You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AP Photo/Denis Poroy

Angelina Jolie has had her ovaries removed after a cancer scare

The actress had the surgery last week.

ACTRESS ANGELINA JOLIE has said that she has had her ovaries and fallopian tubes removed in a preventative bid to avoid getting cancer.

In a column in today’s New York Times, Jolie said that the surgery was carried out last week after a cancer scare.

It comes almost two years after she had a preventative double mastectomy after finding out she had a gene mutation which gave her an 87% risk of breast cancer and a 50% risk of ovarian cancer.

Jolie lost her mother, grandmother and aunt to cancer.

In the column, Jolie writes that she is undergoing forced menopause as a result of the surgery.

She says she made the decision after her doctor told her that she had a number of signs of what could be early cancer.

“I went through what I imagine thousands of other women have felt,” she wrote. “I told myself to stay calm, to be strong, and that I had no reason to think I wouldn’t live to see my children grow up to meet my grandchildren.

“I called my husband in France, who was on a plane within hours. The beautiful thing about such moments in life is that there is so much clarity. You know what you live for and what matters. It is polarising, and it is peaceful”.

Tests showed that she did not have cancer – but she writes: “To my relief, I still had the option of removing my  ovaries and fallopian tubes and I chose to do it”.

Jolie said that the option was the best one for her personally because of mutated gene coupled with the fact that three women in her family had died from cancer.

The surgery was carried out last week.

Jolie wrote that it was not an easy decision, but urged women to “take control and tackle head-on any health issue”.

“Regardless of the hormone replacements I’m taking, I am now in menopause. I will not be able to have any more children, and I expect some physical changes.

“But I feel at ease with whatever will come, not because I am strong but beacuse this is a part of life. It is nothing to be feared”.

Angelina Jolie: I had double mastectomy to avoid breast cancer > 

Read: Angelina Jolie calls on UN Security Council to act on war rapes > 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

83 Comments
    Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Mar 24th 2015, 7:46 AM

I’ve lost a MIL (67) and cousin (35) to cancer in the past year. I give huge plaudits to AJ for being so public about her own crusade against this awful disease, it may actually save lives. I wish her nothing but long life and health in her future and hope that she and her family come through all this with a positive result.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Mar 24th 2015, 7:50 AM

I agree, fair play to her. Thankfully she had her children when she did, I can only imagine the pain of having to do that before you’ve had your family.

Mute Alan Moran
    Favourite Alan Moran
    Mar 24th 2015, 8:37 AM

Such a inspirational woman. She just gets on with whatever life throws at her. Such a positive attitude.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Favourite David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 12:53 PM

Yeah
    Stealing other women’s husbands.
    Heroin.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Mar 24th 2015, 8:03 AM

What an awful situation and yet such courage. Not sure if I could do the same.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Mar 24th 2015, 9:48 AM

Sure you could. Ordinary people achieve extraordinary things in the face of measurable fear.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:41 AM

immeasurable fear*

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 12:52 PM

“Extraordinary” things???
    Stupid things more like.

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt
    Mar 24th 2015, 1:21 PM

Why can’t she keep this private

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 3:45 PM

Amen Thierry.
    I wish she would keep it to herself.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 24th 2015, 4:00 PM

For one thing, she’s having a life-protecting surgery and being positive and open about it, Thierry. If that offends you be sure to look away when a lady tells you she’s about to feed her baby.

For another thing, try having a hospital visit and keeping it secret when the paparazzi are watching your every move.

Mute Maylena McEvoy
    Favourite Maylena McEvoy
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:12 AM

There are an awful lot of eejits on this thread. If stupidity could be surgically removed, ye should look into it.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Mar 24th 2015, 12:09 PM

I’m at an absolute loss as to the utterly moronic comments on this thread but considering who is making them I probably shouldn’t be surprised.

If a person was told they had an 87% chance of dying before their children were old enough to have grandchildren because the house they were living in could potentially kill them they would move. And not a single person on there would slate them for that decision.

If there were told that they’d a 50% chance of dying for the same reason but moving would negatively influence their life (like bring on the menopause) no one would be angry (and you guys sound irrationally angry) that the person waited and monitored the situation until the time came that expert opinion advised a course of action.

But instead of recognising all the facts of this case these “commentators” have focused on what THEY believe to be the facts ignoring ALL OTHER relevant data. But again, I’m not surprised. It’s not like there isn’t a pattern here.

Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins
    Mar 24th 2015, 1:02 PM

David Fitzpatrick

Just piss off you clown.

Mute Barry Flynn
    Favourite Barry Flynn
    Mar 24th 2015, 9:36 AM

So she’s never had cancer, but has had her breasts, and now ovaries removed because a doctor told her she was at risk. That’s mad, Ted. Doctors must be looking at her and seeing dollar signs. “Hi Angelina, well the good news is that you don’t have cancer, but as a precaution I’d recommend a double mastectomy and a hysterectomy, you know, just to be on the safe side. Will you be paying by cash or card?”. Cancer is an awful, awful disease, but there’s no point in mutilating ones self as a preventative measure.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Mar 24th 2015, 9:51 AM

Barry, It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.

Mute Barry Flynn
    Favourite Barry Flynn
    Mar 24th 2015, 9:58 AM

I don’t think you understand my point Alan. I think Angelina Jolie has an irrational fear of cancer and is taking unnecessary extreme measures to prevent it. She’s never been diagnosed.
    Her logic would dictate that people who smoke or have smoked should have their lungs removed because they have an increased risk of lung cancer!!
    Its crazy!
    There is no logic in removing perfectly healthy body parts in the off chance that you MAY become sick.
    I’ve had people close to me suffer and die from cancer, but I assure you, I’m far from a fool.

See 43 more replies ▾
    Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:00 AM

Amen Barry.
    I don’t see why this egomaniac who
    is an ex alleged heroin addict.
    wears a vile of her partners blood as a necklace.
    takes other women’s husbands.
    should be lauded for this unnecessary weird self harm.

There are plenty of preventative/combative measures for those who want to avoid cancer.
    I suppose lazy greedy gluttonous Hollywood celebs want the lazy sensationalist way out as per usual.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/celebritynews/10955476/ngelina-Jolie-in-heroin-addict-claims-after-dealer-posts-video-showing-her-high.html
    http://www.vanityfair.com/hollywood/2014/10/billy-bob-thornton-angelina-jolie-blood-vial

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:04 AM

Far from a fool but you believe her logic dictates that smokers should have their lungs removed. Seriously.

Mute Andy Lane
    Favourite Andy Lane
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:08 AM

It runs in her family. It took her mother. She’s genetically vulnerable and at high risk (I read there was an 80% chance she would get breast cancer before her mastectomy). Do you honestly think she’d have had these three procedures ‘just in case’?

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:10 AM
    Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:11 AM

Irrational? She had an 87% chance of getting breast cancer because its in her genes, her mother died from it. That isn’t irrational fear. That is very real.

Even the 50% chance of ovarian cancer is real to her, as her mothers sister died from it and again its in her genes.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:22 AM

@ Jason
    So what you are saying is that we don’t need all parts of our bodies?

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:24 AM

it appears so yes

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:26 AM

Do you need your appendix?

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:32 AM

Is it diseased Ian?

Mute Barry Flynn
    Favourite Barry Flynn
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:33 AM

Everybody carries the cancer gene. Its a lottery. I’d personally hang onto my body parts. If I was diagnosed with a cancer, then cut the f*cker out, but until then I’ll take my chances. I think Ms Jolie may just be nuts.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:37 AM

This is an awful insult to people who actually have had cancer and have eradicated it successfully and kept their bodies intact.

If she is going to overcome cancer, it’s better to overcome it as a whole person.
    But she doesn’t even have cancer, does she?
    Compared to the people who have actually had cancer and bravely overcome it, she looks nothing more than an egomaniac Hollywood freakshow looking for publicity.

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:39 AM

@David Answer the question. Do you need an appendix?

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:39 AM

There’s nothing irrational about her fear, Barry, as the article explains. When you hear the world “cancer” being mentioned when you’re ill it’s not something you take likely. When it comes to the possibility of surgery, of any kind, it’s not something you accept on a whim. The idea that she’s just popped along to her GP and he told her she might get cancer so she had her tits chopped off is utterly ridiculous. Referrals, second opinions, long discussions with family… and a very very difficult decision to me made. Talk to anyone who has had a mastectomy, never mind a double mastectomy and you,ll see how, even with cancer, it’s a hugely difficult decision before and after.

As someone who has a significant, though less than 80+% thankfully, chance of developing cancer you can be sure I take seriously the dietary and lifestyle changes to minimise that risk. If my chances were as high as hers were you can be sure I’d consider every option available to me to ensure I don’t develop it.

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:40 AM

So you would all risk metastasis?

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily

Your body, your choice.

:)

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy

David “awful insult to people who actually have had cancer”? Are you serious!?!

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Favourite Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:45 AM

Barry, before the masectomy, she had an 87% chance of getting breast cancer. Her mother and auntie both suffered from it, the auntie dying of it. Her mother and grandmother both died of ovarian cancer, which before this operation she had a 50% chance of getting.

After the masectomy(which isn’t totally and utterly permanent, boobs can be replaced), she’s reduced that 87% chance of getting breast cancer to 5%. Getting rid of her ovaries also reduces the risk of ovarian cancer massively, and as she’s already got a load of kids, she’s not really sacrificing much there.

So okay, everyone might be in this lottery, but she’s just dumped most of her tickets. Fair play to her.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:48 AM

Ian
    We need all our body parts.
    If not why do we have them in the first place.
    Why should we cut out healthy organs, just because someone says that we don’t need them?

What do you “not need” Ian?
    Your perfectly healthy arms?
    Your perfectly healthy legs maybe?
    Anything else?

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:49 AM

David thats highly insulting to those who have had cancer and had parts removed.

Also to anyone with a physical disability.

Better to come out a whole person?

Do I need to have an arm to be a whole person?

Or a leg?

FFS

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:50 AM

@ Mrs Shalakalananaka
    “Boobs can be replaced”????
    With what?
    Such a disingenuous misleading statement.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:51 AM

a raving lunatic and anyone who takes inspiration from her is a clown.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:53 AM

Filling hospital bins with healthy body parts is very insulting to those who are unfortunate to have fought for and lost theirs.
    You think it not Lily?

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:01 AM

No.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:06 AM

@ Lily
    “Your body, your choice.:)”?????
    Such a pathetic statement.

So essentially what you are saying is that it’s ok for someone to book into a hospital and have a leg or an arm removed
    and take up valuable hospital space,
    and leave us all to pick the bill???

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:11 AM

So David, you are saying that you need your appendix??

Mute Maylena McEvoy
    Favourite Maylena McEvoy
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:16 AM

You seriously think a surgeon would take a healthy limb for the craic? There’s being argumentative for the sake of it and then there’s David Fitzpatrick.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:18 AM

The body parts that Angeline had removed were healthy Maylena.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:19 AM

Did you have your healthy reading ability removed Ian?

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:23 AM

Do you need your appendix David??

Quoting you
    “So what you are saying is that we don’t need all parts of our bodies?”

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:26 AM

And actually she as told that her ovaries were showing the warning signs of developing cancer.

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Favourite Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:27 AM
    Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:36 AM

That’s not “replacing” Mrs.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:37 AM

Yes Ian
    I need my Appendix.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:41 AM

Do you need your nose Ian?

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:46 AM

Why do you need your appendix David?

I need my nose to prevent infection, temperature control and for sense of smell.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 12:49 PM

I need my perfectly healthy appendix because I was born with it and because there are no definitive studies that the removal of it does not lead to some detrimental disease or condition.
    Why do you need your’s Ian?

Mute Bernie Linnane McBride
    Favourite Bernie Linnane McBride
    Mar 24th 2015, 1:08 PM

Were you awfully afraid of brain cancer David, or did you have it removed for some other reason, along with your humanity?

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 3:47 PM

You are the one suggesting that I have Brain Cancer Bernie Luv

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 24th 2015, 4:06 PM

David for the love of God will you please do some reading and educate you itself about genetics and cancer risks. And stop digging.

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Mar 24th 2015, 4:14 PM

I suppose if you had your heart removed that would prevent future heart disease

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 24th 2015, 4:17 PM

Yes it would Paul, maybe no today , artificial hearts will eventually become par for the course. Welcome to the to exciting age in human history.

Mute Sarah McAvinchey
    Favourite Sarah McAvinchey
    Mar 24th 2015, 7:37 PM

Barry if someone told you that you had an 87% and a 55% chance of developing cancer would you not jump at the chance to prevent it? This woman, like many others, is saving her own life so she can watch her kids grow old. Now i dont know if you have any experience with BRCA1 Barry, and if you do im sorry. It can suck the life out of a person by providing stress and worry every single day of your life. I have the BRCA1 mutation and personally cannot wait to have preventative surgery both for boobs and ovaries to FINALLY get rid of this constant stress and worry. Before you judge and ridicule another person’s lifesaving decision, try to remember that people like us would rather live than have cancer prevalent boobs and ovaries. Plus my new boobs will never get saggy!!

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 25th 2015, 9:46 AM

“Reading” Neal?
    Where do you do your research?
    Hello Magazine?

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 9:46 AM

“because this is a part of life”???
    There are many things a person can do to combat disease without removing perfectly healthy parts of their body.
    I think this is a bad message to go out to young people.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Mar 24th 2015, 9:52 AM

Yeah, young wans all over will be begging their Ma for a double mastectomy and oophorectomy for Christmas now.

Mute Garr
    Favourite Garr
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:02 AM

Yes, the kids will be getting all kinds of ectomies now. God bless you and your considered opinion David Fitzpatrick.

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:02 AM

No its a great message. You can still a woman without ovaries and breast tissue. You can live without the worry of getting the same cancer your female relatives died from.

When you have an 87% chance of getting breast cancer and a 50% chance of getting ovarian cancer because you carry the awful cancer gene, why not remove them to prevent the cancer? Prevention is better than cure.

She made her choice, I totally respect that and I would make the same choice as her.

I had a scare there a few weeks ago, I told them they could whip it all out. Turned out it was nothing major, but my life is worth more than holding on to a uterus and ovaries I no longer need.

So what if I have an early menopause, thats life as a woman. It’s going to happen sooner or later.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:04 AM

Yes Alan.
    Just like the shallow weird celebs.
    Is she getting paid for this unnecessary heinous public display of self harm?

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:15 AM

did you need a celebrity to tell you that message now infairness Lily sweet Jesus.

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:22 AM

No. Because I’m headstrong. It may help others, lets them see that they can still be feminine and its nothing to be ashamed of.

A friend of mine was shocked when I told her about me telling the doctor’s they could whip it all out.

She couldn’t imagine living without her womanly bits.

Mute David Fitzpatrick

Lucky you didn’t have “it all whipped out Lily”
    It would be traumatising physically/mentally to find out that they took out perfectly healthy essential oragans.

Mute David Fitzpatrick

“Organs”

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:44 AM

Filling bins in hospitals with perfectly healthy organs and making surgeons and big pharma rich won’t “help others” Lily,
    it only helps the pocket’s of the vested interests.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Mar 24th 2015, 12:34 PM

Big pharma? FFS.

You’re nuts, David.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 12:51 PM

Say’s the man defending the Hollywood fruitcake.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 24th 2015, 4:03 PM

I know some perfectly nice thoroughly decent people in Hollywood.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 25th 2015, 9:47 AM

I’m sure Neal.
    However non of them are fruitcake celebs.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 24th 2015, 9:06 AM

and not one bollix was given.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Mar 24th 2015, 9:13 AM

No, just a couple of ovaries.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Mar 24th 2015, 9:49 AM

Well played, Daisy! :-)

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:26 AM

@Daisy
    Comment of the day so far

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:53 AM

infairness Ian it was the obvious answer

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:20 AM

And a couple of perfectly healthy breasts Daisy.
    What’s next to go?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Mar 24th 2015, 5:14 PM

Thanks Ían and Alan. :-)

As someone who has had cysts removed in the past, I don’t think what La Jolie is doing is unnecessary. She’s an extreme case, but prevention is better than cure. I’d do the same if I was her with those odds.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 24th 2015, 10:13 AM

this is an awful suituation for any women to be in but it’s a story beacuse a ( celebrity) gets it keep it private angelina good woman and idiots call her an inspiration if this person is your inspiration your in a bad place.

Mute Rosie Murray
    Favourite Rosie Murray
    Mar 24th 2015, 11:21 PM

Don don don… So have about 15 other Irish women this week…