You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A U.S. Army UH-60 Black Hawk helicopter crew chief assigned to Task Force Griffin, 16th Combat Aviation Brigade in Kunduz. Brian Harris/AP Photo

Thousands of US troops could be headed for Afghanistan after Trump decision

Under Barack Obama, troop levels in Afghanistan, Iraq and Syria were closely managed by the White House.

PRESIDENT DONALD TRUMP has granted the Pentagon authority to set troop levels in Afghanistan, a US official said last night, a move that could lead to the deployment of thousands more soldiers.

Speaking on condition of anonymity, the official told AFP that Pentagon chief Jim Mattis can now directly adjust troop numbers, though the official would not confirm whether a new “force management level” — currently at around 8,400 — had been finalised.

“The White House has done the same that it did with Iraq and Syria, which is to grant the secretary of defense the authority to set troop levels,” the official said, referring to recent adjustments Trump has approved for the fight against the Islamic State group in those two countries.

Under Barack Obama, troop levels in Afghanistan, Iraq and Syria were closely managed by the White House and commanders complained they felt shackled by the strictures.

The development came just hours after Mattis gave lengthy testimony to lawmakers, some of whom were exasperated at how long it has taken for Trump to come up with a new strategy in Afghanistan.

The official said the final decision to give Mattis the power to adjust troop levels actually came during his testimony, at which he said America still is “not winning” in Afghanistan.

The “Taliban had a good year last year, they are trying to have a good one this year,” Mattis told the Senate Armed Services Committee at a hearing about the Pentagon’s budget.

“Right now, I believe the enemy is surging.”

Invasion

Mattis’s latest assessment comes nearly 16 years after the US-led invasion of Afghanistan and amid a war that continues to claim the lives of US troops each year — and those of thousands of local forces and civilians.

US military commanders, who saw fragile security gains eroded under Obama-era troop drawdowns, have been pushing for a new strategy that could see thousands of additional soldiers deploy to Afghanistan to help train and advise beleaguered Afghan partners.

Media reports have said Mattis is considering asking for 3,000 to 5,000 additional US and NATO troops, but the defense chief has said little on the matter.

In February, General John Nicholson, who commands NATO forces in Afghanistan, warned that he needs “a few thousand” more troops to reverse what he called a stalemate.

Despite months of expectation that a full Afghanistan strategy announcement is imminent, Mattis said the new plans not be ready before mid-July.

Republican Senator John McCain, who chairs the Senate Armed Services Committee, voiced his “palpable” frustration.

“We’re now six months into this administration, we still haven’t got a strategy for Afghanistan,” McCain said, noting it was difficult to get behind an Afghanistan budget request without knowing what the plan is.

“We know what the strategy was for the last eight years: Don’t lose. That hasn’t worked.”

Mattis acknowledged the reality on the ground.

“We are not winning in Afghanistan right now. We will correct this as soon as possible,” he said.

© AFP 2017

Read: At least 30 injured as massive fire engulfs west London tower block

View 40 comments
40 Comments
    Mute AlanHarte
    Favourite AlanHarte
    Sep 24th 2014, 10:35 AM

“Many of the cases may ultimately end up being dismissed”, in other words many of the complaints are utter rubbish.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:17 PM

Nobody ever goes into the nuts and bolts of this stuff, most people reading this site are reading it on the fly on their tablet etc so only grab the basics. Being home sick I had the time to dig deeper when the last GSOC report came out, and despite the alarmist headline, when you look into the nuts and bolts, it’s actually good news.

GSOC found most of the complaints ”bogus”, and as for the ones considered real, only a small % of them were things like assaulting a citizen. The biggest category of complaints was ”discourtesy” which basically means they were not polite to you. Don’t get me wrong…I want them to be polite and remember they work for us not the other way around, but if this is the biggest problem, were doing quite well.
    Compare our situation to the United States:
    -There have now been several incidents this year where the person who called 911 ended up being shot by the police
    -The police regularly shoot unarmed people, in the Fergason case when they had their hands in the air OR shoot people on their own property who are not committing a crime.
    -We don’t have anything like the NYPD’s random stop and frisk system, they have to have reasonable suspicion to search you here, and generally they do it in a respectful way as opposed to the NYPD who drag you aside and slam you against a wall kicking your feet apart.
    -Even compared to the UK there has never even been a tragic error shooting like the Jean-Charles De Menendez killing.

…we have problems, Mayo, Donegal etc but were doing ok compared to most.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Sep 24th 2014, 1:14 PM

Here are the figures, summarized, for 2013:

5,883 complaints, of which….

-3,889 ”inadmissible” / bs / crank/ ”no further investigation necessary”

-1,376 Garda Commissionor or GSOC found no breach in discipline regulations

-307 ”allegation later withdrawn”

-124 ”complainant refused to further cooperate with investigation”

- (42)Referred to the DPP and (18) prosecuted

-17 Cautioned, 19 had a pay cut, 5 fined, 2 reprimanded and 49 given formal advice as to how to conduct a similar situation in the future differently.

…and so on so on..

*a lot of these are a misunderstanding of what social scientists call the ”monopoly on the legitimate use of force”, a monopoly held by the state, and the states actors (security services), they have to use proportionate force but yes they CAN hit you, people often assume the can’t and that leads to the complaint, but if you’re struggling against being arrested what are they meant to do?

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 1:34 PM

Ryan where did you get those stats from are they freely available??

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke
    Sep 24th 2014, 2:23 PM

CSO

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 11:14 AM

Every large organization will have 1 or 2 bad apples. That is inevitable due to human nature. But by far the overwhelming majority of Gardai are honest hard working decent people. And they are more disgusted by those who are corrupt than most civilians would ever be.
    Some of you on here hate the Gardai for a variety of reasons and no matter what anyone said or what evidence was produced to show what I have said above to be fact you would dismiss it. Because you have your own axe to grind and nothing will deter you from it.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:18 PM

I would tend to agree with you there Mick but the rank & file Garda have lost faith in the job .
    The very few bad apples are causing a ripple that is not going away.
    The public are loosing confidence as well.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:34 PM

Mike. All the services go through periods like that. Incompetent management has a way of destroying the moral of those on the front line. But all one can do is work through on and hope to eventually get to the other side.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:42 PM

Lets not be TOO generous either now…it’s more than 1-2 bad apples, it’s a sizable chunk of the force. Security, Military, Police, Politics all jobs with power attract a certain element of people who are in it for the power and no more noble a reason.
    They take advantage of wide ranging powers in the likes of the Misuse of Drugs Act or Public Order Act to abuse their power, and there is a code of the school yard thing where the other cops around them are not reigning them in, but they should. They don’t have to do it in front of the citizen but even alone in the patrol car they should say something to them. It does the rest of you no good to have this crowd giving you a bad reputation. One bad incident alone can poison someones mind against you, esp if they’re young, for the rest of their lives. You gotta remember when you are dealing with someone on the street you are dealing with a future or present voter you may even be dealing with a future cabinet minister in that kid you stop as he walks down the road. You want him as an ally in years to come not an enemy.

Mute Brian Keelty
    Favourite Brian Keelty
    Sep 24th 2014, 10:37 AM

And that of the 282 cases a grand total of ZERO will be prosecuted………… GSOC = Garda Síochána openly corrupt…….

Mute Paddy Mac
    Favourite Paddy Mac
    Sep 24th 2014, 10:42 AM

Pleb

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Sep 24th 2014, 10:55 AM

Seriously Brian, what age are you? There are many many cases of Guards prosecuted, fined, jailed and dismissed yet you put the word zero in capital letters!!! I hope for their sake you dont have children

See 64 more replies ▾
    Mute Mike Brennan
    Favourite Mike Brennan
    Sep 24th 2014, 11:01 AM

Idiot.

Mute royston T justice
    Favourite royston T justice
    Sep 24th 2014, 11:05 AM

..any auld c@nt can put in a complaint, from some nasty hag upset over a speeding ticket to some j@nkie caught shoplifting.. I wouldn’t be to concerned with the small number above..

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 11:32 AM

That could be true Royston but also it could be cases like the woman who was arrested in bray for peaceful protest against the water charges who was pulled to the ground with a knee in her back by two male Garda who refused to quote under what section she was being arrested under. She was handcuffed and led off to the station, where she was released 5mins after she got there with no charge. I know she issued a complaint there is a very vivid video of this on you-tube. I believe there was also a fairly good case for sexual assault against one of the garda captured on video.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 11:50 AM

Martin she was most likey arrested under Public Order. Just because she was arrested doesn’t necessarly mean she is going to get charged. Once back at the station the Gardai may have considered her calmed down and reasonable enough to release her.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 11:58 AM

Is peaceful protest to be considered a Public Order offence now Mick ? If calming her down was the goal surely trained officers could have done that in the street. I believe she was very calm until the Garda decided to arrest her, and of course it was under Public order that she was arrested but they have to inform her of that prior to her arrest but failed to do so.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:05 PM

Martin can we have the link to the video so we can judge for ourselves what her demeanour during the protest.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:07 PM

Ok Mick it will just take a few mins to dig it up. Back in a sec..

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:12 PM

There’s a very edited video on YouTube of the incident. I wonder if the complainant will be furnishing the full footage, including the device it was recorded on, to GSOC.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:17 PM
    Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:19 PM

The video was shared over 7,000 times meaning over 600,000 people saw it, its one of the reasons there is a huge increase in support for the Anti Water Campaign all over the country.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:20 PM

@ Royston I hope that you are not a serving member of the gardi like lots on this thread with that attitude towards the public.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:22 PM

Sandbag seem a very unedited video to me, do you not agree??

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:42 PM

Martin where is the video preceeding her arrest? What where actions leading up to it. All I see is someone resisting arrest and being abusive. Even in the video someone can be heard saying she is damaging someone’s car.
    So quite honestly Martin this video shows us nothing but an angry woman resisting arrest. It doesn’t show us why the Gardai intervened to arrest her in the first place. So this video does nothing to advance your argument.

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:55 PM

just watched the video the public order offence took place when garda got involved she was in her own neighbourhood at her own car. my judgement to heavy handed when asked numerous times what she was getting arrested for no reply. also one man asked for the guards numbers and was ignored. you are quite within your rights to have both questions answered on request. this only shows me the guards have no respect for the people they work for.

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:55 PM

Nothing shows her actions prior to her arrest. Just shows from when the arrest happened, no reason why, as the video is edited. Inconclusive at best. And in terms of force, the appropriate amount for resisting arrest appears to have been used. No baton strikes, peppar spray, minimum force

Mute Dan public
    Favourite Dan public
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:56 PM

Is that you Boylan how’s the new lorry going

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Sep 24th 2014, 1:02 PM

You know what I love…science…facts…math…they cut through all the prejudice, assumptions, propaganda and lies and just give you REALITY.

In 2013 GSOC 18 Garda officers were prosecuted by the DPP

Now if you’re intellectually honest, you will be happy to be mistaken..

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 1:07 PM

Mick watch it again without the Garda perspective, she doesn’t shout or get angry until the Gardai start to arrest her. The car is her neighbours and they are talking about the Garda damaging it by pushing her up against it. You have said that she was probably arrested under the Public order act, then why are the Gardaí not informing her of that. They get plenty of reminders from her. If you dismiss this as easy as that, it makes me worry about the force and your attitude to the public. There are going to be a huge and I mean huge amount of peaceful protest in the coming weeks and months and we the non criminal citizens with zero records or charge sheets to our name will be on the streets protesting Irish Water. And we will be relying on the men and women wearing our Garda uniform to protect our right to do so.

Finally why are the Gardaí taking photos of innocent peaceful protesters who have no history of ever breaking the law in their entre lives.? Surely not for creating political dossiers I’m mean that’s not the job of the Police in a Republic , maybe in China or Russia but not in Ireland. Its time our Garda questioned the motives of the people at the top and decide if they are on the side of law and order or on the side of the corporates come hell or high water.

You are our Garda our family members our friends not their thugs.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 1:29 PM

Again Martin what was the reason that the Gardai arrested her for in the first place?
    They just didn’t arrive and go “eny meny miny mo we will arrest that one”. She must have been acting in a manner that gave rise to her arrest.
    Was she obstructing the meter fitters? Was she causing a public nusence? The video shows us nothing nothing prior to the Gardai intervening.
    And the Gardai followed procedure in a dealing with someone resisting arrest. There was no excessive force used. She was restrained and cuffed using the minimum force necessary.
    As for the Gardai answering the man about their numbers as we can see from the video they were otherwise occupied. And their numbers are visible on their shoulders.

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 1:29 PM

Where is the full video. The video is purely propaganda, look at how the poor thing is being arrested. We have no idea what she has done. And you can clearly here the Garda saying to her she has been told why she is being arrested. There is no obligation on the Gardaí to constantly tell her why she is being arrested, especially when she is resisting arrest.

Martin, how do you know that all the protestors have no history of breaking the law?

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 1:50 PM

Mick you tell me why she was arrested?? what crimes do you see her committing. What do you mean was she obstructing the meter fitters she has a right to be on that footpath the same as they do. These protestors are not covered by Mr Justice Patrick McCarthy injunction so they had a right to stand where they wanted. I have no problems with the numbers on their shoulders I never mentioned it.

“There was no excessive force used. She was restrained and cuffed using the minimum force necessary.”

Since when is the norm under minum force for a male Garda to grab a woman’s boob and leave your hand there. She was already handcuffed when that occurred.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 2:01 PM

@John I’m not interested in talking with Irish Water employees ..Cheers!

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 2:04 PM

Ah Martin, back with the failed insults…

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 2:07 PM

Mick, I don’t think Martin can provide the original video of the full events of the arrest… I can only assume that is because it would not help their cause…

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 2:23 PM

Martin. As I wasn’t there to see why she was arrested I am unable to answer your question.
    But it was you that raised this video to support your argument but yet you are unable to tell us what caused the Gardai to arrest her in the first place.
    You would have us believe that the video just began as she was being arrested!! I and most others on here are not that gullible to believe that is the case. I am sure that if the complete video were to be shown it would put an entirely different spin on the story. And I am sure you know that yourself. But because it is not a narrative that arguments your argument you choose to disregard it.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 2:37 PM

Mick I can only comment on what can be seen in the video also which your admitting by saying that you think there is a longer version that the longer version would vindicate the Garda suggesting you think they have questions to answer for what can be seen. I agree with you what can be seen here suggests the lady (Sharon Briggs) was unlawfully arrested and without a doubt man handled if not actually sexually assaulted .If a longer version does exist I would love to see it , I have contacted the lady herself via Facebook to get answers and am waiting for her to get back to me. Maybe she will come on here and explain to all the Garda on here what actually happen that’s if shes allowed to given that legal proceedings are taking place.

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 2:49 PM

Sandbag, valid questions…

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 2:51 PM

I don’t see an unlawful arrest in the video, I do however see a woman resisting arrest…

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:03 PM

Martin would you care to point out where I said or even implied that she was illegally arrested?
    As I have repeatedly asked you what did she do to cause the Gardai to arrest her. As of yet you nor anyone else has answered that question and neither does the video you have produced answer that question. And as you have admitted you were not there either so you are attempting to base your argument on a video that appears to have been edited to suit a certain narrative. .
    As for the so called “Sexual Assault” You will notice that the Officers arm was caught between the suspects own arm and torso due to her struggling with the Gardai.

And as for her version do you not think that she is gong to try and tell us that she was just standing minding her own business and the Gardai arrested her for absolutely no reason.

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:08 PM

Good points Mick.. The video only show the part of the story that its maker wanted us to see…

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:12 PM

And Martin as this is a quote by you from your own FB page. I will give people a perspective as to your way of thinking.
    “We need to set up a counter security group to deal with the thugs and criminals that will be hired by our corporate state.”
    So you want to set up an a group to resist the legally employed and licensed security officers that are there to protect water fitters from harassment in doing their jobs.

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:16 PM

Mick, not too long ago Martin compared himself to Abe Lincoln, so I can only assume from that and you post, Martin want to start a civil war… be because there isn’t any slaves for him to save…

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:20 PM

But Mike, she was there and could produce other videos of the event or know if they exist Irish water guys have mobile phones. They are always filming protesters where is their videos surely they would have released a video that showed the beginning of the arrest if showed her being abusive to the Gardai or similar carry on. Irish water have employed a group called GuardEx Limited which had been engaged to survey and film all the protests and to identify the primary protesters. They were present where is their videos that vindicate the Gardaí.

I know Garda on here are standing up for their colleagues but a some stage, the action of the Gardaí toward peaceful protesters needs to be looked at. People who would have never questioned the Garda are now scrutinising their actions daily and losing trust in a body we all grew up trusting we could turn to when we were wronged. Its no longer the case for growing percentage of the population. Particularly when like the church you circle the wagons to protect your own when they have done wrong.

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:23 PM

Did she not damage a car with a barrier Martin? Plus she resisted so are the Garda supposed to give her a hug?

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:23 PM

Back to sitting on your yellow helmet John boy until your moved on to the next estate that refuses to buy what you peddling.

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:25 PM

Ah Gerard, she wouldn’t have damaged the car if the barrier wasn’t there…

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:27 PM

It was her friends/neighbour’s car Gerard the owner can be heard stating that in support.. So hardly an issue.

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:35 PM

It’s an issue if the car was damaged, if sure you’d be annoyed if it was your car. One sided video if ever I’ve seen one.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:35 PM

Again Martin her version would not be neutral. The FULL video footage of what lead up to her arrest would. But the person that posted the video did so to push a particular narrative and not to show the full truth of what happened.

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:41 PM

The car owner even said the car was damaged on the video and she would be looking for compensation…

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:49 PM

Neither me or you know if the video was edited it suits your thesis to assume it was edited, by edited I presume you mean the beginning was cut out. If it was and she was abusive or aggressive I would agree that Gardaí did nothing wrong. I would like to see the videos of the Irish Water workers and GaurdEx made you have to admit if one existed that vindicated the Garda it would already be doing the rounds. So the evidence is on her side as it stands. An the complaint stands until one shows up.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:57 PM

Geard given it was the Gardai pushing the woman up against her friends car, I think if she was claiming damage it would be against the Garda and not her friend. If you think differently I would advise you to get new friends.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 4:06 PM

Martin. It is painfully obvious the video has been edited. All you have to do is look at the poster “Dublin says no”. A water protester to see what narrative attempting to be pushed
    It reminds me of the anti globalisation protests in Seattle a few years ago. The protesters posted a video of Police arresting seemingly peaceful protesters. That was until the Police posted their own video showing the full facts. Where it had shown those same “peaceful protesters pulling a bicycle cop off his bike and attacking him. Both videos when show were taken at the same time but from different angles but the protesters video was shown to be missing the first 5 mins when posted.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 4:18 PM

Mick to be fair you make a lot of sense most of the time, but speaking as someone with a background in media commutations its painfully obvious to me and anyone used to video editing that this video runs smoothly uninterrupted by jumps or light changes from beginning to end. It is only possible that beginning was cut but after that there was absolutely no editing whatsoever.

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 4:35 PM

If the beginning was cut…. that was editing…

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 4:42 PM

Thanks for agreeing with against Micks argument that’s what I said the only possibly place it could be, if there was one that is, otherwise it untouched.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 5:16 PM

Martin if you know about editing then you will now that if the beginning of the video was removed it would not affect the rest of the video. Nobody has claimed that video was spliced just that the events leading to her arrest were not included in the posting. The video has no fumbling or adjusting from the start of what we have seen, It cuts straight to her arrest at the car. That suggests to me that the video was already running and those that posted the video did not want to show what lead up to her arrest.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 7:56 PM

Then Mick I don’t know what you have been on about regarding editing the because that’s just what I said, the only possible place an edit could have been was at the beginning. But you suggested otherwise on your post below:

It is painfully obvious the video has been edited. All you have to do is look at the poster “Dublin says no”. A water protester to see what narrative attempting to be pushed

Here your are suggesting manipulation of some sort has taken place….. Its a film of a water protest of course it will contain water protest posters and t-shirts so I don’t know where your going with this line of argument.

I have been saying from the start if you care to look back at my posts that if there was an edit It could only be at the beginning. So you did not respond to my quire regarding the water workers videos or IW surveillance team GuardEx Limited and their lack of counter videos.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 8:09 PM

Martin. To change or remove ANY part of the video is to edit it. You that claims to know about editing should know that.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 8:21 PM

Martin. You first mentioned editing to sandbag by denying the video was edited at all. Then you go on to say that believing that it was edited suits my thesis therefore attempting to cast doubt that the video was cut.
    You have tried and failed to misrepresent what I have said. when you claimed that I had agreed with you about her being arrested illegally. And when I asked you to point out anywhere I had agreed with you. You declined to answer.
    So as the saying goes. If you find yourself in a hole. Stop digging.
    Your argument has been utterly destroyed.

Mute AlanHarte
    Favourite AlanHarte
    Sep 24th 2014, 8:28 PM

Should the Gardaí have stopped what they were doing here, while this woman was clearly resisting arrest, to engage in dialogue about what section of the law she was being arrested under to satisfy everyone present? Those guards were remarkably calm and restrained from what I can see, and in the midst of a crowd obviously hostile to them. That woman and some of her mates were doing their best to escalate things. If you are not happy with being arrested it’s an issue to make a fuss about afterwards, not as the arrest is taking place.

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 8:28 PM

Hey Mick, I believe that what is commonly referred to as a SLAM DUNK…

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 8:32 PM

Ah now Alan, there are a few here who would only be happy if the Gardaí had whipped out their battons and turned them on the contractors….

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 8:45 PM

I also find it very interesting that there are people here giving out about a woman being arrested, but when a protestor pulls an imitation firearm and threatens an Irish Water sub contractor, they stay very quiet. Their silence would lead me to believe they condone that protestors actions…

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 8:46 PM

Mick I don’t just claim, it Its my business I edit Mpeg’s Avi’s, Flv’s for teaching tools and e-learning solutions every day of the week. So we can dispense with the claim scenario.

Why are you getting so angry surely your Templemore training teaches you to covey your point without losing your temper. I have said continually If there was a possibility at all about the video being edited it was at the beginning. But made it quite clear I did not believe it to be edited myself.

You have failed to display any evidence that this video was edited its pure hearsay perhaps its the lack of any supporting videos from the IW people that is getting you heated it seems.

you said :

Martin where is the video preceding her arrest?

You are the one that suggests one exists therefore the burden of proof is on you. Indeed where is it? given the amount of Irish water works present and their phones were no doubt present. One would have to draw the conclusion that if one exists they do nothing to further your argument but rather the reverse.

The woman made a complaint based on this video it still stands, that might gall you Mick for whatever reason you guys like I said before just like the church you circle the wagons when wrong doing appears to have taken place by one of your own. But they have a question to answer and whether you like it or not you guys are subject to the law just like the rest of us.

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 9:08 PM

Ah here we go, disagree with Martin and he’ll magically work out where you work based on what organisation he is trying to bash… Think I’ll go wash my car for a third time today, all this free water is great…

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 9:27 PM

John sorry to burst your bubble but your motor Tax was increased on your car as was your VAT on the petrol that you put in it to specifically to pay for your water. 1.6 billion a year 600 per house per anum and it will continue even with your company’s bills coming in the door. If you already knew that I’m surprised you are so willing to pay the guts of a grand for the same service. I have a few bills you can pay for me if you are so eager to pay money you don’t owe.

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 24th 2014, 9:31 PM

I don’t use petrol, and the pittance I pay in road tax… bring it on…

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 9:40 PM

Grand I’ll forward a few of my bills and you can take care of them…..Cheers John

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Sep 24th 2014, 10:15 PM

Martin you are assuming I am a member of the Gardai. I am not nor have I ever claimed to be. And you did not “continually” say anything about the video being edited from the beginning .
    1) You said to sandbag. “Sandbag seem a very unedited video to me, do you not agree”
    2)You try cast doubt on the video being edited by saying ” Neither me or you know if the video was edited it suits your thesis to assume it was edited, by edited I presume you mean the beginning was cut out.”.
    3)You try differentiate being cut and spliced together and the removal of a portion of the beginning of the video. As if one was editing and one was not. ” It is only possible that beginning was cut but after that there was absolutely no editing whatsoever”
    4)I asked you to show where I had agreed with your interpretation of the video. when you made this statement. ” I agree with you what can be seen here suggests the lady (Sharon Briggs) was unlawfully arrested and without a doubt man handled if not actually sexually assaulted”
    And as yet you have singularly ignored/declined to answer my question.

You have tied yourself in knots trying to squirm out of your original position on a video you introduced to back up your own argument. Something that has blown up in your face.

Mute skoda
    Favourite skoda
    Sep 25th 2014, 11:44 AM

HARASSMENT.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 26th 2014, 10:50 PM

You are confused as feck Mick. Maybe I should break it down for you.

[1] Did you or didn’t you suggest there was a longer version of the video ….Answer = Yes
    Then its safe to say you think Sharon done something to warrant that treatment in that longer video……Answer Yes

[2] Isn’t it safe to say also then based on that admission by that you in yours comments, that you must think these Gardaí are arresting for her no apparent reason based on what you see in the existing video, else why say you think the video was edited…….Answer Yes

[3] Isn’t it the case that despite the presence of IW workers and their cameras no other footage of the arrest has come forth to prove Sharon done anything to warrant being arrested, Therefore mustn’t we base our opinion solely on what we see and not on hearsay ……Answer of course is Yes

[4] Given those Facts and they are FACTS Mick. Isn’t it he case that your argument is as you put it is utterly destroyed…….Answer Yes.

I Thhhhhhhhank youuuuuuuuu.

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Sep 26th 2014, 11:01 PM

Ah Mick, what did you do to warrant a ticking of 48 hours after your last comment.. Wow.. now that is impressive…

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 26th 2014, 11:51 PM

In Canada John at the moment, I know your not the brightest but that’s far away and ye can’t get there without getting in big planes and spending a lot of time in them, We don’t all have the whole day to spend on your phone waiting for Dennis O’Brien’s Garda to push teachers and doctors and taxi drivers out of the way so you can did your holes.

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Sep 24th 2014, 10:48 AM

A job for life nothing will happen them, the ombudsman just sends out a letter that everyone gets who makes a complaint just changes address on top thats it sickening but true..

Mute esos resiak
    Favourite esos resiak
    Sep 24th 2014, 1:04 PM

Ah God Bless the Journal!
    My day wouldn’t be the same without at least one article of an afternoon about the Gardai or dept of Justice.

Imagine it was regular articles about misconduct within Dublin bus, Taxi drivers, or some other public service. It would be so boring

Keep up the informative, accurate and impartial journalism

Mute Jason Maguire
    Favourite Jason Maguire
    Sep 24th 2014, 1:38 PM

The difference is that taxi drivers, bus drivers etc don’t have stop and arrest powers. Our police force is there for OUR protection and well being, and the vast majority of its members do an excellent job. Officers with legal status such as police are of necessity held to a higher standard than regular citizens and their shortcomings should be exposed.

Mute Catherine Hayward
    Favourite Catherine Hayward
    Sep 24th 2014, 10:48 AM

Agree with you Brian, corrupt for sure, wonder will it matter what Maurice Mc Cabe says the whole thing is shocking….

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 11:06 AM

Seems to be so far Paddy !!

Mute HelloGoogleTracking!
    Favourite HelloGoogleTracking!
    Sep 24th 2014, 11:07 AM

He has been proven to be honest and his allegations in other areas upheld, all in the face of severe Garda intimidation from the highest level and colleagues.

Whereas the commissioner and minister have been proven to be disingenuous and obstructing…….
    I would have a lot more confidence in McCabe than the cover up brigade.

Mute Brian Leddin
    Favourite Brian Leddin
    Sep 24th 2014, 1:51 PM

Maurice McCabe has been vindicated by pretty much everybody with any bit of decency and sense. Except of course by the rank and file browsing thejournal.ie on their smart phones.

Mute Brian Flynn
    Favourite Brian Flynn
    Sep 24th 2014, 2:22 PM

Martin you could get a job with GSOC. They’d like you a lot.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Sep 24th 2014, 8:21 PM

Thanks Brian I must apply.

Mute Joe McKenna
    Favourite Joe McKenna
    Sep 24th 2014, 1:01 PM

My recent Garda experiences have done very little in the way of ensuring confidence. Had my front window smashed, caught the guy, got his address, phone number and name. Then received a letter telling me that the investigation would take some time. Yes, it would take some time for them to find the guy I caught and who’s details I gave them. Never heard another word since. So with that in mind I do expect that many of these complaints will be thrown out or lost deep, deep in the mire of Garda ineptitude.

Mute Hill 16
    Favourite Hill 16
    Sep 24th 2014, 1:18 PM

And hundreds more which are hushed up

Mute martin stewart
    Favourite martin stewart
    Sep 24th 2014, 11:19 AM

282 cases over what period & where’s the majority of complaints from
    Population counts & daily or nightly times ,all complaints must be addressed otherwise your have breakdown in community relationes & cooperation policing is a difficult job & has a lot of unseen revengefully actiones Yes because of some rebel members type actions which create complaints which in turn stains the better part of the force all in all we have a great police force we should be proud of at least you can communicate your problems & as well somebody to attend to them.whether there dismissed or not .stress is all parts of the community but can always be solucioned through delegation thus avoiding unnecessary conflict .

Mute Dan public
    Favourite Dan public
    Sep 24th 2014, 12:10 PM

Some are years old because they were never investigated properly like Kevin Tracy Daniel Gallagher and loads more

Mute HelloGoogleTracking!
    Favourite HelloGoogleTracking!
    Sep 24th 2014, 1:10 PM

Surprisingly high???????

Says who?
    That seems surprisingly low to me, with what we know about the closed shop nature, and regular abuse of garda powers.
    Simply look at any videos from the shell to sea protests, and obvious garda brutality can be seen by all.
    What they do when the camera isn’t running is worse.

Tip of the iceberg, people have no confidence in the system of investigation, and fear more reprisals from the gardai if complaints are made.

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Favourite Snorre Sturleson
    Sep 24th 2014, 3:18 PM

She pointed out, however, that despite the surprisingly high number, many of the cases may ultimately end up being “suppressed”. …
    Man thats a lot of naughty members, 2.5 in every hundred bent and no doubt a conservative figure as they rarely arrest a “member”…….see whistleblowers for full cover up!

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Sep 24th 2014, 5:27 PM

More sound bytes from a broken system. All these people are doing is rattling off meaningless statistics to look as though something is happening.

Mute Dawn Keeballs
    Favourite Dawn Keeballs
    Sep 24th 2014, 1:59 PM

Does this article not just relate to the information on misconduct that was handed over by Sgt McCabe and other concerned parties.

People are confusing it with the number of GSOC complaints