You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

6 picnic side dishes that are better than coleslaw

Be a picnic hero with these unusual dishes.

PICNICS ARE A great way to gather your friends and family and have a lovely catch-up with delicious food.

And the best way to feed everyone is doing it ‘pot-luck’ style, where everyone brings a dish or two to feed the masses.

Just to make sure the next picnic you attend isn’t inundated with coleslaw, we rounded up some of the best side dishes we could find, from the simple to the fancy, so you (and your contribution) can be the star of the show.

1. Miso pasta salad

Iamafoodblog Iamafoodblog

Pasta salads are often Mediterranean in flavour but we found this Asian-inspired version that uses a salty seaweedy miso paste as its ‘inspiration’ ingredient. It’s easy to make and can be made in the night before to let the ingredients rest in the dressing and intensify the flavours.

2. Fresh tomato salsa

SimplyRecipes.com SimplyRecipes.com

Tomato salsa with its spicy citrus-y undertones makes for a great fresh addition to any picnic and is really quick and easy to make.

Here’s the recipe.

3. Gorgeous guacamole

What's Gaby Cooking What's Gaby Cooking

Guacamole has got to be one of the better foods invented – and you really need to make it from scratch to appreciate its deliciousness. Luckily it’s not hard to do at all, just an avocado, a little mashing and a couple of extra ingredients. Here’s a recipe that will put that store-bought stuff to shame.

4. Jalapeno lime hummus

Emma Christensen Emma Christensen

Hummus is amazing at the best of times, to be fair, but throw some spice and citrus in there and you’ve taken it instantly (and with very little difficulty) to a whole new level.

You can add a little jalapeno or a lot – it’s up to you. Here’s the recipe. Bring some carrot sticks to, to be a true picnic hero.

5. Red, white and blue potato salad

Brianne @ Cupcakes & Kale Chips Brianne @ Cupcakes & Kale Chips

The potatoes are red, the cheese is blue and the dressing is white. It’s not covered in mayonnaise so it’s a healthy version, too. Win win.

6. Strawberry mango salad

Jacqueline Delisle Jacqueline Delisle

This fruity savoury salad will be a refreshing and colourful addition to any picnic. It’s an interesting mix of mango, cucumber and strawberry with a simple lime dressing. Easy to make in advance and easy to eat – just scoop up with a tortilla chip.

Have you any delicious side dishes to share with us? Let us know in the comments below.

14 Comments
    Mute Stephen Fagan
    Favourite Stephen Fagan
    Mar 1st 2016, 8:55 AM

Journal, would love some more coverage of the TTIP. I feel if people truly understood the extent of it and the parties in favor we just MIGHT have a different Dail next time around.

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:14 AM

Frack off.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:21 AM

hi Robert, hows thing in fg ?

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:33 AM

I’m right of centre, there’s no party for me in Ireland mate.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:38 AM

lobsided is that what you mean? your a die hard fg’er
    don’t bother with the denials

Mute Iúrach
    Favourite Iúrach
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:40 AM

Or NAMA. No commenting allowed on that article funnily enough.

There are so many horrific articles in TTIP that there’d be a disconnect with the majority of citizens. I almost feel it myself.

Mainly because it beggars belief that there are groups of international highly organised elites who believe that their demands are justified and somehow not entirely insane.

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:45 AM

A die hard? OK then……I was a PD supporter before they disappeared. FF and FG are not right of centre parties. They’re budget deficit, high tax and spend parties.

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:51 AM

What about Renua Rob?

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:52 AM

Not into the Church myself and am pro choice.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:59 AM

yea right, set up a committee

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Mar 1st 2016, 11:04 AM

Agreed Iurach. Censorship on the important stuff like NAMA. Crazy stuff and nobody really questions why the documentary was aired AFTER the election and tgr Slab trial was the very DAY of the election. It’s really time for people to wake up out of their collective coma

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Mar 1st 2016, 11:29 AM

@Mr Magoo, the BBC kept it a secret, they only announced the show was to air hours before hand, i assume this was to prevent legal interference with the show that would mean it couldnt be shown.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Mar 1st 2016, 11:50 AM

Go away

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Mar 1st 2016, 11:51 AM

Not you – Cousins

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Mar 1st 2016, 12:16 PM

How about NO, Rashers? How very left wing of you, wishing to close discussions with anyone who doesn’t share your woolly views.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Mar 1st 2016, 12:24 PM

Rashers isn’t left wing Robert, how very dare you!!

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Mar 1st 2016, 2:00 PM

I distinctly recall you posting a LOT in the last year about how you would be voting FF Robert and how others should too..

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Mar 1st 2016, 2:08 PM

FF?! I said I’d be voting FG Brendan. But I’ve no party loyalty, I voted FF/PD in previous elections for instance. Who’s best for the economy, that’s who I go for. But we actually have very poor choices here as we have no right of centre parties. We just variants around the same centre left theme of budget deficit spending, borrowing billions to maintain high spending and no reforms of the PS or the welfare system.

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Mar 1st 2016, 2:27 PM

Honestly I could have sworn that was you, but it may have been someone else, if I’m wrong I apologise.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Mar 1st 2016, 2:45 PM

You only had to ask! :-D

Mute Peter Mc Hugh
    Favourite Peter Mc Hugh
    Mar 1st 2016, 4:13 PM

Mr Magoo, come one now. The Slab Murphy trial date is not some grand conspiracy. The only thing sinister about it were his SF bodyguards ‘just following orders’ by photographing journalists and their cars as well as trying to keep them trapped in the car.

And I severely doubt the BBC wait till after the election to air that documentary. Ever think they don’t really give a f*ck about the Irish General election?

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Mar 1st 2016, 4:28 PM

No worries, I’m sure we all look the same to you!

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Mar 1st 2016, 4:59 PM

Is that what happened Peter? They were photographing journalists and trying to intimidate them?

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Mar 1st 2016, 5:17 PM

Magoo it’s time to get over the victim complex. Slab Murphy is exactly where he belongs and hopefully Lowry will follow him soon. It would have been far more beneficial to the government if he had been sentenced a few days before or even a week before the election, the column inches it would have generated would have been far more damaging to SF than having him sentenced on the day of voting.
    Did you ever once stop and think that maybe SF should shoulder some of the responsibility for the bad press they get?

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Mar 1st 2016, 6:59 PM
    Mute Luke Sarpish
    Favourite Luke Sarpish
    Mar 1st 2016, 8:55 AM

Is it true that you can get 10 onion rings in Burger King for Two Euro?

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:06 AM

luke I gave you a green thumb regardless of the onion rings in bk

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:25 AM

Or you could just buy a jar of Krisp’n'dry for €1 and drink a quarter of it from the neck.

Mute Peter Mc Hugh
    Favourite Peter Mc Hugh
    Mar 1st 2016, 8:59 AM

The last count puts Willie two votes ahead of his nearest rival, and in place for a seat. Why do you say he is the next to be eliminated? I know there is a recount this morning, but you are jumping the gun a bit!

Mute Lapmo_Dancer
    Favourite Lapmo_Dancer
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:43 AM

Yep, shoddy analysis from Sinead. If Bannon gets eliminated, you’d imagine his 7000 transfers are more likely to elect Penrose than the Shinner.

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    Mar 1st 2016, 10:24 AM

Yes, Willie went from 19 behind to 2 ahead through the distribution of 71 surplus from Boxer. Willie might have more chance than Aodhan of getting in.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Mar 1st 2016, 10:25 AM

Peter, Penrose is in last place currently. Unfortunately his transfers will elect the 2 fg guys…even bannon despite him cheating and stealing leaflets.

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    Mar 1st 2016, 10:29 AM

Nope, Bannon is by 2 votes, that’s why he was the one granted the recount

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Mar 1st 2016, 10:44 AM

??????

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Mar 1st 2016, 10:59 AM

Willie Penrose is 2 ahead with a recount going ahead.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Mar 1st 2016, 12:31 PM

I think it’s funny seeing Alan Kelly arriving to support O’Riordain …when Alan Kelly was one of the ringleaders who caused Labour to become so transfer toxic in the first place.

Mute ellis
    Favourite ellis
    Mar 1st 2016, 12:53 PM

For the health of the nation, let us hope that O’Riordain is consigned to the political abyss. The only problem is that he’ll go back to polluting young people’s minds in his role as a school principle.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 1st 2016, 1:02 PM

Willie has all-but conceded himself, so it’s an interesting one. Not ruling him out totally yet.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 1st 2016, 1:51 PM

“The Shinner”, you sound like a black and tan in 1920.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Mar 1st 2016, 7:05 PM

Ellis hard as it is to believe he was actually a good head teacher. It’s a pity he didn’t stick to it.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 8:56 AM

TTIP is not allowed to be mentioned here or anywhere else in the inm class

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:48 AM

It’s been mentioned plenty of times on the Journal you clown.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:56 AM

how do fg meps want to vote on TTIP? Robert.
    or is that confidential

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Mar 1st 2016, 7:13 PM

I don’t know about the mep’s but Edna has said he is for it. All FG in Dublin bay north are for it. SD in Dublin bay north is against. No one else bothered their hole calling.

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:41 AM

Anyone know where all the government trolls are gone ? did their paId employment end ?
    I have been waiting for powerabbey to pop up to ?

Powerabbey
    Jan 28th 2016, 1:44 PM # 92 4
    Matt – you can be assured that Paudie Coffey will be returned to government.

Can i just say to powerabbey , the people of Waterford gave this scroat his marching orders along with Conway , Unfortunately a lot of those same people then gave their votes to FF , But one SF and one IA member were elected as well . and in addition can i just add HA HA HA

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Mar 1st 2016, 12:43 PM

Matt did you just say “CAN I JUST SAAAAY!”

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Mar 1st 2016, 1:24 PM

Jesus wept i bloody did didn’t i , That shrew has me brainwashed lol

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 1st 2016, 1:57 PM

@Matt Black,
    No sign of Diarmuid either.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 8:54 AM

so what your saying is neither ff or fg can form a gov without each other?
    another ge please

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Mar 1st 2016, 11:00 AM

Why not all parties go into talks on reform first Ciaran? If we still need another GE after that so be it. Nothing lost.

Mute BoggerBlogger
    Favourite BoggerBlogger
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:29 AM

Still going?

If only we had, I don’t know, some electronic voting machines or something…?

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins

You’re famous Bogger!!! They just quoted you in the article. Quick everyone say something witty!!

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran

dick!

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:50 AM

Whatever you’re into Ciaran, you’re free now to follow your passions.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:53 AM

ff looking good for you now?

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Mar 1st 2016, 10:02 AM

Let’s just say I’m interested to see where all this leads…..

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 10:12 AM

micheal will be Taoiseach, are fg the new labour?

Mute Pete Slattery
    Favourite Pete Slattery
    Mar 1st 2016, 12:35 PM

Alan Kelly there to support Aoghan O’Riordain? He wasn’t very supportive of his colleagues when he was celebrating like an arsehole despite being director of elections of Labour’s worst ever election.

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Mar 1st 2016, 3:59 PM

Some Director of Elections, did more than anyone to turn voters against his party. His gung ho arrogant attitude turned people off and was a major contributor to citizens having a big dislike for the Govt, even Enda Kenny would be justified in blaming him for the collapse of Fine Gael and Fianna Fail should try to keep him at the forefront of the Labour party, he’s good for everyone except his own Party.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 1st 2016, 1:53 PM

I’m glad O’Riordain is gone, he’d have turned Ireland into a giant Calais jungle.

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Mar 1st 2016, 12:12 PM

Anyone who considers themselves left wing or progressive and then celebrates Aodhán Ó Ríordáin losing his seat to Seán Haughey needs to have a long hard look at themselves.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 1st 2016, 1:56 PM

@Ignoreland,
    O’Riordain was just a phony.
    It feels wonderful to use the word “was” with this fellow.

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:06 AM

Does anyone know what the rules around recount are? Can people just keep requesting and requesting recounts? At what point do they say enough is enough?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:35 AM

Hi Beano,

They can request rechecks and it’s up the discretion of the returning officer. They can turn down requests for full recounts.

Sinead

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:49 AM

tell that to avreil power wife of fionann sheeeeeehan good friend of hughs

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 10:32 AM

oh so their not good friends? just have a common goal in fg in common or do they aspire to the same job

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Mar 1st 2016, 11:14 AM

@Ciaran scary isn’t it there really is no free press, what they don’t directly own ouright they infiltrate with their type. Hugh has been very obviius in his sympathied all along. We need some budding entrepeneur to set up a really fair unbiased paper but I supposr thats very difficult when you don’t play ball with the golden circle.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Mar 1st 2016, 3:28 PM

“really fair unbiased paper”

http://www.anphoblacht.com

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Mar 1st 2016, 4:36 PM

As opposed to fg’s Indo,a biased rag about to be shut down.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:04 AM

either my computer says no, or there is something very fishy about this article.
    contributors 0, journal 1

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:38 AM

There also seems to be a gagging order on the NAMA revelations, barley covered in irish media, comments disabled.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran

what do you mean? spotlight? peter robinson, frank cushinahan? nama? Michael nnoonhan, nah just poppy talk, exchequer funds my fg

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 8:57 AM

funny the thumbs just keep disappearing

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Mar 1st 2016, 5:18 PM

Congratulations to Brid Smith on success after a pretty gruelling process. Confusion to FF!

Mute Declan Doyle
    Favourite Declan Doyle
    Mar 1st 2016, 10:01 AM

“Dail reform” is the newest act of Fianna Fail political grooming, equivalent to slipping of a box of chocolates to an obese person that had been trying to be good. The idea is the same as eating sweets: it looks good, it tastes good, but you have that nagging feeling at the back of your mind that you starting to self-hate again, and, tragically, rip the colourful box that the nice Mr Martin has waved under your face.

The settled truth of the matter is that the key assumptions underpinning the nature of Irish social policy will remain untouched by any of the reforms proposed by Michael Martin.

Assumption 1. Health inequality in profound and fully rooted into Irish society. The two tier nature of Irish health demands that, (a) people who pay a private insurance premium will continue to have an advantage conferred upon them, over the low classes, who don’t “pay” extra. (b) The Irish medical profession has grown fat on the two tier system. They have the power (freely given by successive governments) to run down the public system, exploit its funding for training, emergency services, cancer treatment, etc, but, then, get to drive down the road in their Merc or BMW to perform elective procedures at increasingly prolific “private” facilities we all know so well, from all those radio and TV adverts.

Assumption 2. Only those with no capacity to dodge tax can be fully taxed. Ordinary, sitting duck citizens pay between forty and fifty percent of their income in taxes to pay for an ever evolving and expanding public service. Access to decent education, transport, and health are vital elements of any competitive, modern society and economy. However, the assumption is that business and especially US multi nationals cannot and will not pay a fair contribution to such services, services that those businesses and corporations depend upon. The deference we adopt to the idea that the already low tax rate of business cannot even be fully applied, is akin to national prostitution.

Assumption 3. The Irish media will continue to act slavishly on behalf of the proponents and beneficiaries of the first two assumptions. The degree to which the media here attack and undermine anyone that questions the status quo is deeply disturbing. The role Denis O’Brien enjoys, controlling and directing the disgraceful INM group, acts as a cancer, corroding the fabric of Irish public discourse. RTE, too, has been reduced to a body that will willingly pounce like an attack dog on anyone that challenging assumption 1 or 2.

No amount of grooming of the opposition in Dail Eirean will change any of this. It will, however advance the charge of Michael Martin, who’s only ambition is to get back to the glory days of overarching control of Irish society on behalf of the architects and beneficiaries of this failed republic.

Mute james
    Favourite james
    Mar 1st 2016, 1:43 PM

I’m not a tree hugger but to see the amount of cable ties left behind from campaign posters pretty much sums up the view our political parties have of society when it’s not lining their pockets… is it any wonder the electorate f*ckin despise them?

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Mar 1st 2016, 2:09 PM

The amount if litter left behind is disgusting alright.

Mute Chewy
    Favourite Chewy
    Mar 1st 2016, 2:48 PM

YAY!!! It looks like Liebour have now lost their speaking rights in the Dáil. No more listening to cannot understand normal things iMoan

Mute Éanna McClean
    Favourite Éanna McClean
    Mar 1st 2016, 3:10 PM

Penrose is sticking in there like a limpit on a rock. Feel for the counters

Mute Liz Finn
    Favourite Liz Finn
    Mar 1st 2016, 1:12 PM

So now basically all the people who I didn’t give any preferences to in Dublin bay north are the ones who got elected….. Marvellous!!

Mute Gerry Fitz
    Favourite Gerry Fitz
    Mar 1st 2016, 1:08 PM

Live Blog? Dublin bay has finished over 30mins ago!!!

Mute Emily Gallagher
    Favourite Emily Gallagher
    Mar 1st 2016, 10:08 AM

You poor guys seem to be either VERY sleep deprived or you are slowly losing your minds.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 10:13 AM

locked buddy!

Mute up3bs9LF
    Favourite up3bs9LF
    Mar 1st 2016, 4:43 PM

What’s the latest about penrose?

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins

Squeaky bum time I’m Labour HQ. They need at least one of these seats to get those speaking rights.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 1st 2016, 9:52 AM

slapped bum time or a reddin arse

Mute Seán O'Connor
    Favourite Seán O'Connor
    Mar 1st 2016, 10:04 AM

I’m only following this for the Gifs.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 1st 2016, 11:23 AM

More Britney?

Mute up3bs9LF
    Favourite up3bs9LF
    Mar 1st 2016, 11:40 AM

Over the past few day’s, Ive read a reassuring comment” thats democracy ” this is used by those who advocate the status quo, “culture of lies”. I think Donald Trump may have stumbled onto a really good idea, let’s punish corruption in politics. Let’s have a democracy of accountability and let’s loose the one that gives rewards for corruption….

Mute John D
    Favourite John D
    Mar 1st 2016, 5:43 PM

Let’s not bring the blowhard and BS artist, Trump, into this discussion please.

Mute Geoff Boyle
    Favourite Geoff Boyle
    Mar 1st 2016, 10:10 AM

Sinead, you talk about “last two seats” in Dublin Bay North, it’s a 5 seater, three left, no?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 1st 2016, 11:23 AM

Argh, long 72 hours! Thanks Geoff, changed now.

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg
    Mar 1st 2016, 10:46 AM

no more small 3 seaters please. Longford constituency??? We have enough of parish pump politics thank you very much. I think the pr-stv system is an issue due to its geographic nature. While previously I have been against a list system, I think 50% list and 50% constituency is a good way to go. That way you can vote for your local TD, but also vote on policy, so if for example you are a Social Democrat, but there is no Social Democrat near you, you can still elect one via a list.