You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 It’s the day after the Budget, and it’s raining. More on those subjects, and everything else you need to know this morning…

EVERY DAY, TheJournal.ie brings you nine things you need to know with your morning cup of coffee.

1. #THE RISING: Wine, beer, spirits and cigarettes are all more expensive this morning, as the first of the Budget measures kick in.  The National Off-Licence Association is furious about the extra 50c on a bottle of wine, and says it will be taking the issue up with the EU Commission.

2. #US: Politicians in Washington have been making a last ditch effort to avert a federal debt default, the BBC reports. America needs to raise its $16.7 trillion debt limit by tomorrow or risk defaulting. The Fitch credit agency has warned that the country’s AAA rating could be downgraded.

3. #MORIARTY: The tribunal issued its last report in 2011, but the costs are still mounting. Receipts from the Department of the Taoiseach for the third quarter of this year show €886,482.23 was paid out in professional and legal fees relating to Moriarty — including €635,912.41 on behalf of Fine Gael.

4. #DERRY: A 58-year-old man wanted over last week’s murder of Barry McCrory in Derry city centre has been arrested, BBC Northern Ireland is reporting. Kieran McLaughlin was found hiding behind a car in the Galliagh area of the city at around 3am this morning.

5. #SAVILE: “No. Exactly the opposite.” — Jimmy Savile’s response to police in 2009 when asked if he was sexually attracted to young girls. A transcript of an interview conducted with the former BBC presenter has been released in the UK under the Freedom of Information Act.

6. #ROADS: Motorists are being warned of possible localised flooding this morning, as heavy rain moves eastwards across the country. Up to 40mm is expected in mountainous parts of Leinster. There’s a lot of extra surface water in Cork, Limerick and Galway this morning, according to AA Roadwatch.

7. #BOOKER: 28-year-old New Zealand author Eleanor Catton has become the youngest ever winner of the Booker Prize for literary fiction. Her novel ‘The Luminaries’ is an ambitious 832-page murder mystery set during a 19th-century gold rush.

8. #KIBERD: TheJournal.ie columnist Damien Kiberd reckons Michael Noonan’s arithmetic for Budget 2014 is worryingly precise: “Somebody who’s never watched The Omen told Dr James Reilly to cough up cuts of €666m at Health. He just about got over the line on Budget Day, but the government still cannot say what the Health shortfall for 2013 (yes, this year) will be, never mind 2014.”

9. #WINNING: The Republic of Ireland ended their World Cup qualifying campaign with a win last night — beating Kazakhstan 3-1 at the Aviva Stadium. It ends Noel King’s tenure in charge of the team. The interim boss was happy with the three points, but less than impressed with the line of questioning from RTÉ afterwards.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

6 Comments
    Mute Ciaran Whyte
    Favourite Ciaran Whyte
    Aug 1st 2011, 8:38 AM

Driving in bus lanes? WTF??? Shouldn’t they be concerned with other things, like ummm… Mass unemployment, economic ruin, a generation destroyed by negative equity? Another case of politicians looking after themselves first

Mute Fred Schelbaum
    Favourite Fred Schelbaum
    Aug 1st 2011, 8:33 AM

I liked number 9… What a gombeen :-)

Mute Conor Hickey
    Favourite Conor Hickey
    Aug 1st 2011, 9:08 AM

If the Gardai do their job well, it will be a slower journey in a bus lane for a minister because he will be stopped at every junction to explain why he is in the lane.

Mute Conor Hickey
    Favourite Conor Hickey
    Aug 1st 2011, 9:45 AM

I meant to say … he or she

Mute Luke Sweeney
    Favourite Luke Sweeney
    Aug 1st 2011, 9:06 AM

I’m a little confused about the fact that the Norris Letter writing is being reported as new allegations. I’m 99%sure that this was reported at the time with the Herald even printing a copy of the letter on it’s front page.
    Can you good people at the Journal use your investigative powers to confirm??

Mute chrissy
    Favourite chrissy
    Aug 1st 2011, 9:30 AM

Shouldn’t that headline read: Cabinet approves ABUSE of bus lanes for ‘ official business ‘

Mute Anthony Bartley
    Favourite Anthony Bartley
    Aug 1st 2011, 8:47 AM

Who ever has deluged the blogger who broke the story about senator Norris’s for partner up on rape charges should cop on. Who in their right mind would support anyone for that matter who would send a letter to ask for leniency from a government on headed paper is beyond me. This is life , the past will catch up on dirty politician who does anything wrong…. So those people who dat , think before you speak. If it turned out to be a smear campaign fair enough, but it isn’t !!!

Mute David Wilkins
    Favourite David Wilkins
    Aug 1st 2011, 10:23 AM

Re The Irish Mail throwing petrol on the Norris story…The Irish Mail would. Slightly to the right of Ghengis Khan. This from a publication that in the days after the tragic death of Stephen Gately, not implied, but right out said he deserved it due to his sleazy homosexual hedonistic lifestyle (Jan Moir). The Mail has about as much credibility in matters like this as does the old testament book of Leviticus.

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Aug 1st 2011, 10:29 AM

So basically the newspapers are at fault for revealing the truth about Norris, maybe there should be an inquiry ?

Mute David Wilkins
    Favourite David Wilkins
    Aug 1st 2011, 11:55 AM

That’s not what I said. My comment was expressly about The Irish Mail, who has a reputation for selectively sensationalising stories as it suits their conservative agenda. I think Norris was wrong for his letter, but it was 20 years ago, and he’s done amazing positive constructive work since. Move bleedin on…

Mute Owen Stafford
    Favourite Owen Stafford
    Aug 1st 2011, 11:53 AM

How can people refuse social housing??? Recently it was announced Cluid (I think that is how it is spelt) purchased appartments in the Beacon Court development which will include rental to tennants and social housing.It has a concierge service, so maybe if I default I will get a house for nothing! What about people who purchased at a high price for their appartment only to look accross the courtyard at a family who have received a house for nothing? Dont get me wrong I’m not discriminating but fair is fair. I’m struggling like many thousands to pay my mortgage but there are people in my area with houses larger than mine and with huge gardens all being payed for by the tax payer! It’s not very encouraging for future generations

.”Here son work hard and live in a dog box or feck it all and put your name on the housing list and you could have this spacious 4 bed semi-detached for free, thats right free and don’t worry because the couple accross the road up at 7a.m. to go to work will pay for it!”

Mute Niamh Ui Cheallaigh
    Favourite Niamh Ui Cheallaigh
    Aug 1st 2011, 9:19 AM

Social housing I’m not surprised people are refusing them, in Carlow it’s a well know fact the social houses are in an awful state and the council had no funds for repairs or updates loads of them had frozen pipes which burst over the winter then a lot of them are in bad areas were crime and drugs are rampant when you have small children you don’t want to live in an area like that I know I wouldn’t for a lot of people now it will be renting or SH most won’t ever be able to afford to buy their own homes ever because of the recession

Mute Séamus Johnston
    Favourite Séamus Johnston
    Aug 1st 2011, 11:40 AM

Full stops please

Mute Alco Holic
    Favourite Alco Holic
    Aug 1st 2011, 7:09 PM

@ Seamus ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Mute Damien Gallagher
    Favourite Damien Gallagher
    Aug 1st 2011, 9:28 AM

#9 really cheered me up … Am I firssssst?

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Aug 1st 2011, 10:32 AM

It’s quite sad that the Norris campaign has hit this juncture, however asking for leniency for a statutory rapist, from a foreign Gov’t on parliamentary paper is shocking in the extreme… That blogger should not be shot down for bringing this up!

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    Aug 1st 2011, 10:31 AM

More sensationalised reporting from that rag (mail) hence the reason I am a journal fan… Good reporting and honest assessments…..

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Aug 1st 2011, 2:33 PM

David which piece of amazing positive work are you referring to? The 3 million he cost the taxpayer in legal fee’s when he jumped on the Pamela Izebhekhai bandwagon ? there are a lot of people who’d like to “move bleedin on” from their past. But fortunately we have a sex offenders list and he’s very close to being on it.

Mute Garreth OMahony
    Favourite Garreth OMahony
    Aug 1st 2011, 8:16 PM

D

Mute Garreth OMahony
    Favourite Garreth OMahony
    Aug 1st 2011, 8:18 PM

Didn’t our minister for justice do the same thing re Pamela

And didn’t gay Mitchell write to a state in the us asking for clemency for 2 anti abortionist murderers

Why no reporting on this

Mute Conor Hickey
    Favourite Conor Hickey
    Aug 1st 2011, 9:42 AM

It’s ironic how the self appointed global keepers of the peace can’t agree a solution amongst themselves on a debt default avoidance solution.

Mute Keith Mills
    Favourite Keith Mills
    Aug 1st 2011, 10:47 AM

Shameful that the blogger who brought the truth about Norris into the public domain is being treated like this. He should be considered as a hero as he has done us all some service in revealing what Norris got up to. Can kind of fascists were supporting Norris?

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    Aug 1st 2011, 10:08 AM

It was not a dig at the reporter , the stories are boring in my view….. Nothing more , nothing less

Mute Maurice Kiely
    Favourite Maurice Kiely
    Aug 1st 2011, 11:42 AM

They don’t call themselves fascists, they call themselves enlightened freethinking liberals! Semantics?

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    Aug 1st 2011, 9:53 AM

9 at 9 …….. Boring this morning

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Aug 1st 2011, 9:56 AM

Sorry you think that Dave. Any suggestions to liven it up for you?

Mute Ciaran Treacy
    Favourite Ciaran Treacy
    Aug 1st 2011, 1:04 PM

Interesting how the Norris story is gaining so much ground – while I do find it bad, was this not all reported way back at the time? I’m pretty sure that the case received attention both in Israel and here… so there’s nothing really that’s new… Personally i think that while it’s disgraceful that he wrote the letter on Seanad paper, little else about the story really affects his standing in my mind. If you were dating someone for almost 20 years, wouldn’t you do what you could to help them?

Also, what is surely WORSE than Norris writing for leniancy for his partner who had sex with a minor (I’ve heard some reports that he wasn’t 15, but 17 and 6 months, just 6 months under the legal age in Israel!) is a then foreign affairs minister, writing on OFFICIAL GOVERNMENT PAPER, a plea to excuse a man from execution who murdered two people (doctors I think) outside of an abortion clinic in Florida. No matter what your view of the death penalty, to write on official paper to excuse a murderer is surely worse… and it’s more recent, story is here;

http://www.rte.ie/news/2003/0903/deathrow.html?view=print%3Fview%3Dprint

Funny how there’s not even a mention of this!