You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Moylaragh Road, Balbriggan Google Street View

Witness appeal after man's neck cut during assault and robbery in north county Dublin

The incident happened on Moylaragh Road in Balbriggan shortly before 6pm on Thursday, 7 December.

GARDAÍ ARE APPEALING for witnesses after a man’s neck was cut during an assault and robbery in north Co Dublin last week. 

Shortly before 6pm on Thursday, 7 December, a man aged in his 20s was threatened and assaulted by two males on Moylaragh Road in Balbriggan. 

During the course of the assault, a number of items were taken from the man and he sustained a cut to his neck.

Both suspects fled the scene on foot in the direction of Harry Reynolds Road. 

The injured man later presented to Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital for treatment of non-life threatening injuries. 

Gardaí are appealing to anyone who was in the area of Moylaragh Road/Harry Reynolds Road and Chieftains Estate between 6.15pm and 6.35pm and who may have witnessed this incident to come forward.

They are particularly appealing to any road users who were travelling on the road at the time with camera footage to make this available to them.

Anyone with any information is asked to contact Balbriggan Garda station on 01 666 4500, the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111 or any garda station.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

62 Comments
    Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 15th 2023, 2:48 PM

Any relevant description of the males that might help the public identify them?

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 15th 2023, 3:39 PM

@Heywood Jablome: or maybe smart-ar$e, the guards know what they’re doing. Perhaps they already know who did it, and are now looking for witnesses.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 15th 2023, 3:39 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: You know this how?

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Dec 15th 2023, 3:48 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: because “why no description of the attackers?????” from the journal crowd means it’s being covered up because they’re foreign

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 15th 2023, 3:54 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: sorry Eoin, I thought you meant the guards. I couldn’t agree with you more – they’re dying for the perps to be identified as non white.

Mute Heywood Jablome
    Favourite Heywood Jablome
    Dec 15th 2023, 4:01 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: You’re making a lot of assumptions for a fella who knows sod all.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 15th 2023, 4:16 PM

@Heywood Jablome: just one assumption, followed by a hypothesis

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 15th 2023, 4:28 PM

@DGQ: I can see its benefits if it works properly, but it seems to be less accurate in identifying people with darker skin. So until that is sorted, no. Why do you ask?

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 15th 2023, 4:53 PM

@DGQ: Well thanks. But I gotta say, I don’t think that I defend the government that much. But I do get riled by populist nonsense and people who constantly give out about the government, no matter the content of the related article. I also seem to spend most of my time defending the immigrant community from some of the posters here – not that they need me to stand up for them, though

Mute Jon Doesn't
    Favourite Jon Doesn't
    Dec 15th 2023, 4:56 PM

@Paul: two Caucasian youths aged between 12 and 25, wearing dark track suit bottoms, dark hoodies with hoods up, faces covered and wearing sunglasses, gloves and runners. It was also dark at the time of evening and as a result there are clear descriptions of both. Is that a help to your enquiring mind?

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Dec 15th 2023, 5:08 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: What a load of balls!

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 15th 2023, 5:15 PM

@DGQ: Nice one, enjoy

Mute Hurrly 90
    Favourite Hurrly 90
    Dec 15th 2023, 9:14 PM

@Paul: If your tryin to somehow insinuate it was a racial thing then you dont know the area at all, I doubt you live here and know of the various all white irish patriot crime families operating in the area.
    Iv had family members punched by young lads trynna make a name, iv been threatened myself by lads on nights out too.
    Surprisingly they where all pale irish white and form certain families.
    Also i am White and from the town.
    So yeah Gards prob already know who they are and want confirmation, tbh i have a few ideas myself form living in the town.

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Dec 15th 2023, 3:05 PM

But FFG in the Dail voted confidence in Justice minister Helen Mc Entee

Mute Murray peter
    Favourite Murray peter
    Dec 16th 2023, 12:29 AM

@Kevin O Brien: and exposed Mary Sue as a serial liar in the process :)

Mute BL Music
    Favourite BL Music
    Dec 15th 2023, 3:53 PM

There is a lot of attacks on people and lawlessness in balbriggan this past few years . It used to be a very quite sleep town .. What went wrong?

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 15th 2023, 3:59 PM

@BL Music: Spit it out. I know you’re dying to tell us “what went wrong”

Mute Shane Kinsella (Kinsey)
    Favourite Shane Kinsella (Kinsey)
    Dec 15th 2023, 4:04 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: I’m from the town and I’ll spit it out. The town’s gone to sh!te since the population exploded. (Take from that what you will )
    And before you ask I never remembered any locals running around with machetes, which seems to be the norm now.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 15th 2023, 4:07 PM

@Shane Kinsella (Kinsey): indeed, often happens to a town when the population increases so quickly

Dec 15th 2023, 4:11 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: well done. Keep your head buried in the sand and pretend it’s all imaginary.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 15th 2023, 4:15 PM

@Shane Kinsella (Kinsey): I think you need to spit it out

Dec 15th 2023, 7:36 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: why ? , so you can go on a virtue signal exercise and show all the readers how great you are !
    No thanks our lad.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 15th 2023, 8:03 PM

@Shane Kinsella (Kinsey): No, I’m just sick of posters making thinly veiled references without saying what they really mean. And I don’t consider it a race issue if black people commit crime. It’s a issue of criminality. I guess you call that virtue signalling.

Mute Murray peter
    Favourite Murray peter
    Dec 16th 2023, 12:30 AM

Deport deport deport

Mute Ray Grogan
    Favourite Ray Grogan
    Dec 15th 2023, 4:57 PM

I named my hound Balbriggan,…..cos he’s mostly black and brown with a small bit of white in him.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 15th 2023, 4:03 PM

Isn’t is discriminatory to refer to the attackers as males?
    They could be gender fluid.

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Dec 15th 2023, 3:11 PM

How can anybody even try and polticise this? Blaming the government/minister instead of the perpetrator. Some people stoop to some lows.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 15th 2023, 3:43 PM

@Sun Rise: Both her and drew said it perfectly safe to walk the streets (as she strutted down the road with about 10 gardai protecting her!)

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Dec 15th 2023, 5:01 PM

@David: so are all of you afraid to go outside or what? i dont know anyone who goes on about feeling unsafe in dublin, this site seems to attract a lot of agoraphobic people. dublin city has been absolutely rammed for the past few weeks with normal people going about their business.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Dec 15th 2023, 5:06 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: Exactly…..it’s usually our country cousins who never miss an opportunity to knock Dublin.I’m in town all the time,and my 14 year old is in with her friends and we are happy.

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Dec 15th 2023, 5:12 PM

@John Terry: I see you’ve still not acknowledged you were spreading misinformation yesterday regarding the government in the south massaging the homeless numbers compared to the north. Would you finally like to man up, hold your hand up and admit you were telling lies?

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 15th 2023, 5:26 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: you addressed me specifically and then said “all of you”, what are you implying ?

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Dec 15th 2023, 5:29 PM

@David: all of you oddballs that comment here that seem to be afraid to go outside

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 15th 2023, 5:30 PM

@John Terry: I am from Dublin and in the city every other day .
    certain parts of it one would want their wits about them, but most cities are like this. I have noted an increase in violence in general, the coke heads, seem very angry for some reason, the crack heads are just straight-up strung out and will do anything for a tenner!

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 15th 2023, 5:38 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: where did you get the opinion that I am afraid to go outside?
    You are making far too many assumptions about people based on isolated comments!

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 15th 2023, 5:49 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: taken from a journal report direct from the Gardai, years 2022 compared to 2021

Gardaí recorded over 22,000 incidents of assault last year.
    The figure represents a 16.3% increase in recorded assaults when compared to 2021.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 15th 2023, 5:51 PM

@David: That was my initial point, nothing to do with fear, ya clown

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 15th 2023, 5:54 PM

@David: I had a very pleasant interaction with a druggie at a Luas stop in town. He asked me to roll him a joint, showing me his bag of weed and skins. Promised he’d give me a blast, but said he was too wasted to roll – he could hardly speak, let alone co-ordinate rolling up. I told him I couldn’t help him as I was outside the office where I work. The Luas arrived. We both got on, and he promptly fell asleep.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Dec 15th 2023, 6:07 PM

@John Terry: Are you visiting Dublin for the weekend? Last week you said you were from Uttoxeter in the UK??? Does that mean you and all your multiple personalities who “talk” to each other are only posting here to wreck debate?

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 15th 2023, 7:04 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: I can tell you right now,(and I KNOW this for a fact) that person is NOT on serious drugs,
    Anyone on serious drugs would never spend money on weed, it’s too expensive for someone that has an addiction!

I do find it amazing that you had such a positive interaction with someone that can barely speak or coordinate basic hand movements to the point where he/she can’t roll a joint.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 15th 2023, 7:17 PM

@David: I seem to have rattled your cage. No need to use capital letters. I described an interaction that I had with someone who was wasted – a street head who had a bag of weed. I don’t know his history. I’m old and wise enough to know street druggies when I meet them. This particular one asked for my help – I couldn’t help, but I enjoyed our brief interaction. I liked him.

Mute Joe Connolly
    Favourite Joe Connolly
    Dec 15th 2023, 7:23 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: I don’t know anyone who feels safe around Tabot St, Abbey St and O’Connell St, the area is a cesspit of crime and intimation. Areas over O’Connell Bridge are grand and enjoyable to visit. And I’m from the Northside.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 15th 2023, 8:07 PM

@Joe Connolly: that entire area is gone to sh it.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 15th 2023, 9:59 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: congratulations on your self proclaimed wisdom.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 15th 2023, 10:05 PM

@David: W anchor

Mute C
    Favourite C
    Dec 15th 2023, 5:37 PM

Publishing skin colour not relevant – sure with the number of non-whites in Blackbriggan anyway, what good would it do?

The Journal is great, it is always getting great soundbites from the NGOs and charity migration industry sector, I love to hear everytime sound lad rocks up without a pot to pass in looking for a free gaff, and then the faux-outrage of the NGOs and horror at the failure of the government to house an unlimited number of randomers.

Never a word of thanks to taxpayers for their work that provides all the funding for this free for all, which is only right and proper in any communist state.

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Dec 15th 2023, 5:50 PM

@C: I’ve heard some wild claims on this site, like some seriously mental claims but now to claim Ireland is a communist state is by far the most unhinged thing I’ve ever read on this site. Sure we all know the nurses in the hse and Ryan tubridy got the same wage packet at the end of the week isn’t it?

Mute SOCOMJON
    Favourite SOCOMJON
    Dec 15th 2023, 4:04 PM

Why don’t victims of violence sue Helen what’s her name ?

Mute Murray peter
    Favourite Murray peter
    Dec 16th 2023, 12:34 AM

@SOCOMJON: for what?

Mute Itsme83
    Favourite Itsme83
    Dec 15th 2023, 2:38 PM

The world is gone to be F#$@ked

Mute Murray peter
    Favourite Murray peter
    Dec 16th 2023, 12:34 AM

Publish the skin colour, if they were white it would be mentioned

Mute Davidoff Wossaname
    Favourite Davidoff Wossaname
    Dec 16th 2023, 7:39 AM

Does anyone understand how the Journal decides which articles can have comments as I don’t. This one which will lead to legal proceedings is open but most other harmless ones are closed with no explanation. And it’s slowly moving towards no comments at all.

Mute Murray peter
    Favourite Murray peter
    Dec 16th 2023, 12:28 AM

Mass sterilisation of the scrote class is needed