You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Senator Marc MacSharry's nomination to the banking inquiry has caused controversy Screengrab/Oireachtas TV

Banking inquiry 'rocked' after lengthy row over senator's 'conflict of interest'

Angry scenes in the upper house after a claim that a senator has a conflict of interest, preventing him from serving on the banking inquiry, is later withdrawn.

Updated 11.00pm 

SEANAD LEADER MAURICE Cummins has withdrawn a claim that an unknown conflict of interest would prevent a Fianna Fáil senator from serving on the forthcoming banking inquiry.

It follows a lengthy row in the upper house this morning and this afternoon after Cummins, a Fine Gael senator, said that Marc MacSharry could have a “conflict of interest” that would prevent him from serving on the probe into the collapse of the Irish banking system.

After the Seanad adjourned a number of times, Cummins has this afternoon withdrawn the remark, saying he had no intention of impugning MacSharry’s name. However, Fianna Fáil’s leader in the Seanad, Darragh O’Brien, said the foundations of the banking inquiry committee had been “rocked” by the controversy.

The row this morning followed a vote of the Seanad Committee on Selection last night which placed independent senator and Trinity economist Seán Barrett and MacSharry on the nine-strong committee.

Government efforts to put Labour’s Susan O’Keeffe on the inquiry failed due to the absence of a number of coalition senators meaning it does not now have a majority on the inquiry.

O’Brien said this morning that the decision was “valid” and “democratic” but it’s believed the government is seeking to overturn it.

Finana Fáil pushed for the Seanad to be suspended after Cummins raised the conflict of interest claim without elaborating on what it is. MacSharry said that “as a member of the House and as a citizen of Ireland I am entitled to some level of protection from the chair”.

MacSharry accused Cummins of “impugning my character” while his party colleague Thomas Byrne asked for the claim to be withdrawn saying it had “poisoned” the banking inquiry process.

The Seanad was suspended a number of times until senators eventually returned and Cummins said he was prepared to withdraw his remarks.

‘General belief’

Earlier, Cummins had proposed that Barrett and MacSharry’s nomination to the inquiry be referred to the Committee on Procedures and Privileges given there had been a “general belief” there would be one government and one opposition senator on the inquiry and not two opposition members.

However he acknowledged that the motion before the Seanad did not explicitly state the requirement for one government and one opposition member.

“I am suggesting to refer the matter to the Committee on Procedures and Privileges and the matter will be investigated,” he said.

Prior to that O’Brien said that the lack of a government majority “would make no difference at all if it is to be an independent inquiry”.

“I am assuming the government will accept the democratic decision of an independent committee of the Seanad,” he said, noting that it was as far back as 1982 that a committee of selection decision had been challenged.

Fianna Fáil senator Terry Leyden said MacSharry was “a man of the greatest integrity” and claimed that the inquiry should not take place if his party colleague is removed from it.

Fine Gael’s Catherine Noone noted that the current composition of the committee means there are no women on the inquiry team, describing this as a “pretty damning indictment of politics today when it comes to gender balance”.

Senator Paul Bradford, formerly of Fine Gael and who voted for MacSharry’s inclusion, said that the Standing Orders of the Seanad stated that the committee was tasked with nominating members which he said was a “job of work which we completed”.

He said that the outcome of that process must be respected.

MORE: Government set to overturn rejection of Labour senator from banking inquiry

Read: TDs decide not to put Peter Mathews on the banking inquiry

Read: These Fine Gael TDs will serve on banking inquiry – but no decision on second Labour member

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

79 Comments
    Mute Travis O'Bickles
    Favourite Travis O'Bickles
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:35 PM

Marc MacSharrys father Ray macSharry was on the board of two banks: Bank of Ireland and IL&P up until very recently. So now we’re expecting his son Marc to investigate his own father? Do me a favour
    This is an absolute conflict of interest, thaty he was even suggested for it is a joke.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Favourite The Truth Hurts
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:42 PM

Foresthaze Developments Ltd. That is all.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:49 PM

I should be more clear… Google the company above and it’s links to the subject of this article….

Mute Travis O'Bickles
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:58 PM

Id forgotten about that although Id heard about Foresthaze before, I know that area of Sligo quite well. How they managed to get such a beautiful area rezoned for housing estates is beyond belief. Although then again its is Ray MacSharry & sons and the usual fianna fail b.s.
    They’ve got no shame these people, it never ceases to amaze me.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Jun 5th 2014, 1:09 PM

Putting MacSharry up for this position is FF HQ’s giving 2 fingers to the idea of an investigation in to the Banking inquiry.

Send an auctioneer, property developer whose daddy sits on the bank boards being investigated.

What is wrong with them? There are other senators that are more qualified and less problematic and more capable.

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Jun 5th 2014, 2:23 PM

Seanie – He is like nearly All Fianna Fáil Ites – CORRUPT – Just as Labour & Fine Gael are too !
    You should know Seanie – as a FF Loyalist from the Bertie Era to now !

Mute Enda Nolan
    Favourite Enda Nolan
    Jun 5th 2014, 3:03 PM

Seanie can you see now why people hate ff fg and lab they will lie and cheat the people of this country at every chance then set up inquiry’s where they white wash every thing

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Jun 5th 2014, 3:23 PM

Leave Seannie alone C, he is undergoing a road to Damascus like conversion

Mute Helen Mcsharry
    Favourite Helen Mcsharry
    Jun 5th 2014, 8:27 PM

What does that mean

Mute Helen Mcsharry
    Favourite Helen Mcsharry
    Jun 5th 2014, 8:30 PM

He was not responsible for the banking crisis he wasn’t even on the board until after the crisis to try and rectify it get your facts in order

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Jun 5th 2014, 9:46 PM

Ray MacSharry was a Director in the Bank of Ireland from 1993-2005.

Certainly relevant.

Mute Hallie Burton
    Favourite Hallie Burton
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:03 PM

The government creche is in turmoil?

Mute Alex Murray
    Favourite Alex Murray
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:10 PM

All the toys must be out of the pram now, when can we have a general election?

Mute Mr.Phil.Officer
    Favourite Mr.Phil.Officer
    Jun 5th 2014, 1:03 PM

Ffs sort it out yous pack of baboons.

Mute Truth Patrol
    Favourite Truth Patrol
    Jun 5th 2014, 1:34 PM

Phil i do believe it was an FG “baboon” who started this by making a statement with absolutely no detail backing it up. Something FG are very good at at the mo. Seanad is an out of control talk shop, somebody needs to go in there and put smacht on them.

Mute Tinker Taylor
    Favourite Tinker Taylor
    Jun 5th 2014, 1:36 PM

FF want to stack the deck to make it easier to brush over their criminal negligence between 1997 and 2011

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Favourite Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Jun 5th 2014, 3:39 PM

Tinker Taylor maybe it’s just me but I do also think Labour and Fine Gael had a hand in this crisis too. Between the collapse of Anglo in 2008 and the bailout in 2010, FG and Lab were throwing out wildly irresponsible statements about the health of the banks and our finances all around the world. The speculators and people betting against our state had a field day and it pushed us into a bailout and forced a general election. It was a crisis either way but they deepened it with negative publicity. Kenny might have been able to achieve a shred of something only he almost ruined this country to get elected himself.

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    Jun 5th 2014, 5:02 PM

@alex a GE won’t alter the upper house

Mute Alex Murray
    Favourite Alex Murray
    Jun 5th 2014, 5:04 PM

Very true but we might get the reform it needs with a new government. think the next shower might actually make a difference

Mute Oliver Moran
    Favourite Oliver Moran
    Jun 5th 2014, 11:33 PM

Padraig, maybe I’m picking you up wrong, but a general election to the Seanad must take place no later than 90 days after the dissolution of Dáil Éireann.

The largest group of electors in that Seanad general election (aside from the university seats) would be our newly-elected county and city councilors. So a general election for the Dáil would alter the upper house. (Unless, you’re talking about reform of the Seanad?)

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Jun 6th 2014, 12:20 AM

Shows you how much FF have ‘renewed’ when they put M Macsharry into the Senate and then nominate him to the Banking Enquiry. Same guy involved in dubious land and development deals not to mention his dads banking connections. Wake up people who voted FF last week

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Jun 5th 2014, 1:04 PM

It is a stupid choice putting Marc MacSharry forward for this role given his father’s directorships on Bank of Ireland and non-exec director for Irish Life and Permanent. Of Course it is a potential conflict of interest. “Hi Daddy, welcome to the committee”.

He also seems a bit volatile in debates, shouting and making noise is not the same as asking hard hitting questions. You never see the stars of the PAC committee loosing the rag, it is calm, collected and decisive.

He is being out forward to raise his profile for the next General Election so that Eamonn Scanlan will not get the seat over him. Back scratching at the party top once more for the well connected and their friends.

Mute Helen Mcsharry
    Favourite Helen Mcsharry
    Jun 5th 2014, 8:32 PM

Will you get a life perhaps a sine fein government will suit you better

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Jun 5th 2014, 9:47 PM

You don’t like facts Helen. Maybe not reading would suit you better. Reality can be your friend as well.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jun 5th 2014, 10:41 PM

Will you be responding Helen?

Fair play Seanie.

Mute Jennifer Hislop
    Favourite Jennifer Hislop
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:13 PM

My four month just threw up on my phone while I was reading this story, perfectly summing up how I feel about it.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:21 PM

That’s the sort of political commentary we need Jennifer.

Mute Enda Nolan
    Favourite Enda Nolan
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:08 PM

Is it any wonder this country is the way it is with a bunch of gombeens running things

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:39 PM

Is it any wonder this country is the way it is with a bunch of gombeens running things”
    – who voted for the ” gombeens ”

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:50 PM

Our county councillors did.

Mute Travis O'Bickles
    Jun 5th 2014, 1:03 PM

Exactly, Marc MacSharry ran in Sligo/Leitrim but didnt get elected at the last GE. Instead he was returned to the Seanad by a votes from fianna fail councillors around the country.

Although this doesnt explain the clowns who elected Ray MacSharry time and again

Mute Mr.Phil.Officer
    Favourite Mr.Phil.Officer
    Jun 5th 2014, 1:05 PM

You mean the ones who lied to us Jim.

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Jun 5th 2014, 2:19 PM

Donal – Our Graduates from some of our Colleges had votes too !
    The Taoiseach had the Nominating of the rest of the Gobdaws – including Eamon Coghlan !!!!

Mute Ollie Golden
    Favourite Ollie Golden
    Jun 5th 2014, 2:21 PM

Back up that claim ?

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:11 PM

Why does it matter if the govt has a majority on a supposed ‘independent and fact finding’ enquiry?

Bulls**t politicians still playing games with the country.

Mute Sargon
    Favourite Sargon
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:06 PM

Another absolute pointless bit of nonsense like Labours leadership. God help anyone who is naive enough to think this sham enquiry will go anywhere. The only ones who will benefit from this are those who are being paid to work on it.

Mute Brenda Malloy
    Favourite Brenda Malloy
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:22 PM

yer so right, Sargon; just another permutation of jobs for the boys….

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:37 PM

Politicians should be bound by the same rules governing company directors, personal interests/conflict of interests MUST be disclosed.
    …to act bona fide and in the best interests of the country (company) as a whole would also be a breath of fresh air.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jun 6th 2014, 8:29 AM

Matt, totally agree. Company directors are answerable to their Board and shareholders. Politicians are , or should be, answerable to the citizens of the country. To have any credibility there must be complete disclosure of all interests. I would seek the same from senior civil servants also……..the ones who pull the strings regardless of the nature of the government. Judges, of course, come into that category.

Mute cormac flynn
    Favourite cormac flynn
    Jun 5th 2014, 1:21 PM

That mcsharry fellas a pric. I wouldn’t leet him sit on a scaffold board.

Mute Helen Mcsharry
    Favourite Helen Mcsharry
    Jun 5th 2014, 8:34 PM

Do you even know him

Mute Jonathan Davey
    Favourite Jonathan Davey
    Jun 5th 2014, 9:28 PM

He’s a Shinner from Carrick, the ignorance comes naturally.

Mute cormac flynn
    Favourite cormac flynn
    Jun 5th 2014, 9:29 PM

No but I never knew hitler either.
    I saw him going mad a few times in the circus/crèche/Seanad calling ppl clowns and roaring the place down. Made a fool of himself.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Jun 6th 2014, 9:35 AM

Sounds like you know him Helen?

Jun 5th 2014, 12:26 PM

Sadly it looks more and more likely that FG wants to use this enquiry for political point scoring rather then actually investigating what exactly went on. Pity but then with the government being led by someone with few if any principles like Kenny this result was to be expected.

Mute Barry Mc Donnell
    Favourite Barry Mc Donnell
    Jun 5th 2014, 1:13 PM

“why does the government need a majority in an independant enquiry” Because a FF led enquiry into FF’s actions leading up to the bank guarantee is going to find that everything the government did was absolutely and totally the right thing to do, and they all deserve payrises and bonuses for their commendable work of course! Why are there senators on this committee? They are the ultimate party line monkeys, that’s why they are in the Seanad in the first place ffs!

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:45 PM

They are all mad to get on the committee big profile opportunity and of course more big expenses. The gravy train rolls on and on.

Mute PicassoRepublic
    Favourite PicassoRepublic
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:52 PM

Whatever about its effectiveness, a banking enquiry must be kept clean and the public interest must be put ahead of any politicians surname, assumed entitlement, family service to party etc – a politicians ego cannot be permitted to poison the banking enquiry before it starts – the people of Ireland deserve more.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Jun 5th 2014, 3:51 PM

Nobody from FF should allowed on it. The very idea is ludicrous.

Mute Ollie Golden
    Favourite Ollie Golden
    Jun 5th 2014, 5:27 PM

Do you want a political witch hunt then ya ?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jun 5th 2014, 1:24 PM

*clap* *clap* *clap*

That me applauding every one of you dolts who voted in favour of keeping this pointless shower of gobdaw senators.

Well done. You’ve done the state some service.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Jun 5th 2014, 3:02 PM

Just looked at your twitter Ollie – god you are a real FF hack

In McSharry’s pocket ?

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:06 PM

catherine noone pulling the woe is me no woman on commitee……

Mute Tim O'Halloran
    Favourite Tim O'Halloran
    Jun 5th 2014, 4:29 PM

Barret is an establsihment economist who never spoke out againt the bubble, though his wages were paid by the taxpayer. How does this qualify him for the inquiry. The enquiry should actually look at the negligence of economists with as much vigour as as it looks at the negligence of accountants.

McSharry as well as being Ray McSharry’s son, is a an estate agents. The enquiry surely must look at the influence of the ‘housing industry’ on government policy. How can McSharry do that, impartially?

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Jun 5th 2014, 1:08 PM

The whole reason for an enquiry is completely lost by this side show. It lost any meaning when the big players refused to attend. now it’s a parish pump saga where government senators go missing because it is pointless. I love to know how you measure integrity in any politician it seem only other politicians can see it. In private they all know what happened, the same civil servants are working in the same dept. They would prefer a media circus on this topic Than their own mistakes in everything from health to justice to housing and the fact that this government is no longer fit for purpose.

Mute Turlough O' Connor
    Favourite Turlough O' Connor
    Jun 5th 2014, 5:59 PM

Hilarious …this bunch of idiots running the country couldn’t even organise to have a majority on this committee …unbelievable…talk about inept…

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jun 5th 2014, 4:21 PM

Ciaran Lynch labour chair of banking inquiry said all members must leave there party affiliations at the door.
    So what are the government worried about.
    Surely they don’t think the committee will be biased or did there they intend it to be biased in favour of government agenda

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Jun 5th 2014, 7:20 PM

It was my understanding that if the Seanad was allowed to continue, they were going to reform it.

How’s that going?

Mute Barry Mc Donnell
    Favourite Barry Mc Donnell
    Jun 6th 2014, 10:01 AM

Actually, the government made it perfectly clear that they weren’t going to reform anything before the referendum. The “have it as it is now or get rids of it”point was made very clear at every juncture. We, the people, sent the message that, while we aren’t happy with the Seanad as it is, we would like it very much if you could clean it up a bit, but Enda wasn’t listening, as usual.

Mute Duncan Paul
    Favourite Duncan Paul
    Jun 5th 2014, 8:55 PM

Perfect example of how Ireland has been and continues to be ran.

Mute Ollie Golden
    Favourite Ollie Golden
    Jun 5th 2014, 2:22 PM

I wish people would refrain from commenting on something that they know zero about!!!

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Jun 5th 2014, 3:01 PM

Ollie, I bet you know it all !!

Are you a know all ?

At least more than zero ?

Mute Travis O'Bickles
    Jun 5th 2014, 5:20 PM

Ollie’s twitter profile is a picture of him with Marc MacSharry, I never noticed that earlier. LOL

Mute Ollie Golden
    Favourite Ollie Golden
    Jun 5th 2014, 5:25 PM

Your rather slow then aren’t you ?

Mute Travis O'Bickles
    Jun 5th 2014, 5:43 PM

@Ollie I guess I am but its better than being a mouthpiece for a member of a corrupt and morally bankrupt political party like Fianna Fail. Grow a pair Ollie LOL

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jun 5th 2014, 7:03 PM

1. I see this very differently. MacSharry’s links to a director of a bank which was bailed it out shows FF’s moral compass and their intent to circle the wagons.
    2. FG/LAB I read earlier didn’t have their members in attendance – if true – tough
    3. Catherine Noone’s comment on gender balance is ridiculous
    4. Bradford – voting against his teat because his mammy put him on the bold step
    5. And most importantly, he is entering this inquiry with information about PTSB and to build his profile as a candidate for next GE. His questions will be screened as closely as the answers to them. I think its a great appointment.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jun 5th 2014, 7:10 PM

Ollie,
    2 things:

1. Its “You’re” rather slow
    2. The fada in your party name is the wrong way around

I bet you know Marc quite well alright.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jun 5th 2014, 7:21 PM

Sorry just to explain Point 2 above

“@oliver_golden1
    icampaign.ie, Liverpool supporter. Fianna Fàil member, Sligo Gaa, all views my own.”

… I enjoy your tweets and posts – reminds me of the auld FF swagger. In a way the swastika also reminds me

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Jun 5th 2014, 7:22 PM

It’s a thankless job, proofing these posts, isn’t it?

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jun 5th 2014, 8:02 PM

Not my usual form Seamus. Obnoxious responses deserve a callout.

Mute Jonathan Davey
    Favourite Jonathan Davey
    Jun 5th 2014, 9:34 PM

Mouthpiece he might be, but he does use his own name rather than rather invent an anonymous account to spread one’s own poisonous bile. That right K?

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jun 5th 2014, 10:27 PM

Whose is that at Jonathan ??

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jun 5th 2014, 10:27 PM

Who is that at? That’ll teach me for earlier!

Mute Jonathan Davey
    Favourite Jonathan Davey
    Jun 5th 2014, 11:57 PM

That wasn’t intended for you ger.

Mute Duncan Paul
    Favourite Duncan Paul
    Jun 5th 2014, 11:54 PM

Hope they can get cowen back for chairman. Maybe even Michael neary as a member too.

Mute HULK SMASH!
    Favourite HULK SMASH!
    Jun 6th 2014, 7:52 AM

Maybe they should hold an enquiry into Tuam at the same time. Then they could whitewash both very serious issues at half the price to the tax payer. I mean we Irish are big thickos and it would be easy to do.

Mute Ollie Golden
    Favourite Ollie Golden
    Jun 5th 2014, 7:40 PM

Good man ger, just wondering do you support any political party ?

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jun 5th 2014, 10:25 PM

No Oliver I don’t.
    I’m for a successful and prosperous Ireland. I don’t have your loyalty to a party thru thick\thin. I would prefer to see the Civil War ended now by FF & FG going to the wall. As I said earlier, if you seriously think your mate has no conflict of interest, you are beyond help.

Actually I thought you were a sitting councillor.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jun 5th 2014, 11:49 PM

“I will be in the public gallery tomorrow morning as Sligo County Council meet for first time!!”

…. I have to work Ollie ; sorry can’t join you… maybe a council run in 5 years yourself?