You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Irish troops serving with the United Nations Interim Force Lebanon (file photo) Alamy Stock Photo

US political advisor steps down after calling for Israel to 'drop napalm' on Irish peacekeepers

In a statement issued today, Al-Aquidi apologised to the people of Ireland.

A FORMER TRUMP administrative advisor has resigned from his position as an advisor for a Congressional candidate’s campaign in the fallout from a post to X he made last week calling for Israel to “drop napalm” over Irish peacekeepers in Lebanon. 

Republican candidate for Congress, Dalia Al-Aquidi, stated that she “unequivocally condemn[s]” her former advisor’s post on X on Sunday. 

Matthew RJ Brodsky had previously advised Trump administration’s Middle East peace team and the White House’s Palestinian-Israeli peace team. On Sunday, he posted to X, saying: “Israel should carpet bomb the Irish area and drop napalm over it”. 

Irish troops are deployed to the area under UNIFIL, the United Nations Interim Force in Lebanon. UNIFIL is Ireland’s largest overseas deployment as part of a joint Irish and Polish Battalion, including a contingent from Hungary and Malta.

The mission was established through a United Nations Security Council resolution that was passed to compel Israel to withdraw from Lebanon in the wake of their 1978 invasion of the country.

At the time of the post, Brodsky was working as an advisor for two Republican candidates for Congress: Al-Aquidi and John Nagel.

original X X

In a statement issued today, Al-Aquidi said that her campaign had requested and accepted Brodsky’s resignation as campaign manager.

“Mr. Brodsky recognized that stepping down was necessary following recent statements on X that do not reflect my values or the principles of my campaign,” she said. “I unequivocally condemn his statement.

I personally extend my sincerest apologies to the people of Ireland and anyone affected by the actions of a member of my campaign team.”

“As someone who has always been a steadfast supporter of the Jewish community both in my district and globally, I remain committed to promoting peace and upholding the dignity of all people, particularly our allies. These are the values I will carry forward into the general election.”

In the immediate aftermath of the comment, Al-Aquidi had distanced herself from Brodsky’s comment, on Monday saying: “I want to clarify that the statement below does not reflect my campaign, policies, or personal beliefs. I stand firmly against all forms of violence.”

John Nagel, whom Brodsky is advising in the election for the US Congress in Minnesota, has yet to comment. Nagel is an outspoken supporter of Israel and is strongly critical of Kamala Harris, Tim Walz, and Joe Biden.

Irish response

Speaking yesterday in Washington DC, Taoiseach Simon Harris condemned Brodsky’s remark as “the most disgusting thing”. 

Harris added that the statement was “entirely inappropriate” and “pretty despicable”.

Our peacekeepers are doing an extraordinary job, and have been for many decades. I think everybody in Ireland is very proud of them.

Harris said it has been a particularly difficult week for Irish peacekeepers in Lebanon – and their families back home – given the recent escalation in violence near their base.

“It was a moment of significant danger, and that danger persists. Families of peacekeepers are understandably concerned and stressed, as any of us would be if our loved one was in Lebanon at the moment.”

With reporting by Christina Finn.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 53 comments
53 Comments
    Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Nov 22nd 2020, 1:39 PM

Paul Murphy being as constructive as ever. Serial protester, no useful solutions ever. Stealing a living.

Mute Anto Curran
    Favourite Anto Curran
    Nov 22nd 2020, 2:07 PM

@Mark: I’ll have “What is a waste of Dáil time” for 200 Alec

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Nov 22nd 2020, 2:23 PM

@Mark: Why should he have solutions, he is not in Government. Saying that, Government TD’s are receiving large salaries to come up with solutions, are you saying they are unable to do their job?

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 22nd 2020, 2:30 PM

@Mark: Why? As a T.D. in opposition as any opposition party they are obliged to hold the government to account. When F.F. were the main opposition they questioned the appointment of Marie Whelan, which they conveniently forget . The only problem was F.F. were in opposition they also kept Varadkars government in power. Now FFG/ Greens stumbling from one crisis to another.

Mute Phil Quinn
    Favourite Phil Quinn
    Nov 22nd 2020, 2:58 PM

@Mark: For once Paul Murphy is right. Cannot believe he is the only TD looking for this….if Woulfe stays in job when all have said he should resign its a two fingers to the country.
    If Govt are saying the structures are not there to remove him then they should be put in place.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Nov 22nd 2020, 3:02 PM

@Mark: Impeaching the judge not fit for purpose is the solution, it’s the most constructive thing anyone in the house could do.

Mute Patrick O Connell
    Favourite Patrick O Connell
    Nov 22nd 2020, 3:15 PM

@Jack Cass: and opposition TDs are on big salaries too

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Nov 22nd 2020, 4:11 PM

@Patrick O Connell: Glad you agree that Government TD’s can’t do their job despite the large salaries they receive.

Mute Alan Richard Scott
    Favourite Alan Richard Scott
    Nov 22nd 2020, 5:26 PM

@Mark: he’s a communist. This man hates those that do well for themselves and would tax them to the hilt. Sure he came from a very middle class family, he’s all for high taxes, high government spending, a wealth tax on those that keep this country floating and prosperous. A increase in the tax that multinational corporations pay, open borders, illegal immigration, carbon tax, basically more power to the government. PBP are a danger to this country.

Mute Paul Tennant
    Favourite Paul Tennant
    Nov 22nd 2020, 5:46 PM

@Mark: what’s that got to do with Seamus Woulfe’s appointment to the Supreme Court of Ireland ahead of three highly qualified Judges with a lifetime of experience.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 22nd 2020, 7:25 PM

@Alan Richard Scott: Think the likes of F.F./ Greens when last in power facilitated the banks and developers when they brought this country to it’s knees. FG/ Labour added to the mess . Now the combination of FFG/ Greens in power are the real danger to this country.

Mute Patrick O Connell
    Favourite Patrick O Connell
    Nov 22nd 2020, 7:36 PM

@Donal Desmond: FG/Labour got rid of the troika for starters

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 22nd 2020, 8:14 PM

@Patrick O Connell: Well that explains why our grandchildren will still be paying for the gangsterism of the banks and developers facilitated by politicians. The austerity imposed by FG.and fully supported by the so called Labour party . The likes of Alan Kelly who suddenly had a road to Damascus moment after the so called Labour party was all but wiped out. Hypocrisy at it’s best.

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Nov 23rd 2020, 3:39 PM

@Alan Richard Scott: complete and utter rant and nothing to do with the topic. “Hes a communist”….I mean really??? Is this 1950s America?

Mute Irish big fellow
    Favourite Irish big fellow
    Nov 22nd 2020, 1:45 PM

More waste of taxpayers money, MR Murphy and Mr Boyd Barrett. Of course you do not care, just looking for undeserved notice at all of our expense.
    Why not tackle something more serious like the bad public behavior of some of your constituents on the Luas and buses and make Dublin a safer place to live in.

Mute frank_1916
    Favourite frank_1916
    Nov 22nd 2020, 3:05 PM

@Irish big fellow: i always thought that would the job of garda and sitting government

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Nov 22nd 2020, 3:35 PM

@Irish big fellow: Now Now, How about the Jobstown protests —-He featured pretty well there!

Mute Dean
    Favourite Dean
    Nov 22nd 2020, 5:22 PM

@Irish big fellow:
    If you don’t like taxpayers money being wasted then you won’t like FG.

From the PSC cards, to water meters, voting machines, and the world’s most expensive hospital being built, no other party squandered so much of taxpayers money.

Mute Alan Richard Scott
    Favourite Alan Richard Scott
    Nov 22nd 2020, 5:28 PM

@Irish big fellow: in Fairness they were not all far left groups. Majority of them where far right Gemma D fans

Mute frank_1916
    Favourite frank_1916
    Nov 22nd 2020, 1:40 PM

the story that won’t go away and making politicians very uncomfortable

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Nov 22nd 2020, 6:50 PM

@frank_1916:

Yes – Michelle O’Neill in particular should be feeling the heat.

SF monster funerals at a time when people couldn’t attend the funeral of one of their parents is rightly sickening people.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Nov 23rd 2020, 1:25 AM

@Brinster: attendance had just changed to allow gatherings. Marshalling of the crowd that came despite discouragement was wise. Look at John Hume’s funeral where no marshalling occurred – bunching up everywhere. Also Garda funeral was crazy. Gotta be pragmatic

Mute Michael Killian
    Favourite Michael Killian
    Nov 22nd 2020, 2:26 PM

Mr Woulfe should resign and restore confidence in the judiciary and in his own honour. He’s clearly not welcome at the Supreme Court. Golfgate is one thing, mitigated by Ms Denham’s indulgent report, his attitude to his SC colleagues since then is what is more damning. His backdoor appointment doesn’t help. TDs may vote confidence in him, SC and public may disagree.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Nov 22nd 2020, 2:37 PM

@Michael Killian: If there was a vote of no confidence from the public I would imagine it would be for him to go.
    Let the Journal run a poll.

Mute Joe Steel
    Favourite Joe Steel
    Nov 22nd 2020, 4:37 PM

@Michael Killian: he new the rules and broke them loose him

Mute Mairtin Antaine O Conaill
    Favourite Mairtin Antaine O Conaill
    Nov 22nd 2020, 1:36 PM

Pandering and pat hetic. He can’t be forcibly removed. How many times does it need to be said. Whether we like it or not.

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Nov 22nd 2020, 1:39 PM

@Mairtin Antaine O Conaill: just throwing shapes to try to look relevant. Obviously missing their weekly parade to complain about all and sundry…

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 22nd 2020, 2:39 PM

@Paul Shepherd: The government are throwing enough shapes to bury this saga. Stumbling from one mess to another.

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Nov 22nd 2020, 2:43 PM

At least we don’t have to listen to Ruth Coppinger prattling on, now she’s gone back to her teaching job.

Mute Nigel Barlow
    Favourite Nigel Barlow
    Nov 22nd 2020, 3:01 PM

@Valthebear: oh was that kept open if she wasn’t re-elected ? I presume she didn’t benefit from a golden parachute payment?

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Nov 22nd 2020, 3:38 PM

@Valthebear: Jaysus –Is she allowed to teach children?

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    Nov 22nd 2020, 11:53 PM

@Valthebear: no she’s picketing Dublin Zoo to Close it

Mute Tim Quigley
    Favourite Tim Quigley
    Nov 22nd 2020, 4:02 PM

Paul Murphy who got Free Legal aid even though he gets an annual payment of 125,000 euro from the taxpayer. Good man Paul fair play alright.

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Nov 22nd 2020, 3:28 PM

I have no idea why this is still a discussion. He was aware of the restrictions at the time of the dinner and made up plenty of cover stories.

I’m sorry but JUDGE is definitive not the right job for a man low if character.

In fairness I’m actually surprised that there was no whole run down of attendees. People were told to stay put and not even visit loved ones on their dining bed but the ones trusted with running the countries made a mockery out of the whole restrictions.

Mute DB
    Favourite DB
    Nov 22nd 2020, 3:56 PM

No fan of Murphy .. but anything that keeps this in the public eye for me won’t be bad . We can’t get rid of a judge in this country . It’s like a throwback to 1950s Ireland.

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Nov 22nd 2020, 6:37 PM

@DB:
    Or last year!

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Nov 23rd 2020, 1:07 PM

@DB: “We can’t get rid of a judge in this country”

We certainly can but the establishment don’t want to go down that road.
    Accountability is the dirtiest word in the dictionary to these chancers.
    This would set a precedent and the electorate might expect more of the same in future.

Mute The Alchemist's Head
    Favourite The Alchemist's Head
    Nov 22nd 2020, 1:47 PM

Definitely ‘crying Woulfe’ with this gesture. If you keep on doing that sort of thing eventually no one will believe anything you say! Not a good idea especially in politics where few believe anything that’s said anyway. Lots of bark but no bite…

Mute Gerry Kennedy
    Favourite Gerry Kennedy
    Nov 22nd 2020, 6:59 PM

@The Alchemist’s Head: in fairness most sensible people never believe anything he says anyway

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Nov 22nd 2020, 2:00 PM

Murphy claims to be on the side of social justice. But is happy to witness hundreds of thousands been put out of work made unemployed or put on PUP payment based on guesswork medieval pseudo science. Shutdowns that don’t reduce deaths from viruses and simply make poor people poorer at the hands of those who are fully paid and fully employed, including Murphy himself.
    Murphy has a loud voice here when it comes to virtue signaling. Woulfe and RTEs staff were doing normal things and that is not the crime, but they advocate along with Murphy shutdowns that impose dictatorial guidelines on the public and as such they as hypocritical as Murphy.

Mute Lorcán Coyle
    Favourite Lorcán Coyle
    Nov 22nd 2020, 2:22 PM

@Joeohah: Medieval pseudo science. I think those combinations of words deserve a greater explanation.

Mute The Guy is Here
    Favourite The Guy is Here
    Nov 22nd 2020, 2:23 PM

@Joeohah: while the lockdown isn’t proving to the most effective and long term solution, especially with regards to wellbeing and economics. You’re still very cringe and uninformed.

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Nov 22nd 2020, 3:42 PM

@The Guy is Here:
    You have no idea how I’ll inform you are.

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Nov 22nd 2020, 7:34 PM

@The Guy is Here:

Covid-19 Mortality: A Matter of Vulnerability Among Nations Facing Limited Margins of Adaptation

Results: Higher Covid death rates are observed in the [25/65°] latitude and in the [−35/−125°] longitude ranges. The national criteria most associated with death rate are life expectancy and its slowdown, public health context (metabolic and non-communicable diseases (NCD) burden vs. infectious diseases prevalence), economy (growth national product, financial support), and environment (temperature, ultra-violet index). *Stringency of the measures settled to fight pandemia, including lockdown, did not appear to be linked with death rate*

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Nov 22nd 2020, 7:51 PM

@Lorcán Coyle:
    Maybe you can research closing the castle gate when the flea is inside – bubonic plague/black death Shakespeare’s is said to have written King Lear during a shutdown.

Mute New World Order
    Favourite New World Order
    Nov 22nd 2020, 5:03 PM

The man wolf is safe, after all he a member of fine gael

Mute Declan Sweeney
    Favourite Declan Sweeney
    Nov 22nd 2020, 2:22 PM

They are in a minority, in a leaders meeting and in the Dail the majority of the TD’s who spoke was against going against Woulfe, so it will be interesting will they get any support from the left like Lab., SD, SF.

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Nov 22nd 2020, 3:12 PM

So SF now think the judge did no wrong??????????!!!!

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Nov 22nd 2020, 4:13 PM

Mr Murphy as a total waste of space!!

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Nov 22nd 2020, 3:43 PM

So SF now think the judge did no wrong???????!

Mute Billy Walsh
    Favourite Billy Walsh
    Nov 22nd 2020, 4:33 PM

Total waste of time!

Mute frank_1916
    Favourite frank_1916
    Nov 22nd 2020, 1:38 PM

the story that qigong away

Mute The Alchemist's Head
    Favourite The Alchemist's Head
    Nov 22nd 2020, 2:14 PM

@frank_1916: Bit of a tai chi subject for the Government at this stage alright…

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Nov 22nd 2020, 3:59 PM

It’s over, the shyster got away with it (unfortunately) .
    His day will come back around, lets move on.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Nov 22nd 2020, 8:59 PM

And any comments made here for or against won’t make a blind bit of difference .