You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

The number of students in alcohol-free accommodation in UCC has quadrupled

There are now 24 students in the alcohol-free gaffs – and one third of them are Irish.

THE NUMBER OF students at University College Cork who have chosen to live in alcohol-free accommodation has increased to 24 this term.

The scheme, which began as a trial last September, has grown from the initial six students who took up the offer one year ago.

Almost 50 students initially applied to live in the alcohol-free housing this year but some dropped out after they either changed their minds or did not fully understand the scheme.

Irish students make up one third of the students, with the rest coming from France, Germany, Denmark, Singapore, Malaysia, India, Australia, Austria and Canada.

A total of 16 female students and 8 male students will live in the accommodation. Most (13) are first year students, along with five postgraduate students, five visiting international students, and one second year student.

UCC said the move was designed to encourage healthier lifestyles among college students and to make the campus more attractive to students who may not be comfortable with Ireland’s drinking culture.

The university has also introduced a dedicated social programme aimed at reducing harm caused by alcohol, including interventions for high-risk students, training for staff, and the introduction of zero tolerance of anti-social behaviour.

The university also introduced a CCTV system to monitor the campus for anti-social behaviour last year as a joint initiative with An Garda Síochána and Cork City Council.

Read: UCC students to be offered alcohol-free accommodation > 

Read: Guess how many students have signed up for UCC’s alcohol-free accommodation? > 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

19 Comments
    Mute Ross Ross
    Favourite Ross Ross
    Sep 8th 2014, 12:56 PM

Fair play to them. There’s more to life than drink and having to deal with others who are off the head drunk is a pain in the pipe .

Mute Michael McBride
    Favourite Michael McBride
    Sep 8th 2014, 1:37 PM

Their probably made to pick alcohol free by their parents. Fair enough, as a father it makes perfect sense. As a student we drink dangerous amounts and that option is great.

Mute Silent Majority
    Favourite Silent Majority
    Sep 8th 2014, 1:00 PM

So 2:1 ratio of women to men, but no alcohol so Irish lads will be too socially crippled to take advantage of the situation. Sounds like a slightly older version of a Gaeltacht ceile!

Mute Sean J. Troy
    Favourite Sean J. Troy
    Sep 8th 2014, 1:06 PM

I dunno how bad it is in Cork, but it’s impossible to get digs in Dublin for students. We’ll take anything, including alcohol free

Mute Phillip Hogan
    Favourite Phillip Hogan
    Sep 8th 2014, 1:02 PM

I can definitely understand the post grads living there, but first years? What saps.

Mute Griska
    Favourite Griska
    Sep 8th 2014, 12:55 PM

I had not heard of this.
    Interesting.
    I’ll get a million thumbs down followed by inane comments like “students are SUPPOSED to be drunk”.
    Pfft.

Mute Phillip Hogan
    Favourite Phillip Hogan
    Sep 8th 2014, 1:05 PM

There is nothing more inane than saying you will get red thumbs. Do you actually care that much about random internet nobodies to even consider it? I red thumb you just for that.

Mute Griska
    Favourite Griska
    Sep 8th 2014, 1:13 PM

Nope.
    I don’t care at all.
    I just marvel at the large number of idiots here who sound like they belong in a Jeremy Kyle episode.

Mute Jason McKenzie
    Favourite Jason McKenzie
    Sep 8th 2014, 3:03 PM

The fact that you can’t comment without heavily considering the after effect i.e. Red thumbs and innane responses, goes to show that you too should be sat on ur sofa watching like minded idiots

Mute Griska
    Favourite Griska
    Sep 8th 2014, 4:50 PM

You spelt inane incorrectly.
    While calling somebody an idiot.
    That’s unfortunate for you.
    Makes you seem a little silly, no?
    Some might say idio… No. I’m bigger than that.
    [tiny smiley face]

Mute Jason McKenzie
    Favourite Jason McKenzie
    Sep 8th 2014, 5:11 PM

Doesn’t make me seem silly at all, it’s a typo, this world we live in can forgive a typo a lot quicker than arrogance ;) I can just see the gleam in ur eye when you spotted it.. If having every comment sparkling with spelling was something that really mattered, I would check and recheck every post, every time, like urself ;) don’t say u don’t

Mute Kevin J
    Favourite Kevin J
    Sep 8th 2014, 2:44 PM

Is it no drink allowed on campus or that your not allowed come back drunk.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Sep 8th 2014, 2:55 PM

The number of nerds has quadrupled.

Mute Caroline aMarie
    Favourite Caroline aMarie
    Sep 8th 2014, 1:18 PM

What the heck is this? Smoke free.Alcohol free.What’s next:sex segregation.No boy/girlfriend allowed.Door open to complete dictatorship.

Mute Valerie Murphy
    Favourite Valerie Murphy
    Sep 8th 2014, 1:31 PM

My daughter is third year in UCD and doesn’t have to get accommodation on campus, thankfully. Even without the cost of renting, she still wouldn’t have the money to go drinking. Considering the amount of drugs readily available, drug testing will probably be next after the smoking ban.

Mute Cormac Hehir
    Favourite Cormac Hehir
    Sep 9th 2014, 12:00 AM

Haha the money she asks for food and books will be divided in 70-30 ratio on alcohol-food. There’s always money for alcohol in college, two bottles of wine in aldi for 8 euro…cha ching!

Mute Orla Mcdermott
    Favourite Orla Mcdermott
    Sep 8th 2014, 10:06 PM

Third level education is for studying hard and earning a degree, not wasting time and money on countless nights drinking and clubbing. If you went to college or university ‘for the craic’ then you don’t deserve to be there.

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Sep 8th 2014, 8:30 PM

I would guess this will be a growing trend ala no smoking accommodations. I only hope space is available.

Mute Griska
    Favourite Griska
    Sep 8th 2014, 6:24 PM

I do not “check and recheck every post”.
    Life is too short.
    Or 2 short, as you would probably say.
    Or as u would probably say.