Skip to content
Support Us

We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Pictures: Crowds take to the streets for pro-choice march

The march, organised by the Abortion Rights Campaign, was held to call for free and safe legal abortion for women in Ireland — coinciding with a global ‘day of action’.

OVER A THOUSAND pro-choice campaigners took to the streets of Dublin today to call for a liberalisation of the country’s abortion laws.

Members of the Abortion Rights Campaign (ARC), Catholics for Choice and numerous other groups marched from the Garden of Remembrance to Merrion Square.

An estimated 1,200 people took part. Crowds began gathering at the Garden of Remembrance at around 1.30pm, and the event finished up at around 4.15pm.

It was organised as part of the “Global Day of Action for access to free and safe legal abortion”.

[All photos: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland]

Read: Pro-choice marchers will call for referendum >

Also: Abortion laws may not commence until next year >

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Close
575 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:20 PM

This government is finished, stick a fork in them.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:27 PM

Dont forget FF are in power currently also. they could have brought govt down but their party interests always first

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas

A pitchfork

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:30 PM

Somebody better make sure the Taoiseach knows about the announcement!!!

Mute Scarlett Milton
    Favourite Scarlett Milton
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:38 PM

@John Smith: Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:46 PM

@John Smith: and after the next election if the polls are to go by we’ll have FF back in power. Yippeeeeeeeeeeeeee great choice …………………… NOT

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:40 PM

@John Smith: Unfortunately it won’t be. there’ll be a tribunal lasting 15 years, no conclusions and everyone keeps their job. That’s the way it’s always been. No reason to think there’ll be a change

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:22 PM

Anne Marie that is why O’Sullivan should be forced out now. The politicians involved will be resigned to the back benches in a few months but she could go on in her job for years.

Mute Jed I. Knight
    Favourite Jed I. Knight
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:35 PM

A number of people ‘vehemently’ deny that the earth is round and insist it’s flat, nobody else believes those fools either…

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:43 PM

@Jed I. Knight: I don’t believe the vehement deniers. How could anyone admit to such misconduct.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:44 PM

The Bart Simpson defences will get a lot of use.

Mute conriel
    Favourite conriel
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:53 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin:
    Fully agree, and if by some chance if there’s is a conclusion, Morris here”s a cheque and to those who caused the problem, fortunately their covered under legislation so they”ll get their full entitlement, index linked pension and golden handshake, and we wait until it all starts all over again.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:02 PM

I’m hopeful that the Tribunal will give Sergeant McCabe long awaited vindication and show Callinan and O’Sullivan for what they really are. That alone will be beneficial.

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:13 PM

Now is the time for any other guard with information on this to step forward. You will never have a better time to do it.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:14 PM

@Joe Travers: as long as within the Terms of Reference.

Mute Skip Goose
    Favourite Skip Goose
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:16 PM

Relax there Tony, take a breath, we get it. You don’t have to comment on every comment on this article

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:22 PM

@Skip Goose: awfully kind of you.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:28 PM

@Tony Daly: You can add Paul Williams to that list. What a liar, right up there with O’Sullivan and Callinan, he is embroiled in this, he should be investigated and behind bars, a proper grade A gutter journalist.

Mute The Edge
    Favourite The Edge
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:43 PM

They’ve only said that they are setup an inquiry. That means very little until a Judge is assigned to led it.

And now we hear Judge Charleton may not be able to chair inquiry, you just cannot make this BS up

D H
    Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:44 PM

Another waste of taxpayer money… A tribunal with no legal ramifications or accountability at the end of it. This country is a joke.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:55 PM

Enda couldn’t even give the same story in the dail today. He gave completely different answers to Martin than he did to Paul Murphy about the same question.. unbelievable .
    https://mobile.twitter.com/gavreilly/status/831521106221740033

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:02 PM

@watersedge: indeed. Paul Williams was one of the tools used.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:20 PM

@Jane. I would go one further. Kenny, Fitzgerald and zappone to go. Just ask yourself where Michael Lowry is now.

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:00 PM

Name a successful tribunal. Fodder for lawyers

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:20 PM

Why is Enda Kenny wearing an earpiece in the Dail? Who is speaking into his ear? Garda HQ?

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:31 PM

You maybe correct but I think they are enjoying having FG like a pig slowly cooking on a spit in fact I’m rather enjoying the party of law and order being dismantled

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 9:59 PM

@Rory: McCracken Tribunal.

RMcG
    Mute RMcG
    Favourite RMcG
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:20 PM

Yet another tribunal, which will cost god knows what and with no prosecutorial power

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:23 PM

@RMcG: Exposure of the truth and the opprobrium of the public are powerful.

RMcG
    Mute RMcG
    Favourite RMcG

@Tony Daly: agreed but for all the money spent on tribunals in Ireland, I’d like to actually see some of them jailed and pay the price for their actions.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:32 PM

@RMcG: Ohhh, same here, I feel exactly the same but the forensic evidence for as criminal trial is long gone.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE

@RMcG: that surely lands squarely on this government.. where is Moriarty? Whats taking DPP so long ? Why no push from the government on that?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:40 PM

@LITTLEONE: DOB.

Mute harry barry
    Favourite harry barry
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:42 PM

shinnerbot fake outrage is very amusing to say the least

Mute GCLPhD
    Favourite GCLPhD
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:43 PM

@Littleone, why is there silence from everybody on Moriarty ? You’d expect it from the bought and paid for fg and ff but what about the rest ?

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE

@GCLPhD: there hasn’t been silence from everyone else. It was brought up time and again in the dail by TDs.. especially considering the statue of limitations was running down..

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:17 PM

‘Smear campaign by Senior Gardai’ ….only!?!??!?!?!?!!?!?!?! There has obviously been political interference also with state agencies & possibly media also

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:21 PM

@Nigel O’Neill: exactly.

Who directed Callinan, O’Sullivan, HSE, TUSLA and parts of the media?

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:33 PM

@RMcG: That’s because a Tribunal is largely about ascertaining the facts. Using this system you can compel people to provide information. You cannot have a prosecutorial Tribunal. Without knowing the facts what would they be prosecuting and whom? Prosecutions follow evidence. Based on the evidence you decide to prosecute someone or some group of someones assuming of course that you believe that the criminal law has actually been broken. To do so you must believe you can prove your case beyond any reasonable doubt. At the moment we have facts all over the place and contradictions in evidence. So a Tribunal is probably a necessary move if the terms of reference are not set so broadly that it carries on for the next ten years. A narrow and focused terms of reference and just get on with it. There will be high fives in the Law Library tonight.

Finally, prosecutions can only take place in the Criminal Courts and not before Tribunals.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:46 PM

@John R: an excellent explanation. Tribunals are inquisitorial processes.

Criminal trials are adversarial highly specific.

D H
    Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:48 PM

@harry barry…if you are not outraged at this then you are a big part of the problem in this country which is too many idiots accept corruption by the political elite, some even defend it

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:38 PM

@RMcG: Not only does it not have the power to prosecute, it taints any evidence presented to it by rendering it inadmissible in a proper criminal trial.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 9:59 PM

@Tom Sullivan: legally incorrect.

Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:18 PM

Turning 40 this year, should have another few decades left in me, I genuinely hope I live to see ff/fg being being a bad memory

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:44 PM

This fake account is just expressing its tiredness on every comment. Surely the journal will delete this troll?

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:24 PM

What powers will it have? Extremely limited…Kenny and Martin meeting this morning to cobble together some plan to keep the circus on the road..we are not going to get satisfaction from this public enquiry as it’s being controlled by a corrupt regime.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly

@Tony Skillington: Commissioner O’Sullivan is already fully lawyered up and at the expense of the public purse. She has an unlimited budget.

Sergeant McCabe a father of 5 will have to try to find the money unless the State will voluntarily fund him.

Mute Dave Sherman
    Favourite Dave Sherman
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:48 PM

Gofund.?lots of people should support McCabe financially.

See 7 more replies ▾
    Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:55 PM

@Dave Sherman: thank you. Excellent idea. I would be willing to contribute.

Mute Lord Clanricarde
    Favourite Lord Clanricarde
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:00 PM

@Tony Daly: Any solicitor or barrister worth their salt will be queuing up to represent McCabe. Hes in for an a all expenses paid, huge payout, seven figures!! This wont be stopped here othetwise. If Government/commisioner attempt to do so, this will go to Europe!

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:03 PM

@Lord Clanricarde: His team legal is already selected but the legal costs are massive and need to be paid on a periodic basis.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:36 PM

@Tony Skillington: “What powers will it have? Extremely limited” It will have the same powers as the High Court? Is that not sufficient? But this is a fact finding exercise and not a criminal prosecution. And the Terms of Reference need to be narrowly construed and focused. So many Tribunals have run on for years because the Terms of Reference were too broad and changed once or more frequently during the course of the Tribunal. So focus on what we all want to know and keep it at that.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:47 PM

@John R: Tribunals are invested with the powers of the High Cointreau under the 1921 Act, as amended.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:52 PM

@Tony Daly: High Court.

Mute John Wilson
    Favourite John Wilson
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:39 PM

@Dave Sherman: Dave, you are a very decent person to make that suggestion, I will let him know, the state will cover all of his costs.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:26 PM

So now a public tribunal forestalls any how of a criminal investigation, protects NOS in her roll as commissioner and puts a block on any further media or commentary on this issue. See ye all in 5/6 yet as and another €40 million later.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:28 PM

@M Bowe: NOS would have been able to bobble any criminal investigation anyway.

This is the best of a bad outcome

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly

“bobble” should be “nobble”.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:56 PM

While all the parties are getting on the bandwagon now, only for Mick Wallace and Claire Daly, Maurice McCabe would never have got a hearing. What a squalid incestuous cess pool of guards, press and politicians this country is.
    Even at this stage the govt has been dragged kicking and screaming just to the point of acknowledging that there is a problem, when the dogs in the street know this for over 10 years !

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:08 PM

@Patrick James Walsh: That is more than fair comment.

Wallace and Daly made targets of themselves.

Mute Finn Bowe
    Favourite Finn Bowe
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:19 PM

I wonder what remit /power the public inquiry will have?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:24 PM

@Finn Bowe: Hopefully narrow and focused and along the lines sought by Sergeant McCabe

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:39 PM

@Finn Bowe: The same remit the other tribunals/thinly-veiled coverups have had in the past.

Mute Enda Kennny
    Favourite Enda Kennny
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:50 PM

any idea if Paul Williams ever issued an apology about his role in all this?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:59 PM

@Enda Kennny: He attacked Sergeant MCabe yesterday for not accepting the HSE apology.

Paul Williams is still hard at work trying to find dirt on Sergeant McCabe, all of course motivated by pure public interest.

Mute Enda Kennny
    Favourite Enda Kennny
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:25 PM

@Tony Daly: ha ha of course he is.

See 3 more replies ▾
    Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:35 PM

@Enda Kennny: Williams is after all de “tugs”

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:14 PM

Will Paul Williams be doing an “special investigative report” on his role in this.. complete with sinister music every time his face is shown?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:56 PM

@James: he wants to play a stool pigeon.

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray

It’s not a matter of this government (and believe me I have absolutely no time for FG). The public need to realise that it’s all a game of musical chairs in how this country is run, with the music supplied by an endless stream of soundbites attacking or defending this organisation, that policy, this institution, that minister, this TD, etc. Since this keeps happening and the responsible keep weaseling out of it all, what does that say about the Irish public……we are the real asses. At least the TD/Senator gombeens are committed full time to self-advancement and bringing about the kind of society, economy and environment they will prosper in. We don’t get into 2nd gear.

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:54 PM

@David A. Murray: Spot on, at least half of the Irish public accept corruption are a normal and accepted part of being governed by the civil war parties. How else can you explain FF/FG still having 50% of the vote between them according to the latest polls. Shame on anybody who continues to Vote FF/FG, your grandchildren/great grandchildren will have to live with the consequences!

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:56 PM

@Super Ted: FF and FG will look after you if you are inside the tent.

See 4 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:23 PM

Don’t forget Liebour they are as much to blame the weasels.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R

@David A. Murray: People use the term corruption too loosely on this site. So loosely it has become meaningless. Everything is not about corruption. A great deal is simply about the absence of values and ethics and organisations with cultures which are out of step with the times. Such an absence can lead to behavior which is not grounded in any moral vision or values. And such behavior is inevitably damaging to society. An Garda Siochána has become such an organisation and there is now a need for a new organisation to be created which focuses entirely on good policing aligned with good values and open communication. The national security function should be separated from the policing function and put in a separate agency along with military intelligence. The national security and policing mindsets are not good bed fellows.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:55 PM

@John R: corruption has a wide and political sense where legal, political and government powers are used for ulterior and dishonest purposes. It is not just about bribery.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:18 PM

Tony,John,
    It really depends how you define corruption.
    Corruption in Ireland is more about favours and who you know than cash. It is embedded in all our public services.

Who hasn’t heard a story about someone getting stopped after a few drinks, dropping the sargents name and getting off scott free. This is not only common but expected in rural ireland by those with the right contacts.

The pub the guards drink in being allowed break closing time laws.

Minor Crimes commited by someone from a “good family” going no further after a chat with the superintendant.
    The problem in this country is everyone wants strict rules which are applied rigidly except to themselves.

Even ming got some penalty points quashed ffs.

Mute Blue MARIGOLD
    Favourite Blue MARIGOLD
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:27 PM

Listening to that dirty excrement Kenny and his filthy lies is an abomination

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:31 PM

@Blue MARIGOLD: it is disgusting, isn’t it?

Mute Emmet O'Keeffe
    Favourite Emmet O'Keeffe
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:44 PM

Mick Wallace introducing some realism here. When you hear the litany of abuses of power within the system going back through the years it really is shocking.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:59 PM

@Emmet O’Keeffe: Yes, he is accurately setting the context and background.

Only a foolish knave would deny the existence and reality of a smear campaign.

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:26 PM

What will the terms of reference be? Are we only dealing with this latest scandal or will it also include Callinan and Shatter scandal too?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:28 PM

@Les Behan: Callinan and Shatter are part of this scandal

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:33 PM

@Tony Daly: I know Tony but knowing this shower as well as we do it’s not beyond the realms of possibility for Callinan/Shatter’s part to be excluded in the terms of reference. Fine Gael will claim that is a separate issue, when as you just pointed out it is not.

See 5 more replies ▾
    Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:35 PM

@Les Behan: It stated on Callinan’s watch and when the current Commissioner was his facilitator. Its all part of the same story of nearly 10 years of victimising a decent and noble fellow.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:36 PM

@Les Behan: I wish that you were wrong but sadly you are right to be sceptical.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:38 PM

@Les Behan: The surest way to achieve nothing is to extend the Tribunal of Enquiry to anything and everything. Shatter has been investigated every which way and has largely been exonerated. Focus the Tribunal on what we really wish to know or you’ll end up with another 10 years investigation costing a €100 million.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:53 PM

@John R: we need to know who was behind the smear campaign at a political level.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:45 PM

@John R: Its a catch 22. Restrict the scope and the report is incomplete, don’t restrict the scope and the whole lot comes out. It will last 50 years. There should be no tribunal. Just don’t vote any more

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:43 PM

It seems the Soc Dems motion due to be voted on this week forced the government to pull the finger out and agree to a public inquiry. My main concerns now is the lack of a criminal inquiry and the fact that whoever planned this against McCabe has been given far too much time to hide their tracks. An independent anti corruption agency is badly needed to protect future and current whistleblowers

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:53 PM

@Kevin Higgins: I agree that it was the Social Democrats in combination with Sergeant McCabe which brought this about.

The opportunity for a criminal prosecution was lost a long time ago.

We certainly need a permanently sitting anti corruption agency. Until then, Sergeant McCabe is the best that we have but he needs a big legal team and they need to be paid as they go.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:00 PM

McCabe has had legal representation throughout this debacle. Unsure who is paying for it but if he decides to sue for damages we should all crowd fund that legal challenge.

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:06 PM

@Kevin Higgins: It is the costs if representation before the Tribunal which will be prohibitively expensive and a possible deterrent.

Contingency fees can address the other aspects.

Mute Markonline
    Favourite Markonline
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:50 PM

@Kevin Higgins: The trouble kevin is that we will also have to crowd fund the damages via taxation. Soo peeed off with the entire system at this stage, can nobody tell paddy the real story.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:37 PM

Why can’t Sergeant McCabe’s 6 questions be answered up front?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 15th 2017, 1:00 AM

@Tony Daly: If they were answered at all then the prize would be a general election?

Mute Niall Fish Bradley
    Favourite Niall Fish Bradley
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:42 PM

Corruption runs this country & The media have been sitting on this for several months.. it would make you wonder what else has gone uninvestigated & unreported

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:13 PM

Public enquiries on this country have proved to be useless as nobody ever held accountable . It’s a criminal enquiry that should be instigated and the Garda Commissioner removed

Mute Phil Swan
    Favourite Phil Swan
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:26 PM

Tribunal? Another 100 million to the solicitors for something we already know. It’ll be finished in 10 years when no one remembers it anymore. Whole thing kicked in to touch and no one held accountable.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:42 PM

@Phil Swan: This is a more focused Tribunal. If Governments answered questions truthfully and fully there would be no need for Tribunals.

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:51 PM

It’s bad when I find myself agreeing with Mick Wallace but he’s right that a criminal investigation is required immediately with outside resources.

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:36 PM

I realise that this tribunal will take a great deal of time to complete it’s work. but I have to wonder, what are the chances that the conclusions will be that mistakes were made, there were a number of errors, some systemic and procedural failures, but no evidence of actual wrongdoing by anyone! Followed by an undertaking and commitment that nothing like this will be allowed to happen ever again!

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly

@David Van-Standen: that’s the usual format of Report but the issues are far too stark here.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:39 PM

Taoiseach having problems with truth issues.

The man with the 2 pints needs to be found.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:29 PM

The champagne corks will be popping in Chambers.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:34 PM

The Taoiseach is truly doing his absolute level best to look after the Commissioner.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:28 PM

Taoiseach quoting vehement denials by some of the existence of a smear campaign.

Very, very defensive comments from An Taoiseach.

He is now doing his level best for Commissioner O’Sullivan.

Mute Donal Coakley
    Favourite Donal Coakley
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:17 PM

3 things we love in ireland 1. Tayto 2. A good ham 3. A tribunal

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:06 PM

Comment line closed because we’re afraid of Pat Hickey.

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:53 PM

Nothing will change until we start to imprison government officials for the lies and corruptions that is at the root of our problems.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:56 PM

@B9xiRspG: 1937-1948 Fianna Fáil
    1948-1951 Fine Gael
    1951-1954 Fianna Fáil
    1954-1957 Fine Gael
    1957-1973 Fianna Fáil
    1973-1977 Fine Gael
    1977-1981 Fianna Fáil
    1981-1982 Fine Gael
    1982-Nov 1982 Fianna Fáil
    1982-1987 Fine Gael
    1987-1992 Fianna Fáil
    1992-1997 Fine Gael
    1997-2002 Fianna Fáil
    2002-2007 Fianna Fáil
    2007-2011 Fianna Fáil
    2011-2016 Fine Gael
    2016-DATE Fine Gael
    This is what’s wrong with the country. Unless this changes nothing will.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:05 PM

@Dave Doyle: it means that in effect, there is no choice and therefore no real democracy.

That is a rather vivid list.

Mute David Dickenson
    Favourite David Dickenson
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:49 PM

Another stupid Claire Byrne poll.

Mute Carmel O Reilly
    Favourite Carmel O Reilly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:26 PM

Another tribunal, costing millions of tax payers money, some judge will decide there’s nothing untoward after happening, and if he finds it hakim quite sure his hands will be tied so noone will be held accountable for destroying this man and his families lives and reputation… Sgt McCabe and his family deserve better

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:48 PM

@Carmel O Reilly: Yes they deserve far , far better but this is all that can be got.

Vindication is on the way.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:33 PM

@Tony Daly: It is all we will get if we don’t demand more. Accepting a tribunal is tantamount to accepting the rank corruption and dishonesty at the heart of our government, police force and state agencies. A tribunal is not acceptable. Criminal prosecution is in order.

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:43 PM

Enda Kenny is getting the answers through a hearing peace connected to “phone” maybe or some other device.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:55 PM

@Declan Carr: is the muppet a puppet or a dummy?

Mute Podge
    Favourite Podge
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:31 PM

a quote from history for Enda: “You have sat too long here for any good you have been doing. Depart, I say, and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go.”

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:22 PM

At last!

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:32 PM

@Tony Daly: A tribunal means that those who have engaged in malfeasance and slander will go unpunished, as any evidence they give at a tribunal is inadmissible in any subsequent criminal trial.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 10:03 PM

@Tom Sullivan: but the evidence is identified and can be separately used if there is a criminal prosecution.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly

I ask people here to lobby their TDS to ensure that the legal costs of Sergeant McCabe are met up front.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:59 PM

Kenny and O’Sullivan have a lot of explaining to do.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:35 PM

Can someone ask the government especially journalists, will they act different with this tribunal unlike Moriarty where we are still waiting for anything to happen .. the last thing the mc cabes need is DPP taking years on the findings of the tribunal and government being silent on the delay..

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:39 PM

@LITTLEONE: Well said but if Sergeant McCabe can at least expose the truth that will be something, however inadequate.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:01 PM

The demarcation between the public inquiry and the HIQA investigation may be extremely awkward to administer.

Mute harry barry
    Favourite harry barry
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:05 PM

@Tony Daly: you are spamming hard shinnerbot

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:07 PM

@harry barry: Thanks DOB.

See 3 more replies ▾
    Mute harry barry
    Favourite harry barry
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:11 PM

@Tony Daly: hilarious lol

Mute Em Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Em Ni Mhurchu
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:57 PM

Oh look, @harry barry is still channelling his innershit!

Mute Bull Spite
    Favourite Bull Spite
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:34 PM

@harry barry: How dare you question the Shinners. Don’t you know they are always right – even when it comes to supporting the killers of Jerry McCabe!

These guys don’t get irony!

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:15 PM

It will cost millions and, well, you know the rest.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:32 PM

@Beachmaster: for Commmissioner Noirin O’Sullivan

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:43 PM

Commissioner O’Sullivan will be helping the Tribunal with its inquiries.

How cooperative will she be?

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:35 PM

@Tony Daly: Probably very cooperative, given that she will be effectively handed immunity from prosecution.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:18 PM

Taoiseach, give Sergeant McCabe the benefit of the presumption of innocence.

Don’t be always trying to protect Commissioner O’Sullivan. She can protect herself.

Mute Emmet O'Keeffe
    Favourite Emmet O'Keeffe
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:19 PM

The heat’s been taken out of it. Enda Kenny hitting Gerry Adams for 6 with the first ball put the opposition on the back foot right from the word go.
    A victory for the government…sadly.
    Check your blood pressures and relax for the evening.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:50 PM

@Emmet O’Keeffe: this is not about partisan politics. It’s about real issues.

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:25 PM

good ole taxpayers to foot the bill yet again.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:53 PM

@Michael cunnane: Innocent Garda Sergeant gets opportunity publicly to vindicate his reputation after decade of vilification.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy

There can’t be any prosecutions now a tribunal is about to happen and another corrupt official gets to walk away with a gold plated pension.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:57 PM

@Stephen murphy: the evidence was disposed of anyway.

Mute Emmet O'Keeffe
    Favourite Emmet O'Keeffe
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:23 PM

Enda lambasting Deputy Adams.
    Warming up nicely now.
    Someone’s gonna get a red card before long.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:14 PM

Enda Kenny has only agreed “in principle” to the establishment of a Tribunal under the 1921 Act

Mute denis daly
    Favourite denis daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:22 PM

Stop giving guard’s whistles

Mute Heidi3
    Favourite Heidi3
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:38 PM

Why didn’t McCabe sue his accuser in the guards when the accusation was declared false. Why the state now. There is so much of this that does not add up.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:49 PM

@Heidi3: blind accusations presented by unnamed persons.

Mute Heidi3
    Favourite Heidi3
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:57 PM

@Tony Daly: I think the claim was not made anonymously.

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:13 PM

@Heidi3: it was not revealed as to detail, source or specifics to Sergeant McCabe. He was the one kept in the dark. This made it so insidious and Kafkaesque.

Mute niall
    Favourite niall
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:10 PM

Easy way out. Let’s have a tribunal and the taxpayer will front the bill. Shower of shits in the Dail

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath

Public inquiry or General Election not much choice there either way a couple of heads will be served up!!!

Mute Podge
    Favourite Podge
    Feb 14th 2017, 3:20 PM

‘set up in Cabinet’s wisdom’ that gave me a laugh

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:31 PM

Hopefully the Taoiseach’s comments are not announcing a white wash Tribunal

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly

Will the Commissioner be invoking the privilege against self-incrimination on the more difficult issues?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:12 PM

None one wants a repetition of the character assassination attempt on the instructions of the Commissioner before the O’Higgins Commission. That was truly nasty and beneath contempt.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:55 PM

In an inquisitorial/ accusatorial process such as that of a Tribunal of Inqury, there is no presumption of innocence. It is fact finding, not adjudicative.

Mute Aidan Ryan
    Favourite Aidan Ryan
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:24 PM

Yesssssssssss….a tribunal

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:31 PM

This is totally predictable and unacceptable. Take this whole shady affair to the streets this needs a protest.

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:57 PM

I just watched Vincent Browne’s monday night show. Mick Clifford (usually a top investigative journalist) said he believed the issue of the cabinet ministers/Taoiseach not issuing consistent statements about who knew what, when and from who………was a distraction from the core issue(s). Apparently a large number of viewers tweeted their agreement with Clifford. Here’s a scenario for you. You are a Garda/whistleblower who has a faked child sexual abuse accusation on Tulsa’s records. Tulsa is accountable to Zappone/The Cabinet/Kenny. The Garda are responsible to Fitzgerald/The Cabinet/Kenny. You (as this Garda) are clearly going to hope that the relevant ministers/Taoiseach are going to protect you when they are made aware of what is going on……or am I crazy? So if they can’t agree about who said what to who and when…..are they part of the conspiracy or are they incompetent and unfit to offer the agree whistle-blower protection you need? How do you feel as this Garda whistle-blower? This is just as important as any other aspect of what is going on……..what did the Government know and what did they do or fail to do.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:03 PM

@David A. Murray: You misconstrue the position I think. Tusla are only accountable to Minister Zappone in certain respects. They are an independent body in law and for good reason. Similar with AGS. Entirely independent in law but the Minister for Justice is the vehicle by which they are accountable to the Oireachtas in certain respects. But on a day to day basis both Tusla and AGS run themselves and so they should. There is no reason at all why Government would have known or been told anything about allegations of abuse by Sgt McCabe especially once the people in Tusla realised they were unfounded. Abuse allegations flow daily into Tusla and are dealt with accordingly. The problem here is organisational it seems to me. Everything is not the fault of a Minister. The least interesting thing is what Ministers knew. The key issue is how could things have possibly got this bad in AGS and what do we do? I honestly think we need to go beyond thought of reform and think far more radically. This is just the latest in a long line of shocking Garda controversies. Rather than focus on political personalities and conspiracy theories I think we need to focus on the more prosaic truth which actually is far more shocking and suggests a far more radical course of action is now necessary.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:12 PM

@John R: this goes beyond AGS. This extends to HSE and Tusla as well as certain persons in the media. This multifaceted scheme involved political influence and direction.

We have political policing in Ireland.

We have political health in Ireland.

TUSLA may be theoretically and legally independent but it needs funding and resources. That’s the political dimension.

This scandal did not stop and start with An Garda Siochana.

The political dimension is the most sinister and subtle.

Enda Kenny is making a great effort to protect the Commissioner.

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:36 PM

@David A. Murray: The disagreement over who said what to who and when is part of a smokescreen. It is designed to confuse and dissuade the confused from taking any further interest in the story.

Mute Phil Keenan
    Favourite Phil Keenan

Pull the plug, we need a proper clear out. Get ends the hell out and go to an election

Feb 14th 2017, 5:51 PM

I noticed that on nine news there was one individual out of the lot featured who had a shred of empathy for McCabes and wasn’t just covering heir tracks – Claire Daly and they didn’t even give her a clip they just showed her shaking her head. Gov representatives were again unchallenged defending what has happened. When are people going to wake up?? This is a fascist state.

Mute Angry Gaming
    Favourite Angry Gaming
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:17 PM

Enda kenny spouts so much shite , he can’t keep up with his own lies.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 15th 2017, 12:54 AM

Alledged what a word, everyone now can see that it was a smear…

Mute Mike Holmes
    Favourite Mike Holmes
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:38 PM

Why the surprise. One of the first Yards Commissioner s fought for Franco’s “Hispanic Supercaste” which set sail from Galway in November 1936 on board a German ship. On 19 February 1937 in their first action they fired on troops on their own side killing 13 and losing one of their company and then surprise surprise the Yards Commissioner s adjudant captain Gunning deserts the brigade stealing all the men’s wages and passports under his command. This is classic “Gunningism” within the force and is quite normal in fact it is tradition.Don’t know what all the fuss is about.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:30 PM

If electorate accepts a tribunal, they have been hoodwinked once again. A tribunal is a mechanism for getting evidence out in public so that it can rendered inadmissible in any future criminal trials. The Tribunals of Inquiry Acts ensure that a statement or admission made by a person before a Tribunal “shall not be admissible in evidence in any criminal proceedings against him” unless those proceedings are for an offence committed against the Tribunal.

Mute Robert Deane
    Favourite Robert Deane
    Feb 14th 2017, 4:51 PM

The time being wasted here is a disgrace.Apologize and move on. Enda should adopt a no nonsense attitude to things and get back to work.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:42 PM

@Robert Deane: When has Chairman Mayo ever shown a no-nonsense attitude to anything?

Feb 14th 2017, 7:58 PM

@Robert Deane: why are you being an apologist for our pal who is unfit to be Taoiseach as it is?

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.
JournalTv
News in 60 seconds