her a blank cheque, we are doing this in order to give effect to the demand to break the cycle of Fianna Fail and Fine Gael.
“We hope she will take our support in order to rule out any possible deal with Fianna Fail and Fine Gael.”
Lots of excitement around Leinster House still, the place has never had so many kids running around the place. Lots of selfies and pics being taken by the Proclamation. Debate in the canteen heard about who was more FF with one TD saying their granny goes way back in the party
Fianna Fáil TD Seán Ó Feargháil has been re-elected Ceann Comhairle and dons the robes for another term.
20 Feb 2020
3:24PM
After taking the chair Ó Feargháil gave a brief history of the Ceann Comhairle robes. He told the house that they were once the subject of a Freedom of Information request which found that they were so old that nobody knew who much they cost and they had never been dry cleaned.
20 Feb 2020
3:36PM
Party leaders are now congratulating Ó Feargháil on his reelection. The Green Party’s Eamon Ryan thanked him for being an excellent Ceann Comhairle, noting that he never kicked anyone out during his first term.
Ryan did offer a small bit of criticism, joking that Ó Feargháil has reduced the length of the minute of silence to about 11 seconds.
20 Feb 2020
3:46PM
Leo Varadkar is the final person to congratulate Ó Feargháil. Introducing him, the Ceann Comhairle said: “A bit like the wedding feast of Cana, we now go to the Taoiseach”.
“I didn’t realise the Taoiseach was at the wedding feast of Cana,” Varadkar quipped in response.
20 Feb 2020
3:49PM
Ó Feargháil thanked all the contributors for their kind words, saying he had to pinch himself at one point because he thought he was dead.
We’re now on to nominating people for Taoiseach and Fine Gael’s Bernard Durkan, the oldest member of the house, has nominated Leo Varadkar to continue in the role.
“He has discharged that office in the past with distinction, with honour, with courage,” Durkan said.
Making her maiden address to the Dáil, Fianna Fáil’s Norma Foley said she is “proud beyond measure” to nominate Micheál Martin for Taoiseach.
“If you look fairly at his record you will see that he has already achieved far more positive change than his loudest critics could ever hope to match,” she said.
20 Feb 2020
4:03PM
Martin’s nomination was seconded by the youngest member of the 33rd Dáil. 22-year-old James O’Connor, TD for Cork East.
20 Feb 2020
4:09PM
Sinn Féin’s Pearse Doherty has nominated Mary Lou McDonald for the position of Taoiseach, giving an impassioned speech as gaeilge.
“Nobody in this Dáil can lead this government for change other than Mary Lou McDonald,” he said.
Above all else she is an Irish republican and at this time that is what we need.
“As a republican woman there is no one I admire more than Mary Lou McDonald,” Kerrane said.
“We need change, we need something new, we need Mary Lou.”
20 Feb 2020
4:16PM
The nominations continue with Dublin Fingal TD Joe O’Brien putting Green Party leader Eamon Ryan forward. “Eamon incapsulates a spirit that is essential for the 33rd Dáil if it is to succede,” O’Brien said.
20 Feb 2020
4:30PM
Joan Collins of Independents 4 Change, Mick Barry of Solidarity–People Before Profit, Paul Murphy of RISE and independents Thomas Pringle and Catherine Connolly have told the chamber they will be backing Mary Lou McDonald for Taoiseach.
So the Sinn Féin leader looks set to secure the most votes later today.
20 Feb 2020
4:55PM
The sitting is continuing with a range of politicians having their say on the election and the government formation talks.
Kerry TD Michael Healy-Rae congratulated Sinn Féin on taking the initiative and trying to form a government.
Richard Boyd Barrett confirmed that People Before Profit will also back McDonald.
Róisín Shortall said the Social Democrats would not be backing any of the candidates because it would be “meaningless” to do so without a programme for government agreed upon.
20 Feb 2020
5:20PM
Several more TDs are in line to speak before the Dáil votes on the four nominations for Taoiseach.
Danny Healy-Rae is currently paying tribute to his “army” of volunteers that helped him get reelected.
The story in the local papers was that Fianna Fáil smelled my blood. Well I still have all my blood… they were on the wrong scent.
Fianna Fáil’s John McGuinness said the Dáil should not adjourn for two weeks after today’s sitting. He also said that no party should be left out of the discussion about the future of the country.
Here’s more from our political correspondent Christina Finn in Leinster House:
He says there’s no reason why the House should be adjourned and puts it up to each leader to bring forward ideas for their program for government. He says the members should be involved and debate the issues while the talks go on behind closed doors
Limerick independent Richard O’Donoghue has made a memorable maiden speech in Leinster House.
“How many of ye here have education of life? How many of ye have common sense? I do believe that an ounce of cop-on is better than a stone of brains,” he said.
O’Donoghue also demanded that the next government respects rural Ireland.
20 Feb 2020
5:38PM
Ceann Comhairle Seán Ó Fearghaíl has revealed that there are nine further speakers before voting can take place. He urged the remaining speakers to be mindful that the voting will take some time as well.
We’ll be here for a while yet.
20 Feb 2020
5:46PM
Fianna Fáil’s Jennifer Murnane O’Connor has quoted CS Lewis saying: “There are far, far better things ahead than any we leave behind.”
Hopefully she was talking about this Dáil sitting.
20 Feb 2020
5:54PM
Kerry TD Brendan Griffin has welcomed all the new deputies to the Dáil by noting that many eminent writers have been quoted in the chamber today.
“I’m going to quote Axel Rose,” he said. “Welcome to the jungle.”
20 Feb 2020
6:02PM
The Fine Gael junior minister also hinted that the 33rd Dáil might be a short lived one. “We don’t know whether to put the posters in front of, or behind, the turf shed yet,” he said.
Griffin also referred to an earlier contribution from his fellow Kerry TD Danny Healy-Rae, who said that he had 162 volunteers out canvassing for him on one night during the election campaign. Griffin said he had 163 people out on the same evening.
A busy night in Kerry.
20 Feb 2020
6:20PM
Independent TD for Galway West Noel Grealish says he “will not sit on the fence” this evening and will vote in favour of Fianna Fáil’s Micheál Martin for Taoiseach.
“People want us to get on with it and form a government,” the former Progressive Democrat said.
20 Feb 2020
6:29PM
Independent Waterford TD Matt Shanahan said he will not be supporting any of the four candidates for Taoiseach as a mark of protest over restrictions on cardiac services in the south east.
Fianna Fáil’s Mary Butler was the final speaker ahead of the votes. Varadkar is first up. If, as expected, he is not elected he will travel to Áras an Uachtaráin to tender his resignation.
Deputies are now filing through the lobbies. There’s quite a bit of a backlog in the Níl lobby so the vote on Varadkar for Taoiseach looks set to be comfortably defeated.
20 Feb 2020
7:05PM
The result is:
Tá – 36
Níl – 107
The proposal on Varadkar for Taoiseach has been defeated.
TheJournal.ie‘s political correspondent Christina Finn reports that the Social Democrats abstained from the vote, as did independent TDs Cathal Berry and Pat Shanahan.
Galway East independent Sean Canney backed Varadkar, bringing his number up to 36.
Varadkar will travel to Áras an Uachtaráin to tender his resignation but will remain in place until a new Taoiseach is elected.
Not near enough to see Martin elected. The house will now vote on McDonald.
20 Feb 2020
7:26PM
Meanwhile, away from Taoiseach votes, a new technical parliamentary grouping has been established.
Nine TDs from across the country have agreed to come together to establish ‘The Regional Group’.
the group’s members are: Cathal Berry, Sean Canney, Peter Fitzpatrick, Noel Grealish, Michael Lowry, Verona Murphy, Denis Naughten, Matt Shanahan and Peadar Toibin.
Convener Denis Naughten said:
This group will operate as a technical group in Dáil Eireann for speaking time and the scheduling of parliamentary business.
“The group was established following the decision by Dáil Eireann today to establish a business committee to progress the day-to-day operation of parliamentary business.”
20 Feb 2020
7:34PM
The result of the vote on McDonald for Taoiseach is in:
Tá – 45
Níl – 84
Abstentions – 29
McDonald racked up more votes than her Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael counterparts, who got 41 and 36 respectively.
It still isn’t anywhere near enough to see her elected.
Scenes in Leinster House as we nearly had an accidental Taoiseach. Virgin Media’s Gavan Reilly has the news:
There were about 15 seconds there where Eamon Ryan was accidental Taoiseach - nobody bothered to shout ‘Votáil’ so his nomination was about to head through by acclamation!...
The four defeated nominees will now make contributions. Seán Ó Fearghaíl asked them to be mindful that we are running way over time.
Varadkar is speaking first. When this sitting finishes he will travel to Áras an Uachtaráin to tender his resignation.
20 Feb 2020
8:00PM
Varadkar says he will travel to the White House for the annual St Patrick’s Day visit if no government has been formed by then.
However, he says it will be a shortened trip as the Taoiseach will have to travel back to Europe to attend an important EU Council meeting.
He paid tribute to the ministers who lost their seats in the election but said he knows they will continue to lead their departments with “good grace and competence”.
Micheál Martin dedicated a significant chunk of his remarks to criticising Sinn Féin, accusing the party of glorifying the IRA.
“I see we still live rent free in Micheál Martin’s very narrow and bitter mind,” McDonald said in an equally lengthty and excoriating response.
“I have significant concerns with a leader who sat around a cabinet table with people who were subsequently jailed for corruption,” she added.
20 Feb 2020
8:24PM
So that’s it from the first day of the 33rd Dáil. It was a day that saw 48 new TDs attend Leinster House for the first time, but a new government still looks quite a distance away.
The house will reconvene in early March and the political horse trading will continue in public and behind the scenes.
Check out TheJournal.ie for all the important developments and thanks for following this evening.
Advertisement
Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
Close
72 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Andrew H: but it’s their culture. Their ethnicity allows them to break the laws that the rest of us would be fecked into jail for. When will this stop? When some judges child is injured or worse?? Is that what our judicial system is waiting for??
@Andrew H: Well the guards are investigating – emmm there are numbers plates and cameras on that road any of the cars driving along with people hanging out of them should be at least questioned – that would be a start!
ISPCA shocked and appalled and that’s the last we’ll hear of it! Must be great living with impunity outside the law and completely untouchable, tiz a great country once your not a law abiding citizen!!
@The Risen: It’ll go well with those who voted for them, because it’s the FF and FG mandate to not go into government with SF.
But you keep going on with your will of the people shite,
Oh and absolute disgrace that the comments are closed on the sulky race. They do not deserve any less judgement from your users just because its their culture!
Extremely demoralising to watch the coverage of this and the antics of the Healy Rae’s and that clown from Limerick. They should get in to Dail and get on with the job. The election happened almost 2 weeks ago and there has been no progress on govt formation. This country is a joke !!!
@Neil McAuley: That “clown” from Limerick is one of the hardest working politicians in the country which is why we elected him. As for the car, he is a member of a vintage car club and thought it would be a nice way to represent them. Lighten up a bit
@Tadhg Keating: how do u know how hard other politicians throughout the country work? I notice the people of Limerick County returned an FF, FG and a former FF politician Pretty uninspiring stuff.
@Neil McAuley: Thankful Richard saw of the Moon landing Denying Sinn Fein candidate in the final Count. That Vintage Car club raises money for Local Charities In Limerick so what harm if he used today to promote it a little, A very worthy cause.
@Neil McAuley: Damn right Neil, there’s only a few combinations that work.
The Oscars are over, the results are in, get back to work ye shower of wasters!
@Paul Furey: am feeling quite relaxed actually thanks. Most people would agree with my sentiments and that’s certainly the case on here, as evidenced by numerous comments that have been posted. cheers.
In other news I’ve just painted the outside of my house. As the weather is so damp it’s going to take hours to dry. Enjoy. https://youtu.be/PLOPygVcaVE
Thanks.
That reada cronin should be removed from the dail aling with a few others who should not be there. If our country hasnt gone down the pan it will now with sinn fein
@Paul Furey: I’ll tell ya something, those of a non SF persuasion that voted for her in protest at fffg may have decided differently where there 1 or 2 went if these tweets were publicised during the campaign.
Is it not all a bit farcical? Get in and make a government and fix the legacy problems that are health and homelessness. American cars and accordions are ya for real?
What a waste of time! Why don’t they just get on with electing a Taoiseach? None of their speeches make a blind bit of difference to how TDs are going to vote
The business in hand is the election of a Taoiseach. The Social Democrats will not be supporting any candidate because we believe it is meaningless for us to do so in the absence of a negotiated and agreed programme for Government. We are very clear and have said over the past week that this is not a personality or popularity contest. It has to be about the policies that respond to what the public has said to us in the past week. It is about having an agreed policy platform that will lead to a programme for Government.
Unable to post links, but that was taken from the Oireachtas’ Site, which was Deputy Shorthall’s Statement.
@UCC Social Democrats Society: Your party should climb down off of the fence and make a stand one way or another. Just sitting on your hands as you try to figure out which way the wind is blowing and where you might get more cabinet positions is just wrong. Have some principles and stand for something FFS!!
FF and SF plus Greens vote for Eamon Ryan for Taoiseach and let them form a Government.
FF can say it was formed by the Greens.
Then we can say it’s change
The barbarians never take a city until someone opens the gates for them. In this case it’s people voting for the populists – just look at two of the recent examples of the kind of language coming from these people. Depressing.
Almost 22,000 international protection cases pending at end of 2023, despite drop in applications
3 hrs ago
Washington DC
In pictures: The second inauguration of US President Donald Trump
4 hrs ago
Wicklow
Man killed in stabbing near playground in Bray named locally as Willie Moorehouse
Updated
11 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 138 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 94 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 123 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 93 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 68 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 67 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 33 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 29 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 115 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 56 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 67 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 74 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 33 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 39 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 23 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 77 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 87 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 64 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 46 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 75 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 54 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say