You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A Syrian living in Malaysia with her fingers painted with Syrian flag takes part in a protest rally to condemn the killing by Syrian regime Lai Seng Sin/AP/Press Association Images

‘Solidarity with Syria’ vigils for Dublin and Galway

The vigils are being held as part of an Amnesty International Global Day of Action, in solidarity with the victims of the conflict in Syria. A minute’s silence will also be observed.

VIGILS EXPRESSING SOLIDARITY with victims of violence in Syria will be held in Dublin and Galway today.

They are taking place as part of an Amnesty Global Day of Action to express solidarity with the victims of the conflict in Syria.

The Dublin vigil will be held outside the GPO on O’Connell Street, while the Galway vigil will take place on the city’s Middle Street. Both will begin at noon,  followed by a minute’s silence at 12.30pm.

Amnesty International is holding a Global Day of Action today to mark one year since the fall of the Mubarak government in Egypt and a year of change across the Middle East.

Amnesty says it supporters will hold the  solidarity vigil today “to highlight the inaction of the international community on Syria, and in particular the decision by Russia to veto a UN Security Council resolution”, which the organisation has described as a betrayal of the Syrian people.

Earlier this week, Amnesty said that Russia and other countries with influence over Syria must act urgently to stop the bombardment of Homs.

The organisation also called on the Arab League to continue its diplomatic efforts on Syria.

Colm O’Gorman, executive director of Amnesty International Ireland, said:

Innocent men, women and children are dying every day in Homs. It is turning into a major humanitarian crisis. Russia has blocked international efforts to stop the massive human rights violations in Syria, claiming it has a better plan to end the crisis.
Russia, and other countries with influence over Syria, must use whatever means they have to restrain the Syrian military in Homs and ensure it stops using heavy weaponry in residential areas.

Amnesty International has concluded that crimes against humanity are taking place in Syria – a finding also made by a UN Independent International Commission of Inquiry in November – and called for the situation to be referred to Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court.

It also called for a comprehensive arms embargo to be imposed on Syria and an assets freeze against President Bashar al-Assad and his close associates.

Read: Syrian violence spreads as explosions rock northern city>

Read: Over a dozen dead as shelling of Syrian city of Homs continues>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute Liam Russell
    Favourite Liam Russell
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:16 PM

Someone gave the guards the Heads-up.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:25 PM

@Liam Russell: no, they put they’re head inspector on the case

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:37 PM

@James Wallace: There was some serious skulduggery going on

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Mar 5th 2019, 7:06 PM

@CrabaRev: make no bones about it

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:49 PM

I’m just glad the skulls were recovered and will be returned to their rightful owners in the vaults, it was a horrible thing to disturb the remains and whoever is responsible might yet feel the ire or wrath of interfering with the dead.

Mute Ian Michaels
    Favourite Ian Michaels
    Mar 5th 2019, 9:48 PM

@Honeybee
    More to the point wish who ever is in charge there would get their act together and get proper security installed. These are priceless relics, valuable in terms of their historical significance and in term of tourist dollars. This church was broken in to many times before you would think these fools in charge would have learned their lesson.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Mar 6th 2019, 8:47 AM

@Honeybee: I seriously can’t tell if people are being funny here anymore..

Mute The long walk home☘️
    Favourite The long walk home☘️
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:22 PM

Who ever found that scull should go look for the Journals balls, had the O brien post open to comments, crapped itself and shut it

Mute In my opinion
    Favourite In my opinion
    Mar 5th 2019, 7:07 PM

@The long walk home☘️: you must be joking no news outlet would dare speak about DOB I’m surprised your comment hasn’t been deleted

Mute Len O'Grady
    Favourite Len O'Grady
    Mar 5th 2019, 8:57 PM

@In my opinion: I’d not sweat it, we all have the measure of him by now.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:19 PM

Good work by many nGardai

Mute Carmel Myob
    Favourite Carmel Myob
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:41 PM

@Dave O’Hanlon: :D

Mute Andrew Murray
    Favourite Andrew Murray
    Mar 5th 2019, 7:00 PM

Found in SallyNOGGIN.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Mar 5th 2019, 7:32 PM

@Andrew Murray: still can’t get my head around how the thief did it
    He/she certainly used their loaf

Mute stephen darling
    Favourite stephen darling
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:13 PM

Any arrests

Mute SFNutters
    Favourite SFNutters
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:20 PM

@stephen darling: ye they got a head for it.

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Mar 6th 2019, 5:05 AM

@stephen darling: nah – its Ireland.

Mute Gerry Gleeson
    Favourite Gerry Gleeson
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:07 PM

Should have quiet while he was ahead

Mute Arthur Pewty
    Favourite Arthur Pewty
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:13 PM

@Gerry Gleeson: Thats quit the spelling mistake you’ve made there

Mute Anto Curran
    Favourite Anto Curran
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:28 PM

@Arthur Pewty: theirs nothing worse than a spelling or grammar error when there trying to be funny :p

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:39 PM

@Anto Curran: You are right. “theirs nothing worse.” Is there?

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:53 PM

@CrabaRev:
    Your wright, them grammar na*is is way worser

Mute Fergus Murphy
    Favourite Fergus Murphy
    Mar 5th 2019, 7:06 PM

@Arthur Pewty: looks like you haven’t quit spelling errors

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 5th 2019, 7:07 PM

@Anto Curran: Poor old Crab just didn`t get the gist of the thread did he?
    There, Their, They`re Crab – better luck next time

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Mar 5th 2019, 7:25 PM

@Pixie McMullen: My bad. I’ll never live it down. You’re looking much better by the way.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 5th 2019, 7:39 PM

@CrabaRev: It`s only Temporary = Putin will be back tomorrow flying around on his American Bald Eagle.
    You`ve gone a lovely shade of grey yourself mate, really suits you

Mute Pinkady
    Favourite Pinkady
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:41 PM

Don’t forget folks this was a real person .
    He deserves some respect .
    Even if he lashed the bejesuits out of our ancestors with his crusading tactics back in the day …..

Mute Vinny
    Favourite Vinny
    Mar 5th 2019, 7:22 PM

Any info please contact garda head office

Mute Paul Campbell
    Favourite Paul Campbell
    Mar 5th 2019, 8:08 PM

Found in Schull West Cork

Mute Sharon O'Doherty
    Favourite Sharon O'Doherty
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:47 PM

Was it found in Connemara by any chance ?

Mute Gary Sea
    Favourite Gary Sea
    Mar 5th 2019, 10:38 PM

Well Done to the Gardai, only scuOm filth desecrate the resting places of the dead.

Mute Owen Lynch
    Favourite Owen Lynch
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:33 PM

How did the soup taste.

Mute Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Favourite Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:19 PM

Like im all for the odd prank but there are some idiots out there

Mute Darren Swords
    Favourite Darren Swords
    Mar 5th 2019, 7:42 PM

Very strange, it’s like Robert Langdon only had 24 hours to save the world & needed some long lost clue which could only be opened with the mummy’s head.

Mute Gearóid ÓCiaráin
    Favourite Gearóid ÓCiaráin
    Mar 5th 2019, 11:11 PM

So no comments on the OBrien case permitted! How scared ! Might is right!!

Mute Ann Mc Donagh Mills
    Favourite Ann Mc Donagh Mills
    Mar 5th 2019, 7:03 PM

Thanks Cónal for the heads up!

Mute Jams O' Donnell
    Favourite Jams O' Donnell
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:37 PM

Excellent boys and girls. When some unfortunate people are losing their heads you are there to reassure everyone ! Well done.

Mute George Tobin
    Favourite George Tobin
    Mar 5th 2019, 9:04 PM

Dublin is full of heads!!

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:52 PM

Hope they found him safe a well.

Mute Pat Farrell
    Favourite Pat Farrell
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:56 PM

“That’s”… Just saying. People in glasshouses and all that.

Mute Ricky McCabe
    Favourite Ricky McCabe
    Mar 5th 2019, 8:31 PM

Will they give it a check up from the neck up

Mute Ann Mc Donagh Mills
    Favourite Ann Mc Donagh Mills
    Mar 5th 2019, 7:04 PM

Thanks Cónal for the heads up!

Mute Robert Kennedy
    Favourite Robert Kennedy
    Mar 5th 2019, 10:35 PM

Looks pretty tanned.
    Cheap flight to Lanzarote?

Mute Gary Sea
    Favourite Gary Sea
    Mar 5th 2019, 10:40 PM

Some amount of T#ssers with stupid jokes. Stick to the day jobs.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Mar 6th 2019, 8:49 AM

@Gary Sea: Are you available for parties Gary?? Sounds like you’re the craic like.

Mute JeremiahMcDonagh
    Favourite JeremiahMcDonagh
    Mar 6th 2019, 10:40 AM

Reprehensible crime. Losers who did it need to be criminalised

Mute Paddy Peppard
    Favourite Paddy Peppard
    Mar 6th 2019, 12:34 PM

Whoever did this…….Off with there heads !!!

Mute Anto O Brien
    Favourite Anto O Brien
    Mar 5th 2019, 6:43 PM

First and foremost I thought Michael Jackson was brown bread.. Has no one found that more shocking then a stolen skull..