You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Michael Freeman / TheJournal.ie

ASAI powerless to act on anti-abortion billboards

The Advertising Standards Authority has received a number of complaints over the Life Institute campaign, but said it is outside their remit.

THE ADVERTISING STANDARDS Authority have received a number of complaints about an anti-abortion billboard campaign, but said they have no power to act on them.

The billboards are part of a campaign run by the Life Institute, and bear the slogans “Abortion tears her life apart” and “There’s always a better answer”.

The Advertising Standards Authority of Ireland (ASAI) confirmed they have received around 70 complaints about the nationwide campaign.

However, director Frank Goodman said they could not act on them as the campaign has no financial element and so is outside the ASAI’s remit. He told TheJournal.ie:

The ASAI deals with commercial companies, generally companies producing products and services. If this was a fundraising drive, we’d look at it. But it’s expressing a point of view on a matter of public interest.

He said the ASAI was not a statutory body but a self-regulatory organisation for the commercial advertising industry, and had no role in political or religious advertising.

The Life Institute’s campaign has attracted criticism on social media and from pro-choice organisations including Choice Ireland, which said it misrepresented the views of most women who have had abortions.

But Niamh Uí Bhriaín, a spokesperson for the Life Institute, defended the campaign. “People are perfectly entitled to make complaints if they want to about any advert,” she said. “People who support abortion are very angry but that’s predictable. It’s not to be offensive, it’s to raise the issue.”

She said the Life Institute, which is affiliated with Youth Defence whose website is featured on the billboards, would welcome serious debate from pro-choice campaigners.

We’re getting a lot of support from the public, including some very poignant messages from men and women who have been through the abortion process and are saying thank you for highlighting the issue.

Choice Ireland spokesperson Stephanie Lord has suggested the billboards were designed to “make women feel bad about the choices they have made”.

Statutory body

A spokesperson for the Department of Communications, which handles broadcasting and media regulations, told TheJournal.ie that they believe there is no statutory body to deal with complaints about an advert of this kind.

However, he said if the billboards were obscene or libellous it would be a matter for the gardaí.

The spokesperson confirmed that the Department of Communications has not received any complaints relating to the campaign.

Fiona Hyde, co-editor of Dublin-based gender equality magazine Siren, has called on people to contact companies hosting the billboards if they are offended. She criticised the lack of avenues for complaint, saying:

It seems very wrong to me that there is no avenue for complaint against hurtful and incorrect information being disseminated to the general public with a view to furthering a particular religious or political agenda.

Read: Anti-abortion billboards ‘do not speak for majority of women’>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

93 Comments
    Mute Allan Brown
    Favourite Allan Brown
    Jun 21st 2012, 6:48 AM

So I can put anything on a billboard as long as its not for profit, come off it…

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Jun 21st 2012, 7:07 AM

Try putting up some false information which doesn’t suit the political elite and see how long it would take for them to find a way of removing it…

Mute David S Armstrong
    Favourite David S Armstrong
    Jun 21st 2012, 7:36 AM

Whatever side you take on this, pro or anti; we do ´not´ need graphic posters or billboards littering the public space. Admittedly this is nothing compared to the usual placards and print-outs I´ve had shoved in my hands by the likes of Youth Defense. A simple solution; skip the official complaints, find a few willing helping.hands and cover it over / tear it down. And no, it´s not censorship, it´s exercising a right not to be offended.

Mute Sarah Cullington
    Favourite Sarah Cullington
    Jun 21st 2012, 7:57 AM

To be fair, no one has a right to not be offended. Something which one person may find offensive may not bother someone else in the slightest. Clearly the message from this campaign is rubbish as there is not always a better way. It seems all we can do is ignore this ridiculous campaign and hope for a change in the law ASAP.

Mute Liam Foley
    Favourite Liam Foley
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:06 AM

Aaaaa, yes, censorship, all part of the mature political debate in Ireland 2012. When you do that all you do is piss off the outdoor advertizing company that owns the space. The space has been paid for, you’re not harming Youth Defense you’re harming the company.

Mute Lisa Leonard
    Favourite Lisa Leonard
    Jun 21st 2012, 7:48 AM

Wonder what would happen if pro choice put a few billboards up…

Mute Allan Brown
    Favourite Allan Brown
    Jun 21st 2012, 8:13 AM

@lisa – the church would be up in arms about where our moral compass was and that we should think of the babies,

Mute Gavin McGuinness
    Favourite Gavin McGuinness
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:14 PM

I was thinking the exact same. I would have no doubt that Niamh Uí Bhriaín (spokesperson for the Life Institute) would be up in arms over the campaign.

Mute Itchy mcscratch
    Favourite Itchy mcscratch
    Jun 21st 2012, 8:34 AM

So sick of this debate. Don’t like it then don’t have one. Don’t be so self-righteous when you’ve never been in that position. For those of you who have been in that position then let other people decide as well. If you decide the best is to not bring a baby into a world like this then decide and deal with it by 12 weeks at the latest. So much cruelty and misery being done in the world to people who are already born,don’t we have other things to think about? The people fighting this clearly have enough time on their hands so why not do something more constructive. There’s babies,toddlers,children being killed,raped,tortured,abused and neglected all over the place! Pay attention to them instead,you’d be appreciated for that.

Mute Wolfgang Weisen
    Favourite Wolfgang Weisen
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:48 AM

Who is funding this?

I will happily contribute to a pro-choice campaign if one is available to do so.

Mute AlMar
    Favourite AlMar
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:11 AM

Am absolutely no fan of Youth Defence at all. However, that said, what about the right to freedom of speech??

So many people talk about freedom and tolerance and yet when it comes to those who disagree with them there’s little enough of it to go around.

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:17 AM

Freedom of speech should really be freedom of intelligence not drivel or hate or church doctrine etc etc

Mute AlMar
    Favourite AlMar
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:41 AM

No Bryan, freedom is freedom.

And I suppose you’d be the one to decide who is intelligent enough to be allowed to express their opinion???

Mute Eoghan McMahon
    Favourite Eoghan McMahon
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:42 AM

But when its designed to insult and shame women over something like abortion (which is not an easy decision for most), they deserve to be called out on it. Freedom of speech also means if you’re talking crap, i can say it, and try my best to get you to shut up.

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:45 AM

Most people have ‘cop on’ a very Irish saying but an apt one in this situation as the poster said freedom of speech should not be allowed to demonise or promote hate.

Mute Siren Magazine
    Favourite Siren Magazine
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:03 AM

Freedom of speech does not preclude consequences. They are contravening ASAI guidelines for advertising – the only reason they are not liable for this is a technicality about fundraising. I adamantly defend their right to hold an opinion that differs from mine – but not if they are propagating that opinion in a manner that is against the law. (Fiona Hyde)

Mute I love lamp
    Favourite I love lamp
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:28 AM

Is it against the law? And if not for the technicality did the ASAI say they would do something about it?

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:42 AM

Have a lot at the ASAI guidelines, lamp, it’s in fairly clear contradiction.

Mute I love lamp
    Favourite I love lamp
    Jun 21st 2012, 11:12 AM

I really couldn’t be bothered, I was just asking.

Mute Eleen
    Favourite Eleen
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:07 PM

Everyone forgets that freedom of speech isn’t the same as freedom to say anything you want without consequences. There are actually laws against hate speech, threats, saying things that is intended to hurt people, etc. It can be argued that this billboard campaign is going out of its way to shame and hurt people, never mind about offending people. It’s also a lie – they have no facts to back up that there’s “always a better option”. They have no basis for it at all. Which would be fine, if it was advertised as their belief, or at least was less “in-your-face”.

What I wonder is why they’re shooting themselves in the foot like this? They obviously don’t care about changing minds or having a discussion – they just want to shout at us.

Mute Aidan Rowe
    Favourite Aidan Rowe
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:33 PM

Let’s all have a minute’s silence for Youth Defence’s right to free speech: http://automaticwriting1.wordpress.com/2012/06/21/lets-all-have-a-minutes-silence-for-youth-defences-right-to-free-speech/

Mute Jeannette O'Brien
    Favourite Jeannette O'Brien
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:01 AM

There is one slap bang outside our lady’s hospital Crumlin. Mothers, fathers, sick children sitting in our lady’s ward look out the window and there it is! Very insensitive place to put it. Like these people arnt going through enough FFs! There is a time and a place for people’s opinions. Not there do.

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Favourite Stephanie Fleming
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:19 AM

That’s horrendous. I wasn’t going to contact the billboard agency because I didn’t think it would make a difference but that one should definitely be taken down for the sake of common decency. Which company does it belong to?

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:22 AM

Pro choice campaign on every bus stop/bin/billboard outside every church! Fight fire with fire. If this is freedom of opinion and free speech etc etc then they can’t oppose the exact opposite!

Personally I think they are disgusting and have mailed, viola,JC and local representatives.

Mute Itchy mcscratch
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:32 AM

Pro life are exceptionally heartless though. They don’t take into account the feelings of people who are breathing air in this world. They are closed minded and painfully misguided. A parent who is watching their child die shouldn’t be forced to look at pro life hate mongering nonsense

Mute Liam Foley
    Favourite Liam Foley
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:04 AM

How do Choice Ireland know what most Irish women who’ve had an abortion think on the issue do they have any data?

Mute Liam Foley
    Favourite Liam Foley
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:39 AM

Re Justin Barrett, no idea if he’s involved in anything. I suggest that if you’re sincerely interested you caontact Youth Defense directly. You’re not really interested though, hence the ad hominem attack.
    As for the report from CPA that does not tell what most Irish woman who’ve had an abortion think or feel about the issue.

Mute Eoghan McMahon
    Favourite Eoghan McMahon
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:47 AM

Foley – Actually it does. On Page 3.

Mute Brendan Kelly
    Favourite Brendan Kelly
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:50 AM

This is the CPA report refered to: (http://www.crisispregnancy.ie/pub/cou.pdf).

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:37 AM

Liam, there have actually been quite a few academic studies on this. Despite the hemming and hawwing of Youth Defence (nobody really know how all women feel!), this has been studied extensively.

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:03 AM

I can’t see a problem with the campaign, it may get people taking about abortion and how it fits into Irish society but I do find it a bit rich for the self proclaimed”pro choice” people to object to information being put out there from any other quarter……

Mute Clare Moriarty
    Favourite Clare Moriarty
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:43 AM

It’s hardly the putting out there of information that pro choice bodies are objecting to. The ads aren’t designed to get the debate going again- to me it looks like they’re either trying to guilt people who have made certain decisions or shame people who are facing making similar decisions. I take your point, and I’m somewhat glad we are discussing things again, but those billboards and the website they link to are full of misleading statements and often lies. example: ‘abortion is the greatest destroyer of life in the world today.’ Well, that’s just patently false…

Mute Eleen
    Favourite Eleen
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:32 PM

It’d be one thing if it was just information – but this is in-your-face, graphic and has the potential to not only offend but hurt people (by guilting women who’ve had abortions, and bringing up bad memories etc). This is a bullying tactic, nothing more. And Youth Defence is all about bullying tactics.

If they want a real discussion, fine. But they’re not playing fair.

Mute Meetmums
    Favourite Meetmums
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:17 AM

A few billboards with “smart” slogans and disturbing images are not going to change anything or help anyone.

We are fully pro-choice, and what is needed is proper care, support and information for women who find themselves in the very upsetting situation of having to decide to go ahead or not with their pregnancy.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Jun 21st 2012, 8:38 AM

Well if they can’t do anything maybe a little pressure on J.C. deceaux(excuse through spelling) might help.

Mute I love lamp
    Favourite I love lamp
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:21 AM

Why? What’s have they done wrong?

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:16 AM

I have emailed the minister now about this. My body my choice.

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:53 AM

Brian is it freedom of speech unless I don’t like what you say, we live in a democratic republic where everyone has a right to their opinions whether we agree with them or not……..

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:55 AM

No Sean, freedom of speech is not to promote hate or demonise a marginalised group. Educate the ignorant.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jun 21st 2012, 11:01 AM

Anyone who has ever had any dealings with the Life Institute or Youth Defence will know that these people are simply about causing hurt and pain to women who have had abortions over the years.

Like many others I have real reservations about abortion ‘on demand’ but never would I go out of my way to try and inflict shame on people, which is clearly what’s happening here. Life Institute and Youth Defence are a dark reminder of the God-fearing Ireland from not so long ago but the best way to deal with them is ignore them. They are a divisive mob who thrive on negative publicity and conflict but if enough people ignore them they will crawl back under the rocks where they came from soon enough.

Mute G Charles Osborne
    Favourite G Charles Osborne
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:00 AM

Is this a matter for the Gardaí if I find the material obscene? If anyone at the Journal knows the appropriate place to make a formal complaint I would appreciate it if you could let me know. Thanks

Mute Liam Foley
    Favourite Liam Foley
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:42 AM

Abortion is a serious subject and no laughing matter. However, I do have to smile when I see defenders of freedom of choice etc go mental over this. It exposes people for what they are, narrow minded bigots, not interested in debate or discussion, wanting to crush all voices they do not agree with. There’s a word for that, …

Mute Matthew Kavanagh
    Favourite Matthew Kavanagh
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:15 AM

I’m pro choice, and I’m offended by this and other anti abortion protesting and public advertising because it is shoved down my throat! I don’t go around telling people that I think women should be allowed to get an abortion because that is my opinion, it is not everyone else’s opinion! On the flip side I should be able to use public transport and not have to be forced to see these ads that I wholeheartedly disagree with! Just as I wouldn’t expect anti abortion people to be forced to see ads promoting a woman’s choice!

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Favourite Stephanie Fleming
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:17 AM

Proof of Godwin’s law in 3…2…

Mute Sam Rhodes
    Favourite Sam Rhodes
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:24 AM

And how exactly are these posters promoting debate and discussion? They’re making a blanket statement aimed at making women feel guilt or anxiety over their choices. I don’t see how it’s promoting anything but shame.

Mute Aising Dalon
    Favourite Aising Dalon
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:27 AM

I think that’s a stretch, I haven’t seen one pro choice group argue with this ad with anything more than the legalities of the matter. In actuality I only see one person calling names here. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion on this matter an that’s fine, you won’t hear me complain. But the spreading of misinformation and the shaming of women (which is what this ad is ultimately tryin to do by the way, shame women in to making a decision that may not actually be their best option) is something that I do have a big problem with, a would anyone who believes in this democratic state. No One should be allowed to attempt to force decisions on anybody else, that’s what is undemocratic, not peacefully exploring the legal avenues for complaining about an advertising campaign that is designed to force decisions on to others.

Mute Itchy mcscratch
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:27 AM

Maybe pro choice should stick up pictures of suicide victims or children who have been neglected and abused and raped having been born to a woman who didn’t want that child?or a woman not being able to get an abortion and so distraught she tops herself? …..or would that offend you pro life people? It would??? But where’s freedom of speech gone?
    This is shoving guilt trips and manipulating women. Also,it isn’t fact filled,there’s a lot of opinion and misleading info here. Put your pro life energy into the children who are suffering in the world right now!

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:41 AM

We’re saying this should not be played out on a billboard, not “only one side should put this on a billboard”. See the difference?

Mute Jack Leahy
    Favourite Jack Leahy
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:43 AM

This isn’t an acceptable contribution to debate. We want debate on the legal, moral, ethical, and rights issues. Not billboards that blatantly lie. Grow up

Mute Sara Magee
    Favourite Sara Magee
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:53 AM

I was one of the 70 who compained to ASAI. My reasons for doing it are nothing to do with whether I am pro choice or pro life! It is about the messege it is giving out. It’s a fear tactic, designed to shame and gullt the women who have already made the decision. I don’t see how having that offensive campaign accross Dublin city is going to change the minds of women who are in a situation, instead once they have made the decison to have an abortion they will arrive back in Dublin only to see bilboards plastered on our streets reminding them that they made the wrong (pro life opinion) choice. No woman should be made to feel shamed and alienated.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:42 AM

All this campaign clearly shows is that this organisation cares very little about the feelings of women who may be having a hard time coping with their decision to have an abortion. It’s not going to stop women making that decision, it’s just meant to punish them afterwards.

Mute Cora Sherlock
    Favourite Cora Sherlock
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:50 AM

I’m not involved with the group that put up these billboards but it seems as if the ASAI are correct when they say that the content involves an expression of opinion on a matter of public interest. If we shut down every means of expressing an opinion contrary to the one that things abortion is something we should introduce into the country, then we’ll never have the kind of open debate that we all deserve.

Is it a graphic image? Well, the same could be said of the Pampers company which uses images of the unborn child in several of its ads, see here for eg – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KXRbV33J5qk&feature=autoplay&list=PL4FDE906A7D8F1C64&playnext=2

In the case of Pampers it is always used for commercial purposes but it doesn’t arouse the same ire.

Maybe the energy that is being spent on discussing and complaining about these ads would be better spent considering the message behind them. Does abortion have a negative effect on the women involved? Many post-abortive women would say that it does and it is their stories that really deserve our attention.

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:57 AM

Hi Cora, nnThat’s interesting though I believe the route to go down is that this ad. Demonises and promotes hate towards a marginalised minority group.

Mute Killian Spain
    Favourite Killian Spain
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:01 AM

Not saying that I agree or disagree with you Cora, but in fairness the billboard shows the picture torn, cutting off the fetus’ head. So its not really comparing like with like.

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:39 AM

“Does abortion have a negative effect on the women involved? Many post-abortive women would say that it does and it is their stories that really deserve our attention.” That is the only story being told. Without fail, the argument is always that women who are at peace with their decisions are already widely represented. I must have missed that billboard campaign.

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:45 AM

Sorry, Cora, unless you think for every one woman who regrets it, they should have the correlating 9 of women who are happy with it? I still disagree with you that this is an issue for a billboard, but if you’re intent on fair representation, that seems appropriate.

Mute Cora Sherlock
    Favourite Cora Sherlock
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:20 PM

I don’t agree with the use of graphic images, as I would hate to be responsible for causing any hurt or distress to a post-abortive woman who may see the picture in question.

I think that everyone who is commenting on these billboards is interested in the debate and it is a pity that we couldn’t re-direct that interest away from the current discussion, (centering around a group that has paid for advertisements in the same way as anyone can), and back to a calm and rational discussion about the issue of abortion itself.

I would repeat that we should really be thinking about whether there is any truth to the claim made – is it the case that abortion has a negative effect on women. As far as Nick’s comments go, I am absolutely happy to listen to post-abortive women who report no negative side-effects – and I’m delighted when that is the case. Why would any pro-life person not wish to see women recover in full from the arduous experience of an unplanned pregnancy which results in abortion?

But if we’re going to be serious about the issue, we need to consider the other side of the coin – that there are many women out there who have had abortions and do not feel that they have recovered. They deserve our attention too.

If the existence of these billboards can focus our minds on the lives that are affected by abortion – and not any discussion of freedom of speech, which doesn’t really matter to the woman in question – then something good will have come out of them.

Mute Pierre Teilhard
    Favourite Pierre Teilhard
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:22 PM

Cora Sherlock is the Deputy chair person of prolifecampaign ireland and has David Quinn listed as a friend
    she is on a first name basis with the people who made these adverts! so if you have any complaints please send them the Cora Sherlock.

Mute Pierre Teilhard
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:27 PM
    Mute Pierre Teilhard
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:33 PM

Need some more evidence? http://www.fma.ie/faith_in_media/2011/7/faithinmedia-9-7-2011.html please people if you have complaints Cora is right here to take them.

Mute Killian Spain
    Favourite Killian Spain
    Jun 21st 2012, 4:33 PM

On a related note, just because someone may be troubled/suffer anxiety/emotional after an event (i.e. abortion) doesn’t necessarily mean it was the wrong thing for them to do at that time. It is not a straigh forward yes/’no decision and is bound to be wrapped in emotions of all kinds

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Jun 21st 2012, 4:58 PM

Well, Cora, then obviously you disagree with this campaign as it fails to represent the diverse views of women, I just think it doesn’t belong on a billboard, but I assume we’ll both be complaining, right? This is an ad by a group which promotes links between abortion and breast cancer, after all.

Mute Cora Sherlock
    Favourite Cora Sherlock
    Jun 21st 2012, 5:37 PM

@Pierre –

I don’t think it would come to any great surprise to anyone interested in this debate that I’m the Deputy Chairperson of the Pro Life Campaign. I’ve never tried to hide the fact and I use my real name whenever I comment.

David Quinn is a friend of mine. He’s prolife. I have lots of friends who are prolife, prochoice, and many who really couldn’t care less. I’m not sure how this is relevant to be honest.

I write many articles on the subject. I also blog at the issue at http://www.thesherlocksoundbite.com and about non-abortion related matters at http://www.corasherlock.com. Again, it’s not really relevant.

I’m not involved in this billboard campaign so directing your complaints to me is not really going to have any effect. I’m only commenting on this story in the hope that the debate can be widened in the way it needs to be i.e. to consider all of the aspects that make up abortion and not just the ones that we’re used to hearing about. Like it or not, we need to consider whether abortion has a negative impact on women and this aspect cannot be brushed under the carpet.

Mute Pierre Teilhard
    Jun 21st 2012, 5:56 PM

Cora you all have the same backers the same shady groups you never reveal funding you, providing tens of thousands of euro to fund these posters, and funding the Iona institute.

Who pays for these?

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Jun 21st 2012, 11:57 PM

Discussing women who feel guilt and shame is fine, Cora, but the same discussion should be had about whether or not organisations like Youth Defence are the direct cause of such views.

Mute Sarah Cullington
    Favourite Sarah Cullington
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:43 AM

Campaigns like these are counterproductive serving only to further polarize opinion. I don’t for a second think that it will cause anyone who is pro-choice to change their mind and suddenly become pro-life. It simply makes it even more difficult to have a reasonable discussion as everyone becomes entrenched in their own position. The real issue of the women who should have governance of their own bodies becomes lost in emotion and posturing.

Mute AlMar
    Favourite AlMar
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:47 AM

A lot of people complain that debate and freedom of expression were restricted in Ireland in the first half of the last century.

And yet, the very same thing is happening here again, but this time from the other side of the ideological debate…

Mute Brendan Kelly
    Favourite Brendan Kelly
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:49 AM

Freedom of speech is not freedom of misrepresentation.

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:52 AM

People should not be allowed express racist, homophobic, sexist views and list goes on. People should be educated out of ignorance!!!!!!

Mute I love lamp
    Favourite I love lamp
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:33 AM

Bryan you’re starting to sound like Mr Jefferson out of South Park. “That’s ignorant”

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:36 AM

Never watched South Park I’m afraid Lamp :)

Mute Andrew Telford
    Favourite Andrew Telford
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:41 AM

I’ve already written to Luas complaining earlier in the week

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:49 AM

Thanks Andrew I’ve just done that now to.

Mute Andrew Telford
    Favourite Andrew Telford
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:13 PM

To whom it may concern,

You operate a great service and do the people of Dublin great pride with the level of professionalism in which you do so. I am disappointed that you choose to accept advertising compensation from organisations that aim to repress the reproductive rights of women in this country, to display their messages on my morning and evening commute. I understand that this is not a statement on the operating companies behalf or even an issue you feel you should be weighing in on, but perhaps you can forward this to the responsible individual with the message it makes me far less likely to support any of your other advertising clients and thus has a net negative influence on the value of your ancillary revenue proposition as far as this and perhaps other commuters are concerned.

Kind Regards,

Andrew

Mute Andrew Telford
    Favourite Andrew Telford
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:16 PM

Response…

Dear Andrew
    I am writing regarding your recent email concerning the recent advertising on Luas. Thank you for taking the time to write to us and giving us the opportunity to respond. Your case is reference number 210825. Please quote this number should you wish to contact us further.

I am sorry to hear that this advertising has caused you such upset. Your feedback and concerns have been sent to the appropriate department for consideration.

If there is anything further I can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Mute Cliff Grebouwski
    Favourite Cliff Grebouwski
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:40 PM

Interesting stuff, here’s the response i got from them:

“Before being posted on Luas this advertisement was checked with the Advertising Standards Authority for Ireland who advised that the advertisement was acceptable. It is clear that you do not agree with the advertisement and that you have strong views about certain groups and political positions etc and you are of course entitled to hold these views. However, we are not aware of any objective grounds on which the advertisement should be rejected and therefore do not agree that the advertisement should be disallowed, as you suggest.”

2 obvious problems:

1) The ASAI sent me a letter saying that the campaign falls outside of their remit- so Veoila’s claim that it was ok’d by them is clearly false.
    2) There is plenty of objective evidence that show’s the campaign is false (always a better way, most women regret their decision).

I am awaiting a response regarding the two issues…. nothing yet.

Mute Jack Leahy
    Favourite Jack Leahy
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:41 AM

Fiona’s full complaint is included here:

http://leahyja.wordpress.com/2012/06/20/advertise-your-respect-for-standards/

Sorry for the shameless self-plug, but it should answer the fairly ridiculous question as to what JCDecaux have done wrong.

They are complicit in whatever goes up on theor boards. It’s irresponsible to spread misinformation and emotional violence against women who have had or are considering an abortion.

Mute Cliff Grebouwski
    Favourite Cliff Grebouwski
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:30 AM

Wrote to Veolia to complain about the Luas campaign, they emailed me back specifically stating that the campaign had been cleared by the ASAI…..

Mute Thomas Fanning
    Favourite Thomas Fanning
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:46 PM

I’ve issues with the anti-choice campaigners referring to pro choice as “supporting abortions”. Pro choice is about a woman’s right to choose. It doesn’t mean we go around trying to abort every baby.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Jun 21st 2012, 8:59 PM

The decision of what to do with an unplanned pregnancy is one of the most intensely personal decisions any woman will ever make.

Whatever she chooses to do, I support her. That’s what pro choice means.
    If she decides to keep it – I support her.
    If she decides to put it up for adoption – I support her.
    If she decides to terminate – I support her.
    Most importantly, I do not judge her, I am not superior, I am in no position to do so. It’s her life, her body, and HER decision. As it would be mine if I were in that position.

For this reason I feel that these billboard and poster campaigns are inappropriate. There is a time and a place, and this is not it. A woman who finds herself with an unplanned pregnancy is going to consider all of her options, she will seek them out, the internet makes the sourcing if information infinitely easier, But she should arrive at her own decision, without pressure from any external force.

I can completely appreciate anyone who feels uncomfortable with the notion of abortion’s feelings, it’s not something I would ever like to have to consider myself (hence why I take the prevention route), but it is not my place to tell another woman whether she can or not.

This campaign is akin to shouting in her face. Telling her she should not even look at all of her options, implying that their way is the only way – no matter what the circumstance. I can only imagine what any woman who has had to terminate a dying foetus that she really wanted to give birth to, but couldn’t face carrying to term, must feel when faced with this. Or a rape victim who terminated the product of her ordeal.

The lack of a right to complain or reply is what I find most offensive. Freedom of speech doesn’t mean you get to say what you like and go unchallenged. It means that you take responsibility for your statement, defending or retracting it if necessary.

I assume this is all in aid of the impending findings from the panel charged with clearing up the legislation around the X Case et al?
    So why advertise to the public? The numbers of women going overseas to access abortion services has already reduced, and the expert panel are going to be making their decision as professionals, billboards and advertising will not (well, it shouldn’t!) affect their decision – so I fail to see the reasoning behind them..

My issue with them isn’t even that they are more pro life propaganda, it’s that this sort of issue does not belong in that medium. Some things are far too personal to be displayed so publicly.

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:32 PM

And that’s exactly right. My grandmother always said it just shouldn’t be a political issue. It should be something you discuss at home with your family and in your doctor’s office, rather than something which you use to score points.

Mute Suzanne Sheridan
    Favourite Suzanne Sheridan
    Jun 21st 2012, 12:45 PM

Saw this the other day, quite shocking

Mute Cyril Butler
    Favourite Cyril Butler
    Jun 21st 2012, 3:30 PM

While I am pro choice and pro reason I am also pro free speech. Liberals claiming offence is no better than religious conservatives claiming hurt and offence. While no doubt these ads will cause hurt to many people, being offended is a natural part of life. If we are to have a society that respects secularism and the free reproductive choices of women, I’m strongly of the view that it has to happen through dialogue. I think censorship should only happen if the subject matter poses a risk of actual violence and even at that it is often difficult to prove.

Mute Jack Leahy
    Favourite Jack Leahy
    Jun 21st 2012, 6:56 PM

Sorcha Windsor, so we all know, is a fake account made up to defend an anti-choice position anonymously. I said nothing sexist to her and my twittter feed is here for anyone to check. Master troll

Mute Lynda Murphy
    Favourite Lynda Murphy
    Jan 6th 2013, 3:22 AM

Any more detail on Sorcha Windsor, would be much appreciated. Lynda

Mute Simon Keegan
    Favourite Simon Keegan
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:21 PM

It is plain and simple BULLYING!
    I see men of the cloth standing out side a centre that helps women protesting about this issue, why the hell are they not in Rome kicking the pope in the nuts over his failure and the churches failure on abuse by priests (look at all the women that have had babies by priests) never mind the abuse of children.

The people who put these adds up are shallow selfish and brainwashed idiots!

Mute Dee Gorman
    Favourite Dee Gorman
    Jun 21st 2012, 7:46 PM

Ah, since when did women’s bodies become ‘public interest’?

Why are the crazies allowed billboard space? Will this open the door for loads of other crazies? DEATH TO *FILL IN SOMEONE YOU WOULD LIKE TO INTIMIDATE HERE* posters popping up places, I wonder would they last long…

The fundamental lack of conscientiousness behind these advertisements sicken me. YD, I hope when you grow up/grow a concious/finally start actually listening to your female (and male) friends instead of preaching at them about your opinion you will understand life and all its complications instead of loudly judging people.

Mute Dylan Murtagh
    Favourite Dylan Murtagh
    Jun 21st 2012, 4:36 PM

Abortions for all.

Mute Jim Healy
    Favourite Jim Healy
    Jun 21st 2012, 2:48 PM

I normally wouldn’t be in favour of vandalism, but in this case…

http://youtu.be/UmArfH3F398

Mute Paul O'Brien
    Favourite Paul O'Brien
    Jun 23rd 2012, 11:24 AM

The remedy for speech you don’t like is more speech, not censorship. When you can’t publish something because it might offend the prevailing consensus (whatever the consensus might be) then you’ve lost your freedom.

Mute Dee Gorman
    Favourite Dee Gorman
    Jun 21st 2012, 7:50 PM
    Mute Dee Gorman
    Favourite Dee Gorman
    Jun 21st 2012, 7:49 PM

Also, where are all the ‘pro-lifer’ on this one – why haven’t they been raising money from unknown sources to help children like those discussed in this shocking report.
    pro-life my @rse. pro-the-sound-of-their-own-voice more like..

Mute Colm Flaherty
    Favourite Colm Flaherty
    Jun 28th 2012, 9:01 AM

Having these ads everywhere reminds me of being in a police state. I have to say, I think that censorship of big banner ads like this would be a g