You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Screengrab/RTE

Alan Shatter made a surprise appearance with the Halawa sisters on the Late Late

Ireland may need to question the nature of its diplomatic relations with Egypt if there’s no progress in the campaign to free Ibrahim, Shatter said.

Updated at 11.10pm

FORMER JUSTICE MINISTER Alan Shatter made an unexpected appearance with the sisters of jailed Irish teenager Ibrahim Halawa on the Late Late Show tonight.

The Fine Gael TD was on the programme to help ramp-up pressure on Egyptian authorities for the Dubliner’s release – and he said that if the current situation continued indefinitely, Ireland should “question the nature” of diplomatic relations with the north African country.

Ibrahim Halawa has now been held at the Torsa prison on the outskirts of Cairo for 19 months.

He and his sisters Somaia, Fatima and Omaima were arrested at the al-Fateh mosque in August 2013 while attending a march against the ousting of former president Mohammed Morsi.

“I took an interest in this right from the beginning when I was still Minister for Justice,” Shatter said – after being introduced mid-way through the segment.

In cases of this type, the standard approach from the Department of Foreign Affairs would be “that we can’t interfere in the domestic legal arrangements of a friendly foreign country,” the former minister said.

However, he said, “Ibrahim’s now been in jail for over a year and a half. I’ve enormous concerns about the nature of any trial – should it take place”.

There’s been four occasions now when the trial was to take place and has been postponed. It’s now supposed to take place on the 29th of March.

“But the form of trial in Egypt will involve Ibrahim and 490 other people being effectively in a cage in a courtroom. And no individual’s human rights, civil rights can be protected – no lawyer can properly represent any person in circumstances where you have a mass trial.”

r3 RTÉ / Late Late RTÉ / Late Late / Late Late

Diplomatic relations

“I think we need to say as strongly as we can, please release this young man,” Shatter said, when asked what could be done to increase pressure on the Egyptian government.

He said that while he was aware foreign affairs minister Charlie Flanagan was working hard for the teenager’s release, and that it was being “pushed hard” by the Government ”there are certain things you can say if you’re not a government minister”.

“We have very good diplomatic relations with Egypt,” Shatter observed, adding:

I think now this has reached a point where we should question the nature of our diplomatic relations, if this continues on indefinitely.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

37 Comments
    Mute Steve Dedalus
    Favourite Steve Dedalus
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:41 PM

Why did Tubridy not ask the sisters why they were on stage at the rally advocating Sharia Law? They’ve tried to remove all the video evidence of this from the internet.

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:51 PM

They must have succeeded because I found no trace of it by doing a Google search.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:55 PM
    Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:53 PM

When you tear up your Irish passport you gotta……’Walk like an Egyptian’.

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:50 PM

Turbidiy is a waste of space , this crowd represent the Muslim Brotherhood an organization that the Egyptians consider a terrorist group , the sisters have lied for the last year and a half about why they were there , re his passport being taken by the Egyptians ? , is this the one he ripped up on one the videos since removed that they posted after their ‘ holiday / wedding ‘ they claimed initially to be attending , I wouldn’t want him locked up but those sisters wouldn’t tell the truth , by the way , where was Daddy ? Because he is the reason the son is still locked up , since he is the head bottle washer for the Muslim Brotherhood

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:46 PM

The usual waffle from Tubirdy. A soft interview with no difficult questions regarding Why were they involved in a Political Protest in a foreign country, What is their relationship to the Muslim Brotherhood etc.

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:45 PM

Why are we pandering to this family?

Mute Ann O'reilly
    Favourite Ann O'reilly
    Mar 13th 2015, 11:08 PM

INFIDELS !

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:41 PM

Ryan Tubridy has the interviewing skills of a wet teabag…..

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Mar 13th 2015, 11:19 PM

My box of Lyons will be seeing you in court for defamation. Lawyer up.

Mute Chris O'Ceallaigh
    Favourite Chris O'Ceallaigh
    Mar 13th 2015, 11:07 PM

They are all about as Irish as tom cruise in far and away

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Mar 13th 2015, 11:10 PM

His accent was better though

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:36 PM

Shatter is like a bad smell that won’t go away

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:40 PM

And the half-hearted audience who really couldn’t give a flying shite. Thin gruel. Must find another cause through which to win back popularity!

The Late late show last refuge for politicians on their final lap….

Mute ohaimhirghin
    Favourite ohaimhirghin

Bollocks to that

Mute Mark Wills
    Favourite Mark Wills
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:40 PM

Oh my god what waffle why did they go there this will come back to haunt us Jesus wept!!

Mute Anne O'Hara
    Favourite Anne O'Hara
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:59 PM

Tubs can’t interview a wet sliced pan.

Mute Mark Wills
    Favourite Mark Wills
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:46 PM

As Ryan said to the sisters I wish ye well who knows we might be having a different conversation next time I bet ye will jesus wept

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:55 PM

What is the Jewish torahs opinion of Islam or other gods

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Mar 13th 2015, 11:04 PM

Islam didn’t exist when the torah was written so I would consider it highly unlikely that it has a specific policy on it, not impossible of course just highly unlikely, I like to allow for divine intervention in religious matters.

Mute Pat O'Brien
    Favourite Pat O'Brien
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:34 PM

Fair play to him a worthy cause to support.

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle

Worthy me hoop

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Mar 13th 2015, 11:07 PM

Correct me if I’m wrong please. This teenager had an Irish passport..travelled to Egypt to fight, tore up his Irish passport and declared his allegiance to someone/someparty and now wants the Irish government to selotape his destroyed passport back together and declare he’s Irish.
    Get lost…we’re not complete idiots…they have some cheek.
    And for them to be given air time on the national broadcaster….now i’ll never pay my licence again

Mute Olive Johnson
    Favourite Olive Johnson

Our government needs to work a bit harder for this young lad

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:43 PM

They give tubrity to much already

Mute Mark Wills
    Favourite Mark Wills
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:49 PM

Why? Plain to see he supports Islamist extremists why did they go back?

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:49 PM

Why? He was told not to travel in the first place then he destroys his Irish passport

Mute Stiofán Ó Domhnaigh
    Favourite Stiofán Ó Domhnaigh
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:56 PM

Their brother is an Irish citizen. Regardless of your opinion of his political or religious point of view, under Irish law he should not be detained without trial under due process. He should be released and allowed home.

Mute Anne O'Hara
    Favourite Anne O'Hara
    Mar 13th 2015, 11:02 PM

If he’s IN Ireland. If I go to China, I obey Chinee law. I go to Egypt, Egyptian law. An Egyptian national comes here, Irish law wins. What’s your problem?

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Mar 13th 2015, 11:05 PM

He actually holds dual citizenship so the Egyptians are holding him as one of their own. But that shouldn’t really bother him considering he referred to himself as “an Egyptian living outside”.

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Mar 13th 2015, 11:09 PM

He is “home”

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Mar 13th 2015, 11:19 PM

Anne..yes the laws of any state are the business of that state . However , people in a fair democracy who are arrested are usually charged with breaking a law or committing an offence…problem here is that this 19 yr old hasn’t been accused of or charged with anything. That’s why he should be realised…

Mute Ruair
    Favourite Ruair
    Mar 13th 2015, 11:10 PM

Amnesty International call to free 18yr old Irish citizen Ibrahim Halawa http://www.amnesty.ie/content/egypt-court-try-494-people-over-protests | Call on @CharlieFlanagan to act

Mute Barry Cuneen
    Favourite Barry Cuneen

He’s credible