You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AP/Press Association Images

Ben Affleck apologises after asking programme not to mention his slave-owner ancestor

Affleck asked the programme not to mention his dodgy ancestor – but now an investigation into the programme is under way.

AN INVESTIGATION IS under way after a television programme in the US discovered that Ben Affleck had an ancestor who was a slave-owner – but didn’t air the discovery following a request from the actor.

Affleck has apologised for making the request, saying that he was ‘embarrassed’ by his ancestor, while the network which aired the programme said it is carrying out an internal review.

The programme called Finding Your Roots, which is similar to Who Do You Think You Are, looked at Affleck’s family history.

In a statement, the PBS network said it is investigating whether its editorial stands were observed.

The programme’s host has defended the decision not to include the slave-owner ancestor, saying that he focused on the most interesting aspects of Affleck’s history, including a Revolutionary War ancestor, a great-grandfather who enjoyed the occult, and Affleck’s mother.

Writing on Facebook last night, Affleck said he had asked the programme maker not to include the story of his distant relative when the discovery was made.

“I was embarrassed. The very thought left a bad taste in my mouth,” he wrote.

affleck

The Batman star said that he had lobbied the show creator not to include the story “the same way I lobby directors about what takes of mine I think they should use”.

“It’s important to remember that this isn’t a news programme,” Affleck wrote. “Finding Your Roots is a show where you voluntarily provide a great deal of information about your family, making you quite vulnerable.

The assumption is that they [the programme makers] will never be dishonest but they will respect your willingness to participate and not look to include things you think would embarrass your family.

The Oscar-winning director and actor said that he regretted what he had done, and noted the backlash against him for trying to edit his family history.

“We deserve neither credit not blame for our ancestors and the degree of interest in this story suggests that we are, as a nation, still grappling with the terrible legacy of slavery,” he wrote.

How it was leaked

Affleck’s request to the programme makers became public last week when it was published by Wikileaks as part of a trove of emails and internal communications accessed during a massive hack of Sony last year.

The programme’s presenter, Harvard lecturer Henry Louis Gates, had emailed the chief executive of Sony – who was a friend of his – to discuss Affleck’s request.

The Sony executive advised taking out the slave-owner information ‘if no-one knows’, but noted that ‘if it gets out that you are editing the material based on this kind of sensitivity then it gets tricky’.

Gates said that not including the story could ‘compromise our integrity’ but ultimately went ahead with the decision.

After the story initially broke, PBS said Gates and his producers “made an independent editorial judgement to choose the most compelling narrative”.

Read: Everyone thinks Ben Affleck’s Batman looks awfully familiar > 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

55 Comments
    Mute Sean Gillick
    Favourite Sean Gillick
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:03 PM

It’s not like he owns slaves himself..

Mute Corcorab
    Favourite Corcorab
    Apr 22nd 2015, 4:25 PM

A recent thing in America is the ancestors of slaves claiming money off people whose ancestors were slave owners as compensation, Affleck is protecting his reputation and his pocket

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:17 PM

I’m sure if you go back long enough everyone has a dodgy ancestor or two.

Mute Grot Master
    Favourite Grot Master
    Apr 22nd 2015, 4:42 PM

More than a few viking rapists. Our ancestors did horrible things.

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Apr 22nd 2015, 2:57 PM

No story really… Would anyone, famous or not broadcast the fact that their ancestors owned slaves? I doubt it

Mute Paul Raven
    Favourite Paul Raven
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:27 PM

The liberals lap this stuff up so it is big for some people

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:45 PM

Some family history isn’t relevant

Mute Eric Lensherr
    Favourite Eric Lensherr
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:14 PM

Affleck was embarrassed that his ancestor owned slaves. Great! What do people want? Him to be proud of the fact? To parade it around?

A guy in that situation can’t win.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Apr 22nd 2015, 4:37 PM

He could have handled it better and made a point of showing that he could was using it as a learning experience.Maybe have made a point of meeting the decendants of the slaves.I know he’d probably be accused of playing the situation for TV but to be caught trying to hide it is a damn sight worse.

Mute Billy Kennedy
    Favourite Billy Kennedy
    Apr 22nd 2015, 4:45 PM

I’m sorry but what was he meant to learn from this? Not to keep slaves? I’m pretty sure he doesn’t need that lesson.

And meeting the family? Seriously? You cannot be held responsible for the actions of your ancestors.

Was he wrong to try and cover it up, yes. But his reaction was very normal and human.

Mute Amy Wallis
    Favourite Amy Wallis
    Apr 22nd 2015, 4:54 PM

Why on earth should he apologise, let alone meet the descendants?? It wasn’t him who did this. Not even his father or grandfather.

It’s a voluntary show where you offer information about some of your ancestors. He didn’t have to put forth info about that if he didn’t want to, and why should he? Let alone the fact that many people used to be slave owners.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Apr 22nd 2015, 5:32 PM

I didn’t say I would but American TV audiences lap that stuff up.Popular guy coming to terms with a dark family history ect. ect.Im actually surprised the network didn’t suggest it.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Apr 22nd 2015, 5:36 PM

Btw . Do the red thumbs not think there is anything to be learned form investigating the history of slavery especially if there is a family connection ? Surprised by that.

Mute james
    Favourite james
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:39 PM

He owes more of an apology for Daredevil.

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:08 PM

2146:
    Bill Affleck apologises for history documentary not mentioning his ancestor destroyed the Batman franchise.

Mute Sean Johnston
    Favourite Sean Johnston
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:23 PM

Who is Bill Affleck and who is his ancestor that destroyed the Batman franchise?

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:33 PM

Whoosh!

Mute Sean Johnston
    Favourite Sean Johnston
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:39 PM

I still don’t understand how he destroyed the batman franchise.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Apr 22nd 2015, 4:27 PM

I think they mean Daredevil.Actually the Netflix version ain’t too bad.

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Apr 22nd 2015, 5:18 PM

2016:
    The movie Superman vs Batman is released. Sean and John finally get the joke.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Apr 22nd 2015, 5:28 PM

Sorry missed the date above that. Your probably right but I so hope your going to be wrong.

Mute Sean Johnston
    Favourite Sean Johnston
    Apr 22nd 2015, 5:51 PM

I doi get it now sorry, even though I still have no idea why he’s going to be responsible for destroying the batman franchise.

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:12 PM

Its worse that he’s trying to deny his history, Id say a large swathe of the white population form the south have slave owning ancestry, big deal. I wonder how much of Germany’s current populations ancestry got up to a lot worse in ore recent times. If he put his hand up day one and said ‘its embarrassing for me but its who I am’ people would have gotten over it.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Apr 22nd 2015, 4:58 PM

I’m not responsible for what any relative of mine living or dead did.
    Non story and anyone who thinks so should have a look at their own family I’m sure theirs not one of us who doesn’t have a dodgy ancestor.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Apr 22nd 2015, 7:36 PM

A lot of large slave owners were black themselves and I think I remember reading somewhere that the first slave owner in the U.S. was actually black as well !
    http://americancivilwar.com/authors/black_slaveowners.htm
    They were different times,you shouldn’t be an apologist for something your family did years ago,all you can do is learn from it !

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:19 PM

In fairness he seems like a pretty sound guy for a Hollywood superstar. He did not denie his past he just tried to conceal it as most of us would in simular circumstances.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:35 PM

His past is only as old as he is.
    This stupid hollyweird collectivist guilt tripping over wrongs that happened hundreds of years ago is laughable and rudiculous.

Mute John D
    Favourite John D
    Apr 22nd 2015, 5:37 PM

True, might want to remind some of our own republicans of that…

Mute February Flower
    Favourite February Flower
    Apr 22nd 2015, 4:04 PM

How bleeding stupid. Does this mean that all grand-children of Nazis and the likes should be shamed?

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Apr 22nd 2015, 4:52 PM

Not at all…but we should treat with some suspicion the grand kids of red-headed people.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Apr 22nd 2015, 6:08 PM

In effect yes , with a healthy dollop of white guilt .

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Apr 22nd 2015, 2:57 PM

Serves you right, Affleck. History is history, and there are far too many people trying to fudge it or change it utterly. You should rightly be ashamed at your attempt to distort facts.

Mute dstaffx
    Favourite dstaffx
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:01 PM

History is written by the winners

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:01 PM

take it easy sheiky baby, who the hell would want to remember an ancestor who owned slaves. Slave ownership also continues to this day lets worry about that.

Mute TheDoctor
    Favourite TheDoctor
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:04 PM

Relax there. It’s not like he is the first person to be embarrassed by his family. Your reaction is ridiculous really.

Mute Eric Lensherr
    Favourite Eric Lensherr
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:15 PM

And he was ashamed. What else do you expect of him Sheikh?

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:30 PM

It does not matter a jot to me that Ben Affleck’s ancestors owned slaves. That has absolutely nothing to do with him. What I am objecting to is his agreeing to have his family featured in a programme examining his ancestry – and attempting to distort the truth. Is that clear enough for you?

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:00 PM

Ooooh the delight of watching uber liberals squirming , his head will explode with internal self loathing .

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:02 PM

Just wait for this to blow over before the white privilege shite starts flowing again.

Mute Jim Boland
    Favourite Jim Boland
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:16 PM

Ben’s Afflicte’d by his ancestors

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:34 PM

Ben doesn’t like offending people even if it adjusts the truth. He has no issue defending blood thirsty jihadists or muslims that defend them. Its all becoming clear now Ben your living a lie.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Apr 22nd 2015, 6:30 PM

Wow, Speaking of distorting the truth…

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Apr 22nd 2015, 6:59 PM

Me or Ben Dave?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Apr 22nd 2015, 9:07 PM

Clearly you.

Mute Niall O D
    Favourite Niall O D
    Apr 22nd 2015, 5:08 PM

Ben added “I’ve absolutely nothing against black people, I mean I really think every home should have one”

Mute Brenda Gannon
    Favourite Brenda Gannon
    Apr 22nd 2015, 4:17 PM

I’ve seen a lot of this series and many other people were not hiding their embarrassing ancestors. Is it his supposed interest in running for office in the future that led to the cover up? If so it’s not going to bode well for him, poor judgement on his part imho. He’s shown himself to be shallow and image conscious.

Mute Piotrek Król
    Favourite Piotrek Król
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:26 PM

It’s understandable that someone would try to hide the fact that their ancestor was a slave owner. But when that someone tries to hide the fact when they have agreed to a documentary ABOUT THEIR ANCESTORS, then that is disgusting.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Apr 22nd 2015, 6:28 PM

Disgusting? Really? My guess is he wouldn’t have done the show at all if he had known

Mute Jim Boland
    Favourite Jim Boland
    Apr 22nd 2015, 3:25 PM

The sum of all fears

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Apr 22nd 2015, 6:38 PM

Another franchise he nearly destroyed.

Mute Sara McSweeney
    Favourite Sara McSweeney
    Apr 22nd 2015, 4:50 PM

In 40 or 50 years time maybe people will be trying to hide the fact that they voted no to equality in civil marriage…

Mute Patrick Doyle
    Favourite Patrick Doyle
    Apr 22nd 2015, 5:25 PM

Wa€ker

Mute Aidan Ryan
    Favourite Aidan Ryan
    Apr 22nd 2015, 8:10 PM

I currently own a number of slaves!

Mute Fran Cowzer
    Favourite Fran Cowzer
    Apr 23rd 2015, 5:52 AM

To the Blackmobile