You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/losbkru

HSE to investigate alleged leak of patient's details after abortion at Dublin maternity hospital

A message shared on Twitter alleges a woman was contacted via an unknown number and verbally harassed.

HEALTH MINISTER SIMON Harris has said he is concerned by allegations raised on social media about an alleged leak of patient details affecting a woman who had a medical abortion in Dublin this week.

A message shared on Twitter alleges that a woman who had a medical abortion in a Dublin maternity hospital was later contacted by someone using a phone number linked to a rogue abortion counselling service that the HSE has warned against. 

The message – which was originally published in a Facebook group but screengrabbed and shared on Twitter – says that following the woman’s termination, she had an internal scan and was sent home from the hospital. She was told no other scans would be needed. 

According to the message, when she arrived home that day she received a call from a number unknown to her and was told by a man to re-book in for a scan. 

The message says that the man who called her had her personal details such as her name and address. The number he called from is linked to an unofficial website which has a similar name to the official HSE ‘My Options’ site. 

It’s claimed she was told to come in for a scan, and later received a text message telling her to go to a clinic on the northside of the city. 

The woman, according to the message shared on social media, said she felt something was strange, so she called the Well Woman Clinic and the hospital. They did not know anything about the phone call or the scan, according to the message shared on Twitter yesterday. 

The woman called the number back, and asked the man who he was, the message says. He said he was from ‘My Options’ but then allegedly started to shout abuse at the woman, telling her how “disgusting” she was for having a termination and asking if she knew about the risks. 

The person who shared the message anonymously said they were doing so to highlight the case and to ensure more women and girls did not get taken in.

A spokesperson for Minister Harris told TheJournal.ie

He has asked the HSE to investigate the alleged breach of patient information. 
The Minister has been quite clear abortion services should be viewed as a normalised part of the health service and women accessing that service should not be subjected to any intimidation or harassment.

When asked for a comment earlier, the HSE said: “We’re not in a position to comment at this time.”

TheJournal.ie attempted to contact the rogue counselling service connected with the number by phone several times, but there was no response. A reporter also called to a building linked to the number, but the door wasn’t answered.  

The Office of the Data Protection Commissioner was also contacted for comment, and attempts have been made to contact the author of the message. 

In response, the head of communications for the Data Protection Commissioner said it became aware of the alleged incident through the media coverage today. 

“We are currently making enquiries. We will be making no further comment at this time.”

Last month, when abortion services came on stream the HSE said it was aware of a number of websites and advertisements appearing in online search results for unplanned pregnancy support that have a similar name to its official site. 

It recommended that women searching for support for an unplanned pregnancy visit only a recognised or HSE-funded unplanned pregnancy counselling agency.

‘Hidden agenda’

The Health Service Executive also advised people that a number of unplanned pregnancy agencies “may have a hidden agenda”.

“We are aware of a number of websites and ads that are appearing in search results and social media that claim to be providing unplanned pregnancy support services under variations of the myoptions name,” a spokesperson said. 

“Some unreliable agencies may not be upfront about their intentions and may try to influence a person’s decision,” it warned.

- With reporting by Michelle Hennessy, Stephen McDermott and Daragh Brophy 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

90 Comments
    Mute Louise Tracey
    Favourite Louise Tracey
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:37 PM

I hope who ever leaked her details is found and prosecuted/ sacked for gross misconduct

Mute Olivia McGowan
    Favourite Olivia McGowan
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:39 PM

@Louise Tracey: Completely agree. Total breach of patient confidentiality

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:45 PM

@Louise Tracey: not a chance !! ireland doesn’t do disciplinary action -especially if its against someone in the public service and at management level !!.

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:46 PM

@Louise Tracey: The far right anti choice seek to leak and intimidate people from seeking abortion.
    If you dont want more of this dont vote Renua, The National Party, Irexit or Indentity Ireland.

Mute Margate
    Favourite Margate
    Jan 31st 2019, 1:32 PM

@Louise Tracey: Absolutely, IF its true…not convinced this isnt some attention seeking spin. I await traceability outcomes…

Mute Mountain Ash
    Favourite Mountain Ash
    Jan 31st 2019, 1:53 PM

@Louise Tracey: we don’t even know if this actually even happened yet. Society is turning into a baying mob just waiting for something they can pounce on without any evidence and facts.

If the report is true its absolutely disgusting and should be dealt with by the appropriate authorities but the instantaneous mob getting their ‘evidence’ from an anonymous post on a fb group and an anonymous tweet is bloody ridiculous.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jan 31st 2019, 1:56 PM

@Margate: wtf are traceability outcomes? If you were a fair minded person you wouldn’t be casting aspersions on one stranger against another.

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Jan 31st 2019, 2:10 PM

@Louise Tracey: There is a civil case to be had there, hope she goes all out on them when found…

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Jan 31st 2019, 4:55 PM

@Margate: And what attention would this lady be seeking exactly?

Mute G Manning
    Favourite G Manning
    Jan 31st 2019, 5:30 PM

@Mark Malone: could count their combined votes on my left hand and have at least one digit free to pass on my opinion of all 4

Dnom
    Mute Dnom
    Favourite Dnom
    Feb 1st 2019, 12:38 AM

@Louise Tracey: no public servents ever gets sacked

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:38 PM

That’s a SERIOUS data breach. That girl should take the HSE to the cleaners, that might clean up their act.

The number in question also links to the fake pregnancy advice service that in a previous incarnation was telling women in crisis pregnancies that abortions cause breast cancer.

I won’t name the induvidual responsible on here, but sure enough he campaigned for election previously with a picture of the Virgin Mary on his pamphlets.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:41 PM

Also masquerades as the ‘British Pregnancy Services’, despite being based in Phibsborough. One reviewer on google states ‘Please don’t go here, it’s not trying to help you, only lies, shame and deceit. Anti-choice.’

Mute paul dunne
    Favourite paul dunne
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:46 PM

@The Risen: sue the state good lad.

Mute Bernie Linnane
    Favourite Bernie Linnane
    Jan 31st 2019, 1:42 PM

@The Risen: I would have no problem naming Eamonn Murphy. He was quite happy to tell the New York Times what he was up to. No need for secrecy here. We’ve had enough of that.

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Jan 31st 2019, 2:37 PM

@The Risen: you are making the assumption that it was a data breach. The person calling may have been given the details by someone known to the woman.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jan 31st 2019, 3:38 PM

@Darren Byrne: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Occam%27s_razor

JC
    Mute JC
    Favourite JC

Find and prosecute to the full extent of the law

Mute paul dunne
    Favourite paul dunne
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:44 PM

this wasn’t leaked it was deliberately given to sick people who will not and cannot accept the democratic will of the people.

Mute Marianne
    Favourite Marianne
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:37 PM

the HSE is well past its sell by date..

Peej
    Mute Peej
    Favourite Peej
    Jan 31st 2019, 1:01 PM

Whether you’re pro-choice or pro-life there is no reason but to be outraged by this. There is no excuse for leaking patient details, it’s absolutely disgusting and highly illegal. What the journal failed to include was the text/the address she was told to go to. 9 Berkley Street, Dublin 1. Right beside a legitimate pro-choice pregnancy support service.

Mute LYNDALAND
    Favourite LYNDALAND
    Jan 31st 2019, 1:26 PM

PEEJ: They should have requested a statement from the organisation.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jan 31st 2019, 2:03 PM

@LYNDALAND: the legitimate one that had nothing to do with this story?

Peej
    Mute Peej
    Favourite Peej
    Jan 31st 2019, 7:47 PM

@Dave O’Keeffe: so the legitimate one is called reproductive choices, they have a green frontage and they assist pregnant people with accessing services either here in Ireland or prior to the law being changed they offered information about seeking services abroad. The organisation next door with blue frontage are the bogus myoptions people, there are videos on YouTube showing this. Also the directions in the text message gave directions to the bogus organisation.

Peej
    Mute Peej
    Favourite Peej
    Jan 31st 2019, 7:49 PM

@LYNDALAND: highly doubt they would have responded seeing as how one of their representatives talked in a really aggressive way to the post-op woman when she called them back and challenged their legitimacy.

Mute LYNDALAND
    Favourite LYNDALAND
    Jan 31st 2019, 11:26 PM

@Dave O’Keeffe: no the fake counselling service at 9 Berkley Street masquerading as the HSE my options helpline.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Feb 1st 2019, 12:18 AM

@LYNDALAND: I just assumed the organisation that refused to comment was the one at 9 Berkley St

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:40 PM

Anonymous messages lifted off Facebook are being raised on the floor of our national parliament? If what’s in the message is true then surely gardai should be informed and an investigation conducted. Info from that investigation could very well be appropriate to be raised on our parliament floor, but this approach seems bizarre. I’m a little tempted to set up a few Facebook accounts and see how much trouble I can cause based on this.

Mute Clare Ryan
    Favourite Clare Ryan
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:51 PM

@Winston Smith: apparently Gardai were informed before the lady sent the message in anonymously and they said there was nothing they could do. With how these people react, I wouldn’t be attaching my name to this either. Fairplay to the girl for bringing peoples attention to this and hope whoever leaked her information is found and held accountable, terrible!

Mark
    Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:52 PM

@Winston Smith: making a fake account on Facebook? Na I don’t think it’ll catch on…

Mute LYNDALAND
    Favourite LYNDALAND
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:52 PM

@Winston Smith: if it was not shared on social media nobody would know about it and this criminal act of data breach, stalking, harassment and verbal abuse ( which could have led to more serious physical endangerment as they were trying to get her to attend a fake clinic ) , could continue unfettered… until and IF the gardai and courts managed to put all those involved in prison.

Mute LYNDALAND
    Favourite LYNDALAND
    Jan 31st 2019, 1:01 PM

@Winston Smith:
    What in God’s name would ‘tempt [you] to set up a few [fake] facebook accounts to see how much trouble I can cause based on this ‘?
    …Based on a vulnerable woman posting a warning to others, after being told by our police force that reporting the crime was not going to stop them from continuing?
    Get a grip, man.

Mute Sam Louise
    Favourite Sam Louise
    Jan 31st 2019, 1:07 PM

I’m in that group and seen that message last night. It was posted anon as she didn’t want to post her warning as herself which is her decision. The guy in question was live multiple times last night on facebook spouting rubbish. I have screenshots of this guy. Absolutely disgusting

Mute Neil Mac
    Favourite Neil Mac

Anti choice p®!©k$

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica

Scaring women into not having a legal safe abortion at home. Good job lads.

Mute Becca Laste
    Favourite Becca Laste

How is this even possible?

Mute Awkward Jake
    Favourite Awkward Jake
    Jan 31st 2019, 1:33 PM

And I thought the pro life campaign were out of line with there conduct during the referendum, good lord

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jan 31st 2019, 2:42 PM

@Awkward Jake: They definitely showed themselves up to be the parasites I thought they were.. but they are sinking to new lows by the day.

Mute Steve Mac
    Favourite Steve Mac
    Jan 31st 2019, 4:22 PM

@Awkward Jake: in fairness this particular piece of work is not connected to the PLC. He’s linked to Gianna Care who are linked to Youth Defence. Not taking away from the complete lies the PLC told during the referendum of course.

Mute Colin Ahern
    Favourite Colin Ahern

One hopes they also take a closer look into the myoptions group as well.

Mute ConPhoto
    Favourite ConPhoto
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:49 PM

This is unforgivable. Criminal.
    This undermines the entire health system in ireland.
    Whatever about Facebook etc this is x10000 as regards beach of privacy

Mute Tres Bien
    Favourite Tres Bien
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:55 PM

There’s only one way to describe this man. Sick, twisted, evil and clearly needs some sort of help if he thinks it’s ok to mis-lead people and abuse them for their choice. Surely that’s not the way of the Lord he clearly bows down to.

Mute NickyVera
    Favourite NickyVera
    Jan 31st 2019, 1:45 PM

@Tres Bien: reminds me of a line from True Detective: ‘If the only thing keeping a person decent is the expectation of divine reward then, brother, that person is a piece of sh!t.’

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane

Why was he ringing her after she had the termination? This doesn’t make much sense.

Mute Joseph Murphy
    Favourite Joseph Murphy
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:44 PM

@Jane: To abuse her. Pure and simple. These kind of pro-lifers are vile and intelligence usually isn’t their strongest suit.

Mute LYNDALAND
    Favourite LYNDALAND
    Jan 31st 2019, 1:23 PM

@Jane: it does not make much sense to normal people. Many not all in pro life are more interested in passing judgement than offering practical support which could reduce abortions.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Jan 31st 2019, 3:02 PM

@Joseph Murphy: he didn’t abuse her on the first call, he set up an appointment for her. Considering she was after having the termination, and he must have known that from the leaked info he got, it’s a little sinister that he was trying to get her to a particular place at a particular time.

Mute Susie
    Favourite Susie
    Jan 31st 2019, 2:43 PM

What were they going to do to her if she had of went to that address for the “scan”? Unbelievably scary to think her details were leaked!

Mute William Bryan
    Favourite William Bryan
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:36 PM

Distraction distraction distraction

Mute Colin Ahern
    Favourite Colin Ahern

@William Bryan: from what exactly ?

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica

@Colin Ahern: Something something babies something something murder mumble grumble

Mark
    Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:41 PM

@Colin Ahern: I think shouting distraction is the distraction? *Shrug*

Mute Picture This
    Favourite Picture This
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:45 PM

Incredibly strange , I find it hard to believe HSE staff leaked sensitive information, They deal with everything from People with AIDS to alls kinds of personal tragedy. could it not be the person’s own internet searches?

Mute Becca Laste
    Favourite Becca Laste
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:48 PM

@Picture This: I doubt that girl posted her name, phone number and that she was having an abortion online somehow or another. It had to have come from the inside.

Mute Steve Mac
    Favourite Steve Mac
    Jan 31st 2019, 4:24 PM

@Picture This: Do you really? It was religious staff who leaked info in Drogheda to the local PP. There are religious zealots everywhere – even in hospitals.

Mute David Linehan
    Favourite David Linehan
    Jan 31st 2019, 2:01 PM

Standard HSE practice, they’re also fond of just “losing” or “misplacing” data.
    Nepotism has the HSE in the mess it finds itself in, especially at senior management level, money going to the wrong sources within the sector. (The real workers in the place are on strike)
    I’ve heard countless stories of woefully under qualified management running wards, depts etc. look up the report for the Beaumont Hospital Carpark Project as a prime example of people out of their depth running the show, millions lost. Accountability is a non practice until the shît doesn’t just hit the fan but destroys the thing.

Mute LYNDALAND
    Favourite LYNDALAND
    Jan 31st 2019, 11:30 PM

@David Linehan: and remember that procurement officer in Vincents charging for oncology medicines that had been donated by the pharma companies?
    Prof. Crowne was effectively blacklisted when he blew the whistle on that.

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Jan 31st 2019, 2:17 PM

The person involved should contact the Gardai and the Data Protection Commissioner. This is criminal conduct and should not be left to the amateurs at the HSE no matter how well intentioned.

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    Jan 31st 2019, 3:24 PM

So Data Protection couldn’t get through to him? Hilarious. I was only talking to the POS last night. Its Éamonn Murphy. Of Divine Will and sundry other twisted anti-choice, anti woman endeavours. Slimy piece of work, trying to lure a vulnerable young woman, post-op, into a dodgy ‘clinic’. She had the smarts to know he was up to no good, though.

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    Jan 31st 2019, 2:16 PM

Not surprised the anti choicers are resorting to evil tactics like this :/
    Absolutely disgusting carry on!

Mute Californialov3
    Favourite Californialov3
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:58 PM

What a F****** rotten human being. Abortions are extremely hard to mentally and emotionally comprehend, why would you go and instigate more mental torture making the girl feel even worse ?

I understand why people didn’t want to repeal, I get it. You don’t have to agree with the new legislation but how dare you go and abuse somebody in an extremely volatile situation. The person who called her is a pig of the highest order.

Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy
    Jan 31st 2019, 12:57 PM

Disgraceful behaviour..

Mute Steve Mac
    Favourite Steve Mac
    Jan 31st 2019, 4:20 PM

It’s not just the leaking of data although that is a sackable offense. Under GDPR someone who uses personal data for a different purpose than it was collected for can also be in deep trouble. Patrick Jameson/Eamonn Murphy – whatever name he’s using today is a nasty piece of work. Have a listen to Joe Duffy eat him alive on Liveline last year.

Mute Michael Ryan
    Favourite Michael Ryan
    Jan 31st 2019, 2:30 PM

Youth Defence & it’s front group “Family & Life “, are behind some of this groups which spread lies like women get cancer from abortion. These people who set up fake collusening agencies, have been fully exposed in by journalists The Times Ireland edition

Mute Éamonn ÓGallchobhair
    Favourite Éamonn ÓGallchobhair
    Jan 31st 2019, 2:17 PM

Fake news coming from a fake government looking to kill babies from fake mothers.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jan 31st 2019, 2:41 PM

@Éamonn ÓGallchobhair: Cop on FFS

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    Jan 31st 2019, 3:24 PM

@Éamonn ÓGallchobhair: moron

Jan 31st 2019, 4:29 PM

@Rob Cahill: Show some evidence or grow up.

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    Jan 31st 2019, 4:45 PM

@Éamonn ÓGallchobhair: a POS like you looking for evidence, after the unmitigated excrement of your other posts. Gas, altogether.

Jan 31st 2019, 4:56 PM

@Martin Meyler: put up or shut up

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    Jan 31st 2019, 5:25 PM

@Éamonn ÓGallchobhair: are you just randomly pushing buttons on your V-TECH, there, Éamonn?

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Jan 31st 2019, 8:43 PM

@Éamonn ÓGallchobhair: and braindead immature comment of the day goes to…

Mute Paul O Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O Mahoney
    Jan 31st 2019, 4:22 PM

If this was my daughter I wouldn’t hesitate to find out who did this. Find them and outsource some justice. Its not something I would ever do but its the only language people like this understand.

Mute Johnny Merren
    Favourite Johnny Merren
    Jan 31st 2019, 3:53 PM

This is more dirty work by Ireland’s Taliban
    fundamentalists at work

I suggest that they stick to prayers and sermonizing
    instead of demonizing a women in a fragile distressed state

Does this quote from the Bible,ring a bell
    “He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her.”
    yeah…. just stick to your prayers

Mute Californialov3
    Favourite Californialov3
    Jan 31st 2019, 4:18 PM

@Johnny Merren: Preach!

Mute Simon Carroll
    Favourite Simon Carroll
    Jan 31st 2019, 1:41 PM

Could also be someone she knows personally???

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jan 31st 2019, 1:58 PM

@Simon Carroll: the phone number is linked to the organisation.

Mute Sean Beinead
    Favourite Sean Beinead
    Jan 31st 2019, 1:31 PM

In all fairness, that kind of immature carry on needs to be dealt with, regardless of your view on abortion that is disgraceful and should not be tolerated , act your f@#$%ng age you muppets.

Mute Red Hen
    Favourite Red Hen
    Jan 31st 2019, 5:20 PM

Hello! This is your conscience calling…..

Hashtag things that never happened

Mute Peter Heylin
    Favourite Peter Heylin
    Jan 31st 2019, 5:35 PM

A data breach in the HSE happens as easily as a bag of confidential patient files dumped on the side of the road (take your pick from the many recent examples). This type of data breach often results in no reported disciplinary action and it might not even be possible to track the person responsible depending on how organised / disorganised the hospital/HSE is. The rogue group could simply have picked their way through the discarded files.

Mute LYNDALAND
    Favourite LYNDALAND
    Jan 31st 2019, 11:32 PM

@Peter Heylin: they don’t dump files that quickly and the procedure only happened recently. More likely another pro life porter masquerading as a theatre surgeon again.

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Feb 1st 2019, 2:28 AM

This is an absolute and utter disgrace. Whatever your thoughts on the morality of abortion it is now a legal right as voted by the majority of Irish people and is protected by law. This is an inexcusable breach of data protection and needs to be treated as such. Forget for a moment that it is the hot topic of abortion and that it is, instead, a leak of confidential medical information. Whoever is responsible should be subject to the same repercussions as are meant to be exacted. But this is Ireland, what are the chances of that happening.

Mute Amoris Veri '
    Favourite Amoris Veri '
    Feb 1st 2019, 12:04 PM

How do we know this is not fake news, there is a vagueness about it.
    These babies will be getting potassium chloride injections, like in death row and by Hitler. You wouldnt do it to an animal but to a baby, with a beating heart, sucking it’s thumb, would you inject this fatal poison, would you???

Mute Clare without an i
    Favourite Clare without an i
    Feb 1st 2019, 1:33 PM

@Amoris Veri ‘: actually that’s how they put animals to sleep!

Mute Pauline Mulvey
    Favourite Pauline Mulvey
    Jan 31st 2019, 5:25 PM

Absolutely disgraceful!!!!