You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Rogelio V. Solis/PA

Bernie Sanders dealt a blow as rival Joe Biden takes Michigan primary win

It was the first primary since the number of candidates was effectively whittled down to two.

JOE BIDEN SEIZED the key battleground state of Michigan in the Democratic presidential primary to deal a blow to rival Bernie Sanders.

Michigan was the state that helped to propel Sanders’ campaign four years ago but Biden took the honours there, as well as Missouri and Mississippi to give his campaign a shot in the arm.

Biden, as he did on so-called Super Tuesday, showed strength with working-class voters and African Americans, who are vital to winning the Democratic nomination.

Sanders’ hopes rested on states where far fewer delegates were at stake, Idaho, North Dakota and Washington state, whose primary was too early to call late on Tuesday.

Tuesday marked the first time voters weighed in on the primary since it effectively narrowed to a two-person race between Sanders and Biden.

The first three large states easily went to Biden, a dramatic reversal for a campaign that appeared on the brink of collapse just two weeks ago.

Now it is Sanders, whose candidacy was ascendant so recently, who must contemplate a path forward.

Addressing supporters in Philadelphia, Biden noted that many had “declared that this candidacy was dead” only days ago but “now we’re very much alive”.

He also made a plea for supporters of Mr Sanders to change camps.

He said: “We need you, we want you, and there’s a place in our campaign for each of you.

“I want to thank Bernie Sanders and his supporters for their tireless energy and their passion.

“We share a common goal, and together we’ll beat Donald Trump.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 48 comments
48 Comments
    Mute Tom Thumb
    Favourite Tom Thumb
    Mar 11th 2020, 7:25 AM

Biden is a barely coherent,charisma vacuum carrying a lot of the same baggage that made moderates not want to vote for Hillary. His numbers will sink like a stone in an election campaign. Sanders is the only one left who can make it a race against Trump,as he has the kind of policies that can turn a lot of Trump voters,particularly with the coronavirus outbreak. He’s also the only one who can go toe to toe with him on the public stage. Biden’s team have literally been trying to limit his public exposure.

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Mar 11th 2020, 7:27 AM

@Tom Thumb: nonsense post.

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Mar 11th 2020, 7:29 AM

@Tom Thumb: and Trumpy is coherent???

Mute ihcalaM
    Favourite ihcalaM
    Mar 11th 2020, 8:05 AM

@Tom Thumb: Spot on.

Mute ihcalaM
    Favourite ihcalaM
    Mar 11th 2020, 8:10 AM

@Graham Manning: How does Biden being incoherent imply that Trump is any better? Both are going to be useless at driving change in America, and though Trump is certainly more dangerous with a more toxic agenda, Joe Biden is not the man to save the sinking ship.

Biden barely has a policy platform this year. It’s embarrassing. He’s running a name recognition campaign, i.e. vote for me because I was Obama’s VP, not because I’ve got any good ideas.

Meanwhile, Bernie looks set to lose out again despite putting together an excellent argument for Medicare for All (which Biden does not support). This is going to be another farce election like 2016.

Mute old england is dead
    Favourite old england is dead
    Mar 11th 2020, 8:33 AM

@Tom Thumb: Everyone knows that the president is mostly just a figurehead. Even a lunatic like trump is mostly powerless and is now just an embarrassment to all bar the looney rednecks. If Trump should win then he will not see out his 2nd term.

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Mar 11th 2020, 8:47 AM

@ihcalaM: see above. Agree Bernie is better but Americans don’t seem to. And for all his flaws Biden would be an immeasurable improvement on Trumpy and at this juncture that’s a win

Mute Raven
    Favourite Raven
    Mar 11th 2020, 9:09 AM

@Graham Manning:
    Looks like TDS as contagious as C19.

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Mar 11th 2020, 9:17 AM

@Raven: bringing Trumpy into an exchange about the dem nomination is TDS now??? Seems kinda relevant. And do you really wanna bring him into a conversation about C-19? U sure?

Mute Vote4Pedro
    Favourite Vote4Pedro
    Mar 11th 2020, 9:27 AM

@ihcalaM: many viewed Hillary as a continuation of Obama, and that was rejected. With the many public appearances lately (and the botox) I would not be surprised if the DNC named HRC as his running mate with the idea of ousting him once elected.

Mute ihcalaM
    Favourite ihcalaM
    Mar 11th 2020, 11:18 AM

@Vote4Pedro: Hillary didn’t have a patch on Obama. She wasn’t as convincing, articulate nor as trustworthy – the latter being the major sticking point. Nobody could trust Hillary, and why would they with her track record?

Don’t think it’s accurate to view a rejection of Hillary as a rejection of the Obama era politics. Very different candidates though in theory they are close on the political spectrum.

Mute Boyd Gray
    Favourite Boyd Gray
    Mar 11th 2020, 11:34 AM

@Tom Thumb: If the Brits baulked at the money tree socialism of Magic Grandpa, what makes you think the even more conservative Yanks are going to embrace the same alt left socialism of Barmy Bernie?

Mute Raven
    Favourite Raven
    Mar 11th 2020, 12:11 PM

@Graham Manning:
    Go for it pal.

Mute Pádraig Healy
    Favourite Pádraig Healy
    Mar 11th 2020, 2:09 PM

@lambda sensor: Do you actually follow what goes on across the water? No need to state nonsense when he has a point. Sanders has as good chance as any of denting trump. Don’t agree with this myself as Sanders wants to forgive student debt which student fees is the next bubble to pop akin to 2008 with the bankers. Student loans default, Mickey mouse college courses with no hopes of employment, the trickle on effect of this has been understated to date. Biden is a continuation of dirty politics (Clinton & Co) Trump is no better but the double standard on the journal comments section is staggering to say the least

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Mar 11th 2020, 8:30 AM

And the democrats hand the election to Trump…. again

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Mar 11th 2020, 9:00 AM

@john doe: how so, do tell. From what I can see, multiple candidates have put themselves forward to an electorate who vote for who they want to represent them in the actual presidential elections. It is now down to 2 front runners from a field of 20+.

Mute old england is dead
    Mar 11th 2020, 7:12 AM

Biden will have a better chance of defeating Trump

Mute Gareth
    Favourite Gareth
    Mar 11th 2020, 7:15 AM

@old england is dead: not a hope!

Mute Early Cuyler
    Favourite Early Cuyler
    Mar 11th 2020, 7:18 AM

@old england is dead: You obviously haven’t watched a second of his performance and this name recognition factor is going to end in a farce the whole world sees. It’s sad to see how quickly Biden has declined and disgusting that he’s still being run.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute old england is dead
    Mar 11th 2020, 7:22 AM

@Gareth: let’s see. In 2016 Russia decided. This year the Chinese will.

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Mar 11th 2020, 7:27 AM

@Early Cuyler: and are you trying to saw mum Trumpy doesn’t have worse issues? Seriously he has the cognitive functioning of a melted candle.

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Mar 11th 2020, 7:28 AM

@Graham Manning: too early – “say Trumpy”

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Mar 11th 2020, 7:58 AM

@old england is dead: Yes He will, BUT, like Sanders is He too old??

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Mar 11th 2020, 8:03 AM

@old england is dead: yes, Bernie will be massacred by Trump, Biden will merely be throttled. Same result either way.

Mute JackSimpson
    Favourite JackSimpson
    Mar 11th 2020, 8:16 AM

@old england is dead: still pushing that conspiracy, I see!

Mute ihcalaM
    Favourite ihcalaM
    Mar 11th 2020, 8:26 AM

@Graham Manning: What is your problem? Why is any criticism of Biden as an awful candidate instantly somehow an endorsement of Trump?

The point is that Sanders actually has some policies that might benefit people, whereas Biden is doddering along on “charisma” alone, and when this is pointed out we’re accused of making excuses for the worst President in modern US history? How does that work in your brain?

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Mar 11th 2020, 8:44 AM

@ihcalaM: at this point both sanders and Biden have to be viewed in terms of Trumpy. Policy wise I’d far prefer Sanders but I’m not a yank and seems, at the moment, like Bidens gonna get the nomination. And the particular criticism levelled at him is a glaring issue for Trumpy hence the comparison.

Mute Matthew O'Kane
    Favourite Matthew O'Kane
    Mar 11th 2020, 8:53 AM

I check cnn for results the headlines is wrong cant be botgered ready tge cut and paste writing, joe has dementis trumps gonna sweep it dems are done again couldntbeat their way outta a brown paper bag so the party of money

Mute Raven
    Favourite Raven
    Mar 11th 2020, 9:07 AM

@old england is dead:
    Sure pal, aul hair sniffing Biden hasn’t a hope in hell.

Mute Nina Wallenius
    Favourite Nina Wallenius
    Mar 11th 2020, 9:09 AM

@Matthew O’Kane: again, in English, please.

Mute Raven
    Favourite Raven
    Mar 11th 2020, 10:10 AM

@Graham Manning: I’d love to see a presidential debate between Trump and bumbling Biden. There’s not enough popcorn in the world. Lol

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Mar 11th 2020, 10:32 AM

@Raven: agreed but for the opposite reason. Seems like we’ll get it.

Mute Boyd Gray
    Favourite Boyd Gray
    Mar 11th 2020, 11:37 AM

@old england is dead: A choice between money tree socialism and establishment Washington? Looks very like Four More Years of MAGA to me.

Mute MaeVic
    Favourite MaeVic
    Mar 11th 2020, 12:20 PM

@old england is dead: No, the Vatican will. Biden is a catholic (in name only of course) but he will use that to try and win the Catholic vote back from Trump. The US bishops are gearing up to endorse Biden’s campaign.(many are registered Democrats).

Mute old england is dead
    Mar 11th 2020, 1:21 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: I agree. I’d vote for Sanders if I had a vote but he hasn’t a hope unfortunately. A marketing genius needs to reinvent the word socialism for an American audience and that’s not going to happen any day soon.

Mute FlyingDogThing
    Favourite FlyingDogThing
    Mar 11th 2020, 1:27 PM

@old england is dead: Biden is showing signs of dementia that are being hidden by the press. They don’t want Sanders as he could beat Trump and he can’t be bought. Even Obama told Biden to sit this one out a year and a half ago. It’s looking like 4 more years of Trump. Never thought I’d see this.

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Mar 11th 2020, 10:06 AM

Am not sure Biden can win. But I am sure Sanders cannot. Trump as the incumbent has huge advantages and Sanders is too easy a target. His policies are not at all mainstream either so he’s the wrong man with the wrong message at the wrong time. I agree that Biden lacks vision (build the wall) but I also think that is kinda the point too. He wants to be a Uniter rather than a divider (Trump) which will likely appeal to many independents and perhaps some more moderate Republicans. Remember there was less than 80,000 votes in total that swung three states to Trump. Biden could easily undo that.

SC
    Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Apr 8th 2020, 5:11 PM

@lambda sensor: Sanders wants things that all other developed countries have. I don’t know how anyone considers him radical.

Mute Jack Inman
    Favourite Jack Inman
    Mar 11th 2020, 7:24 AM

Jeez, There i was thinking it was just the UK that had poor options when it came to the leadership debate……luckily Ireland and our friends across the pond have restored my faith in politics being a wretched farce of a business.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Mar 11th 2020, 7:38 AM

@Jack Inman: but you would wonder wtf middle class workers and african americans are taking to make them vote for that poor man .

Mute Jack Inman
    Favourite Jack Inman
    Mar 11th 2020, 7:58 AM

@Gerry Campbell: The middle classes don’t want to be squeezed further which is exactly what will happen under Sanders. Medicare/Medicaid is a great idea but, it literally bankrupts the U.S. regardless if how much you tax wealth creation.
    The working class associate Biden with Obama(one if the most mundane and average presidents in modern history) and seem to have some misty eyed notion that he will “look out for them”

Mute ihcalaM
    Favourite ihcalaM
    Mar 11th 2020, 8:13 AM

@Jack Inman: It does not bankrupt the country. Medicare for all would save Americans money in the long run, getting rid of the farcical insurance-based paperwork nightmare would streamline the health service and save billions – an undeniable fact.

Americans are already paying an outrageous amount for their insurance premiums. Sanders suggests scrapping that entire system and replacing it with a tax increase that will see patients pay less overall.

Mute Podge
    Favourite Podge
    Mar 11th 2020, 9:34 AM

@ihcalaM: yeah they could learn a thing from our taxpayer funded healthcare service. Just look how streamlined it is and the great value for money we get.

Mute ihcalaM
    Favourite ihcalaM
    Mar 11th 2020, 11:15 AM

@Podge: Even here we get far better value for money for medicines, for example, than Americans, who pay more than any nation on earth for the same drugs because of their banjaxed system.

Just because the public section of our healthcare service is run badly doesn’t mean the US federal one would have to be. Plenty of countries get it right, and get value for money.

Mute Podge
    Favourite Podge
    Mar 11th 2020, 11:51 AM

@ihcalaM: true, their system is messed up with the prices they pay for drugs. And some countries are better than others when it comes to efficient public services. I think the best indication as to how efficient they’d run their public health service would be to look at how they’re running their public services to date.

But overall when the government does something it always turns out more expensive than a private venture would be (look at our own children’s hospital).

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Mar 11th 2020, 11:01 AM

Its ironic that many ordinary Americans that would really benefit from many of Bernie Sanders proposed social reforms, are vocal critics of the same, convinced by the propaganda of the wealthy that it’s all somehow unamerican…

I suspect that Joe Biden getting the Democratic nomination will suit the current administration fine and that a big scandal around Uncle Joe will be revealed just prior to the election itself….

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Mar 11th 2020, 11:37 AM

The DNC are helping Biden avoid Bernie on the debate stage but he won’t be able to avoid trump. I can only imagine they think trumps handling of Coronavirus will make take him down. Didn’t work with impeachment! DNC truly are a disgusting organisation. Fortunately for them they are all super rich and will gain from trumps tax cuts.

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Mar 11th 2020, 2:35 PM

America has said no to bernie sanders communist ideas. The man is a hippocrate. Hes a self made millionaire himself. He says everything in his plan will be free everything. What he doesn’t tell you is he will raise taxes, put in huge job crushing regulations, you think the deficit is bad already in the us? If Bernie Sanders gets elected the American people will be paying for it 50 years from now. He will take away peoples private healthcare insurance and instead have a government run system, he will decrease the us military’s spending so low it will make America a shell of its former self. The uk rejected Jeremy Corbyn and the us will reject Bernie communist sanders. Trump will mop the floor with joe or Bernie.