You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Eamonn Farrell

Alan Kelly is astonished at claims he verbally attacked Newstalk presenter

“I don’t think that’s a fair question. No, obviously not.”

ALAN KELLY HAS denied threatening or intimidating staff at Newstalk after reports that he launched a verbal attack on a presenter before an interview yesterday morning.

The Environment Minister is reported to have “stormed” into Newstalk’s mobile studio in Thurles and demanded to know why the station’s Breakfast show presenter Chris Donoghue had given a more prominent slot to constituency rival Michael Lowry.

The Irish Independent reported how witnesses described Kelly as being irate over the programme’s airing of an item in which Donoghue interviewed Lowry during a canvass in Tipperary.

The item was played on-air before Kelly took part in a debate with independent TD Mattie McGrath and Fianna Fáil candidate Michael Smith junior.

Asked about the incident today, Kelly said he found questions about whether he threatened or intimidated staff at Newstalk “astonishing, to be frank”.

No, is the answer. Was I unhappy with the editorial choice? Yes.

“I voiced concerns of course to reflect that I was unhappy and didn’t agree,” he added.

Kelly was speaking at the launch of Labour’s general election campaign in Dublin today with Donoghue among the journalists in attendance.

Asked what his concerns were, Kelly did not refer to Lowry or Donoghue by name, but said:

My only issue was editorial choice and fairness, that was the only issue and I was only raising the fact that every one was given a chance to go on the show and one person was given a choice to go on earlier than everyone else. Simple as that.

Asked if he verbally abused Donoghue, Kelly said: “I don’t think that’s a fair question. No, obviously not.”

Donoghue is declining to comment on the incident.

Tánaiste Joan Burton said she “cherishes” a free press and “robust political debate” when asked for her response to the incident. She continued:

All of the journalists that we deal with during the election, we deal with fairly and openly, we allow them access to us and that will continue and that’s what Minister Kelly was doing.

“He could have ducked maybe appearing on the show altogether. We have come and we have answered your questions and we will continue to do so to the best of our ability.”

Kelly has courted controversy in recent days after claiming he is his own boss –  only to later acknowledge that Burton is in fact his boss after the Labour leader had insisted she is the minister’s boss.

Appearing together at Labour’s election headquarters on Wednesday, Burton described Kelly as “an incredibly obedient employee”. She then clarified that Kelly is also her colleague.

Read: Joan Burton warns voters to ‘beware of Sinn Féin creeping in the night’

Read: Joan Burton says Alan Kelly is ‘an incredibly obedient employee’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

142 Comments
    Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:00 PM

The megalomaniac in him is really coming out lately.

Mute EndaTheLunatic
    Favourite EndaTheLunatic
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:09 PM

He verbally attacks me every time he opens his mouth

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:11 PM

Kelly the bulldog with a bone to pick.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:20 PM

He said himself….power is a drug……I think he’s overdosing.

Mute jennifer
    Favourite jennifer

Mr Kelly water is an issue watch the votes Labour and Fine Geal don’t get.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:32 PM

@Al Ca. That cold turkey is gonna be a terrible b!tch.

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted

Kelly, the Incredible sulk. “Don’t Make Me Angry – You Wouldn’t Like Me When I’m Angry.”

Mute C O'Neill
    Favourite C O'Neill
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:35 PM

Alan Kelly is under fierce pressure, all that going around threatening people with his water pistol is really coming back to bite him. He must be getting a lot of negative feed back in his constituency, the penny has finally dropped with him that hus buddies in FG fecked him under the bus. He can’t contain his anger now and is verbally attacking and cussing everyone in his wake.

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:49 PM

So the veil slips as the pressure mounts, does he think he can control the media..? Oh wait

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:20 PM

Unfortunately loads of YFG hack accounts will most likely red thumb that post.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:49 PM

Kelly is definitely has the biggest ego in the room. But the Lowry interview was like a promotion piece. How’s friend owns Newstalk and the Indo?

Mute Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Favourite Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:50 PM

Anal Jelly is astonished that someone has called him out on his bullying.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:52 PM

Kelly definitely has the biggest ego in the room. But the Lowry interview was like a promotion piece. whose friend owns Newstalk and the Indo?

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity

Funny how the people of Tipperary tend to vote for con artists. Lowery and Kelly and Enda wants them. A den of perverse thieves.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Feb 5th 2016, 7:29 PM

I would not put anything past him, he even issues death threats against himself!

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Feb 5th 2016, 7:48 PM

He’s beginning to remind me of Roger Mellie from the Viz. comic!

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Feb 5th 2016, 7:53 PM

Garwig posted a statement with an error, he corrected that error in his second post, two posts now present diametrically opposing points and yet both receive a majority of likes. Do people actually read or understand a comment before they hit the green/red thumb?

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:17 PM

People know what I meant, read between the lines. FG hack accounts will try and manipulate a positive result. Just look at all. The fake accounts that popped up in the last 3 days with 1 or 2 followers, it’s ridiculous. If they want FG reelected they should get the party to behave ethically in Govt and not betray people for the benifit of big business.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:51 PM

And show the pink panther the door yourselves, sound.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:53 PM

Well he has been bad mouthed enough times on the Journal . I suppose its not to easy to keep cool when everyone around him hate his guts and jokes and fun poked at him

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:08 PM

Boo feckin hoo. Kelly could fill the lakes of Ireland with his whinging.

goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Feb 6th 2016, 5:49 AM

Burton will have get a licence and a lead for her bulldog lol

Mute Ger Clifford
    Favourite Ger Clifford
    Feb 8th 2016, 5:16 PM

Great comment ANN REDDIN but the bsrd would charge us for all the water he’d shed in his tears.!!!

Mute Mark Noonan
    Favourite Mark Noonan
    Feb 5th 2016, 4:58 PM

This guy is nothing but an arrogant bully. It will be a sad day if the people of Tipperary vote him Back into the Dail

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:07 PM

With a bit of luck this clown will be history after the 26th

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:21 PM

I’m sure the people of Tipperary would only elect respectable and honest politicians. Oh wait…

Mute C O'Neill
    Favourite C O'Neill
    Feb 5th 2016, 7:47 PM

If Tipperary vote AK in again, I will never set foot in that county again.

Mute Kevin Kirwan
    Favourite Kevin Kirwan
    Feb 6th 2016, 11:27 AM

Not sure if there are even five respectable and honest politicians in the country, never mind in Tipperary!

Mute Phil Keenan
    Favourite Phil Keenan
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:03 PM

He’s a horrible arrogant egotistical gombeen with no manners. Shows you the calibre of politicians in this place. Hopefully he won’t get back in again

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Feb 5th 2016, 4:57 PM

Your end is coming Kelly

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Feb 5th 2016, 4:59 PM

I wouldn’t expect any less from Mr Kelly.. Such a repugnant man

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:02 PM

Each day this guy is becoming a serious liability to the lost cause we know as Labour

Mute Gerry O'Brien
    Favourite Gerry O'Brien
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:06 PM

The cause was lost back when they sold out their socialist roots. Maybe that was the plan, were Joan/Rabbite/Gilmour double agents for the right.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:52 PM

Kelly’s a nasty piece of work hell bent on self promotion.

Mute Stephen Cullen
    Favourite Stephen Cullen
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:11 PM

Good people of Tipperary, we will give you Sam, hell we will give you Ballsbridge, please don’t bring this guy back.

Mute Jon Mackey
    Favourite Jon Mackey

The man isn’t fit for public office. Nasty bully boy. I hope the folks of tipp dump him on his arse.

Mute Fred Astare Astare
    Favourite Fred Astare Astare
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:19 PM

Thanks Alan, well done. Made my day.
    Keep digging…………

Mute up3bs9LF
    Favourite up3bs9LF
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:19 PM

What people seem to forget is that labour became FG, anything that has been negatively felt by people, is as a result of FG policy.

Mute Nosmo King
    Favourite Nosmo King
    Feb 6th 2016, 2:04 AM

If anyone heard this ” debate ” on Newstalk it is a classic example of everything that is wrong with Irish politics. I just hope that there weren’t any tourists listening. We would be a laughing stock.

Mute Lurfic
    Favourite Lurfic

Arrogant bullying behaviour.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:03 PM

Bad news day…..

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob

Should be arrested really… Joan could probably arrange it for him. She did a mighty job getting children arrested for Jobstown.

Mute Miguel O'Reilly
    Favourite Miguel O'Reilly
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:04 PM

So Joan says she allows the journalist access to her an her party colleagues? Well isn’t she so kind to do that. What arrogance. It’s the other way around. You need the journalists during an election campaign to peddle the lies

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:09 PM

Anybody else get the impression this election campaign is not going the way the government parties expect it to go?

We’ve known enough about Alan Kelly over the last 5 years to know this story has to be true. Keep up the good work Alan “Every little hurts!”

Mute Horses for courses
    Favourite Horses for courses
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:43 PM

All they have left is the IRA stick Les.YFG will be back out waving it as soon as they dry the tears off their keyboards.Great few days for opposition parties….

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:08 PM

The Indo’s headline sums the whole incident up in one sentence ‘Alan Kelly wanted to be treated like royalty’.

Not even the IRA can save the Traitor party now :-)

Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:05 PM

Day 3 of #GE16 trail and the timber is creaking already, AK? Also, Burton saying they allow media access to them? What?!? You should be thankful that the media are giving you a platform to get your views across. Don’t forget that you are the canvassers now!

Wheels coming off!

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan

This man is idiotic

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

Looks like captain calamity isn’t as confident of his reelection as he’s letting on.

Tick tock al……

Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn

He’s a sociopathic buffoon

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:12 PM

Kelly’s ego is as big as the debt Irish Water have ,desperate he must be ,how the people of Tip vote for this clown i will never know

Mute William T Smith
    Favourite William T Smith
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:36 PM

whitecross, more than half the people of Tipperary never had a vote on this clown, he’s choosing where he canvases very carefully in the south of the county. The game’s over for him and the rest of the rest of his Anti-Labour Party.

Mute Desmodromic
    Favourite Desmodromic
    Feb 5th 2016, 4:59 PM

I can just imagine the scene- “Infamy infamy they’ve all got it in for me!!”

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:19 PM

He’s losing the plot, now for his seat

Mute justasheedy
    Favourite justasheedy

He puts Phil Hogan in his shade alright

Mute Rob Mills
    Favourite Rob Mills
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:19 PM

Nobody puts that muppet in the shade. Young Kelly was fast on is way though.
    How do we go about removing hogan from politics ASAP????

Mute Strong silent type
    Favourite Strong silent type
    Feb 5th 2016, 7:45 PM

I wouldn’t go that far, Hogan is pure evil, but he’s giving him a good run for his money.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:11 PM

The cracks have been showing for a while now. Ide say he was ready to explode when J.B. called him ” obedient” treated him like a child, which is of course, what he is & a hot headed one at that! Feel sorry for his missus!

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Feb 5th 2016, 7:17 PM

It won’t be too long until he stabs aul Joany right in the back. Happy days ahead.

Mute Tom Fennelly
    Favourite Tom Fennelly
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:15 PM

” Dear Minister Kelly

“I am chairman of ( ) and on behalf of the 3,500 people that we represent I am seeking an urgent meeting to discuss with your department serious irregularities in the implementation of the Planning Laws at () County Council. Unless we receive an urgent meeting with your department we will be considering immediate alternative action that we are being forced to take.”

Sent on the 11th March 2015 (before Prime Time Specials) and a month later we got a reply that said in one sentence “Go to the Ombudsman”

Ah well, only 21 more sleeps until the end of dictatorship.

Mute patrick gilmartin
    Favourite patrick gilmartin
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:10 PM

True colours showing on Kelly’s face and the dye is running everywhere . Imagine when he finds out his not God ?.

Mute Miguel O'Reilly
    Favourite Miguel O'Reilly
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:05 PM

So Joan says she allows the journalist access to her an her party colleagues? Well isn’t she so kind to do that. What arrogance. It’s the other way around. You need the journalists during an election campaign so that the people here your waffle.

Seriously are these people that deluded?

Mute Papasmurf
    Favourite Papasmurf
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:01 PM

Well if Chris O’ Donoghue is declining to comment then it’s clear they don’t share the same view. Might be best if Newstalk themselves issued a brief statement to clear up this non-story.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:18 PM

I think Chris O Donoghue realises that all you need to do with Labour at the moment is give them enough rope.

Mute Gerry O'Brien
    Favourite Gerry O'Brien

Alan Kelly broke his belly sliding on a lump of jelly.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:23 PM

My Little Pony, skinny and bony. Went to the stable to die on a table.

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:35 PM

Gerry and Daisy, LOL!

Mute Robert Loughran
    Favourite Robert Loughran

Joan’s pit bull.

Mute Kevin Mullen
    Favourite Kevin Mullen
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:24 PM

If there is any justice come the 26th of Feb. This arrogant mouthpiece will slide into obscurity

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:01 PM

I’d have loved to have Ivan answer him. Little pup.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:08 PM

Ivan’s probably too busy hiding the rest of his non bankruptcy affected assets in the Caymans after his missus had a €1.6million judgement go against her. The Quinn Dynasty “I’m just a simple housewife” excuse didn’t work for her. Oh well… Back to Wales for another year.

Mute Papasmurf
    Favourite Papasmurf
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:17 PM

Yes. For a bookies there’s an irony that they themselves didn’t know when to hold em or know when to fold them, know when to walk away, know when to run.

Mute Gerry O'Brien
    Favourite Gerry O'Brien
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:17 PM

“Oh sorry Mr Banker, I didnt realise giving a guarantee meant giving a guarantee, silly me”.

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:11 PM

Perhaps, Daisy, but he’d have dealt well with kelly!

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:30 PM

Kelly is crying one minute & stamping his feet / screaming the next! He’s like a spoiled child. Don’t worry Alan -soon whatever authority you had will be gone. RIP Labour.

Mute Anthony Healy Poroloniczak
    Favourite Anthony Healy Poroloniczak

It’s time to f..off Mr Kelly – you are a rude and arrogant individual

Mute marty dot
    Favourite marty dot
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:42 PM

Stunned at Joan Brutals reported comment “we allow them access to us ” WTF

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:54 PM

He still thinks he’s the Ronnie Kray of the Labour Party, But in reality he’s more like the Ronnie Corbet,

An overblown, egotistical, narcissistic, bullying windbag !

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:21 PM

I see the FG trolls are not all over this , except that Leo clown , very telling

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:39 PM

Memo too Kelly: why do you expect me to pay 3 times for water ? I pay through my car tax 25% I pay through my Vat 2% and now you expect me to pay through Irish Water bills.

Mute Benny Dorm
    Favourite Benny Dorm
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:14 PM

A bully.

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:30 PM

Seems he took it literally when they gave him the poisoned chalice, they said model yourself on Phil and you’ll be grand and now he’s learning they were wrong, very wrong but it’s too late.

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:46 PM

Only day 3 and the wheels are wobbling. Imagine, Alan, what its going to be like in a week, or two weeks. Its going to be hard keeping food down and getting more than 2 hours of sleep. Enjoy you nasty little man. You may want to consider the plan of your mistress and having some armed gardai with you wherever you go. Or how about 12 female gardai akin to how Gaddafi used to go around.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:46 PM

Is this the fella that we already told to Fcuk Off with the Water Tax?……bit slow on the uptake, isn’t he?

Mute Aidan Boland
    Favourite Aidan Boland
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:07 PM

What a dope. Hard to believe a word he says anymore.

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:21 PM

Of course newstalk are going to give Lowry prominence he’s the guy that gave Denis o Brien his first leg up and the mobile phone licence and Denis just happens to own newstalk, you scratch my back and all that

Mute haulie ryan
    Favourite haulie ryan
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:53 PM

O Brien owns the sindo as well as newstalk lowery Abu ha

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:04 PM

I’d say the only reason he’s in Labour is cos his dad was a Labour supporter, all of his decisions reflect that of a Tory member, taxing the poor more and breaks for the rich. The guys an egomaniac and the pressure is getting to him, ask yourself do you really want a man like that to represent you. Hes liable to tantrums and outbursts when he doesn’t get his way.

Mute niall
    Favourite niall
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:34 PM

What a plonker!!!

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:50 PM

Really hope he loses his seat to SF.

Mute Richard boyle
    Favourite Richard boyle
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:37 PM

Heard it ,descended into a shouting match pretty sharpish ,hopefully televised leaders debates will be better .

Mute Minon
    Favourite Minon
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:11 PM

I’d say before the month is out Alan Kelly will have another “Threat” against him and the rest of labour as well one of these Imaginary “Threats”….

Labour are gone and are filth, Jim Larkin and Connolly would turn in their graves to see what filth is in labour…The Party of everything that is wrong is society…

FG = Right Wing Nazi dirt
    FF = Criminal Hurlers in the ditch
    Renua = Opius Dei branch of FG
    Greens = The Party off the Entitled Eco Warrior W*nkers and D4 brigade
    SF = A Nationalist party with a narrow agenda…But I will give them a try as everyone else had a chance.

Mute Séa Graham
    Favourite Séa Graham
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:06 PM

Typical of a bully. All mouth and bravado till they get called out. Hateful person.

Mute Jonathan
    Favourite Jonathan
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:59 PM

Arrogant prat, mattie put him in his place yesterday, as for Burton spouting on about how great they are showing up for interviews, none of the cowards showed for people’s debates on tv3

Mute anthony campion
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:46 PM

Mattie is another gobsh–e

Mute Derek Hughes
    Favourite Derek Hughes

This guy (Kelly) is so arrogant and a disgrace to the Labour Party. He is much better suited to Fine Gael and their intolerance and despise for the working class and poor.

Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor

Haha true or not damage done!

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius

I always try to find the good in people. But with Alan when I look through the fake tan and man mascara all I see is a career Politian so desperate to make himself reverent that he picks a fight with Mattie McGrath on live radio. Now Mattie has seen his type before and will again but its a fight you can win. maybe he will lead labour someday but his legacy in government is over.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:51 PM

Think of this Cork is the largest county in Ireland and Labour have 1 yes 1 councillor in both City and County what does that tell you ?.

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Feb 5th 2016, 7:35 PM

My sources tell me that he won’t be reelected ,too :)

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:13 PM

Journalists trading favours is not new. They would sell their soul for a story, poor old Veronica risked her life. Most politicians would sell their granny for a spot of the limelight. The real problem is when they collude like some in RTE snd TV3 simply for the ratings or to line their own pockets.

Mute Laura O Sullivan
    Favourite Laura O Sullivan
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:06 PM

Alan kelly i think ur overdosing on ur drug

Mute Christopher
    Favourite Christopher

He is my Rottweiler said Joan he is obedient

Mute Justin Hanley
    Favourite Justin Hanley
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:32 PM

Kelly butter wouldn’t melt in his mouth , ass hole. Time to say goodbye .Face the real world

Mute Ellen Oneill
    Favourite Ellen Oneill
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:25 PM

Bully Boy

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:55 PM

Donoghue declining to comment means it’s true, if there was nothing in it he would come out and clear the air. It says it all really, no smoke without fire.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:47 PM

Well, well now. Is this a case where the left hand doesn’t know what the right is doing? One organ of the media conglomerate calls out the Minister for the petulant bully he is, and the other arm keeps schtum!! The question could be easily answered.

Mute gordon kennedy
    Favourite gordon kennedy
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:59 PM

No time for Kelly or labour, but by god, the Irish media are precious.. They love give it but can’t take it..

Mute niall
    Favourite niall
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:12 PM

I wonder if Kelly was to be burst open would Phil Hogan be hiding inside?

Mute J Judd
    Favourite J Judd
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:02 PM

Hope this arrogant little ******* loses his seat !

Mute Larry Whack
    Favourite Larry Whack
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:26 PM

He was a decent goalkeeper though in fairness.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob

Never got his dues. Maybe that’s what’s wrong with him.

Mute Scott Hazel
    Favourite Scott Hazel
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:10 PM

A man under pressure

Mute TractorPat
    Favourite TractorPat
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:51 PM

I’m actually ashamed to be in the same constituency as this Bully Boy. Needless to say he won’t be getting a vote from me but I fear his brothers money will get him over the line in the end.

Mute anthony campion
    Feb 6th 2016, 1:16 AM

You must be fairly proud to be from the same cess pool as Lowry and mattie so

Mute Bernard O'Brien
    Favourite Bernard O'Brien
    Feb 5th 2016, 7:58 PM

Welcome to the home of hurling and the blah blah hotel that was so full last night proving that there is an economic recovery, he’s full of manure or slurry or whatever they call it Tipperary, Mattie McGrath wasn’t long putting him straight and Lowry had his business done and gone home which definitely upset Ak 40 coats because he learned everything he knows about fooling the electorate by studying his arch nemisis Lowry.

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:08 PM

The arrogance of some politicians is beyond belief. McGuinness vs Miriam O’Callaghan is another example of such an attitude.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:10 PM

Jaysus Leo, that’s just poor :-)

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:14 PM

Do you remember Noony & Sean O’Rourke,Sappy?

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe

Yes I certainly do Oggie – there are no excuses for such behaviour.

Mute McNulty Jimmy
    Favourite McNulty Jimmy
    Feb 5th 2016, 6:57 PM

You’ve literally clutched all the straws, well done

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Feb 5th 2016, 7:53 PM

Anal Jelly is beginning to remind me of Roger Mellie from the Viz. comic!

Mute Gerry O'Brien
    Favourite Gerry O'Brien
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:24 PM

Ha ha ha, That’s his name from now on. You legend.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Feb 5th 2016, 11:08 PM

I second that :-)

Feb 5th 2016, 8:13 PM

I’m gonna miss all the colourful kelly stories once the election is over!

Mute Gary Keegan
    Favourite Gary Keegan
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:03 PM

No one else is astonished Alan. The best part of you ran down your fathers leg.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:55 PM

Very arrogant man Mr Kelly. He knows the game is up.

Mute Chauncey Gardiner
    Favourite Chauncey Gardiner
    Feb 5th 2016, 11:26 PM

In the Newstalk debate Alan Kelly managed to undo in seconds any possible gain he may have got from the soft interview in the Sindo with Niamh Horan. I was astounded by his lack of restraint, raised voice and general gruffness throughout the debate. Mattie McGrath played this to his advantage and raised Kelly’s ire all the more by claiming that the Minister had to take shelter in the back of Mattie McGrath’s van last Sunday, when Kelly was confronted by a group of unhappy protesters.
    McGrath later admitted this was untrue but by then the debate was over and Kelly had given listeners an insight into his bullish character that he hadn’t bargained on!!

Mute Sean Duignan
    Favourite Sean Duignan
    Feb 5th 2016, 10:45 PM

Goodbye Kelly sick listening to your crap

Mute Patrick Mc Donnell
    Favourite Patrick Mc Donnell
    Feb 6th 2016, 12:23 AM

He is the most smug, arrogant minister that this state has ever seen. Hopefully the people of tipperary have a bit of cop on and vote for someone else.

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Feb 6th 2016, 1:00 AM

He’s nothing but a worthless bootlick.

Mute David Fallon
    Favourite David Fallon
    Feb 6th 2016, 6:16 AM

Oooh Alan Alan Alan, I’m from Clonmel and on behalf off Tipperary I just want to tell you, your f***** now boi!! And to everyone else not from Tipp just letting ye know he’s been canvassing across the country and he’s not getting a welcome reception in Co. Tipp and I wonder why lol

Mute David Fallon
    Favourite David Fallon
    Feb 6th 2016, 6:18 AM

*County I meant

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Feb 6th 2016, 1:22 AM

Kelly is politically drowning in Irish Water.

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:03 PM

he obviously doesn’t like Donohue but then again who does?

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Feb 5th 2016, 7:16 PM

Fair play Kelly, Donoghue can be a pompous prat at the best of times…….

Mute Michael Vines
    Favourite Michael Vines
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:03 AM

Kelly just because kenny rode you dont think that you are going to ride the rest of us

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Feb 6th 2016, 8:53 AM

Not a good look

Mute Ger Clifford
    Favourite Ger Clifford
    Feb 8th 2016, 7:06 PM

NO votes for Alan Kelly from our family. We were staunch Labour Party supporters and we had always given the 5 votes we had to the Labour Candidate in Nr.Tipperary .. So it’s KELLY -5 THAT = 10 TO CATCH UP. For every former Labour vote given to another candidate Kelly has to get 2 to break even. Also with 11,500 votes gone out of the constituency to Offaly he will be at least 2,000 votes down on his 2011 1st count result and given that he was elected on the disastrous Fianna Fail performance and still did not reach the quota I predict he will be eliminated on the 7th count. And good riddance to him and his downright arrogance.