You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alan Kelly Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

Alan Kelly goes all third person and lashes 'anonymous cowards'

The Environment Minister has been the subject of much criticism in recent days.

ENVIRONMENT MINISTER ALAN Kelly has hit out at “anonymous” government colleagues following criticism of his efforts to solve the housing and rental crisis.

Kelly has been the subject of two days of negative stories about him in the Irish Independent over ongoing efforts to introduce new measures on rent.

Kelly wants to introduce ‘rent certainty’ which would link residential rental prices to the consumer price index for a period of time, but Fine Gael is opposing this.

The Irish Independent yesterday quoted a senior government source describing Kelly as “the single biggest cause of rent hikes” in the last six months.

Today the paper claims Kelly turned down a Budget deal to provide rent certainty to low-income families on rent supplement. Kelly today denied this was the case and said discussions are ongoing.

14/9/2015. Labour Party Think Ins Meetings Eamonn Farrell Eamonn Farrell

Speaking in Athy today, Kelly was also having none of the references to him as ‘Calamity Kelly’ by anonymous colleagues, saying:

“I take no notice of anonymous commentary. If people are cowardly and they don’t want to put their names to stuff that’s their own business. I don’t get worried about anonymous press officer briefings basically taking on myself, or making comments about myself.

He said he had come through an awful lot, including “many death threats” so was not bothered by such briefings.

Kelly said there was no rent deal on the table before the Budget, insisting: ”If there was a package on the table, I’d say it out straight.”

Referring to himself in the third person, the Labour deputy leader said he needed cooperation from a range of bodies in order to solve the housing crisis:

Alan Kelly on his own cannot solve this issue.

He was speaking at the announcement of an €8 million investment in Athy, Co Kildare to convert the old Dominican church into a library and construct social housing on the old church grounds.

No rift: Noonan and Kelly say they get on grand

Read: Why was there no rent certainty in the Budget?

Read: ‘Rent certainty’ might be coming, but could landlords get hikes in first?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

96 Comments
    Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:37 PM

Kelly has been getting negative press for a lot longer than a couple of day’s!!

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:44 PM

labour traitors

Mute Midland Celt
    Favourite Midland Celt
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:50 PM

He is a complete moron , On his website he makes the point he started University at 16 years of age , Who does that ?

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:54 PM

Lets hope the Home Taxing Fine Gael party get wiped out in election.

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:06 PM

Alan Kelly the minister for misery what a obnoxious person he is

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:16 PM

I made this prediction 12 months ago, FG would drop kick Labour through the goal posts of life, when the time was right. https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=871092939664299&id=100002908022520

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:23 PM

‘Tis coming very close to the end of Kelly’s political career- and he knows it !
    He gets tetchier by the day – heard him on the radio – he seems to have completely lost his way – other then arrogance and and bad manners , he has nothing left in the tank , having been $crewed by his “Bosses” in FG !!!

Mute ÉireBlood
    Favourite ÉireBlood
    Oct 27th 2015, 4:56 PM

Blueshirts would have these FG traitors to Ireland, strung up

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Oct 27th 2015, 6:23 PM

@ Midland – somebody whos mother sent them to school the day after their 4th birthday and nothing to do with how bright or intelligent the person is.

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly
    Oct 27th 2015, 7:27 PM

He needs to grow up.

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Oct 27th 2015, 7:54 PM
    Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Oct 27th 2015, 7:56 PM

Well face crooks removed my little video of Kelly

Mute Midland Celt
    Favourite Midland Celt
    Oct 27th 2015, 8:34 PM

Exactly my point , He was only impressing himself with that fact

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 28th 2015, 6:44 AM

And the People of Ireland will drop kick FG. And all done rid of both parties in one swoop.

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Oct 28th 2015, 8:33 AM

At least his gang (Brendan Howlin) got the Haddington Road Agreement re visited and lots of goodies back in the wage packet again.
    A big achievement for the Labour Party gillies, of the big trade unions.

Mute Eamonom
    Favourite Eamonom
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:46 PM

Hardly surprising he was only elected to the Dail at the last election and has already got to within a heartbeat of the tanaiste role by being aggressively assertive with having any ethical or political framework. What does he actually stand for? promising everything to everyone, making no hard choices and thinks he can buy off voters by building a toepath from Clonmel to Carrick of Suir while closing down the council offices in Clonmel. So utterly out of his depth and wouldn’t be there if it was for some generous private backing

Mute David Hanlon
    Favourite David Hanlon
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:51 PM

What does he stand for? Whinging by the looks of it, it’s all he seems to do these days. Laughable that he considers himself some kind of big shot bully boy

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Oct 27th 2015, 3:34 PM

calamity kelly is politically toxix,,if ever you need to know what happened to the labour party look no further than calamity kelly

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Oct 27th 2015, 4:20 PM

David, Kelly stands for his brother and no one else.

Oct 27th 2015, 1:41 PM

This plank needs nailing! Please do so at the next election. Kelly guess you will be working with your brother or maybe Denis will give you a plum job?

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:54 PM

I’d almost move to Tipperary, just so as I could NOT vote for him…

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:53 PM

Kelly wanted rent control, FG said no. He didn’t get it. This tells you all you need to know about the past 4 years and why labour are facing decimation at the next GE.

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Oct 27th 2015, 3:05 PM

The guy is a Moron but a well paid one with a nice cushy pension

Mute Bobby Connolly
    Favourite Bobby Connolly
    Oct 27th 2015, 3:17 PM

Ahh please. … that’s not being fair to morons. They show far more intelligence than this gobs#!te.

Mute Niall O' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall O' Sullivan
    Oct 27th 2015, 3:20 PM

Lab have Howlin too remember. His silence on this has been deafening.

I’d expect a massive public row on this to start up soon and Kelly has thrown the first grenade today.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 27th 2015, 5:26 PM

Just shows how inept they are that they can’t keep it together long enough for the election.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:36 PM

He is an idiot amyway, not surprised his fellow party members are talking about him.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:38 PM

I thought we were all on board with calling him Comical Kelly.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:49 PM

A landlord should be allowed charge whatever he likes for the rent of his property and renters allowed to say yes or no to that price.
    Is the government want to cap rents charged then they should build homes for people and charge whatever they like.
    The housing crisis is the governments fault and problem not people renting homes

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:59 PM

Ah, the glory of capitalism at work.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:45 PM

will tjat also go for amenities as well. lets give electricity, gas and oil companies a free hand after all they own the business. oh and lets quickly privatise water asap so they can join this gouging market…

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Oct 27th 2015, 3:46 PM

Angry Alan?

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 28th 2015, 6:53 AM

No they shouldn’t. If thats the case anyone who is selling or renting anything can do the same what a farce this Country would be, if the cost of living goes up half % thats all Landlords should be allowed to charge. Per usual people filling their pockets at the hands of those less well off.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:50 PM

Alan Kelly, champion of Irish Water, has suddenly discovered he’s supposed to be a socialist. No going back Kelly, you’ve made your bed.

Mute Niall O' Sullivan
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:33 PM

He was given the poisoned chalice and now he has to drink from it. Noonan is the real problem here. He’s the one with the money.

Mute Euro is Dead
    Favourite Euro is Dead
    Oct 27th 2015, 3:22 PM

A socialist in a part that threatened to lock out its workers I because they objected to their fourth pay decrease.

Mute james o ahre
    Favourite james o ahre
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:40 PM

You arrogant little man. Way out of your depth. You can kiss your ass goodbye come the GE.

Mute beebop
    Favourite beebop
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:49 PM

How would he kiss his own ass goodbye ?

Mute frantix
    Favourite frantix
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:56 PM

i hope so but doubt it – he’s very well liked in his own constituency…hope I’m wrong tho!

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:16 PM

frantix, this is the same constituency that elects Michael Lowry and Noel Coonan, basket cases the lot of them. Unfortunately these ar*eholes are inflicted on the rest of us too.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:47 PM

Also… “I don’t get worried about anonymous press officer briefings basically taking on myself, or making comments about myself.”

The word you’re looking for is ‘me’, Alan. I’m sure you’re quite familiar with it. It’s only “myself” if you’re the one making the comments.

This is the level of intellect we have in charge.
    I’m surprised he didn’t refer to a “sinister fringe” within the government.

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:23 PM

Getting Pedd is all that matters

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:31 PM

The sick thing is this lad is in a position to affect a lot of people’s lives. It’s dangerous.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:53 PM

So I believe. He obviously wasn’t ready because you should at least be able to speak one language by the time you go to college.
    Somebody said he brags about that on his website. That says it all really.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Oct 27th 2015, 4:54 PM

Thought I’d have a little look… found this on his website:

“He was educated in Portroe National School and Nenagh CBS, before going on at 16 years of age to study English and History in UCC, including a masters in politics. He Spent his summers working in a local meat factory to see his way through college.”

Extremely badly written! The first line is poorly structured. ‘Masters’ should start with a capital letter; ‘spent’ should not. This is not good advertising for UCC, considering he studied English there :)

This is what I would call a spoofer and I wouldn’t mind but for the fear he has instilled in my parents and a lot of naive people who believed his threats. I can not wait to see the back of him.

Mute Gavin Radford
    Favourite Gavin Radford
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:45 PM

If Mr Kelly isn’t able or up to the job, he shouldn’t have taken/demanded it.

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:38 PM

The Irish Indo uncritically prints FG spin. Not exactly news

This is surely about pre election wranging as Lab and Kelly see they are about to get hammered. Hardly underserved given what they have overseen. TweedleDum and TweedleDee are falling out.

Mute Niall O' Sullivan
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:32 PM

Ever paper prints spin from the government of the day. Ministers leak information in return for spin. No coincidence Leo Varadkar go so much positive publicity when he does nothing but leak info in return for it. Michael Martin before him also forged a career out of it.

You can call the Indo pro FG if you like, but they’ll be pro any party in government and the IT are even worse.

Mute Frank's Cat
    Favourite Frank's Cat
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:47 PM

Mark, I have been letting a small home to the same family for 13 years. Because they have been great tenants and looked after the place, I never really bothered with rent increases as the cost of vacancy and a bad tenant would outweigh any extra income for me. Also, the tenants have a family and a lot of ties with the area, and I don’t want to be the one disrupting that. I could have raised the rent by 40% judging by daft.ie properties letting in the same area. However, all these leaks by Kelly into what he was going to do to limit rent increases, led me to have to raise the rent in the next review, at the risk of being tied in permanently to a low rent, and devaluing my property if it came to sale. Not, to full market rent, but nonetheless an increase the tenant could have done without. The Indo, which is a rag of a newspaper, is right on this occasion. There needs to be an end to the spinning, and Kelly needs to get his thumb out and deal with the underlying issue of over-expensive build costs which is obscuring the market.

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:56 PM

AK 47 as he likes to be called more like a water pistol an idiot of the highest order

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Favourite Vote Left Ireland
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:41 PM

This guy must have an assistant to remind him who he is and bis position on a daily basis. The minister allocates the funding and you allocate squat.

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:44 PM

If the dunces hat fits, wear it.
    He’s getting his just desserts for being a FG lapdog.

Mute Paul K
    Favourite Paul K
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:03 PM

Don’t know what it is but I don’t like that fella.

Mute Denis O'Brien
    Favourite Denis O'Brien
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:45 PM

Why does the picture look like the cover to the single worst hip hop album ever.

Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:59 PM

toddle along there Kelly…… and do let the door hit you on the way out….

Mute Malvolio32
    Favourite Malvolio32
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:58 PM

Well as soon as you go third person you’re gone really, beyond the point of no return, so far up your own behind.

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:28 PM

If that was a new phenomenon you could put it down to pressure but the third person thing has been on the go for at least 4 and a half years and probably since he was 7, that age of enlightenment when ambitions become clear.

Mute De Wit
    Favourite De Wit
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:40 PM

Kelly, White and the Jobstown vuvuzela, who is worse?

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:35 PM

Calling her a Vuvuzela is probably the best chance she will get of being mentioned in the context of a horn, De Wit.

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:00 PM

Alan Kelly you are a waste of space, it won’t be long now before the axe falls on you and all the other wasters

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:17 PM

Memo too Alan Kelly: I will not be anonymous but you are a self serving arrogant individual.

Mute Steve McMahon
    Favourite Steve McMahon
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:01 PM

Great actor so he is .. He’s a bigger rat than splinter from the turtles movie … Also he has taken over the roll of jim Carey in the movie liar liar

Oct 28th 2015, 8:35 AM

Lol.

Mute Aislinn Matthews
    Favourite Aislinn Matthews
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:34 PM

Fantastic news, well done Alan for moving closer to the door. Prat!

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:27 PM

Alan Kelly talked the talk, now when the chips are down he can`t walk the walk.you reap what you sow Alan, and you have sown the seeds for a lot of things that are coming your way. Hopefully you will be just a memory come the GE

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:18 PM

Me, Myself and Allen.

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:20 PM

I would like to ask him how it feels to be in cahoots with an extreme right wing party. He was happy enough to continue with Phil Hogan’s “Hard Decision” on Water Charges, and clapped on the back by FG for this. But try to introduce any “Socialist” rent control of whatever hue, and they’ll drop him like a hot potato.

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:04 PM

I’d support him on the idea of rent certainty.
    But any interference in the private market would be anathema to Fine Gael, and he should have known that.
    In any case if this is a volte-face then the position has been forced on him through pressure from social groups outside government. There’s no real credit in that.
    He’s having a bad run as a minister and getting slapped down in public like this doesn’t do his cause any good.
    (Joan Burton escaping public censure as usual for her department’s role in the homeless crisis – how she gets away with it is beyond comprehension at this stage – must be a feminist no go zone)

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:38 PM

He knew that already Tommy, this is just playing to the gallery. Look at his family and connections, how the hell does the likes of him qualify to be a Labour TD.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:55 PM

this is the guy that said that he’d be happy to cover people against the privatisation with excrement, and this is meant to be a Labour man, I’ve met people who are adamant that he’s actually in fine Gael such is his rhetoric.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:55 PM

sorry privatisation of water.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:36 PM

Really cant stand this guy. Would be surprised if he gets re elected.

Mute Maireben
    Favourite Maireben
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:43 PM

Kelly, the spawn of Satan or Hogan ….. take your pick. Karma coming right back at ye Alan.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Oct 27th 2015, 3:16 PM

This has really got beyond a joke – One thousand and one reasons why nothing can be done about anything – unless it involves tax hikes for PAYE workers – that’s about the size of it. Hey, Alan, Rashers Tierney can’t do everything on his own either, but then he doesn’t have access to the levers of power, or the people who call the shots. Man up you waster and do something to justify your wages.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:54 PM

@Martin
    The constituencies have been redrawn..That man of many pies and fingers m.lowry is running advertising in the south Tipp area looking for assistance in the upcoming election,he has lost as many as 3000 first preference votes in the changes..the same will apply to Kelly,.people of the former Tipp south will have a say this time..and neither men are popular.

Oct 28th 2015, 8:36 AM

Up Tipp South.!

Mute Euro is Dead
    Favourite Euro is Dead
    Oct 27th 2015, 3:24 PM

What happened to Labours way or Frankfort’s way… talk and lies

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Oct 27th 2015, 4:22 PM

how come that no ones been arrested over these death threats, can’t they trace calls these days, I don’t believe it at all.

Mute Warai Aoi
    Favourite Warai Aoi
    Oct 27th 2015, 4:25 PM

Kelly is the lad who made comments about TDs receiving bullets in the post, days before a TD actually received bullets in the post.

Mute de la Rey
    Favourite de la Rey
    Oct 27th 2015, 4:45 PM

I think the powder was a sample of the new instant water IW sent to him. Just mix the powder with water and you get water!

Mute Warai Aoi
    Favourite Warai Aoi
    Oct 27th 2015, 4:23 PM

When ever the bomb squad is called to his office they send the robot, not because they really think there is a bomb there, its just that way they don’t have to speak to him.

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Oct 27th 2015, 5:06 PM

This is a man who’s power has gone to his head On his climb up the political ladder . Tread carefully on way down mr Kelly.

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Oct 27th 2015, 5:30 PM

FG see the dislike for Kelly amongst the electorate, and with election around the corner, they will slate the weaker side “Liebour” . Attacking Kelly is a sly move and one a wiser electorate will see through. Whist I have no time for Kelly or Labour, I believe FG are the sly ones. Both these parties will pay soon..

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 27th 2015, 4:35 PM

doesn’t anyone like him?

Mute laura b
    Favourite laura b
    Oct 27th 2015, 6:33 PM

Jesus you’d never get tired slapping the head off this culchie tw*t ..EVER !

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 27th 2015, 6:40 PM

At least when Minister Alan Kelly loses his Ministerial office, he has a choice between a very short career in Irish Water or a longer career in the Construction Industry Federation. Minister Kelly is loyal to vested interests but not to his paymasters, the citizens of Ireland.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 27th 2015, 6:37 PM

It’s unoleasant to see a man snivelling and feebly trying to throw blame into others.

Using the third person in referring to yourself is an attempt to disassociate from yourself. It’s often employed by people knowing that they are not telling the truth and putting distance. On the other hand, it is often employed by arrogant creeps to give themselves a sense of underserved status when under pressure.

So the choice is between a liar or a raving egotist or, in some cases, a combination of both.

This Miniser knows nothing about housing. He expects the private sector to solve a oublic problem. That will never happen.

Housing is far too important to leave 100% of housing delivery to a profit driven private sector.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 27th 2015, 6:38 PM

Minister Alan Kelly, deputy leader of the Provisional Right Wing Labiour Part answering to a Giverning Council headed by Kenny, Noonan and DOB.

Mute Keith Boland
    Favourite Keith Boland
    Oct 27th 2015, 8:42 PM

Self pity is no pity Kelly has himself to blame not so much the big man now is he . Then they try tell is no rift between coalition . That’s the biggest lie they told

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Oct 27th 2015, 9:00 PM

he is a liar,wipe them out in GE.we want politics cleaned up,so start with crushing these government parties in GE.

Oct 27th 2015, 6:49 PM

I am thinking Joan myself, what about you as after the next election Joan will have to go and Kelly then might become the new leader then???

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Oct 27th 2015, 8:29 PM

oo

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Oct 27th 2015, 8:29 PM

ooo

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Oct 28th 2015, 6:42 AM

Good bye Alan Kelly you will be gone in the next election and hopefully never heard from again. Too cocky for my liking. No empathy. Looking after the family with the bro in Teneo. I think thats the name of the Company.

Mute Swanny Dwan
    Favourite Swanny Dwan
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:07 PM

Kelly has been responsible for one disaster after another, it’s all been very well documented. If that man was employed anywhere else and turned in a job performance like he’s done while in government he’d be sacked. I wouldn’t let that mucksavage in charge of a chicken, thank God he’l be gone back to obscurity soon,

Mute Rasha Lashin
    Favourite Rasha Lashin
    Oct 29th 2015, 11:25 AM

Dear Minister of Environment,

I have a question to ask you on how did you see it fit for the Irish people to priorities the spending on the water infrastructure to start charging for something that is not needed vs. spending the money on securing the welfare of those irish community. It is a shame to have people go through the ordeal of this because of no empathy and no clear focus on what is right to do for the people.