You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Máire Whelan RollingNews.ie

'It stinks' - Criticism of decision to give Attorney General a job she didn't apply for

“This is not something that can just be gotten over with a casual ‘ah sure, we’ll do better next time’.”

FIANNA FÁIL LEADER Micheal Martin has said the appointment of former Attorney General Máire Whelan to the Court of Appeal “stinks”.

The appointment of Whelan to the court has been criticised this week, being dubbed “nakedly political”. It was also confirmed that the new Social Protection Minister was not aware that Whelan was to be appointed a judge before Tuesday’s cabinet meeting.

It was announced on Tuesday she would leave her post after six years, a day before Leo Varadkar took office. It has been confirmed to Gavan Reilly of Today FM that she had not made an application for the role on the Court of Appeal.

Speaking as new Taoiseach Leo Varadkar announced his cabinet last night, Martin said that the appointment was indicative of “broken promises of reform”. He said the job on the Court of Appeal had been held open for three months after the retirement of Mr Justice Garrett Sheehan in March.

Martin took specific aim at Shane Ross, long a vocal opponent of political judicial appointments.

“This is not something that can just be gotten over with a casual ‘ah sure, we’ll do better next time’.

“Why was 23 years of precedent abandoned for no real reason? Why was no specific open advertisement issued in recent months? Why was the job held open for three months, then filled in this manner?

“Most of all, why did a minister (Shane Ross) once staunchly opposed to all political involvement in judicial appointments quietly wave through this appointment? Was it anything to do with an interim report to facilitate the opening of Stepaside Garda Station?”

In response, Ross accused Fianna Fáil of “offering pork barrel deals by the bejaysus” when negotiating a government deal.

Unaware

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland today, newly-minted Social Protection Minister Regina Doherty defended the move.

However, she said that she was not aware it would happen before Tuesday’s cabinet meeting.

“Máire Whelan is an eminently qualified judge. She has done an absolutely super job for this government and the previous government.

“More importantly, she was available and I know she is going to make an absolutely excellent judge.

“She is a bounty of wisdom, she is calm, she’s measured, she’s mature.

“I can’t speak for every member, I can only speak for myself, but no I didn’t know she was going to be appointed, it wasn’t on the documentation that was circulated in the days before the meeting.

“The appointment was put to cabinet and approved by cabinet.”

Doherty said that the government’s prerogative was to make judicial appointments and referred to a statement by the Judicial Appointments Advisory Board which stated that there hadn’t been any sufficiently qualified candidates for the job.

Social Democrats co-leader Roisín Shortall called the appointment “nakedly political”.

“It makes a mockery of talk of reform and shows that the government does not believe in its own hype when it comes to ridding cronyism from the judicial system. I want to know whether this appointment was agreed by Minister Shane Ross who has been pushing for the Judicial Appointments Bill.”

TheJournal.ie has asked the Government press office for comment on the appointment.

Read: Ireland’s Attorney General is to become a judge of the Court of Appeal

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

70 Comments
    Mute Meekus
    Favourite Meekus
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:23 AM

Makes Ross look very silly considering all the mouthing he did about the process.

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:52 AM

@Meekus: Ross has proved his worth to the people with his complete ineptitude since getting his cushy ministerial position. A great man for shouting from the sidelines but a completely ineffective and useless member of government. He’s been found out for what he really is.

Mute Frank McGonigal
    Favourite Frank McGonigal
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:24 AM

@Meekus: agreed & considering she is compromised and incompetent, she was found out badly in the fennelly report when she gave inconsistent evidence with what she had previous said & the manner in which she set up the investigation into siteserv compromised the commissions ability to investigate from the start.
    This should be the death nail in the coffin for fine gael, they have conducted their politics along this vain of corruption, nepotism which undermines the institutions of democracy they were elected to. When the judiciary are so nakedly linked to tbe gov or a political party in this case & appointed in such manner it is a grievous stain on our the political sphere.
    We should stand up & demand her to be withdrawn from her new role but unfortunately we as a nation will always accept such bebasement of our democratic values

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:43 AM

Only in Ireland with the cronyism. Would you get a job you didn’t apply for. What doesn’t stink these days under this governments tenure?

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Jun 15th 2017, 11:16 AM

@Bingobango: Don’t worry, Stepaside Garda Station will be reopening so everything is grand.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:24 AM

Genuinely disgusting contribution by Doherty but wouldn’t expect anything else. I think that FF will sharpen their knives now and Martin’s rhetoric yesterday was aggressive. Without question there will be a general election this year – most likely in October or November.

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:15 AM

@John Ryan: like FF wouldn’t try something worse

Mute OnTheOutside
    Favourite OnTheOutside
    Jun 15th 2017, 11:39 AM

@John Ryan: Damn right, can’t have the boys doing work on there summer break! Imagine that, having to canvas while on holidays. Not a chance, get the peace till there back in work, is the order of the day.

Mute Dolly White
    Favourite Dolly White
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:49 AM

Martin spot on. Whelan should have lost her job after Fennelly Report. Jobs for the boys and girls…twas ever thus. Proves that Labour and Fine Gael are as up to their necks in cronyism as FF

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Jun 15th 2017, 11:57 AM

@Dolly White: How can it prove Labour are up to their necks in cronyism? They have not been in government to appoint her a judge. It was Enda Kenny’s decision to make her AG last year.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Jun 15th 2017, 1:34 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: they wanted her as ag in the first place,that’s where her incompetence has come to light!!

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jun 15th 2017, 2:39 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: I think you need a history lesson and no not the middle ages just the dark ages between 2008 and when the electorate roasted them in the last election – over cronyism among a lot of other things.

Dj
    Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:39 AM

Everything stinks when it comes to irish politics. Leinster house should have a 10 metre high stone turd erected outside the gates. A fitting tribute to the shite bags who inhabit it.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Jun 15th 2017, 3:45 PM

@Dj: What about the wee shite’s, that vote for them and the one’s who don’t vote at all?

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Jun 15th 2017, 5:06 PM

@Dj:
    The Independent are now reporting that THREE judges applied for the job. They applied to the AG Maire Whelan.
    You couldn’t make this up.

Mute Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:20 AM

‘It stinks’ what doesn’t stink in leinster house.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:24 AM

How do you get a job you didn’t apply for ? it’s easy once the system is corrupt.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington

@Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh: Exactly. You just can’t take Martin’s feigned indignation on this in anyway seriously when we know that FF would quiet happily do the same. Same old circus being played out in the hope we’ve forgotten all that’s happened.

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:50 AM

@Martin Ryan: It’s not uncommon in the private sector for someone to be head hunted by a company for a particular job because they are known to be good at it.

But someone I don’t think this was the case here, I do hope so but….

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Jun 15th 2017, 4:50 PM

@B9xiRspG: But this isnt the private sector. Given they operate the seats of power they need to be above any perceived conflicts.

Mute kenneth clohessy
    Favourite kenneth clohessy
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:54 AM

Reward for all the cover-ups going on

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Jun 15th 2017, 2:50 PM

@kenneth clohessy:
    Ross has set back the Independent Alliance like Kelly did for Labour.
    As for Regina Doherty, well she is just a creepy individual.

Mute Sean Callan
    Favourite Sean Callan
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:54 AM

A typical Regina Monologue….. and expect more to come

Mute Helen Ryan
    Favourite Helen Ryan
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:19 AM

I’m.also qualified and available for a lot of jobs – although I have applied for them I didn’t even get an rsvp. Perhaps if I hadn’t applied for them I would have been rewarded with them? Or do you need to have a TV behind you to get a government job.I guess this how the zero tolerance on cronyism goes. No surprises when at least one of the TDS sitting on the cronyism reform panel has given at least both his brother and his wife unadvertised jobs -not to mention the seat he tried to give his wife using her maiden name and forgetting to mention he was married to her. Oh yes -no corruption and a new era here all right.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jun 15th 2017, 2:04 PM

@Helen Ryan: Who was this?? Please tell

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Jun 15th 2017, 4:52 PM

@Helen Ryan: Pat Rabbitt or Gilmore tried that wasnt it?

Mute David Knight
    Favourite David Knight
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:22 AM

Well if Michael Martin says it stinks, then it really must stink to high heaven. He is an expert on noxious odours after all.

Mute Kevin Lonergan
    Favourite Kevin Lonergan
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:41 AM

Could somebody at the Journal please proof read articles before publication, just have a look at the second paragraph here !!!!
    The appointment stinks to high heaven and Shane Ross who has been bleating on about judicial appointments for years should hang his head in shame for sitting back and allowing this to happen so that he could deliver one of his promises to his constituency and shore up his position for the election later this year.
    Martin and his colleagues in FF need to grow a pair and start removing the splinters from their arses from all the fence-sitting they’ve been doing and refuse to continue to support this farce of a government.

Mute Meekus
    Favourite Meekus
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:46 AM

@Kevin Lonergan: No need to proof read Kev. Most don’t read past the headline.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:55 AM

@Meekus: the first paragraph is like a sudoku puzzle. Fill in the gaps yourself.

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone

Mehole won’t pull this farce of a government down though. All about his own FF and FG (SAME) holding power ..

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:34 AM

She is not up to the task. She does not have the required calibre.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:37 AM

More contempt for the process, democratic system and the people

Mute Dante Marquinhos
    Favourite Dante Marquinhos
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:37 AM

Micheal Martin is right but can we get him a copy of Reeling in the Years just a reminder to him when he was in government.

Mute Paul Gurney
    Favourite Paul Gurney
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:57 AM

@Dante Marquinhos: Yes he is right and try like a good man to seperate the facts from the emotion..the facts say it stinks to high heaven..no process at all was used so thats the nub of the matter..what michael martin or anyone else did in the past is totally irrelevant and doesnt change the facts.

Mute Dante Marquinhos
    Favourite Dante Marquinhos
    Jun 15th 2017, 11:16 AM

@Paul Gurney: I understand what you are saying but it rings hollow when you consider Fianna Fail’s past. Sure if they weren’t in coalition together right now that’s exactly what Fine Gael’s defense would be.

Mute epo eire
    Favourite epo eire
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:09 AM

Sounds like a lot of itchy backs round those parts

Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:50 AM

gender quotas?

Mute Pat Butler
    Favourite Pat Butler
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:46 AM

Ireland: always was and always will be a passive nation

Mute Niall Conneely
    Favourite Niall Conneely
    Jun 15th 2017, 12:00 PM

Ross goes along with this cronyistic practice but comes the heavy on having a glass of wine or a pint with a meal and driving home. I think he’s lost the high moral ground

Mute Louise b
    Favourite Louise b
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:27 AM

They needed to fill a position, she fit the bill so they gave her the job.. I don’t see what the problem is?

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:34 AM

@Louise b: The problem is she did not apply for the job and no doubt their were other candidates who would have liked the opportunity to do the job.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:01 AM

@Louise b: it is an important job, and there are a number of qualified judges who would have applied and been ready for the role. Not advertising the role and appointing a friend who sits at the cabinet table on your retirement means there is no separation between the judiciary and the oireachtas. As you cannot link the two, it would mean that politicians are potentially above the law, as the judiciary are owed their position by the government. To go further, if a minister behaved illegally, such as interfering in justice, abusing individuals of child abuse or illegally invading their privacy, they will not be prosecuted.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jun 15th 2017, 2:05 PM

@Louise b: She’s stupid??

Mute Louise b
    Favourite Louise b
    Jun 15th 2017, 2:12 PM

@Mary Murphy: ah you know her?

Mute Louise b
    Favourite Louise b
    Jun 15th 2017, 2:12 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: thanks!

Mute Brian harris
    Favourite Brian harris
    Jun 15th 2017, 7:05 PM

@Louise b: The problem is. Wait for it!!! They GAVE her the job.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 15th 2017, 12:21 PM

People are becoming more and more intolerant of this kind of cronyism being displayed by government. Also intolerant of Mehole sounding off on issues of importance to the Irish people, but refusing to do anything about them, and supporting his coalition partners when push comes to shove. Words are cheap. Governments have to held accountable for what they do.

Mute Roisin Nolan
    Favourite Roisin Nolan
    Jun 15th 2017, 12:33 PM

Regina Doherty should get her facts straight before she goes on the airways. Máire Whelan was never a judge. She is the Attorney General and was a senior counsel (barrister) before that.

ed w
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:48 AM

This would be tge new politics then !

Mute Daithí Uí Ciarmhaic
    Favourite Daithí Uí Ciarmhaic
    Jun 15th 2017, 1:00 PM

Let me guess she’ll be on the bench by the time the water protestors make their appeal

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Jun 15th 2017, 11:47 AM

Same old same old. Originally a labour appointment and now it’s FG cronyism Worse that that, she has proved herself incompetent.

Mute Sandra Fawcett
    Favourite Sandra Fawcett
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:46 AM

Expecting The Journal to engage in proof reading stinks

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Jun 15th 2017, 1:27 PM

Michael martin could solve this in one minute if he had a mind to , all he would have to do is tell varadkar That he will place a motion of no confidence in the government if this shoddy decision isn’t reversed but this won’t happen because martin is only playing to the gallery , this has happened before when Albert Reynolds tried to appoint Harry whelehan to the high court without getting agreement on it first only to have his government brought down by dick spring. All I can say is spring had a lot of faults but at least he had more backbone than Martin!!

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jun 15th 2017, 1:10 PM

I don’t think that she was a great AG, She was uncertain and her advise was often questioned. Is she up to being a Judge ? , well who knows? , I suppose there were severals before that were questionable too. Anyway, it was a nice payoff and a handy way of getting rid of her.

Mute GRONG
    Favourite GRONG
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:43 AM

Everyone of them is a muppet . Crooked & corrupt to the core . An absolute disgrace to the country. Jobs for the lads , & the massive salaries & pensions which they don’t deserve is an outrage .

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jun 15th 2017, 11:41 AM

Disgraceful.fg,FF, labour,must be removed from power.

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Jun 15th 2017, 4:02 PM

Malleable.and will know what is expected of her,without any prompting or traceable communication

Mute DeFonz
    Favourite DeFonz
    Jun 15th 2017, 11:08 PM

odd purple glow in the specs, must be some sort of signal that you are a special person that deserves a big salary, never seen it before, must move in the wrong circles..

Mute Stay with
    Favourite Stay with
    Jun 15th 2017, 11:53 AM

THE COUNTRY WE LIVE IN. Disgusting

Mute Willie Bill Bryan
    Favourite Willie Bill Bryan
    Jun 15th 2017, 9:11 PM

Right Martin says the appointment stinks , right then pull the plug or shut up and keep FF in power

Mute Seany#NoCeta#NoTTIP
    Favourite Seany#NoCeta#NoTTIP
    Jun 15th 2017, 8:17 PM

Who smells an election

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:17 AM

SSDD

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Jun 15th 2017, 10:26 AM

Why is FG looking after this lady…..She was Labour party appointment who Kenny kept on last year…..Should be Labour gets her a new job….

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Jun 15th 2017, 1:55 PM

@Louise b: