You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AP Photo/Michael Probst

"These are the countries where I'm the least known" - Bill Gates visits Ghana

The foundation set up by Bill Gates has been on a high-profile campaign to improve health in poor countries.

THE FRECKLED MAN with the rectangular glasses instantly recognisable to much of the world stood in the West African heat, staring at data that had nothing to do with selling software.

But it was exactly where Bill Gates said he wanted to be, at a tin-roof clinic in a village in Ghana, listening to local health-care workers explain the progress they had made in vaccinating babies.

“These are the countries where I’m the least known,” the 57-year-old Microsoft co-founder told AFP, after a journalist pointed out that several of those at the clinic did not know who he was.

“I mean, nobody knows me here,” he said, before adding: “Maybe in the capital, but that has nothing to do with why we do the work.”

Gates’ foundation has been on a high-profile campaign to improve health by increasing vaccinations in poorer nations. Ghana, with an immunisation level above 90 per cent for some diseases, is being held up as a success story.

That’s why Gates, who Forbes says is the world’s second-richest person as well as its most generous, was here this week to visit health clinics and speak with officials about their efforts.

The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation is a major contributor to the GAVI Alliance, which helps make vaccines available to developing countries, including Ghana.

His visit came ahead of a so-called Global Vaccine Summit set for Abu Dhabi on April 24 and 25, where Gates and others will try to highlight the need for continued support for immunisations, as well as discuss a six-year plan to eliminate polio.

(Video: Ghana Broadcasting/YouTube)

These have not been easy times for the vaccination campaigns that Gates promotes with both his star power and his money.

The global economic slowdown has led to concerns over aid contributions and violence has hit polio immunisations in Nigeria and Pakistan.

He said he visited Ghana to get an on-the-ground view of what worked and what did not.

Gates also called Ghana’s primary health care system “probably the best” in Africa, while also singling out Rwanda and Botswana for praise.

But the story in certain other countries remains problematic – particularly in nearby Nigeria, which remains one of the world’s three polio-endemic countries despite its position as Africa’s largest oil producer.

And while Ghana has distinguished itself, there is some concern over whether its efforts will continue at the same level: for as the country continues its economic march that will eventually disqualify it for the aid that pays for much of its vaccination work.

For the time being however, it is a point of pride, with polio eradicated about 10 years ago and no child deaths from measles since 2002.

“With such achievement, it convinces them that immunisation works,” said Dr. K.O. Antwi-Agyei, immunisation programme manager for the Ghana Health Service, referring to discussions with politicians on maintaining financing.

“And once it’s working, then it’s worth investing into.”

What Ghana has working for it

Ghana has had a number of factors working for it, beginning with its political stability, with the country seen as a democratic success story in West Africa. It has held six successful elections since the 1992 end of military rule.

Its economy has also been strong in recent years, with 14 per cent growth in 2011 and some eight per cent last year.

But Gates and others point out that one of the real secrets of its success has been the way its health service is organised, with efficient community health centres that conduct outreach to ensure as many babies are vaccinated as possible.

A district health centre visited by Gates collects data on immunisations and posts it on a web-based system – a key point for the former software geek, who stresses that quality data is needed to assess health efforts.

A pilot programme is also being run that allows health centres to communicate with mothers by mobile phone text messages, sending them health tips and reminding them it’s time for their child’s immunisation.

As for what will happen when Ghana advances further along economically and begins to be phased out of major GAVI financial support, opinions differ.

Antwi-Agyei’s boss, Dr. Frank Nyonator, director of the human resources division in the ministry of health, said he is confident Ghana will pick up the slack on its own. Antwi-Agyei is more concerned.

But for now, progress can be seen at places such as the Ahentia health centre, set among dusty roads and where public electricity only recently arrived, one of the nurses said.

Mothers and their children looked on as nurses and volunteers weighed a baby from a sling hung from a tree branch. Inside, a refrigerator equipped to operate with gas when electricity is not available kept the vaccines cold.

Faustina Havor, a 30-year-old volunteer, had no problem admitting she did not know who Bill Gates was. It did not matter.

“I just want to help my community – and my country as a whole,” she said when asked why she decided to volunteer.

- © AFP, 2013

Read: Denis O’Brien and Dermot Desmond among five Irishmen on Forbes rich list >

In pictures: Bill Gates meets Irish leaders >

Read: What did the Guinness family ever do for us? >

View 35 comments
35 Comments
    Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 25th 2014, 2:35 PM

Joke shop

Mute Joe Stodge
    Favourite Joe Stodge
    May 25th 2014, 2:47 PM

What does ejit know about local politics??

Mute Jill Jones
    Favourite Jill Jones
    May 25th 2014, 3:07 PM

A political heavy weight? Give me a break, he hasn’t one iota if political knowledge. X factor reject in the making!

Mute Mr L.Jay
    Favourite Mr L.Jay
    May 25th 2014, 3:15 PM

Joe
    Nothing. He admitted that himself before the election and the people vote him in !!???

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    May 25th 2014, 3:21 PM

A proper pair of langers.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    May 25th 2014, 5:31 PM

As opposed to the councillors who have won a few terms. Sometimes a fresh set of eyes is good.

Mute Dave Ryan
    Favourite Dave Ryan
    May 25th 2014, 10:39 PM

At least he might know how to spell EEJIT

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    May 25th 2014, 2:43 PM

It appears that no experience… Is the best experience to become a politician in Ireland.

Sign me up!

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Favourite Snorre Sturleson
    May 25th 2014, 3:13 PM

or a dead relative

Mute Willy Moon
    Favourite Willy Moon
    May 25th 2014, 3:22 PM

I don’t really care what experience someone has, for me if they know what the people want and have a set of balls to fight for it back filled with a large bottle of cop on then I have interest in them, in saying that you man should stick to boxing

Mute Tara Tevlin
    Favourite Tara Tevlin
    May 25th 2014, 2:37 PM

My jayus what next!!!!!!

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    May 25th 2014, 3:22 PM

Fr Jack for Pope..

Mute Karl O' Brien
    Favourite Karl O' Brien
    May 25th 2014, 2:46 PM

Would love to know on what logic the community of clondalkin voted him on to the south Dublin county council . Eamonn choughlan was found out when pushed on his political views and so was Egan ahhhhhhhh .

Mute Ronan Quinn
    Favourite Ronan Quinn
    May 25th 2014, 3:28 PM

It’s Kenneth now, as he explains in this priceless clip https://soundcloud.com/bloodboylan/kenneth-egan-on-classic-hits. Well done to him, but honestly, ffs!

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    May 25th 2014, 3:51 PM

To quote Gene Wilder in “Blazing Saddles”, “What did you expect? You gotta remember that these are just simple farmers. These are people of the land, the common clay of new West. You know…..morons”. I’d say that sums it up; clowns voting for someone they recognised regardless of experience, skill or ability.

Mute justsaying
    Favourite justsaying
    May 25th 2014, 4:30 PM

Brilliantly

Mute pg
    Favourite pg
    May 25th 2014, 3:02 PM

No disrespect to the lady who took her sisters seat (Rip) in Westmeath ,but she knows nothing about politics and never involved . People voted for her because her sister passed away . Sounds harsh but it’s the truth .

Mute Mr L.Jay
    Favourite Mr L.Jay
    May 25th 2014, 3:17 PM

Pg
    But isn’t that what always happens in Irish politics. Its ridiculous.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 25th 2014, 3:26 PM

Don’t be ridiculous, Gabriele McFadden has been a Councillor in Athlone for years.

Mute patgleeson
    Favourite patgleeson
    May 25th 2014, 3:44 PM

She’s been a councillor on athlone co council for years, and was mayor of athlone last year. She has some experience at least. To equivocate her to kenny egan is a bit much, when kenny egan getting elected is farcical.

Mute Rachel Walsh Howe
    Favourite Rachel Walsh Howe
    May 25th 2014, 4:41 PM

Not entirely true she’s been a councillor for years

Mute Shane Walsh
    Favourite Shane Walsh
    May 25th 2014, 2:39 PM

One Kenny was bad enough, now there are two..

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    May 25th 2014, 4:07 PM

It’s a new low in Irish politics

Mute Sargon
    Favourite Sargon
    May 25th 2014, 2:39 PM

Egan you gobsh!te. Love yourself some austerity for the people, do you?

Mute D
    Favourite D
    May 25th 2014, 2:36 PM

It’s Kenneth don’t you know.
    Keep it real for gods sake.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    May 25th 2014, 2:42 PM

Kenny had Kenny there but why did he not throw a punch for us?

Mute Alan Leahy
    Favourite Alan Leahy

Do people realise that Clondalkin somehow had 8 seats and only 12 people ran for them. Egan got the final seat and just about got it, so to be honest he didn’t get a hell of a lot of support, so giving people of Clondalkin grief is fairly harsh

Mute Evan Considine
    Favourite Evan Considine
    May 25th 2014, 2:47 PM

Absolute Disgrace! Shows how desperate people are to keep Labour out!!!!

Mute Paul O'Grady
    Favourite Paul O'Grady
    May 25th 2014, 2:41 PM

Come on people – he does great work with the youth in Clondalkin – is that not the type of hard working local person who should represent their community??? He wasn’t elected president.

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    May 25th 2014, 2:45 PM

I hope that’s the case ? But if it is the case he probably didn’t need the FG tag and should have run as an independent….he might have been elected on first count ??

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    May 25th 2014, 2:51 PM

paul
    what have kenny egan and fine gael got in common?
    serious question

Mute Paul O'Grady
    Favourite Paul O'Grady
    May 25th 2014, 3:00 PM

What has Fine Gael and undoing Kenny’s work in the community got in common???

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    May 25th 2014, 3:05 PM

they are hardly aa party for the youth…how many have emigrated in the last year?

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    May 25th 2014, 4:10 PM

The Kenny bit!

Mute Alan Dunne
    Favourite Alan Dunne
    May 25th 2014, 2:44 PM

It’s a pity Egan didn’t connect with that punch.

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    May 25th 2014, 2:35 PM

Boom boom eh ?

Mute Huey
    Favourite Huey
    May 25th 2014, 2:44 PM

Give the chap a chance for flips sake, he might be a decent councillor

Mute Flash gordon
    Favourite Flash gordon
    May 25th 2014, 3:12 PM

At least he’s a new face unlike that horrible slug down in Blackrock !!

Mute Jill Jones
    Favourite Jill Jones
    May 25th 2014, 3:36 PM

Are you seriously comparing Clondalkin to Blackrock? Or Bare knuckle boxer to a once former minister for education? It’s hard to tell.

Mute Jill Jones
    Favourite Jill Jones
    May 25th 2014, 3:37 PM

And kate Feeney is a newly elected face.

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    May 25th 2014, 3:43 PM

In fairness he wasn’t a bare knuckle boxer

Mute Jill Jones
    Favourite Jill Jones
    May 25th 2014, 5:24 PM

Knuckle dragger then?

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    May 25th 2014, 3:35 PM

As if Irish politics wasn’t farcical enough. This says more about the electorate in Clondalkin that it does about Egan.

Mute Eddie Fitzgerald
    Favourite Eddie Fitzgerald
    May 25th 2014, 3:03 PM

Give the man a chance. He has a Goal.
    He represented our country in the Olympic Games and won a silver medal, he has more chance of achieving his goal than others elected.

Mute Jill Jones
    Favourite Jill Jones

Really! You think he has more of a chance at representing the people who elected him and doing a good job, over the presiding councillors that know what they’re doing purely on the fact he came second in the Olympics? Great, now we know the mentality of the people who voted for him. And he didn’t even win a bloody gold.

Mute Eddie Fitzgerald
    May 25th 2014, 4:04 PM

His goal is to address one key area in society
    Your summary on not winning a gold medal !! Says all anybody needs to know about your character & outlook on life

Mute Gavin Lawlor
    Favourite Gavin Lawlor
    May 25th 2014, 5:12 PM

They’ll see his ghetto ass coming from a mile away!

Mute Jill Jones
    Favourite Jill Jones
    May 25th 2014, 5:17 PM

Eddie, I think you missed my entire point. Choosing to pick a candidate on their Olympic record is farcical whether it be gold or silver.

But given that you missed my plainly obvious point I could assume things about your social class too, but I won’t because I’m better than that ;)

Mute Eddie Fitzgerald
    May 25th 2014, 9:02 PM

And you bring it to social class
    What a pleb!!

Mute Jill Jones
    Favourite Jill Jones
    May 25th 2014, 9:04 PM

And you bring the stupid. What a dunce. Get too many knocks to the head?

Mute Gavin Lawlor
    Favourite Gavin Lawlor
    May 25th 2014, 5:09 PM

They tried the same trick with Eamon Coghlan in Dublin 15 but people saw him for the clown he is when he start doing his version of PJ Gallagher’s Jake Stevens on Vincent Browne.

Mute kelleigh thomas
    Favourite kelleigh thomas
    May 25th 2014, 9:27 PM

I find it very difficult to understand why people have such a problem with having someone like kenny egan voted in as its for local council, where he does great work with local kids and on the national side we seem to think its acceptable to let teachers run the country, and look were that got us!! let he without voting sin cast the first stone

Mute Frank O'Grady
    Favourite Frank O'Grady
    May 25th 2014, 3:57 PM

Typical FG, using the celebrity card

Mute CustomCovers Ciara Moore
    Favourite CustomCovers Ciara Moore
    May 25th 2014, 2:48 PM

Did you include yourself as one of the backward people in that statement Helena?? The cheek of you to include the whole irish nation in the comment…and how do you know he is a dope? Do you know him? Do you know the work his does in his community?

Mute Tom Spurs
    Favourite Tom Spurs
    May 25th 2014, 6:46 PM

This country gets worse. Who next Bosco?

Mute Pat Lennon
    Favourite Pat Lennon
    May 25th 2014, 7:57 PM

Oh my god they picked Kenny, you bast**ds

Mute Gerry Quest
    Favourite Gerry Quest
    May 25th 2014, 3:16 PM

Smack him Kenny.

Go on just one by mistake but make it a good one !

Mute Ross Casey
    Favourite Ross Casey
    May 25th 2014, 5:07 PM

Remember how defensive and threatening he got in the Niall Boylan show when he was asked a question.
    Should fit in well.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 25th 2014, 3:25 PM

Good man Kenneth, congratulations. Can’t say I’m surprised though.

Mute Heizenberg X
    Favourite Heizenberg X
    May 25th 2014, 8:28 PM

This is embarrassing, the rest of the country voted well and for politicians for change, these people voted for a celebrity who’s been bought out like a gogo girl by a desperate party because he’s been beat in the head a bit too much much…

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    May 26th 2014, 9:34 AM

I think the youth in Neilstown could do with some one looking out for them and even he manages to help even one its a result.

Best of luck to him.

Mute laura b
    Favourite laura b
    May 25th 2014, 4:15 PM

Jesus wept ..

Mute tax slave
    Favourite tax slave
    May 25th 2014, 6:03 PM

We really deserve every thing we get . We are what we vote .

Mute Nigellus Murphius
    Favourite Nigellus Murphius
    May 25th 2014, 6:32 PM

I’m glad for Kenny that he recovered from his ‘bad patch’ but aligning himself with the hardline Banker-Austerity party, Fine Gael, sealed the deal for me.

I have no doubt he will try his best to do the right thing for his community but I just can’t support him because of his allegiance.

And the same is true for any other ‘personality politician’ working for the Establishment.

Mute Leo Conway
    Favourite Leo Conway
    May 25th 2014, 4:53 PM

It’s time for him to get Enda and Eamon some gloves and they can give each other a real good pounding in the ring!

Mute SinAssist
    Favourite SinAssist
    May 26th 2014, 3:59 AM

KY colonition of the filling…..bracelets and watches optional!

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    May 26th 2014, 1:16 AM

The voting system of proportional representation should be abolished. Otherwise, we end up with local councillors like Kenneth ‘Kenny’ Egan.

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    May 25th 2014, 8:56 PM

Pathetic!

Mute Fionnuala Purcell
    Favourite Fionnuala Purcell
    May 26th 2014, 9:01 AM

This just proves that our current government have no interest in the major mental health problems we have in Ireland. Fine Gael would never have secured a seat in that area. Yet the put forward for election a guy who has admitted his own mental health and alcohol problems . I feel sorry for Kenny Egan and I hope the mental health services are in place when he realises Fine Gael just used his local popularity to obtain votes. Very low blow shame on Fine Gael

Mute Duncan Paul
    Favourite Duncan Paul
    May 25th 2014, 11:49 PM

I definitely know a lot about politics and I absolutely and definitely know Kenny Egan will be the next three taoisigh in Ireland by miles