Skip to content
Support Us

We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Malta's Prime Minister Robert Abela Xinhua News Agency/PA Images

Maltese Prime Minister says he is under investigation following death of five migrants

Five people died and seven others went missing while their boat was in distress off Malta’s coast this week.

MALTA’S PRIME MINISTER Robert Abela says he is under investigation for his role in the death of at least five migrants who tried to sail from Libya to Italy.

Monitors of Mediterranean crossings said five people died and seven others went missing while their boat was in distress off Malta’s coast this week.

The boat was reportedly carrying around 55 people. It eventually returned to Libya under disputed circumstances after being spotted by a fishing boat.

On Thursday, Malta’s Repubblika civil rights organisation filed two police reports alleging criminal inaction on the part of Abela and Maltese armed forces commander Jeffrey Curmi.

Its second report was filed against 11 crew members of a Maltese patrol boat who allegedly cut the cables of the migrant dinghy’s motor.

The prime minister said in a television address last night that he had volunteered to cooperate with the police investigation.

“I was informed that, because of the nature of the accusations, the police have asked a magistrate to launch an enquiry into the armed forces officials and myself,” Abela said.

Investigators would probe “the homicide … of several irregular migrants at sea”, he added.

“The charge for homicide carries with it a life sentence,” the Maltese premier said.

Maltese police reports are automatically investigated. Criminal proceedings can then be launched depending on how much evidence is found.

Both Malta and Italy have closed their ports to migrants, citing the threat of the novel coronavirus.

The Mediterranean representative of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) said “several grey areas remain about what exactly happened”.

“But for sure, lives could have been saved, the rescue should not have been delayed, those ‘rescued’ should not have been returned to #Libya & now need to be rescued from serious risks to their life,” UNHCR special envoy Vincent Cochetel tweeted.

Abela said he had acted in Malta’s national interest by protecting its citizens from the coronavirus pandemic.

“My conscience is clear because we have done everything in our power to protect our people and all those who live in this country,” he said.

Abela insisted that Maltese ports would remain closed until the pandemic subsides.

“In a health emergency, this country is not a safe port for migrants,” he said.

© – AFP 2020

Author
View 27 comments
Close
27 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Simon McGrath
    Favourite Simon McGrath
    Feb 7th 2013, 3:59 PM

I am sick to my teeth with these spineless full of crap politicians. Why as a people are we not rising up against this governments actions??. We are the whipping boys of Europe just like we were the whipping boys of the Brits for 800 years. This disgusts me to the bone.

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:09 PM

€1bn less austerity every year disgusts you?

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:12 PM

You write well for an 800 year-old man and that is not taking into account that you were being whipped for the entire period.

See 10 more replies ▾
    Mute Simon McGrath
    Favourite Simon McGrath
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:13 PM

Higgins go away it’s you and ur lot I want to kick off this island!!!

If you studied or even understood economics you would know this is a bad deal for everyone on this island now and in the future.

Your party is full of lies has no back bone and has done nothing for the ordinary working class.

Now please go away

Mute Simon McGrath
    Favourite Simon McGrath
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:15 PM

All in a days work fella

Paul
    Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:15 PM

Is it not €2bn less p.a.?

Mute Julie
    Favourite Julie
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:17 PM

What disgust me David was the balmy any corruption that to played out in front of my eyes last night to make and illegal debt legal and the fact that everyone is saying we got this good deal but yet austerity will still be heaped on the people. This government have managed to double this debt and make it sovereign, well done. Illegal ,private banking debt

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:36 PM

Saturday join in the protest in Dublin or Galway me show this government and future governments what we are made of come out and show your support come out and let them know we are not taking Their Lies and contempt anymore SATURDAY 9th Feb which is the day after tomorrow

Mute Paddy Murray
    Favourite Paddy Murray
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:59 PM

Rising up. Meaning what? Get guns and shoot people? I have read some hysterical nonsensical childish sh!te on this site in recent days. But congratulations Simon. You win the prize. It’s a brain!

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Feb 7th 2013, 5:05 PM

Where in galway will the protest be?? I might call in with my logical friends and counter protest… drive the so called ‘protestors’ off the streets…

Mute Julie
    Favourite Julie
    Feb 7th 2013, 5:16 PM

Is there protest in cork also ?

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Feb 7th 2013, 7:03 PM

@Jilie ……..Yes there is a protest in Cork also

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sean O'Sullivan
    Feb 7th 2013, 7:11 PM

Paul…surely you realise this is a bad deal…….for the journal naysayers who cannot see anything positive in anything and just get off on bad news.

Mute Elaine Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Elaine Fitzpatrick
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:11 PM

Maybe it’s just me but it seems the Government are patting themselves on the back that Anglo is no more … The debt is still there and it may increase with interest,, they turned a promissory note into a state debt maybe someone can explained to me What have they to gloat about??

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:18 PM

That they are still on his wages,perks and pensions. While you and I and our children and your grandchildren are fcuked

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:21 PM

Elaine. The debt has more than doubled, yet you find people coming on here to celebrate a billion less per year on austerity measures. Where’s yer man Varadkar today? There’s not a word out of him. “Not one more cent” I’m only realising now what he meant by that statement.6400 billion more cents Leo. Is that what you were trying to say back in 2011?

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:33 PM

They’ve swept something nasty under our carpet and they’re getting away with it.
    Between now and the next election we’ll see all sorts of “funding” being rolled out with claims it’s all down to this “deal”.
    The memory of Anglo will dim and there’s plenty of time to put a nice spin on the whole saga.
    Some of them can even smell re-election, you can see the relief on their faces.

Mute Shayne O'Donoghue
    Favourite Shayne O'Donoghue
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:54 PM

It’s now €60 Billion.

Mute David Hynes
    Favourite David Hynes
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:00 PM

“oh what a difference a days makes……24 little hours” I’m sound for my kids and grandkids to pay for this generations mistake. short term gain but long term pain

Mute David Hynes
    Favourite David Hynes
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:39 PM

having some empathy for the government they couldn’t have done anything else but what they did….but it galls me that bond holders didn’t lose a cent

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:04 PM

I’m so mad I think I will write a strongly worded letter.

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    Feb 7th 2013, 7:09 PM

Michael Noonan is to be congratulated on an excellent deal negotiated. It’s a good day for New Ireland. Liquidating Anglo was a good move. FF should have done it some years ago.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Feb 7th 2013, 11:27 PM

It’s a marginally better day today for anyone over 40. It may be okay for New Ireland as you call it, but it is a very bad day for Future Ireland.

We have certainly lumbered the future generation with our debts and in the New Ireland of self interest and self protection, it is a moderately good deal.

If you can ignore the morality and fairness aspect, ignore foisting this on the next two generations, and be happy that the Promissory Notes were absolutely legally secure and would never have been partly written down, then we have bought the present at the expense of the future.

Mute Billy Treacy
    Favourite Billy Treacy
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:40 PM

Is there anything to said for saying a mass!

Mute Nick Hill
    Favourite Nick Hill
    Feb 7th 2013, 6:43 PM

Why do the disgruntled, uneducated and hate-filled comments always get the most likes? Some people’s reasoning is just scary. Welcome to Ireland – we like to give out about everything!

Mute Peter Richardson
    Feb 7th 2013, 11:18 PM

Anything to say on the article or is this just an admonition for those of us who fail to see how wonderful everything is?

Mute Nick Hill
    Favourite Nick Hill
    Feb 8th 2013, 12:02 AM

An educated rebuttal? A rarity of worth. Good man Peter. I have one question – if today’s news is such a cataclysmic political blunder, why have so many political parties being pushing so adamantly for it?

Mute fergus
    Favourite fergus
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:16 PM

They ll only ask the last person to leave Ireland to turn off the lights

Mute John O'Brien
    Favourite John O'Brien
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:27 PM

The ESB no wait, is it the ECB, anyhow the lights will have been disconnected well before then!

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Feb 7th 2013, 5:22 PM

But we’ve left the immersion on.

Mute Lee Jordan
    Favourite Lee Jordan
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:16 PM

Well at least when we do come to pay it the economy will have grown and it in real terms will not be as big!

Mute MichaelJohnFurey
    Favourite MichaelJohnFurey
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:43 PM

Folks
    Buy bank shares now while they are on the floor
    Things can only get better!

Mute Doreen Strydom
    Favourite Doreen Strydom
    Feb 7th 2013, 9:47 PM

Lets all be realistic. There never was going to be a write down of the debt. I think under the circumstances this is the best deal they could get. Sure, there is still the interest to be paid every year, but nobody seems to be thinking of the money saved. That’s 2 billion that can be used otherwise. To hire nurses etc. To be put back into the economy. To help badly needed growth in the country.
    Nobody can look 40 years into the future. Who knows what will be?
    If you work on an inflation rate of 2% then the 30 billion will be worth about 53 billion in 30 years time, 66 in 40 years. This is effectively halving the debt by the standards of that time. Not a bad deal, given the fact that the country had time to grow and prosper.
    Maybe people need to stop only seeing the negative and start concentrating on the positives of a situation.

Mute Janine Torell Galvin
    Favourite Janine Torell Galvin
    Feb 7th 2013, 6:30 PM

Michael Noonan sounds like Hannibal Lecter

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:44 PM

Wafflers

Mute Mick Costello
    Favourite Mick Costello
    Feb 7th 2013, 7:11 PM

Lookin fwd to readin my 5 and 2 yr olds their bedtime stories now about how their children and their grandchildren will be paying debts caused by greedy shower of f#%ker$ .people talk about being proud to be Irish ! Why ??? A corrupt country ran by thieves and crooks

Mute Mike Walshe
    Favourite Mike Walshe
    Feb 7th 2013, 5:02 PM

Does this mean I won’t have to cancel my Sky sports sub .? No wait …that’s the Household tax ..sheet!

Mute Emmet McCarron
    Favourite Emmet McCarron
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:50 PM

noonan = neamhinniúil

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Feb 7th 2013, 5:06 PM

Mr Noonan cares what you think I am sure..

Mute Dancing Priest
    Favourite Dancing Priest
    Feb 7th 2013, 8:10 PM

Maybe…just maybe it is a good deal! Why do so many people think Europe are out to get us, and we’re all half wits…this is economics and not lads agreeing a deal for a dog in a pub. Have faith and get on living your life, it’s not that bad I bet !

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:09 PM

I could not play this. Is it working?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:12 PM

Hi Patrick, the press conference has been delayed. It’s due to kick off shortly and the live stream should start working then.

Mute Julie
    Favourite Julie
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:18 PM

It’s working now

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Feb 7th 2013, 4:19 PM

Thanks Christine.

Mute Barry O'Driscoll
    Favourite Barry O'Driscoll
    Feb 7th 2013, 10:34 PM

Too many naysayers in this country,this was the best deal this government could have got,it’s a much cheaper option than the promissory notes..a debt write was never on the cards,& it was FF that got us into this situation on the first place,so some credit where credit is due for getting this deal..

Mute Bob Frapples
    Favourite Bob Frapples
    Feb 7th 2013, 9:18 PM

Everyone is missing the main talking point of this article……Noonan describes how he bought his house in Limerick in 1068?!?!

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Feb 8th 2013, 3:06 AM

Whatever you want to say about him, he looks well for a man who has to be pushing 1000!

Mute Phillip O Brien
    Favourite Phillip O Brien
    Feb 7th 2013, 8:35 PM

The only way ireland will be a better place is for people to over throw the government. 1 problem with that is we are a civilised country who bitch and moan but do sheg all about it. If it honest to god bothered people that much then someone would have done something about it

Mute Ciaran McClelland
    Favourite Ciaran McClelland
    Feb 8th 2013, 11:16 PM

This deal is an utter disgrace. The private debt of the crooks at Anglo/ Nationwide etc has now officially become sovereign debt. To sweeten the pill for ourselves, we’ve passed it on to the next two generations. There is no cause for celebration here. Yet another sell out of the Irish people by our so-called representatives.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Feb 7th 2013, 11:13 PM

Ahhh, the chuckle brothers! Don’t you love them.

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a comment

cancel reply
JournalTv
News in 60 seconds